(2008/08) Aug 2008

M2B
i think im going to be in the same situation as u soon...cuz kaer will be going to new kindy next yr too...i was testing her a few days ago...telling her about her new school..new teachers...n she looked so sad..and said, 'i want teacher lay hoon', who is her current cc teacher...
..i also dunno how to handle when she goes off to new sch next yr..will u be allowed to be with her the entire session for the first day? or have to just leave them in sch? kaer will be on bus transport, but i was thinking, first day i will bring her to and from sch..then seond day, i let her take sch bus, but fetch her back myself..same for third day..and after that,she's on her own...dunno if she can cope..sigh..

opps, i might hv something on on 26th dec...

anybody wants to take over 2A+1C?? let me know..

snow, dun worry, i will still pay even if i no goin last min~~ thanks!

yln,
you check with the bus transport if you can follow kaer take school bus for the first day. be with her and tell her that she needs to follow that uncle or auntie to school everyday next time. then you can also see how they handle children on the bus and knows her bus journey is from where to where and how long it takes. then 2nd day, follow her on school bus again in the morning but let her come back on her own that evenng. 3rd day then you can let her go on her own liao.

celyn
i think quite hard to follow bus cuz they pick up all the kiddos in my estate..wonder if got extra seat..but ur suggestion makes sense..i will have to check with the bus company...

shopaholicmanic,
i got a apr baby girl.

yln,
i think they will allow if you request. yu ze's school bus also go round to pick up kids before going to cc. he is the first few to board the bus.

celyn, yln,
Last time #1 was taking the school bus after i delivered #2 - the journey took almost an hour from pick up to arrival cos they have so many kids to pick. After a while they get used to it ... but of course if there's other alternatives, then should consider short alternatives.

I used to take it with him during my off term time and it's not a short journey lo. So depends on if u're the first ones or the last ones.

CC
A colleague was telling me that he sends his son to PAP CC , any comments ah?

Personally I dun have good impression of it lo ... anyone sends your kiddo to PAP ones? how's the review.

shint,
yah. if we go on our own, its about 15 mins bah. take bus in the morning about 25mins and coming back about 40mins.

still got pap cc meh? is it pcf? i think there are good one around too but don't ask me cos i never survey them. :p

morning mummies. =)

m2b
dun worry about mae lah, this is just part of their stage.

shint
PAP CC?
i only sent #1 to pcf, she has been doing fine ah...but think that depend on diff centers.
what are the areas they left u a bad impression on?

Shint, Jac will b joining PCF N1 class coming Jan too. Like wat celyn mention there are some premium ones around. I even ve to go as early as 6+am to q for registration which onli start at 8am when I reached, there was already a q of 10+ people liao.

Good Morning Mommies!
Misses the gals after a week of SAHM-hood...they were sleeping when I left for work...
No mood to work leh...thinking aldy counting down to our holiday heehee

Nana & Snow,
Thanks! Ya, it is part and parcel of growing up so I just hope Mae will have a smoother transition =) For #1, no prob coz she changes from full-day cc to just 3hrs nursery so it was a better change for her I guess haha

YLN,
Actually parents are allowed to sit in the class for the 1st week but I'm thinking if we sit in, will the kids want to be alone the next week? Not very feasible lor so I'm thinking to sit in with her on 1st day nia and 2nd day onwards, get my dad to bring liao...my dad bring no prob, I bring she's real clingy lor...

M2B
yes, kaer will be like ur #1 situation, moving from full day cc to 3 hr nursery...i guess maybe then it might be easier for her..but yes, i think i might go with her on the bus on the first day(if there is space)..n if sch allow me to sit in class, i will..but 2nd onwards..i will let her go on the bus on her own and stay in class on her own too...*cross fingers and toes*...

YLN,
Then it would be easier for Kaer to adapt since now it is shorter period...ya, let's cross fingers and toes that the gals can adapt easily...it hurts to see them in tears lor...

m2b
ur #1 should have no problem de lah, she like more mature kind ya? =)

rata
ya, #1 also almost cannot get into the pcf.
i really dunno what pcf lack off leh, but think so far they have been teaching age appropriate things lah.
most important thing is, most off the classmates surprisingly quite well behave de leh. =P

Personally, I m fine as long the kid's ok at skool and the location is convenient for the parents/ care-givers. Curriculum should be about the same for the CCs ba.

I tot there's a difference between PCF n ntuc childcare but never do research on them.
I knew a former cc teacher who swears n smokes n not well trained to manage the kids. But she could be only one example.
And I know of another kid half singsporean n half indonesian who speaks singlish cos he picks up from children in the cc ...
So not good impression.

Colleague sending so I asking if they're good or have bad press.

But I agree there are good n bad ones. Those with long queues should be good ba

Mummynana,
Curriculum differs from centre to centre. Different schools different management.
My fren's son's school teaches spelling but my son's school dun.

Morning mummies.

Shint
My friend's son in reputable pte pre school also speaks singlish, think its more about how the family members comm.
I find speaking singlish very fun and its something unique to this country, but that doesn't stops me from speaking proper English in workplace when needed lor.
So, relax lah. ;)

shint

Maybe the world has changed?

I know teachers who smoke n challenge their students that they cant smoke now but after 18, they are free to smoke leh. plus some hv very terrible life as in ONS,etc.....

so I guess hv to see the sch and each individual teachers.

Snow

I think singlish or eng depends on the group and event/where u r? When need to speak gd eng in work, hv to do so. if frd ( casual), singlish is ok.

I do understand your concern. Met with ppl in biz world when their eng r ............singlish or dunno wat they try to correspond in email. wanna faintz.......

Sylvia
Ha ha..that dun only happen to singlish, most of the time I cannot understand email sent by working counterparts from the other countries also... >D
If u let those ang moh choose, they rather singlish ya?

InnoKidz @ Warehouse Sale

InnoKidz & Hollywood Movies now on sale!
DVDs from $4 and Blu-ray from $15! [29 Nov - 5 Dec (Mon-Fri), 10am - 8pm]

39 MacTaggart Road
Asia Media Centre
( near Mazda Macpherson showroom)

anyone going? Can lobang?
Hahaha!!

snow

from overseas, can understand coz eng nt their main com lang, so they might hv their own diff or they translate directly from their own mother tongue. but in sg, u have more ???? emails where they sometimes ask like ah beng. n imagine 2 pages of ah beng email, I became ah bang liao.

Hahaha!!

Good Morning Mommies!

Sylvia,
The sale sounds good but my workplace is at the other end =(((

Snow & Shint,
Haha, my gals speak singlish of lor, lah, liao, leh too! hahaha Mea will go "please lah, please lah" =P

I agree at workplace must speak and write proper English

sylvia
u reminded me of something...hmm...
actually singlish is not as bad as shorthand used by youngsters now a days, sometime i really dunno what my niece is trying to tell me leh.
ha ha...

m2b
same same, too far from the sale. =(

ha ha...zynn too, she always said "excuse me hor."

not only in workplace, during exam too ya? =P
both my hb and niece speak no lesser singlish as compared to me, but they got so gd grade for their eng during exam. -_-"

So tired. Haven't slept well for 2 nites... Was on leave ytd coz gotta look after Anvelle who has a fever. Anybody can advise me wat is the highest temp tt the cc can accept and wat temp is considered high fever? TIA.

Good Morning Mommies!

Snow,
Yaya, exams oso must be perfect english heehee

Nana,
Ya, I think 37.2 considered fever liao and cc will reject entry. Hope Anvelle gets well real soon!

m2b
ya lor....hee hee...when out of classroom, no matter eng or chn all return to teachers liao. >D

think quite a # of kiddos fall sick ya?
hope all of them recovers soon...my zynn also, ti gong bo bi she faster recover from cough so that i can get better sleep. =P

Snow, MTB,
It's inevitable that they will learn singlish but I will try to correct the kids n try to teach proper sentences if possible. Hopefully the school teacher will also be mindful of that else it becomes a habit then its difficult to undo.

Some , like your neice can multiple task the different languages n know when to use or not, some cannot or has
accepted to be correct.
I spoke to one china sales person that the chinese books she is selling has wrong English translation, she actually believed that it's correct n I was wrong. ShE said it's must be correct since it's printed n sold. The translation was directly translated from chinEse.

My boys do speak la, ah, already ... I try to remind them to speak proper English so long I hear it. My england also not that great either n I do speak singlish too.

My main point was, the school environment is impt since they spend so many hours there every day, whether singlish or the teachers way of handling them.

Thanks mummies! Think Anvelle has very high fever den. Moving between 37.8 to 39.36 degrees. Juz called the CC. She can go back to skool if temp is below 37.5. So like Snow said, "Ti Gong Po Pi Po Pi she gets well soon"

Re: Singlish
We had a new Filipino colleague who kept saying tt her colleagues speak Singlish, not English but den again, is pronouncing "Mdm" as "Mum" good English? Hahahhaa...

hi hi..

what's the topic on ?

re: singlish
it's not allowed in bernice's school. Teachers are not allowed and kids are corrected if they speak. i personally dont allow bernice to speak and i try to avoid that too.. so now when i say "lah" .. bernice will say " cannot say lah mummy"

re: fever
bernice Pd say about 38 then fever.

re: preggy
heard some mummy here preggy... ummm I dono who but congrats whoever you are

shint
understand....especially u are a teacher, got the pressure to be a gd role model also ya? =)

think u dun need to spend time urgue with that salesperson bah, cos maybe she herself also dunno the rite ans. -_-"

hee hee...my ans is, not all pcf are the same.
same ans applies, not all pte cc having the same school name have the same std.
so, best is goto that particular cc to find out lor.

mummynana
brought anvelle to see pd liao buay?
over 39degree leh. =(

Snow,
Yalor, everything return back to teachers liao LOL
Zynn better?
I very scared Mae will fall sick these few days or while we in Australia too...worries worries...still rbr she was running a fever when we went HKG last year =(

Snow & Shint,
I agree that individual cc centres etc have diff standards so best is to visit the centre and speak to the principal and teachers to gauge...but having said that, the educators moved ard very frequently too haha That time #1 in LV, she had new teachers so frequently until I lost track!

Cat,
Hehe, me cfm not preggy! =)
Haha, so far I never heard the gals' teachers speaking Singlish but we do! haha

M2b
That rat coughing whole nite, this mummy looks like panda liao.
U better prepare some flu med there then.

Ha ha..if u really wanna get an ans from me, I can only say speaking whatever lang wun make u a better person ya?

Not me too..ha ha..enjoy ur trip! ;)

snow, mine is down wif cough too. I hate it when they cough till vomit. took western medicine for 1 week dun seem to improve then i stop now giving her chinese medication. She is much better liao but still not yet fully recover.