(2008/09) Sep 2008

yo mummies ,
hope everything is fine with all of u
.. another week has pass and so much discussions on hospitals, strollers, bb cot .. Am on my 15 week now and will be gg for scan only next week .. can feel bb movement already .. keke .. and not applied stretch mark cream yet .. lazy ..

Ava,
I am hoping to look for one in the town area cos it's convenient to my home. But anyway, is the trial class free ? Can let me your trial experience later ?

RXmom,
You are using Peg Perego stroller is it ? My friend recommend this brand and i'm considering of buying P3 Pilko. The padding is quite thick and comfy compared to many other brands. However, one colleague told me that thick padding in S'pore may be too hot for bb . So i'm confused now....can let me know ur tots ?

ying ling:
thanks for your advice! yes, i will try hard not to go with epidural...
well, of course we never know what happens till the last min. Let's see!

Hi Chilli crab, congrats on feeling your bb's 1st kick!! I am feeling my tummy everynight but nothing yet leh.. hope to feel bb's kick soon!

Lemon: I also hope not to use epidural but afriad that I cannot tahan the pain...

I asked Dr Adrian about using dandruff shampoo & he said its safe to use.

Millie

From the book that i bought, it states that you are advised to eat no more than 2 portions a week..Cod liver oil supplements are also to be avoided cos they contain high level of vitamin A.. But fish are good as they have omega 3 which is good for the baby brain developement...Its know to be good for your central nervous system too...
Was told by aunt that it help to give u breast milk also... Juz make sure its properly cooked..Best is to add ginger to relieve the wind...

Hope this helps

Heres a simple recipe for you mothers.. Juz wanna share as i juz bought a new cook book for pregnancy..

[As quoted from the book]
This desert helps to remove poisonous substances in baby. Sugar is replaced by sugarcane as its not fattening.

Ingredients

(A)
1L of soy bean milk( Unsweetened)
500g Sugar cane juice

(B)
150g lotus seeds

Method

1) Put lotus seeds in water, Bring water to boil, Cook lotus seeds until soft, Drain and set aside.

2) Put (A) and (B) in pot. Bring to boil. Remove from heat and serve hot.

Thanks everyone on the comments for hospitals. Tink most likely i will do MT A since it is a catholic hospice.

Bbmouse, u order PIS via Hayley oledi? They accept normal credit cards and SINGAPORE delivery address mah?

Anyone out there is sick huh? I am down with a bad flu and has been blowing my nose for almost a week. And also down wif cough too. Visited the doc and doc oso dun dare to give me 'new medicines' tat is more effective. I end up din eat medicine cos scare got side effects
Now whenever i cough, i feel pain at my lower abs something liddat..

Any gals out there experienced tat before?

goldfish i also fall sick easily since preggy
3 weeks ago i had flu, fever, doc gave milder medicine thats safe for bb.
Yday i was down with Sorethroat n cough... doc says throat badly inflamed and gave anti-bodies which he will try to avoid if preg... so i dare not eat too.. i onli took the anti-imflame med and the cough med. Cos if eat anti-bod i need to complete the course which i dun wan to.. me trying to act smart la... hopefully can recover soon... oh ya i hv been drinking heaps of water

Hey Mrs Yap
I was down wif a super sorethroat n cough last week as well. My throat is so sore that i swallowed saliva oso pain lo. So sickening. I went to see the same doc and he dun even wanna to gimmme any cough syrup. He self-claim himself is a 'kaisi' doc who wanna to play safe. (wich is good and bad lah) Bt he give me a choice lo. I think he mentioned there is a cough syrup tat is safe to take bt i act hero say dun want. So end up i suffer now oso :S

Bt he did mention tat preggies can take anti-bodies wor.. bt he oso dun issue to me cos it is just a virus nia.

Ya... i drank lots of water and end up go loo many times. Hope we can recover soon

goldfish...
doc did not give me the cough syrup leh... he didnt know i got cough cos i didnt mention to him. I bought the cough syrup over the counter when the nurse heard i got cough. So she is onli a nurse i dunno got skill or not la... anyway i try to heal myself with lotsa water

I was sick a month back, but I wanted to go drug-free, so I just drank a lot of water & had plenty of rest. For sore throat, I drank honey lemon water. I find it effective for sore throats & tastes good too. Can buy from supermarkets, it's called NuzeaBee Honey Lemon, just stir a spoonful in water & can drink already.

<font color="0000ff">Goldfish
aiyoh.. muz take care k.. drink lotsa water. can take vit c oso and have lotsa fruits. Mei's suggestion of Honey is great too...

Storeberry
*waves waves*.. nice meeting u last nite. uploaded ur video le??

MrsYap
Oh, we did not realise that the baby heartbeat monitor can only be used in the 3rd trimester. However, I could hear my own heartbeat with it &amp; when I placed it on my tummy, all I could hear was swishing water sounds.. lol. Guess got to keep till 3rd trimester then can use.

Hi, JJ Parents

where can we buy all the ingredients (I am a non-cooker so idoit to where to buy
)? Is lotus seed known as "lian zi" in Chinese?

Hi, Goldfish

Anti-biotics are ok for preggie..

Lemon
If you are determined to try without epi...bring along a squeeze toy or a bag filled with rice etc that u can squeeze...it gets you throught the painful bits...better still if u have a doula to help u thru the contractions...and remember, it will be difficult to sleep, cos they come every few minutes, so just be prepared
and try not to tense up too much or you will end up in my situation...i.e. needing an epi after many many many hours. I was lucky in that I didn't need an emergency c-section (altho i think if it was another gynae, he would have made me go for emergency c-section)

Storeberry
How's the Palmers? Is it OK for you? just realised I didn't pass you the free breast firming cream that came with the stretch mark cream. You want that too? I dare not use it in case i get rashes on boobies too.

Goldfish: I ordered in 2006. I had used it for my #1 already.
It works very well for me, hence will recommend for working mums.
They accpet normal credit cards for phone orders, but delivery is within the USA only. So you need to have a vpost account.

YingLing: Good to hear from you after the test. Very encouraging to "see" that you are still your chirpy self.
Don't strain yourself and rest well. Pray the results will be good then you can close shop liao.

LC
U can buy it in Leading supermarkets or those medical hall( some do sell) or those wet markets which sell those red dates, etc...

Soyabean milk can buy in market those hot 1..ask them dun add the sugar syrup...

bbmouse (bbmouse) - how much is Hackley charging u to ship the PIS to Spore? I am borrowing 2 units from my SIL and sister, so end up no need to buy after all

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - have not been sick since preggers...but today, my colleague came in coughing &amp; sneezing...I had to move seats just to avoid his germs. Luckily he got the hint &amp; going to work from home after lunch!

Oh, i went for my gyne appnt yesterday - baby has about doubled since the last visit a month ago, and gyne said that from now on, we don't measure the length, but the estimated weight.My womb looks cramp thou &amp; couldn't see the baby bits. My gyne is quite conservative, so didn't want to guess the gender - have to wait for 1 more month!!
Anyway, I have loaded the photo up here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=14373&amp;id=650743986&amp;ref=mf (this time, the ultrasound scan photo quite blur)

Btw, does your gyne change the EDD after ur scans? Mine is now 8/9/08 - previously it was 10/9. Anyway, since I am doing the C-section, would pick an earlier date.

MBs who are travelling - gyne said it is okie to travel till week 34 (earlier for longer trips like to UK/US), but need to get her written note to show the airlines.

Heres another recipe to nourish the lungs and whiten the skin. It is also good for babys.
MTB could drink this soup after 4th week of pregnancy.

Ingredients

(A)
50g Snow Fungus
20g Lotus Seeds
20g Dried lily Bulbs
30g dried longans
10 red dates
2 beancurd sheet

(B)
150g rock sugar
1 piece dried tangerine peel

Method

1) Wash (A). Put in stewing pot. Add in (B) then pour in 2L of hot water

2) Put stewing pot in a double boiler. Cover and cook for 3hours

Bigotes: Hackley only ships within the USA. You need a vpost account to ship to Singapore. Vpost charges has increased over the last year, so you got to check what is the cost now. The packing is very compact.

Thanks everyone for ur concern. ANd yeah, thanks Mei, will try ur honey recommendation!

Sounds like a hassle of ordering from US hoh? May i know when can start 'tai-jiao'?

<font color="0000ff">How come i can't pre-book a slot for the prenatal classes at TMC?????? Can't even check if Mrs Wong's classes are fully booked.. sighz</font>

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - I called a couple of weeks back, &amp; they pre-booked a Sat 4.30pm slot for me for the classes. I forgot to ask about Mrs Wong's classes thou...Anyway, u can book &amp; pay for the classes from week 20.

bigtoes, for a moment, i was wondering what that cookie monster was doing there! i haven't bought my bb anything but i've decided that it'll inherit all my precious toys.

Hi bigtoes,

Did Dr WK Tan said we need a letter from her to show the airline whenever we're travelling? Coz i asked her during last appt and she said can travel, but din mention abt the letter...i'm travelling this wkend...oops!

good afternoon everyone, it had been a few days since i come into this thread and now got so many posts to catch up and read.

when i read about you all talking about cot, stroller and breastpump, i feel quite bad cos i think i'm rather bo chup as a first time mum. i haven't even look at any bb stuffs yet. don't even know what are the available brands, where to buy and what's the price etc :p

btw, can i ask if anyone haven't been putting on weight till now? i don't know if it's due to my bad appetite, till now i haven't put on any weight and people around me had been commenting that i had slimmed down. from the previous ultrascans, bb is also like smaller in size comparing to other ppl's bb at during the same time. still got 2 weeks then is my next checkup, quite worried that my bb is not growing alot.

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes
I asked the lady if i can pre-book it.. but she say cannot leh.. gotta pay.. wat the... tot can juz book the slot first.. den pay when wk20... anyway, she told mi to drop by ParentCraft when i'm at TMC on Monday..

Valnsw
*waves waves*... tried to pre-book lor.. but not allowed. mayb coz i did it over the fone? haven found out gender yet leh.. hehe.. my nxt scan will be this coming Mon.. *keeping my fingers crossed*
How have u been??

Jessi
I've the same feeling as u. Am quite lost at the moment as to wat to buy. so juz procrastinating it.. haha

think dun have to worry abt bb's size. coz if it's something to be alarmed about, ur doc would have ring the bell le. dun worry k. be happy and enjoy this honeymoon period. I've got a wk to go for my nxt appt.. my neck so long le</font>

bigtoes,
when i asked wk tan during my last visit, abt my baby's gender, she tried very very hard to scan. but baby super unco-operative, only show us its backside, cannot see the groin area at all. really appreciate her efforts. guess i have to wait for dr chang's appt to confirm the gender, just like last time.

lhy,
i will also get a letter form wk tan for travelling in my next visit. sian, have to go europe for an unavoidable trip. she said must give me closer to the travelling date, cos airlines do not accept letters that are too old. this is not the 1st time i travel while pregnant. last time, i also travelled in my 4th &amp; 5th mth. feel very self-conscious with my baby bump then. but actually saw another lady even more pregnant than me...

lhy (lhy) - we only need the letter when we are bigger (like obviously preggers &amp; can give birth anytime) - so most likely in the 3rd trimester. At this stage, no problem travelling without the letter. I was asking cos I need to travel up to about 30 weeks.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - guess i spoke to a different lady when i called. She said she booked my slot for me, took the contact details and all, but just need to pay on week 20. Anyway, am sure there are plenty of slots!

twendy, ah..my next appt is on 14apr..Just called Dr WK Tan's clinic..waiting for the nurse to call back if i have to specifically make a trip down just to get letter..

Bigtoes! Thnks! Now waiting for the nurse to call me back. Hopefully i dun have to go down!

Din noe can pre-book aso. Coz went to Parentcraft the other day and book and pay for Mrs Wong's slot already. Must pay on the spot tho if u go to Parentcraft to book.

YingLing: Not yet. This Thurs afternoon.. Am doing it at NUH cos it's nearer to my place. Wonder if the equipment is the same as the one at TMC.

So good... sighz... if onli they allow me to pre-book the slot... so which slot did u book? Who's class is that?

lhy
u book n pay le? but u haven 20 wks yet hor... so which slot did u book?</font>

sasa de mouse, nope, me 17wks todae

i booked the slot starting 12 June, coz that's the date advised by the staff there (plus i wanted a wkday). So last day is 15 July. Any later after that wk will hit into Aug alrdy..think too "risky" to attend class this late liao. When i was there, i heard the staff saying that someone had to give birth in the middle of the class!

<font color="0000ff">lhy
omg... really?? so weird huh... how come the lady gave me 9/6 - 15/7???

now my frens are all telling me to call again. sianz...</font>

anyone interested in these 2 old navy polo ?
brandnew in bag from spree.
Wanted to wear for maternity but is abit BIG on me, overestimate myself :p

SGD16
Size : XL
1317267.jpg

SGD16
Size : L
1317268.jpg

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie)- my classes start from 14th June (Sat 4.30-6.30pm) onwards. Note that classes are at AMK Hub, not TMC itself. (Anyway, rather it be at AMK Hub - can have dinner there after that. TMC is a pain to find parking - we had to wait 30min for the valet to retrieve our car after my appnt yest evening).

prenatal classes
actually I was wondering ...for the last 2yrs I've had helped look after at least 3 babies almost daily. Will it be sufficient? Anyone first time moms not goin for the prenatal classes? My sis passed me the binded copy which she was given during her prenatal class and it seems to be teaching us things which are in books/magazines that I've read. So it seems like repeating. So dilemma.. haaa..

jessi.. haa.. its ok lar.. too many things to compare and all..really headache. Just now, I waiting for my mum at NTUC and just nice I was standing at the milk powder section. There are just toooooo many choices to choose from. Also dono which is better! and the best is, they are all so exp!!! 50 bucks per big can which my sis said can only last my niece 2 wks!!! haaa..

this link was given earlier to agar our baby's length and all. http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%40106e46b
so far, my baby seems to be abt what they've mentioned. (hee.. other than the weight.. mine is 50g heavier.. haa) So use it as a gauge ;-)

bigtoes, I've just added u on facebook.And as for the EDD, my gynae said that the EDD will change base on the baby's development.. but so far mine is still consistent... how many grams is ur baby now? mine's 152g

hi all..
jessi
dun worry. during my first preganancy, i only managed to buy everything on a once-off spree at my 36 weeks. late lor, and consider i gave birth then 38 weeks...most of the things not even unpacked yet...

bbs dun need a lot of things when they are born. they just need milk and a place to sleep...heeee

so easy if you are bfg...

ic ic... ya.. i heard its now at AMK hub instead of TMC.. better ah.. i hate to drive to TMC.. parking is always a hassle.. n so exp.. unless valet parking and they park at nearby URA carpark.

hope still got slots.. coz heard Mrs Wong's classes very popular de</font>

bbmuse, actually I did not do my OSCAR at TMC as I was rushing for time.. I did the NT scan at a private radiology place in Paragon.... TMC's machine soso... this private company (Radlink Women and Fetal Imaging) is very good.... I was seated in a nice reclining kind of chair rather than a bed... AND I had a huge LCD monitor right in front of me rather than turning my head to look at the monitor.. it was very clear aswell... it was an enjoyable experience... haha... not sure about NUH one... TMC definitely not as nice and comfy... but this OSCAR costs more.. costs me S$400 plus...