(2008/08) Aug 2008

pinky
i give E grated cheddar cheese.

tks!!!

This morning....... bb M woke up without cough n running nose. But after she took 2 mouth of my bread....... the running nose came back.

Was having war with her to clear her nose. In the end, she was very tired after the struggle. Sleeping now.

Now........ my turn having running nose.......

but good in a way, good immunity for her when she latch on?? Hahaha!!

I will be sending her to specialist for food allegry test after she recovers. Like what Cat wrote, some can be serious prob. I also dunna anything to happ.

tks.

Ling,

Ok. I will go n ask for the sample and try. FM for me is a NO for now, but can try goat's milk. Maybe she can be better. but for now, i will keep her diet simple n plain.

mummies...
do u know where i can get covers for those heinz glass bottles???
i'm using the glass bottles to freeze food. but not sure where to get bottle caps..that can fit.

Snow,
Ya, I hold myself back from reaching out for the chips…pray I recover soon so I can indulge again…

Hisstory,
Yalor, Mae is so funny…she can wake up, play by herself with the stuffed toys and pillows and fall back to sleep…scary to be asleep for 5hrs rights? If I’m at home, I sure go wake her up…hahaha

Caffeine got no effect on me…I can down coffee or tea and still sleep like a log…heehee

I’m steering away from chips and chocs coz I’m down with bad upper respiratory tract infection aka cough and blocked nose…heehee

Ruixuan,
Thanks for the info!

Sylvia,
Update us on M’s checkup with the specialist.

Ling,
Mae doesn’t sleep that long when she is in the stroller too but at home, she can be quite a sleepyhead…at 8pm+, you can see her yawning and stoned liao…hahaha

rona,
yeah..time to start travel plans..hee..
ya loh, think the angmos taking these lightly.
today at 170+ cases liao ?

snow,
njoy honeymoon period loh ..

april,
who are the we gg to polliwogs on the 4th july?
i just brought my son over last wkend, toddler area not crowded.

happy mommy,
u should be asking how light is my son, keke, i dunnoe wor, din weigh him since his last visit to polyclinic, he weighed 7.2kg then. now i dunno, but dun think got much diff.

ling,
wat's so nice abt farm house?

Interrace,
as of last nite, the count was 168 nia. there were 26 new cases, of which 17 are locally transmitted cases from 2 churchs and the pub at fullerton hotel.

Did you go to Polliwogs last weekend? how's it? fun? I'm thinking of bringing my kids there this week and maybe joining the rest again on 4 july. do you think my 6yo boy will enjoy it? I'm thinking of Little Gym too, where he will be able to learn sommersauts etc.

m2b
just recover hor, also dun eat too much hor. =)
let ur body rest awhile...hee hee...

interrace
think my honeymoon stage can be even longer, cos the person i reporting to is super slow...ha ha...

rona
total 168 liao ah? *gua gua*
heard that moe decided not to delay school reopen some more leh. =P

Snow,
very funny leh, newspaper reported that no delay of school reopen right? Then this morning my collick received news from someone that primary school is to reopen one week later?? think we just got to wait for more news later in the week. don't know if kindergarten will be affected or not. my #2's childcare also very strict nowadays.

Snow,
Yes, mdm!

Snow & Rona,
MOE not delaying school holidays but advised those who travelled to self-quarantine 1st before gg back...I dun mind school starts a week later if it really helps but since already spreading like that, like not much help too...

rona,

decided to extend my leave for one more day next mon to bring jonah to gymboree. my bb so suaku. so big already still haven't gone there yet. maybe with h1n1, the place won't be so crowded so he'll have the whole gym to himself, tsk tsk.

krex,
my bbJ (too!) also suaku leh, have not been to gymboree too. heheheee... we didn't bring him out often and since he sleeps around 8pm every day, he also didn't bring him out when we go out for dinner. So you bring your bbJ next monday? i think good timing, cos school resumes and he may be able to have the whole gym to himself! Good planning!

rona & m2b
ya, quite concern about this h1n1 thingy leh.
not everybody will be so "auto" to quarantine themself ya? =(

Re: Polliwogs
4 jul cannot go leh... my cousin wedding... aiyoh... seem to be missing a lot of fun gatherings... hiaz...

Re: H1N1
snow, rona & those in discussion... anyone office got back up plan like split 2 teams in case 1 team kanna quarantine? mine hv leh...

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Might just catch a nap later.. Now at hm, bb Ashley with my parents
heehee
Evening go pak tor with hb.. hahhah

<font color="#CD3278">Ling</font>
What time does N have her dream feed? U don't intend to wean her ah? Veryvery tiring leh.. I think I wld concuss if I still have to wake for night feeds, esp now tt I'm back at work

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
I dunno if the diameter is the same for the Heinz food &amp; juice bottles. I am using the juice bottle to store milk, so I am using the plastic caps. I knw Mt A's &amp; TMC's pharmacies sell them. Otherwise some mummies may let them go at WTB/WTS/WTE sections..

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Maybe u install a camera &amp; record how she does it.. I think if you're watching it, you wld surely have a gd laugh.. Esp when they are abt to fall asleep, very cute!

gd ger, must take gd care of yourself now hor.. Mae passed to u?

hisstory,
**envy** you need any zzzz virus? can pass some to you... i think my room now is FULL of them now...

rona,

not sure if 6yr old will enjoy ..maybe will initially ba, after awhile should get bored liao, cos the place not very big.
unless he played with other kids at the shoot gun area ba, then he will be very occupied de.

counting down to go home liao..

snow,

good loh, can relax longer..till now i also still relaxing, no full job scope since returned from ML ..

re : discipline baby at 10mths?
anyone started to discipline ur baby liao ?
cos my son will thrown trantrum, dun want to get out of bath tub, once lift him out of bath tub, he will scream and cry like kenna possessed..how ah ? any advices ?

Hahaa..Interrace, normally i will *piak* Falisha's hand if she dun listen. She got this bad habit of taking everythng on the table and throw onto the floor. If she try 1st time, i will just use a strict n louder tone to say no, sometimes it works, it depends leh. haha...if she cry like ur boy, i will let her cry cry then when she quiet down or slow down abit i will say to her Mummy say cannot aredy rite? Dun be nottie. hahaha...not easy siah to start disciplining. The showering one i oso experience that with Falisha, but normally she will eh alittle then i divert her attention to something else then she wont have chance to throw tantrum. hahaha

timminbuzz: eh how come u make ur own pancakes?
Dun instant one more convenient? :p

Catherine: oooh ur durian festa got me so cravings for durians!! :p Carlton hotel if im not wrong have this buffet festa... arggh..but cant eat too much else so heaty in this weather!

mamanged to logn today after a long nite..last nite my mil was admitted, doc suspected to be a mild heart attack causing her lungs to be affected as well..me on leave today to take care of ger..hb told me that mil might nid stay a few morw daes...haiz

chiamz me nid do mth end closing..aiyo now also at a loss...

then last nite around 7plus, i was playing with ger then suddenly she stood up with the help of the coffee table...then in the blink of eyes, she fall onto the floor oh no..the back of her head bang onto the floor..cry till very jialat..

at nite woke up a few time and cry....me monitoring hope everyting ok

sylvia,
hope M is recovering well, bb sick mummy also very tired..take care of urself..

shint,
long time never hear from you..how kai?

M2b,
good gal lor preserve till the end...

celyn,
maybe can give jin feng san?..i also not sure coz ger also like tat last nite...me now very fan over things...first my mil now my gal...then my work haiz

jen,
aiyo sayang P, dun scold #1 coz i think she also dun mean it...

rona,
you going for the gathering at polliwogs?

krex,
me also never bring ger to any places...so far she only went shopping with me..haha JP TM and Orchard

hisstory
*envy*
no time to pak tor since started work. =(

interrace
huh? but abit boring and sleepy ya?
especially afternoon time. =P

shirley
Oh my hope your gerl is fine. Just keep monitoring for any symptoms like no appetite or constant crying yea. Scary hor... Hope ur MIL will be fine too.

Hiaz, suddenly got meeting and after meeting, so many things to do…

Snow,
Yap, not everyone will auto quarantined 1 but come to think of it, even if people got normal flu, also won’t guai guai stay at home mah =P…this is a virus that spread faster coz our bodies don’t have the immunity against it…

Hisstory,
Yes, it will be fun to see what they are doing before they fell asleep…I will peep at Mae when she woke up and see what she doing in bed…very cute…

Shirley,
Oh no, hope your MIL will get well soon…she is the caregiver to your gal?
For the fall, if your gal is still behaving normally today and no vomiting etc, then shd be ok…dun worry...kids always fall down 1...heehee

happy mummy
sure

Mummies, shint called me and said she is interested in going for the bash. Hope its ok with u mummies, cuz we are near exploding number of mummies and i did mention we would give priority to forum mummies.
now, we are just short of snowhamster who has not given me address.
With shint coming along, we will have 34 mummies and 35 bbs..if snowhamster gives me her address as well, we will have 35 mummies ans 36 bbs.

I think we will have to really cap it @ 35 mummies liao...there may be some mummies who maybe keen but cannot confirm earlier..so sorry, but the namelist is really full liao..

i will do an update sometime tomorrow and post the list of mummies going again..

nini
no need to pay now..cuz we dun really know the exact amount also..dun worry..after the bash, we'll show the acounts and settle the payment

Shirley

Hope you MIL will recover soon!
Monitor you ger closely for at least 48 hrs.. dun bother about work, ger ger n family more important. Must take care and don't stress up too much!

Rona

These few days I very busy leh! Those 2 imps dun want to eat, dun know why also.. It's like after their lunar bday, they completely change leh!

Cheril wants to eat but dun want blended all of a sudden, last time tried so many time try to wean her to texture without success. And now she wants textured. And den, Clara give me hard time, dun want textured. In the end, I got to cook two types of food. Very siong ah!

Finally, today I managed to get some textured into Clara's stomach and some moisted food into Cheril's. Cheril want those dry dry type leh.. and now die die also dun want to take from her usually bowl. Must use the porcelain type...

I SURRENDER!

These few days I cooked Porridge for Clara and Couscous for Cheril, today finally fusion both together and they seemed to be okay with it.

Cheril takes it dry

2603979.jpg

Clara takes it slightly moisted with Plain porridge added lor! Previously, I have to cook the usual porridge in case she refused to take couscous

2603980.jpg

Tonite's dinner is : Couscous with sweet peas and carrot, Steamed ikan karau and egg yolk. Additional porridge with ikan bilis powder

2603981.jpg

just wondering, what other kind of breakfast, besides cereal, do ur feed ur bbs?
i keep feeding kaer with cereal every morning..until i am sick of it myself..:p..

mrs teng
they are really unpredictable.. that day bernice refused to eat with her usual spoon MUST be fed in the adult soup spoon. arrghh can die. another day she refuse to eat with spoon. only eat with chopsticks. hahaha..

think we need to be more creative not only with our food but also with utensils. haha

Cat

haha! I agree with you on that... At least you are more adventurous den me.. I dare not give durain yet. I've not even tried tomatoes or cheese cubes yet. These 2 very particular, even when it's natural sweetness from things like papaya, pear or bananas also cannot. So always got to try my luck when giving them fruits bcos if it happens to be too sweet, they won't eat liao.. Not like durain, all these 'Bor Bao Jia'

mrs teng
ya bernice now also dont want her fruits anymore. last time every morning she takes 1/2 apples. not she refuse all fruits. those prev she take now she just refuse to open her mouth. sigh.. end up have to make juice for her instead. but juice quite limited.

Wendy,
K takes around less than 30mins to finish up the 120ml of FM. Ya, have to spoonfeed her leh. She doesn't drink from the bottle or sippy cup anymore. Only thing she is willing to drink from the sippy cup is plain water. This girl of mine loves plain water alot, likes to gulp it down. I always tease her by telling her no one is gonna snatch the water away from her. The FM is on a rotation basis. Example,

1st feed at 6+/7+am: Latch-on
9+/10+am: 120ml FM with Farley's rusks or Heinz's custard or Pigeon crackers
Lunch at 12+pm: Chicken/fish/pork porridge
2+pm: Cereal with 120ml of FM
5+/6+pm: Mee sua
8+pm: Cereal with 120ml of FM
10+pm: Latch-on

She wakes up every now and then in the middle of the night to latch on. I don't know whether she latches on for comfort or hunger. I think it's better to overfeed than underfeed. Anyway, babies are very smart. They will protest when they are full.

Eve,
Your nick looks very familiar. Are you by any chance the Eve who joined my BP?

Ling,
At least N is drinking 150ml, mine only 120ml wor. K doesn't like to eat all those tidbits. Hubby and I gave her choc, ice-cream, Pocky and yoghurt to taste taste, she always makes this "omg, it's so yucky till I wanna gag" face.

Sylvia,
You might want to consult Prof Hugo Van Bever of the Children's Specialist Clinic at NUH. He specializes in paediatric allergy, immunology and rheumatology. We ever brought K to consult him for her nose. She has this chronic blocked nose problem since she was about 1 month old. We went to 2 paediatricians but both of them just prescribed some nasal drops and brushed us off by saying it's a very common problem for infants. Very heartpain to see her breathing through her mouth because her nose is constantly blocked. Did some browsing and research on the net, finally decided to bring her to Prof Hugo one day. He asked us some questions about our health, whether we had childhood asthma or sinus blah blah. Did some physical checks on her and ran through a skin prick test to test for allergens. Turned out all negative, Prof Hugo diagnosed her case as having a small nose structure. Paid $90 for the consultation, excluding medication and test.

Krex,
Whereabouts in Thailand? I just came back from Bangkok with hubby, we were there from 8 - 11 June. Everything was normal there, hardly anybody wearing masks and not chaotic at all.

Like to know if anybody experiencing this? Kaitlyn started sleeping through the night since she was 10 weeks old. However since she was 6 months old, she had stopped sleeping through the night. Initially, she woke up once every night to latch on. Gradually, the frequency increases. Now she wakes up every night to latch on, frequency of every 2 hours or so. It is very demanding and tiring for me. Initially, I thought it was separation anxiety that's causing her to stop sleeping through the night. But now I'm just not that sure anymore. What causes her to stop sleeping through the night? Is it hunger or her seeking the comfort and familiarity? Could any mummies kindly enlighten me on this?