(2008/08) Aug 2008

rona,
i'm here. back to office today and tomorrow.

Celyn,
Out of curiosity, how are you gonna handle the sleeping arrangements when #2 comes? All sleep together in one room? Yu Ze transfer to bed, so #2 can sleep in his cot?

mousse,
#2 will sleep in cot in another room herself. yu ze sleep in his room on his toddler bed. we continue to sleep in our room. hahahha....

when #2 sleeps through then maybe will transfer her to sleep with yu ze or status quo. this haven't decide.

back after MIA for so long. have been on leave and happily enjoying time with J. now back to work feeling so xian and busy.

anw, got a few qns, wondering if anyone can help.

1) barber

any gd recommendation for kid's barber? J's hair growing quite fast and it's very difficult to cut his hair these days.

2) play group

any recommendations for chinese play group? i haven't done much research on this except recce the kindi that i plan to send J to in 2011. they don't have child care or play group, so cldn't enquire much.

3) child safety gate

i'm thinking of buying one coz' J is always venturing into the kitchen. which brand/ model is gd?

4) shoes

how fast do u ppl change your kid's shoes? i find it very hard to buy nice shoes for J, except the recent combi one i got. the rest are so hard to put on and i can't find nice ones that are light and easy to wear. any recommendations? also, is it gd to buy one size in advance? what size are your kids wearing? i think J is a size 6.

celyn,

your sleep arrangement sounds cool. i think if i have #2, he/she will have to sleep with us coz' we got no spare room. our 3rd room is a study which we're not willing to give up, haha. wish i had more rooms in my house!

btw, are u going to have 2 bb monitors or just leave it with #2?

krex78,
#2's room is actually a room that we have set up meant for fil but he never came to stay with us, so i'm giving that room to #2 temporary. :p

i won't have 2 monitor, pass yu ze's one over cos hubby say yu ze is loud enough liao. no need monitor. hahahha...

your questions:

barber:
we bring him to hubby's barber since 1st month. so that had become his regular barber too cos we cut his hair almost every month.

child safety gate:
i don't use cos kitchen got sliding door. even with sliding door, its also useless liao. cos yu ze knows how to slide open my heavy full glass sliding door. sigh....

shoes:
i just buy any sandals for him, so far i always buy from royal sporting house. he also got a pair of nike shoes which i buy the 2nd smallest size.

they do outgrow very fast. yu ze already had 5 pairs of shoes and only wearing 2 now cos the rest can't wear liao. very soon, i think i need to buy another pair of sandals for him liao.

Celyn,
wahh, totally cool! train the babies to sleep on their own from birth!
actually, i cant imagine sleeping w 2 babies also.. tink no need 2 sleep liao.

mousse,
yes yes. sleep with me in hospital. once discharge, sleep with confinement lady then back to their own room.

yu ze did sleep with me for 1 month after confinement lady left but i can't tahan after that and throw him out of my room liao. hahaha...

so for #2, either she gets the same arrangement for 1 month or i just let her sleep on her own after confinement lady left. :p

celyn,

so when yu ze wakes up at night, he can go back to sleep on his own?

my kitchen door is quite flimsy coz' made of plastic, so better to get the child safety gate. i saw one at robinsons today...$168 (can faint!)

how much does your barber charge? so he sits on normal chair? i realise those salons with kiddy chair charge a lot for children haircut and i dun even know if J will be distracted enough to let them cut. so far, only cut his hair once a quarter, haha. when his fringe gets too long and the hair goes below the ears. luckily his hair dun grow so fast!

J has outgrown 1 shoe and 1 sandal, worn only for abt a mth. so sayang. now he wears the combi one as a shoe cum sandal coz' it's so easy to take on and off, and dun have to wear socks. heehee, so lazy.

krex78,
he seldom wakes up in the night. if he does eh eh a bit, we just ignore him then he will goes back to sleep pretty fast. most of the times, i guess he is dreaming. unless its super loud cry then we will go over.

his barber charge about $6 bah. he will put a piece of wood on the arms of the chair so yu ze sit there. i will sort of hold on to him to prevent him from falling cos he will move when his hair is cut. now that he is older, i think he knows liao cos he will cry but still can sit there to cut loh. he cry with pacifier in his mouth, a while only. then as he cut, i will praise him throughout the whole session and ask him to see mirror loh to distract him a bit.

safety gate, i think it will be useless for me lah. actually if i don't close my kitchen door, yu ze will play in the living room while i cook and not disturb me loh. if i close it, all the more he will want to come kpo. so hubby say we waste $$ on our over $1k glass kitchen door. hahaha....

yu ze wear the sandals to babysitter's place and sometimes nike shoes. cos he very hiao, he will choose what shoe to wear in the morning. then if wear his nike shoe, must wear socks for him or he will make noise and refuse to wear.

snow74,
hahah.... that's what i intend to do leh. though #2 is girl, i think can still wear yu ze's shoe lah. so young never mind, maybe just buy 1 more girly one for her to wear out loh. hahahah.... cheapo hoh. got 2 pairs of yu ze's shoes are given by babysitter too. :p

celyn
bo lah, some of nynn's shoes are "pass me down" also....and zynn wearing also wor...3rd hand shoes? ha ha....so u can imagine, by the time zynn wear all are spoil by her cos its so old liao. >P

snow,

i'm letting J wear some hand me downs from his god sons. dun think will let #2 wear J's shoes is it's a girl lah. home clothes maybe still can, haha.

celyn,

J can't be left alone to play by himself, sigh. i wish i can just leave him in play pen while i do my own thing but he will cry and fuss if there's no one in there to play with him. i guess the maid comes in handy when we're rushing to work and he wakes up and can't be alone lor. wondering how to make him more independent...

krex78,
yu ze can play himself for a while or run around loh. yu ze i will on the tv and let him play there. he will watch a bit of ads, play or run around the house.

celyn,
jer only has one pair of his own shoes leh... the rest of the shoes are from his older bro and all too big still...

Halo mommies, so many days nvr log in and thus alot of posts to read up.

Tmr will be on leave as planning to go highlight my hair and settle #1's birthday goodies bag.

So like to wish all an advance Happy New Year (in case I dun come in the next few days). 2010 is here and our little 1s are approaching their terrible 2s liao. Hehe

celyn,

your house no sharp corners? i find it difficult to let J wander on his own w/o supervision coz' my living room still has a glass coffee table and J is so good at switching on and off the fans now! scared he go touch the blades...

krex78,
i also have a glass coffee table. i also have a full glass wall for my study intead of normal brick wall. for fan, we off the main switch. we will scold yu ze when he play with fan, so he don't really touch the fan. even the power socke are all near the floor, i haven't put any protector over it cos i think it will attract more attention when i do that. so whenever i see that he try to touch or on the switch, i will warn him first. if he ever touch, i will beat his hand. so far, he just point at them or attempt to touch but eventually back off.

yu ze did bang into my study glass wall before but after 1 time, he learn loh. though i have stickers at the bottom of the glass.

i feel there is no child proof or safe environment for our curious baby. i prefer to let him explore and learn from his mistakes. of course, we don't leave dangerous things around for him to harm himself such as scissors or knife lah. i don't think my house is child friendly at all loh.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
So when J's at your ILs, he's in the playpen if he's unsupervised? I think most grandparents are very cautious in letting the kiddos roam abt on their own. When I am home with Ashley, I pretty much let her roam too. Usually she makes noise enough for me to know what she's up to.. I will go peek when she's dead quiet. And tt's when she's up to no gd.

There's this net like contraption I've seen my friend use, prevents access to the blades.

Hisstory

I hv those net. now with holes, coz bbm will poke n poke. hahaha!! but when she play the back of the fan, will get scolding fm me.

same as mine.. no sound mean trouble. got sound mean.. we know it. Haha!

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
There are quite a few safety gates around. Kiddy palace, ToysRus (United Sq), Ikea &amp; AMK Hub's NTUC Xtra are places where I've spotted them before. Otherwise I think the 2 bb 'warehouse' at Kaki Bt wld also be options to check out..

Long time no post... Happy holiday season to all

baby proofing
I do have those plugs in sockets that are exposed at Isaac's level. But as I watch him most times during his waking hours, my believe is that if he is allowed to explore something, he won't want to keep at it. It seem like the more I react to something, the more he try to do it as if to get my reaction. So I dun react anymore and he'll move on! Haha.

I also recently added child locks to my kitchen cabinets cos he enjoyed opening and closing them too much. Once they were installed he lost interest. It took us adults a while to get used to the child locks tho. Think we have to get a fridge one soon. He's able to open the fridge at his grandparents' place. Sigh

Celyn, I also have a glass wall and heavy glass sliding doors which Isaac learnt to open and close many many months back. It is v scary to think it may break... but similarly, the more I react, the more he try... so I play it cool now. Dun react but distract instead! Sometimes just pretending that I'm doing something fun gets him away from things he shouldn't be doing. Haha. It's like a constant-see-who-outsmart-who-game!

Krex,
I find Lindam gates very sturdy and quite well made.

krex,
I got the lucky baby safety gate, not that exp .. got it from carrefour. It's vv easy to put it up. Quite good .... We always close the gate when they get near and soon enough, they learnt that the gate must be closed. Sometimes when it is not, Kai will go pull it closed .. so after some time, there's no use for the gate liaoz .. haha. Sometimes he still walk through the gate into the kitchen or tries to climb ...

Brie,
I got the one for the fridge from Ikea ... quite good. But, my #1 knows how to open it and always tries to take things from the fridge. Wonders if there's any more complicated ones .. haha

krex,
more independent means we dun stop them from exploring ... just have to tell them it's dangerous. Kai climbs up my chair onto my computer bench (a long bench) and then sits on top there trying to explore what's on the table ... just have to keep taking him down and tell him it's dangerous. He still does it.

morning mummies

forget to mention this, last week i was out with my friend shopping with her family and mine. she was shocked to see that we let yu ze stand on the escalator, let him walk in and step out of it instead of carrying. of course, we do hold his hand when he walk towards it. she say its so dangerous. can someone tell me why is it dangerous? her son is 2 years+ and she sure carry him on escalator and not stand on escalator.

shint,
wake up so early due to teething? hahahha....

briebaby,
i got nothing protective in my house except for 2 corners of my tv consol.

yu ze won't close my kitchen sliding door but only open it when i closed it. so now, i give up and don't close it at all.

he will also open all my drawers and cupboards in my kitchen though there is no handle on them. sigh... he will take out my pots to play but leave all my corelle plates and bowls alone. phew!!! open the last 2 drawers to play except the one with all my cups cos he knows he is not supposed to play with that drawer.

then when i'm done with my cooking, he will help to bring that 'plate rest' thingy to the dining table so that i can put food on top of it. he knows how to open the cupboard to take it out.

when i'm cooking, i do let him see at times. now i let him touch the rice and sort of wash them too. when i stir fry vege, i also get him to help put the vege into my pan. he enjoyed it very much.

some mummies might think its very dangerous to do this but i think its ok cos fried vege won't splash oil. :p

<font color="#CD3278">good morning all</font>

I'm back at work and dreading every moment when I got out of bed.. Haiz!!

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Your cabinets are those with the internal cut-in at the top part of each door? Sthg like a V..

I'm most afraid when she attempts to open up cabinets coz mine has handles.. But I usually park myself there to stop the doors fr opening, even by millimeteres.. hahah! THink she hasn't figured out mommy is coz the absent of reaction.

You're not intending to install the catch tt prevents them fr opening doors of cabinets, I suppose?

Sooo cute, ask your hb to take some shots of YZ being mommy's happy helper leh

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia</font>
Oh dear!! The fans are quite low for her to reach ah?

hisstory,
yah, must open from the top one. yu ze will tip toe to touch there to open loh. hahahah....

not going to install anything to stop him.

hehe.... find a chance to take his photo/video to show you, ok.

last time, i do that when he tries to open that drawer that is full of cups too. after a while, he will give up on that drawer and open the lower one which i let him play. so now i stop doing it but teach him that he can't play with that drawer.

morning. =)

celyn
zynn also stand on escalator.
infact, she prefer to climb up escalator if we din stop her.....ha ha.... >D

snow74,
yah loh. yu ze will stand there and then climb up also. sometimes, he will try to sit down on the steps for those going down one.

celyn
cos nynn also used to do all those actions, so i dun find it dangerous for zynn lor. =P
if u dun start training them from young, most likely they wun noe how to use that thing properly later.
but escalator do "sudden break" some time, so do hold on to yu ze's hand at least lor.

snow74,
yah yah. we will hold on to him or at least stand behind him loh.

even in carpark, i also tell him must hold hands or must carry cos got lots of cars. he will stop when we reach carpark.

i also think must teach since young loh cos these are very common thing leh. everywhere we go we see them loh. can't be taking lift forever right.

thanks all mummiesfor the concern.. after a tortorous 6 days.. bernice's diarrohea has stopped finally. That day I was posting halfway then was disrupted cos we went to the PD on 26/12 and she was given LactoGG, Lactofort and Cedax for ther diarrohea. She refuse to take Smecta. Anyway on 27/12 (SUN) her face broke out in rash on her cheeks. Looked like she went for IPL type.. we called the PD and he said as long as she not scratching.. just let her be and bring her in Mon morning.. Mon morning the rashes on the face gone, and now it's on her legs. But it looked different.. like "feng mo".. patching like huge mosquito bites. He said probably due to the antibiotics breaking out the virus. Gave her some cream and told her to feed her with zyertec... sigh.. so stresed out.

Finally the diarrohea and rashes all over on Tues and she has been eating NON stop. She ate like 4 slices of bread, 2 packets of crackers.. rice/soup for dinner/lunch. hahaha.. like hungry ghost let loose.

But over this event of her diarrohea, I really asked myself many times if we should have brought her in for the IV Drip. Her urine was really little then on Sat but the thought of the hospitals strapping her down is just too painful to see. My hb said he dont want to do it and just kept on giving her water instead. He was so desperate he even gave her milo when I told him no. and immediately after that she lau sai.. MEN !!

anyway, i'm so thankful she's recovered well. It's a very unforgetable xmas for us for sure. So full of shit !! haha oh btw. the stools results came out -ve for bacteria so it's not rotavirus, just probably food poisoning..

krex,
Julia Gabriel has good chinese classes. but it's 3x a week.

celyn
I carry bernice on the escalators and into lifts, I try not to let her walk in alone lest she thinks it's ok to go into them alone.

re: child proofing
I child proof the corners of furniture with those ikea "mickey" hands. cute looking. As for kitchen, bernice knows she's not allowed into the kitchen so she just stands there and see and calls out to be carried in. So far "fingers crossed" she's quite ok and knows that kitchen &amp; toilet she's not allowed in. We put the safety gate at the stairs to prevent her from coming down. but not from going up cos going up not as dangerous and we monitor easier. so far the furthest she has attempted is 3 steps.

catherine,
i see. we hold his hand to walk in to escalator. for lifts, one of us will be inside to press the lift, another with him outside to ask him to walk in himself and we walk in last.

cat &amp; celyn
main point here is do not let go of their hand, then next time they will auto hold ur hand when they saw escalator de.
gotta start training them, cos from 15mths onwards toddler learn very fast and its easier for us to enforce "habit" into them.