(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi ladies...
Yalor i forgot to tell bb to open the legs lor... really regret! All the while i can onli see bb in its side view and bb is shifting its right thigh up n down as if purposely wanna block the genital view lor. V notty right? But strange leh when the doc took a photo of the bb, the view became something like a front view... by right shd be reasonably exposed liao mah... anyway i post the scan up and u ladies help me to see if its front view or not.. help me see boy or gal... keke

1344286.jpg

how's every1? been a long time since i last posted, but hv been reading this thread on n off. wow, so many boys from the thread.

today went to gynae visit, but still cannot see gender yet
gonna wait till detail scan next mth. had a fall on the slipery kitchen fall on sat, n got a big shock of my life. as only me n son around, was so scared till i cried. was worrying about bb from sat till now, but glad to see her happily dancing away inside me. at least feel relieve now.

those who will be deliverying with TMC, hv u signed up with FBI/SBI? i signed up today n realised that my gynae is in the list, but seems its too late, cos gonna start package next visit, so wont get more discount from him, haiz.

those 2nd/3rd time mummies, jus to check, if tis is gonna be yr last planned baby, will u sign on the cord blood thing? cos hb say cord blood is to benefit the next bb, is it true?

Mrs Yap: I'm not trained. But I think this is a side view, not a frontal view. For a frontal view, the baby shd be lying in a cradle position on the curve of the womb, looking upwards. From your scan above, the baby looks to be looking at us. I can just make out the arms and legs.
Hope I'm not confusing you..

Milkmilk, for my twins, I banked in the cord blood of both cos' Stemcord advised that for fraternal twins, it's still not a 100% match. For my 3rd, I will also sign up. I don't think th cord blood is for the next baby cos the DNA make up and all won't be a perfect match. I was under the impression that each is for one BB.

FLos, what Chinese tonic soup regimen are u referring to? Can share? Now, safe to drink birds' nest and Fu3 Zhou4 Tong3 Shui2? I recall that I started it only in my 5th month cos before that, these were deemed too liang.

Hi, Flos

Think u are experiencing the same feeling after 2nd trimester.. I am wondering if it is normal..

By thw way, Ladies.. Does your gynae explain to you face to face on your triple blood or just thr the phone? And, do you get a copy of the report? My gyane called me today to tell me the down syndrome ratio and my blood test result w/o saying if report will be given to us...

lc, a nurse at my doc's clinic called up to inform me of the ratio with no mention of whether the report will be given to me. but when i did my nt scan, the sonographer told me that the report (including the pictures!) will be given to me. i'm seeing my doc tom so am expecting to get the report then.

Hi LC faint and Xuan ting
I jus had my triple test yday
Heard the test is not accurate... my frd had a false positive for her bb... report says her bb got spine defect but in actual fact doc prove nothing wrong at detail scan
My nurse says if nothing wrong, the results will be known at the next visit. If anything wrong, she will call me. I really dun wish to receive any calls from the clinic

Koras, u have the option of banking it with the public cord blook bank (for a lower fee, I think) or the pte ones like StemCord and CordLife. It's not mandatory. For the public one, should anyone require the cordblood and your kid's one is a match, they are free to utilize it, at the expense of your kid. But likewise, *touch wood* if your kid needs it and there's a match (other than his own), he can also opt for somebody else's. That's my understanding, but it may not be accurate. For the pte ones, your kids' cord blood is strictly for his usage. But siblings should have their own cos' cord blood amongst siblings may not be a perfect match, so can't really share.

Mrs Yap: My clinic will call me with the results - positive or negative. If they don't call, I will call to ask for affirmation.

I got my maternity tankini from Old Navy online store.. it's much cheaper, those selling at local maternity stores are too expensive. I go for my pilates lesson once a week & try to add on a swimming session so I get a twice weekly workout every week.

Flos
Zara baby clothes are so nice!

have been bz with my boy lately that i've no time to surf the net. There are so many postings since my last post....heehee

Hi Flos & Koras:
ya, i m using the tonic body treatment oil from clarins. Its specified that it can be used for pregnancy. So far i m quite pleased with it.... my boy now 21 months does not have any bad effects from it so i trust the oil. No worries abt it ya... By the way, i also read in other threads that the mothercare stretchmark cream is quite good too.... mayb u like to check it out as well (",)

So many of u had laksa recently...i had a big bowl yesterday evening too. But after having it, my stomach dun feel too well (think its the coconut milk in it). I dun dare to take the hum though cos i think better to play safe to eat thoroughly cooked food... hee hee... me "gia si"

Hi LC
From what i could remember for my last pregnancy, after i took the triple test, the nurse also called me to inform me the results if everythin's ok. They only explained and passed me the report during the following appt....so i think u should be getting the report bah....

bbmouse...
ya hor i also can call to ask... else waiting is a torture. BTW how long after the test shd i call? 3 days? 1 week? how long does yrs took?

Mrs Yap: I didn't do the triple test. I did the OSCAR. Why not you call the clinic to ask when the results will be out?

Hi Mrs Yap
my gynae told me they will call me in one week's time to tell me the results of the triple test.

i just took it last friday, so i guess by this friday they will call me..... mayb u should wait like one week?

<font color="119911">Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - oh dear! U fell down as well!
Hope the bruise is not too bad now..better be careful. Btw, are u ladies wearing flats? I read in "What to expect when expecting" that the best heel height is about 2 inches for optimal backbone support. I am sticking to that, also cos i am too vain &amp; don't like any of the flat shoes I see (being short doesn't help!)

LC (faintz) - they should give u the result slip (results out in a few days). I have mine for the OSCAR &amp; NT test, but everything was normal, so my gyne didn't explain the results to me.

CORD BLOOD
I read somewhere (think another thread in Spore motherhood) that whilst public cord blood banking is free, u would have to pay quite alot should (touch wood), u need to use a match sometime in the future (by then quite likely that ur own baby's cord blood would have been used up). Can't remember the price, but something close to $10-20k? So pls double check if u are thinking of public banking. Most would feel safer banking privately thru Cordlife etc.</font>

LC ,
There will be a printed report for u to keep for teh triple test .. something liek lab report .. not to worry .. next visit doc shoudl give u .. no point they keeping it .
As for fake results ?? My friend last time took triple test at age of 27 .. then the test result is not good , so was recommanded for amino .. after the amino , everything is considered okay .. think triple test is only a screening test to tell us if we should go for further screening .. it is something like 60% accuracy only ..

sasa de mouse: hhah! really blur...

milkmilk: what is FBI?/SBI? I'm also delivering at TMC...

Mrs Yap: mine was Oscar and I got the call the day after the test. Quite soon. I got the full hardcopy report at the following visit.

rach: I'm enjoying the oil
I'll buy the Claring Stretch Mark Cream.

I think better dun eat cockles. They are really poisonous and dirty. I dun even take shell fish anymore. In fact, I've skipped laksa totally. Only take mee siam and mee rebus and prata curry.

Hi, Mrs. Yap

My report was not out 2 weeks after the test so I called them up instead of waiting for them to call me (which they claimed report willb e out normally one week after the test).. I guess if you dun hear from them, better call them just in case they slip yours...

Thanks, Rach &amp; Bigtoes &amp; Xuanting for affirming that I should be able to get the report.. me just feeling not secure that the result is only communicated thr phone.. hahaha.. paranoid mummy I am...

xuanting (xuanting) - the OSCAR scan has charts (ur baby's measurement vs. the mean - for instance, the nasal bone height) - about 3-4 pages in total, with the final risk of down syndrome (adjusted for age, &amp; based on the chart readings). The other test has another 3-4 pages on your readings vs. the acceptable range for thalassemia etc, anything out of the norm should be highlighted and discussed by your gyne.

LC - if they don't call u, it means that all is normal
Good news! Your gyne will only pass u the result sheets in the next appnt. They asked me to go back to get antibiotics for UTI a couple of days after the test, so I asked the nurse to pass me the results as well.

My friend just signed up for StemCord. I'll be signing up for StemCord too.

Just a comparison between StemCord and CordLife

StemCord Registration Fee - $1200
Maintenance Fee - $250
CordLife Registration Fee - $1400
Maintenance Fee - $250

Storage wise, StemCord will store a backup at another location, just in case. CordLife only store at one location.

I thought I share this with all of you. Hope all of you are getting on well.

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - yes, it has. I didn't even know i had UTI, but apparently i had a mild case. Was given augmentin (antibiotics).

Christine Tan (christan) - thanks for the update. I just dropped StemCord a mail for more details. CordLife seems to be more popular, am i right?</font>

js&amp;Mum:

My MIL will brew those tonic soups for me as I complained to her that I eat fastfood and coffeeshop food everyday! She decided it's time to "bu" my body. She believes in "bu-ing" our bodies while the baby is still inside growing. It'll boost its resistance level as well as the mom's immunity system, "bu qi", etc. so that the baby won't fall sick easily when it's born. It also give the MTB the "qi" (energy) towards the third tri when the tummy gets heavier...

Since she offers, and since she knows what to buy and brew, I'll leave it to her

xuanting (xuanting) : sorry, I mixed up your nick with xuanmommy! ;p my trip was boring! haha spent more time in the hotel cos the shops, food, environment puts me off in Ho Chi Minh City. If it's not a free trip from the company, I probably would not go cos I'm still tired from the last trip.

Bigtoes, Yes, it appears to be the same. CordLife started about 1-2 years earlier than StemCord. But as more and more people are aware of the benefits for saving the cord for their children, I guess they will make comparison between the 2 before signing up with either one. I'm lucky my friend has found out all those info with both companies.

My baby did not let me see his/her gender at my last scan. I should probably have tried Mrs Yap's method of talking to baby before my scan. :)

christine: how many weeks are you in now.
the night b4 the scan i told my baby to be guai guai let mummy c you are boy or ger

seem like banking in the cord blood seem very ex

milkmilk, i think we are having the same gynae and i also sign up for the FBI card not long ago. dont think normal consultation will have discount, i just heard that it's 5% off doctor delivery charges. i'm going to take my triple test on thurs, wondering if there will be any discount for FBI card.

seemed like i'm the last to take triple test here. hopefully can see the gender on thurs too. so i must tell baby to be guai guai and open legs for the scan. hehe..

hey gals i will be signing up with Cordlife because apparently the storage place is accredited with the govt. my sis works in one of the labs( a third party lab) and suggests that i take cordlife. for whatever reasons i cant remember. I also happen to find out while making enquiries that i have a friend working there. if anyone is interested, i see if i can get her to give us a bigger discount. she did mention she can work out something for me. see if she offer the same thing to all of sep mummies

okok. fren mentioned there's no hurry at the moment to sign up. will see how many of us are keen before i let her know?

hello mummies... im new and so excited to join this thread.
My EDD's gonna be 16/09/08 and am giving birth @ ESH with Dr Heng as my gynae.
I don't know my baby's gender yet.. so hubs and i will have to keep on guessing til our next scan..

Hi mummies, I just felt a few little kicks from bb @ my lower tum-tum! So amazing wor! kekeke..

Hi Missy, welcome to the thread!

Mrs Yap, maybe your gynae not feeling well that day but not to worry, I am sure next visit you will be able to see gender!

I will be taking up Cordlife because the TMC FBI card have discounts and the price with stem cord seem about the same... Hi Preggie, can check with your fren if I have FBI card then is the promo the same or better?

LC (faintz): I am also afraid of varicose veins &amp; I can see some light green veins on my legs.. Yeeks!

J&amp;S, thanks for e feedback, think we'll still store for our 2nd child. our 1st is with cordlife, so will continue with them.

preggie, if got good discount on cordlife, count me in ya

flos, u can check out FBI/SBI here http://www.thomsonmedical.com/. if u r delivering at TMC, dun quite worth to apply. There'll be discount for room stay and detailed scan if u r doing it at TMC. these are wat i think will benefit me. discounted at selected gynae and PDs too. the more worth free gift is the TMC guide book on childbirth, etc.

jessi, u seeing dr kee too? i jus did my triple test today, but i only apply my card today too, so can't use liao. starting on package next visit, will see can use or not. if not nevermind, cos our PD is on the list too :p
dr kee machine not very clear leh, today i asked he said cannot see. haiz. my 1st boy also e same, only wait till detailed scan to know e gender. how many wks r u now, EDD? i'm at 16wks now.

bbmouse, thanks for your email. hv tsf the money over n reply u

I have a problem getting up now when I sit on the floor. Can't get up normally, need to turn over on my knees then I can get up.. so funny.. lol.

hi christine,
been busy trying all sorts of recipes to cook for my kids so didn't post. my daughter spits her food so it's really a headache trying to get her to eat...

milkmilk,
i didn't bank my kids' cordblood. am thinking of doing so for this baby. sounds really ex. the maintenance fee is to be paid yearly is it?

bigtoes,
i also have UTI and it is apparently quite bad. my results came back and for the part listed 'bacteria', i had like 4 red plus... so drinking lots of water now and also taking augmentin.

LC,
perhaps you have been standing and walking around a lot? i think could be one of the reasons for varicose veins.

mei,
i have the same problem as you. after sitting down, have problems getting up properly. have to hold on to something for support.

so many mummies here have gone for the triple test. after giving birth twice, i can't remember going for a triple test at all. either my memory is really failing me or i didn't go for the test...

milkmilk, you can start using your fbi card as soon as you apply! that was what i did. applied for mine a few minutes before i went for my oscar and got the discount.

storeberry, congrats on feeling smallberry's kicks for the first time!

missy, welcome to the sep birth club!

mei, i know what you mean! i find myself having difficulties getting up from various positions too. wonder if it's the weight or perhaps we are more cautious about accidentally pulling something but i guess it's a bit of both.

LC Faintz: Varicose veins caused by growing pressure of uterus on pelvic veins. Read more about how you can help alleviate them here: http://www.babycenter.com/0_varicose-veins-during-pregnancy_271.bc

Support hose will help promote better blood circuluation etc and shd be available from your gynae. Whenever you are sitting down, also try to raise your legs. If you are wearing heels, you might want to look at a flatter but still stable alternative. Heels actually throw your balance out of kilter and put unnecessary strain on your spine and other leg veins.

COPING WITH COMMON DISORDERS during pregnancy:
http://life.familyeducation.com/working-parents/pregnancy/40391.html

This is quite a helpful, easy-to-read site about simple things we can do abt common ailments eg backache.

BIGTOES: Did you say 2-inch heels? I think the max is 1 inch or 2.5 cm heels during pregnancy. Heels are not generally known to boost or help posture lei. Where did you read that? Anw, I haven't worn heels since I've been preggy. Already in my birkis, I feel a bit clumsy...cannot imagine how i might fall in heels. hahah...

XUANTING &amp; MEI: I also have to hold on to something to get up from sitting position. It is definitely the change in our body's centre of gravity caused by our growing bb and uterus. Now our body's centre of gravity is being shifited more and more towards over the toes. So remember to watch your back and posture to prevent back strain.

When you wake from sleep, do you go on your side and raise yourselves up using your arms when trying to get up? Read tt it helps for us to do so, esp when waking up from lying down position. I think as we grow bigger, we will be less agile and graceful in our movements. But sometimes I forget and still wake up the usual way. Then my tummy area will feel a little stretch and remind me I'm preggy. Hehe.

MRS YAP: I forget how many weeks you are now. Don't worry. I'm sure you will be able to see your bb's gender very soon! Talking to bb to co-operate helps, I think. I told bb I would like to see him dance before my visit on Monday. And he was flipping and moving so much. I was so amazed...And he 'flashed' at us several times...tt is how I found out he is a boy. :)

DETAILED SCAN QUESTION:
Anyone done theirs at TMC already? Will we get a CD of the scan and pics back?

HIV/HEP A &amp; B Blood test:
Have you ladies done this? How long did your clinic get back?

koras - I'm 16 weeks and 1 day now. Yup I count everyday. He he. I should really talk to baby first before the scan.

alabone - Good to hear you are getting on ok. :)

Morning everyone!

SarahMay
I roll over on my side &amp; use my hands to push myself up to sitting position when I wake up now.

Ava
How was your yoga class yesterday? Yesterday I went for my second pilates class.. Oh man.. my thighs are aching like mad now.

Mrs Yap - Sorry! I typed the previous msg wrongly. You were the one to give that advise on talking to bb. Heheh.

Christine - Talking to bb helps! And don't worry, you will see gender really soon. When is your next check-up?

Lim (Xuanmummy) - Can you pls add me to the table?
EDD 17 Sept 08, Dr LN SIM, TMC

Mei - Where do u do your pilates? I think it is great exercise for condition the body for labour! You aiming for natural birth?