(2008/08) Aug 2008

i've not tried ecreative cakes but their 1st bday cakes mostly 2kg. quite nice looking. about $80 for 2kg. any mummies tried ? I checked thepatissier 2kg Is about $150. double the price lei. pg website down.. so cant check. bengawan is about $40-45/kg

Cat: i think ecreative website so-so only... I oredered a barbie doll design for my niece last mth. The design is ok.. i think they r popular for their design on the cakes, but taste wise ok only. not that sweet..

i like cakes from rive gauche. hehe

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
After i posted tt msg i went the webby to see, yah lor, cannot have outside caterer.. Their platter quite pricey wor!

Yday we went Polliwogs to check out.. They are quite negotiable for sthgs, like the timing. And then the kids can play unlimited till closing time, even after the party. But must vacate the party venue after the time's up.. So not bad a deal also..

But ah, it's a gd $200 more than gogobambini *argh*

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
Me too!!

Is Braiden's cake going to be fr Rive Gauche?

hisstory: ^5! I am not sure leh... Cos my theme is lion king but I dont think Rive gauche do kid's design.. Will have to think about it again.

Initially wanted to order from this lady. But she's not available for my date... Her cakes r wonderful!

http://gladcake.blogspot.com/

yln
think u might like to hold on awhile to ordering the cake?
cos how big the cake might depend on 2 factors:
- how many daddy can cfm turn up eventually
- will u be getting any other finger foods

cat
bangawan solo got a type of crunchy chocolate cake actually not bad also lor. =)

hisstory
ya, but they got some other food serving in their cafe lor.
u might like to nego with them 1st, cos i only noe their chix wing taste nice....hee hee....

polliwogs east side leh, my west side friends will kill me. =X

cakes

ok..then we take the 2kg cake ..
..hmm..still no recommendations from mummies? anyway..i saw that awefully choco has an outlet at vivocity..shall we order from there and just collect there on the day..? but awefully choco got limited choice lar..only choco cake..choco with banana n choco rum n cherry...

<font color="#CD3278">NiNi</font>
The cakes looks wonderful! Am thinking of a Precious Moments theme, and not found any who does this. But this person you mentioned, is also unavailable.. The search goes on

So who are u getting to bake the cake?

Hmm.. Dunno man, must think liao &amp; work on the cost

Re: Birthday Cake for Aug Party
Hee hee, since all our babies are turning one, how about we get a 2kg - 3kg (depends on where we order from) cake with the number 1?
Even though lao2tu3, I kinda appreciate all the numbered birthday cakes I had cos when i was looking for pic for my wedding montage, no need to guess which age :p

mousse
not lao tu lah, everybody got their personal preference mah.
some numbered one cake can look very nice also. =)

gayle,
4 d goodies bag, wat do u hv in mind?

catherine,
if ur old maid has nt gone back yet, u can apply ur new maid as d 2nd maid.

tree nymph,
ouch... tat mus hv hurt. i hope tat ur boy is okie.

yln,
i chked wif hb oledi. we can help wif d bdae cake coz he gt a fren who runs a confectionery shop. so we can get special d/c.
as wat mousse suggest, we can do a no. 1 cake. tis is wat she did 4 my boy's 1st bdae. it's a 3kg cake, d theme is sesame street.

2559377.jpg

1. bdae cake - vone
2. cupcakes - celyn
3. finger food 4 adults &amp; toddlers
4. drinks 4 adults &amp; toddlers - snow74
5. plates, forks, spoons, napkins 4 d adults &amp; toddlers - snow74
6. goodie bags 4 d kids (toddlers &amp; bbs) - gayle
7. photographer - celyn

They tie up with smiling orchid, so they have a menu to make the selection of the hot buffet within the party room.. The thing with gogobamibini is the food is ang-mo jiak kind, my parents &amp; ILs are those who must have teng-lang food.. hahah

hey vone

..k ..so u settle the cake ar..

finger food
im not sure if we have time to have finger food ..cuz there are so many of us there..we may just want to take the cake and chat..plus drinks..

snow
what kind of finger food u have in mind?

Hubbies coming for bday bash
there are so far 6 hubbies who will come along..not sure if will have last min turn up..will 3 kg cake be safer? (if got no finger food? ) if got finger food, then we order 2 kg cake?

Invites
I have sent out 21 invites to mummies who have given me their addresses...should get them by nextt week. Pls drop me an email(mentioned in the invite) so i can keep track , k? thanks ya..

<font color="#CD3278">vone</font>
tt's a yummy looking cake! Did you get the 3D figurines urself or your hb's fren's shop has them?

hisstory
like that u cannot choose gogo liao lor, its more for ang moh 1. =|

yln
we might not have time for food, unless those that bb can sit properly and eat by themself. =P
cos last post i understand is we got no finger food lor, thats why i'm thinking maybe need 3kg cake. =)
so far its already 36 adults + kids ya?
if really looking for finger foods, old chang kee?
abit heaty lah, but less messy.

YLN,
I'm also not keen for makan, except for the cake. Cos we've only 2 hrs... and many mummies are coming alone with baby. Let's just chat and play and take lotsa photos???

vone,
can i hve the contact too?

mommies,
is cake avenue good? i need a 3D cream cake, no need fondant... any recommendations?

regarding the Aug baby Bash
can i suggest to order Delifrance catering http://www.delifrance.com.sg/ <font color="ff0000"> under catering</font> for their finger food ...

this H) Mini Tart Canapes is quite worth it...

A $35 delivery fee is chargeable for orders less than $150.. <- so need to order $150 and approx each family $5 to $10

order and share the cost..

any suggestion?

latest news
a mummy here found a cheaper photographer

details:
The rate for birthday party is:

$160 for 2 hours of photography
Returned all edited images in high resolution on a printed DVD.

If you are looking at 3 hours, it will be $220, and returned all edited images in high resolution on a printed DVD in a custom designed photo casing.

The quality printing of the DVD is using the latest technology so that prints are waterproof and long lasting.

do we want to take the cheaper one? or continue with celyn's contact? we need to confirm this soon cuz photographers can be quite in demand, if we dun want their service..better release our slot so they can take other business..

Celyn's contact can give us all mummies a dvd of pics ..whereas this cheaper one..i think we got to copy ourselves..

cakes
ruixuan suggested delifrance..if nobody is keen and there's no comments...we'll stick to the big cake idea...k?

snow
i dont like bengawan cakes. they use premix sponge cake mix.

nini
the cakes taste nice or look nice ? i had very bad experience with cheryl shuen.. looks so nice but taste was very disappointed. till today i'm still sore about it.

vone,
know where to get the sesames st figurines ?

e-creative cakes
can we don't order from ecreative? don't quite like the cakes, too much colouring used, don't think its too good for the kids... their cakes so so only too... i think prima deli's normal vanilla sponge cake is better then ecreative's.

morning mummies. =)

cat
oh, ok....cos i thought i saw u ladies mentioned about budget mah.

ruixuan
actually both delifrance and coffee bean &amp; tea leaf got this kinda finger foods, but hold back cos i dunno how many ppl can accept that price lor. =P

coffee bean party snacks are quite good, esp the sandwiches and pastries. but mousse is right, if only got 2 hours, then let's focus on play and the cake, since it's the highlight of turning 1! mommies + bbs can always go harbourfront or vivo for proper dinner later.

see lots of comments about having a good cake. maybe we just order from a good quality one, like pine gardens? i've never eaten their cakes before but many mommies here got good reviews of the cake. and i think their prices quite reasonable also. we can order either 2kg or 2.5kg. if no one can collect, then we request for delivery lor.

is there supposed to be cupcakes and goody bags too? wasn't following very closely but saw some mention of it somewhere.

for me, a party with kids playing and later surrounding a giant cake sounds cool!

morning mommies

Celyn
If what ur friend mean by unused is the blur n out of focus one, dont wan lahh

Tot unused mean not selected one

YLN
agree, I dont think we really need finger food... just 2 hours with so many bbs n mommies... bet we'll b busier chatting :p guess just need more liquid.. after that everybody can go for proper dinner... finger food b4 dinner time mite kill dinner appetite lor... :p Least that's my hb's principal :p

Hisstory
hi 5 !! I'm also thinking of precious moment theme but so difficult uh ? do share share if u do find something

Jacob ballas children garden
Mommies, me still racking my brain for the venue.. anybody here has info reg the above ? the price, catering n total ppl can accomodate ?

Halo Mommies!
Mae is down with cough but glad she is still eating and playing well.

Valnsw,
Must be happy with your new bag right? Nice bag!

Twin Stars,
Ya, we are also selling 1st and staying at my mom place and IL pl for the time being…looking ard..gg for some viewing later and tmr…

Celyn &amp; Hisstory,
Yup, Raine is still taking milk twice a day…morning and night before bedtime…good for calcium. =p Will let her continue taking…

YLN,
Thanks for organizing and please let me know if theres anything I can do to help.

To make things easier for YLN, why dun we have some mommies to help YLN and just leave all planning to them (so called Committee)…easier I though. =P Just my opinion lah.

YLN

I am ok with any photographer

As for food, I think Ling Ling is right.. need more beverages than snack if we hv the big cake. Plus 2 hours only, very fast will be up since so many parents n babies. Then food might not be taken much then we hv another headache of how to pack the remaining food again.