(2008/09) Sep 2008

paging for bbmouse...

i wanna buy ur o n pregnancy strips...

thk u thk u

pls email me at [email protected]

crayonshinchan... ur nick seems super familiar.. wondering if u are the person i know... hehehe

i also on medical leave since 12th Feb. has been watching the dvd series "Huang Zhen Yi". quite sad but nice show loh. i ask Dr Adrian to grant another day mc for me tmr cos i need to prepare myself to hear the result tmr night mah.

wow...i guess each one of us has a different experience for this pregnancy. As for me, no craving, no MS, still doing housework, not more emo (think I am actually more cheerful than normal), nothing at all....just more sleepy (like ultra sleepy by 10+pm, & more hungry but don't mind eating anything. I should be grateful (I know my hubby is that I am still so 'normal'), but then i don't feel preggers! Hah, i know, very weird :p I haven't even gotten around to buying flat shoes yet!

Btw, we aren't too pantang, so alot of people in office already know about my pregnancy. Officially told my boss's boss today & the HR director as well, so that we can do contingency planning for when I go on maternity.

porky, did u scan today?

hmmm. that time when i did the blood test, the nurse was telling me she wont take from the same vein as its not good to poke the same place twice since the vein is sort of like injured liao.

must check wat bu can eat and wat cannot eat ok.
don anyhow eat now ;-)

dear porky, glad to hear from u. hope to hear good news from you tmr or wed morning. dun worry, will pray for u.

spinach also can bu blood.

Spinach can replenish the blood ah??
Then I must eat more wor, cos this thurs I am going for my blood test and OSCAR...
Don't know how much blood they are gonna draw from me leh..

crayonshinchan, Dr adrian say today no need to do the scan wor...he say tmr night then tell me the result if is necessary to do the scan anot...sound scary to me leh. but i dare not ask him why today cannot do the scan loh..

he poke on the same vein that he poke me on friday...very painful and the blood seems like not flowing out. i was looking at it when he poke and i say OUCH!!!

do u know what can eat to bu the blood mah ?

crayon.. the zhou youlin is also jin shan shun?? cos my hubby says they are the same person but i think they look so different leh...

bbmouse i am back at work liao... no more mc..
i mc for 11 days liao lor... today my spotting not alot... happy
my boss n one colleague knew abt my pregnancy liao and we are shifting office today n tml... boss ask me to becareful n dun need to do ... jus ask others to help

i am supposedly be at week 11 tis week lo
And next week i am going BKK for holiday liao
So next week i am into my 12th week.. so does tat means BYE BYE to MS forever?

I m not having MS at all bt scare scully it comes when i in BKK den i die liao

Btw, for preggy mama, wat kinda of panty we nid to get? I intend to stock up panties in BKK.. Issit those HIGH WAIST GRANNY PANTIES?

Crayonshinchan(alamak ur nick so long...)

no wonder la so familiar.... muahahaha

"guo ran bu chu wo suo liao"

enjoying the process of being a mom ya.. me in the other thread la.. TTCing .. haha... so qiao.. i come n look for bbmouse n i see u !! ahahahaha

.. oei.. now preggie cannot anyhow say ppl pig hor... must things like "pretty, handsome, etc.. hor... then ur bb also mei mei one ok !!
heee

anyway, u see bbmouse ask her to email me hor, cos i not active in this thread... hehehe...cos i not preggie yet.... gum sia...

porky
u got v fine veins izzit? Mebbe that's why they just take the same hand, the side which wld allow the blood to flow out more easily.
Me had horror experiences taking blood before too.
#1: At uni, the old nurse at the medical service poked the needle into my right arm. No blood flowed out so she kept TWISTING AND TURNING the needle. I almost fainted... And still no blood. Then she removed it and must do again on the left side. FAINTZ!!!

#2: Several weeks back. My arms had already been poked twice for Hcg tests because of the bleeding issue. Now is the third time.
But guess what at the clinic, this not so experienced nurse poked me, no blood. Manipulated my arm and needle too. No blood. I was so nervous.
She finally gave up and called the more experienced nurse. I felt relieved. Same arm but still no blood after a while of adjusting needle! Then remove needle and must change arm. Finally blood flows out slowly. By then I am traumatised by the whole thing... Kena pricked THREE times for this one...

loever, thanks. is it those spinach that we use to make salad ? eat raw or must cook first ?

skinny pig, red bean soup can bu blood ah. then can get from food court, faster. hehe.

Cravings

hmm seems like many mummies like pizza! I dunno why my craving changes everyday. But I can;t take all this pizza and fastfood thing. If seasoning is too strong I will throw up.
Have craved for dumpling noodles too. think cos the soup is clear.
As well as Kong Kong cafe's Special Baked Rice.
But my all time Fav has been porridge and "gong hu" (fermented beancurd). Anyone knows what that is? Hee...

Oh yes,
spinach contains iron, that's why can "bu" blood. Unofrtunately I cannot bring myself to eat veggies now. So strange. Used to like them!

goldfish... i feel those high waist with elastic band ones super uncomfortable lor cos its like hugging my tummy and i cannot breathe...
i prefer those soft cottony ones that can wear below the tummy... wont restrict tummy growth too... usually i wear S size for panty.. but i bought M size to cater for my expanding preggy size
u shd take note of the elastic band... avoid those thick thick ones.. go for seamless or soft bands...

mrs yap, the zhou youlin is not jin shanshun la! they look so different! youlin has much bigger and brighter eyes than shanshun.

isabelle, aiyo, why the nurse do that to u. so bad of them...u also did the hcg blood test before ? how is the result ? how many weeks are u now ?

Dr Adrian personally did the blood test for me leh. not done by the nurses de. 1st time he poke very shun li and no pain at all. like ant bite very fast got a tube of blood liao. only today like not so successful leh...mayb i got no more blood liao...

porky, maybe he just wanted to be sure of the test results then he'll scan u ba.

And as for the bu part.. hahaa.. i really know nuts abt it. I think the other girls here are better at it. some have oredi suggested spinach and red bean soup.

jia you!

porky, no, the kind we call "yun choy" in cantonese. ppl like to cook this with ikan billis or plain. wait i see if i can find a pic of it.

Queen Sara: Sorry, the strips are sold.

Porky: Glad to hear from you. Hope all is well after tomorrow.

Goldfish: No particular type of panties. As long as you can fit in.
Some like low waist (those that on't cover the belly button), some like the high waist ones (cover everything). It's personal preference.

Porky,

Oh ya, and milo drink.... My mum always nag me to drink a cup of milo every night before I sleep... She said can 'bu' blood too...

And those kidney beans, it resembles red bean but is the bigger version of red bean.. Also good for blood too..

Hi Mrs Yap
Ah.. u are one experienced mama.. .i must heed ur advice

Well noted... bt i saw there are some dee-ku that claims to support the baby one huh? wat u call tat huh? Is tat oso known as high-waist one huh?

So free-sized dee-ku can still be wore or not huh? :p Abit ignorant wor :p

How abt bra bra leh?

Hi Crayonshinchan : Ya, jin san shun is a nice show. Nw there is repeat telecast on Sun from 2-4pm on channel U. Save $$ dont need buy/rent VCD.hee...
ur sil just eat 3 potato chips n she's guilty ? omg, i eat few packets for the past month liao...not forgetting all the mac burger, fries n my fav Pizzas ! no guilt feeling ley..wahaha

Hi Goldfish: I bought a few panties in BKK last year n i realise their panty size is so small ! (or mebbe my butt is too big, argh !) Same as Mrs Yap, I prefer those Minis under the tummy, more comfy...

porky
the last time i did the hcG tests was quite some time ago. It went up so gynae never asked me to do again. But wed I'll be having blood test again for OSCAR. Me should be 11 weeks now.

I hope u'll get good news on ur hCG levels! U still feel nauseous? And got preggie symptoms? If yes then mebbe it means the hcg levels r gg up! Hang in there girl! I'm also "tahaning" for you!

Mrs Yap, Storeberry: Me still on MC for another week. I've been on MC for 6 days liao so far, 3 days before CNY and last week 3 days. So paiseh, just got the bonus for the year and then kenna bedrest. Good thing boss is understanding.
Am only in the 7th week. Would like to see if I can rest til at least the 8th week to stabilise the foetus.

Hi bbmouse,
Thanks for ur advice also! Me abit cheapskate. Wanan to stock up stuff in BKK. Intend to sweep all dolldresses oso.

Btw, i was informed tat ELECTRIC BREAST PUMP is better than those manual one. Any comments on tat huh? I saw tat electric one not CHEAP wor.. ard $200 leh..

goldfish
i think those dee ku is to support your tummy. Can get from maternity shops.
But last time I din change my panties. I just wore my old ones cos they were under my tummy Then after I lost some wieght after preggie then I realised I had stretched them until so loose. Hee...

Hi isabelle, I just vomit my meatballs, so yucky! I felt abit nauseous after eating the pizza...

I also have bad experience from blood test when I did my routine checkup. The nurse was poking and pulling the needle trying to suck the blood out (if u all know what I meant) and it took so darn long then I feel faint looking at her. In the end I had to look away & think of other things if not I will faint..

@loerver@, yah cooked with ikan billis soup is very nice!!

Porky, jai you jia you!!

Porky,

beef and pig liver also can "bu" blood. But my gynae said dun overcook it. But Spinach is the best.

Talking about cravings, my cravings changes very dramatically. During the first few weeks, I cannot tahan chilli or spicy food, and I loved ketchup! Now, I love spicy food. My husband said he had a difficult time ordering food for me...hee hee....And now I love to eat salty food...although I know it's no good. But no choice leh, I need to stimulate my taste buds. Moreover, I salivate very much more, sigh....

Now I'm thinking when to tell my colleagues about my pregnancy...cos a colleague in my team also preggie. dunno what my boss's reaction would be...

baby atom.
Hope u din eat the pringles one hor. Cos I rem reading in the Straits Times that that brand was assoc with higher cancer risk but I dunno if it's true.

Goldfish. for bras no need to buy maternity ones. Cos the maternity ones are ugly and expensive. Just get bigger sized (bigger cups and longer straps) can liao. More choices and the prices are cheaper. I also prefer the low waist kind. The good thing abt the low waist kind is you don't have to remember to cover your tummy all the time. Cos can be rather unsightly if you're wearing the hi-waist panty and your tummy is suddeny exposed. *oopss* I feel maternity wear is already very aunty, so no need t make ourselves more aunty.

Pork liver or any forms of liver: I think this has quite high Vitamin A content. We shd not overdose on Vit A at this time. So pls avoid.

storeberry
u vomiting too still? Sigh I wonder when this vomiting will end. On a "good" day I throw up like 2 to 3 times. On a bad day like 5, 6 times... I dunno whether my bb still getting any nutrients or not...

BBmouse
agree with u. Very grandma-ish those bras. The cups r so BIG and of such ugly designs, like want to bao cabbage like that...
Yah, just get bra extensions at least can still buy nice bras to wear!

Goldfish: Definitely an electric pump is better than a manual one, and get a dual pump instead of a single pump. It is more efficient and faster, therefore saves you time on pumping. Esp when we go back to work after the ML, we will have to go pumping like 4-6 times daily, can be very time-consuming if you use a manual one. And we will feel paiseh have to pump so often, so best is chop chop and finish our mother's duty.

goldfish, how long do u think u want to or u can tahan BF-ing? if more than 6mths, then it's beta to invest in electric BP, and double pump is beta than single. coz whether the letdown is here, the other side will also "drip"...

i invested in a medela dual pump, n i got it from a mom here. her MS(milk supply) stopped after 2weeks... it was a god buy.

and i got a manual avent ISIS pump as a gift, i started using tat when my MS dropped.

i BF-ed for 8mths... coz my MS dropped after i stopped latching due to my travelling for work.

first time mommies must really consider properly wat u wan then invest into the item. dun buy in impulse, coz nowadays all the BB items are so expensive...

goldfish
think whether electric pump is better or not depends on individual. I had a medela electric pump and it was useless for me. The milk came out so little and if I set the speed to higher, I might get sore nipples.
In the end, I sold it and I bought the Avent hand pump. The moment I used, I cld hear the milk splashing into the bottle.
Yet my one of my colleagues has no pblms using the electric one, she likes it, altho most use avent manual pump.

Isabelle, I stop vomitting two day back then today came back again... I read from the book, baby still will get the nutrients even though we vomit but I am definitely not eating very healthy. My saliva was so much that yesterday I chocked on my own saliva, so irritating & funny!

Hi,Everyone

Me on medical leave today.. head was like exploding and yet can't take the GP medicine.. stomach also feel crampy..
and that taste on the tongue like wat Storeberry and Mrs. Yap said is so turn off!! dun feel like eating.. took a bun with milo in the morning, then 4 kaya bread ard 4pm.. now was thinking hard wat to eat for dinner.. haizzzzzzzzzzzz............

Hi, Cynthia and Shirely

I understand how you feel cos I went through it before..ours came fast and unexpectedly and it left fast as well, too fast before we can catch up.. cried my heart out and felt so guilty that I did not do my best to protect it but my gynae was telling me that it is better to let go if it is not going to be healthy and it is not fated to be our miracle.. even our parents din know abt this, only my boss and my covering colleague knew abt it cos need to go for a week MC to rest so din know wat to eat to build back the health..I suppose now, most imptly is to bu your body to get ready for TTC.. if mentally prepared, you can try after one cycle of menses..

Hi, Porky

blood test is very common to determine the HCG level...u can go those chinese medical hall to buy those "bu xie" tonic that is already well packaged.. and then buy some black chicken or a drumstick and boil with the tonic..Eu yang send got sell.. liver and red meat like beef can also bu xie but cos need to eat 3/4 cooked, it might not be appropriate for you at this stage cos worry might have virus infection. like skinnypig said, red bean soup also good and should be the most pleasant one to consume..

If you need the mtd of cooking simple bu qi and bu xie soup, PM me..

Hi Isabelle : Nope i love the Calbee chips.. dont really like Pringles.hee...

Hi Goldfish: I prefer electric breastpump compared to Manual. Manual very tiring. Also i recommend dual pumps instead of single. More stimulating for higher milk supply. Agree its expensive but bohpian, still cheaper than formula if u use the pump for a year, formula also ex...

Goldfish: I use the medela PIS. It was a good investment. If you buy from overseas, cost abt $450 sgd only. I BF for 6 plus months and will be using it again for #2.
I believe there is a difference for different electric models (even those from the same brands). So far those who use the Medela PIS give good feedback.

loever, thanks for the link. i will ask my MIL to buy and cook for me. hehe.

crayonshinchan, so good life. knock off at 5pm ? my job only knock off at 6pm, sometimes 6.30pm loh. but now resting at home for weeks liao. dunno can get used to it anot after go back to work.

isabelle, i do not feel nauseous leh. but still have some preggie symptoms like feeling hungry all the time and sore breast and bloated tummy.... dunno these symthoms can means the hcg levels r gg up ??

tastytreatz, i cant take beef cos i am taoism. and i dont like pig liver, feel like vomiting when i eat pig liver...

goldfish, so envy u. gg to BKK liao. my hubby say if this pregnancy really dont turn out well, then he will bring me to BKK to shan shan xin. hope i can get over it and we can try again.

LC,
my head also exploding like u...always got this problem when i have my AF.

Now i dont really want to take the painkiller cos the nurse told me if only really needed..

so bobian endure lor