(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hah, not easily grossed out, so the pictures were okie, just surprised that they took them! At least I can say I know how my insides look like

Btw, MTBs - for planned C-section using local anaesthesia/epidural , do u know if the hubby can be present in the operating room?

wah... bigtoes... my photos are free... i didnt recieve any charges for that lor... and the photos are given to me after i recovered from surgery at the clinic... maybe mount A dun charge?

Btw...regarding the gender of my baby... doc says looks like a boy cos there is something sticking out from down there. But he dun wanna confirm yet... i am onli week 12... perhaps week 16 i can see le

ava, i'm pretty intrigued with the idea of a home birth too. saw a few on discovery channel and thought it was so much more comfy than getting strapped to a bed in the hospital. but they're more suitable for experienced moms who know what to expect, i suppose.

can i ask the mommies who've had a natural delivery something – is stamina a very important requirement for a natural delivery? i'm someone who has barely passed my 2.4km runs in school... really wonder if i might pass out from all that huffing and puffing halfway through the process.

Hi Limay,

No, the bottles that come with PIS only allows storage, you need to get the medela storage/ feeding set separately if you want to feed direct from the storage bottle. Hope this clarifies

xuanting... haha.. i think alot of girl cant pass 2.4km too... i think my best result is 16mins 45secs.... But i believe its the pain tolerance level too... at the last stage u push and someone will be there to pull the baby's head... it somewat will assist yr pushing

I heard my sis says her frd cannot afford epi so she had natural birth to save that $700. She is the type who scold father scold mother type and apparently she got a tough experience lor cos she says she bleed to bad and push so hard that the blood splash to the ceiling and hit the lights!! I was so shock and find it so funny at the same time... in the end she became so resentful that she dun even wan to see the bb when the nurse present her the baby... she was angry more than happy... I think if ladies cannot take the pain, dun try

ya, while reading on books, the idea of home birth did intrigue me. i wonder, can we do that in singapore? does anyone tried that? I do think it makes us feel less stressed at our comfortable environment..

many years back i went for breast lump removal at Mt. E and i don't remember paying for the photo. come to think of it, now i'm wondering if the removal of breast lump will it affect me breastfeeding bb..

mrs yap, she scold father scold mother after the blood splattered onto the lights? wa lau, still got energy to kpkb, pei4 fu2 pei4 fu2! i always get A for everything else and something like D or E for 2.4. really cannot run. one time, i was so slow that my teacher came running alongside me to tell me that since i was already past the timing for a pass but still had like 1 or 2 laps to go, he'd just add 5mins to my existing timing so that we can all stop waiting for me and go home!

lemon, i saw from the four trimesters website that someone had a water birth at home. not a local mommy though; i think it's still not v popular amongst locals but i'm sure there'll be more s'poreans doing it in time to come. water births seem v comfortable also.

Bigtoes
Now you can tell people you are beautiful from the inside...and say you've seen it for yourself

Xuanting
I was a BAD runner and took about 20 mins for 2.4km, but I tahaned 72 hours labour - about 68 of those hours WITHOUT PAINKILLERS AT ALL - and at the end still OK...i was SMSing people (at 3am) to announce the baby's arrival after they wheeled me into the ward! Adrenaline is a wonderful thing
No doubt, the pushing is tiring, but the midwives etc will help push down on the tummy area to help, esp if u have been mad enough to tahan 72 hours labour...take the epidural I say!!!

sasa
that's what happens when u r bull headed about having no epidural
It was only after I had the epi that I was relaxed enough to dilate

ava
72hrs????? Woah...

xuanting
me dun fancy a water birth cos the thot of getting wet doesn't appeal to me at all!
Think for homebirth those ang moh countries tend to have experienced mid-wives to do it and they ask the dr to go to their hse.
I saw the hypnobirthing videos during my classes and some mummies did it all - water birth and mid wife at home. The hubby even went into the tub too to accompany the labouring wife.

One video even showed one mother receiving her own baby in the transparent water tub! Cos she herself is a mid-wife. But for me the thot of such a birth doesn't appeal to me!!!
Just the calm labouring part does... Shucks...

And also got those garang mothers somewhere in russia i think, they birth in this particular SEA! This is just too much for me!

one-two hours of pushing still sounds scary... 2.4 also don't take that long! o dear, o dear... is the pushing like huff-puff-push-huff-puff-push with no rest time all the way till the baby comes out? i've seen some in the documentaries but they keep cutting the scenes so i have no idea if those poor women i saw actually took breaks in between or were pushing and gasping for breath all the way.

xuan ting
dun worry. got break. When I was 'pushing', or rather bearing down, in hypnobirthing terms, there were 'rest' periods in between. I cld talk normally and re-tie my hair too before that bearing down sensation came on again.

Yeah, there are breaks...in between one of my pushes, the midwife took my hb and brought him to my feet area...she said, see the head? now get your wife to push it out! then my hb came back (a bit freaked out) and yelled "PUSH!!!!" in my ear..that was the only time I yelled back at him "SHUT UP!!!"

ya lor. It looked much much too adventurous for me. Will never ever contemplate that in a zillion years!!!
But the idea was that we watch many positve examples of calm hypnobirths and we visualise the kind of birth we want for ourselves. There's a variety of births I watched, including those hospital ones too.
But it is very diff from those screaming women in pain u see in those documentaries. Nobody screams. Very calm. At the most they just grunt a bit. So it is very useful to watch those and have those images embedded in ur head.

isabelle
did you find hypnobirthing useful? My friend went thru it with Four Trimesters and had a good birth experience...again, may be pointless for me to consider it this time... did you have a doula?

thanks for the assurance, isabelle & ava. i'm relieved to hear that!

i think i grew up hearing too many horror stories which i believe on hindsight to be exaggerated versions of the real thing. it doesn't help that the documentary progs that i've been watching lately showed some difficult births (almost like ER).

isabelle, is watching those calm birth videos part of your hypobirthing classes or did you source for them on your own?

xuanting
i watched these videos as part of the class.
Think Ginny also shows a little bit during the hypnobirthing taster sessions. Mebbe u can go for that and decide if u wanna take it up.

ava
yes i did. I engaged Ginny Phang from Four Trimesters as my doula. Am engaing her again. She does have clients who r second time mothers and she has also done twin births where the mother laboured in the water tub. It was really fuuny when she described to me how the huge tummy wld roll to one side and the other whenever the mummy turned. Hee hee
Anyway, this is my birth experience I shared earlier in this thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1247966.html

Baby movements: Initially, it will feel like butterfly flutters. We won't be able to feel the kick so early unless the baby already has no room to swim abt. The sensitive ones will feel the baby swims across the tummy, like a butterfly fluttering its wings.
I couldnt confirm the movements until later when the same feeling is felt a lot of times.

i cut and paste from another thread... keke
good info to know abt baby diapers for future reference

mime_msword.gif
Diapers Price
Brand.doc (44.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hello mummies and mummies-to-be, need some advices from you gals...does anybody know anyone with a "low placenta"? My gynae said mine looks low but didn't say anything else. So I went to the websites to take a look and boy, now I'm worried...anyone know if this is something normal or not normal or rare? =(

Hi, Ladies

I am back.. MIA for awhile.. went to attend my grandfather's wake.. Yes, I went in the end.. I felt sad not to attend so I went for the last 4days..and, i am glad i went to pay last respect to my dear grandfather.

I have not been throwing out but doesn't seem to have a lot of weigh gain.. and I am losing appepite though i am in my second trimester.. my tummy only grows a bit.. the thing is I am those big boned one so thought how comeI am not gaining a lot of weight.. So far, I only gain abt 1.5kg since pregnancy..any comments?

May i ask other than multi-vits and calcium, are you taking other stuff such as DHA softgel, tonic etc?

Hi, Mrs. Yap

Me same as you, baby not cooperative so the NT (neck measurement) din go thr..

(NT + blood test = OSCARS)

I am same age as you..
Gynae saying baby nose is sharp so should be ok even if measurement cannot be taken..think we should be fine even though the NT test is not successful. If not wrong, the blood test will also test for down syndrown... I will be doing blood test next Friday.. heard it is 4-5 tubes within a blood draw.

Hi isabelle, congrats on your bb's 1st kick!! I also try to liedown &amp; feel my tummy but so far nothing yet, hopefully can feel my bb's kick soon! And any website to know more about hypnobirthing?

Mei: I also had a difficult customer today &amp; my irritating company is not helping much. So upset that I cried today, aiyoo.. ao emotional today. Called my DH to complain &amp; felt much better...

bbmouse: I gotten my flu medicine from gynae.

Ava: 72 hrs of contractions!! Wow!! Pei fu!

bbmouse, really can feel the bb swim across the tummy? that's v amazing! i kept trying to feel movements in the tummy when i saw how my bb was kicking and pushing against my uterine walls but i just couldn't feel a thing. i think i have quite a thick layer of fats cushioning all the impact.

hi chillicrab, i've heard a little about low placentas; i think it means you may not be able to have a natural birth cos the placenta is blocking the cervix. but in some cases, the placenta actually adjusts itself as the pregnancy progresses and uterus stretches. i think your doc will be doing regular scans to monitor this.

hi lc, sorry to hear about your grandpa. please take care.

hi xuanting, thanks for the info! hopefully it really adjusts itself upwards later =( hope to have natural birth..i really wish to go thru the huff and puff process ;)

Do u gals try to feel the baby heartbeat? sometimes i lie down and press lightly on the middle area between the navel and my pelvic bone,can feel something thumping away in a fast pace..i think that's bb heartheat bah...i always do that before sleep, just to have a feeling that bb's alright before i'm able to sleep =)

Xuanting: That was the sensation I felt in the early stage. It will slowly become stronger and stronger, and then we'll be able to feel the kick/jab. Towards the late 3rd trimester, some of us may even feel the baby's hiccups! (My baby hiccups a few times a day!) And some of the kicks/jabs may be painful as well. Let's enjoy the journey.

Chillicrab: What I read is the same info as Xuanting. But you're still early in the pregnancy. Usually the placenta will move itself higher as you progress in the pregnancy. The gynae will monitor this. Not to worry at this stage.

Chillicrab: Not possible to feel the baby's heartbeat leh. Cos the baby's heart is "enclosed" in the body structure. Could be your own heartbeat.

Baby measurement: Anyone's gynae measuring your baby in terms of grams instead of cm? If yes, that shd be the beginning of when you can feel some movements liao.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) -the blood splashing on the lights is scary! I can't imagine the pain

Ava (avalyn) - 72 hours of labour? pei fu! I have such a low threshold for pain, I am glad I am opting for C-section - in &amp; out of the theatre in 1 hour max.

chillicrab (chillicrab) - what u might have is called placenta previa. See: http://www.babycenter.com/0_placenta-previa_830.bc. Don't worry too much, just have to make sure you don't over exert urself ok

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - on the diapers, what brand are the other mommies recommending in that thread? I would assume Huggies or Pampers? Some of the others I have not even heard of!

Isabelle
Ah, so u had the same doula as my friend Joon Nie...her testimonial is also on the site. I also just saw another friend's testimonial there as well.

Did her twins mom have natural all the way? lucky them...hmm, will play it by ear i guess.

LC
Sorry about your grand dad.. glad you got to go pay last respects, i.e. that your family let you make the decision yourself whether to go or not.

Diapers
I used Drypers for day and Mamypoko for night. Mamypoko good to prevent leaks but double the cost of drypers. drypers may not work for your baby if they are v chubby...my kid quite the wiry sort so thighs not that huge. big thighs may require mamypokos or pampers (there's one line which is for bigger babies)

Chilicrab, Rabbit: I did that too for my #1. Hahaha..
Mums are all the same - we get too excited. But no lah, I don't think can feel the heartbeat without help of the scan; not even when the bb is much bigger.

Heartbeat
Sorry ladies, but you need a special device like the doppler to hear the heartbeat. what u r feelin is probably ur own increased pulse rate
but it's nice to feel like u can hear them inside right? I still palce my hands on the uterus area to try to fel for movements every night.

chillicrab,
my sil also has low percenta when she conceived her #1.
Her doc told her cant go for natural delivery cos it sort of "blocked" the "exit route" for the bb to come out.
Other then tat, everything seem normal.
When she conceived her #2, guess what there is no low percenta this time..i guess is per pregnancy bah

Dont worry

chillicrab
Don't worry, if your gynae did not say anything much, it shouldn't be cause for worry. Maybe if you are concerned, ask your gynae about it on your next visit. Oh, btw.. your nick makes me crave for chilli crab..

I love watching Discovery Home &amp; Health now.. always watch those shows on water birth &amp; all that, really interesting. &amp; my favourite program is Runway Moms... there's this agency that specialises in pregnant women &amp; book them for modelling jobs.. wow.. they all look so glam.

chillicrab, i also used to hv low placenta for my first preg, it's normal, so pls dun worry. the placenta will shift upward as our tummy gets bigger from 2nd trim onward. your gynae will monitor for u and u really dun hv to worry much, ok.

ava, is Adrenaline jabbed into your thighs? i took epi for my first delivery. i m thinking of skipping epi ir other drugs can help lever the pain as much.. any advice?

chillicrab.. my doc says i got low placenta too. I dun understand wat he means and i ask WAT U MEAN BY LOW PLACENTA??? cos i am worried too... he says... jus low lor... v lame answer but maybe perhaps he dun wan me to worry so much since i will be going for c-section. He says everything is alright and so i just take it as alright.

ava
so ur fren is joon nie! Read her birth story online!

I can't rem abt the twins but I think most likely it was natural all the way.

bbmouse
wow u cld tell that it was hiccup too? I cld never tell the diff! Hope for this preg I can!
Yah, I think mamy poko is better but i use pampers baby dry for day and pampers active for night cos pampers got offer every now and then so cheaper than mamy poko. My husband actually calculates how much each piece of diaper costs!
If not, I'll choose mamy poko too! Somemore got the cute pooh bear pics! I like!

storeberry
i only know of this website http://www.fourtrimesters.com/