(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava - I'm flying next month which is my week17. Do you know if I have to produce doctor's letter to the airline to certify that I am good to fly?

Lim- - if you have yellowish discharge, it might be an yeast infection.You might want to check it out if it persists and causes itchiness. Just mention to your gynae the next visit or call them. I had it, even though it didn't itch, my gynae said it is yeast and is quite common amongst preggies due to increased hormonal activity in our bodies.

Storeberry- your smallberry looks big! so cute! thanks for sharing!

Anyone taking Manuka Honey? Any brand to recommend?

bbmouse,

hospital will usually give diaper bag, so no need to buy it first.

JJParents,

To be safe, just take the earliest date. Usually u will have to standby ~2 weeks b4 due date. U can't predict the date with 100% accuracy. The EDD for #1 did not change at all throughout but still we had to induce him 1 week earlier due to other reasons.

yvonne,

u can bring whoever u like to the class.

confinement food:
personally, i won't take it more than the 1 mth. I don't take all the herbal stuff very well and confinement food are very "heaty". Even though I bathed daily during my 1st confinement in July/Aug, it was still very hot and me actually broke out with rashes.

confinement lady:
u can ask for recommmendation from pple u know. Again personal experience here: it was much easier to get along with my CL than my mum or MIL. CL slept with my son in a different room. I just express milk in the middle of the nite for her to feed.

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
I can't view it oso

sarahmay,

u just have to inform ur gynae abt it and i'm sure he/she will write u a letter just in case. I travelled on SQ to the US when I was 26 weeks but they didn't ask at all. The rule is generally no travelling beyond 32 weeks (but different airlines slightly different rules)

sasa...
can't be online today cos i'm going for my mani and pedi soon..been looking forward to it since last week,haha.. last nite i dreamt of my personal trainer, i think i must be feeling 'guilty' for procrastinating my visits to the gym...since last mth gynae alrdy said can start exercising liao but somehow i rather idle at home...haha...then such a coincidence,my trainer sms me this morning chking how am i wor...i told her later i'll go visit her after my manicure lor...

yst went to the crystal jade korean place at ngee ann city...SUCKS!! drank the korean ginseng chicken soup and it's super bitter!! my friends and i didnt enjoy the food there at all!! In the end went to my hubby's place and we had cakes,chocolates, ice cream...stayed there for 5hrs!!! Oh no...remember i told u i dun have a sweet tooth &amp; i nvr craved for my hubby's confections??? I think i have now!! oh no...my calories intake is gonna shoot up like mad!!

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
sob sob
so sad.. u wont be coming online... wah... u very happening leh.. hehe.. ok lor.. enjoy ur mani &amp; pedi session de.. hopefully later u can come online??

wah... u really went to ur hb's place to eat the cakes?? ehh... tot u were going for ur K session?? in the end didnt go ah?? see lah.. told u bb likes daddy's cakes le.. hehe

storeberry

u used vdo cam to film or just hp?? quite clear hor? Frm my first ultrsound scan i alrdy told hb nxt time try filming it...he kept telling me monitor flickering...wun be visible...arghhh...

yr smallberry's head and body sooooo round...cute!! yah...it looks big leh...wat u been eating??? durians??? hehehehe....

Hi, Valnsh

I am in my 2nd trimester but also throwing up since week 12 onwards (I have no MS in teh 1st trimester), every morning without fail..
but can't help it.. felt much better after throwing up.. hopefully will be soon over..

Hi, SarahMay
I am taking manuka honey from Nature Farm.. taste can be quite strong

Hi, JJ parent and Storeberry
I am thinking of giving 28 or 38 as any bao.. Din know the market rate for CL ang bao is 200?!! so much? We are paying 1.8k for CL service..

SarahMay (sarahmay) - there is no problem travelling in 2nd trimester &amp; u won't need ur gyne's letter - unless maybe u look bigger than ur term (like Ava cos of her twins). My gyne said we can travel till week 34 (I assume week 32 for longer haul flights beyond UK, and on SIA).

storeberry (storeberry) - thanks for sharing
I wanted to video during our visit on Monday also, but then didn't at the end cos the gyne said they will do the detailed scan &amp; give us the CD-Rom of photos &amp; clips at the next visit. Think too many MTBs must have been coming in with their digicams, they finally decided to just provide the service (&amp; somehow bill it in)!

sunrays (sunrays) - I thought the Crystal Jade Korean place is quite okie? I remember having alot of yummy beef the last time i was there.

LC (faintz) - wow, think u are one of the few who get MS in the 2nd trimester. Hope it will pass soon.

Btw, I think the CL angpow has to be about $100-200 (if you are happy with her service). Not sure if they will make a fuss if the amt is $28-38.

Thanks LC for info. I agree with Bigtoes...I think CL angpows have to be more than $100 one. That is why CL is ex! Cos on top of the pay, you still have to give angpow. But am sure, in the long run, u will appreciate the good help they are.

Is anyone thinking of catering confinement food?

sarahmay, ME ME!!
going to cater confinement food and not get a confinement nanny. Find it too ex! MIL shld be staying over for the 1mth so i presume it'll be better ba?

storeberry, thanks for sharing smallberry's first video. is it about twice its size at 12wks? i can't wait to see mine again too but i have 2 more weeks to go.

Lok: The hospital diaper is not nice leh. I'm vain lah..

lhy: The CL salary only includes her service. The herbs and all other daily food stuff we have to buy on our own at our own expense.
My ex-CL was very good and experienced. Although she's a Malaysian, she knows the market and sellers at TIong Bahru market very well. She would accompany my hubby there to buy all the daily pork, chicken, vege, spices, vinegar, ginger, etc and to the medicinal hall to get the herbs for me.
Hope this new CL of mine is just as good.

lhy: Really depends on how you want to bu3 yourself. Herbs like cordyceps are very ex. Personally, I think this is the only time we can tiao2 our bodies back to health. There is a saying if a woman has any aches or ailments, after delivery she is able to tiao2 her body back to health during the confinement period. So this 40- or 100-day confinement period is very crucial and important. If we tiao2 well, it will be a benefit we carry with us for life. So shd go for the best where finance allows.

bbmouse
Agree with you on this being the best (and only opportunity) to get ourselves into the best of health...thats why I dun mnd spending more on CL this time

(lhy, for twins, I have to pay $2,800 just for CL!!!)

bbmouse
How come not getting the prev CL this time round??

Herbs
If u book CL thru Bliss agency, they have a herbs package about $500+ for the full 28 days.

hey..

just read from today's straitstimes that there is a stemcord parenting seminar coming up on 5 Apr...
only $20 per couple.

Topics are:
Cord Blood Banking
Baby Massage Demonstration
Preparing for a safe delivery &amp; pain management
Getting back to pre-pregnancy shape
Nourishment for breastfeeding mums
Practical tips to breastfeed successfully

It looks pretty interesting to me. Anyone of you have intention to go? and what do you think of this seminar?

I am very interested to store my baby's cord blood, but I'm not sure about the cost.

lhy: The CL will also boil soup for the mummy every nite. The soup is the super heaty and bu3 thing that only women in confinement can tahan. Others will fall sick if they take it cos their bodies cannot take in all this bu3.

My indo maid was with me still when I was doing confinement for my #1. One day she fell sick. The CL told her and told me that she must have taken some of the food meant for me.

Ava: I called her when I was in my 7th week and she's booked liao!! *faints* I was so disappointed. Cos I missed her cooking. I would like my current maid to learn cooking from her.

Advice Needed
Ayone knows which one is better??
StemCord or CordLife??

Storeberry... i can see yr smallberry on Youtube, but office no sound so I go hse watch again with sound will have a better effect... hehe

Lemon: Each carries out promotions on its own. If you've alreaady decided to store the cordblood, then catch either one at a promo.

Storeberry
Can't view the video...*pout*

Hey you nephew Jayden...his mum's name is not Alice is it? I have a fren who's son is also Jayden.

lemon,

cordlife is more ex but they are accredited. I banked with cordlife (can get discount with TMC FBI or SBI card).

LC(faintz),
not sure if you addressed it to me? hehe, actually a Aug'08 MTB but kinda know sasa *wink wink*

Sometimes MS will strike all of sudden. No telling, I had MS up til 12 wks, then thought no more. Little did I know it came back again til 14th wk, then i didn't have it anymore.

But hor, last Sunday, start to vomit once at night, and yday vomit out my bfast. Think it's a bout of stomach flu cos my hubby complained of it too tho he didn't vomit.

So I guess for MS, depends on individual. Had an ex-colleague who had MS throughout the pregnancy.

Anyway do take care to replenish fluids after vomitting ya?

lemon:

i have checked up cordlife pricing
intial cost - $1400
Yearly cost - $250

If signed up during promotion will enjoy $300 off from the intial cost... (promotion will be for baby fair or seminar)

But if you are TMC FBI/SBI, you will enjoy $200 off from the intial cost, and $50 off for the first 5 year of the yearly fee. dont need to wait for baby fair or seminar.

Seems tat alots of pp chosing CordLife over StemCord. I have a friend joining CordLife soon in early April. I will get more information from her

yvonne... that means if give birth in TMC more worth it if i wanna store my bb cordblood with Cordlife? Cos i really hope to go to Mt Alvernia. But seeing the more savings with TMC makes me hv 2nd thoughts again... haiz...

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine
u can take Mei's suggestion of drinking honey lemon water... it helps in relieving sore throat.

muz drink more water and take more vit c k..

Valnsw
*wink wink* hehe.. u so fast got 80+ posts le..

ladies, guess what.. my MIL told me not to hire any CL... says she can do it for me... she even told me that food wise, no diff from normal ppl.. just need to eat more rice and veg for better digestion. *faintz*.. i see my mom cooked and boil soup just for my sil during her confinement.. not as simple as she mentioned.. haiz.. this morning she was telling me, the dong cong cao is good for health.. ask me to go and buy for her to cook.. i tot usually mil will be the one who gan jiong and buy alot of things for their dil..

Think i better tell my mom to cook for me and ask my husband to pick up soup from my mom during my confinement..

sasa

thanks. I bought 1 bottle from herbal shop just now. $1.50 somemore not sweet not sour. pengz! waste money. On mon midnight i still nose bleed lor. =(

mil n hb say i eat too much durians. i ate almost every sat. =p

Oh, i just got my bill for shipping the weighing scale I ordered from US &amp; a smaller item. Total shipping cost from vPost = $166! Hah, should have listened to you MTBs &amp; not order a scale from US! Ended up almost $200+ for the scale.

Mommies - If you are ordering heavy stuff (like Medela PIS), just confirm ur shipping charges first!

Mrs Yap, i think on hospital bill, both TMC and Mt A has not be much diff.. i think TMC is about $100 higher.. but if you sign up with TMC FBI/SBI ($148 for 2 years) will get some discount here and there.. somehow able to save more.. but i guess the different is not very big unless you take up most of the promotion items from TMC FBI/SBI.. heee..

sasa,
I was posting over the easter wkend plus yday din feel well was at home, so see see the forum. keke

Been out the whole wkend searching for stuff, esp the bb cot! haiz.. headache to find one suitable one cos my requirements too specific, maybe need to custom make one.

tummy still not v gd but later at night have to go out liao.

Now the topic is on cordlife and stuff
My hubby quite keen bt i am not beri keen wor. Issit tat good? Nid to pay a premium every year for lifeterm one rite?

Goldfish, is up to you on how long you want to keep ur baby cordblood.. cordlife offers up to 21 years.. of cos, if you want to continue after 21 years or stop before 21 years also can..

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne
hhmm.... u noe.. my MIL oso told me the same thing. so i won't expect to have to eat those confinement food le. anyway, i dun realli like the taste of it (all the vinegar &amp; ginger). she did mention juz eat normally like how we always do. but of coz gotta put some wine &amp; ginger lah.. other den tat... everything the same. wonder if its a blessing or not. coz i heard confinement food not nice de. some ppl get sick of it...

but soup is a must lah.. esp with red dates &amp; *gou qi zi*..

Jasmine
Wah.. durians every week???? no wonder u got sore throat ah.. too heaty le. hehe.. so is ur bb bigger den normal? heard eating durians, bb will be big big wor..

think u better stop eating durians for awhile ah. dun take fried food too.. try to take more fruits, veg and eat lotsa vit c k..

aiyoh.. like so waste $$... tasteless drink

Valnsw
hehe... ic ic. wah.. u got wat specific requirements that require custom-made?? hehe... later going to meet client ah? muz be careful k... n dun eat fried stuff.. think muz take soupy stuff hor since ur tummy not well...</font>

Goldfish... life unpredictable... I think $250 yearly is v affordable. Its like buying insurance but it gives u hope of a recovery chance rather than money payback from insurance comp. It can help not onli the bb itself but also siblings n parents. My nephew in law diagnosed with luekemia at age 7... so poor thing... SIL was thinking if onli there is cord blood banking then, everything will be different

Thanks all...Think i have to standy a pail 2weeks b4 the due date...Can use the water to mob floor too... kidding....

Hey LC and storeberry, lets setup a Giving CL $28 club...hahaha...too much liao la give $1.8k on top of tt give $200...

Lets set our own market rate...

Hi JJParents,

Actually having a confinement lady is not cheap... my CL is $2000, but I think if she's really good, I don't mind giving her $150 or so. My friend was telling me that the cost of food that her CL bought during her confinement was around $2000+...so all in, her confinement cost around $4000+....

sasa

Yup, dunno y love durian alot. I have not been to checkup. Due for checkup on monday but i bring forward to sat. =) hope can see the gender.

I take fruits everyday. I love tomyam n spicy food nowadays. If no chilli, food taste bland.

Btw, can we take ginseng drink?

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - wow, $2k for 1 month of confinement food...wonder what the CL made for your friend! Actually, I am not sure how much we really benefit from confinement food...doesn't help that most of the confinement food like pork trotters in vinegar are stuff I don't even like!

Goldfish - don't know if the cord blood can be used for that long. My sis is a consultant at SGH and she said most cord blood is not effective after 6-7 years...(thou they don't really know yet cos storage was only introduced about 6 years ago).