(2008/08) Aug 2008

Krex,
Think if you don't get 2A2, then you'll go to 2B2 (provided you got the letter from your church)...else bye bye already since you're not moving nearby. Out of curiosity, what school is that? Cos I think most schools should be able to still get into 2A2.

Yuuri,
anyone can join, not necessary canon user. they conduct the course not base on the brand or model of camera.

Rona,
Dunno ley..will feel very self-conscious since mostly would be using canon. I was actually previously looking at Willy Foo's classes.
Anyway, now that you got your cam..it's about time you get on FB too!

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Got it!! Thanks babe

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
i look back at my wedding pix, i get so sad leh.. Jialat! Dunno to blame on metabolism rate or tt i'm not as disciplined with diet these days

Snow, Rona,
How do u all get your older kids to work on their weak areas ah?

I am now stil clueless on how to get Quan started to do proper drawing, writing. He's really weak at that.

Every nite after we reached home, eat dinner, watch 30 mins of TV, some toy time ... oredi 8+ going 9, where to find time to do other things?

After that I still have to read for Quan as poor Kai goes to sleep ... I feel bad that he dun get much of mama time and also this reading thing.

Now dun even know how to get Quan to start on his drawing/coloring/writing ...............
any good suggestion?

I tried to bring him to some trial enrichment class but when he came out, he says he dun wan to go wor ....

Wonder if there is any good materials which I can use to teach him myself ....

shint,
how old is Quan? My gal, 4yo very soon is still very bad with drawing too. Her coloring is still ok, writing for her age, i think ok (cos my DS1 is very bad with writing at 4, but his drawing and colouring was very good at 4). I think all the kids develope differently and at different timing. My #1 likes to draw and asked me to send him for drawing/arts class. i sent him to cc ones, cheap and good! But now with his heavy workload, i can't afford to let him go anymore... i felt sad about it, cos i think he was progressing very well!

Yuuri,
ok, if you feel uneasy, i will look out for a cc course. how?

Mrs Teng,
I got D500, wide lens and there was a longer range lens on sale so hb got that for me too. still learning to use the camera. I'm going for a product training this sat!

Rona

Wah! hubby so nice to you. kk.. go click click click, den open a FB account and upload the pictures for us to see babe!

morning mummies. =)

rona
if i dun exercise + eat alot hor, i gain weight i understand lor.
now is i exercise twice per wk liao still like that, think lipo also temp measure nia.
btw, lipo expensive rite? =P
and i agree with yuuri, u looks ok...dun look fat at all lah, dun worry.

krex
distance do play a part in any phases de, else u wun see so many ppl shifted just to let their kids get into gd school liao.

hisstory
but u definitely still looks ok, althought might not be as slim as wedding time lah.
think no one who just met me can imagine my waistline during wedding time is only 27"...ha ha...
its definitely metabolism rate that is the culprit, thats why we gotta go easy with food intake as we age. =(

shint
pardon me, but not all kids like to draw.
Quan might be best in doing other things instead?
can guide him starting from his interest, like how to draw/spell his fav cartoon/places.

i teaches nynn by singing song, "abc" and "monday tuesday..." songs.
found that when she got the logic and sequence into her brain, its easier for her to start remembering their spelling.

bring him to an enrichment center that he is more comfy with the env?
normally once they can accepted, they will continue better.
so before i sign up any courses, i'll bring nynn there 1st and make her promise she really like that center...hee hee...

i'm using flashcards to teach both my gals.
zynn is those alphabets, basic colors and shapes card.
nynn is those vocab card, after reading the words can guide her how to form into sentence.
i'll bring her to library to borrow some educational dvd to play at home also.

yuuri,

rosyth. i didn't even know it was a gd sch until ppl told me so. if can't get in maybe put him in holy innocents' sch. it doesn't have a very high ranking so i think shld be able to get in bah. anw, it's quite near my IL's place also.

rona,

is it a bad thing if kids can't draw/ colour well? i've never been good at art since young leh.

shint,

maybe quan will write better if u get him thomas the train writing books or a book which has his fav cartoon character :p

So sad hor? Women must work harder to maintain figure..

You bought flashcards for Zynn huh? I thought of getting, but Ashley sometimes snatches away fr me. Is tt meaning she had enough for time being? I dun want white elephant leh..

Can we let them play with colouring books now?

krex78,
rosyth is a hot cake ok. i stay directly opp rosyth school main gate. i don't even want to think of putting yu ze there. he will go back to daddy's old school which is pei chun.

even if you do volunteer work and stay within 1km also doesn't confirm you a place in rosyth loh. if you wish to do volunteer work there, maybe you can start to enquire now. parent volunteer for this year might be doing for their child born in certain year kind loh. not like this year do for your child entering next year.

anyway, i heard rosyth is going to move soon. not sure to where. i also have friends who told me unless you are in their gifted programme if not, its just like any normal school.

hisstory
zynn will snatch also, that is why i gotta flash very fast....ha ha....
can ashley hold color pencil already?
if yes, why not? =)
zynn like to follow her jie jie, thats why she also like to take pencil...but draw rubbish on paper lah. =P

snow74,
i wanted to buy crayola for yu ze long ago leh but never have the courage to buy. very scare he will draw on my wall leh. now he likes to hold his car to move on the wall.

Celyn,
Crayola, get the washable ones...so far can wipe off floor and table easily. I haven't let him try the walls yet.

Krex,
So your hb is old boy of Rosyth or Holy Innocents?

celyn
they actually noe how to sit down properly and do handcraft thingy liao, just that we gotta be around to make sure they dun dirty other places lah.
u might wanna buy an art apron for him? =)
then at least dun need to wash his "colorful" clothing till siao after that lor...hee hee...

snow74,
i don't know leh cos i'm not going to do PV for sure. but my colleague who want to go into rosyth apply for pv in 2008 for her son going to P1 in 2011 loh. then cos she is late for the interview so didn't get to do it. then last year, she can't try again cos they don't accept PV for her son's batch liao.

maybe i should just buy and let him try. i see the little easter bunny basket he brought back from school, his colouring is like drawing lines loh. ahahhahah.....

then he got another homework to do and need to hand up on 16 april, so this weekend going to spend time with him to do homework liao. hahaha.....

ok, will get the apron for him but not sure if he will guai guai wear it or not.

Halo Mommies!
Today is Mae's 4th day in playgroup...so grateful to my parents for bringg the gals to and fro school so I can work in peace...

Wah, topic on primary school now? My #1 is gg P1 next year liao and guess I'm the most bochap mommy liao...only 2 choices and the 2nd is definitely will get in 1 so I'm quite relaxed...

Hisstory,
You still look very good...dun be depressed ya

YLN,
I oso want the link leh! heehee Earrings are never enuf too! =P

Snow,
Mae likes to hold pencils or colour pencils ard too and scribble on a paper! She did some artwork in playgroup these few days too...

Good! At least i know I'm not the only one up against these nonsense.. hahah
She loves to grab pens/ markers/ colour pencils.. It's just me being paranoid tt she wld end up drawin on the walls.. Gd thing my furniture is glass or dark coloured, so can't see if she does end up there.. I will go look see what's gd to get. get her doing some work also gd, dun want to wait till playgrp next year

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
I dunno if this applies to Rosyth.. My gd fren's kid is in Henry Park (with GEP) and when the kids are streamed, those who aren't in GEP will be cast aside. It was really bad.. They had no form teacher, their teachers kept changing and for Parent-Tr conference, the sch intentionally arranged such tt the parents of kiddos of tt class dun get to meet parents of other classes.. They had their PTC on a separate day..

Btw, I used to be fr Holy Innocents.. It's quite popular in the region as well

yuuri,

hb from rosyth but he's not super intelligent leh, haha.

celyn,

J is using the washable crayolas now. very easy to wipe if he colours on the floor or walls. if u want super convenient ones, get the crayola wonder markers. that one if he colours on the floor no ink will apppear. must use special paper, which is not cheap.

rosyth that popular ah? we definitely won't do volunteer work. at most my hb can go join alumni. if such a hot potato, wonder whether to put him in rosyth and if rejected, go holy innocents. or just apply for holy innocents straight away.

hisstory,

hah? i tot holy innocent ranking quite low...xian...now dunno which sch to put him in. maybe apply for holy innocent since chances are higher since i'm catholic.

I have some A4 card paper - very good quality. let me know if anyone wants it, can be use for flashcards. I'm giving out free, PM/sms me

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
hahah.. I need to work hard to maintain.. Not like before..
Also gd lah, for fitness level

Which sch's r u looking at?

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
In the HG region it's quite reputable.. My sis &amp; bil sold off their place to this family coz they want to get the kid into Holy Innocents

krex78,
use special paper then very siong right. i think yu ze will end up tearing the paper loh then waste my $$ leh.

not sure about alumni thing but i think there is also some form of dateline to be eligible mah. if you want to try rosyth first then holy innocents that can only be done if they are of different phrase loh.

Mrs Teng,
U are such a lucky gal! U two complement each other. Such a sweet couple! I m so full of envy!

Celyn,
My hb is like urs. Wun buy extra pair of shoes. When we first moved in together, I was shocked. He has only 1 pair each of dress shoes, casual shoes and slippers. Even clothes only no more than 20 pcs in total. To him, the bare minimum is enough. But hor, although he doesn't spend on clothes, shoes etc, he spends quite a bit on his RC toys. Made me so angry. He keep saying tat I keep buying new clothes, shoes n bags but he doesn't see himself buying so many RC toys. We have airplanes, cars, trucks, trailers n he juz ordered a boat, yacht and submarine! Talking abt spending money!

Krex, Yuuri, etc.
Is it a bit early to think of Pri 1 registration?

Snow,
Really ah? Even if I m a old girl, it doesn't mean that my daughter can enter the skool? Distance part of the selection criteria? If so, den jialat liaoz. I stay in Yishun but my pri skool is in Serangoon Gdns leh. Must I join the alumni?

Rona,
How much to join the alumni?

Re: MMRV jab
Brought Anvelle to see GP ytd. She was down with stomach flu. So asked the GP abt the jabs since we are there.
1 dose - 90% coverage, 2 doses - 98% coverage

mummynana,
my hubby got no special hobby one. before we were together, he can stay at home whole day and read both chinese and english paper from first word to last word kind. can also eat the same food daily and not get sick. i think his biggest expenses will be the car loh but that is also paid off liao. i think his life gets more interesting with me in his lift. cos i can't take eating same food or staying at home daily. so he gets to see the 'colourful' world outside. hahahah....

Hisstory,
I oso need lotsa maintenance thus must go gym at least 3x a week...now will squeeze in another gym session or short jog with Raine during weekends...

I'm looking at St Margaret Pri (1st choice) and 2nd choice is Farrer Park...any feedbacks?

My hb simply bochap which school the kids will go...hahaha...oso good as it gives me the say in deciding the kids' enrichment classes etc.

Celyn,
Your hb so cute!!!!

mummynana,
yah yah. i not only brighten his boring world, i also spend all his $$$. hahahaha......

m2b,
cute huh. he is more boring then cute loh. another thing that he will do is go for piano concert during piano festival. but that is like once a year thing.

when we were preparing for our wedding and house like buying furniture or what so ever. people always think he is from china then i always say i got generation gap with him. hahahah

celyn
huh? -_-"
think i also wun let my gals goto such a ks school...the school which is nearby my house this yr only accepting parent with kid born in yr 2005 nia.
cos they cannot intake so many pv every yr mah, so they give priority to those who really "meet deadline" 1st bah...ha ha...

yes, actually u will be surprise the rate they can learn things.
zynn also dun like that art apron, normally i'll distract her with the art work so that she wun take it down. =P

m2b
for my case, i lazy to send my gals to far far school nia lah..never really did anything, so u are not too bad yet.
ha ha...

ya, can see that mae can really concentrate when doing her art work lor.
my rat cannot, her sharp buttock cannot sit down so long de lor. =(

most important is ur "maintanance" got effect leh, u see me look like those who exercise meh?
most ppl will doubt...but now i really just came back from gym lor...hee hee...

hisstory
no lah, my rat also those that are more active type.
maybe can start from those crayola's stamping set, thing now stamping is easier to raise their interest in colors and art?

mummynana
bo lah, if u old gal higher chance lah.
think that 1 normally dun even need to ballot leh, those that need to ballot are those not sibling/alumni/ex-student/pv.
but if school so far, u wun worry travelling itself already made ur gal very tired liao meh?

Cheap Huggies for Sale

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings &amp; sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)/ IMM (prearranged)

School
ok, from my experience: You have to complete 40 hours at least (more for popular school, like Nanyang Pri, they may call for 80 hours, so check!) So if you count backwards, our 2008 babies will start primary school in 2015, so got to register for P1 in 2014, therefore, you need to complete 40 hours of PV by June 2014. Usually you will start in 2013 for the PV, that means you have to write in to the school to apply for a position to PV in January 2012. Then the school will call you for an interview if you are shortlisted.

For old boy/old gal, your chances are very high cos so far, no school needs to ballot at that stage which is 2A2. But for PV, which falls under 2B, your chances will be enhanced if you live within 1km of the school. For very popular schools like Henry Park, Rosyth, Tao Nan, Nanyang, Pei Hwa Pres, MGS etc, I've heard of parent volunteers who didn't get a place in the school at phase 2B if they live further then 2km, since phase 2B, PVs are also facing competition from Churches/Clans/Grassroots leaders.

Balloting - they will see no of PVs and the no of vacancies. Say there are 50 PVs/churches/clans etc and 30 vacancies, the school will check how many live within 1km. say there are 25 who live within 1km, then this 25 kids will get a confirmed place. Then the school will look at how many live within 1-2km. if there are 2, these 2 kids will have a place. then the 23 PVs/etc will have to ballot for the 3 vacancies left...

hisstory,
My niece in HPPS but not in their GEP class. She has good teachers leh and enjoying herself in school... next year PSLE.

Nana,
I think we paid $100 for the alumni membership. We bought it because the chairman is hb's good friend, support him lah.

Mrs Teng,
office ban facebook, really cannot go up to the web... :p

my bd present. gotta go present-less for two years to get me one leh!

rona,

am i allowed to apply for rosyth (which is an earlier phase), then register again for holy innocents (which is a later phase)? is it possible to hang on to 2 places then give up one later? i think i might prefer holy innocents coz' it's nearer my ILs place but i scared can't get a place there and if my hb is old boy of rosyth, chances might be higher?

also, can we appeal for a sch based on distance from IL's home since the kid is placed there during the day?

nana,

i didn't want to think of it so early but everyone ard me is asking me to think of his pri sch already...typical Singaporean hor?

hisstory,

oh dear, any other pri schs in hougang/ kovan area then?

no one wants the white card paper huh? can use it to do your own flash card. print out 2 pics or whatever yourself on the A4 photocopy paper, cut out the pic and paste on the white card paper. You have to cut the white card paper into half so you can have B5 size which will be just nice to use. if no one wants it, i will give to garang guni liao...

krex,
by right you are not allowed to. I'm not sure if the school system is linked to MOE, but we got a warning in our registeration kit saying if you apply for two schools under different phase, you will get BOTH places confisicated.

A note of caution is that you have to check first if holy innocents is afflicated to the church you are attending to. I know some (don't know if its MGS or St Margarats) are not.

For your case, I think you J should definately get a place in Rosyth. Yes, you can use IL's address to apply for the school - within 1km to get a better chance. No need to appeal.

krex78,
i think you can't hold on to 2 seats loh. if you don't get into 1 phrase then you can apply for the next. if you already got in liao then can't apply liao.

M2B,
Mae still never cry in playgroup? Really social girl ley!

Krex,
You can apply for rosyth first...then if cannot get, then apply for holy innocents. Quite full proof.
For me, my 1st choice is actually under 2B2 and backup plan is hb's old school which is in 2A2...so very headache.

Mummynana,
Haha very kiasu hor? I'm one of those people who used to laugh at people fretting over p1 registration hor!

Personally, I'm not thaaat bothered about 'famous' primary schools. My main concern is that it should be affiliated to a good secondary school. Hence, my first choice of ACS. But unless I move next door, think chances are pretty slim.

Alumni fees depends on each individual school.

when u say OLD GIRL/BOY, is it in primary sch? or secondary?
wah..i read the thread..very stress leh..all the talk abt pri 1 reg..:p

Krex,
I think you have to reject the first one to apply for the second one...but if suay suay don't get second one...you have to reapply for first one, which means no old boy priority liao.

I may be wrong but if using parents place, if within 1km, it will be considered as 2km or something like that.

Celyn,
I always tell my friends hbs dun need handsome, dun need rich, just need to be good/nice to you and kids can liao
So you have a great hb!

Snow,
I'm glad Mae is behaving better in GUG now hahaha...at least won't waste $...she likes to follow #1 and nephew to sit at the table to do "homework"...while the elder 1s do homework, she will scribble lor...my parents and ILs commented Mae holds the pencil really well!

I need to maintain so I can indulge in chocs and ice-cream heehee Good good, I also just back from gym and mee sua lunch

The 2 schools of my choice are nearest to my mom's pl liao so hopefully no hiccups in getting in man! My #1 is really looking fwd to gg school...that day she came back home and tell me that she doesn't want to go St Margaret Pri coz her classmate whom sis is studying there says the school is haunted...hiaz, see lah kids hah! So my nephew who studies in Farrer Park told her "my school oso haunted" hahaha