(2008/09) Sep 2008

yingling,

no i won't. Look at my hubby. The axa one was such a good deal but he still dun want. He sure won't buy this one. My insurance agent kept pushing for it too cos she had a client who bought it and had 2 kids under it. Claimed back much more than she paid. Now i regret din buy axa... think he also regret but too late. Dun care, he can go and settle all my bills now... haha

MTB - I just came back earlier from my 1st pre-natal gyne checkup! Turns out that my baby is already 9 weeks & 5 days; my EDD is now 10th Sept (1 week earlier than I expected)!

Saw the baby's heartbeat & its body 'swaying' to & fro, quite cute! It is already almost 3cm in length. Anyway, my gyne printed out the ultrascan photos & the photos are here:http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=14373&id=650743986

On the package pricing from Dr WK Tan's(TMC) for reference:
1)$180 for today's consultation fees & ultrascan
2)About $300+$150 for OSCAR & blood test (week 12)
3) Fees for further scheduled consultation & delivery $2675
4) Other unscheduled consultation $60/visit
Doesn't include: GST, lab test, medicine, ultrasound scans, post natal check up, paediatrician, anaesthetic for epidural/general anaesthesia, operating theatre usage, hospital bills etc.
The TMC room rates are $518/night for a deluxe room & $50 for nursery.

I've been trying very hard to keep my spirits up but it's very difficult. I heard that being sad and pessimistic all the time is not good for the baby. I'm so angry and upset at my HB. What's wrong with wanting the best for myself and my baby, not to mention that this is our first child. I chose a private clinic to go to and want to deliver at Mount A. But now he heard from his friend that when she delivered at KKH, it only costs her $600. How can that be? His friend didn't even visit a gynae until towards the end of her pregnancy.

Earlier on, I had called KKH to enquire on their charges and I found that they are more expensive than the charges by the private clinic I chose. I guess this is because I specify the gynae that I want who also happens to be the HOD. He actually doesn't believe me now that the charges in KKH are so expensive.

I'm really angry and upset. It's not as if we can't afford the private clinic charges. And what's wrong with wanting the best for our first born? I really feel like giving up and let him choose any oh-how doctor since he doesn't seem to bother so why should I?

Every night, I would cry myself to sleep. I'm so worried that it would not be good for my baby, but I can't help it.
Every time I read all your posts, I'm so envious, your HBs are all so supportive. Even till now, I still feel like I'm alone in this.

winglei... dun compromise on just any gynae... actually u shd do a search on gynaes available that is near to where u are staying, so u can actually save quite abit on travelling exp if there is any emergency. Prob becos yr hubby is not aware of the current charges of KKH and privates... actually KKh is not cheaper lor. Perhaps u can get someone who jus given birth to talk to yr hubby so he can have a better idea. cos its usualli the case, when i talk to my hubby on something, he dun believe lor, but when someone else whom he thinks is trustworthy or had similar experience talk to him, he is more willing to accept what that frd says...
Hmm... sometimes we only post the good side of our hubby lor... those v v v angry ones hor, too long and too boring for you all the read lor, so i didnt post... I am sure yr hubby got his sweet n loving side right? You dun be sad k... when i feel miserable, i watch tv programs... or better still u watch comedies from U tube ... v funny de.

wingkei, dun be sad... has your hubby ever accompanied you to the gynae? Sometimes it helps when he has seen the little one in your tummy... first time daddys take some time to feel something for the little one in your tummy... and what Mrs Yap says is correct, you will have to get someone your hubby trusts to talk to him... or verify with his friend who only spent S$600 on exactly what he had been doing... maybe the S$600 is only the cash he has to pay after minus CPF? try to narrow the gap between his friend's statement and the $$ you will be spending... maybe you could explain to him that getting any gynae will create a lot of discomfort for you and his stitches might not be good and it will take a longer time to recover and cause even more discomfort for you and maybe even cause post-natal blues which in the end you have to spend more money? Try to get him to see that it is worth it spending that little bit more money in order not to spend a lot more in the future... some form of insurance?? not sure if it will work on your hubby...

meantime, take care... dun worry too much... are you working or he is the one paying the bills?

Mrs Yap, thanks for the reassuring words. Actually, this gynae that I am currently visiting is very near to my place, about 10-15min by cab, or 20min by bus if there is no jam. How much nearer can you ask for, right?

It is precisely his friend who had just given birth in KKH last year who told him she only spent $600 giving birth. His friend only used an MO and not even a gynae until like the last stage of her pregnancy, so of course it is cheap. And I still don't believe that she only spent $600 for everything, unless of course, after deduction by Medisave. I told him to call up KKH himself but he didn't want to.

I try to watch shows on the Internet to cheer myself up, but he complains that I watch too much shows.

Thanks Ying Ling. I'm also working, both of us take turns paying the bills. I really felt like telling him sometimes that I will settle the bills myself since he seems to be so unwilling to pay more for a good gynae. But I know I can't afford to pay all, his salary is also much higher than mine. I know this sounds calculative but I'm also reluctant to pay for all since he has a share in the baby too, and if I really pay for all the bills, I know I will only be adding stress to myself. I'm already taking tutions to supplement my income, it's very tough. Imagine having to run to the toilet often to vomit while giving tuitions.

He has accompanied me to the gynae but cos I dragged him to. He often tells me that I can go alone myself, he doesn't need to go as well.

Hi ladies, so far I am in my 10weeks but have not done any blood tests, usually by what weeks do we need to do that?

Wingkei, probably you can find out the charges from KK webby & show it to your hubby? My sis went to KKH at 1st but like what you said it is only cheaper if u get refer by polyclinic & you cannot choose your gynae, so pratically you are seeing different doctor everytime which might not be gd. Maybe get him to go a few more times, once he see the formation of your baby he will be more into it cos now still can't see anything rite? Take care & all will be good yah?
1243067.gif

Bigtoes, congrats, so excited to see bb swaying away right? Kekeke

bigtoes, congrats! your bb looks quite big already! when is your next appt?

hi wingkei, i hope you're feeling better after hearing from some of the others here. i think $ shouldn't be the main factor in considering your choice of hospital; pte doesn't necessarily mean better either. i would suggest that you get your hubby to spend some time reading through some of the threads here with you (the ones on hosp bills and service levels) then mull over it before you decide. we've still got several months to do that. it's impt that you stay cheerful now cos your mood will affect how susceptible to stress bb is when he/she grows up. take care ok.
, don't

jia you, wingkei!

Debtan,

Don't worry. If you're having low placenta, there's nothing you can do about it. According to my gynae, the placenta may move up as you progress in your pregnancy.

But do be careful not to walk too much, and no intercourse.

I had a low placenta in my 1st pregnancy. I didn't know it was due to low placenta, and had very bad pain, once, for a few hours. It was so painful that I cried. But my husband didn't understand how painful it was, and asked if I wanted to go A&E. I didn't want, and the next day, I was ok. I asked my gynae, and she said that was contractions. She told me to see her immediately if I ever encounter that at any point of my pregnancy then.

As the placenta didn't move up, I had c-section. There was no choice, I had GA. C-section was a breeze, but recovery was longer. But don't worry, I could breastfeed laying down on the bed. Its important you get help in the 1st month. But I believe recovery vary from person to person. I couldn't bend in the 1st week, so my mum had to help me splash water on my body while I bathe.

This is my 2nd pregnancy, and my gynae said that my placenta is right up, so I should be ok for this pregnancy.

hi wingkei,

sorry to hear about your distress... dun be sad.
think some hospital websites show their maternity charges online. Mebbe u can print out and show him for comparison since he doesn't want to call. But better to present it to him nicely otherwise he might not even want to look out of spite.
If u dun mind n ur hubby concerned abt cost, mebbe u can also tell him u dun need to stay one bedded at Mt A. Four bedded also can. I dunno if Mt A got 6 bedded though...

hi wingkei,

Actually there's no need to feel distress & sad rite now. Its nothing wrong to want the best for ur firstborn but its gd to do research on the gynaes & hospitals b4 deciding. Like wat xuanting mentioned, private doesn't mean better.

I think wats most impt is the doc u choose, not the hosp itself. The doc must be patient, knowledgeable & helpful...most impt, skillful & experienced in delivery.

For me I always have the perception that I must choose pte cos a few frens rec TMC. But then once I'm preggie, my sis & aunt intro their gynae to me at KKH who happened to be very gd & popular & who oso happened to be the head of IVF. So i just went ahead wif their rec..

Maybe u can oso check wif ur frens who had given birth too so as to know more about everything.

I guess with the cost of living going up now, ur hubby is worried abt the costs too..

Do have a nice talk with him, dun bottle up ur feelings yeah..

wingkei - everyone here is right. Don't get too stressed up okie, no good for your baby also, esp during the 1st trimester! Take care & the ladies here in the forum can provide moral support.

xuanting (xuanting) - yes, our baby is quite big for 9 weeks 5 days. I was looking thru the progress from the Pregnancy Calendar site (http://www.justmommies.com/pregnancy_calendar.php)- very useful to print out if u haven't - and I think my baby is about 1 week faster than what is listed in that site.

Anyway, realised that my photos cannot be seen on Facebook without at account, so I have loaded these up into my multiply photo site: http://bigfattoes.multiply.com/photos/album/117/Our_1st_baby_photos_at_9_weeks_5_days

wingkei,
please dun be sad, it could affect ur baby inside.

maybe u wanna to ask your gynea for advice on pricing on your next visit. MUST ask ur hubby along so that he listen to what the doc say.

another thingy is maybe get him to go down to KKH with you and ask the nurse there for pricing lor.

or ask ur inlaw/hubby sibiling to talk to him ?
actually can use medisave, so cash out front on delivery is about $800 - $1K for normal delivery and $1 - $2K for c-section.
if really no choice, i suggest u tell ur hubby he pay for prenatal checkup, and u pay for delivery lor.

But this is only beginning ler, after bb born still alot of thingys need $$$. so i think is better to get someone totalk to him

limay,
wah u look pretty ler keke

so our bb will have a "bb shape" by 9weeks plus.
heehee, looking forward to my next visit where my bb shld be 9weeks plus then

Good Morning, Everyone...

Hi, Bigtoes

Great to see your posting.. very excited and amazing right?

Hi, Wingkei

Dun feel sad..and dun cry too much, it might affect the baby.. think of the new life in your body and be happy.. KK is more expensive, maybe bec of the equipment over there cos complication cases are handled over at KK..

Hi Goldfish,

Yup, I am still exercising. In fact, I started exercising more regularly after I learnt that i am pregnant. Nothing v strenuous, just 10 laps in the pool, trying to do that 2 times a week. Last time I heeded my friend's advise and did not exercise during my first pregnancy due to fear of MC, but, I kinda regretted it cos I become so unfit! So now, am trying to maintain some form of exercise.

Hi Wing Kei,

The Clarins tonic oil is 100% natural plant extracts and aroma essential oil. So far, my son doesn't seem to have been affected in any way by me applying it on the tummy during my pregnancy.
My friends all say he's more advance than his age...can apply during and after pregnancy. After pregnancy is for toning purpose. Don't worry too much, it's really ok.

Clarins oil shld be pregnancy safe as it only contains 100% plants extract. There is no other unnatural component. I did ask my gynea whether issit safe or not and he told me he will advice me to use his recommended cream which is just a moisturizer nia lo!

Bt on the other hand, my massage lady told me Clarins oil is not that effective from what she observed. She recommend cocco butter cream.. So, at the end of the day, I dunno what is good and bad cream liao. So LUAN!!

I may be able to get half price for Clarins oil bt dunno my ex-colleague still wanna to get for me or not lo.

Wingkei, I have read ur postings. I always have this mentality that some guys out there just cannot make it (at times). I agree with Mrs Yap that no –ve postings on hubby on this forum does nto means that all hubbies out there are lovey dovey to us. There are occasions that my hubby oso make me fuming mad. He offered no help to help me to mop the floor and hang the clothes on day 4 of CNY. In fact, he just went out with his friends lo! Haha. We woman got to learn to be Ah-Q at times liao lo. For ur case, it can be ‘quite’ challenging as he is being ‘brainwashed’ that KKH is the best since it is cheap.

Man (not all lah) believed their friends’ word more than anyone else one lo. Sometimes I tell a certain ting to my hubby he dun believe it until he hear it from another personal friend of his. Si bei chao kuan one lo. But the bottom line is, guys are beri factual one. So like what other forummers suggest, u gather all the market survey and show him the facts and telephone number for him to verify for respective hospital.

Frankly, I have reservations for KKH actually. I heard bad reviews on the service rendered by the nurses and doctors. I have a friend’s friend wife who was delivered there and while waiting for delivery, there is a grp of intern doctors went in and out to look at her progress cos they are learning on-the-job! OMG!

But dunno issit exaggerating or not lo… bt I heard more than 1 reviews that KKH is not highly recommended lo (just my personal view lah)

Morning !!

Hi Limay : Saw ur facebook pics, u're gonna b one pretty sexy mummy !

Hi Wingkei : I believe the $600 ur hubby is talking abt is aft medisave deduction. For me I delivered at Mt A previously and I only paid $800 cash after deducting CPF & antenatal rebate of $450 for my C-sec , 4 bedded.
KKH is not cheap unless mummies go by referral by polyclinic which means the appts wont be as regular as private like once a month. Moreover to save $$ gotta stay C-class that is non-air con !! Y make ourselves suffer when giving birth not easy task liao rite ?

Agree with Goldfish that I personally wont wanna go KKH. hee...

Thank you so much for all your kind thoughts and suggestions. I know it's because of the hormones that I get easily irritated now, and I can't seem to talk to my HB nicely as well. I get upset very easily.

All the friends and relatives I know who just gave birth did so at Mount A. It was only this particular friend of my HB's who gave birth at KKH. But yeah, it could be true that she saw a different doctor each time she was there.

I also have recommendations for gynae at KKH, and like hippie says, she's also one of the best and HOD so of course, her charges are high too. I chose my present gynae as she is really near me and I'm very comfortable with her and I have read posts on her in the forum and all are positive.

It seems to me that my HB is more concerned with the cost than getting a good gynae for me.

Hi wingkei & all,

Pardon me if i'm wrong or suaku yeah.

For KKH: i tot the gynae consultation charges are the same no matter wat doc u choose (senior or junior)?

No, hippie, I've also called KKH up to ask. For senior doctors, the first consultation is $83. The subsequent ones will be cheaper. But for junior doctors, it's cheaper than that, I can't remember exactly how much though, think about $60.

good day mommies,
regarding stretch marks, i didnt get it during my first preg, and hopefully it remains for this second one. actually, it's in our genes if our skin is good or "bad".

alot of mommy frenz spent tons on top brand lotion or cream, but yet they still got the stretch marks.. while some didnt even apply anything and have nice smooth tummy thru out.

my advice is dun waste money un-necessarily... i rather save it for my NB's shampoo and bath cleanser. i used watever cream i can find at home and just rub abit on my tummy, hip, back...etc.

i'm entering into my 9th week tmr! really CANT wait for MS to be over!!! i'm planning a break with my family at Perth in April, so i really wish i can enjoy myself then.

Oic...thks wingkei & babyatom 4 the clarifications...

And pardon my suaku-ness yeah as this is the 1st time i'm givin birth in SG... :p

Aloevera: I am also only applying normal moisturiser, didn't get stretchmark cream, using whatever I have at home now... I am in my 10weeks now, I also can;t wait for MS to be over!! But yesterday still vomit twice... Haiz...

Still resting at homw, I think I am going to be a couch potato liao...

Lim (xuanmommy) - thanks! Yah, looks baby shaped, but the head is the same size as the rest of the body now!

LC (faintz) - yes, its exciting to see the baby in the ultrasound scan...at least i feel more pregnant now

wingkei (wingkei) - it will get better. Weeks 10-12 are suppose to be the worse, when the MTB is at their most emotional, so don't get too worked up okie...I am sure your hubby will turn around & be more supportive!

BabyAtom (babyatom) - thanks
Am already gaining weight (+1.5kg, when my gyne said most MTBs lose weight in the 1st trimester), not sure how pretty & sexy i will be when i end up like a whale!

storeberry, glad to hear that everything is fine and ur bb is moving around. did dr woody say anything about the flow of blood suddenly ??

yesterday night i also got a shock of my life. first time i saw red spotting on my pantyliner after taking dinner. so i sms dr woody and ask him what i should do. immediately he call me on my hp and ask me to go down CCK clinic to see him. then we rush all the way from Punggol to CCK. he is really very kind. he keep calling me on my hp and make sure that i found my way there cos i never see him at CCK clinic before. once i reached the clinic, his nurse registered me and in less then 15 mins he ask me in already. he did the v scan for me and guess what...he told me cant see my bb already....only can see the sac...he gave me 1 week mc and go back to see him again on this friday. now also on hormones pills....pls keep me in ur prayers alto i am not christian. hopes everything will turns out well this friday. we have already prepared for the worst...

fsa, my gynae did not mentioned anything like delayed development. he say is wrong calculation of the dates.

porky, hope your baby is fine. i'm still worried abt mine.

wingtei,
may i know who's the gynae u recommended? is it tan kim teng???

all mummies
be careful when moving around yah?
Cos two weeks ago i din feel well and dunno how i actually fell down on my bum... at first ok then had slight cramps. So be very very careful...

all mummies

do u all look at the ingredient or choose foods to eat? I eat everything except for cooling stuffs.

porky
hav a good rest and stay positive.

Porky - take care okie!
Jasmine (piggy_jas)- initially, i was more wary, but now i don't really care. Have been eating everything (except no alcohol and caffaine). I guess moderation should be fine

Btw, want to ask MTBs - have you all booked your confinement nanny already? I thought I could wait another few months, but my sister just told me to book mine like now! Will most probably just get the same one both my sisters hired. What is the going rate per month now? S$2000? She recommended booking the nanny for 6-8 weeks.

Hi Porky : Do rest well at home. Take care..

Hi Limay : $2000 is for 28 days confinement. Will be $4k if u book for 8 weeks ! u wanna do so long confinement meh ? will die man ! :p

Hi Jasmine : I dont really observe my diet ley, cos of MS not much appetiate whatever that I can swallow, i eat. Normally for dinner i eat sparingly like campbell soup n pizza which i know is not very nutritious lor but bopian ley, rice n other meat turns me off during dinner time...

Im going for my 1st appt tomorrow afternoon ! shall update u mummies when i come back work on Thur !

BabyAtom (babyatom)- my sis said last time, she got this confinement nanny for 6 or 8 weeks, coz 4 weeks just passes by so fast.
Of cos, won't be cooped up in the house for that long, i think i would die of boredom or go mad! My family is not traditional, so I would want to go out as soon as I feel healthy enough, but just nice to have someone else around to take care of the baby & mommy...didn't know the confinement nanny fees are so expensive already & have to book so early!

Meanwhile, update us on your baby when u are back! Make sure u see the blinking heartbeat

thanks bigtoes and babyatom

For myself, i never lose appetite but sometimes craving for this and that. Recently always take mac. =p Too many junk foods = FATS!!! =(

Hee Jasmine I also told quite a number of Mac meals for the past month ...*blush*
I just dont take KFC, dunno y chicken turns me off nowadays, used to be my fav !

Porky, shall keep you and your baby in prayers! trust that God has both of you covered, meanwhile pls rest well, and take very good care of usrself. continue to eat well, and take your vitamins n folic acid as usual.

blessings....

baby atom
me also can't stand chicken now. Dunno why. Can't take chicken rice anymore altho i used to love it.

anyone here can't tahan the smell of soup cooking?

me now mostly no appetiate. the moment i think of eating, i feel like puke

unlike my #1, i didnt feel anything.

my colleague also eat alot of MAC, almost everyday i saw her take McChicken meal at 5pm heehee

btw, anyone havent see the "bb" yet ?
me 7wks, only see SAC and 1 dot..at 0.9cm
Gynea say 2weeks later shld see "bb"..
very worry after seeing porky news..

hi porky, please rest and don't move around these few days. take care and press on ok.

hi xuanmommy, it's hard for us (or even our docs) to get the dates correct in the early stages cos few of us really have the standard cycle; you may think you're already 7wks but you could actually be 6 or thereabouts only. and if you're feeling pukey, it's good news! i hope you'll see your bb and its strong heartbeat at your next appt.

tok abt cravings, my appetite actually improving now..

Can eat almost anything but can't really stand the smell of heavy cooking around. Been drinking lotsa of iced water, esp. iced ribena too. Heard its not gd to drink so much icy stuff, is it true?

The strange thing is that whenever i feel hungry, i feel nausea... so i must eat to fill my stomach so that the nausea feeling goes away. Isn't tat strange?

thanks everyone for the blessing. i dunno why this pregnancy is so complicated. 1st gynae say is empty sac at 7 weeks. then 2nd gynae say is wrong calculation of dates. only 5 weeks and can see little bit of bb. after last nite bleeding, cannot see bb anymore....this has really makes us so worrying and stress...today went to pray Zhu Sheng Niang Niang and hopes that she can protect our bb smoothly for the rest of the months. Dr woody told us not to worry too much but he will tell me the final result on friday...i was shivering when he tell me this....

xuanmommy, u 7 weeks now ? who is ur gynae? at least can see 0.9cm of the fetus should be fine already. when is ur next scan ? if 2 weeks later then can see bb grow quite fast. take care too !

fsa, so when u go for next scanning ? 5 weeks cannot see much of the fetus. just wait patiently. rest well.

Hi Porky, Dr Woody said that because now is still unstable that's why have blood clot, I also not sure.... He said that it will not affect baby & it will go away soon. I am still spotting now, taking 3 hormone tablets now...

Take good care of yourself & think positive thoughts. Know its difficult but still... I will keep you in my prayers.
So you are seeing Dr Woody on fri again?

Isabelle: Take care of yourself!! Falling is no play play... Must really walk slow slow & carefully..
Today vomit my dinner again, super irritating!