(2008/09) Sep 2008

Can anyone tell me what is the difference between the Medela Pump in Style Advanced backpack model #57062 and #57060? Thanks.

wingkei
Sorry no clue there were two different ones...from googling, i think the 57060 is just the older version...

crayon and sarah,

i'm going to perth. hv another biz trip to thailand in June. hopefully i can still fly coz it's a benefit trip for us.

for BUMWEAR, you can use nappy diaper for the first mth, then use the nappy as a bumwear insert to absorb the urine, no need to buy the inserts from bumwear.

also use nappy liners on bumwear to filter the poo poo. can buy very cheap liners from mummies here.

Aloevera - benefit trip? u don't happen to be in the insurance/financial plan, are you? anw, i am sure u can travel in june! you''re still in the safe zone.

perth - great for wineries! but u can't drink now...enjoy the scenery and seafood tho...and the fresh fruit! yums! think berries and pears are still in season.

Ava (avalyn) - adan has so many cute expressions! Quite unfair how the 1st born always gets all these attention, and no one really cares by the time no. 3 or 4 comes along! Like i was no. 3, and I don't have many baby photos at all (my hubby is convinced that i am an ugly baby, so my parents didn't bother!)

Flos (flos)- hopefully the scans won't distrub the little one too much....I always look forward to my appnt cos of the scan thou, so given an option, I would rather have the monthly scans. Some reassurance that the baby is doing well, esp since I don't feel the movements yet.

Ava (avalyn)- btw, u have a friend by the name Jude Cross? Saw that we have him as a common friend in Facebook
He also happens to be my hubby's classmate from JC!

Hi all mtbs
juz bck frm my 'emergency' consultation with gynae... Doc cfmed i'm having a gal so Princess Charlotte will be arriving in 5mths time
today she measures 12cm.. my hb took video of the scan, think my princess is kinda lazy..moving alot but so far always horizontal position..hb says bb lazy like mummy
Now hoping everything will be ok for detailed scan on Apr 28...so that i can officially start my shopping spree,hehe.

can I ask if anyone hiring post natal Malay massage lady for massage? any recommendation? when do we need to book them in adv?

i actually dozed off in front of the tv just now! if only i can fall asleep so easily at night.

bigtoes, my elder bro (firstborn) has stacks of photos and loads of fancy clothes while i only have a miserable few, usually in diapers or panties too. ya, i think firstborns get all the attention, then the novelty wears off. no one even calls me by my name at home. i'm just "mei-mei", even till now!

sarahmay
it wasnt an emergency but in my invoice they stated 'emergency consultation'...aiyah...bcos today's appt is unscheduled one, they told me it's out of the package(so unfair!) Cos i'm supposed to see doc only on Apr 28 for detailed scan but I told them I'm travelling this sun, wanna chk and make sure evrything is ok and also to get travel cert frm doc too..

My hb is the one who wanna name his princess Charlotte cos it's the name of a very classic French dessert...even his daughter have to be associated wif his wrk!! hehehe...

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
hehe... glad everything is fine n bb Charlotte was cooperative. so nice to see bb moving around hor.. congrats on ur little princess!!! can start to shop shop le..

storeberry, xuanting, sasa

thanks!! indeed mine is the thorn among the roses lor..so many boys in this thread.... today is my greedy day, i feel like a bottomless pit..kept eating..oh no..

Bigtoes
I would not think you were an ugly baby lah....so cheeky your hb!
But yeah, i hear you get more bo chap as the babies add up...

Jude was my JC classmate, but that was in VJC. Was ur hb from AJC (which is where I think Jude did his second yr)? Cos otherwise, i should recognise him!!! but i don't!

MS
I was just thinking to myself how I felt better today, then I gagged at lunch and threw up my dinner! When will this go away!!!!

SarahMay: thanks for the link at babycenter! =) Now I understand what the urine test is for.

On nutrition &amp; TCM: I read from various books such as The Family Herbal Cookbook and Before, During &amp; After Pregnancy cookbooks, that exotic brews and tonics are not recommended for pregnant woman. But most Chinese believe that alot of clear brewed soups will provide nourishment, and encure that baby's skin will be smooth and problem-free.

Typically, Dang Gui, which tonifies the blood, cures menstrual pain and promotes the growth of new tissues, is used in soups. Chinese Cordyceps which contains protein and Vit B12, is good for women with asthenia and men with impotence, noctural emission and fatugue.

Extracted from Before, During &amp; After Pregnancy, Mak, Chung-man.

Personally, I have only had chicken double boiled with Dang Gui after I felt faint after the blood test during 12th week. Most of the time, I prefer sweet brews and the normal clear soup such as watercress, ABC, chicken soup etc.

Occasionally, I will double-boil gingko nuts, pearl barley and beancurd sheets as I was told it'll give my baby very good skin.

Another favourite is white fungus boiled with some red dates and gingko nuts. White fungus is rich in iron, collagen, vit D and folic acid. It alos helps to boost the immune system, reduce blood fat level and blood pressure, and is effective in preventing anaemia among expectant mothers.

Let me know if anyone is keen on the recipe, which is very simple and easy to cook.

congrats sunrays on your princess .
I hope tp get princess as well but no chance this round .. and I dun think i can afford a Number three bb .. and the Dr fees are so expensive ... 440 for my last visit that include triple test , clood test , and scan and medicine .. all other visits cost 200 odd ... hmm .. gg broke at this stage ..keke ... unless i stike lottery to haev number three ..

shazz, i was told that double-boil gingko nuts, pearl barley and beancurd sheets is too cooling for pregnant ladies... can only be taken in 3rd tri.

sunrays (sunrays) - congrats on little Charlotte! I guess u guys didn't have a hard time naming the baby ya?
We have picked out a girl's name, but not decided on a boy's....and these last few weeks, I have been dreaming of baby girls! Maybe the baby is trying to tell me something...looks like mine maybe a girl after all.

Ava (avalyn) - I looked like a boy when i was a baby! In fact, we were looking thru my old photos the other day, &amp; i had one which looked exactly like my little nephew! Btw, hubby said Jude went from VJ to St Andrews JC (where they met), so yah - u won't recognise my hubby from school.

Btw, mommies - has ur top grown? Mine is up about 1/2 a cup size i think. Was initially hoping for up to 2 cup sizes to D when I get into my full term, but thinking about the sagging after that...better not be so greedy!

Sunrays
congrats on yr princess Charlotte...
her name reminds me of my literature textbook, Charlotte's Web

Enjoy shopping for nice and sweet stuffs for your girl ya

I'm from the Feb 08 MTBs thread... I have the following for sale...

1) PIS Advanced

I bought my PIS Advanced on 20th Feb 2008, only use for a month plus. It's as good as new. Never use the backpack before, zips are still wrapped. The set also comes with an equipment that can convert it to manual pump, it is not used at all.

I'll be throwing in the following items if you get from me.

- 1 box of Medela disposable bra pads (30pcs)
- 1 box of Medela breastmilk bags (20pcs)
- 1 Nuk latex vented teat (0-6months)
- 1 tube of Medela PureLan 100 (ony used 2-3 times, as good as brand new)
- 1 $10 voucher valid till 20 May 2008 (min purchase of $50)

2) Pigeon Manual Breastpump (brand new)

3) 2 boxes of Pigeon Disposable Breastpad (36+6pcs)

4) Pigeon Silicone Nipple Shield (brand new)

5) Pigeon Nipple Puller (brand new)

6) Pigeon Breast Care Gel (brand new)

7) Pigeon Body and Stretch Mark Cream (brand new)

8) New Mama Bottom Spray (brand new)

9) Klorane powder shampoo (brand new)

Email me at [email protected] if anyone is interested. Thanks.

Shazz - Wow! That is a lot of useful info. Thanks! You are so hardworking ah? Cooking all those nutritious soups and food for yourself. Sigh. I've lost steam already. Maybe when I go over to Macau next week, I will have motivation again cos I don't like the food there v much.

GINKO NUTS, BARLEY, BEANCURD SOUP - Asked my TCM practitioner, said that actually it doesn't really help with complexion. Can take as dessert. And yes, it is cooling, so generally recommended for 3rd trimester as many preggies' bodies start heating up a lot more. But like everything else, in moderation is fine. Of course except obviously bad stuff like smoking, alcohol etc.

Bigtoes - We also have picked out a girl's name but guys' names are so hard to find!!! And you are so funny with your bust-upsize wish. Mine has expanded already. Think I need to go buy new bras but afraid they will grow some more. I heard fr friend's tt theirs sagged and shrank to even smaller after birth and breastfeeding. horrors! I just pray tt mine won't grow too big but neither will they shrink nor sag. Applying stretch mark cream diligently.

Qiuling - Aren't you on package yet? The additional tests tend to bulk up our expenses. Which is why I haven't done any of them yet. Hehe. Save cost and save worry is what I told my gynae. She also agrees since abortion doesn't sit with us. However, will be taking the compulsory tests. You know, if vitamin purchases are adding to your costs, you might want to consider buying certain vits from outside e.g. OBIMIN from polyclinic is only $5 for bottle of 30. Folic acid - 50 for $3 from Guardian pharmacy etc.... Heard Usana DHA oil supplements are value for money and approved by some gynaes. But for that I dun dare try, I will just continue getting from gynae.

Sunrays - Looking at your FB wedding photos really did my appetite and cravings no good man! After I looked half-way, I 'buay tahan' so I closed it....drooling and fantasising too much about all those delectable delights. I indulged myself in another stick of Meiji Choc Almond stick n a cheese sandwich. Not a fit substitute at all but what to do. At least keep my mouth busy and tummy full :-( And now I know how to work up my appetite liao....just look at your pix again. Muahahah!

CUTE ASIAN BABY Photos - I also cannot find. Anyway, I just use my bro's baby photos cos he was super 'bai', chubby and with big round eyes when he was a baby. Keep telling my hb tt i hope our bb will get some of the good genese my bro got. Hahaha. I think being the first-born, i filtered out all the not-so-choice genes and left my bro with the v good ones. Tt is why he is better looking. So use his photos, and not mine.

xuanting, my next gynae visit is end of April. I also wish that he will empathise with me. He keeps thinking that it is NOT that difficult to carry a child.

Wow, snowbelle from the Feb thread has alot of new breastfeeding related items. I guess we cannot assume that everyone can breastfeed, and don't stock up on too much of these items first. Might have to resort to milk powder, so best to borrow first rather than invest in stuff like pumps.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - yah, i am already using my bra extensions and they are still tight! Like u said, its quite common for mommies' bust to shink after they stop breastfeeding
, maybe even smaller than original - so better not expand too much to begin with!

Qiuling
How come each visit is so ex? My regular visits are about $80 only for consultation + scan.

Bigtoes
I also looked like a boy as a baby
I think baby girls who look like boys will grow up prettier! LOL (just being vain)

Jude was really fun in school...except for the time he ran a knife over my arm to prove that it wasn't sharp...luckily it wasn't, but it gave me a fright...and I remind him of it every time I see him! He remembers a few other things he did like accidentally kneeing me when I was standing up so I fell over and I recall him and this other huge chap in our class sandwiching me as we walked to the canteen which made me fall over (again) as you can see I was a bit of a tomboy...anyway we had fun in class!!

Bustsize
Mine have def gone up but can still squeeze into my B cups...altho nipples a bit squashed..too lazy and sim tiah to go buy new bras tat I won't be able to fit after I stop bf!!

congrats to sunrays for your lil gal! At least you can start scouting for those lil gals' dresses...Charlotte is a princess name alright!

xuanting: I know what u mean. Too bad my room can only accommodate a queen bed. It's kinda small.

SarahMay
Folic acid from Unity Healthcare is only $2.50 for 100 tablets

I got the boy's name already and on n off thinking about Girl's name... Dunno why nothing gives a v deep impression. I wanted something v unique and something which can relate to Bible names. I loved the name Rebecca but someone in church named after it already.... somemore she has got the same surname as my baby...

sunrays
Congrats.. Charlotte is a beautiful name.. it was one of the names on my list.. I only had a list for girl's names.. so now I need to come up with a list of boy's names..

You can go to Novena &amp; visit this shop called Gingersnaps.. they have got very very lovely dresses for little girls.. I always drool when I see them... Awww..

Goldfish
I started after I finished my 1st trimester.. I take a teaspoon of concentrated bird's nest every night before bed.

Goldfish... my MIL cook birdnest for me 1 mth ago and every alternate week she ask me to drink...
Its a Mug full of bird nest and it tastes really good but after tat i got stomachache in the middle of the night... wake up 3 am to do business. But after tat i am fine... I guess its really too cooling. I heard 5 mths is good to start with bird nest.

Mei and Mrs Yap
May i knwo where u gals got ur birdnest? I dunno how to cook birdnest leh :S Got recipe? So hwo frequently have to drink huh?

goldfish, sorry i dunno where my MIL got it from leh... I also dunno how to cook. Cos by the time i reach my MIL hse, everything is done already, she only ask me to drink. But i think is a v simple procedure, cos i can onli see birdnest with water and it tastes sweet. She probably add rock sugar. Everyweek MIL will cook "Pao shen" and Bird Nest alternatively. So i drink 2 times per mth. i think everything drink moderately is the best. Each time she cook, she uses 1 piece of birdnest... its in an oval shape.

Mrs Yap
So lucky to have MIL to pamper you with birdnest and pao shen
I have to fend for myself...and too lazy to go buy these things

mrs yap - thanks for that tip! i will go buy that! hahaha.u are so blessed...have MIL to cook for you.

Ava - I also have to fend for myself...go buy bird's nest concentrate and other bottled tonics. Think they are better than nothing. hahaa

Goldfish - there are different grades of birds' nest. I dunno which is best.Someone gave me a box from Eu Yan Shen ( how to spell that shop's name ah)... but i still haven't cooked it yet cos I also a bit blur. I only know how to cook hashima which is pretty good too. hehe.

Paoshen is great too!

Flos - glad to hear the meeting went well.

Mrs Yap: Yah your MIL is so good to you!! Yday I was just complaining to MIL &amp; BIL that I am so "ke lian", till now no bird nest to drink cos DH to busy to go &amp; buy! And I rememeber Charlotte's web!! Kekeke...

Ava &amp; bigtoes: Mine top circumference expanded but cup still the same leh... I was hoping for increase in cup size. Haha...

Xuanting: Yes: I still feel tired even after 9-10hours of sleep cos of the dreams &amp; getting up to urine. Haiz... Yday had weird dreams again...

Quiling &amp; rest of mummies: Anyone going to JL expo sale? I saw on the advert that Luckybaby carseat for $99 (9mths-3yrs old) &amp; I thot its quite cheap.. Is it?

Shazz: Can send me receipe?

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - Lucky u! I am one of those who aren't getting special treatment for being preggers too! Just bought Brand's birdsnest last week, but haven't gotten around to drinking any.

storeberry (storeberry) - saw the JL advert in yesterday's papers. The car seat is from 9 mths thou, meaning u need another carrier from birth - 9 months. Maybe worth spending more to invest in one that lasts longer? Shortlisted the Safe &amp; Sound Meridian AHR. This is suitable from birth &amp; suppose to be one of the safest car seats around - $599 but really comfy &amp; the dark grey color blends with our car seats

goldfish,
u could put 1 to 2 pcs of birdnest with paoshen and red dates into a double-boil pot (those white porcelain type with blue fishes printed on it - can buy from NTUC) and boil for 2 hours, then the last 30 mins add rock sugar..

Sarah May ,
My package only starts on the 20th Week .. My doc .. if u dun do the screening test , he will tell u stories and make sure u do the test.. actually his consultation and scan cost 120 alone , plus medications , he charge like 39.90 for neurogain pink , 9.90 for 30 multi vit and 6 plus for calcium pills .. it is all very exp .. and if u dun buy , the nurses will comment that doc will be .... Hmm .. i am not having ten babies .. so hubby always say pay la .. even if i want o buy the vit from outside , he will say pay la .. later doc angry .. hmm .. anyway his package fees and op fees increased almost 20% since last year .. so pay .. till i delivered .. maybe this little one the last one .. close factory already .. no money to have a third one . keke .
Birdnest and chicken essence .. i have been randomly taking .. especially when i am tired or remembered that i have to take it .. keke

or ya , i missed out the urine stick test he will do , taht cost $7 for the strip and .. hmm if u total the sum plus GST , it will cost 200 ... each visit .. and initial stage have to see him every two weeks . then now better once a month .. For the NT scan , he charge 90 bucks .. and triple test 180 plus the normal blood test 80 .. hmm that totals to a lot of money .. hmm ..

Actually for those dried birdnests or bottled birdnests, which is better? Wich one is cheaper huh?

My friend told me her receipe of 'cooking the birdnest'. Like beri tedious leh! :S

- Soak a pc of birdnest for at least 5 hrs in water, so that it will expand the dirt/feathers will dislodge. then pour away the water.
- Put it in a double boil container... container can buy from giant.
- put a bowl or 1.5 bowl (abt the size of ricebowl) of water into the double boil container.
- put some rock sugar, abt a tablespoon.
- put the double boil container in a wok filled half with water.
- boil for 2hrs and it's done.

Perhaps maybe can add some red-dates and pao-shen like wat Bacon&amp;Egg says? :p

Yup ladies... i am thankful for such good MIL...
Before i preggy, I got operation for fibroid... she cook paoshen or chong cao for me every week without fail. When i complain of backpain, she go library to borrow books n recipe on treating backache. She v good in health related issues... When i had cough and flu she advise drinking Lemon Juice... squeeze fresh juice into a cup, scoop 1 teaspoon and mix with 1 glass of water. Its v good for flu. According to her newspaper cutting, the Benefits of Lemon includes having an "An Tai" effect. So perhaps u all can try this cheap n effective method. She knows i dun cook at home and i seldom order vegetables outside cos its either not washed properly or too oily cooked... so she bought me a bottle of Chorophyll (dunno how to spell, its the green color thing in leaves) concentrate for me to add to my drinks.
As for soups, she will cook Black Beans with porkribs and Pigtail, she says this will strengthened the back muscles for carrying the baby. Ya i really v blessed to have this MIL, she dotes me alot although i dun think i am a good DIL... most of all i love her for her Kaypo-less character... she never backstab or kaypo abt anyone or any relatives be4... everything she says is revolving around being health conscious and makes sure everyone in the family got good diet.

Qiuling (chewy_ring) - on my last visit to my gyne, the made me go for a 2nd urine test (slight UTI detected from the last test thou i didn't even noticed it) &amp; they wanted to make sure the antibiotics cleared it. Had to pay $48+ for the urine test! The antibiotics (1 week supply) was another $100+...so yah, they really know how to make money out of u!

Storeberry...
i also dreamt alot these days... almost everyday got different dreams... Worse part is they are nightmares more than sweet dreams. 2 days ago, i dream lightning strikes and hit 2 pp across the road, 1 of them is my grandma... i was so frantic in my dreams and was running ard. But eventually it wasnt found my grandma afterall... jus someone else wearing similar clothes. This morning dreamt of a haunted campsite which a few of us staying. Everything is ok with the room until if u are alone inside the room... the lights will flicker not stop and got eerie cries.. the body will feel pressurized as though someone is pressing... I wake up feeling uneasy... Pray for me ok :p

eek, what horrible dreams, mrs yap. are you under a lot of stress now?

qiuling, methinks your doc is very ex too! but the unreasonable part is all the pressuring you to do the tests and buy the vitamins from him. it's their job to educate us but our choice ultimately what. not for them to get angry.

storeberry, i actually slept better last night but this moron upstairs was up in the middle of the night tapping on the floorboard and that woke me up.

Goldfish
I just buy the concentrated bird's nest from Eu Yan Sang as it's more convenient. They have different variants, with different grades, with less sugar &amp; some are sugar-free too. My mum bought the less sugar one for me, the one in the blue box.

This evening, I'll be going for my pilates trial session, hope it'll be fun. They requested for me to wear something more fitted so the instructor can see my breathing &amp; posture.. I dug out my old gym clothes to wear, still can wear, but quite tight, shows my bump super obviously.. hope the other classmates don't stare at me.. lol.