(2008/08) Aug 2008

rona,
i'm here. back to office today and tomorrow.

Celyn,
Out of curiosity, how are you gonna handle the sleeping arrangements when #2 comes? All sleep together in one room? Yu Ze transfer to bed, so #2 can sleep in his cot?

mousse,
#2 will sleep in cot in another room herself. yu ze sleep in his room on his toddler bed. we continue to sleep in our room. hahahha....

when #2 sleeps through then maybe will transfer her to sleep with yu ze or status quo. this haven't decide.

back after MIA for so long. have been on leave and happily enjoying time with J. now back to work feeling so xian and busy.

anw, got a few qns, wondering if anyone can help.

1) barber

any gd recommendation for kid's barber? J's hair growing quite fast and it's very difficult to cut his hair these days.

2) play group

any recommendations for chinese play group? i haven't done much research on this except recce the kindi that i plan to send J to in 2011. they don't have child care or play group, so cldn't enquire much.

3) child safety gate

i'm thinking of buying one coz' J is always venturing into the kitchen. which brand/ model is gd?

4) shoes

how fast do u ppl change your kid's shoes? i find it very hard to buy nice shoes for J, except the recent combi one i got. the rest are so hard to put on and i can't find nice ones that are light and easy to wear. any recommendations? also, is it gd to buy one size in advance? what size are your kids wearing? i think J is a size 6.

celyn,

your sleep arrangement sounds cool. i think if i have #2, he/she will have to sleep with us coz' we got no spare room. our 3rd room is a study which we're not willing to give up, haha. wish i had more rooms in my house!

btw, are u going to have 2 bb monitors or just leave it with #2?

krex78,
#2's room is actually a room that we have set up meant for fil but he never came to stay with us, so i'm giving that room to #2 temporary. :p

i won't have 2 monitor, pass yu ze's one over cos hubby say yu ze is loud enough liao. no need monitor. hahahha...

your questions:

barber:
we bring him to hubby's barber since 1st month. so that had become his regular barber too cos we cut his hair almost every month.

child safety gate:
i don't use cos kitchen got sliding door. even with sliding door, its also useless liao. cos yu ze knows how to slide open my heavy full glass sliding door. sigh....

shoes:
i just buy any sandals for him, so far i always buy from royal sporting house. he also got a pair of nike shoes which i buy the 2nd smallest size.

they do outgrow very fast. yu ze already had 5 pairs of shoes and only wearing 2 now cos the rest can't wear liao. very soon, i think i need to buy another pair of sandals for him liao.

Celyn,
wahh, totally cool! train the babies to sleep on their own from birth!
actually, i cant imagine sleeping w 2 babies also.. tink no need 2 sleep liao.

mousse,
yes yes. sleep with me in hospital. once discharge, sleep with confinement lady then back to their own room.

yu ze did sleep with me for 1 month after confinement lady left but i can't tahan after that and throw him out of my room liao. hahaha...

so for #2, either she gets the same arrangement for 1 month or i just let her sleep on her own after confinement lady left. :p

celyn,

so when yu ze wakes up at night, he can go back to sleep on his own?

my kitchen door is quite flimsy coz' made of plastic, so better to get the child safety gate. i saw one at robinsons today...$168 (can faint!)

how much does your barber charge? so he sits on normal chair? i realise those salons with kiddy chair charge a lot for children haircut and i dun even know if J will be distracted enough to let them cut. so far, only cut his hair once a quarter, haha. when his fringe gets too long and the hair goes below the ears. luckily his hair dun grow so fast!

J has outgrown 1 shoe and 1 sandal, worn only for abt a mth. so sayang. now he wears the combi one as a shoe cum sandal coz' it's so easy to take on and off, and dun have to wear socks. heehee, so lazy.

krex78,
he seldom wakes up in the night. if he does eh eh a bit, we just ignore him then he will goes back to sleep pretty fast. most of the times, i guess he is dreaming. unless its super loud cry then we will go over.

his barber charge about $6 bah. he will put a piece of w