(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Mei

I know I know! Those last year's summer Zara maternity tees are really cool. But this year, they don't hv them anymore. Need to grab them while we're into Summer now...

aVA: "I seem to be outgrowing my maternity jeans quite quickly...anyone wants to borrow them once i do? probably by next month... "??? Hey dear...we're all outgrowing our jeans now!!! You should post this ad in the later threads for other MTBs!!! hehehe!

TO MOMS WHO HV FOUND OUT THE GENDER:

I wonder...hmm, is it then true that if you dun hv MS, you are expecting a boy? Do those old wives tales apply? Like liking beef, craving for sour stuffs, linea nigra line above and below belly button, Chinese birth chart, more hairy, more radiant...etc.

Anyone care to testify? Hehehe!!

Xuan Mommy: Can you add me in to the list too?

EDD 17 Sept; Gender: Boy; Gynae: Dr LN Sim (TMC)

Flos - It is SO not true that you don't MS that means u are expectin a boy. I'm having a boy...and i had horrible MS. I don't have the linea nigra yet either. however, I feel that I am looking more radiant. Heheh....but then how accurate is that? Might just be increase of female hormones. BUT the Chinese predication calendar in my case worked! It hit the nail on the spot man!

seem like te year of rat a lot of baby boy

flos :wat is MS wor
liking of beef maybe more craving more for me as i myself like to eat beef. more hairy around belly can see more obvious

Flos, am outgrowing my MATERNITY JEANS...they were able to tahan till end of term for my first pregnancy...just getting bigger than I was for single pregnancy now.

Mummies, as i'll be giving up on BF-ing. I'll be selling the following:

1) Medela Mini Electric Plus Breastpump (dual)
Slightly used for less than 2 weeks. Purchased at $305. Willing to let go at $220(neg).
With box, manual and warranty unfilled.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/medela-mini-electric-plus-breastpump.html

2)"Pigeon - Fridge-to-go" Breastmilk cooler
Brand New, Unused.
Purchased at $59.90. Willing to let go at $50.00.
http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/news.html

3)"Pigeon - Breastmilk storage bottles" (3 piece pack)
Brand New, Unused
Purchased at $15.20. Willing to let go at $12.00

4) PIGEON Disposable Breast Pads
unopened
Willing to let go at $6.00

Interested, pls pm or email me at [email protected]

Thanks !

caryonshinchan & sarahmay, is dr sim the one with the clinic along bt timah road near the chong chin nam eateries? how do you find her?

Hi Xuanting! Dr Sim in in TMC Level 4, not along Bt Timah Road. I like her very much. Very warm and friendly. Caring and patient.

Can anyone tell me where to buy Enfamama A+ milk powder? Does NTUC stock it? I compared between Anmum and Enfamama fat content. Anmum is more fattening. I'm thinking of trying Enfamama cos it seems more packed with minerals.

Bigtoes: I so agree...maternity clothes are expensive and erm, not so trendy!!!!

Ava: oic!! But it's true I'm outgrowing my maternity jeans too!!! That's why I'm stocking up on babydoll dresses now...

SaraMay: can u forward the Chinese birth chart thingie to me? there're so many versions that give diff interpretations. I also want to play with it

Hmmmm...I've relatives and gfs who puked a lot and having both boys and gals... Just wondering cos there was so much talk and speculation in the early parts of this thread that people here were saying they like beef, got linea nigra, got pimples, crave for sour foods, etc!

Koras: MS=mornng sickness.

sarahmay; i'm taking enfamama. its got vanilla taste. i like it very much...so much so that i dun drink fresh milk anymore.

valnsw,
no problem gal.. ya.. if u already fix an appt.. think will not be easy.. or u could call up to check with the nurse..
Sasa..
ya lor.. never see u post.. feel uneasy mah.. kekeke.. sunray not around hor.. kekeke.. busy shopping ah.. kekeke..

hi mummies! I'm back from my trip.

bigtoes & avalyn: looks like your tummies are growing beautifully.

My tummy didnt grow much, probably due to the yucky food during my trip. Went swimming and hubby took a picture of my tummy, I look more fat than preggie!

xuanting: I'm also having a boy, can update when you're free. thanks!

Hi, Flos

I am expecting a baby girl.. first trimester no MS but come 2nd trimester threw up.. I prefer meat, especially beef..my face still stay abt the same, just with a few pimples (heard that baby boy will make mummy looks ugly looking) so it really depends..

thanks, sarahmay.

shazz, it's not me updating the list la; it's xuanmommy. apart from the food, how was your trip?

ava, i wore a pair of skinny maternity jeans which my housemate bought for me today and realised i can't walk v fast in it cos it's still quite loose and will keep sliding down. can't imagine that you're already bursting in yours and need new ones already!

Hi Sarahmay, thank you for your advice. Read up on the net and realised the numbness is coz uterus is sitting on a nerve. My pastor's wife, who is a nurse, gave me some stretching tips and taught me how to sit properly
Saves lots $$ from pre-natal massage, which I was seriously considering...

Hey sunrays.. yups!!! 1106
curious to know more abt u now.. hee..

Btw, qiuling, Momoko76, lemon, milky & sarahmay, we all have same EDD!! Mine is 17 Sep too~ my gynea is Dr Fong from gleneagles..baby covered privates though so can't see gender.. hee..

Anyone attending pre-natal classes? I've been advised that it is unnecessary.. but I really don't know much abt breathing and parenting!

Congrats preggie, Jo, milky & Sarahmay on you mickey & minnie mouse!! Yah man, so many boys in sept thread! Kekeke...

*Waves to Sarah** Nice meeting & talking to you! Kekeke....

bbmouse: If possible pls post your video!! I am doing my deatiled scan on 16 Apr & I am super excited lo! Kekeke.. Can't wait to see my bb again!

Goldfish: I only bought two pairs of maternity pants & 1 3/4 pants. The rest are all babydoll, a few maternity tops & tubes...

Today my hubby brought home sushi back which I have been craving all along! So touched!!! *sob sob** Kekeke..

hi bbmouse,
last week i ate laksa with hum too!!! i just can't resist. and frankly, i'm also a lottt more bochap this time round.

hi xuanmommy,
can you add me to the update? i should be delivering on 20sept. gender of baby - choosing not to know. Dr Sim from Mt E.

flos,
i think the myths not realiable leh. i was expecting boy for my first preg and face was dry, red and patchy. for second preg, i had a girl and had very radiant skin. but when my colleague was expecting girl, she broke out in lots of pimples... so i think it's probably hormonal.

Question:
where can i go for massages? i went to rustic nirvana previously and absolutely hated the way they tried to hardsell me their packages. anyone tried wayan?

On maternity clothes.. lots of discussions on this... My experience.. stocked up on 'normal' babydoll tops, mostly larger sizes so there is room for growth. Also avoided those with seams or stitches at/ below bustline. [Basically looked for those that flare out straight straightaway or have elastic bands at the back]

For the budget conscious, can try This Fashion
I wore a bright orange babydoll spag dress today and received comments that the dress is nice and looks expensive! Of course, I am prepared to wear these $20 tops/ dresses for 2-3 months only so I'm not sticky about quality.

Pants on the other hand, I feel can be invested. Found some nice black pants for work from the Topshop maternity range. Dorothy Perkins also has maternity range. For Topshop, think only Wisma, Vivo and Parkway has maternity...

Also found some 'ok' pants, i.e. not obaing kind, from OG Chinatown
$39 for a straight cut one, so bought one in black, another in white. Heard from my coll that there is a maternity shop at Albert Shopping Mall.. she bought her pants at $20.. also not the baggy sort.. [Btw, the saleslady at maternity exchange told me that pants can last 2-3 months only as thighs, hips may grow bigger later...]

Have fun shopping and fitting your bellies fellow mummies!

Hi Flos,

I'm expecting a boy....for mi hor.. i dun reali hv MS during my 1st trimester... den i like to eat beef.. and those meat stuff leh... Indeed i am more hairy hee hee.

the chinese birth chart is not zhun for mi leh... .

Wat abt the other mummies?

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay (sarahmay) - yes, I am on enfamama as well, thou kinda lost interest in it after a while &amp; drinking my usual HL nowadays. My gyne also warned me twice that it is high in fats (thou it doesn't seem to be so on the lable). I usually get mine from Cold Storage, thou i saw it selling at Giant the other day for about $4 cheaper....

Jo - I also didn't have any MS at all since preggers, been eating more beef than usual...but not any hairier &amp; no linea nigra, &amp; somehow think that our baby might be a girl after all! (won't know for another 2 weeks)</font>

Flos - Thanks for tips on where to get Enfamama. I tried the choc today. A bit sweet. Maybe will get vanilla. Actually both Enfamama and Anmum don't taste as good as fresh milk to me. hehe.

CHINESE Pregnancy Prediction Calendar:
http://www.baby-talk.co.uk/chinese_calendar.htm
Apparently, we must add 1 year to our 'ang mo' age cos the age on this calendar is according to the Chinese Lunar age. It is correct for me, my SIL and friend. Heheh. Go try.

MORE ABOUT HAVING A BOY MYTHS
I don't think I'm more hairy lei. My linea nigra hasn't shown up yet and i hope it NEVER does either now or after pregnancy. No into week 17....so hopefully it is a good sign it doesn't appear. Hehe.

LCFAintz: I heard the opposite - that boys give beauty; girls take it away from mommies. hahaha....

Springz - Glad to hear that you found effective ways of relieving the pinched nerves.

Storeberry - *WAVES* Hello! Was v nice meeting up and chatting with you yday. Next month we MUST go find JAPANESE!!!!!

Alabone - Laksa with hum!!!! YUMMY!!!! I've been tempted but haven't dared eat. I just took my blood test yday. Today results shd be out....if still have my Hep A/B immunity, I sure will 'whack'. Haha.

As for prenatal massage, my friend just told me she has the contact of a lady who does massage for TMC. She freelances and is able to come to our homes for massage. And it is about $50 an hour or something. Will go find out details and share with you. I think places like Rustic Nirvana are a bit ex. I mean, they pay Zoe Tay to endorse their services...so I'm sure they also charge premium rates.

Anyone thinking of getting Malay massage lady to do post-natal massage? Can share contact?

ANYONE LOSING WEIGHT STILL in 2nd tri? I lost one kg from last visit. Both the nurse and doc say I must eat MORE. Help! Food really not very appealing to me. Any great ideas for helping improve appetite?

<font color="0077aa">SarahMay
Congrats on ur prince!!!
muz be so exciting finding out hor.. hehe

Flos
hhmm... for me ah.. got abit of MS in 1st tri, i hated meat, linea nigra started appearing rather early and DEFINITELY hairier tummy *yucks*!! but the lunar calendar predicted I would have a gal.. sighz...

Valnsw
yah.. i'm waiting to start feeling the kicks so i dun have to keep guessing leh.

Momoko
hehe... sunrays ah? dunno leh.. didnt hear from her oso.. like u say lah. think she really bz shopping ah..

SarahMay...
from pregnancy till now 4 mths exactly, i gain 3 kg already. My weight increase v fast eversince i move in to my grandma hse. The maid cooks delicious food. Previously visit, i lost 1kg.
Gynae told me yday tat by 5mths, shd gain 3kg and i already gain 3kg by 4mths. So he ask me to go exercise like brisk walking, swimming or cycling stationary.

Only managed to see the side view of the baby yday and the right thigh was blocking the genital area. So unable to see the gender. So sian, have to wait till week 20.

My weight gain seems to have plateaued, even tho am eating OK and tummy def getting bigger.

Flos
My jeans lasted me till end of preg last time round...depends on the size u buy...I guess I'm the equivalent size of about 7 months cf. last time round...hence getting tight. SIGH!

MS
Suddenly getting waves of nausea off and on. Yest, my son was so sweet, I was nauseated by the smell of steamed fish, and he ran to then kitchen and got me a bowl in case I vomited (my hb used to ask the maid for that just in case)...I said, ah, my little boy is so zi dong already...really a big boy now

mrsyap : if go swimming dan have to get those swim suit that meant for pregnant any idea ex a not.. i want to go swimming but scared later people luff

Hi SarahMay:

Thanks!! I do understand the add one more year to your age, but as for the month of conception, another website I visited said it has to be the lunar month, not the solar...

"CHINESE Pregnancy Prediction Calendar:
http://www.baby-talk.co.uk/chinese_calendar.htm
Apparently, we must add 1 year to our 'ang mo' age cos the age on this calendar is according to the Chinese Lunar age. It is correct for me, my SIL and friend. Heheh. Go try."

Oh well!!! Some say boy, some say gal...kekeke!! I'm eyeing on Zara kids now!

mrsyap : if go swimming dan have to get those swim suit that meant for pregnant any idea ex a not.. i want to go swimming but scared later people luff

sasa: mine also predict that is a ger but turn out its a boy

koras... i dunno whether there are pregnant swimsuits or not leh...
i think i still can squeeze into mine...
maybe u can jus buy a larger sized swimsuit...
dun worry abt pp laughing la... i go swimming pool also got see alot of plump pp... keke...
So many until nobody bothers anymore...
anyway i dunno them and they dunno me...

Bigtoes...
i got the same fate as u...
i fell last sat and landed on my knee... now my thigh aches terribly. Got prob climbing up and down stairs... esp up n down buses

LC: "first trimester no MS but come 2nd trimester threw up.." Jeez, I'm starting feel the heartburn...I am perfectly ok in Tri 1, now just feeling the gastric juice at my throat...

Springz: Topshop at Vivo has NO maternity section

xuanting: I know what u mean, I bought some rather tight maternity pants and I can't wear them anymore, even though there are extendable straps by the sides.

Ava: I'm also outgrowing my pants. I find those drawstrings pretty itchy at my belly. I've one Thyme pants which have straps by the sides...damn uncomfy...Like I said, skirts are more comfy and airy for me...

sasa de mouse: why are you sighing that you'll be having a gal?!!! Anyway, are you hving a gal or boy?! I'm confused by you! I hope to find out this fri!!!

Koras: I don't mind swimming at a resort like Phuket or Bali or Bintan. But at a SSC public pool, no way! Look like a whale and might risk UTI and eczema!!! hahah!

SarahMay: about post-natal massage by Malays, I was told it might carry some risks. Some women's womb become distorted and tilted after being bound by the sarong and massaged too vigorously by the aunty.

Mrs Yap: couldn't u ask the gynae to jiggle your belly to move the baby to a more cooperative position? How many weeks are you now?

Oh, forgot to update all that I purchased those Clarins Pregnancy products I posted above!!!!

I like the Tonic Body treatment oil very much...Who was it that intro to me? I also bought the Tired legs cream and the bamboo body scrub for preggers. There is one stretch mark cream to layer on top of the body treatment oil which i didn't get cos it's exceeded my budget.

The oil can be applied on your neck, shoulders and bust...in fact, whole body...lovely texture and mild fragrance...I dun suffer from itching but just find the oil makes my skin more supple and radiant

I'll sign up for the Clarins Institut facial soon.

I'm also starting my Chinese tonic soup regimen next week. I think it's time to drink those soups twice a week.

Mrs yap: sure there are maternity swimsuits. u can find them at Mothers En Vogue at Delfi Orchard, as far as I know. Actually, just wear Bikini will be good enough.

mrs yap - mine i dun think can squeeze in though havent try la.. scared later people think that i fat not pregnant haha

valnsw &amp; momoko: i dunno dat we can do detailed scan at Paragon or East Shore Hospital. Me too has made appointment and gotten the slip frm them alrdy.. mine was the increased price.

flos - same idea swimming in singapore pool now doesnt make me really feel comfortable.
but thinking of having to fly i scared later i cant stand the jounrey

Flos...
Sometimes v disappointed with my gynae... i feel he never make an effort to help see the gender...
he scan for less than half a min onli and he says, cannot see gender yet! Did not even ask me to stand up walk ard or jiggle the belly. He is always like rushing for time as there are many patients outside. Sometimes i feel its not worth paying so much for him. I wonder if a less experienced doc with less patients will actually spend more time with patients at each consultation. Then slowly built up his reputation

Swimming
Hi gals, I go swimming once a week at a public pool. Now have outgrown my normal suit and no point buying a maternity one. So i wear bikini and a stretch tank over it (cos my bikini too skimpy now that boobs have grown...and I not the "hot" sexy type, so not showing them off anytime soon!)

Anyone wants to join me at Bishan pool, sat, 10-11am? That's when my son has his swim class, so we go swiming them too.

Going for first yoga session tonight! hope i enjoy it...have not done yoga in a long time

mrs yap: which gynae did you see wor.. or maybe that day really too much people or he too tired

ava: i want to wear bikini also but got stretchmark around my tighs

Mrs Yap, Aiyoooh.. Can feel your disappointment. You talk to your baby, ask baby to be kuai kuai and cooperate so that doc can see the gender and tell mummy. Then mummy can start buying clothes for him/her.
This is what I tell my baby leh..

bb mouse : same for me.. when went for scanning. the 1st time i can see is his butt dan my gynae then show me his private part

Detailed scan: Actually hor, the CD-ROm only captures some images of the baby. It doesn't show the organs and such leh. The gynae will check for these organs, and will write a report. The CD-ROm gives us a hint of the 3D image of the baby.
To me, the CD ROM is no big deal, cos my gynae has the machine at his clinic. My gynae will show us the baby each time we go visit him. I can see the 3D image of my baby each time. And I feel all babies look alike to some extent. Cos when I look at other babies scan, I think to myself it can pass as my own baby's scan as well.
I will try to post the CD images tonite..

Koras: I see..
Wah I thot you can see the genital so early.
At the oscar scan, I also saw the baby's butt from the rear view.. Very funny. I couldn't make anything out of it at all..

<font color="0000ff">Flos
hahaha.. oops.. u blur by me?? i'm expecting a mickey wor!!! but my in-laws are actually hoping for gal.. so am quite disappointed lah. but anyway, as long as bb is healthy, tats all i ask for

Mrs Yap
yeah.. try talking to bb the nite b4 the scan.. tell bb to guai guai open the legs big big to show u the gender.. den u can go buy alot of nice clothes le.. tats wat i did.. n nxt day my scan.. bb really open the legs.. tho very fast lah.. but at least both my gynae and i managed to capture tat..</font>