(2008/08) Aug 2008

Long time never login. Been quite busy and stressed up and fell sick.
That's why I've more been silent reading and just going to BPs ;P

krex,
totally can understand how u feel as I also don't like my BIL's wife. Cos my hb always feel that I shd let his mother take care of Chevelle when his mum is alrdy helping to take care of 2 kids, and now 3 kids (cos BIL's wife just gave birth.... AGAIN!)

I suggest u tong til Jonah is 18 mths then let him go to childcare or playgroup.
Else how abt the part-time work option that was given to you? Perhaps you want to consider that and put Jonah in a half-day playgroup/childcare?

Rona,
heh... u seem to be the expert in Pri 1 school registration. There is this Phase if I remember correctly, that if grandparents' home is within 1km or 1-2km of the school, also can go into that phase right? But must prove that the grandparents are not working right?

M2B,
Cool! So u have found and bought your new place. Quick work! I suppose you moved in already? Enjoy your new home ya?

hisstory,
heh... saw you buying stuff for the birthday. I'm in a headache over the bday celebration. I'm firming up the guest list plus i still have not decided where to get the cake from.

mrs teng,
Wow... u started disciplining your gals alrdy. I've not so much disciplined my girl but sometimes she will make those loud shouting noise.
Congrats on your girls walking. happy chasing! My back's been breaking to bend down to catch my girl's fall in case she wobbles and falls backward.

snow,
so now you feed zynn rather than she feed herself? Same her, cos I also rather not let my girl make a mess.
But I heard at a certain age, they will wana feed themselves ( i guess when they reach the age of independence) and no choice u gotta let them do it else they will fuss. Plus they self-feed can take damn long like 2 hrs?! and you still hv to clean up the mess. That's what I heard at least... so u be prepared hor...

mommies: Have U thought of a birthday theme for your bb? Pls share... :)

nini - still deciding
Linx - wan Precious moment theme...
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh

YLN,
Abt the doidy cups, u placed the order?

Was speed reading and read somewhere u placed the order alrdy. So how much do i transfer? I guess I will collect the cup from you on the 1 Aug birthday bash.

nini - still deciding
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh
catherine - sesame st babies

nini - still deciding
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh
celynlee - mickey mouse

morning mummies...

off today, planing bring my gal out but see the weather now...... raining day...

nini - still deciding
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh
celynlee - mickey mouse
Mel - Strawberry shortcake

Good morning mummies

Sam
My gal also enjoy doing that! Maybe they find it thrilling, haha.

Snow
Ya heh taking 2-3 steps nia then she will tumble..

Regarding mandarin, I also been trying to speak more to my #1 cos i want him to take mandarin as a second lang instead of malay next time. That day he pointed to his hair and said " hair.... rambut (hair in malay).... Tou Fa..."
ok at least my efforts paying off a lil..

Krex
I was exactly in the same situation as you for my #1 case. My bil also put his gal at my mil's so she had to take care of 2 of them and they were only 3 mths apart. She was exhausted and stressed everyday, its only natural.. I cant blame her la cos it is not easy. So when my boy was 20 mths, and that was when darwisyah arrived, I got a maid. I sent my boy to childcare, and then send maid with darwisyah to MIL cos at that time my SIL also gave birth and the babies are again 3 mths apart!! Now the situation is so much better cos my mil only supervise the maid and she is not taking care of 2 kids exclusively since got helper... Stress no more.. So no choice, got to compromise, see can get any other form of help or maybe wait till Jonah is 18 mths then send to cc.. afterall its about 6 more months.

sam,

hmm...will threatening to quit make her wake up and offer to pull her daughter out? i know my MIL will be worried that my hb will be the sole breadwinner in the family, and may try to interfere. well, as for h1n1, i just set a bad example by going to phuket last month with the boy, so dun think can use that excuse.

rona,

hmmm...would you have much finanical freedom if u worked part time? for me, the amount i earn if i work part time is prob just enough to put food on the table and pay all my bills and insurance. no savings whatsoever.

val,

oh gosh, must be chaotic. is your MIL living in a big house? mine lives in condo but her house is even smaller than my hdb flat. and with 2 babies in the house, it's already very cramped. these days, i dun even want to go home coz' i hate to face my SIL. and if i want #2, how to have 3 kids living in one roof?

Good Morning Mommies!

Snow,
Yaya MOE siam 1st…now HDB does the work since parents are shifting for the kids’ education sake…heehee

Rona,
Ya, my schedule is more or less fixed…I give my #1 homework in the afternoon and will check when I reach home…so far she is rather disciplined, hope she stays this way till schooling age…can tell Mae won’t be so cooperative next time, diff character…hahaha

Rata,
You have the patience so easier, dun think I have the patience leh…jialat, imagine must do 1 for #1 too…I faint liao…

Hisstory,
Haha, just thinking to make things easier for parents…

Ya, I do hope both gals can adapt to the new schedule well…well, sleepyhead can continue sleeping when reach my mom’s pl…heehee

Ling,
Have a safe trip and take care.

Valnsw,
Long time no “see”…no lah, haven’t shift in yet…need to renovate lor…how you dealing?

<font color="#CD3278">ling</font>
Oh gdness.. Hope bb N recovers while on the trip &amp; not scream so much..

<font color="#CD3278">val</font>
Yupz!! Saw u too! We kind of tied down the guest list on Fri.. Quite fast when we really sit down to do it. Cake hopefully settling it this Sat.. *cross fingers &amp; toes*

Need to get the party stuff settled, otherwise it wld be in my mind on top of my mountain load of work

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Hmm, i think it wld be gd tt ur hb or urself talk to ur MIL.. If it's possible, preferrably not have 2 babies in the house, esp if childcare is not a preferred alternative. Quite high chance of infecting each other with flu &amp; colds

And if ur MIL gets too stressed, then both bb won't get the care they need..

Right now my mum is caring for 3.. My niece at 33mo, my girl at 10.5mo, my nephew at 7.5mo. Albeit there's a maid to take care of my nephew at times, but with 3 kids who can all be needy, it gets quite chaotic

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
heheh.. She wld not disappoint u!!

Aiyoh I think hb &amp; i got black eye today.. Can feel my very swollen eyes. Ashley woke at 12+ &amp; then cldn't go back to sleep. Tossed &amp; turned in the cot, carrying also dun want.. Buay tahan

medusa,

i might not feel so upset if my SIL had no one to care for her daughter, but she has in-laws that have no grandchildren and are willing to take care of her daughter. but she feels that my MIL makes a better caregiver because:
1) it's her own mum
2) she was an ex-nurse and can handle bb well

but she's almost 70 and even though each family has a maid, she does not get maid to handle the babies. so if both bbs cry, she will be stressed and dunno who to attend to first. and if one cries, the other will have disrupted sleep. i'm not sure this is the best environment jonah should grow up in and i really wish my SIL would be more considerate and put her bb with her MIL since she's willing to take care. besides, this will be her only child and her MIL's daughter does not plan to have kids. so WHAT's THE PROBLEM? her MIL will only have to take care of 1 grandchild in her whole entire life!

argh, can't stand it. and the worst thing is she will go around telling everybody that my boy and her girl get along very well and can co-exist very happily. i'm so pissed with her!

hisstory,

will u consider letting your child go to childcare when she turns 18 mths? any conflict when 2 families put their bbs with same caregiver? my hb doesn't see anything wrong with the current situation although i'm uncomfortable with it. my SIL is also the kind who will tell my hb how to take care of the kid, sigh. she's a control freak. even my hb also want to control. always dishing out advice for everyone but herself.

i think i will speak with my SIL if her daughter is still at my MIL's place by the time she goes back to work.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
We are seriously considering tt option coz i think it's too stressful for my mum.. If not, at least go for playgroup.. Though childcare is our 1st choice

So far coz it's my sis kids &amp; mine, so i think not a big issue.. But i can understand why ur SIL wld prefer ur MIL to care, coz it's her own mum &amp; like u said, an ex-nurse

Hope everything can work out.. Esp since ur MIL is so advanced in years oredi

medusa
ya, gd choice....cos now chn/mandarin is dominating the whole mkt. =)

m2b
ha ha....but thats the trend, what to do?

birthday theme

nini - still deciding
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh
celynlee - mickey mouse
vone - mickey / minnie mouse

birthday theme

nini - still deciding
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh
celynlee - mickey mouse
Jojobar- Little Prince is 1

snow,
oisit? so i still hv another 1 yr+ more to go til she reaches that age.
BTW say Zynn's photo that day, v pretty with hat.
Keeping fingers crossed that tmrw's photoshoot w my girl turns out ok.

M2B,
so far ok getting settled into the place, only thing is i Cannot stand the noise of the traffic that passes thru my MBR. It faces the road that cars are supposed to go slow but yet i hear loud motor engine noises. Grr....
Plus yday I found a piece of chewing gum stuck to my car roof top, must be some inconsiderate person who threw chewing gum out of their window.

hisstory,
At least u got down to the guest list. So far amongst my friends, few of them replied, still waiting til this Fri to consolidate all. Then will add relatives etc and mb hb's colleagues. Oops... hv not asked him to invite them.
But then if I ask him to invite his colleagues, he will also wana invite his parents etc.

krex,
MIL lives in a 2-storey semi-D. So each sibling, i.e. my hb, his younger bro and younger sis all each hv their own room.
BIL and wife have been "living" with ILs since they were married even though they hv a HDB flat in Buangkok. Last I heard, they rented and now mb alrdy sell off.

Anyway, they basically have been reproducing like every 2 yrs. I alrdy warned my hb to put his foot down if they wana "invade" his room, cos it's so convenient next to theirs. And to top it off, they alrdy took the master bedroom of the whole house. One common room downstairs alrdy converted to a kids' room for their 2 kids. The third one, who is just a newborn, I duno where he/she is gona settle.

Basically I also don't like to go to ILs, cos nothing much to talk to them about. That time, I just wanted to go into the kids' room to feed my girl, my BIL's wife came down and started rummaging in the room for duno what and for gdness knws how long. She only left when I finished feeding my girl. Made me feel like wah... I'm trespassing into her territory like that.

Mb your SIL also has concerns with her MIL, i.e. may not like MIL so dowan her MIL to take care, hence rather want her own mum (i.e. your MIL) to be the caregiver.

Guess you have to approach this sensitively. Maybe you want to voice out your concerns to your hb, get his input and then strategise how you all wana approach your SIL.

valnsw
ya, normally from 2yr old onwards will be interested to self-feed liao. =)
thx, but most of my sis said she looks like hb more leh. =P

tmr u go where for photoshoot?

Hisstory,
Hi 5! Mae woke up at 1am+ ydy and decided to stand up and see if anyone can entertain her…we bo hew her and she later lied down and fall back to sleep again…hahaha

Krex,
Ya, I agree w Hisstory, your SIL of coz prefer own mother take care rather than MIL which will result in a lot more conflict…do try to talk to her and worse come to worse, you may have to consider cc when Jonah is 18mths.

Valnsw,
You will get used in time. Ya, tmr gg where for PS?

hi ladies! wat a wonderful day now after the rain... (in simei anyway).

yoz val,
hope u're feeling much better now.
din manage to catch up, where did u move to? u oredi moved out fm simei?

krex,
how come tis is not 1st come 1st served basis? :p i tink LT wise, if u gonna have #2, u shld try to look for alternative oredi. esp since ur SIL not gonna budge.

snow / M2B,
tmrw going to dphotofolio for the PS. The package that Ruixuan helped to organise. It's the one with all the shots in DVD, so I can print out those I like.

faeriekim,
I just moved into Simei leh, how can be move out of Simei so soon? ;P
Last you posted, you said u got nanny to take care of SY? How abt En Bi? U put her into CC? Which CC did u put her in?

m2b, can la very fast once u got a hand of it. the 2nd book took me 1 afternoon only.
Quite simple &amp; easy unless u do more complex de.

birthday theme

nini - still deciding
sam - elmo
valnsw - winne the pooh
celynlee - mickey mouse
Jojobar- Little Prince is 1
pinky - winnie the pooh

mommies, i read the above thread...actually, it's not easy to handle babies/kids...if gng to hv 2nd or 3rd ones :p who's gng to take care? Even maid i think it's quite hard to handle 2 kids if age gap is so near.. There's one time I purposely ask my maid (who's only taking BB J), can she cope w 2 kids? She told me can't...ai yo..faintz..like dat how to plan for 2nd ones hor...

I personally dun really like to send my child when he's 18mths cos afraid of getting sick all the times if mingle with other kids..haizz..real headache

So i guess to plan for 2nd, must postpone cos i think I'm not able to handle 2 :p

Does any mommies planning to hold their child 1st bd at Hotel? I know Cat did for her ger at hotel.

Not sure if hotel can help to do some simple birthday decoration at the function room? Cos I really got no head or tail how to go abt it :p

val,
silly me! but tat's oso y i tot how come u move out so soon!? gosh... chewing gum on top of the car. *sigh* wat's wif ppl these days?

my nanny still on part-time basis. i let her take care of sy 2/3 days per week. yday was actually my 1st day wif both at home.... how can i describe the way i feel? very yellow-faced-woman
but i was happy at the end of the day though i STILL had problems feeding SY her meals, my #1 still refused to nap on time n woke up whiny...

eb is still wif MMI at bedok. the principal convinced me to let her continue there, since there's progress in her development. but of cos, she helped out greatly wif the fees. tat's the main reason y i let her stay there. no space in josiah in eastpoint, not familiar wif orangetree in eastpoint (n din really liked wat i saw), kinderland usually oni takes in end of yr (not halfway like in my case).

faeriekim,
hmm? which MMI in Bedok? those along Bedok Road?

I heard about Josiah in Eastpoint but I think it's pretty ex tho it's v convenient for u to go pick her up.

I've more or less decided the CC so prob will be going down soon to put a deposit.

Haiz, i knw the feeling, the yellow-faced woman. Sometimes when I think abt it, if dun hv the maid to help out, think i really become mariah.

hisstory,
So you decided to fulfil your hb's wish in having a #2? hehe
U managed to find a suitable CC?
duno how true this is but the one I'm gona put Chevelle is, seems to be full-day playgroup. Or isit another term for CC?
When I see the full-day program, they pack it with activities and different one every day of the week. Of course, there will be bath and nap times.

pinky,
It is true that it's not easy to handle 2 kids at one time, let alone just one kid. It's v important that you get support, from your hb and other extended family or external help i.e. maid.

It is just so co-incidental that yday I was telling hb, that if wana hv 2nd kid, better do it fast, 2-yr gap is ideal. Cos by then the #1 alrdy can start to go CC.

Plus if you have a caregiver to help out, all the better. Cos my mum alrdy offered and told me to quickly hv the 2nd one while she's still not that old and can handle.

Haiz... I'm in 2 minds. On one hand I also wana chop chop finish close shop and told my hb this. On the other hand, I also told him I alone cannot handle 2 kids at the same time, and he must help out by handling #1.
I also told him my mum alrdy offer to help take care.
But then he just keep quiet. Think he's not so keen on it... I duno if by then when he wana hv 2nd kid, if my engine can restart so fast or not.

pinky/valnsw,

same tots on no2..
my mom also told me the same thing, quickly have #2 while she is not so old yet.
but other than the care giver, must also think of the $$ involved for two children lei ...insurance, studies/ milk/diaper/clothes etc wor..
plus i still wanna enjoy shopping/travelling etc..now with one kiddo, still can manage, but if #2 come, not sure how to handle... cos should be sending #1 to childcare and #2 under mom's care,both side also need $$ ??
haiz...sianz...one more thing..age catching up ..

pinky, val,
i also agree with you that taking care of kids is not easy at all... with my mum &amp; maid around, they can barely cope with 1 kid... that's why i seldom hear my mum mentioning to me to quickly have second one... it's my MIL who dont do anything except carrying &amp; playing with bb kept on saying everybody have at least 2... she dont even know how to change baby clothes and diaper at all... just say only dont need money what... she is also very irresponsible in the sense that they got the cheek to want to come to visit bb when the day before she just took care of my niece who has HFMD!!!

somemore with this new maid... all plans have to be postponed... just brought maid back to agency to have a big slashing by the agency ppl... damn stupid &amp; no initiative &amp; got attitude problem... but she kept saying sorry &amp; that she will change &amp; she doesnt want to leave etc so me &amp; HB giving her a second chance...

val,
the MMI is at Bedok Reservoir. very inconspicuous. facing the reservoir. but surprising quite a lot of kids. principal there is very nice n on the ball.
which cc did u decide on? fm wat i see, if they include bath n nap, it's a ccc. agree, josiah is ex, but quite well-rated. they juz told me got vacancy for my #1 next yr. but too bad, my hb has his heart set on korean kindy.

i chose the nanny part-time over a maid. so, it's really heavy duty at home. for those experienced SAHM, pls dun laff at me hor. i've been typing away at my desk for the past 8yrs plus... so tis is totally diff ball game.

interrace,
i dunno abt the other mommies with 2 or more kids, but for me, wowee.. my life totally went outta window. it was oredi a little restrictive wif 1 kid. but now 2?

2nd child:
for the mommies considering, i say GO FOR IT! better now than later, i say. tho i did complain lots on the unplanned arrival of SY, i tink tat the timing/interval was pretty alright. if now's not the rite time? when's the rite time? esp for val, since ur mom oredi volunteer, mai tu liao!

dongle,
the part abt the HFMD is quite inconsiderate. i wld be asking her to wear gloves n mask the minute she enters! haha..juz joking la, how to tell MIL to do tat rite?

wat happened to maid? she did something farnee?

rona / dongle,
I think you all hit the nail on the head lo.
My ILs damn biased and my hb ever mentioned he didn't really want my mum to take care.

Pulease lor... my hb doesn't think w his head. he knws that ILs side alrdy so crowded, how to even take on additional kid. No doubt they hv 2 maids there, to serve ILs, his younger sis, his younger bro &amp; wife and 2 kids.

Now they hv 3 kids hor... can u imagine. If I bring my gal and maid over there, won't u think they will be ill-treated?

Sometimes really pissed off at my hb.

I think deep in his heart he knws logically, not feasible to let them go to ILs' side.
But I think if got chance, he would want ILs to take care.

interrace,
I also hv the same concerns, but when I think of the long-term, maybe now when we're younger, abit more "xin ku" but at least when we're older, we can so call "retire" earlier, in the sense that probably don't hv to work til so old just to support the kids financially.

dongle,
I think if your maid is not so trainable better quickly change one so that you don't invest too much of your time.

For me, this maid, I'm just bidding time so that once I can put Chevelle in CC, I prob will just let the maid go or let her fulfil her 2-yr contract. Now I'm just tolerating her for the sake of hving one human resource to help out w the household chores.

Val/interrace/dongle,

to be frank, when i'm having my first child, i already suffered a lot n oso into depression for abt 3mths before maid comes (it's my first time hiring a maid) which I really realy hv no choice. Cos my MIL doesn't not offer to help me out. And I personally oso think my MIL &amp; FIL are not able to take care of my child too...cos they are working although vry old...

On the other hand, i oso wish to hv a 2nd child bt look at this situation, it's really quite hard...eg: BB J suddenly got fever on sunday and I got to take leave to stay at hm n taking care of him although i've gt a maid..bt maid jia lat, she can't take care of him..haizz..

faeriekim,

ur life outta window with 2kids, then why still ask us to mai tu liao ? kekeke...
kidding k ...i noe what u mean...there's nvr a rite time. like emre also accident, if no accident, i will not be a mommy now still loh..cos mentally nvr will be prepared ??
how big is the age gap for ur two kids ?

valnsw,
i noe loh ..but dun think i will be able to retire early de, me is those got to work till death type.
this tots of #2 been on my mind for the past few wks also loh ...cos see son coming to 1yr liao...tot of starting all over again, one word "tired"..

my son still have nite feeds...who else babies are too ??

dongle,

yr situation quite the same as mine...everybody says at least to hv 2 kids bt dun they kn it's not easy to handle n needs $$$$$..

My MIL oso jia lat one..only play play n tat's it...everytime go back there..i really very sianz liao...

faeriekim,
The CC i'm looking at is near my parents' place so they can pick her up in case I run late.
It's one of those along the Bedok Road area.

heh... what u said, others also advised me too, say since got somebody offer to take care, don't hesitate liao. But as you can see, my hb's the one who's tu-ing...

Sometimes I duno how to knock sense into him.

As for hving the #2, let nature take its course.

pinky / dongle,
Ya...!!! same here. MIL also said the same thing, say one kid is not enough.
She say like v easy, but the one taking care of baby is me leh...
Though I have a maid, every night I'm the one to soothe my baby to sleep and play w her whenever possible.

interrace,
High 5! My girl still wakes up for night feeds. How ah? I really duno how to train her not to wake up at night, cos everyday working night duty shift is my maid who will sleep w my girl.

Plus me now sick, I cannot go too near my girl for fear of passing the virus to her.

interrace,
u caught me there! but yar, life outta window doesn't override having 2 kids, esp if u luv family life n children. :D mine both 'sudden gifts' fm god. who can plan better than tat?
the age gap between my 2 is 18months.

interrace,

same thoughts as u....it's like gng back to square one if having 2nd one cos it's like 'nightmare' lor.. :p

My son dun hv nite feeds but he still will wake up to drink water instead of milk.

wow..fae...can't imagine how u can cope wif 2 kids...

val, better take care of yrself. Night time, it's me n hb taking care of son cos we want our maid hv sufficient rest so daytime she can concentrate taking care of my son.