(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0000ff">Ava
haha... no leh... my frens all expecting gal.. i'm one of the few who got boy boy leh..
btw.. u be at TMC too?

Bigtoes
ohh.. ic ic.
will have to scout around n read around

Shazz
haha... u r petite too hor.. aiyah.. i oso dunno leh. mayb coz of my history? i oso dunno.. anyway.. juz listen to him lor... *fated*..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mei
hehe... ur tummy look big ytd leh...
oh btw.. ytd Sunrays n i tried the Express Teppan-yaki at Wisma.. wah.. shiok shiok.. haha. bigger portion den the one at Tampines leh..

Ava (avalyn) - think the discontinued the 4 poster one, for whatever reasons. We are getting their last piece, but the shop here said there won't be anymore new stock being shipped in.
If you intend to leave the cot in one room, then the sleigh cot is actually very nice
- just that it is too big for our doorframe (to push between rooms) &amp; cannot attach wheels at the base.

wingkei, do you know what's in the soups your mil made? i guess most tried and tested recipes for pregnant women are safe for consumption.

qiuling, all the best for your triple test today!

Bigtoes
Yup, fascinating rates aren't too bad. I normally book my short trips through them.

sasa de mouse
My tummy just suddenly 'exploded' over the past 2 weeks.. suddenly just became big.. lol.

l'l cy, how many inserts do you go through a day with bumwear? how much do the inserts cost? i'm really attracted to the designs too!

aiyo.. how to catch up on everyone's post??haaaa... all sept mtb don need to work one issit?
lol...

i've lost track of wat i'd post liao.. kekeke...
Today I'm in one of those eat-like-a-pig-but-still-not-full days again! arrgh!

And i've also lost track of who did wat,asked what and talked abt wat? ahaa..

But since u're all on the topic of holidays,...well my pil wanted us to follow them to US to visit relatives in june. i was so excited lor! then mood spoiler came! MIL decided against it cos scared of the long flight.
The plan was hk but i just went in Dec though I dont mind going again. But now with the flu virus and all.. sigh....
Then tot of going boring cruise... and last tot was to go langkawi or some beachy resorty place to nua...haa.. dono where i'll end up though!

and i'll go google more abt bumwear!

aloevera, which part of aust u going to?? I miss melb!!!

mummies who've used bum wear. Can I use the normal cloth diapers and get bumwear's waterproof cover nia? Or their cloth diapers are special?? Cos it seems a bit exp to pay for cloth diapers..

flos, thanks... i will miss my gong bao frog leg...

mei, congras on the boy!! guess ur MIL will treat u better now..

mei, wah.. heee.. great that she treat u better..

Bum wear:
ladies, i'm interested in bulk purchase for bumwear.. if got lobang.. pls let me know. thanks.

Sasa, Mei: Congrats on having a boy!

Jasmine: Congrats on having a girl.

Goldfish: I seldom fall sick. Used to be very scareed of cold before preggie, after that I can tahan cold much better etc. For babies, she's got a "warm" body and she also doesn't fall sick easily.

Flos: Same here lah. We add into the soup dish of our meals. When I got preggie, we up the freqwuency and the soup is just cordyceps and a piece of meat.

Bumwear: What is this? I thought it is toilet-training pants? OUr babies don't need this now leh. Just use cloth diapers or disposal diapers.

bbmouse, bumwear has diapers for newborns too. seems quite interesting and cost-saving. i'm reading the website info now.

Bacon &amp; egg: I also have disrupted sleep! Dunno why…think I am thinking too much about work these days. Haha. For TCM/herbal soups, you have to be careful. Best to check with a TCM practitioner. Pao shen and chicken are ok. Cordyceps are very good, even better than bird’s nest, according to my TCM friend. Dang Shen, Shou Wu also good. Shou Wu is esp good for the hair. Hashima double-boiled with honey dates, mi zao, is good for lubricating your lungs as well as for the baby. Hashima is also the poor man’s version of bird’s nest. I just double-boiled sashimi for myself today. So happy it turned out well. Some stuff to be aware of: Sweet and bitter almonds (nan xing/ bei sing) cos if you get proportions wrong, it will be toxic. You also have to be aware of your basic body type - yin (cool) or yang (heaty) complex. My hubby bought me a pregnancy cookbook that is really good - THE CHINESE PREGNANCY &amp; CONFINEMENT COOKBOOK By Ng Siong Mui. It covers both pre- and postnatal dishes. Good guide to what herbs you can take during the different times. Available from Times.

QiuLing: You travelled with your bb when he was 1 mth old? I don’t think I will risk going to Macau anytime from the Oct - Feb period cos it’s winter and the winter there is a bit unpredictable, going by this year’s conditions. You teaching in sec school? I’m amazed at how you juggle between work and family! My gynae also said no to sashimi. But I wonder how come gynaes differ on this.

Lilboymom: Aiyo…the money is not bad la. Depends on how you manage your time and how fast u can be inspired to write. Haha. If got writer’s block, then of cos the per hour earnings might seem less. But it is not bad la.

Aloevera: I try that every night…but still nothing lei….

Storeberry: I’m in SG!!!! Can go for jap food…but where? I think I don’t dare risk the sashimi. Like Qiuling, my gynae also said to stay away from it. I have always loved jap…but I have run out of places to go.

Sasa - how come your doc said you cannot travel?

Bigtoes: You don’t look preggie yet! The pictures were very good! If you’re thinking of going to bali, I can recommend this really lovely gem of a place. I think now they even have a onsite spa. The prices are also very reasonable. The service, rooms, and food is great. http://www.alamindahbali.com/

Ava - I hope the Chinese calendar is correct…cos according to that calendar I will have a boy! Heheh

Xuan Ting - legal titles? Wah cheem siah. Anyway if anyone needs an editor, I let you know.

Bbmouse - Do you eat the meat after cooking it with cordyceps? Cos I just found out tt must eat the meat cos the meat has absorbed all the nutrients.

Aloevera: Which part of Oz are you going? You must go check out the baby stores there!!! They are really good. Can find stuff you can't find in Sg.

Bigtoes
haha...I was looking at the sleigh one on the site!! But, not in the market for a second cot just yet...we'll tahan with one first till they outgrow the one cot. and need their own cots

SarahMay
I love that book by Ng Siong Mui. Very tasty dishes..my hubby has mastered a few of the dishes already and is teaching the maid to make them...I have been lazy and too nauseous to cook recently
altho MS is much much better now

SarahMay: No. I never get to see the meat at all. Only the soup is served. Think the maid took the meay leh..

Ava: I forgot to take a pic to show you re the adapter. Will remember tonite.

Xuanting: I see.. I will just recycle the cloth diapers my #1 used before. Anyway, after the CL leaves, we will certainly switch over to use disposal diapers.

I wanted to use the cloth diapers also, cos save money. but my HB not really into it. The problem he think is who going to wash. Sigh... I told him no need him to wash cos I'm going to stay at my mum house after giving birth, at the most using dispers in night only.
He told me he will start buying diapers next month, so when bb is out, no need to spend a lot of $$$ at one go.

Sounds like i need to hint to hubby to brew some tonic soups for me. My friend told me that drinking bird nest will help in giving fairer and smoother complexion. Seems to be a proven tingie from wat i observed :p

Bumwear - it acts like a diaper just tat can reuse it lo. The initial cost is high but at least it is environmental friendly and moreover, hopefully can siam 'nappy-rash' problems?

Bt i tink of the laundry to wash abit turn off abit lo

Jasmine,
My friend told me she uses up to 4 giant packs of Huggies for 1 mth. Tat is ard $80++ and that is minus the milk powder if no breastfeeding.
Haiz.. actually i did some calculation liao.. not cheap wor.. wif milk and diaper and for myself, still haf infant care fees.. i tink 1 mth easiy $1K on bb expenses and if bb sick, den lagi more money :S

Xuanting, I have no idea what goes into the soups my MIL makes, which is why I'm rather skeptical about it. And my tummy always don't seem to feel good after drinking it, and I will definitely throw up afterwards.

Wingkei,
Aiyoh.. sounds quite jialut leh. But u are not experiencing MS at this stage oledi rite? Or can u actually choose 'where' to drink the soup mah? If can, u bring the soup in ur room and tell them u wanan to drink in the room cos too hot and gek gek pour away (out of the window or pour into a tubberware and discard later?)

I oso dun feel good abt tat MIL soup esp it is giving u stomach upset? Otherwise, u wanan to bring it up in ur next gynea visit and let ur gynea TELL IT STRAIGHT in ur hubby face tat 'unknown soups' are better to be avoided??

Hi Goldfish
Hmm... haven't gone in calculation of other things yets, the problem i need to solve is who is going to look after the baby after i go back to work. Ppl telling me infant care is not cheap and also they only take in bb that at least 6 months &amp; above. My friend suggest me in employing a maid. I also don't know how. really big expense.

goldfish.. diapers are not cheap lor.. i see the way my sister and bro use..aiyo.. and worse thing is, they'll sometimes shit just after changing! haaa... pek chek!

And milk powder oso seems very exp nowadays.. how?? money no enough to use...

and wat kind of herbal soup shd we make?? My mama has no time to brew for me... I see almost everyone seems to be drinking herbal soup, i am so envious ;-( heee...

sarahmay, u have sooooo much knowledge abt chinese herbs and all! I only know how to buy those packed ones from ntuc to boil soup! haaa

hi gals..
been missing a fair bit.. kekeke
been so busy catching up..
sasa_xie *wave*- I'm here already ... finally finished the post for the weekend..
oh ya.. did you gals feeling upwell.. actually last wk.. during noon time, i suddenly feel unwell.. like your strength suddenly left u.. and u are totally weak.. and i was like shivering... than later my colleagues get me to drink coke.. kekeke. actually i ask for it.. think low sugar.. sign~.. anyone out there same?? than.. following 2 days.. still got feel giddy too..

wingkei, any chance that you'll be around to look see look see whenever ur mil is brewing the soup? At least u know wat goes into it...

Or maybe u can buy some stuff urself from the medical hall and tell ur mil that you have cravings for that particular soup instead?

SarahMay (sarahmay) - no lah, I am starting to look preggers! Btw, thanks for your recommendation on Bali. I am one of the last remaining people who haven't been there! But I know hubby wont be keen, cos he doesn't want to go ever since the Bali bombings &amp; tsunami. Bali would also need maybe 4-6 days to explore the island, &amp; hubby doesn't have much leave left! I think I will most probably settle for Banyan Tree Bintan.

Wow, i can't imagine using cloth diapers - Fresh baby poo is one of the smelliest things on earth! Albeit it is more enviromentally friendly, it does waste more water washing &amp; the detergent is also harmful.

Bigtoes,
Bintan Banyan Tree is good.. but everything in US dollar... I like.. kekeke.. but the last time i went there was 4-5 years ago.. kekeke.. honeymoon... but hor.. can we do massage there>??
Yvonne,
I also dun know whether can eat.. but i had already taken more than 3 times.. kekeke.. coz that's my fav..

Goldfish, I do still have MS on and off. But every time after I drink the soups, I will definitely vomit after that. The first time I drank, I vomitteed out all water in the night, so what else can it be, right? I can't bring to my room to drink cos my hubby makes sure I drink infront of him. It's terrible when I don't even have his support.

crayonshinchan, a bit difficult to look see what is inside the soup cos she always makes it when I'm working then tell my hubby to ask me go drink.

goldfish &amp; jasmine, this sudden increase in expenses worries me too. was so happy when my good friend offered to keep some of her baby stuff for me so at least i can save on things like playpen, infant pushchair etc. hubby still seems very oblivious to the extra future expenditure and that worries me too!

momoko, great to hear from you! hope what you felt last weekend was only a one-off thing.

wingkei, is it always the same soup making you vomit? if that's the case perhaps your mil can make something else? there's no point drinking it only to throw it and all your dinner up. your hubby shouldn't be forcing you, esp if you still have ms on and off. are you maintaining your weight?

Goldfish, Thanks. Will check it out.
Actually i waiting for ppl to give me things, since my cousin just give birth to a bb gal. so i ask my HB to wait a while, b4 we buy anything like stroller.. etc. But I have just bought a cot at the fair.

Xuanting, no, every soup that I have drank so far has made me throw up. No, I'm not maintaining my weight. I have lost more than I gained, so that's why they are forcing me to drink the soups. But I feel like it's having the opposite effect on me instead.

sasa,
my checkup yday was ok, hubby missed the part on the scan as he was looking for parking. managed to come in for the 2nd part of the consultation.

my bb is 320g at 20wk, think she will be small-sized. hehe. My hubby commented, wa.. her head so big. I looked at him funnily cos he was the one who ever told me the head forms a third of a baby's body when I asked him why a baby's head is so big from those baby posters.

Congrats on your bb boy!
As long as healthy good already. Don't give yourself too much pressure. My detailed scan will be 2.5 wks from now. duno why so long..arrggh.

Yup, clothes shopping for bb is much more fun for bb girl. been buying quite a number of pink clothing for my bb.. can't resist.

Have been busy...so not posting as much...prob all this week...sigh!!

wingkei
Maybe Goldfish's suggestion is the best...get your doc to tell your hb not to give you any more soups...i'm sure the doc doesn;t want you puking any more than is necessary...!

flos
i forgot about the burglars/...haiz...there goes my retirement...

xuanting
i change the inserts with the diapers. i know you can change only the inserts only coz the diaper not wet, but i lazy lah...

bumwear
actually we started cloth diapering to save money. in the long run, it is defintely cheaper. just think when you are going to toilet train you lil ones, that will be the amount of time your lil one will be in diapers...

wingkei (wingkei) : could it be pyschological? U dun like so you will puke kinda thing? I'm sure your mum in law wont cook anything that will harm you and her precious grandchild. I think they're concerned that you're not gaining weight and hence wants to BU your body now that you're past 1st trimester. But then again, if you dislike it so much but have no choice, why don't you pretend to puke the soup out once you drink it in front of them?

l'l cy, i read that the inserts &amp; liners are washable &amp; that the liners only need be thrown away when they kena pooped on – how durable are the inserts? don't want to keep having to buy those cos they aren't cheap apiece. what did you use for your newborn? seems like they've got dif ones for dif ages but some can be used on both newborns and babies up to 8/9kg. am thinking of popping by their store at united square to take a look.

mummies, do u all think that time flies or crawls now? At times I think time is really crawling at snail's pace esp with regards to the monthly gynae checkup! heee...

When we first started this thread, the jan mtb were beginning to pop and we were the "latest" thread for 2008 mtb.
Then now, when u look through again, the April mummies are all starting to pop liao and the "latest" thread is DEC liao lor! hahaa.. we have "upgraded".. haaa...

Dont u all find it very exciting yet nervous at the same time? going through all these changes. for first time mummy to be like me, I am still bewildered! Bewildered that a life is growing inside me lor. hahahah..from egg and sperm can become a baby! goodness.. ;-)

Just nice, the last few sci lessons were on reproduction.. ahahaa. so I had heaps to share with the kids!

We are going to be mummies leh! or rather, we are mummies liao lor.. technically speaking. haa.. ok..i have time on hand, so just wana share these thoughts with u ladies..

crayonshinchan, i def agree with you that time crawls with regard to our monthly trips to the doc! i try not to be a clock watcher but really can't help looking at the pregnancy calendar again and again just to read about how bb is growing and then excitedly tell hubby "bb can yawn now!" or "it can swallow now!" or "it is growing hair now!". very kan cheong and like so suaku like that but i really can't help it!

by the time the may mtb thread is up, some of us would've popped already!

Ava: The pics of the adapter. Looks v normal. Bring the pump along when you buy cos the pinpoint must be able to fit into the power hole on the pump.
1331185.jpg
1331186.jpg

Bigtoes: You can buy nappy liners to place on the cloth nappies. If baby poos, throw the liners away. The diaper won't kenna wan if lined probably.
Washing of diapers? Ask the maid to wash lah. We just throw everything into washing machine. Baby clothes wash separately and use baby detergent.

Goldfish: I'm also buying training pants. But they're for my #1 leh. She's 13mths going on 14mths. Want to start toilet training her.

sasa de mouse: that means I might be able to see the gender next week too! I'll talk to my baby to be guai guai and open the legs big big to let me steal a glance

Ava: "Maybe you and your friends are all same year and conceived same month, so based on chinese calendar/old wive's tale, you'll all be having boys...better make some friends of diff ages etc "

Is that ancient birth chart accurate? There are a few versions on the internet. Some say I'll get a girl, some say boy...nah...

Mei: I agree with you! My tummy suddenly becomes so big and obvious that everyone's asking whether I was preggers.

aloevera: you are going to Oz? Wow, I wonder if I can make it somewhere in May?

Sarahmay/bbmouse: Are u sure Dang Shen is ok for preggie ladies? I dun eat the meat either. Just drink the essence.

Big Toes: What a waste if u go to Banyan Tree and cannot enjoy the massage there?!!

I think it's really amazing that something inside us is growing day by day...I look fwd to my visits to the gynae cos I kinda miss my lil one

I talk to my baby before a meal daily and ask what he/she would like mommy to feed him/her with later
Today, baby moved quite a bit in the office and on my way home too. It's getting bigger. Wonder how long he/she is now?

Anyone of you blogging about your pregnancy, since most of you are copywriters and editors?

Birds' Nest:
It doesn't give baby fair complexion for sure. I eat it 2-3 times a week after the 5th month for my first pregnancy. My #1 is born with very tan complexion. But she doesn't have ezcema and have quite smooth skin.
I think to have fair babies, need to drink lots of milk.