(2008/09) Sep 2008

storeberry, ya yesterday i rush down to CCK clinic to see him for the scan cos super worried. he gave me hormones pills and ask me see him again on this friday. i supposed to start work tmr but now got mc until friday liao...

btw, i understand that u have been on hormones pills for quite sometime right ? but spotting still did not go away ? this is first time i saw spotting...a bit worried. Dr woody even told me to put on a PAD !!!

bigtoes(limay): you're a gorgeous mama! =) Our baby will be due about the same time. First check EDD was 9 Sep, 2nd chcek shows 10 Sep. 1 day difference. Weight wise, I've gained 2kg cos I was hungry all the time and eating 5-6 meals a day and having mild MS. You're so blessed to be MS free and baby growing healthily!

hippie (hippie): It's normal to feel nausea when you're hungry. In fact, I had to eat wholemeal crackers regularly so that I don't feel nausea.

Jasmine (piggy_jas): Initially, I avoided all the cooling stuff, caffeine, raw food, alcohol, but I slowly succumbed to small amount of the "forbidden" food after a while, especially after my 8th week. ;p Moderation is the keyword. But the thing I'm watching out now is to avoid food that is high in Vitamin A, especially those from animals, such as beef, duck, chicken, pork liver. A high diet of Vit A may cause defects in babies.

Porky: Relax and rest well in bed, dun think too much of negative stuff ok? You've been through a false alarm previously, am sure this time things will work out well as well *hugs*

Hi Porky, my spotting stop for a while & came back again then never stop liao... I am eating hormone pills like my 3 meals...

Hi Lim,
Did you manage to see/hear the heartbeat of your bb ? I am also in 7 weeks plus now and the gynae told me that my bb had heartbeat at my 6 weeks when i visited him last time. So should i say mine is still a sac ( a dot) like urs ?

I'm still using whitening Lancome/Clarins products which i presume should be fine right ? I see that a few ladies here also use these brands. BTW, i think i've read on a pregnancy book that sunblock is still a necessity during pregnancy . Pls correct me if i'm wrong.

millie
me see from the scan details is 7weeks.
i ask doc got heartbeat he told me is still too early. Come back 2 weeks later again.

porky
me seeing same dr as you

thank for your concerns, even though i you are so worry about your BB now.

xuanting,
thanks!..details scan done normally at 5th or 5.5th month.

KEEP OUR FAITH STRONG !!!

storeberry

are you taking duphaston from dr woody? It cost $25/box. I take 3 times a day.

shazz (shazzerlyn)
wow i didnt noe that beef, duck, chicken has high vit A wor. I took chicken almost everyday. Beef once a while. I only know pork liver has high vit A. That day i still drank fruit tree mango with nata coco, after drinking saw it has vit A.

Lim (xuanmommy)
I saw my bb's heartbeat last monday. This week is my 9th week. Will be seeing dr woody next week. =D

Hello everyone
Have been MIA for the last week...Visiting gynae again today, I am so nervous...cos last time could see sac but not baby...around 5-6 weeks. Hopefully now can see something.

Anyone knows if there is no heartbeat (touch wood) etc, would mtb still have symptoms? I am swelling like a balloon and could hardly eat all that delicious penang and cny food over CNY, but still so BIG!

Wish me luck....! Porky, here's wishing you have a positive reply from your gynae this Friday too.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - thanks! How come ur gyne can estimate the EDD so specifically? Mine is +/- 3 days from 10/09/08. Its quite a nice date ya, as long as its not 9/11! I am actually thinking of getting a C-section anyway, so maybe on 9th or 10th itself, depending on how the baby develops.
Yah, i am glad i dont have MS. My gyne said 20% of MTBs don't get MS at all, so i am one of the lucky few - but have to control diet abit, else end up gaining too much weight!

Jasmine (piggy_jas) - protein is okie, just need to avoid liver cos of the high Vit A content (I have not even eaten liver in my entire life!) Btw, do u ladies have craving for red meat? I have for red meat, but not fish (my sister had craving for beef also, and her baby turned out to be a boy!)

Hi Limay,

Just wondering why did you decide so soon to have a c-sec? I am opposite from you; I had emergency c-sec my first time round, and this time am hoping to be able to do a VBAC (Vaginal Birth after C-Sec) just so that I can experience contractions and giving birth naturally since I want to close shop after this liao. My gynae said I could try, but there is a risk of the uterus rupturing, so I may end up with C-sec again to minimise risk.

Bigtoes

I hate liver but my MIL ask me to eat more livers after giving birth. I like to eat beef too, either sirloin steak or beef noodles. Yummy~

Bigtoes,
I am same like u, till now still can eat very well and no MS. I see one colleague who is preggie abt same time as me vomit until very chia lak.

BTW, are u using any lancome/clarins facial pdts ? I'm still using whitening Lancome/Clarins products which i presume should be fine right ? BTW, i think i've read on a pregnancy book that sunblock is still a necessity during pregnancy . Pls correct me if i'm wrong. Cos i am still using sunblock daily.

Jasmine,
I think it's ok to eat pig liver, cos my gynae also asked me to take liver as i am slightly anaemic. So i told him that i've read that liver is high in vit A. He said that so long as not eaten raw, it's ok.

Jasmine: what I meant was liver from beef, chicken, pork, not the meat itself.

Read this article to find out more:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_vitamin-a-why-you-shouldnt-get-too-much_675.bc?page=2&articleId=675

Limay: My gynae tracked the size of the baby and the EDD date just appeared. It's so amazing. And according to my LMP, my EDD was supposed to be 6 Sep. But she was able to see that my baby was made on a 30 days cycle, not my usual 28 days. So amazing! As for weight gain, aim for 10-12kg is healthy for us and baby. =)

hi millie, yes sunblock is essential for preggies, we tend to get blemishes and freckles easier! so avoid the sun if possible, or use a brolly.

facial pdt is fine, just avoid AHA, coz our skin will be sensitive now. and no hair dyeing or hair trmt(steaming) for now..

we will also get dark patches over our body, some under armpits, some above the mouth, some around the neck...etc i forgot the term for this, but it's normal during preg. so dun hv to worry..

Jamine, i dun really like pig's liver, but it's got rice wine, i dun mind! =P i had more than 11bottles of rice wine and 2 DOM during my first confinement! hehehe...

think i will place order for my rice wine around June. beta to ferment the glutinous rice earlier so tat the taste will be strong n solid. my supplier really makes good rice wine, my mom also likes to cook rice wine chkn occasionally. yummy..

Ruixiangmom (ruixiangsmom) - I am not 100% decided on a C-section, just that the thought of going thru natural birth is quite unnerving! Of cos, I would speak with my gyne and weigh the pros & cons first (I do know that natural birth is always best for the baby)...but my logic is that since i already have a small scar after my fibroid removal, I can just do the C-section cutting the same spot!

Also not keen on getting the 'down there' opening cut wider to allow for the baby to emerge. Doesn't that lessen sensation thereafter? I guess c-section is like the easier way out for scardie cats like me!

Hi Bigtoes ,

Me first C-sect as baby breech . Second one is natural . Given a choice go for natural as recovery is faster than C-sect . There is no lessen sensation thereafter , think it's depend on gynea skills ...

wingkei, you can tell your hb kkh is definitely not cheap if you want to specify your gynae. i delivered there 8 months ago and my gynae is the senior consultant there and it cost me close to $5k.

but, if one doesn't mind a 16 bedders and have a MO for delivery. i think there is some savings to be enjoyed but definitely not as cheap as $600... unless the family qualifies for financial assistance.

so cheer up k? you're doing what's best for your bb and that's most important

Bigtoes
A&E is right. even with a large cut down there (mine was all the way round to the back), a good gynae will stitch properly and there is no or very little pain. I was walking around the day after birth and didn't really need painkillers.

You can also do tummy wrap quickly if natural birth which brings down tummy faster, i understand C-section cannot do the wrap (or at least not as soon)

bigtoes, agree with A&E that the sensation will be the same before and after delivery if that's your concern

C-sect heals a lot slower though there is less pain throughout the delivery. Breastfeeding may prove to be challenging after a C-sect in my personal opinion...

jasmine, actually its gd to eat livers during confinement as its supposed to "replenish" the blood count. Alternatively, black fungus is oso gd for "bu xue".

During my last confinement, i ate lotsa livers & black fungus as I have low blood pressure just 2 play safe.

Millie, is it ok to eat livers semi raw? cos during CNY steamboat dinner, I had livers (about 90% cooked)..

Aloevera, i oso like livers cooked in rice wine, esp wif lotsa ginger...

Bigtoes,
actually v-birth doesn't really affect the sensation or watsoever as long as the doc did a gd job in stitching up...

As for steak lovers, do u req for well done now tat u preggie? I also req for semi-well all along..is it ok huh?

Hi A&E,

You had a VBAC? Can I know how far apart are your pregnancies? My Dr said I could possible go for VBAC, but he lightlighted so many risks, that I got scared!

hippie, ya, lotsa gingers work for me too! hahaha... b4 preggie, my mom still will add some martell! shiok dao.... =P

oh abt the steak hor, we cant touch raw food anymore, not even 10% raw.. coz the bacteria is not totally killed thru cooking process, so there is high risk of passing the bacteria to our BB thru digestion of food.

personally, i kenna once from not totally cooked prawn mee soup, the prawns is the culprit. i was down for 2 days, gynae did a blood test and found my blood also infected. had to be on medication for weeks... so i dun dare to play play this time round liao! dowan to let my little one suffer with me...not worth it.

HI Jasmine, yes, taking duphaston from DR Woody, taking three tablets now. I have been taking this from 5th week already. Hopefully spotting will go off after 1st trimester. Being preggie is really not easy, I always thought I will enjoy my pregnancy but seem like very worried about the whole pregnancy. Mummy is really great!

I hope to have natural birth as it heals faster but really don't know if I can "tahan" or not... Kekeke..

Storeberry
Take epidural then dont need to tahan so much...if you are not hung up over drug-free birth, then dont b hero like me!

I had a really long labour (shall not scare 1st time mums-to-be here, but let's just say it's longer than anyone's I know) cos I resisted pain drugs and body was fighting my pain so dilation slowed down!!

Thanks ladies on your comments on C-section vs. natural. If i do go for natural, i willl definitely ask for an epidural, no where as brave as u Ava!

I guess I am leaning towards C-section also cos I recovered very smoothly from my surgery for the fibroid removal last year. The cut was about 8cm (think C-section is 10cm? so about the same), & I was in no pain after surgery, even without painkillers on the day of surgery. Just abit sore when I sneezed or cough, but otherwise okie, & didn't end up with scar/keloid, but a small faint line.

Ultimately, I guess alot depends on the gyne's skills & how your body recovers...

I am new here. I dunno either week 6 or week 7 i am now but on mon during gynae visit i can see my bb heartbeat. can anyone advice? Thanks

Hi Ruixiangmom ,

First C-sect in July 02 and natural delivery in June 05 . Intially when my gynea told me that I can go for natural for my second preg , everyone around me was telling me not possible , first C-sect then subsequent should be C-sect . Then when I checked with my gynea what is the chance of success of natural and was told 70 - 80% and so I think ok can try for natural then . Then later , I found out my hairstylist also first C-sect and 2nd natural , think hers was 2 years apart and so that's boost up my confident level and trust my gynea that I can go for natural for my second preg and really I did it and baby was 3.5kg but of course I took epidural and really help and don't feel the labour pain at all .

Today is the day to eat yusheng!
Anyone here gg to 'cheat' a bit and have a little little bit of sashimi?

Me wondering if I should... cos i love it so much...

hynobirth?
sounds beri abstract lo..

i am definately going for epidural.. cos i cannot even tahan menses cramp..

i think i will haf enuff pain to suffer after the post-delivery.. tink tat shld substitute for the 'lost' pain from epidural :p

goldfish
hypnobirthing is not abstract at all.
It is very good! It was ok for my first birth. Helped to "reprogramme" my mindset so I really din think of it as painful... Just felt v intense.

storeberry & jasmine, now i also take duphaston 3 times a day. this morning still can see a bit red when i wipe...dunno when it will go away...btw, duphaston is not included in the package right ? i have to pay $50 for 2 box.

lim, u seeing dr woody at CCK clinic ? u can see a bit of bb during last scan or not ? or only a water sac thru v scan ? my last visit, dr woody did the tummy scan only and he say can see a bit of bb but no heartbeat yet. then monday scan thru vaginal, he say cannot see bb liao...

hi chris, welcome u. since gynae say can see bb heartbeat, then u shd be around 7 weeks already. congrats !

thanks Shazz & Ava !

Porky

Yup, duphaston is not included in the package. Each time i visit have to purchase 2 boxes and is $50 lorhz. I started eating it when i first see Dr Woody.

Hi MTB!!

Have been MIA for a while due to my condition....

Was having spotting the last few weeks and was hospitalise as well but thankfully bb is still growing strong and heartbeat was seen in my 5th week.... was a terrible few weeks but glad i got thru it.

I'm having on and off pain around my pelvic area, anyone experiencing this?? I'm approaching my 8th week this weekend...

Hi Cynthia,
Glad that everything is ok for you... take care and rest a lot... I am also experiencing on and off pain around my pelvic area... I wonder why as well... I started feeling it around 7-8th week... seem to have gone by the 9th week... I should be in my 10th week now...

I sometimes do have some pain in my tummy as well as I have a cyst there which generally (hopefully) will start to disappear after first trimester else have to get it out... for some reasons, I have especially aching neck and shoulder since I got pregnant... and it is getting worse... not sure how to get rid of that pain?

jasmine, u also having spotting now ? how long have u been on duphaston ? does ur spotting ever stops ? this is the first time i am taking duphaston..but seems like the spotting did not stop even after consume 2 tablets 3 times a day. when dr woody did the v scan for me on monday, i was still bleeding...now only a bit but did not stop completely. i was very worried. if the spotting continues like this, i very scard my bb will b lost....

Porky, nope im not having spotting. *touch wood* dr woody say is like an tai medicine. I guess most of them have to take it bahz. Everything is fine with me. =) I only take 1 tables 3 times a day. Don't walk too much and rest well. Don't keep thinking as it will affect bb. Don't worry god will bless you.

Hi Ying Ling,

I'm also getting those aches on the neck and shoulders... Wonder if I can go for those pre-natal massage now??

I'm seeing my gynae this Sat, will check with him if the pain is common....

jasmine, so sorry...cos i thot only spotting needs to consume duphaston. Dr woody did not ask me to take this pills before only when he knows that i have spotting on monday. anyway, glad that u & bb is healthy. enjoy ur pregnancy ya !

hi isabelle, i've been looking at the fourtrimesters website and thinking about taking up the hypnobirthing too! but whether we can go natural depends on bb's size too, right? do you know when the doc will be able to advise us on that? i'm worried that after going for the hypnobirthing classes, doc tells me bb is too big for natural delivery!

hi porky, glad to hear your spotting is tapering off. try to confine yourself to bed as much as you can. when you shower, bring a plastic chair in to sit on and just do a quick one, then dry yourself and go back to lie down. lying on your left side helps to improve blood flow to the uterus so do try to do that for these few days. press on okay.

hi cynthia, is your pain near the bladder or is it elsewhere? i sometimes wake up with this pain cos of my full bladder. every time i come back from the doc, i will also get cramps which i think are caused by the vaginal scan. are you still on duphaston now?

Hi Xuanting, the pain on and off is near the bladder but there are times it's at the side near the pelvic... I'm on Dydrogesterone and Progynova currently.

Hi Jasmine,

Yes, I have been taking milk everyday. Last time during my first pregnancy, I drink milk like drinking water! If you don't like Annum, you can take other milk also, like Meiji, or even flavoured milk. Because I have been feeling nauseous, taking chocolate Meiji milk sometimes help.