(2008/09) Sep 2008

lhy,
i have catered from natal essentials the last time round. the serving very generous, my hubby can share the food with me. the rice they gave, like feeding a pig. menu always change, but i must admit there are certain dishes i dun like. this should be understandable cos every1 has different taste & preference, cannot expect to like every dish mah. i dun like the red date drink they brew, too concentrated. 2 weeks ard $700, 4 weeks ard $1400. initially was very punctual, then slowly became later & later.

any mummies did the OSCAR test ??? i decided not to go for it .. want to save the extra money for bb .. only dd the NT scan .. cost $90.. hmm OSCAR will cost close to 400 right ?

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse
hhmm..... cannot la.... get movers muz pay $$.. haha.. now muz save as much as i can wor..

no leh.. dun thin getting CL.. coz MIL say her maid will help out wor.. my mum wanted to confinement for mi too. but i dun allow.. coz tat will mean she has to quit her job..

Qiuling
tried to PM u but u do not accept PM. maybe u would like to PM me instead..

hhmm... ya... i will not be around when reno are being down and when they are shifting.. hehe... go shopping.

haha.. bbmouse.. but that was when hb was still in robinsons.. now no more liao! hopefully can get more hand me downs frm my sis and sil.. heee..

Qiuling.. I did not do the OSCAR test as well but will be doing the detailed scan at 20wks..but I think a lot of mommies here have done the OSCAR test.

Crayons: Can call you with short-form? Hehehe.. A lot of us didn't get the mailer this time round. It's their 150 anniversary. Weird.

Sasa: I see. Then you got to be careful liao. Who will help with the packing? Your maid? I actually just shifted here as well. My maid did all the packing and unpacking and we got movers to move. Everything done chop chop 1 day. Packing of course longer, so we got to have a system of what to pack first.

hhmm.... ya... she will help with packing wor.. but my own clothes i gotta pack.. hehe.. coz at the same time can sieve out which ones i dun wan / cant wear le...

wah... tats fast.. 1 day finish le.. tat means u all nvr shift furniture oso lah.. hubby n i were thinking mayb juz shift sofa n a few tables onli..</font>

to bbmouse: dun be stupid!!! just aleep la.. where got sleeping diffculty one....dun think abt anything &amp; jus sleep la. IT'S ALL IN THE MIND.. ARE YOU COCK IN YOUR BRAIN!!

Sasa: We shifted everything. We moved to another place. The most delicate is the plasma tv. But they are very professional. Even for the bed (I got a kings Simmons) and the cupboards, they can dismantle and mantle back very quickly. They use plastic to wrap around so as not to dirty the mattress etc. Not very ex, I think abt $400? If yu want, I got to ask hubby cos he was the one liaising with the movers.

Cleverbb: Who are you? Why you just barge in and scold people liddat??!!

I am doing the OSCAR test tomorrow..
For me, the OSCAR test will costs me only about $200+...TMC pricing is more exp..about $318+.

I am doing my OSCAR test in The Tow Yung Clinic in Tanglin Shopping Centre..

For those mummies who have done the test, how long would you know the result?

<font color="0000ff">Cleverbb
u r not very tactful with ur words huh? y is there an attack against bbmouse?

u very clever meh? create a new account juz to scold someone? boh liao...

bbmouse
Ignore this person. hhmm... think we wont be getting professional movers wor, coz should be getting frens and cousins to help out. hehe.. trying to save as much as we can.

oh yah.. not shifting our bed too.. my mum forbids mi to shift my bed. hehe.. anyway, we had no intention of shifting it, coz too heavy and think the mattress cannot fit into the lift, even if we manage to dismantle the bed frame, haha. i pity them if they have to carry and climb 10 stories up...</font>

Sasa: Let's ignore this person.
Just get big covers to cover the whole bed. Can prevent the dust this way. Where will you be staying in the meantime?

hhhmm..... we still staying in our flat lor.. hehe. will only be shifting after reno is done for the new place wor. be getting the keys to new place mid of this month...

jasmine
yah lor.. tats wat i gather from my mum. she *qian jiao dai, wan jiao dai* not to move the bed.. i've no idea how come oso leh...

anyone knows the logic behind??</font>

Sasa: My mum also told me not to shift the bed when preggie. I dunno the logic either. If we can do it, just abide lor.

I agree with sasademouse. Cleverbb is just out to create chaos here. Let's all ignore his/her posting

We got better tings to talk abt anyway

I remmbered that time when i shift to my new house, it was quite chaotic :S

Btw, ask u alll huh.. for those short dresses.. .u all got wear leggings or not? Look funny or not huh??

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse / jasmine
yah... actually to appease my mum.. i will gladly agree to whatever she says.. hehe

i feel so bad actually. currently, am staying near my parents, but super duper far away from office. imagine, stay in serangoon, work in Tuas.

So now, be shifting to Jurong West.. at least juz 5 mins away from office.. can ZZzzz more.. dun need to spend so much time on the road. but my mum like not happy wor... sighz...

Sorry gals.. for off-topic</font>

sasa

The reason is because bed is important for us as we zuo yue on the bed. Moving the bed during preg is a big no no. Ever since im preg, i never even change the bedsheets. It is done by my MIL and my hubbie. I never touch any cleaning too except for washing my own undergarments.

<font color="0000ff">jasmine
oohh.... like tat ah... hehe... i keep thinking.. isit bcoz bb was *made* on the bed.. so cannot move it.. haha

tats the good thing abt being preggy hor.. the luxury of not doing anything</font>

lemon (lemon1000) - you would get your preliminary OSCAR test results on the spot (visual scanning of the nuchal transparency (this is the space at the back of the neck), presence of a nasal bone etc...Based on this, the gyne would be able to retabulate the baby's DS risk downwards from your age risk.

The full results based on the urine/blood test should be out within the next 1-2 days (the nurse will call you), after which the risk for DS would be lowered even more (like 1 in 20,000).

If you are doing blood test for other stuff (HIV, thalassemia etc), that would take another few days.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Short dresses and leggings look weird! Especially so for pregnant women when the tummy bulges &amp; pulls up the length even more! I did however, buy loads of baby doll dresses (knee length).

<font color="0000ff">btw... i tot i was enjoying my 2nd tri le leh.. den these 2 days.. i started puking again. last nite can wake up at 3am to go toilet.. den felt like puking. end up nothing came out. juz all the gastric juices... wonder wats wrong...</font>

Goldfish: If the dress is quite short, I will wear legging. Looks hip.

Sasa: Next time who will help you take acre of bb? I think your mum also feels maybe it'll be further away for her to visit you lor.

Jasmine: Heng I finished reading your entire post. Thot you stopped changing your bedsheet since preggie *faintz* Hahaha..

<font color="0000ff">goldfish
i wear them with long pants, so that can keep my legs warm wor.. haha.. so sometimes i wear a belt.</font>

hhmm.. MIL say she will tell her maid to help mi look after bb leh... i forsee i will have alot of problems.. coz tat would mean its juz the maid and i alone nia.. sighz...

den i feel so bad if my mum has to quit her job juz to help mi look after bb... cannot lah... the family still needs her income de.

i dunno oso leh.. mayb u r rite lor. she thinks that i'm shifting further n further away from her lor.. but den again hor.. now i stay so near her (she ave 4, i ave 3), i oso dun go back every day de.. juz go back on sundays only... even after i shift.. this arrangement would still be the same.. so i really dunno how to explain it to her.. thankfully now she got over it le.. at least nvr show mi her black face wor...</font>

heard from my mum said because we rest most of the time on our bed, so no shifting of bed cos this will shift the position of the baby, also no sewing, no cutting anything on the bed, nothing can be done on the bed. the only thing u can do is just sleep on the bed. Hmm...

I wonder when my tummy get bigger, my HB still got place to sleep a not, cos now he always complaint i took 3/4 of the bed.

<font color="0000ff">babyatom
*waves waves*... wah... actually i think many of us stay in JW leh... hehe

<font color="0000ff">Momoko
*claps claps!!!!*

Jasmine
hehe... still got.... BD lor.. hahaha

tell ur hb now u take up space of 2 ppl... hehe... so u need more space... </font>

bigtoes(limay):
hey, thanks for your answer...

now, I am limited in my clothings already..pants cannot wear already..some times, quite depressing to see my tummy getting bigger and bigger..haha, I complained to my hubby, say that because of him, I'm getting fatter..LOL!!

What I missed most now is exercising!!!...
I think I want to start some gym cycling now, or brisk walking on treadmill.. used to play badminton weekly, now cannot play, cannot run also..

Oh, anyways... I am thinking to moving house too, but my mother says cannot move house when pregnant...she says better to move after birth..

sigh..dunno, confused.

<font color="0000ff">Lemon
u oso thinking of shifting, hehe...actually depends on urself lah.. if u not tat pantang den ok lor.. juz do like wat the gals say.. dun be around when reno is being down and when shifting lor...

and remember.. not to shift ur bed!!!

wah... tat reminds mi.. i haven soaked in the sun for very long oso leh.. feeling so weak and tired everyday</font>

i was also told by my mum not to shift the bed cos i was still thinking of changing my bed. now sleeping on a platform bed, then scared later on when the tummy get bigger then will have problem getting up from the bed.

so i guess bo pian, next time i have to find a way to roll myself off the bed. :p

i'm currently renting out my flat but will be getting back in may. planned to do minor reno like new coat of paint, laminate flooring, new aircon, spray paint my toilet tiles. And we used to slp on mattress on the platform nia, so if we buy a new mattress to replace the old one, is it considered moving the bed? heee...

then when everyone heard abt painting, most give me big big eyes. BUT i think if i am not around will be ok rite? I'll leave everything up to hb...

and ya.. can just call me crayon.. shorter.. hee..

crayonshinchan, i was told by my mum cannot do painting in the house wor.. she said last time when she was preggy with me and my dad painted the door. then i was born with a birth mark but they dunno bathe me with wat then the birth mark gone.

dunno it's just coincidence or not leh..

thks for all ur replies! at least now i knw i'm not alone... when i asked my mum if this slping problem is normal, she commented like now still so early, i alrdy got problem slping, next time will be worse lor... i'm dreading the moment when it comes cos slp is VERY impt to me lor

sigh... i'm still puking leh. really hope MS will go away!

lemon (lemon1000) - hah, i think i am the opposite. I don't like this stage (not big, not small - where people don't know if you are preggers, or just had a big buffet lunch). Am looking forward to moving from this in between stage, to looking preggers, then people would stop pushing me to get in/out of the MRT &amp; maybe even give up their seats to me! (of cos I would think differently once i am into my 3rd trimester &amp; huge!)

Btw, how much weight have u guys gained? I am still at about +1.5kg (with no MS); hoping it wont be more than 14kg in total.

On exercising - if you are physcially able, should still exercise
For one, I still make it a point to walk up all the steps at the MRT stations. Maybe don't run on the treadmill, but low impact stuff like stationary cycling &amp; swimming should be okie.

Meanwhile - i am also trying to sleep on my left side, but don't think i last more than 1 hour before turning to lie on my back! Luckily, i am really piggy &amp; don't have trouble falling asleep.

Speaking of beds - I have a question. A friend told me it is pantang to buy and set up the baby bed before the baby is discharged from hospital! Something about empty baby bed attracting spirits!
She said have to get it delivered/assembled on the day the baby gets home!

Hi Bigtoes
Yah. i tink quite gross rite to match dress with a legging or wat.. bt i find it bobian when the dress goes up when the tummy increase in size?

Or how u gals find a solution huh? heck care just wear??

Hi Bigtoes,
I have gained ard 1.5kg i think even after my bkk trip of 5 days marathon shopping. Erm.. i oso dun want to gain more than 15kg wor cos now i weight at 55kg.. so +15kg =70kg liao leh!!! I hope not to exceed 70kg leh.. beri gross leh!!!!

I oso agree to exercising but not for all.. it depends on individual and the safety level wor. But i do read that exercise will increase heartbeat and means more oxygen goes to the placenta which means more oxygen for the baby which is good!

I am meeting my CL tonite leh! Wat are the MUST ASK questiosn huh? So actually no nid to give deposit one rite?

bigtoes, so fast u can hv the detailed scan liao?? your EDD(17Sept) is one day later than mine, but my gynae didnt advise us tat I could do a detailed scan on my next visit leh... haha!

so i guess u will seeing TC Chang for tat?

Bigtoes
I have put on about 2.5kg, but with twins lah.

Goldfish
I was 74kg when i delivered. and still wearing tight fitting (stretchy) tops to look less tent like. i went back to 55-56kg within a month plus and cld wear some of my old clothes...don't stress about the weight gain. it's impt for baby devt!

wow, so many mtbs at jurong west.

i only managed to pack a few bags of things in the room just now cos i fell asleep and it became a 3hr nap. tsk, tsk. i never used to nap one!!!

@loever@ (loever) - My EDD is actually 10th Sept, am 13 weeks today, so will be almost 16 weeks when they do the gender scanning. Nope, not with TC Chang, this is my regular monthly check up with WK Tan (they didn't specifically say that can see the gender, but I assume we should be able to tell from week 16 onwards, provided baby is cooperative)!

*just woke up from my nap and full from dinner*

Goldfish: I have dresses I wear when non-preggie with a pair of leggings. They are short dresses or long blouses - very hip and in to go with leggings.

But it depends on the design of course.

Wah... super envious leh... I'm working hard in office wor.. n u juz woke up n had ur dinner le...

Sasa: Am sure you will not envy me for being put on bed rest leh.. I'm going back to work next Mon, so the end to such "luxuries".
Shd be going home time soon right?