(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa,
thanks for your concern

I need to get a cot that's foldable cos limited space to move the cot from room to room on wheels.

So far, only saw one model thar's suitable but thinking abit narrow.

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine
haha... wah.. bb loves durian leh..

ic ic... i oso checkup on monday.. haha.. will *ren* till den coz i think the clinic will be crowded on sat

oh my... i love spicy food now oso.. not much appetite if not spicy. but den i realised.. my stomach cannot really take it.. coz been feeling a little crampy.. think too much spicy stuff inside le.. so burning.. haha

eermm... not sure abt ginseng leh.. i heard some of my frens say their mum / mil started boiling herbal soups for them from 5th mth onwards..</font>

Hi Limay,

haha, actually I asked my friend the same question, and she said she also dunno how come spend so much, since most of the wine she used to cook the soup are gifts from her friends. I guess the herbs etc are pretty ex... my friend did have several soups a day, incl one just before bed etc.

Confinement food are supposed to be 'bu', remove water retention and wind etc. I did not have a good first confinement, so this time round, I think better do a proper one lah, even if it's ex. Since I am intending to close shop after this no. 2 liao

Actually I did not like pig's trotters before my confinement.. but maybe that was before I ate what my FIL prepared... his pigs trotters are superb! I can't wait to eat that for my confinement now actually... haha!
Confinement food also has alot to do with how your wound recover, esp if you are having c-section. My c-section wound is awful - thick and darker brown than my skin. My friend's c-sec wound is hardly noticeable... avoid chicken in the first weeks after c-section...

jasmine: u can try drinking luohan guo herbal tea...i think it will help to soothe sore throat.

and yes, drink more honey..buy those good ones..i was sick last week too, kept drinking on honey propolis, good honey etc...it will help to boost your own immune system to fight against the virus. Of course, resting is very important since we can't rely on medicine now.

drink warm water with honey.., oh yes, I boiled water and put vicks and inhale..it relieves the flu congestion a little too.

Also, avoid taking megadoses of Vit C as this will give us stomachache, wind and diarrhoea. This has been advised in babycentre. The recommended daily amt for adults is only about 40mg.

REST REST REST &amp; DRINK DRINK DRINK.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom)- hopefully the cooking of my CL is not too bad then!

Btw, I actually have a similar wound to that from a C-section following my fibroid removal. It is about 8cm in length (C-section is about 10cm?), but i didn't eat anything special after being discharged, &amp; the wound has completely healed - can only see a faint whitish line, &amp; no raised scar. I was given 2 weeks MC, but actually started working from home 1 day after being discharged (kiasu &amp; bored). I think how your skin heals has a lot to do with your own body's ability to regenerate, as well as the gyne's skills...&amp; less so the food consumed. Same logic as people who suffer from stretch marks even thou they apply expensive cream vs. those who do nothing &amp; end up with no marks?

limay
u paid for air in ur vpost shipping! The retailers in US are very generous with packing! They use huge boxes and fill it with lots of airbags!!!

re cordblood
I remembered reading somewhere that all the hype about cordblood being a 'cureall' is really hype cos research is not so advance yet.

confinement ladies
the average angpao really $200?!? That's A LOT!!!

Hi xuanting,

I think there are some lean meat in pig trotters, but the fatty part is so yummy! :p maybe it's post partum mentality.. haha!

Limay,
Yah, I think it might have something to do with the gynae's skills...cos in the US, my wound is 'glued' together with surgical glue.. and I understand that this is not the procedure here? So maybe, and hopefully that's why! My friend told me for my second c-section, the gynae will be able to fold down the old scar so that the new wound will be 'prettier'. I certainly hope so!

Sasa,
No choice cos i got to work overtime on monday. So have to move forward the appt and wait at the clinic on sat. Ur doc also Dr Woody?

U can take spicy but dont make it too hot. Just a lil taste will do. I also dont dare take too hot. Heard from my friend that ginseng can cure sore throat.

lemon
I can drink luohan guo ar? I dont dare drink any herbal tea scared too liang. I got bluff by the shop, waste my money and doesnt works. It just taste like plain water. I sleep 10 everyday, before preg i can stay up late for movies, but now cannot liao will fall asleep during movie. Haha..

Anyway, thanks sasa n lemon. =)

Limay,

Actually that's one thing I hate about Vpost, that they go by volumtric or actual weight of the parcel, whichever is higher. I bought 3 pairs of crocs that were really cheap from the US and used VPost. In the end, the shoes were more ex than the ones sold here! I am now using Comgateway instead... as they go by actual weight, and will repack the items for you...

lhy
Yes, using bliss...hope it's OK. the reviews seem to be good in general...the lady in charge, doreen, being a mum herself who also didn't do confinement first time round then did it for her second says she is good at recommending the right CL for the new mum's requirements...hope so lah.

Angpow
I think we were planning like $88 or something....

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - yah, got a shock when the vPost bill came. They must have just found some big box &amp; chucked my 2 items in, then added alot of bubble wrap cos the weighing scale has a glass top.
My hubby used to ship via Comgateway, but recently switched to vPost cos he claimed it is cheaper. Anyway, just need to avoid getting heavy/bulky items from US next time.

Btw, for your 2nd C-section, can the gyne open the same wound? I didn't check with my gyne on that yet.

oohh... ic ic.. hehe. nvm lah.. change to Sat den u can see bb earlier leh. no wor.. i'm not seeing Dr Woody. haha.. but heard alot abt him. Am seeing Dr LC Cheng at TMC...

aiyoh.. spicy food hor.. if not too hot den not nice le.. hehe.. i'm asking for it hor. will try to cut down on it.

actually i think Xuanting's suggestion is good too.. coz i tried it a few times oso.. hehe</font>

yvonne, honey is okay for us, manuku is organic so it's even beta. it's only not so good for bb under 1y/o.

my appt with gynae is this fri, hopefully can find out the gender then! =P

bigtoes... my doc says the c-section operation will be on the same location for my fibroid wound... your wound is 8cm long?? Mine is 6cm onli and i cant tahan the pain liao

Hi..
sorry gals.. long time never came in.. busy with work and my gal as well.. now really going to prepare to be a full time housewife..

If I'm not wrong.. during my first gal.. i did call up to enquire about the cordblood.. but hor.. tat time which is about 2 years ago.. they told me now like can store up to 5 years.. so now tat i see u gals were saying can store up to age 21.. meaning they have already improve.. kekeke..

Sunrays: I use my digital camera to flim it but digital cam is the lousy one so no sound one.. Yah I also find the head very round &amp; big leh.. kekeke.. No, haven't been eating durians &amp; also not much weight gain. My tummy still not obvious, can ask sa sa, cos she saw me before.

lhy: Could your company block youtube?

LC (fainz): Wow you having MS now, take smaller meals, will be better as the weeks passes..

Bigtoes &amp; xuanting: No problem at all!

Mrs Yap: Mine have no sound one.. kekek.. lousy digi cam..

Ava: Received you email! Cannot see hah? Anyidea beside youtube can post where? Cos I think alot of companies network block youtube. Nope, my nephew Jayden mummy not Alice.. Kekeke

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - okie, thats good to hear
Don't want to have 3 wounds at the end of it all (if i have 2 babies thru C-section)! Yah, mine is about 8cm cos my fibriod was huge (100gm and about 7cm width). There was no pain thou - the worst pain was when the inserted the needle into my hand to inject the GA. I was off painkillers the same afternoon after my surgery (and I have a low tolerance to pain - one reason I am not opting for natural birth)!

xuanting
can it be hot water instead of cold cos im not allowed to drink cold water. im gg to try it tonight.

Sasa
Im excited to see he/she wor. hehe... icic.. i tot u see dr woody.

ya true if not too hot den not nice le but hor muz cut cut abit not good cos too heaty.

<font color="0000ff">Momoko
*waves waves*... u gonna quit ur job le???

Sunrays
haha... yeap yeap... Storeberry not showing yet leh.. she still looks so slim leh.. wouldnt noe she's preggy if she didnt say leh...

Jasmine
me too!!! i wait till my neck so long.. wonder how's the little one.. hope to see gender too.. haha... i dun like to be kept in suspense. can't stand it

rxmom, they used surgical glue for such a big cut? did it hold well? i've only seen it used once (hubby nearly sliced his fingers off) and it seems like they only use it for less critical situations where stitching may be avoided.

sasa
haha.. i hope the little one will be cooperative enough to let us see see.

xuanting
ok i try it tonight hope it wont hurt tml so that i can eat pizza for lunch as my colleagues going to call for delivery.

actually we can eat all fruits but not too much. my mil even ask me drink watermelon juice (not always) cos body inside heaty.

sasa.,
no lah.. my dream ah to not to work.. well.. my job is quite flexible one... accept tat i need to work on wkends.. so on wkday.. most of the time i should be at home.. actually now i realise priority change lah.. i never thought tat i wanted to be a housewife one... but now... my precious daughter came along and plus this little one.. trying to hint my hubby liao leh.. kekeke

Hmmm....can ba, i read a book, say pregnant can eat watermelon, papaya.
I eat mango, durian, longan, watermelon, I even drink coconut drink. just eat not too much, if we can take heaty staffs, we can eat "liang", to have a balance. can't keep eating heaty thing, got a lot like pimple things on my body, can't stand it.

hehe.. actually u are rite.. everything oso can eat.. juz tat dun take too much lor. tat's wat Dr Cheng told mi too wor.. haha...

so he actually allows me to take even sharksfin &amp; stingray...

Momoko
wah... i think its every women's dream to stay at home and not work wor..
but of coz.. provided hb can support the whole family lor..
hint hint to him lah.. u gave him 2 little ones leh..</font>

haha... i oso hope the little one will cooperate. muz talk to bb these few days le.. psycho bb to open legs big big for us to see..

wah.. u realli tempt mi leh... i feel so hungry after reading ur post.. haha... pizza hut... </font>

Jasmine: You eat durians everyay? Do you know that eating durians will make the baby grow very big? And some mothers with underweight babies will load up on durians towards the end of the 3rd trimester. Those with big babies will avoid at all cost. All are afraid of the difficulty of labour if the bb is too big.

xuanting, rxmom: My gynae also used surgical glue for my c-scar. But I still end up with an ugly keloid. This time round hopefully it will be different.

rxmom: No leh, cwg doesn't repack the items for you.

Momoko: Good to see you here. You have been busy ah..

YingLing: Hey girl, how r u?

Pig's trotters: Actually drinking the gravy is good enough leh. The vinegar dissolves the bone marrows in the trotters and the "goodies" is all in the gravy. My CL will also add in some lean pork.

Momoko: You're going to quit? After the ML must be.. Me too.. Intend to quit after the bonus actually, which is in Feb.

sasa
i also miss stingray. yummy! but kangkong cannot eat cos leg will be soft soft when our stomach grow bigger.

yup eat moderately (dunno correct spelling anot, hehe).

thanks gals for ur help. hope the water with salt will help me tonight.

bbmouse, no la, everyday eat durian, think my body can tahan, don't think my hubby wallet can't tahan. ha ha ha...
actually i don't eat a lot durian, i find it too sweet, can't intake too much sugar also cos i like to drink soft drink.
somehow yesterday get my HB to buy all the shell seafood like "gong gong", "zu zu", da bao to my mother house to eat together with my family. feel like eating, but can't eat too much, so da bao home, cos my family big, got a lot ppl help to eat, so in this case i get to eat but not too much. :p

hehe.... finally i found my stingray partner.. kangkong i onli eat 1-2 strands now.. IF i ever do eat... wahhahaa</font>

bbmouse
Not everyday. Every sat onli. haha! I didnt know eating duriangs can make baby grow very big wor. I only know is good to eat durians. haha! That is what my mil told me.

My MIL will do confinement for me after birth and we will buy her gold. That is what she wants, we will just bring her there let her choose and pay loh.

Jasmine: I see.. Once in a while is ok. To satisfy cravings.. Hehehe.. Hey the shellfish not so "clean" leh. If can avoid, then try to avoid now. I love cockles in char kway teow and laksa, but for the sake of babies, will avoid at all cost..

Jasmine: Yes leh. The saying is eating durians will make the baby grow very big. I think it's the sugar and carbo bhah.. Dunno.. I didn't eat durians at my last pregnancy. Bo cravings for it.. Only durian puffs. Think there was a time the mummies on the thread went hunting for durian puffs.. Hahaha.. We influence each other while chatting online..

bbmouse, as i don't eat raw, so i make sure they are 100% cooked. as for char kway teow i seldom eat, and laksa if really not cooked, then they will go to HB's stomach. Hee hee. But i will tell the stall holder to make more cook for me la.

Hey mums, do you all feel giddy sometimes? All of a sudden today from mid-morning, I felt giddy spells. I though it was caused by hunger, but after I've had something to eat, the giddiness is still there. Then I came home to rest. Now still feel a bit giddy. Need to see gynae or not huh?

Jasmine: Yah lor. Must be 100% cooked. But these food, usually taste better if not 100% cooked leh... Kekeke.. After the conefinement then eat lah..

haha.. got 2 jasmine. so blur now. call me piggyjas bahz.

kangkong i miss so much but dare not to eat. i miss my bubble tea with pearls too. =( alot of foods im missing it like jasmine yeo say gong gong, zu zu. wow~ so yummy lorh. my stomach so hungry after seeing it. *saliva drools*