(2008/09) Sep 2008

ava:
heyhey..thanks for you reply.

Mei
*hi five* I have huge arms normally anyway...I call them the "khor arms" cos most of the gals on my mom's side have these huge arms...so now i just dun care anymore...wah your baby is very long? are u or ur hb tall?

Medela
Yes, Medela is quite noisy...but i found it more effective than my Avent (MANUAL). my fren's story was quite funny...when she first used her medela for her first baby, her hb thought it was the gardender using a lawnmower!!!

Ava
No leh, I'm not tall, only 1.62m & my hubby is 1.71m.

Just now lunchtime, I went to buy another babydoll top.. so happy to buy clothes.. hehe.

Bigotes: I'm 10.1 weeks. Think one of the latest ones here cos my EDD is actually early Oct.

Mei: Thanks. WIll try to rest as much as possible. Got to travel for work next week.

Milkmilk: Got your orders.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - you had a fibroid removed as well? I had surgery for that less than a year ago.

Btw, have u thought of going for C-section or natural birth? I read that MTBs who had fibriod surgery are usually recommended to go for C-section to avoid uterus rupture during the birthing process (6% risk vs. normal MTBs of 0.2%). I haven't spoken to my gyne about my birthing plan yet - but assume that I will be going for a planned C-section.

bbmouse - no wonder your baby is smaller than the rest
I think mine would be 7-9cm by the next scan (week 16).

Hi Ava
Has anyone hear how 'noisy' is medela before? I was at the taka fair and i tested the PIS and the sound is quite 'ok' leh.. soft wor.. so i dunno issit when put at the nei-nei and start pumping den the sound will come out to be beri loud mah??

*diao*

Oh.. just now at lunchtime i go united square and get 2 baby posters for me to 'stare'. Dunno whether issit too late to start bio cute baby pix or not :p

something for u all to read lo.. i saw it in avent website abt their IQ duo pump. For sharing nia.. not to dissuade anyone from buying whichever brands cos i myself oso luan now :p

==============================================

The Importance Of A Closed Accessory System

A very important factor this is commonly overlooked is the issue of breast milk purity and breast pump hygiene. These two topics go hand in hand.

Breastmilk can be contaminated at several points in the pumping, collection, transfering, storage or administration process. There are reports in literature of babies becoming ill or even dying as a result of contaminated breast milk. This has been traced to contamination of the milk through contaminated equipment, poor handling by health care providers or poor hand hygiene on the part of healthcare providers or mothers.

Pump tubing exposed to aerosols of milk or water can become contaminated with bacteria or mold growth. Therefore, it is important to have the appropriate diaphragm or filter device in place when the pump is in use.

We have worked with mother's and their babies for years and consider the issue of closed system a very real issue and we want to do everything we can to educate our clients about their choices of breast pumps and what is best based on fact and expert opinion - not marketing hype.

limay: I got my digital weighing scale from the last Isetan sale for less than $50. It's those sleek looking type. They also have a glass version, also around the same price. I can't remember the brand though. OSIM also got something like that. Better not buy in US and mail thru Vpost cos it's rather heavy and will add to the shipping cost of your other items.

Supplements wise, this is what I'm currently taking since I past 1st trimester:

- multi-vit
- neurogain
- obimin

Gynae said I can stop taking the folic acid as my daily diet(corn flakes & Nestle NesVista Milk Powder) contains folic acid as well on top of those in the multi-vit.

Like Limay, I was taking GNC's Pre-Natal Multi-Vit since I found out I'm preggie. On my first visit to my gynae, she stopped me from taking it as the Vit A(Beta Carotene) content is too high for preggies.

any MTB still experiencing nausea in week 14-15?
i am still getting my evening sickness...and gastric pain when delay eating. How is heartburn like? i am confused bet heartburn and gastric pain..

last nite, i experienced "bubble-like" sensation in stomach...wonder if thats the bb moving? anyone feel the same?

bacon&egg: i'm still experiencing some nausea n i'm in my 13th week now. i'll still vomit (especially in the evening/night) n hv gastric pain everyday. having the gastric pain is a torture really cos i'll keep burping n no matter wat time i eat, i'll still get it. i think heartburn is a burning sensation below the breast bone (correct me if i'm wrong) n i get it as well.

anyone knws any remedy?

bbmouse
jia you

Goldfish
The mini electric gets louder when you attach to the boob cos of the increased vacuum suction i guess. I am not sure if PIS is the same...but after a while, you won't really care about the sound when u exp outside...the only thing is at first, if u exp while latching baby to the other side, baby may get distracted by sounds (esp as they get older)...still sound or no sound, worth it if it helps with increasing the supply!

we can take folic acid and obimin together, but we cant take obimin with milk together, coz the obimin wont be absorbed so well with milk. your gynae shld hv advised u on this, if not, u can check with your nurse.

if u drink anmum in the morning like me, then u can take obimin after your dinner.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - okie, will check Isetan (the one at Wisma?) this weekend. Just nice, i have some shopping vouchers to use up
Thanks for letting me know.

Was actually looking at this one: http://www.amazon.com/Newline-Athletic-Digital-Bathroom-SEB0306-SL/dp/B000JMC4GC/ref=sr_1_17?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1205289223&sr=8-17 or http://www.amazon.com/HDC-DIGITAL-GLASS-BATH-SCALE/dp/B000RN4S3A/ref=sr_1_22?ie=UTF8&s=miscellaneous&qid=1205289223&sr=8-22(all these stuff are so cheap in US. Shipping weight 4 pounds for 1st one, so not too expensive).

Hey Limay,

Am wondering if the weighing scale will cost the same as those in Singapore if you add in the shipping charges? how much do these sell for in Singapore? Then somemore if buy in Singapore, can use immediately without waiting for it to arrive.

hi storeberry, it's nice to hear that the mood swings will peak and pass! i'm at 12wks now. it started the last few days with the house moving and i was so afraid that i was going to be a raging lunatic for the rest of the 20-something weeks.

hi mei, i think i was feeling claustrophobic too (still am actually) but i went out today and feel a whole lot better now. i'm not too familiar with the buses here yet so i guess that contributed to my feeling trapped too.

i did my oscar scan this morning and was so amazed at what i saw! baby was kicking and flipping itself around, kept changing positions and all, and i just can't believe how i cannot feel a thing with all that action going on inside! it's about 6cm from crown to rump now and i finally got some print outs to bring back to show hubby; he hasn't been with me on any appts so far so he hasn't met bb yet! it's truly amazing and exciting!

hi bacon&egg, heartburn is that sensation you get when the acid in your stomach rises up to your throat; you'll feel a burning feeling in your chest and throat. there's no pain but it can be v uncomfortable. if you have it, try not to drink a lot of water with your meals and try to avoid spicy stuff too.

hi eve, i hear that warm milk at night helps too. someone also told me that reducing/avoiding root vegetables (groundnuts, lotus, potatoes etc) will help alleviate heartburn. does your keep you up at night?

bbmouse, are you considering amnio? i had opted for it due to my age but chickened out after reading some horror stories. i did my oscar screening today and will proceed to do the amnio if th results aren't good. my friend did it twice and she said there is nothing scary about it. like ant bite, she said.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) - the scales i saw in Spore are ugly & more expensive ($75+ in Courts/Best Denki), so even with shipping from US, could still end up cheaper! Will check out the one Shazz bought in Isetan first.

bacon&egg - I get ocassional heartburn after too spicy/oily food (e.g. prata with lots of sauce)! Thank goodness no heartburn since preggers, but if i get it, its usually quite bad - no blood circulation to fingers/toes (feels very cold to touch), and heavy pain around the breastbone area. The first time i had it, i thought i was having a heart attack!
I told hubby that on a scale of 1-10, heartburn = 9, and post-surgery for my fibroid = 2!

Like xuanting said - avoid spicy food - prevention better than cure. But if i get it, i usually take Nexium (prescribed by GP, no side effects on pregnant women - very effective!)

I did lots of reading up on amnio as well as CVS, also due to my age. However, with the oscar test available, it is risk free, hence a decision making tool for us to decide on the next step, which is invasive testing like amnio & CVS. If your oscar test results come out ok, & you know your risk is low, then you can decide not to go for the invasive tests. Before you decide to go for such tests, you'll be counselled too.

I think the pain of going thru such tests is not so physical but more mental. You got to wait for 2 weeks for the results.

Just as i thought i m advancing into my honeymoon period week14 but these few days me having dizzy spells...anyone have this problem?
Car sickness worsen too.even i take public bus for 5mins i will feel like puking wondering what's wrong.

Xuanting, Mei: Thanks.
My gynae did a rough measurement of the nuchal fold today. He said it is a bit on the high side. Asked me if I would consider going ahead with the amnio if the result is positive.
Then it made me think if I shd just go for Amnio directly without the OSCAR test.

bbmouse
My personal opinion is do go for the oscar test first as it is risk-free. CVS & amnio carries a slight risk of miscarriage. However, the final decision really lies on you & your hb.

My bb's NT scan result was also on the high side, my ratio was 1:287 based on the NT scan alone. But combined with my blood test results, my ratio decreased to 1:2044. However, I'll need to go for another detailed scan next week to check bb's heart due to the NT scan result.

bbmouse
Hope it goes well. Anor plus side of OSCAR is u get to see ur baby from so many angles and how it moves etc...

I feel so weak and useless now. Since I got preggie have been sick twice. Now and once in early early first tri.

Just now my coughing so bad that when I talk to HR abt my extended MC (I was on MC more than 2 mths for unstable preg), I cld not stop coughing. It was uncontrollable! And I have only abt 4 to 6 days of MC left for the whole year! If want to take more, gotta take no pay liao...

I really wonder my baby how? Been sick twice already and I am so weak. Feel really useless... Now I also dunno how to 'bu' myself since I cannot possibly take TCM now and I also dun dare to.

Sasa: Thanks..

Isabelle: My MC only has 30 days leh. So far I've taken 24 days I think, left with 6 days only. I'm gonna speak to my HR if I can utilise the hospitalisation leave or not. Cos my company has 2 or 3 mths paid hospitalisation leave. Your company has this?

hi mei,
i saw from the list that you are from kkh. I just came back from the NT scan this morning. Have also done a blood test. Did you call up the hospital to get the results? When will the entire results be available?

hi eve,

i also have heartburn initially and dr gave me some medication.

hi isabelle,
did you check with your dr on your cough?

hi bbmouse,
i share the same opinion as mei.

one of friend did not go through any of the tests as she has decided that no matter what the results will be, she will not abort her bb.

hi xuanting,
yes, it is really exciting to see the bb in action.

Don't worry about it Isabelle. I read in What To Expect When You're Expecting, that when we're pregnant, our immunity is lower, so that the body will not reject foreign objects, in our case, it's our baby.

Please do not resort to TCM now as I understand that we can't "Bu" when we're sick as it'll help the bacteria to thrive and get worse.

I strongly recommend the book which I've mentioned, think Limay is also reading it. It provided me with lots of information and assurance. It gave me more confidence as I progress in the pregnancy. So don't feel despaired!

Hope that helps!

Limay: the weighing scale looks sleek!

rabbit
You should get your results within two working days. For me, KK called me the next day & read me my result over the phone. I think coz my NT scan results were not very good so the doctor knew I was anxious so he did state 'Urgent' on my case, so I guess that's why they called me the following day.

Hi rabbit,
I went to have my NT test yesterday morning, and just now they called to tell me my result, however i missed the call, they actually massage me the result. I can get the result on my next vist for check up. Ny the way, I'm also MTB from KKH.

Hi Jasmine and Mei

Thanks for sharing with me.
They told me that they will only call if result is not so good. Is that true?

Think they will try their best to let we all know the result the next working day, my scan result is 1:4200 plus, can't remeber the exact amount. I still get my result today.

So rabbit, don't worry, u get ur result soon.

guess what, I just received from the doctor yesterday i seen, his name is Kenneth, can't remember his surname.
wow, he called up personal telling my result, for scan result is 1:4000 plus, now together with the blood test, my ratio now go to 1:16000.
He told me no need to worry, cos the result show a very low risk.
So i think no matter what is result, they will call u and tell u the result.

I never choose to fix a gynae, cos if i chose to fix a gynae, i have to upgrade to B1, which mean i will become private paitent. then everytime i go check up and to pay $50 plus instead of $20 plus.
But my HB want to take up the B1, cos he say got TV and the toilet is in the room itself, easy for me to go washroom. Still discussing, cos i'm in my 11.5 weeks. still early?

rabbit
I think KK will call you tomorrow. & it does not mean that when your results are not looking good then they call you, so don't worry, ok?

At KK, our gynae is not the one who does the oscar test. This is done by the doctor in charge of fetal medicine. Dr Kenneth Quek is a great doctor, he is very caring & reassuring.

hi jasmine and mei,

thanks for sharing. i am too impatient. hope results will be ok.
A lady dr did my NT scan today.

jasmine: i have been seeing my current gynae as a private patient even before i am pregnant, so auto private.

Bigtoes,
Do b careful. Hope u r ok...

Shazz,
Which isetan branch did u get ur weighing scale fm ? i'm also looking for those glass top digital weighing scale , but it was selling at least 70+ in taka...