(2008/08) Aug 2008

onsansg

toddler stop growing much after 12 mths, they might even stay there for 1 yr. so the most growth is during 1st 12 mths.

as long as happy n healthy, is ok.

On average:

Newborn to 12 mth : 50 - 80
12-24mth : 80-90

Celyn/rona

initially very cute to see BBM zipping up n down, then worried if her tummy or thigh will get zipped.

morning mummies

sylvia,
maybe bah. babysitter say she bring him walk around, he also fuss, take a while for him to settle down.

we feel that he is going through the insecure stage now cos in about 2 months+, #2 is coming. he must have sense it coming real soon. next week, i'm going to send him to cc. really crossing my fingers and toes that he will adapt to cc smoothly.

krex
i had wanted to prepare kaer for CC..so thats y im starting now..but looking at the slow speed we going..looks like have to let the CC train her..but im getting her accustomed to the potty so she wont feel scare lor..

mrs n
im also potty training her part time!..haha..i usually do it in the mornings..before her nap..and in the afternoons ..for a span of a few hrs..cuz now..kaer is not peeing too frequent..but when she pees..its a lot...so, i kinda think maybe its a good time to let her try..but hor..she takes the potty as a toy leh..she will sit there..but will just sit lor..n play..stand and sit...stand and sit..hmm..so..i am also scratching my head as to how to let her pee in the potty...i may buy the baby seat to put on the toilet bowl..cuz kaer legs keep getting in the way when she sits on the potty..like her leg very long..so..she end up like squatting...hahah..

morning mummies. =)
wish everyone a very happy cny in advance, think i dun have chance to log in till i got back to office next wk le.

sylvia
ya, they dun like itchy itchy or restritive clothing ya? =P

onsansg
agreed with sylvia on the height thingy.
how tall is ur gal now?
my gal 72cm @ 12mths, now 18mths only 78cm.
her growth is like 1mth 1cm like that nia lor...hee hee...
but dun worry ok, u wun noe if they will suddenly be very tall later.

mrs n,

i forgot to tell u...i received the sipper lids 2 days ago. doesn't fit into my nuby and pigeon cups, so trying to see if it fits into any of the cups at my MIL's. if not, may have to buy a cup specially for it.

i might use my bum wear to potty train J then. for some strange reason, my bum wear always leaks even with inserts anyway. i did follow the washing instructions but it's still like that. haven't used it for many months already :p

btw, if you let D walk ard and leak, isn't it a lot of trouble to clean up, esp if he leaks on the bed or sofa? i can't imagine cleaning up all these big items if it's a daily affair!

sylvia,

u been there b4? i know it's really third world, but i'm planning to stay in La Residence, which has very good ratings as a clean, hygenic resort. for tours, i plan to do private charter, but i think most times i will be in the hotel premises. if it's not much diff from places like bali or phuket, then i dun mind trying.

Anybody here?

No post since 1.52pm. Everyone gone home liao ah? My boss last minute give early dismissal. And I was at an appt n still needed to come back to the office. All my colleagues went home liao and I am the only soul in the whole building. Sianz.. Gotta finish my stuff before I go for the CNY holidays...

And in case I won't be logging on again... Happy Lunar New Year everyone. Wishing all mummies 万事如意,天天美丽. To the kiddos 快高长大 n everybody 身体健康!

snow

think must find 100% cotton t-shirt material... in this hot weather if nt, sometimes itchy n sweat alot pah.

ur #2 still got grow ar?
think BB M only grew 3-4cm. I forgot her height when she's 12mth, think is 79cm. :p now ask her to stand straight, she will move here n there, so aga is 82cm, so nt sure actually how tall. look like grown up...

Nana

faster fin up n go home loh!!

Happy New Year to all mums n bb!!
hope everyone health n pretty/handsome in year of Tiger!!

i just reach home from final new year shopping and washing and keeping all the food in the fridge. for the first time, my fridge is full of food. :p

happy lunar new year and valentine's day to everyone.

afternoon everyone!

Wishing all lovely mummies and cute babies a very happy new year! Good wealth to the mummies and GREAT HEALTH to all the babies!

祝大家:
【新】●【年】☆【快】★【乐】
【恭】●【喜】☆【发】★【财】
【心】●【想】☆【事】★【成】
【万】●【事】☆【如】★【意】

<font color="ff0000"><blink>HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!</blink></font>

Krex oh good you've received them.
Guess you have to take the lid with you and go and shop for cups that fit. You can use them with ceramic mugs too not just plastic ones.

I only let D walk around in the bathroom without any diaper. I don't dare let him walk around the house diaperless as it's all carpeted and very hard to clean.

yln I read that for most kids they will pee just after they get up in the mornings and a period of time after you've given them to drink. But I'm too lazy to put D on the potty when he had just woken up cos I'm usually too sleepy at that time!! I've worked out that he usually pees in the evening just before bath but he always does it while I'm filling the bath with water so I'm never too quick enough to catch his 'pee'.

Yuuri yeah just take one step at a time. Our little ones have been using the diaper as their 'toilet' for the last 18 mths so can't just expect them to suddenly pee and poo into something they are not used to. They will learn eventually we just have to keep encouraging them.

mrs n,

i think i might just go mothercare and get a tommee tippee sippy cup though i won't be needing it...just buying it so i can fit the sipper lid on :p

how long do u let D walk in the bathroom? mine is so small and i dun think J will pee even if i let him "roam" in the toilet for 15 mins. he doesn't have any pee pattern right now but for poo, i think he generally does it over breakfast, heehee.

Updates:

Jerold is better, off the neb, but still coughing. He is still on antibiotics. I still need to bring him to see the PD on Wednesday. But he should be ok soon. He has dropped a kg, so now he is 9.9kg, and 80 cm tall - accordingly to Sylvia chart, 80cm should be when he is around 12 mths old... ??? heheheee... no wonder the shorts I bought - size: 18 mths can't wear - dropped when he stand up to walk. :p He can still wear the 6-12 mths shorts/pants from poney. :p :p

Thanks to all the mummies for the well wishes!

morning mummies. =)
happy new yr to all the pretty mummies and cute bb here.

rona
hope jerold a speedy recovery, u rake care too.
zynn is only 9.2kg and 78cm, think all of them are normal lah.... =P
dun worry too much okie?

rona,

hope J has recovered by now. my son is also quite small sized. bought 18-mth shorts from osh kosh and have been trying it on him since 15 mths. even when he's now 18 months, the shorts still drop on him, sigh. this despite him having a "pot belly", haha.

Good Morning Mommies!
A belated Happy Valentine's Day to all mommies!
Happy Chinese New Year to all too!
Back to work today but taking leave on Fri for another long weekend...

Rona,
Glad that Jerold is on the route to recovery...you must take care too, rest more. Dun worry abt their height and size...Mae also still wearing her 6-12mths rompers at home leh...I find that she looks so slender in those rompers...was joking w my sis that we shd get some of those to wear to look slim and slender too...hahaha

m2b,

i did the opposite. i bought 12-18 mth rompers for J from mothercare. at 12 mths, it was really loose. at 18 mths, still loose at the shoulders but a better fit, haha.

gd that ppl say mae looks slender. everyone says my son is so skinny and thinks i'm not feeding him enough

afternoon mummies,
had a heart pain morning. i send yu ze off to childcare this morning. he was ok in the beginning for about 30 mins or so. after that he realise that i'm gone, start to scream and cry inside. see liao so heart pain and make me cry with him. thought i very hard hearted but end up i give in, walk inside the classroom to hug him and pacify him. still with him throughout the whole 3 hours session. i sit at a little corner and let him play with the class. he was happily playing and then suddenly realise i'm missing and started crying. i think today is the today that he had cried the most bah. bus journey to and fro home and school is about 30 mins which i think its quite ok cos the route taken are mainly those small road into terrace houses or condo so the speed is quite slow in a way. no need to worry much about high speed driving drivers.

he slept in the bus on his way home. i make him lunch, bathe him and finally fall asleep again around 1245pm.

cos this morning, i wake up late and almost miss the school bus. i end up with no breakfast, was so hungry. i hope i can do better tomorrow by leaving him there in the morning while i go and have breakfast then back to see him. hope to leave him there whole day tomorrow so that i can work with my colleague in the office there to do some urgent submission in the afternoon during his nap time.

its not as easy as i always thought, very hard to drop and go.

celyn
sayang sayang, dun be too heart pain okie?
all kids gotta gone thru that stage during their 1st few wks in school.
jia you!
tmr will be better, u can de. =)
take care of ur own boday also, dun forget u are preg and dun go hungry hor.

Hi Mummies.

Report back to wk liao ma? I felt like I am gng to wk on a Sat when I came to wk this morning. I think there are only 1-2 offices open on our street. Makes me feel so sianz. Especially when I had to wake up at 6.30am n go to wk on my own while hb n Anvelle were still fast asleep. Hb is looking after her today. Hopefully everything is fine.. Heehee =)

Celyn,
Heart pain hor? But he needs to get used to it. I gotta hurry find Anvelle a CC soon. Seems like places are been taken up fast.

Re: Growth (Height vs Weight)
Think the kids are all fine la. Dun worry too much. There are bound to be growth spurts at some time n then slow down... Let them grow at their own phase ba.

snow74 &amp; mummynana,
yu ze had always been quite independent loh. so i didn't expect him to have such violent reaction leh.

Long time no post liao.. here and there will try to catch up on the posts.. Here's wishing all mummies Happy New year and all the best for the year ahead!

Celyn
Oh dear... it must have been really hard to let go. Poor thing.. but cheer up, it will take a while for him to get used and adjust to child care life.. Very heart pain la but soon it will be all over. How many days do the school allow you to accompany him?
My #1 cried for almost a month until he settled down. Come April it will be darwisyah's turn ..

celyn
cos he is not familiar with the environment?
especially classroom environment, no sense of security there.

medusa
long time no see le, hows life? =)

medusa15,
i only took leave this week to be with him loh. next week, he will be there all alone liao. maybe it will be easier if i don't get to see bah.

snow74,
he is familiar with the outside environment (outside classroom) cos i bring him there every sat to orientate. he knows where is where. classroom, he only went in once loh.

Snow
Ya lor long time no see liao : )
Ok, past few months been busy with house hunting/house selling. Sold my place liao so now waiting to move in new place in June.
How's life and yr 2 little princesses? Hope everything is well!

Celyn
Sometimes better not see cos we will heart pain when they cry.. I think over time when he is more familiar with a particular teacher, things will be better. Now he surrounded with strangers so naturally will be upset. Last time i only got 3 days to accompany my boy. 1st day, half day with him, 2nd day, 3 hours, 3rd day, half hour. Cos I scared the more i see him, the more cannot let go. So I rather "heng xin" abit and leave him.

celyn
give him some time.
when he is more familiar with is teachers and friends, he will enjoy going to cc and "play" with them de.
i still remember last itme #1's form teacher gotta carry her ard to min her from crying...hee hee...pai seh. =P

medusa
oh, where is ur new house? =)
near some good pri school is it? hee hee...

i'm fine, thx.
so tired after all those cny visit lor, especially with my 2...eh...princesses?
ha ha...when i recall how red is their cheek after a whole day of home visit, can't help but laughing.

celyn,

must be very heart pain. i dunno what i'd do if i were u also.

i can't imagine what it'll be like when i send J to pre-nursery next yr. he's much less independent than yu ze...can't even leave him alone in the play yard. hopefully he will be able to understand better by that age so we can prepare him mentally :p

Snow
Oh gosh... you mean kena cheek-pinching!!
Hahahaha! Must be irresistable la thats why!

Hah.. no la, not moving becos of primary school ( tho that is one of the factors..hehe)More of tiring to travel back and forth. Plus new place will have more family support. Few relatives and my parents staying near me. My new place is at bedok reservoir

Medusa,
Oh! U r at Bedok reservoir? Den do you noe of any good CCs at Bedok Reservoir/ Kaki Bukit? HB n I are wking at Kaki Bukit and we need to get Anvelle in a CC in this area. Dun think we can rush back to pick her up at 7pm if we send her to CC in Punggol or worse still, Yishun.

medusa
no lah, cos travelling under sun too much lor. =P
later i upload to fb show u, saw u still online.

but its abit far from ur workplace ya? =)
family support is the most important lah, especially with kids at home.

celyn
oh my..i think hor...i will surely cry leh when its kaer's turn..
..sigh...i think there shld be a prep class for mummies too..

yln,
yah yah, i thought i wont cry leh. maybe its also due to pregnancy hormones, i cry when he cry. think only i also cry. hahahaha.... like a big cry baby loh.

krex78,
maybe he is older, its easier for him bah. yu ze is the youngest and smallest size one in the class loh. can't express himself at all.

snow74,
yah, will give him more time loh. i'm now thinking if i should take another day leave on mon cos he will get a break on sat and sun before going back on mon again. but then, this will never end if i don't let go right. sigh.... don't know what to do.

medusa15,
i agree, if we don't see we don't feel so heartpain. so tomorrow, i must be determine to leave him there and go for my breakfast before going back to see him. it will be at least an hour of travel to and fro.

celyn,
are there any good teachers in the school who can pacify yu ze. sometimes he just need to identify this teacher and then he will just cry for a while and then he will be fine. tell him you are going to work and will come and pick him up later, that he will stay in the school to play and have fun with the other kids and that the teachers will take good care of him. give him a good bye kiss and say bye bye to him. don't just disappear. Its very hard for the first few weeks... that is why i didn't send my #1 to school AT ALL. i just say good bye to him at home and let someone else bring him to school. heheheee... cos i know i will end up like you lor.
sayang you leh...

Nana,
in case of emergency who will help you pick your gal? when you opt for a childcare near to workplace you have to take into consideration that when you are on leave you still have to travel to ubi area to send her to childcare. if you need to work late - say pass dinner time, how about your gal? and if you need to travel, who will send her to childcare? have to have some backups. My gal goes to a childcare near my workplace too... so i have these problems when i'm not in town or when my bosses are in town and need to have dinner meetings etc. then i have got to arrange for someone to pick her up leh...

rona,
there is a teacher who will carry him loh but he don't want leh. if i don't send him to school, nobody can send liao.

hubby keep asking me about school then i told him to send loh. he say he will end up bringing yu ze home if he send. you see, who else can send him to school except me. its hard now cos i can't really carry him for long but he keep wanting me to carry. he hug me real tight loh.

celyn,
yah, its hard. i can understand it. but when you go away, make sure you say bye bye to him and tell him to enjoy school. don't just disappear. cos this will make him MORE worried that you are abandoning him. once he is assured that you WILL be coming to get him, he will be happy to stay in school. and in no time to come, he want to stay and play with his friends and didn't want to go home! ;P
just keep doing it, no choice leh. I think my #1 cried for 3 weeks? the first week, his two grannies took turns to send, my ah lao went occasionally and stayed until school is over
(and he is the one who told me to drop and go!) and i sent him to school from 2nd week. i really gotta drop and go lor, cos i'm always late for work and my boss going to give me the red card liao... and i will usually call the school to ask how's the kid. i think he will usually cry for a while then he will be fine.