(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi Isabelle
Is those support tummy dee-ku good in certain way? Or just personal preferences nia?

Ah.. thks for the relevations! I saw those mothercare on maternity bra, it reminds me of my mama’s bra lo. But I think some of them is nursing bra bah? So actually we can still wear normal bra bt just nid to get extension nia rite? I always wear strapless bra wor.. so I tink if nei-nei gets heavier, better not rite? Is wired-bra advisable oso?

For breastpump, erm.. I dunno how long can I be a cow oso lo.. so duno whether shld get electric or manual wor. Bt I am going to be a working mama wif no maid or in law to help out one lo bt deposit baby at infant care lo. I wonder how my stamina will stretch oso lo

Bt in terms of brand, which brand is better?

Breastpump=> me got avent isis manual..didnt work for me..pump till hand suan only 10ml..my girl was crying like mad..end up give formula.

tot of investing a good one this time, maybe get a 2nd hand electric one, think medela not bad..wonder got place to rent or test out a not heehee

Porky, have to wait for tmr then.. by right the gynae has a range of HCG level for the no. of weeks you are preggie...

Hi,Lim

very sianz with the headache.. can't really focus in work.. i have been taking MC for every month.. January I also took MC.. dun know what can naturally remove the headaches.. I have been sleeping for the whole afternoon and din really get better.. the GP even asked me to go A&E!!

Porky: Oh, In this case we wait for the second results. He is trying to determine not the absolute level but the trend (ie whether increasing or not). I did one test, but that is to confirm the pregnancy, after that gynae never asks to test liao.

Lim: Yes, if the cups become larger, then got to buy bigger sizes.

Hi goldfish

I did get the Mothercare maternity bras previously. Cos mine was like 85D, even those sold in dept stores also very ah-mah for such sizes no nice bra for me lor... sob...

In 3rd tri, some say betta not to wear underwired bras cos scared kena blocked ducts cos the wires pressing on the boobs mar....

Medala PIS is popular among mummies but i din get it. I used the Medela dual pump that is 300+. too kiam to buy the PIS normally selling at 700+. Even i buy the dual pump DH already complain ex liao cos he no confidence i will continue with bf within the 1st year n i proved him wrong.ha !

LC & bbmouse, i was wondering is it bcos my 1st blood test shows the result is no good...so Dr Adrian did not tell me....cos i ask around most ppl that did the 1st blood test, and they know the result before decide to do the 2nd or 3rd blood test...i think tmr must wait for my hubby to go with me to hear the result. i dont think i got the courage to face it alone...

Hi LC,

Me too suffer from bad headache.. got called to check with the nurse at TMC..she said it's quite normal .. as we got no enough iron..so must rest more..

Porky, I did the first blood test with my 2nd gynae when my first gynae can't locate it..the report came the next day, and HCG is far below the range but the Gynae said to do the second blood test... however, the next day the blood clot-alike tissue dropped off... we sent tot he lab for test and confirmed gone..I suppose the 2nd blood test is to see if your HCG level went up or not.. maybe your first test is ok but he wans to make sure it is on a rising mode.. Hubby support is very impt.. my hubby took leave to be with me.. i was wepting all the way though trying super hard not to tear in front of the gynae but can't help it..But who knows there are good news for you two tomorrow?

I just make myself fish porridge and now feel like throwing it away.. the smell makes me feel like throwing out but still dun wan to go hawker to buy to eat those MSG food.. anyone got simple one dish meal that is nutritious to share?

porky
not all will feel nauseous. Some v lucky like big toes got no ms! So envious! When I told my gynae my ms getting worse he said it's a good sign cos means the hormone levels gg up.

Goldfish
think i used the one baby atom used. The medela dual pump. Means can pump two boobs at one time.
Cos i thot wld be faster.
Mebbe if u have relatives, frens or colleagues can borrow both electric and manual u try which one suits u first? Cos see baby atom use the medela one no pblm but it did nothing for me even tho I had alot of milk supply. So mebbe depends on individual?
Otherwise I think can rent one first, saw such brochures at TMC last time, but i dun think it's v cheap.

The dee ku I heard if ur tummy v big then it may help. Cos think my SIL used as her tummy really v v big and she felt it helped support a bit of the weight...

xuan mommy

the brochure i saw for renting breastpump was from TMC but i forgot which brand. But must rent for a certain period of days and not v cheap also.

Porky, don't thin too much abt it now. Tomorrow is only a few hours away. Take good care of yourself and have a good rest.

isabelle

so envy you.. still can eat snacks.. me throwing out wat i ate.. especially lately.. tot MS should be early stage of the first trimester but i am throwing out only now.. so xin ku..

Hi LC, take care, yah MS is so irritating! And that stupid taste in my mouth that refuse to go away... I really think mummy is the greatest!

Seen gynae and saw my baby little hands & legs & bb is bouncing in my waterbag, so cute!! Has grown to 5.2cm, DR Woody says must still rest and to keep eating the hormone tablets. (3 tablets per time) I am still spotting & Dr says still have the blood clot but its reducing...

I will be doing the down syndrome test on fri. The staff says there is no appt & I need to walk in & wait.. Haiz..

Storeberry: So good to hear this from you. I wanna check with you cos I'm still spotting as well. How is your spotting like? Mine appears when I wipe myself after going to toilet - most times have, sometimes it's clear, and the brown blood comes in the sticky discharge. I have to change panty liners every other time I go to the toilet.
Is yours the same?

Hahaa.. atom.. but my sil also told me tat she bo chap for her second one though.. haaa...

Actually sometimes I do wonder why i nv feel guilty like her. haaa...

And SHIT.. I have been eating pringles!!!!!!

And I super duper love Jin San Soon. Never fail to make me laugh. She is sooooo lovable! ladies who are feeling emo like me shd really really watch!

Hi bbmouse, these two days there is bleeding when I urine, today its on my pantyliner & when I wipe as well. Sometimes its sticky, sometimes its watery.

I think I vomited my hormone tablets but not sure, should I retake again?

hi storeberry, happy to hear that ur little bb is doing fine and bouncing away. keep it up and rest well. u are almost gg to completed 1st trimester. enjoy ur pregnancy ya !

Hi Isabelle
Thanks for sharing ur advice on the dual pump. Haiz.. dunno wat is best for me for now. I scare wait buy so expensive one hoh and end up din use cos no milk or wat. Lagi depressing.

Hi LC
U wanna to try cereal instead? If u feel er-xin ober the milk, den eat it drink?? I tink quite nutritious one wor.. but dunno heaty or not lo

Hi Porky
Am equally gun-jiong for u ober the results 2mr. Do remember to update us. Will pray for u!!!

Seems like many pple have taken their watever blood test liao hoh? Me at my week 11 and 2mr going for my 3rd gynea visit. I am going to ask him when am i taking my watever blood tests lo :S

Btw, issit safe to drink tap water huh? My pregnant relative was flabbergasted that i am still drinking from the tap. She insisted tat i boil the tapwater lo. Aiyoh, bt i thot NEWATER is safe for drinking?? Anyone doing the same 'insane' ting as me or not?

Hi galz
you can try out the differnet pumps at BMSG (Breastfeeding Mothers support group) before deciding if you like it enough...

porky
all the best for your results tom...sleep well tnight...

LC
what about oatmeal without milk?those quaker ones...

hi crayon
you are a moulder of nation too?
i was before i stopped work...

goldfish
i think singpaore tap water is safe bah. what is your relative's reason for not taking tap water? maybe it has to do with some TCM thingy like it being too 'heaty' or 'cooling'?

Storeberry: Except for the first time, I don't bleed when I urine *touch wood*. Thanks. I will take it again lor. But make sure you're not feeling nauseous when you take it again.

Hi all MTBs...

Hoping to join you gals... I'm 11wks now and my EDD is Sept 8.

This is my 2nd pregnancy(I had a miscarriage last year) I had a scare too when i was 4wks cos gynae suspected it was an ectopic pregnancy, had to do a HCG blood test to determine stage and status of pregnancy. Frm then, the doc is seeing me evry 2 wks till i'm 12wks bcos of previous miscarriage.

But when I went for my scan last week, can see small bb kicking and turning..it was a amazing sight. Will be doing the OSCAR test nxt week.

Thanks Porky, u rest well tonight ok? Hugz!

l'l CY, the BMSG support group is a webby or..? Sorry not very sure...

Goldfish, yah man, the breast pumps is super ex & don;t know which is better for us right? I will ask my fren...

I am still feeling pukey..

hi sunrays, welcome to this thread and congrats on ur 2nd pregnancy after the loss. so how are u coping now ? hope u enjoy this pregnancy journey.

sorry, i do not understand wat do u mean for this sentence "when i was 4wks cos gynae suspected it was an ectopic pregnancy, had to do a HCG blood test to determine stage and status of pregnancy"

wow, everyone is talking about breastpump already... er... something tt i feel,

on my first pregnancy, after i delivered, i don have much BM, also i invest in a medela single electric pump, it didn work... every 2 hr i pump, onli get 1oz from both breast... but when i ask my hb helped to suckle(cos i tot block duct or something, the milk just don come out), after he suckled, when he trying to massage for mi, my BM is like water fountain.. really alot coming out, i cant latch my gal directly becos my nipple crack badly... after i stop for one mth, i asked some of my frens in forum, they said maybe the pump is not suitable for mi, and one of them got alot of milk, but simply cant pump out anything from a electric pump...

this is just my tots... how true i also don noe, but this time round will invest a better one... still dicussing with hb abt medela PIS, or maybe will rent one and try it out first... btw, FYI, some hospital do rent breastpump, but must grab, cos they onli got few sets...

hi porky...

my previous pregnancy i had to do the HCG test cos according to scan, my bb's size was 5wks whereas I'm alrdy 8wks...so doc said probly the bb stopped growing at 5wks,only way to determine was the HCG blood test. Then the test results showed the HCG level dropped which means the bb stopped growing alrdy.

Then this 2nd pregnancy, I calculated i'm 6wks when i first visited the gynae. My menses is VERY regular so i was very sure I'm 6wks. But when she scanned me, cannot even see waterbag...nothing at all.. so she suspected the pregnancy is outside the womb- so again, i did the HCG test. Test results showed i was 4 wks and HCG level increasing well..gynae said it could be my menses came but egg was released & fertilised later thus the 2wks difference.

i saw briefly frm previous posts that u are waiting for your HCG blood test results, may i knw wat happened?

hi porky,

hope u have some good news today.

hi LC,
can understand how u feel. i just woke up due to hunger and vomit after eating some ginger biscuit (read from book, it is supposed to help but..).
Maybe you can try cereal as suggested by Goldfish, I do that at times when nothing works just to keep some food in the stomach. My weight has dropped a kg in 2 weeks due to vomit and dr says that this is ok. It is a sign that bb is growing.

hi porky,
hope u get good news today

Hi rabbit,
maybe wanna try those "soda" cereal biscuit, it suppose to curb MS.

isabelle,
exp also to rent har ?? hmm..then maybe buy better..
after reading the posting, since medela is good but EXP..must start searching for 2nd one in the forum liow heehee

storeberry , mtbs
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/

Morning mummies !

Hi Goldfish : ya breastpump all very expensive 1, typically a dual pump is more than $300. Somemore the medela pump i bought wasnt the best lor, considered middle range only...I may consider getting Medela PIS this time round if i still manage to bf for more than a year,alot of good comments abt PIS though it really cost a bomb !

Hi Sunrays : Welcome !!
kao_welcome.gif

Hi Porky : Hope u get good news for ur report today.

Hi Isabelle : U make me drool just thinking abt Calbee now. *slurp*

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gynae </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyatom </TD><TD></TD><TD> Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr CH Koh </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelinegoh</TD><TD></TD><TD> 020sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> ALLim </TD></TR><TR><TD>isabelle</TD><TD></TD><TD> 03-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> TC Chang </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD> 04-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shazz</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> Dr Lee I Wuen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aloevera</TD><TD></TD><TD> 16-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr M Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bigtoes</TD><TD></TD><TD> 10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>qiuling</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK </TD></TR><TR><TD>fsa</TD><TD></TD><TD> 18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Judy WongTPS </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsyap</TD><TD></TD><TD>24sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Lim </TD></TR><TR><TD>XuanMummy</TD><TD></TD><TD> 28-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A </TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>aisha8314</TD><TD></TD><TD>02-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH </TD><TD>Dr Marianne Hendricks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Momoko76</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD></TR><TR><TD>hp_babe</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>yun</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shirley</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD></TD><TD> 11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>crayonshinchan </TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ava (avalyn) </TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Paul Tseng </TD></TR><TR><TD>skinny pig </TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> Prof Yong EL </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippie</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr sF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaline</TD><TD></TD><TD> 07-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> MT A</TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ruixiang</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmouse</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>dr lawrence ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>l'l CY </TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkmilk</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee KH </TD></TR><TR><TD>rabbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>storm</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD> Dr Joan Thong </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunrays</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Lilboymum,
I oso dunno wat's wrong with NEWATER? Dunno issit she finds it too many added chlorine or wat.. it is making me feel 'twisted' and gas will ask gynea 2nite.

Hi MTB,
How 'long' is ur baby now huh? Mine was onie 1.7mm which was 3wks ago..

Saw the breastfeeding website.. still digesting. Bt based on a quick internet google last nite, medela PS is the best. ERm... ex i tink,,

isabelle (isa_belle) - Yes, you are right. MS is a sign that the hCG levels are rising &amp; the baby should be doing well
So suffer abit is okie. As for my case, i don't have MS, but actually don't mind some, at least there is an indication that my baby is doing well. Was so relieved when we did the ultrasound scan &amp; we could actually see the baby moving &amp; its heart beating. That was the reassurance I need that all is well
Hopefully it has been growing well the last few weeks as well

sunrays (sunrays) - Welcome to the thread! your EDD is one day ahead of mine (10th Sept)! I am also going for my OSCAR test next Monday.

Porky - fingers crossed, and hope you have good news for us later!

Goldfish - when did your gyne measure your baby (i.e. how many weeks?) Mine was 2.95cm at 9 weeks+

ya ya LC, like wat l'l CY said... can try oatmeal. I eat oatmeal in a different way. I will add light soya sauce and some pepper instead of fruits. Eat it like porridge. Heee.. i know some will find it er xin. But hor, its really nice. I think lar...

and yes l'l CY. I'm still a moulder and my standard statement to hb every night is "dear, i don want to go to work tmr". In the beginning, he'll be concerned, thinking I am not well and all! Now he simply bo chap. Cos he knw's I'll still drag my ass to work. hahaa...

why did u stop work?

bigtoes, I do vomit and all but i feel nauseaus at times nia. Then the usual symptom of sore boobs only lor. Heee.. every morning I'll make it a point to check if my boobs are still sore! hahahaa...

My next appt is this Sat. And I'll have to wait until then to know if baby is doing well!

Stressful!

Mommies who wants to get Medela PIS, you might want to ask your friends to get from you from the States as they are cheaper there. I bought mine for US$185, which is a discounted rate for servicemen (my hubby from RSAF was deployed there), but the regular prices shouldn't be v much more ex. The only problem is the voltage. Either you have to get a transformer to convert Singapore's 230V to 120V, or use rechargeable batteries for the pump.

LC
no need to envy me cos after I ate the calbee, I had a subway sandwich. 30 min later, I threw up at least half of what i ate. That was the fifth time yesterday... Haiz...

yvonne
me also like you. electric pump din work for me... But in my case Avent manual ISIS pump worked v well. Milk splish splosh into the bottle. In the end I even bought two.

the Avent manual pump if u r considering is cheap also compared to the Medela PIS. It's less than 100 bucks.
Pros:
1) not constrained by the need to find an electrical socket. (I like this point alot)
2) Cheaper
3)May work better for those who find electric pump no use
4)If you use Avent milk bottles, can just unscrew the cover and put on the teat. Ta dah! Can feed bb already. (Another reason why I like the Avent one, cos the medela one I must pour out the milk to transfer into my Avent bottle)
Cons:
1)Got many parts to assemble compared to Medela(but after a while I got used to it...)
2)May not work for everyone

Alternatively can consider the electric Avent ISIS version. Also comes in double. But good or not, I dunno...

Xuan mommy
If I rem correctly, I rem seeing the brochure and thinking that it was ex (cos must rent for a minimum period) compared to buying the pump. But they also gave the option of topping up to buy the pump should you like it. But hor, whether the pump is brand new or not i dunno...

Mebbe the BMSG one is cheaper? Anyway, this is what I saw on their website:
The Group has demo pumps for nursing mothers or expectant mothers to try. For expectant mothers, you cannot try the pump directly on your breast but you can test it on your thigh area. Please note that any expressed breast milk will be discarded because of hygiene reasons.

The types of demo pumps available are:

Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump
Ameda Manual Pump
Avent Isis Manual Pump
Kaneson Manual Pump
Medela Manual Pump
Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump (single)
Medela Mini Electric Plus Breast Pump (dual)
Medela Pump In Style Advanced
NUK Manual Pump
Pigeon Manual Pump

Interested, please email [email protected] This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it or call our office at 6337 0508 to fix an appointment.

storeberry
eih, it is a support group in singpaore with helpline available too...they have helpers manning the lines and you can call them when you encounter difficulty in bfg during the day. they allow trial for all breastpumps so you can test and know which is more suitable for you.

the helpline is: 63393558

Hee know a bit coz i called them when i had difficulty bfg my firstborn.