(2008/09) Sep 2008

I enjoyed my pilates session so much yesterday so I signed up for the package. It's nestled in Bishan Park so it's really tranquil & relaxing.. love the place as well.

It's my turn to have a weird dream. Yesterday I dreamt that I was cleansing my face & I even took out my eyeballs to wash. In my dream, I was even frantically looking for a bowl to put my eyeballs in just in case they rolled off the vanity top while I finished washing my face. Then after that, I had difficulty putting back the eyeballs. Even put the wrong way & I looked kok-eyed.. so I needed to dig out my eyeballs again & put back properly. So gross right!

Shazz - Wow! Thanks for all the recipes and the pic of the double boiler. I wanted to get one but decided that it is a bit too ex so I do the old-fashioned method.

Jessi - Phew! Glad to hear you are doing better now. Just take it easy and don't stress. I can understand how scary seeing blood is cos it happened to me before, and I had to also have complete bed rest. For my first trimester, I didn't go out of the house for like a good month. Doc say to stay home, no walking about. Good that you found things to distract you frm worrying. And yes, pls don't cheat on your bed rest. :)

Alabone - Bigtoes is right! You and your hubby will be able to work out the various issues. Stick close to each other, support one another.Sounds like your hubby is supportive of you.So don't worry so much about the things you cannot control. What is impt now is that you look after yourself and keep happy because a happy mummy is a strong mummy.And I'm sure you are a strong woman! You have 3 beautiful kids already! Hope you cheer up and the slip disc cause you pain during this pregnancy!

Mei- eeeks! Your dream is quite gross but funny too. Were you watching some weird anime before you went to bed? I don't have strange dreams like these but I have very realistic dreams like fighting or ppl I know by face but don't know very well.

BABY KICKING?
Hi experienced mommies - forgot to ask earlier- how does the baby's kicks at the initial stages feel like? This morning, whilst i was lying in bed waiting for my alarm to ring - i felt what seemed like the left side of my womb stretching, followed by 2 light kicks...definitely not tummy rumbling/gas, but not sure it if was just the ligaments stretching...? I know the legs are positioned on the left based on ultrasound scans.

I am in week 17+ now, & i think baby should be about 180gm at this stage....its too small to feel anything yet right?

Thanks Bigtoes, and all for the warm welcome.

Alabone - Don't think too much. It's more important now to take care of yourself esp you are with a little one, your body will be working extra hard.

It's never easy to build a relationship, not to say more about maintaining one, esp with ILs. Try smiling at her more often and have short chats with her. Sometimes smiling just relieves the tension in the air. Don't worry about it ok. Take it one step at a time.

Will your MIL be helping you do your confinement?

I guess I would be staying in a 2-persons ward, can have company during my stay.

To all mummies - Le BloomingChic @ Delfi Orchard is having a sale till 11 Apr. Worth taking a look, the clothes there are quite nice.

Alabone
*hugs* there will always be a way if u keep positive. When we had out first one, we were in terrible financial state...i had just quit my job and all savings were in the flat. hb was back in school so we had no regular income. then somehow, hb got some freelance work whle he was studying, we won a car, and airtrips too, money situation got better after baby was born... for this round, we were saying we'd stop after two, but we are now having twins and of course, we are worried about affording it, but are extremely happy as well of course...this kind of present, money cannot buy or replace. Hope all works out well, and feel free to vent...that's what we're here for...to share happiness and vent frustrations!

Flos
I am very new agey...I have a book which breaks down astrological signs into subdivisions within the signs, e.g. three "decans" or subdivisions within Virgo, Libra etc. The book is written by Sly Stallone's mom who is a Hollywood astrologer lol! BUt it's really accurate!

As a Libran, of course I beliebe Librans are super cool
heheh! Virgos tend to be more picky and specific about how they like things done...depends on which decan....what's ur edd, I can go type out some of the descriptions if u like ;)

Dreams
I dreamt I was looking after twins but they were half-black, half-Irish (obviously I didn't give birth to them) and I had to breast feed them!!!

Jessi
Hope no more bleeding after that episode! I'm sure it was terrifying...esp in middle of night. How are u doing?

SarahMay
Nope.. I wasn't watching any weird show before that... hehe.

Ava
I wasn't freaked out.. in fact I found it funny. I'm quite a clean freak by nature.. so when I told my hubby about my dream, he said, You ah, clean until like that.'.. LOL.

Goldfish - Sunrays and I went to baby hypemart and kingdom yesterday. I think baby kingdom is having a sale on their baby cots. You can go check it out if you want. the prices range from 200+ to 300+. But in all honesty, I found the place quite boring.

Anyway, I saw a playpen cum bassinet thing on sale at Baby Kingdom and i think I might get that. Cos I prob need it for about 6 mths than I'll be moving away. The thing I saw folds up and is portable, weighs like 10kg. So it will fit my needs. It even comes with a changing table. Quite sturdy and for a 3-in-one thing, quite value-for-money. Cost $179.

<font color="0000ff">Jessi
aiyoh.. it muz have been quite an episode for u. anyway, its a relief that no more fresh blood le. juz guai guai stay in bed k.. dun move around too much

SarahMay
*waves waves*.. were u late for ur lesson last nite?? wow... tat playpen cum bassinet thingy sounds good leh...</font>

alabone
*waves waves*

Hows life so far????!!!!take your time ro relax now and dun worry too much. when the 3rd one comes along, you wont have time to relax again!!!heee...2 kids and honeymoon period for you now! :p

ava
wow!!!! you actually won a CAR???!!! and a trip to boot???how amazing is that??!!!ive never even won a pencil case!!!!(okok i did win a pencil holder when i was in primary school...)

sarahmay
you still studying?

jessi
yes yes yes...join some sprees...i bet you will cure you woes in no time!!! :p

Alabone: Take heart that everything will work out fine. I am sure you &amp; your hubby will be able to work out your finaces, don't worry too much yah?

Ava: Won a CAR??? Wow, its so amazing right? Kekeke... How I wish it me... :p

Bigotes: I thought I felt a kick in the middle of my lower tum-tum just now. But after I touched it, nothing happens... I am 18-19weeks. Yesterday went for appt &amp; my client was so surprised that I am 4 mths plus preggy! Aiyoo.. still small cannot see wor..

Sarah, yea.. i will visit the ubi place one day bt my friend told me baby will outgrown cot very fast.. hers 8mths nia and the cot looks small to her now :S Or cot got 2 version one? one is baby baby cot, and the other is the longer version??

Storeberry, my tummy oso small.. cannot tell i preggy unless i wear tight fitting clothes. My pantry aunty even 'suan' me how come 4 mths still so small? I tell her that i like it small LOH.. humpz!

Goldfish: Yah lo, must tell them cos we are slim mah so cannot see lo.. Kekeke...

Extracted from babycentre:

Why do I have such strange dreams?

Your hormone levels are all over the map and you're about to undergo one of the biggest life events imaginable — that's enough to give anyone the occasional nightmare. In fact, vivid, bizarre, or even terrifying dreams during pregnancy are probably the mind's natural way of dealing with the anxiety, excitement, and fear that accompany childbirth, says Dr. Raina Paris, author of The Mother to Be's Dream Book: Understanding the Dreams of Pregnancy. It may help to keep a dream journal or talk to your friends about any particularly disturbing dreams. Once your baby arrives, your dreams will return to their normal state (assuming you're getting any sleep).

i'm just back frm the clinic, had another jab today. gynae on leave so can't have checkup till next week together with the triple test.

sarahmay, i still got another 5 days of bed rest to go. actually time passes quite fast especially when i'm watching serials :p i think 1 week plus in bed is still ok, but if like you have to be in bed a month i will be very restless.

ava, ya it was terrifying to see blood at 3am then after came back from the clinic also can't sleep well. but now i'm ok already, just waiting for the brown blood to clear.

sasa, hehe.. ya lor.. have to be guai guai in bed. then have to trouble my mum and hubby to be my "maids" and get stuffs for me. :p

l'l cy, if i know the gender of bb now then i guess i will go crazy shopping for bb clothes online. so at the moment can only shop for myself. hehe..

jessi
i also had a low placenta... quite worried this will happen to me too leh... now hoping my placenta will migrate higher up...
Did your doc advise u whether this low placenta condition will migrate up? Did he ask u to go back frequently to monitor the placenta?
Meanwhile u take care n dun over-exert yourself... you should be lying on bed n not sitting infront of the computer leh.. hehe
take care

mrs yap, my doc only told me that the low placenta usually will move up together when the womb increase it's size. but he didn't say about need to go back more frequently to monitor it. hehe.. ya i should be lying down on bed more :p oh u also have low placenta ah.. then u also better not walk so much and do too vigorous actions. cos the placenta may move and tear then will have bleeding.

jessi
aiyo i dunno dun move ard too much is how much lor... cos i take train to work everyday and i try to walk slowly and i dun even chase after bus or train even though its a few steps faster...
oh dear... i was still playing football with my little cousin last night... somemore i do heading and back kick....

jessi

I just came back from my lunch and read about your spotting. I also had a scare, albeit not really red blood spotting kind, not too long again. Just rest well and don't move around too much.

Big Toes: You're a Virgo? Hmm...then u will click with your baby next time!

Ava: Me too, I read horoscopes every now and then. But these days, am more interested in Chinese astrology. My SIL had her c-section based on the timing selected by her fengshui master. She and her hb struck many times 4D and toto within months after the birth of the son...

Flos
I also believe in birth timing, so will go get a date if I have a c-section, otherwise...just leave it to fate I guess!

l'il CY
We won a car, and two trips actually! One was a trip to Bali, then bcos of Bali bomb, it became a trip to HK (luckily we went in Jan, cos Feb that yr had SARS). then another trip to anywhere in the world that Star Alliance carriers go...we wanted to go argentina (furthest we could go) but friend was getting married in france, so we went there instead

SarahMay
We had that bassinet/playpen from Baby Kingdom (around $99 or something right?) and used it for most of the first 4-5 months. now it is in JB at my parents' place as his bed when we stay over. the changing table is v useful, plus the fact it is collapsible to something quite portable is def a major bonus!

Anyone interest in getting Medela Mini Electric Plus ?
I would like to sell mine.
Complete in original package and spare parts unused. Warranty unfilled. Only used for less than 2 months. Guarantee looks brand new.
Bought at $305.60 at Metro, now selling at $220. Price not negotiable as this is the lowest I can offer. Pick up point at CCK MRT stn.
Interested pls sms Chris at 82336226

Anyone knows whether after delivery, the shoe size is the same or not? My friend told me asics got sale at suntec leh.. up to 60% leh! Tinking of getting a marathon shoe for 2009 but any mummies know whether our foot size will remain the same or nt huh???

woah ava u really got the winner luck leh
i nv won anything before leh...
I think the biggest prize i wont is my hubby... kekeke

Goldfish i think the shoe size will remain the same la... so far nv heard pp complain their shoe size increase leh... usuually during pregnancy when feet swollen then will hv bigger feet but after delivery shd be back to normal... unless the person put on so much weight that even the feet also got fats... but i guess if u are a marathon lover, u probably regain yr shape fast and no chance yr feet gonna get fatter with fat deposits

Mrs Yap
Feet size increase is sometimes because the ligaments get looser and then foot spreads out wider. Nothing to do with fats

And your hb should be your best prize...plus your doting MIL!! cars and trips are only material things
tho of course can't complain if u win them lah! My next prize is the news about the twins
and Next up, we wanna win a house!!! LOL maybe in 5 years' time (we seem to win stuff at 5 year intervals!! 4-5 yrs before the car it was a cruise)

Anyone heard about mineral water (not distilled water) not being good for pregnancy? I am drinking Volvic at work all day, cos hate the tap water and distilled water is not so good for body (read that it is slightly acidic and leaches minerals from our system cos no minerals of its own - i.e. osmosis)

Hi hi! I'm new here, expecting my baby in end Sep. This is my #3. Just had twins in Jan07.
How's everybody doing?

ava
haha pardon me for my ignorance abt feet expansion. wah u won so many times...
yup yup my hubby and mil are great prizes...
I suppose my best prize will be my baby

J&amp;Smum... welcome to the thread
Another supermum here... AVA i think J&amp;Smum can be your consultant on Twin pregnancy...
J&amp;SMum... your twins are boys or girls or boy/girl?

Thanks everyone for ur assurance on the feet size. I am more determined to grab the runnig shoe at suntec due to the cheap price

Hi J&amp;SMum!
Did i see wrongly? U just delivered ur twins in Jan and u are expecting and is delivering in Sept?? OMG!!! That's interesting!!!

OH YAHOH
Kekke.. thanks for pointing it out Mrs Yap!
I reallie thot it was back-to-back and i find it quite awesome wor... i thot after delivery usually menses will flow non-stop hoh? Actually how long is that huh? 1 mth huh?

found this interesting article:

怀胎十月,是个喜悦而又漫长的过程。在这个过程中,居住环境会对孕妇及胎儿造成重要的影响。那么,对有孕妇的家庭来说,要如何注意自己家居环境的布局呢?为此,记者采访了香港紫微斗数堪舆大师郑棋之老师。

布局

催旺西南正东

郑棋之老师表示,房间的气场对孕妇及胎儿会有很大的影响,因此,孕妇家居布局的重点在于纳气,并以纳阳气和旺气为佳。孕妇所处的房间必须保持空气流通,多开窗换气,不要因为夏天天气炎热而长时间呆在封闭的冷气房中。另外,房间也不宜阴暗,要有足够的阳光或保持适度的光线,让阳气得以聚集,驱除阴气。

此外,郑棋之老师还指出,今年西南方为旺气位、正东方为喜庆位,可以重点布局家庭和房间的这两个方位。在西南方放置水生植物或水动的装置摆设,加强气场,有利于BB顺利出生;在东方多用绿色,如绿色地毯、绿色摆设等,催旺喜庆之气,能够让胎儿更加健康和聪明。

避讳

装修搬迁易动胎气

对孕妇和胎儿来说,排除不利的因素以及维持气场的稳定是最重要的。郑棋之老师认为,在妇女怀孕期间,家里最好不要进行装修、动土,进行厨房炉灶的改造,也不要轻易更换房间或是移动卧床。一般来说,如果在某个环境能够受孕,就不会有太大问题,不要轻易变更,以免招来不必要的麻烦。由于今年正西为三煞位、西北为太岁、中宫二黑星至、东北五黄星,所以尤其不要动家中的这四个方位,否则容易发生意外、带来疾病等,对孕妇和胎儿十分不利。

妇女在怀孕期间不宜进行搬迁,因为胎儿习惯了在某个环境内孕育和成长,若搬入新的环境,新居所有的磁场、声场与原来的都不一样,一旦胎儿无法习惯,很可能就会妨碍发育,甚至带来危险。

孕妇休息和睡觉的卧床也是要注意的一个重点,一般来说,要保持床底的干净和整洁。如果床底有一定的空间,注意只能放置干净的衣服和被褥,不能放置破旧的衣服、杂物或是其他奇怪的物品,尤其是金属利器、工具箱和玩具。如果原先床底有杂物,需要移动卧床搬走,最好能择吉日并在孕妇外出时再移动卧床和搬走杂物,以免对胎儿造成不利影响。

摆设

山水画赏心悦目

不少人喜欢在家中放置吉祥物作为装饰,或是作为趋吉避凶之用,郑棋之老师表示,吉祥物是不能随便乱放的,放错东西或是放错位置反而会弄巧成拙,特别是家有孕妇,在使用吉祥物或装饰品时要更加小心。

对于孕妇来说,适合的装饰品主要以简单明亮、令人愉悦的图画、照片为主,如美丽的山水画、风光图、BB微笑的照片等,墙面以及软装饰的图案最好也要以一些开心快乐的为主,而不要出现动物图案。另外,貔貅、狮子、老虎、大象等吉祥物,古剑、风铃等装饰物都会对胎儿造成不利影响,不适合放在家中。此外,孕妇家中的花草植物不宜太多,否则阴气太重不利于身体健康,还有鱼缸也不能乱放。

望风看水

1、床头上的置物架,人为制造出“梁”压顶的情形,床头上方有东西压顶,会让潜意识里受到压迫,时间一长就会影响健康。

2、床头放花,易犯桃花,对于未婚男女希望催旺桃花的比较合适,但对已婚夫妻来说就有引发外遇的危险。

I post this cos recently, my dept had some reshuffling, so i needed to move my workstation to another corner. I was forbade from moving my workstation. I didn't know all these until the older colleagues told me to stay put! Interesting...

Mrs Yap, my twins are B/G combo, born on 1st Jan 2007

Goldfish, I delivered the twins in Jan'07. Think I conceived my #3 sometime around their 1st-yr birthday *hee*

Ava, u expecting twins? Congrats! U know the gender aldy?

Does anyone here already know the gender of their babies?

Goldfish, I don't think I could have done that i.e. worked the magic and conceive within 2 months of delivery!! *haha* I was still reeling from my C-sec wound pain 1 month after my delivery.

J&amp;SMum(AletheaT) (arielyn) - welcome as well
wow, you have to be a supermum, to be able to handle twins &amp; have another on the way! Pei fu!
Think about half of us here already know their baby's gender (mainly boys!) - I am still waiting impatiently to find out mine....

Hi, Bigtoes! Yah, i remember being told by my gynae at 15 weeks that one of my twins was a boy cos the birdie was very conspicuous. But it was only during the detailed scan in the 21st week that I knew the other twin was a girl. But during subsequent scans in my advanced state of pregnancy, I was sometimes told by the junior hospital sonographers (I was hospitalised for 10 weeks before delivery due to complications) that I could be expecting both boys or both girls!! Cos' with 2 cramped inside, it was quite hard to tell. Thank God, in the end, I had B/G combo. What a scare!

Much as I would love for #3 to be a girl, think what we all want are healthy babies. The gender doesn't matter that much

i am moving out of my house today to my in-law's cos i sold my flat recently. Two mths later, my new house will be ready to move in...will this affect? worried..

bacon&amp;egg
As quick check with my colleagues. They said as long as you're not around when they move your bed and do all the installations, it should be ok.

You just got to avoid all these lor.

For movement of workstation, I need to be around to jaga my confidential files and move my laptop.

J&amp;Smum...
wow u are so fortunate to have a "long feng" tai
Think everyone ard u must be talking abt it... haha... your MIL must be loving u lots and lots right? haha

bacon&amp;egg
dun worry la... most impt is u feel comfortable in the place u living in. I used to stay in my own hse and when my hb travels, i shift to my grandma hse... i will be shifting back to own hse again next week... but i think i enjoyed staying there... eventually i think yr mindset is v impt for bb development too... so long as u breathe clean air, eat good food, feel happy, watch tv, sleep early, baby will be healthy de

Mrs Yap:
for bacon&amp; eggs, it's slightly diff cos she already sold her flat and need to literally move to a new house.
In your case, you're merely bunking over at your granny's place cos your hb is in USA.

Like u, I stay over at my parents' place over the wkend whilst my hb is travelling. I ain't moving my matromonial bed whatsoever, spring cleaning or drilling or installing my stove and what nots.

Of course, it's really up to individual's comfort level. My sis shifted house and she had spotting in her 2nd trimester. The movers shifted for her, not her moving those furniture.

My colleague also shifted house, but was alright, just puked until 9th month.

My cousin is currently renovating house, so goes to supervise all these nailing and drilling quite a fair bit. She is still ok.

Don't worry too much bacon&amp;eggs!

Ava: I've consulted the lunar tongshu already but my hb wants to videotape the whole delivery. I might just have to wait for nature to take its course.

ava
hahah i like material goods leh. but too bad i never had such luck to win anything. and hb too.

wow you are making us all salivate leh, 2 trips! and one to France!!!way cool!

jessi
heee...can always shop for 'general stuff' first , then move on to the more gender specific later...heeee...

J&amp;SMum
Hi, yes, twins. supposed to be identicals and I will find out gender (I hope) at my detailed scan on 28/4.

Just met a friend of mine who had twins to get her belly support belt...she showed me a pic of her tummy taken some time before delivery, and I was thinking "How am I gonna climb stairs like tht!???" (my office is a shophouse and my place is a maisonette)....Gaaaah!!

Any tips on baby items etc?

A warm welcome to all the new mummies who have join us on board...
This morning went for my 16th week check up.. ok.. 100% sure tat mine is a boy.. so whoever doing the updating.. can put mine as a boy.. tys

Well, for feeling of the baby kicks.. I've been feeling it almost every kick.. and not sure it is becoz this time round is a boy.. is a hard kick.. and always make sure u can feel it one.. i will go "OUCH" so long.. out of the blue one.. kekeke.. but compare to my first pregnancy.. did not really feel the kick till like 20th week onward.. and more gentle.. hahaha.. perharps is a gal..

flos, i think the flying stars mentioned in the article you've posted are 2007 stars... they've already moved and are no longer in the same position (ie five yellow star is no longer in NE but in S, two sickness star is no longer in the centre but in NW; bad sectors this year are S, NW and SW so these areas should be kept clutter-free and used as infrequently as possible). apart from that, the general advice for pregnant women should still apply. i'm keeping my fingers crossed that my recent house-moving and renovations have not adversely affected bb although we did it under fengshui supervision. can't wait for my next doc visit...