(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ying Ling
hahaha..yes...i wan leh. try help me look out for JC level GP can?

flos
yes, i realised that when i was there. but i had a few funny encounters with the girls there. not nasty just very funny...it's got to do with the way they treat their bfs/hbs....

think SH is nice. told hb if he wants to move anywhere in china, i dun mind shanghai, unless he could get a nice nice property overlooking the lake at Suzhou...hahahhaa...

clothe diapering
use bumwear...you wont regret. but while they are younger and not so mobile, can just use normal cloth diapers. my son use bumwear, even going out, and i never fail to get compliment from it. it makes their butt real cute...

and it really really lasts!!!!

btw, im just thinking of getting somemore, for my boy and the new addition. if anyone wants to get can i tag along? it's cheaper if you get more...

Hey Juz_Jewel!
I am contemplating using BUMWEAR diaper as well! The initial cost is high bt i guess in the long run is more cost-efficient.
Since u are an experienced BUMWEAR user, can u share with me more on BUMWEAR?
For pee and poo, how frequent do we need to change the inner lining + diaper?
Is the diaper reallie tat absorbent tat pee can pass through and into the inner lining and still appear to be quite ‘dry’?

Hi l'L CY
U are oso another bumwear user?
Perhaps u can share with me more details on bumwear too! I heard one size fits all.. issit true? But do u find it a chore to wash the dirty linens mah?
I am interested to get it wor.. probably getting their package deal wor. Or u got better lobangs?

Good morning mommies! I have uploaded my (sticky & sweaty) ubin photos here:http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos
Have a look if you are interested in nature photography.

hi mrs yap, i went to see my gyane yday.. she say im lack of iron, advise me to sit down and rest my head down on the table if i got the attack again.. the best is rest on the bed lah.. she say most of her small build gals got the same prob as me.. mayb becoz im underweight before im pregnant ba..

im currently taking multi vitamin, iron n calcum.. i hv leg cramp occasionally n she say i lack of calcium..

Xuanting - Yup, mainly educational titles. So you can prob guess the publishers I work with. There are so few of them around. Haha. What kind of titles do you do?

Lilboymum- Wow! Hq! The prospects are really good. Anw MOE is always desperate, now more so than ever even. So I'm sure you can find your way back into there if you wanted to. I think you've got the right perspective.

Teacher Mummies - Any of you specialise in English and love to write? Helping publisher look for writers.

Flos- You're funny! Please la...this is a forum. No need to speak or write tt well right? I LOVE to use Singlish. I think my students and parents, even my own editors, will faint if they read my English here. But who cares! Btw, where are all those places that sell branded factory overruns located in Macau?

Storeberry - preggies can eat sashimis ah? Really?!!! That is like such GOOD news for me cos I Love sashimi sooooooo very much! I ate so much of it just before I confirmed I was preggie cos I told myself i will not have a chance to if I were really preggie. But how come all the preg info sites and my gynae also told me not to eat sashimi?

<font color="0000ff">Wow... we got so many teachers in our thread leh... hehe

SarahMay: Thanks for the webbies...
so sad u couldnt join us ytd...

Storeberry
yeap yeap... Sunrays n i juz signed up for the class ytd... Mrs Wong's class on Sunday. 12.30pm - 2.30pm lor.. after FBI 10% discount.. paid abt $200 lah.. join us lah... if u free

Sunrays
*waves waves*... hehe.. thanks for the recommendation ytd.. wah... so heavenly leh.. haha.. even till now i'm stil drooling.. but i was hungry last nite leh.. got hb to go out buy fishball noodles for me at 11pm.. haha..

Precious
So wat did Dr Wong say abt ur breathlessness &amp; increase in heart rate??</font>

Any one wants to use aloe vera gel for stretching tummies?PM me.I myself has been using and its non greasy.Its not expensive too.

<font color="0000ff">Valnsw
hehe... how was ur checkup ytd?? mine was fruitful.. hehe.. bb was active.. but bb heard me and open legs lor.. (tho juz for a split second) but both gynae n i saw that 'thing' in the middle lor.. tho i'm quite disappointed but have decided that as long as bb is healthy.. i shall not ask for more.. juz cannot fulfil my inlaws wish.. haha...

so.. i'll be having a boy.. if wat gynae n i saw was correct!!!

my detailed scan will be 28 apr.. so long leh...

oh ya.. i told Dr Cheng abt the hardening again.. n he insisted its intestinal gas.. so i'll juz leave it as it is bah.. he say still too early for Braxton Hicks leh..

Flos
aiyoh... so inconsiderate ah.. they say ur backside??? den *shoot* them back.. haha.. like tat den can give birth naturally mah..

Mei
Where are u?? nvr post ur good news?? hehe.. btw.. thanks for helping mi buy the vits..

Rabbit
same here.. i was hoping for a gal too.. but nvm lah.. healthy bb can le..

Shazz
wah.. u realli very happening leh.. hehe.. always zipping around...
so happy to be able to see bb hor</font>

sarahmay,
i am in my 17th week now..havent sign up package yet..was told to do that in 20th week. guess I have to wait patiently for another 4 weeks to have the DS and see bb again

on herbal soup, what r the types of soups we are able to drink? besides paoshen, wolfberries? we still cant take ginseng rite? can we just double-boil paoshen with chicken? I have been taking bird nest..is that ok?

my colleague presented us with her 1st mth bb gift..its a box with 3 diff types of cookies..v nicely packed.. I am thinking is it enough to just have a table of lunch/dinner with immediate family for full mth celebration? cakes for colleagues and skip the relatives?

sasa
i guessed u'll be hungry last nite cos i was hungry around 10pm!! Then no choice went to pick up my hb then we ate near his working place.. i slept at 3am last nite!! Not insomnia tho, cos i was watching tv,haha..

sunrays,
i am always hungry..thats y i gained 3 kgs in a month..
and forever sleepless...still waking up 2-3 times a nite and cant get back to sleep...

Hi ladies, are u guys arranging for any travelling between now and Sept? I have a couple of business trips, but want to go somewhere for a quick holiday before we get tied down for a few months after the baby is born!
While I will still be travelling for work after maternity, we are so used to travelling for holidays together, I can't imagine being stuck in Singapore...

Any suggestions where to go for 3D2N? I was checking out Banyan Tree Bintan, but wondering where else?

bacon&amp;egg
do u eat late at nite?? If u do, maybe tat's why u can't really sleep well?? Origins have this product...can't remember the name but it is a lavender essential oil tat u apply on yr pillow..apparently it induces sleep wor..wonder if it will work??

Hi Flos ,
Thank you in advance loi .. my hubby staying in more sub area in " Qi Bao " near the Hong qiao Airport .. in fact 10 mins away .. can hear the plane everyday .. thinking of asking him to shift when i am ready to bring bb over .. around 4 mths or 5 mths old for bb mouse .. Envy u lei .. fly so many countries before .. i love to fly too .. but after married .. no chance .. after getting preg and the first born , even lesser chance .. think the only possiblitity is only when the kids are 3 years old , then bring thm to club med for short trip getaway .. since there are pple who can help us tend to kids .
Xuanting ,
My hubby will be back on the 10th april .. waiting for him to come back cos i have camp in school for three days during that time and its time for him to take over ..
Hi juz jewel
Wink!
u teching in sec school ?

Mrs yap
Me taking triple test later ... visiting gynae later .. think only draw three small tubes of blood for testing .. no issue to the foetus .. but it is only a sreening test for DS and Spinae Bi..
Sarah May ,
I bought my first little one on flight when he was two months plus to shanghai to stay over a month plus .. then bring him back .. he slept all the way in the flight .. Macau about the same hours as shanghai.. maybe even shorter hours ..keke .. i will be bringing my mouse up about 4-5 mths old .
I will be gg for gynae later .. will udpate u gals at night ..
Gg for lessons now ..
Also , we are proud to use singlish here on teh forum and maybe some dialets .. keke ..
Flos ,
U should take some multi- vit like obimin and some DHA pills .. ask from your gynae la .. cos i can really see the difference in kids health after the are born if we take vitamins .. also chinese herbs can take after 5th mth .. but must be careful on what some herbs .. cos heard that some chinese herbs will cause contractions .. so better check properly before consuming any .. I had ginseng only from 7th mths onwards , Cordycepts from 6th mths .. hmm juz to share with mummies .

hi sasa, Dr Wong say im lack of iron.. gave me iron tablets to take lor.. she say quite common for skinny gals.. im underweight before pregnant.. BB is taking all my nutrition tat why i got the attack.. btw i oso hv a harden bump when i lie on the bed(smtimes on the right, smtimes on the left), gyane say is bb leh.. coz she scan my tummy cannot see other lump except bb..

hi ladies, wonder if preg ladies can take frog leg congee?? my friend adviced me not to cos not sure if it is clear anot. she afraid got bateria.. is it true?

bigtoes
go bkk lor... i went there 3wks ago. Can shop for cheap bb clothes somemore. but of cos bkk wldn't be the relaxing kinda trip.
Been to banyan tree and mayang sari in bintan.. it didnt feel like a holiday cos evrything was in SG$$..hehe. But it is indeed relaxing, good to spend quality time wif hb

Or Phuket?? Langkawi?? If u can splurge try Pangkor Laut?? http://www.pangkorlautresort.com/

Qiuling: I've started taking cordyceps soups. As soon as I discover I was pregnant. I think this is ok, although I must say for my first pregnancy, we started later cos more cautious. This time a bit bo-chap, plus we really feel the cordyceps have been useful to both myself and my #1.

Goldfish, preggie
no, i dun have lobang. the only thing is if you buy a larger package, you get it cheaper loh...

we can share share...

sarahmay
good money or not???i specialised in GP/ENglish leh...

yes but i love Singlish too.

BBmouse,
Can u tell me more on how beneficial is Cordceps on urself and bb?

l'lCy,
How many diapers and inserts do u have now? U are doing full time BUMWEAR diapers or a mixture?

HI-5* to Flos! did u put your palm on the lower ab to feel the movement? i did... and it went up n down, and i feel movement inside too.

koras,
the heat from our palm will attract the little one inside too. it will swim towards the heat n move abt. if u wanna feel, try to lie down when u r full or hv a full bladder. place your palms on the lower ab, u can feel it when the BB is big enuff. maybe week 15 and above.

hi l'lCY, I'm also keen on bumwear. but when the salesperson was describing the usage to my hb &amp; me at the baby fair, my hb was quite disturbed to learn that even if the bb craps on it, it can still be thrown into the washing machine together with our clothes. So was wondering if you could share wif me ur experience with the washing.. do the nappy linens help alot by not dirtying the actual nappy?

Bigtoes: Nice scenery!! What camera are you using, the shots are vibrant &amp; great!

SarahMay: Yah man, this pregnancy keeps having cravings for Jap food! Too bad you are in Macau rite else we can go for Jap food together! My gyane says can eat sashimi so I will go ahead &amp; eat but not too much. Everything in moderation.

Sa Sa: Congrats on you having a boy!! Yah as long as healthy we are happy liao... Yesterday I also felt hungry suddenly &amp; had toast at 10plus..

goldfish
no, im using it partially. the rest i use traditional cloth diapers. but am thinking of slowly converting everything to bumwear when #2 comes along...

dmbb
actually the liner will take most of the poo. even BM poo which is runny, it takes most of it. the rest that runs over to the side, you can simply spray with water to remove, quite easy really. then you can put it in a pail of soapy water to soak before dumping in washing machine...

ask your hb not to worry. think about it, bbs only drink milk. they dun go out much and get themselves dirty like adults too...think of all the germs (mucus from previous customers on hawker stools/tables etc, the dirt from men's socks) that we as adults are exposed to? then you know that bb poo is cleaner than what we throw into the washing machine...

if it really affects your hb, then wash separately lor...we also wash separately coz hb thinks bbs stuff should be cleaner than adults' :p

sunrays (sunrays) - thanks for ur suggestion. BKK is out cos we went in Dec. Will check out Pangkor Laut. My sister &amp; parents went a couple a months back &amp; had great things to say about the resort. The problem is getting flights &amp; rooms! I initially intended to go to Langkawi as a surpise long weekend for hubby after his Masters exams in May, but the rooms/Silk Air flights were all booked even thou its not the school holidays yet!

storeberry (storeberry) - thanks. I was using my casio exlim, whereas hubby took the close up shots using his big bulky Canon SLR with the macro lens attachment. He's quite a photography fan.

Bigtoes,

consider going to Bali...?? I wanted to go to Bali - Ubud, the mountaineous area, with rice paddy fields..for a long time..
always didnt have time to go.

fresh air, alitude, a break from the normal beaches kinda holiday. and the resorts are those luxury kind..like banyan tree kind.

It's very nice. How I wish i can take a break and go there before i deliver. hopefully i can find the time!

hello!

sasa de mouse &amp; sunrays
It was nice to meet you two yesterday.

I went for my checkup yesterday, &amp; I'm expecting a boy.

I'm also planning on a trip in May, thinking of Banyan Tree Bintan.

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
haha... really ah.. ya lah.. so i got hb to go buy a packet of fishball noodles for me at 11pm.. i finished it leh.. but 4am i still woke up feeling hungry.. den had to drink a cup of milk b4 i could return back to bed leh

sob sob sob... talking abt BKK again!!!

Bigtoes
i wanna travel.. but den ytd i asked my gynae if i could travel... guess wat... he said NO!!!!!!!!!!!!! tell mi to buy clothes online wor.. hmph...

Precious
aiyoh.. like tat u muz take care of urself leh.. n take supplements to strengthen

Storeberry
hehe... thanks thanks!! same same lor.. we both got mickey!!!</font>

sunray,
i usually take milo + calcium pill 10ish..i try not to take heavy meals late nite but if i am too hungry, i would take a slice of bread.

any MTB afraid of heat? or perspire easier these days? anyone has dark patches on their armpits?
I am experiencing the above..the dark armpit scares me..

sasa
time to let go...u can't go bkk!! no worries i'll out for bb clothes for you in taipei.. hey sep thread really got alot of mickey-s!!

Mei
Nice to meet u too..sasa and i was saying u look very young and u seem so cheerful compared to both of us.. or maybe we both too tired after heavy meal hehe...

bacon&amp;egg
it's natural for us to be afraid of the heat..cos our body temp is higher than normal..nowadays i've to turn on the aircon plus fan!! Always feeling hot!!

Mei (meie) - congrats on your little boy! Seems like more MTBs here expecting boys than girls? Wonder why?
I think i might just end up in Banyan Tree Bintan also
! Don't have the hassel of travelling &amp; arranging flights. Maybe a pre-birthday holiday to myself cos i would be in confinement during my Bday!

Just abit expensive &amp; not value for money compared to other places - a decent room is about S$700+/nite after taxes!

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie)- how come your gyne has banned u from travelling? I think relaxing holidays to beach resort should be fine no?

Btw, if anyone is doing up ur baby's room, I just contacted my curtain guy to change the blinds to Roman Blinds. Also changing the lounge curtains.
His rates are quite reasonable &amp; workmanship is good, so let me know if you want the contact.

Oh, have also shortlisted my baby bed over the weekend, but want to look around more before buying.

meie
congrats on yr baby boy... alot of boys and no girls so far hor... maybe boy easier to detect...keke

bacon&amp;egg
eversince i preggy i realised my armpit sweat more... and sometimes i really find it smells... yucks... b4 preggy i hardly sweat one

Precious
Thanks for yr info... fortunately yr giddiness is nothing serious... hopefully iron supplements u took will help

Ladies...
if anyone of u staying near IMM, you can try looking for nice n cheap baby wear in a shop called Little Jewels... Unit #02-29... I bought a few gifts from there for my friends' baby
WARNING... if u go there, be prepared to spend some time flip thru all the lovely dresses... Love it

Rabbit: Is your chicken essence from Brands or those self-brewed type? I wasn't prescribed with iron pills cos my gynae said my Oscar test shows my blood quality makes me an ideal blood donor. Guess he thinks I'm "bloody" enough? LOL

Wow: surprised u all still surfing the net after 11pm last night. I was shagged to the core, boy!

Shazz: u r welcome

lilboymum: overlooking Suzhou? That will be beyond Xinzhuang suburbs liao wor...That's in Jiangsu province, no in SH anymore eh? frankly, the beauty of Sh is the city centre. I would rather move to Australia or US if I want to stay in a nice detached house in the outskirts of Chinese cities and risk burglary by the villagers!!

Lilboymum: u can apply to teach at the int'l school in SH since u were once a qualified teacher.

SarahMay: I read in the tourist guidebooks about those outlets, but didn't check them out cos I wasn't preggers then

sasa de mouse: yah lor, I'm pear-shaped by nature, so pregnancy has made my bum quite wide lor...sob sob. You have expecting a boy, why should your in laws be disappointed? thot they usually prefer boys? heheh! Wow, split second. How many weeks are you in right now? I hope my baby will respond to mommy when we go to Dr next week for my Wk 17-18 scan.

Qiuling: I can so imagine how restricted u hv become after giving birth to your kids. I wish I can get help from my in laws. I am planning to travel after delivery.

I'm rather careful with TCM. I'm feeling quite alright and each time the dr didn't say anything wrong about my scans. So I reckon maintaining a balanced diet should be ok at this point. I might brew some herbal soups after next week's visit.

Yvonne: Don't take frog legs cos there might be parasites in the stomach of the frogs.

bbmouse: I also took cordy before conception, but stopped cos dr told me to until 5th month. did u find it good for your first born?

Mei: congrats to finding out the gender!!!

Bigtoes: nice photos. u r really adverturous hor? I don't know if I want to travel during the whole term at all.

<font color="0000ff">No shopping for gals clothes for mi i guess!!!

Sunrays
haha... i "不甘心"

Bigtoes
dunno leh.. haha.. prob coz its for shopping.. so he dun allow lor. if for work n boh pian muz go one.. think he will allow lah.. anyway, i shall be guai guai n listen to him.. this bb did not come easy anyway..

oh btw... wat cot have u shortlisted? wanna find out more..

Wow!! So many mummies expecting a boy. I went to doc last thurs and doc say maybe is a gal. Well, I'll just wait till my next visit on 24 apr to confirm the gender. By that time i will be in my 19wks, more accurate bahs. =)

<font color="0000ff">Flos
haha... my inlaws have been trying for a gal themselves.. but they ended up with 3 boys so they placed all their hopes on us lor. now boy again.. really lah.. think their genes all boys de.. haha

i'm 17wks based on lmp.. talk to bb lor.. alot of my frens told mi to do tat.. n i did talk to bb in the morning b4 my checkup.. tell bb to be guai guai.. open legs for mi to see gender.. den i will go buy nice nice clothes... hehe.

too bad daddy wasn't there to see.. haha. n i forgot to bring a videocam... shucks!!</font>

sunrays
I am by nature very chirpy &amp; energetic, some people commented that I don't seem preggy coz I'm always jumping all over the place.. lol. But anyway, both of you look great also! &amp; sasa is very fair!

Bigtoes
My friends who are pregnant &amp; who has just given birth all also had boys.. my hb was joking that our sons will have trouble finding wives next time.. lol.

As for Banyan Tree, you can look out for promos going on. I like to check www.fascinating.com.sg for promos.

<font color="0000ff">Mei
hahaha.... u look very young.. how old are u ah.. if u dun mind mi asking?? i look fair?? thank u wor.. haha... but alot of ppl esp my parents n inlaws always say i look pale...</font>

sasa
My detailed scan is 28/4 too! which hosp are u going again? so many people now I forget who's going where..and dunno where in archives to find that table already

<font color="0000ff">Ava
i'll be at TMC.... u there too????????????????? haha... ya lor.. can't find the table le..

Mei
wah.. serious ah.. u dun look like it leh.. hehe

sasa/mei/bigtoes
Maybe you and your friends are all same year and conceived same month, so based on chinese calendar/old wive's tale, you'll all be having boys...better make some friends of diff ages etc

Mei (meie) - thanks! I just dropped facinating holidays a note. Their rates are indeed abit cheaper!

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - the cot we are most probably getting is called Boori, an Aussie brand. Love the solid wood. Am getting their 4 poster baby cot in dark brown with a mozzie netting, but it is the last piece &amp; they aren't bringing in any more of that model.

An alternative one that is also pretty is their sleige cot. Note however, than their cot sizes are abit larger than standard ones, so bed linen and bedding is more of a hassle to get.

Rabbit (rebirth) : thanks! I find that walking alot helps to boost my energy level ... of course, I replenish with plenty of yummy food. ;) The multivits the gynae gave me also helped, cos on days when I skipped the multivits, I felt tired.

Sasa de mouse: congrats on the boy! =) Yes, I agree that you're fair and petite, look young too! hmmn, your pregnancy very smooth mah, why your gynae say no travelling?

mei: congrats on the boy!

Jasmine: congrats on the girl! So many little boys, your girl will be highly sought after by our little boys next time! haha

Bigtoes: you take such lovely pictures! also interested to find out what camera you using. hee.

On the topic of travelling, I'm also cracking my brains on where to go. Somehow was very excited and adventurous to travel as much as I can before late June/early July but all the planning is giving me a headache. I've lost interest in travelling after thinking so much and so hard! sigh. Think I'll just go for the 3D2N at Ho Chi Minh and then call it a day. The only reason why I wanna tag along to Dubai with Hubby even though it costs me $2480 for 3D2N is cos he will be leaving on my bday and I hate to spend my bday without him again! We have never really celebrated my bday properly since we got married. *sobs* tired of thinking already! gotta get back to work

sarahmay, i do lifestyle titles (language, culture, travel, coffee table books etc – the ones you see in mph and kino) but have been doing mainly legal titles the last few years. would like to return to frivolous books soon.