(2008/09) Sep 2008

sasa & ava, could this be the mood swing thing? ever since i moved into this rented place, i've cried three times already – more than i did in the whole of the last two years – and over very trivial things which i feel even too paisay to tell too.

jessi... angpow for mum or mil will really depends on wat kind of mum/mil in law u having.
For my mum's character, she will either demand one from me or thinks its not sufficient. For my mil case, she probably think i am mad if i give her any angpow. So it depends on their expectations.

Sasa de mouse, Ava
I dun feel easily irritated leh... infact i feel after being preggy my temper tone down le... probably becos i dun wan to scare my bb with my bad temper. But hor sometimes the main person who really makes me v angry is non other than hubby. Probably bcos my expectation from him is more... i dun like his bo chup attitude

lhy, i also intend to not engage a cl. i just don't like the idea of someone i don't know v well being around 24/7. had intended to cater food but my tcm doc just told me that he'll be giving me tcm to take after delivery so i won't even need to eat any of the usual confinement stuff. i'm praying that i will be able to manage.

sasa and ava.. cld it be bcos today is a hot day? I think I will begin to melt really soon if weather continues to be this hot. I'm in the hot and stuffy classroom most of the time til 1pm. How to control temper and all esp with the kids around? bah!

mrs yap.. i agree with ur "depends on what kind of mum/mil u having".. its really true.. some give liao, they say not enough or some will say siao or wat, own family give what money...

xuanting, will some1 be with u in the day? I think we'll more or less need some form of help in the beginning esp if its ur first born ;-)
I was very yim chim oso.. I don like the idea of having maids or cl ard me esp ALONE.. but after having my sis and her CL over at my plce, i realised its not tat bad afterall.. haa.. prb the CL was kept busy with the baby and housework...

Flos (flos) - most people would book the CL for 4-6 weeks. I booked mine for a month, planning to cater food for the rest of the maternity leave as it would be just myself & the baby during the day.

My plan is to have the CL sleep in my baby's room for that one month (express milk for her to feed baby at nite), thereafter we will move the cot into the masterbedroom for the next couple of months.

On mood swings, just remember not to stress too much ladies. Don't want to affect the baby. I have been lucky that pregnancy agrees with me - I am usually mild tempered to begin with, but think I have mellowed since getting preggers & have been alot more cheeful! Only think is that i cry more easily (but not from being stress/upset - more from watching sappy movies!)

xuanting, ah? meaning after delivery just take tcm will do? who and where is ur doc?

me too..not comfortable at the idea of a stranger arnd..scared i'll not get along with her and get more upset leh..

Erm, for confinement food, do pple cater only for a mth or more than that? Will it be very heaty if i cater for 2mths?

Hi sa sa de mouse: **wave to you as well** Nice meeting up & chatting with you!! Kekeke...

Ava: Thanks for the Palmers, so far no reaction to it... Hopefully no stretchmarks as well! You are giving me the breast cream as well?? Thanks alot! But need to see when I can pick up from you.. :p

Today had some yellow, light brown discharge, was so afraid that it is spotting. I shall monitor for the next few days again...

ya hor bigtoes.. catering food for the rest of the maternity leave seems like a good idea.. will u be catering for daytime only or for both lunch and dinner?

cooking on my own after CL leaves sounds too ambitious rite?

lhy, if u read the forum, i think there are some "horrifying" cases whereby the CL and mummy cannot get along.. I am definitely keeping my fingers and toes crossed...

and i guess usually confinement food we'll eat for 1 month nia rite? hee.. don think anyone will want to eat more than 1 month..

Mrs Yap & crayonshinchan, ya i also thought of that. cos most prob my mum will be helping me with my confinement. at first i thought of giving her some money but she sure don't want to take, so thought maybe give a token angbao to thank her for helping with my confinement.

<font color="0000ff">Ava
agree... n the worst thing is i dunno how come i'm behaving like tat. juz feel frustrated over every little thing

Xuanting
tot mood swing onli in 1st tri leh.. oh no.. hope this doesnt continue

Mrs Yap
it's good that u can control. I tried to control oso but sighz... now i muz keep telling myself to be happy, to relax

Crayonshinchan
hhmm... doubt is the weather, coz i was feeling like tat early in the morning le. some more my office here got dark clouds leh..

Bigtoes
that's good to hear. bb would be mild-tempered too.. hehe

Storeberry
hhmm.... as long as not spotting.. dun worry k. it is normal to have increase in v discharge de

storeberry

Also got some organe-brownish discharge last Thurs. No worries...else, you'll end up coughing up $190+ for the culture testing like me.

sasa,
duno if it's MS acting up but tummy feels queasy. Hopefully the episode will pass and will be back to normal tomorrow.

heh, looks like you're having mood swings. Is it work that's causing it? I know easier said than done but do your best to remain calm ya? cos bb can feel mommy's feelings too

Hi aloevera
Dun mention it...I am sure everybody wants everybody baby to be well and healthy..
Being a parent to be changed my thinking...

ANyway if u ladies buy supplements like fish oil, glucosamine, calcium pill u could go to this website
http://www.ultimatesg.com

This page is where all the fish oils r
http://www.ultimatesg.com/22maylabeljarrow.html

I got my supplements from this guy n find it much cheaper than GNC etc and the quality for fish oil is Pharmateautical Grade..

This guy name is steve... U could call him up n think will deliver to ur home upon certain $$ order

bbmouse

$200 for ang bao?? so much ar... like tt she come and go $400 ang bao for CL + $1800...wah lau...

I tot of giving $28 only...hahaa

I have been drinking amnum and dumil almost daily too. I think it doesn't really make me fat.. but i guess it does makes the baby grow better..my baby has been growing to the around size so far according to my gynae visits..

I guess what makes us fat is our daily meals, and what we really eat.

So far, I am in my week 15, going into 16 very soon.. I have not gained much. On my last visit to my gynae, my last check is 0.5kg gain. I think now, should be ard 1.5kg at most. My tummy getting bigger already..

I am still trying to eat as healthy as I can. Meaning, not eating fried stuffs, taking in less salt..e.g. Oh yes, and i recently take quaker oats to suppress my hunger. I think it's pretty good cause it makes me feel full longer and it's really healthy!
Been eating it every day since last week. Haha.. I mixed it together with the dumil milk formula and add in raisins.. it's heavenly!

LOL!!

Looking forward to this Friday gynae's visit.

hi lemon...
Quaker oats are complex Carbs...

Complex carbs are like pasta, oatmeal, wholemeal bread , brown rice, etc... They make u feel full longer with a steady output of energy for you...Its also makes ur insulin level stable thus slow fat/weight gain..

The fattening 1 is SImple carbs like sugar, white rice etc...these makes u gain fat fast with only a surge of energy for a short time after that u feel sluggish...

Hope it helps

hey sasa de mouse...i knw why u grouchy today liao...cos i didnt go online to chat with u on msn!! hehe...juz kidding....dun worry lah, normal to be like tat...mood swings mah...hormonal inbalance not up to us to control ya?? relax ok??

The CL i wanted is taken up!! So abit sian to look for another one...think i'm gonna cater confinement food...anyone knws of a good caterer??

Hi Ava, u on MSN also, Pm me your address!

Melisa: Don't be grouchy ok? Me "sayang" you.. I also feel I am more sensitive now, I cried last week when some work issues cropped up. Last time I usually don't teared like that one..

I drank Anmum vanilla at my fren's pl &amp; could take the milky smell at all! In the end her mum gotta to put in some milo for me &amp; I had to not breath to drink the milk. Its yucky for me...

Flos: I feel so relief after seeing your message! Was so worried the whole day! So did the doctor say what is the discharge &amp; why is it that color? It doesn't smell and not itchy also..

JJParents: I think I will also give about $28-$28 cos already paying $1800, heartpain leh!

Juz a question to all who had delivered b4...
My wife went for oscar and there is a range of EDD.. from 26sept-1oct.. so which is the actual date?? Both gynae told us it will be on the 30th sept...
which date should i take seriously??

I very scared if the water bag burst somewhere i do not know what to do...

Hi JJParents: I think can take your gynae's gauge but I know it changes as well.. Alot of people says 1st time mum will give birth earlier so it all depends leh.. If waterbag burst then the 1st thing is to call gynae &amp; go to hospital!

lhy, that's what my tcm doc told me when i asked him about confinement stuff. he operates from sin nam medical hall in yishun.

good morning, ladies!

went to TMC for the NT scan yday. Bb was so cooperative! Sleeping and allowing measurements to be taken within 10 mins! I think we spent more time waiting for our car (due to valet parking) to be driven to us!

prob of down syndrome= 1/700+(triso 21) &amp; 1/2000+(triso dunno wat).

kpo and asked whether can get a package (NT scan + detail scan). In the end paid $193 for the package...but i remembered my gynao told me both the NT scan and detailed scan are $90+....like that means package=no discount!

Can someone who did the NT scan at TMC tell me how much u pay for it?

my face is all pimply, red and itchy...gosh...dont tell me its gonna be a boy again! Anyone who has a daughter and yet suffered from pimple outbreaks during pregnancy??

Traz,
jus went for my NT scan last week, i paid $106 for it. No include detail scan yet.
My bb was quite active
..the doc say is it that i jus had my lunch haha

but the doc was v. good..we spend about 30min inside..enjoying the 'seeing' our bb swimming and 'jumping' inside

Result i know is 1:2000++ risk, but with a senior staff reconfirm the scan, it went down to 1:1600 though still within safe range for my age heehee

storeberry,
me also have more discharged, yellowish not sure it dried up yellow or discharge out already yellow color :p
But now is abit dried abit, so i suspect could it related to our ovluation period????..cos i think i got more discharges on those days even though am preggy now.

Morning everyone!

ava &amp; storeberry
I'm also on msn during office hours... do add me

I have also engaged a confinement lady, think you got to start booking one now if you have not done so, it's actually only 6 months away.

JJparents: When you go for the detailed scan, it will provide a better EDD estimate. In any case, the EDD is just an expected date. Although I don't have the stats, I'm pretty sure most women deliver outside of this EDD - some before, some after. If you're attending a pre-natal course, they will teach you (er.. more like your wife) to look out for symptoms such as labour pain, water bag dripping etc before making your way to the hospital.

good morning ladies.... yesterday i went for my follow up appt with my gynae...
I'm in week 16 and 4 days now.. but still not to tell whether i'm having a boy or girl.. cos he used his hand to blocked..
saw him changing position... made a turn to kneeling position.. but still cant see.. haha... i guess got to wait till next visit for the detail scan then will be able to tell...

I had annmum milk since in 2 mths... i drink it almost everyday.. and i put on 2 kg at the end of the mth 2, my tummy was quite obvious then... but baby is in his average size and weight.. then my colleague told me that drinking those milk for pregnancy will make me fat.. so i take less in my mth 3.. (2 to 3 days a glass)... at the end of my mth 3.. i put on 0.8kg... and baby is still in his average size and weight.. i guess the milk really make me put on weight... :p

I called up TMC parent craft to enquiry about the course.. the nurse seems cant wait to put down the phone... only she ask me questions.. when i asked her question, she just replied.. you come down to TMC to make booking on ur next visit to TMC.. *faintz*... she told me that i can go for courses that starts on 9 June to 15 July.. Does anyone know if this course allows friends to accompany instead of husband?? cos my husband will be on his biz trip every 2 weeks of the month..

<font color="0000ff">Valnsw
aiyoh.. poor thing. tot u are passed this period le. now its acting up again. muz take care k...

it might really be mood swings coz a while later, i was feeling ok le.. weird!!!

Sunrays
ya lah.. u not online today mah.. for that short period that u were online.. i wasnt free so cannot really chat with u wor.. today u online boh???

Storeberry
aiyoh... so terrible ah. hengz i dun tear tat easily.. but can't stand it when i feel so frustrated lor. muz control...... *sasa feels so loved, coz got *sayang**, haha

Yvonne
That's exactly what the lady told me... i suspect is the same person leh.. n she gave me the same dates too.... boo hoo hoo....

I'm not sure abt the course at TMC.. but i read the one from KKH.. ur mum or MIL can accompany so i guess frens should be ok too bah..

ur hb will be away for the whole 2 wks? not sure if TMC allows make-up classes anot. gotta check lor. i oso gotta go down to book it.. sighz.. will ask more when i go down on Monday</font>

JJParents (jjparents) - maybe check her family history of when the sisters/relatives typically gave birth? It is more common to deliver the 1st child by week 38 (2 weeks before EDD). For my case, my EDD is on the 8th Sept, but I am doing a scheduled C-section, most prob at end-Aug/early-Sept.

Yvonne (mrsgan) - seems like alot of impatient staff at Parent Craft! The lady I spoke to was better, she even suggested that I put down my name to book the Sat slot. Anyway, most of us will be back at wk 20 for the detailed scan - just remember to book &amp; pay then!

Oh ya, the nurse from my gynae's clinic called back and said that if no complications, then no need letter from gynae satting u're fit to travel unless ur tummy looks big. Said 4mths is still small, so okie.

lhy
Hahah...looks like I'll def need a doc's letter for my flight in May then! Already quite large now...apparently I'm larger than my friend who is 7 months preggie; I havent seen her in a while but she works with other friends who've seen me and have said so!!

<font color="0000ff">Ava
haha.... ya... i'm feeling better today too... could it really be like wat u said... the main cause is the weather??

but i'm super tired today. last nite some gal out partying called my hs to look for her fren. wah liaoz.. wrong number lor.. some more call at 2am leh.. scare my hb n i out of bed.. so inconsiderate</font>

sasa
hahahaha....you poor things!!! speaking of wrong numbers, the other day this chap calls my hp and after I say hello, he goes (very loudly)...Hallo!! IS that Jonathan!? I said "no" (do I SOUND like a Jonathan?)...then he says "Is that Jonathan????!!!" again..I said "NO". then he says "who's that?" Then my preggie hormones kick in and I yell back "Excuse me...Who are YOU??? You called me!" and I hung up .... hb was laughing at me.

<font color="0000ff">Ava
haha... u juz brighten my day.. was practically laughing off wat u wrote...

hhmm... since when did Jonathan become a gal's name? the caller obviously cannot differentiate between a guy n gal wor... good job done by yelling @ him and slamming the fone. think he muz be STONED!!!</font>

Mood swings: Hey mummies, are you taking the fish oil? It helps reduces mood swings. And it's brain food for our babies..

Sa sa: Aiyoo... wrong number? Terrible leh!!

Ava: you are one hot chilli mama leh! Kekeke... Are you on msn? PM me your msn address! :p

Can any mums/mtbs advise the difference between TMC's single room, deluxe rm and super deluxe rm? Have received my pre-reg form alrdy!