(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mei,
if they stare just say,"It's a baby bump, not fat!!!"

Mrs Yap
Eeeek scary dreams. My hb had a scary one yest about the babies...didn't want to hear too much about that...My dreams are active but not scary per se...my hb says it's cos the baby's soul enters ard 4-5 months (apologies if some of you don't believe in this or have other views) and so we are having their dreams as well...

Mrs Yap
Your MIL sounds great! Mine is also v health conscious...sometimes to extremes...but has good intentions...
pity she is in Penang, and my parents are in JB (my dad would be the one making the soups and stuff, not my mum who only knows how to bake cakes)...so I don't get these perks
must starts psycho-ing hb to make more soups...shldn't be too hard since he takes after his mom

HI all.. im a newbies here.. oso going to be Sept mom,, this will be my 1st baby... Jus wanna check any of u here planning to deliver in Mt A compared to TMC?

karen
welcome... i am going for mt A... good experience there and the food is yummy... the nurses are compassionate n friendly. If i not wrong, there will be a "sister" catholic nurse in the operating theatre. She is super compassionate n makes me feel i am safe in her care. When i say pain, she stroke my head n console me. Whenever i think of mt A, i am v thankful to those nurses.

have fun, mei! but better to do a stretch test in those old gym clothes to see if you can still breath comfortably in them.

ava, my tcm physician has an almost similar theory also. he said that the bb's soul remains outside, clinging onto the mommy, until it's time for delivery. he said this is where the "don't cut things on the bed", "don't hammer/drill things" beliefs come in cos can kena bb's soul.

welcome, karen.
i'm opting for tmc cos my doc is there and partly cos my aunt works in mt a and she's super naggy and bossy. have you decided where you'll be delivering?

Dreams -- I oso haf funny dreams, or in fact, onie last nite. I dun recall in full detail what issit all abt bt i know my mama is in the dream and it appears to be quite 'action-pack'. Abit different from my usual dreams lo :S

And Mrs Yap, how i envy u on ur MIL leh! Reallie know how to 'feed' u with goodness

I am also leaning towards MT AT for delivery cos it is a catholic hospital! Mrs Yap, are the nurses there super duper angelic? :p I heard they oso provide blessings for the bb upon parent's request. U ever went for that before?

Ava (avalyn) - wow, sounds scary. I rather not think about stuff like that, thou a friend did tell me not to have the baby bed prepared before the baby comes home, incase some wandering soul decides to stay in that bed & enters the baby! (somemore we are all delivering during the hungry ghost month) I like to keep an open mind - better don't say I don't believe - so most prob will not leave the mattress & bed linen all ready in the cot, but just set it aside first....

On dreams, i dreamt last nite that my gyne cut my tummy open to check the gender of the baby - she made 2 vertical lines - and I was complaining cos she could have just cut horizontally on my fibriod surgery line...she took out the baby, checked that it was a girl, then put it back inside & stitched me up!

Limay,

Are you sure that will be the hungry ghost month? I don't have a lunar calendar with me now, but my friend who helped me determine the auspicious dates for my c-sec told me that 31 Aug is already 1st day of Aug on the lunar calendar.

Karen, I should be delivering at Mt A. It's my first time delivering there, but I have heard good feedback.

goldfish... hmm angelic in terms of their behaviour... there is one Filipino nurse who is in charge of my ward during night shift. I couldnt sleep cos been sleeping too much in the day. She came over to chat with me for a while. Its those heart to heart talk and makes me feel better.

Bigtoes
your dream so funny... cut open to check gender??
I think i rather be ignorant of the gender than to cut open to check! This dream can be quite scary too esp when u feel so helpless in the dream

Bigtoes, ur dream is ehem.. abit 'gross' bt on the other hand, quite funnie oso. Keke.

I tink Sept is the month of 7th mth right? I remembered i checked it out previously and it was considered 7th mth wor... Or am i wrong?

Mrs Yap, heart-to-heart talk!!!?? Wow.. u must be beri friendly and nice for the nurse to talk to u oso bah
Your hubby did not stay overnite wif u mah? Actualy i oso dunno whether shld i 'command' my hubby to stay wif me in the hospital or not leh. I never stayed overnite in hospital before one leh :S

Btw, how many days shld hubby apply for leave for our delivery huh? Mine told me he intend to do onie 2 days and i rolled my eyeballs at him :S

2 days can do wat huh?? not enuff rite? use kneecap tink oso will know one rite.. aiyoh

BTW ladies... if u wan to know more abt Mt A, refer to this web... this is not my webby but i hv been following this web since my wedding preps cos the couple actually welcome pp viewing their website. Think this couple super rich... anyway, inside got some photos on Mt A's food, ward and building. They also had a breakdown on their expenses on various baby-related items.

goldfish... think u need to pay a fee for hb to stay with u in the ward. However those wards with many patients not v suitable for yr hb to stay over cos yr hb will b very miserable just sleeping on the couch...

http://bcknot.com/hebe_Birthinfo.asp

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) & Goldfish (goldfish1395) - actually, i don't remember it being gross (no sight of blood, no pain), just more irritated that the gyne did the cut at the wrong spot! Anyway, I always get v weird, graphic dreams - very used to it now
Wonder if its correct thou...my next appnt is not till 21st.

Goldfish - ur hubby's office doesn't give paternity leave? Think most places would have 2-5 days off, or some child leave.

On the Hungry Ghost month, i think it starts from 15th Aug 08 right? So 1/2 of us in this forum would have given birth by the time it is over.

OMG. I saw ur link Mrs Yap and their full month celebration is so damned cute.. the bb was put in the midst of mini forever friend bears!! Yah.. i tink they are rich leh!!! LOL

Haha, that's true Mrs Yap.

Are you intending to get the single room? Am not too sure if I should for my case, cos someone has advise me not to, as my hubby will probably not be staying with me and will go home instead to tend to no.1.

Rxmom, ur calendar link beri chimz.. bt keke.. good to know that sept is not the ga-ga festival. i tink it will add on the spook level if delivered in ga-ga festival and stay alone in the hospital!!???!!

Erm.. yahoh.. i never thot of this idea tat if i go for single bed, no one will pei me in the room cos i think hubby will rather go home and rest lo.. so i will be alone!!!?? Erm.. not a very nice thot.. bt if share with someone.. like no privacy hoh?? luan...

Hi Goldfish,

Actually it also depends on your 'room-mate'. If she's outspoken and willing to chat, then not that bad. If she has post natal blues... then beri bad! haha!

The calendar where got cheem... just look out for the light grey new moons, count from CNY (7 Feb), which is 1st day of the lunar new year. 31 Aug is the 8th new month... for the lunar 8th month.

Mrs Yap,

I checked out the website too... the ward is very big.. but i think this room is before renovotion... i guess they had some rooms that are renovated... woo.. those rooms are just like hotel room..

from their cost breakdown list... Week 16 Onwards Package Gynae Consultation & Scan cost S$1,481.00... that's very exp... and this amount does not include gynae delivery fee.. :p very exp.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - oh, so hungry ghost mth is the whole of Aug ya....my EDD is on 8th Sept, but then like most 1st time mommies, the baby always arrives early right? Everyone I know had their babies 1-2 weeks before their EDD (since full term is usually 38 weeks, and EDD is counted at week 40). I was planning for my C-section on 28/08 before i pop....so will still kena that month i guess....

Bigtoes
My son arrived 1 week late..it depends from mom-to-mom.

I think I'm gonna get single room...think the two crying babies PLUS her own would drive roommate mad!! plus I like having my own loo.

Oh yahoh.. good pt leh Ava!
I tink i will be suffering from 'shock' from the delivery.. to have 2 babies crying is oso not a very welcoming thought.. i rather sleep alone manz

yalor privacy is good
last time i wanna cut cost so i stay in a multi-roomer... u cannot imagine the disturbances at night!! cos u are not allowed to draw curtains at night and every single noise other patients made is enuff to kill u. I still remember the lady beside me will "do business" every night and nurse go to help her with it and will switch on the lights... then when i finally able to fall back to sleep, the lady opposite me started vomitting... then the nurse come n switch on the lights again... its a torture man!! Somemore there is a blood pressure monitoring device which will keep making noise at standard intervals... its really a torture lor...

i'm gonna be delivering in sept as well and would like to join this thread. i'm currently 13 weeks pregnant with my third baby. at the present moment, i'm not working coz was given leave due to prenatal depression and now slipped disc (a recurring prob in all my pregnancies)...

anyone here will be delivering in Mt E?

Hi alabone
Wow, depression? Hope you are doing alright...is it mainly hormonal? How many kids do you already have?

Mrs Yap
Wahhh, multi-bed room sounds worse than I imagined!!!

alabone.. welcome...
hope u dun feel so depressed after joining this thread. Try to think of happier things okie...
I also have a slip disc problem... hope dun relapse during pregnancy. I hope u recover from yrs soon. Must be having a hard time coping with the pain and tummy right? But now u are in week 13 onli shd be not too big, yr slip disc occur in which week? You can eat "Du zhong" to strengthen yr back muscles. I used to attend physiotherapy and the therapist taught me to stretch my back backwards frequently for 10 times each to prevent disc from slipping so often... this way helps to push yr disc back to correct position

Wow! Our thread sure moves fast.

Qiuling - You must be seeing a celebrity doctor...Wait! U are not the one seeing the NUH Prof right? I think u should be entitled to make your own decisions as to whether you want to buy the multi-vits or not etc. I hope you are comfortable with him.

BIg Toes - My friends first time mostly overdue by one week, not early. So I dunno which is which. Haha.

Mrs Yap and RX Mom - which hospital are you talking about? I'm a bit lost in the thread liao.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - hmm...most of my friends had their babies popping out 1-2 weeks before due...both my sisters too (like my 2nd sis was due in the 2nd week of Jan, but she gave birth on Xmas eve - had the turkey ready & just when everyone was suppose to come over to my place for celebrations!) Hence based on family history, I am assuming mine would be early rather than late.

here's the recipe for Barley, Gingko and Beancurd, White Fungus and Bird's Nest. In general, these are sweet desserts that are cooling in nature, so we have to take in moderation.

However, I was told that once you're past 1st trimester, you don't have to worry too much about food being too cooling, so long as it's a balanced diet. For those who are more cautious, take after 5th mths as that's the recommended time frame to start on bird's nest.

White Fungus with Red Dates (serves 2-3 persons)
Ingredients:
15 g (or 2 x the size of a fist) dried white fungus
4-5 red dates, remove seed
2 leaves of pandan leaves
3-4 cups of boiling water
rock sugar to taste
*can add gingko nuts and dried longan if you like

1.Soak white fungus in water till soft. Depending on the type you buy, when you go to the store, you can tell them you prefer the soft type or the crunchy chewy type. I usually soak for 2 hours and remove any dirt and cut them into bite size, removing the hard bits.

2. Rinse the red dates and pandan leaves.
3. Put all ingredients (except rock sugar) into a double boiler and stew over low heat for 1 hour.
4. Add in rock sugar according to taste and serve when cool.

Barley, Gingko Nut and Beancurd Sheets
Ingredients:
20g Pearl Barley (rinsed)
2 sheets of Beancurd Sheets (buy the one for dessert, it's not so oily)
40 shelled Gingko nuts (I usually precook this in hot water so it's easier to remove the brown husks)
2 pandan leaves (washed)
8-10 bowls of water
Rock sugar to taste

1. Break beancurd sheets into smaller piece and soak in hot water
2. Bring water to boil in a saucepan with pandan leaves and add in the beancurd sheets and barley. Simmer for 30 mins. Remember to stir as and when to prevent sticking to base of pan.
3. Add in Gingko nuts and simmer for 15 mins.
4. Add rock sugar and simmer for another 10mins.
5. Ready to serve

Bird's Nest
Ingredients
25g Bird's Nest (soaked, cleaned and drained)
pau sum ginseng optional
6 bowls water
1 pandan leave
rock sugar to taste

1. Combine all ingredients in a double boiler and stew over low heat for 2 hours.
2. Add rock sugar to taste and simmer for another 10 mins before serving.

SarahMay: I'm not that hardworking, I cheated! haha ... I got an electric double boiler which auto-shuts off when water level is low. You can set the cooking program according to what you're cooking. Very convenient for me. Been using it since I got married 2 years back. Got it from Tangs Basement, the home section for $150 plus. I use it to boil porridge, soups, desserts etc.

Here's how it looks like. Brand is Zisa
1336095.jpg

Hi Shazz:

I also hv an electric double boiler like yours, but it's another brand. I dun dare to take the first cooling dessert 腐竹白果薏米 cos it contains barley which is supposed to be 'liang'. I take black sesame, soya bean curd, walnut/peanut paste, burbur hitam...

Hmm, why is everyone talking about their bad dreams? Sept is certainly not the Hungry Ghost Festival, so dun be unduly worried. My MIL is also quite concerned with those old wives tales, but I just smiled and listened. I dun necessarily need to follow them. E.g. we're not supposed to cut our hair! How can?! So untidy...

Most of us here will hv Virgos or Libras. Wondering if anyone of you actually check our their characteristics?!

I'm new here, soon-to-be mummy in late Sept.

alabone, I'm going to Mount Elizabeth for delivery too. Are you feeling better? Please take care, try not to have negative thoughts, be healthy and cheerful ok?

hehh...perfectionists, analytical, logical, etc.

I wonder anyone's opting for c-section to get an auspicious birth date?

actually, Mei, it's not diff to brew birdsnest. you can do it in 2 hours. i brew one pot and eat one tablespoonful per morning, empty stomach...

few days never come in this thread, so much to catch up and read. i was put on total bed rest for a week, cos i was bleeding due to low placenta. really freaked me out when i saw blood after going to toilet middle of the night. rush to tmc's 24hr clinic and got a hormone jab. then went back later in the morning to see gynae for scan, and found out i got low placenta. hopefully it won't bleed again, really scared of seeing blood.

hubby had to help me get my laptop from office so that i can surf net on bed. this is my 3rd day of watching DVDs and it's getting rather boring. sit on the bed till my backside hurts. but at least being at home is better than staying in the hospital as the gynae had suggested.

i'm also having dreams every night. most of the time it looks like scenes in movie and i'm like part of it, but most of the time watching it from the side. sometimes too much dreams can be tiring, like never sleep well the whole night.

ava, mrs yap,
i think the depression thing started off with me not wanting the baby. it's another accident baby. so was very worried about how to take care of 3 kids and also finances. initially, i bore the unthinkable and contemplated abortion. however, i was dissuaded by my husband. and because of slipped disc problem, all my births were c-sec so i still remember the pain sooo vividly. on top of that, my mil came to stay with me since last nov and we haven't been getting along the finest so that was one big reason for the depression...

i am doing exercises now and walking as little as i can. previously also saw physiotherapy and was hospitalised. hope this time round, it won't happen again.

christine,
i'm going to be having c sec so baby's bday should be on 20 sep. wonder if you'll be delivering around then? will you be staying in the single ward?

jessi,
poor you. you must have been so frightened. one week will pass soon enough. how about surfing online for sprees and shopping to kill time?? hehe

l'l CY,
where are youuuuuuuuuuu?????? it's me!!! alabone!!!

Hi take care Jessi, must be so scary! But glad that everything is fine for you!

Mrs Yap: Your MIL is so good! Kekeke.. Yah man, some MIL very kaypoh one, I hope my MIl will not be so kaypoh.. Kekeke...

Enjoy your lesson, mei!

Most of the time I cannot remember my dreams leh but I know its weird ones..

xuanting, i want to cheat also can't cos my hubby or mum will always be around. initially both of them want me to be admitted to hospital but i don't want. so i have to keep myself in bed if i want to stay at home.

alabone & storeberry, ya i was really frightened. when the MO was cleaning away the blood at the 24hr clinic, i was shaking all over. hope don't have another episode of this.

alabone, hehe.. i did some online shopping while surfing around. bought some maternity clothes from old navy website. but can't surf too much spree and shopping, else this week will go broke already.

Flos (flos) - hey flos! Me! I am a virgo & i think a couple of other mommies here are too. We are suppose to be meticulous, hardworking, analytical...

I am doing a scheduled C-section, but not bothering about auspicious date...just picking one that is early enough before my water bag bursts!

alabone (alabone) - glad u thought it thru & decided to keep the baby.
Our parents & grandparents also had alot of kids & somehow managed...I am sure your finances, relationship with MIL etc..will somehow work out. Take care ya!

Christine Tan Pei Ling - welcome to this thread!