(2008/08) Aug 2008

Err.. i juz bought this from medi-ya.. Should i jus cook with the porridge or i must make it into powder? *blur*

2515056.jpg

Halo Mommies!
Wat a lazy Sunday...no shopping for me today...heehee

Snow,
Congrats on finding a job. Ya, earn more $ for more sprees.

Cat,
Hope Bernice gets well soon!

Hisstory,
Never go shopping today? =P

Celyn,
Ya man! YZ really know how to enjoy!

Valnsw,
Haha, it is always like that...when they can't crawl, we want them to crawl, when they can't walk, we want them to walk but when they do, it is busy and tiring time for the parents liao...now with Mae crawling ard, I wish she is still lying still instead...easier to manage lor...

thanks for all the well wishes. bernice still got running nose and phlegm. no fever but temperature has increased and now at 37.7. hope fever dont come back tonight..

I tried the pigeon nasal sucking thing.. cannot get her to keep still. how ah ?? i heard very good but i spent 30mins struggling with her.

i look back at Braiden pics when he was smaller... I find that he looks much cuter last time leh... Now like grow up abit liao, face also mature abit liao..haha..no more cute leh.

cat,
I use the pigoen thingy too. Must get someone to hold Bernice's hand and you hold on the her head. She will struggle and cry, but let her be, cause if you dun let her, you cna't do the job.

I noticed Adel's fever is always at night also. For us, we put the keep cool patch on his forehead before he sleeps, just in case. But the fever still will come... we have already used 5-6 boxes since his fever started.

Nini,
I cook the sliverfish directly in the porridge then mash it up in the pigeon bowl before giving to A.

Celyn, eve,
Thanks. Yes, being in infant care really has this dieadvantage. Sigh... he is not allowed there for one week. Doc say cannot go and spread the disease to other children. We will abide to it, but not sure whether other parents will lor. Can't stop them if theyt do... just hope everyone is socially responsible.

hi ladies. =)
thx for all the well wishes, hopefully i still got energy to play with both my gals after work tmr. =P

cat
hope bernice is felling better now.
u take care also ya!

hisstory & m2b
i scared these 2 mths no time for spree lor, u noe the probation thingy lah....hee hee....
so scarry, start work during gss time. =D

Catherine

Pigeon nasal decongestor not so good as NUK ones, cos it's just a tiny tubing and does not covers the nostril completely, therefore doesn't have the vacuum effect.

I, one person handle my gal when I do it bcos another person may not be able to hold properly n you risk the chance of poking the eye if Bernice struggles too hard.

I use a thin large towel to swaddle my gal before sucking.. Cradle her before sucking hor! this the nurse used thick blanket when they did for my gal. I saw with my own eyes..

My PD told be got to do that way, otherwise you won't suck properly and still be congested. I'll show you want I meant. see if I can get pic

Happy_mummy, Catherine

Here's 2 pic of what I meant by the diff between the 2 decongestors. ~ u need it to be fully covered before you can suck. I'm sure you want the best for your babies. Dun want them to have flu too long and have thick phelgms.

Thanks to Cheril who is willing to demo without screaming, I think she's know I'm doing it for her good bcos I always helped her clear her nose

First Pic ~ Pigeon one Long tubing can't be inserted all the way in because it may scratch or hurt interal of baby's nose, esp when baby wants to forcefully pull it out. Noticed that there a little gap between the tubing and the nostril? that's wat I meant by not have vacuum effect when there's air going in.

2515384.jpg

Second pic ~ Nuk, althought it just sit on the edge of the nostril, it covers entirely, so can suck better.

2515385.jpg

I'm not advetising for NUK but I just want what's best for Adel and Bernice.

as mention before i left for book fair, i'm going to share how naughty my yu ze is but now i got 1 naughty act and 1 good act to share. heheh....

naughty act:
both hubby and i were tired except for yu ze who is still active. so we decide to lock all 3 of us in yu ze's room, then he can play with his toy and not crawling to anywhere that we don't know while we 2 can nap a bit on the floor.

subconsiously, i know he is playing with his drawer again. then suddenly, hubby wake me up. yu ze had topple the container of baby powder on himself and also the drawer of bedsheets & nappy. also don't know how he manage to have 1 leg inside the drawer and 1 leg outside. somemore its not the swallow drawer, it the middle size one. so we got to clean up the mess for him. i told yu ze, he is not at babysitter's place, no need to put baby powder one. only at babysitter's place, then got baby powder.

happy thing:
though yu ze knows how to hold his bottle long ago but he is lazy bum and refuse to hold it for all the feed. his hands will be busy playing with his bolster when he drinks milk. so just now, i decided to get him to hold his own bottle. not going to hold for him anymore. so i took his hand to hold the bottle and i let go. at first, he will drop the bottle the moment i let go. then i try again and told him to hold himself. for the 2nd time, he manage to hold and finished the bottle of milk while i walk off to do other things. so happy. i'm going to do this from now onward, shall tell babysitter about it tomorrow too. then he will learn and do it for every feed.

mrs teng,
cheril is a good girl leh, willing to be model for all the mummies here who need help in this. i didn't get any of these but when yu ze got flu, i also don't know what to do but just leave it. cos he will struggle when i try to touch his nose.

nini,
hahah... i know what you mean. i feel that yu ze is cuter when younger too.

m2b,
hahha... yah loh.

eve,
yah loh. and its school holiday now, babysitter will also plan programme for that special boy and yu ze get to tag along too.

Happy Mummy,

Denzel also on Enfa A+. I may be ordering in bulk again. Do you want? I forgot hoe much is it. I will find out an sms u.

happy_mummy / Catherine,

Not sure if the Pigeon suction pump u are talking about is this one:

http://www.pigeonbaby.info/product.php?pr_id=162

I used this when Chevelle had snot and phlegm. This one is better than the Pigeon one shown by Mrs Teng from what I heard.
Still need to pin her down cos she will also struggle.

As for NUK, I've not used it so cannot comment.

val/mrs teng
ya the one i'm talking about is the one Val posted. the tube one. the portion which goes to the nose is like the Nuk one which mrs teng posted, but slightly smaller. i have one similar to the nuk one too. dont feel it's very good. maybe the Nuk one better ba. not sure.

val, i cant do it. my mom hold her but she keep turning her head here and there and struggle.. sigh.. in the end i gave up.

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
nono.. Got church in the morn &amp; afternoon the ger's gotta orhorh.. Am hoping to get some news of sales at Gucci/Prada/MiuMiu though.. hahah

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Nvm, when u get the momentum right at your work, you can always make up for lost time.. heheh

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Do it quick! The weather these couple of mths are perfect for swimming..

Oh may, YZ made you really busy.. *congrats* on training him to holding the bottle

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Cheril's such a cooperative model leh

Catherine / Val

Ok! that's the one with long tubing.. didn't use it bcos very difficult to hold baby and pump at the same time, at one point, got to hold my gal n the tubing tip, den no hands to pump liao. That time, no one but me in the house dare to suck for baby. Haizzz. I'm always the one doing the dirty job.

I'll swaddle Cheril, Craddle her with my left arm, den hold a few pieces of tissue with the same left hand. Suck from the nose, pump out on the tissue and repeat this step a few times.. Got to do fast becos she'll be struggling and wailing lor.. Do about 4 or 5 times clear liao.. den give her nasal spray and she'll claim down almost immediately to drink milk or dose off the sleep.

happy_mummy,
There was one time when she was 4 mths old she kena virus by the adults who passed to one another.

There was phlegm stuck in her throat and then got some medicine. Then think the med helped to get through to the nose for me to suck out.

Can hear her suck in phlegm as she was drinking milk.

Catherine / happy_mummy,
It's like that one, u gotta be accurate and fast so that it's less stressful for your baby. maybe the one who's holding her arms, can shake some rattle or her fav toy above her/him so can look up then easier for u to suck out.

Duno if this helps but there's a knack of sucking. When you suck from your mouth, use the tip of your tongue to support the bottom of the tube while your top teeth clench/grip onto the top of the tube for better grip and control. Then the sucking will be more forceful.

This is what I noticed based on my experience. Hope this helps!

Celyn
hihihi.... Saw YZ pics enjoying his ball,, u very fast uh :p mayb will b fun if we all go 2gether

Snow
Congrats.... take a good care of ur health now u'r getting busier.....

Tigg3r
saw gathering's choc cake by U... Looks yummy,, R u sure we cant make order ? Plz plz :p
wow Cheril so good uh...didnt scream n can b a model on this matter... When my gal hvg flu, I cant even get close 2 her nose :p She'll screams n struggles

Cat &amp; Happy mummy
Hope Bernice n Adel recover soon... tiring hvg an unwell bb.... My gal oso will struggle n scream if I try to suck her nose.. Worse is me oredi heartpain seeing her scream, and hv 2 hold her down myself, my mom will scold me like anything cos of that
Sighhh.... more pain 4 me...
Saw Bernice's little nonya, so cute uh... n her hair really a lot !!

Mummies who is SAHM n handling her bb w out any help, could u share ur time table ? how 2 take care of bb n prepare the meal since bb bit sticky ...Think I really need to learn a lot fm u guys since nobody can b relied on....

Celyn
4got 2 ask,,, how u cook the 11 grain rice uh ? mum said some grain faster cook while other not yet then if we use normal pot put on top of stove, seems many powdery things floating or fly up.... How uh ? Or is it just me ?:p

mommies..how do u bath ur baby? i m using a baby tub (those that u bought during wedding) but my boy always like to stand up... wah lau.. i have to hold him down n sometimes he slide down n knock his face on the sides of the tub then blueblack.. How to make him bath n cooperate with me?

morning mummies

nini,
at babysitter's place, there is a special chair where he sits and she use shower head. at home, we just started to use shower head on him but he continue to sit in bath tub. won't stand up cos he will use his hand to beat the water, so water is his toy.

lingling,
i use to grain them but now i don't. cos of the different size, so some cook faster than others. i believe its ok cos when we adult eat, we cook in rice cooker also the same time for all right. anyway, i wash the grains then put a lot of water to cook for at least 20-30mins on fire stove. after that, transfer to slow cooker to continue to cook. when i feed, if i feel that its still like a bit hard, i just use spoon to mash a bit then feed. cos yu ze like texture food.

yah. maybe more fun when they are lots of babies.

hisstory,
heheh.... ok ok.

apriltan &amp; happy mummy,
now, not taking enfapro meh? still on enfalac?

Good morning mommies,
anyone wanna order cereals / jar foods from Healthy Times? http://www.healthytimes.sg/products.php
for orders > $150, there is a 10% off while for orders > $250, it is 15% off.

Collection at:-
1) my place at Compassvale Rd,
2) Sengkang mrt, Compasspoint
3) Harbourfront / Vivo - for small order only coz i'll be travelling by mrt with bb

Pls PM me if wanna order. Thanks

morning mommies

Just heard frm my frd that she's preggy... make me miss my preggy days, hahahaha.

She told me something which I find "incredible" leh. She said she last BD wz her hubby ard 25Mar then her period came on 08Apr... She started spotting for abt 1wk ard end of apr then realised she's preggy!

Am I the only suaka one or wat? I thought once ur period comes then means no chance of being preggy? Me really curious leh. Anyone heard of such cases huh?

Ling ling

How's Nandini doing? hope she's feeling much better.. Missed you that day leh! HB home from biz trip?

Well! if you want a simple cake n not particular about the theme or taste, I can help you make one. I'm not good at modeling sugar paste figurine, so if you want things like pooh, probably need to hunt for those plastic figurines lor. I can only confirm after I conquer my gals' birthday cake. Really need to be confident enuf to make big ones.. Hope you can understand.

celyn
for a moment, I kept thinking y u call yu ze "smelly old" then now I realised it means "chao lao" in hokkien. wahahahahaha.

yu ze is 1 lucky boy compared to kieren liao. I'm a lazy mommy, too lazy to bring kieren out alone w/o hubby.

lingling
I cook kieren's porridge using the slow cooker. He's also v clingy so I'll cook his porridge either when he's asleep or when he's engrossed playing. I'll just quickly prepare the food n dump everything inside the slow cooker. Sometimes he'll cry for me when I'm still preparing halfway but I'll just let him cry then I'll quickly finish up wat I'm doing then go to him.

Nini
I'm still using the bathtub but I got a bigger one. Kieren will sit in it while I bathe him. He still dunno how to stand w/o support.

Good Morning Mommies!
School holiday so planned some holiday programmes for #1 and this Fri will be bringing her for a play…time to shop too! =P

Snow,
Had a great 1st day! Ya man, start work during GSS so no more weekday shopping…

Nini,
I AGREE! They are cuter when younger…hahaha…was telling my frens, bbs babbled now, we said so cute but like my #1 talks non-stop now and I feel “fan” at times…oops!

Bathing – Mae sits in the bath tub and we use the shower head on her.

Celyn,
Good job YZ! I also let Mae hold her own bottle a few times over the weekend…same for her, know how to hold long time ago but refused to do it!

Hisstory,
Heard from my SIL that Prada and Miu Miu is having sale starting this Fri!

good morning mummies
havent been appearing for a while..was on course the whole of last week..now its the HOLIDAYS!..yeahh!!..just went for a morning jog with kaer in her stroller..hope to do this more often since holiday now..but dunno i got stamina to do this so frequent ..heeheee.lazy me..

father's day pressie
hey anyone has ideas on what to get for hubby for father's day? i m thinking of buying something for hubby on behalf of kaer lor..but dunno buy what leh...

celyn,
wow YX sure enjoyed himself in Wild wild wey with Daddy..also agreed with Ling that you should get a swimsuit and join in the fun..haha
sat go swimming, sun go polliwogs huh? yoy really super mummy leh plan so many good activities for Yuze, if me sure peng san..

think April organising another one on wkends, you want go again?

happy mummy,
sayang Adel, dun be so hard with yourself and do take care..maybe we can meet up for drinks next week? next week i am sure Adel will be good and healthy

Giarffe,
how Anna? hope will recover soon

Cat,
yeah our forum got beauty queen Alliver, now got future Jeanette Aw..so cute leh..do take care, hope Bernice recoevr soon..

nini,
maybe try distracting with toys? me also shower ger with the shower head, she will sit in the tub playing with water and toys..

snow,
jiayou on your new job

von,
so you managed to get the thermal swimsuit?

Ling,
Nandini better?

mrsteng,
wow ur cakes really look very yummy and pretty...

Celynlee,
Yuzhe is very adventurous and brave!

Mrsteng,
Your cake looks like one from the bakery!

Cat,
LoL on princessbernice’s nonya hairdo! She has the making for sure!

Good morning mummies : )

Celyn
Heh yuze looks like he had lotsa fun in the water! How was the gym play? Did he have fun? Wanted to bring the kids on sat but hubby on reservist kena called up for duty.. think prob another time.

Happy Mummy
Hope adel gets well soon. Relax, it's always tough when the child is sick..Do take care of yrself too.

Cat
Haha! Yr xiao niang re bernice so kewt! All she needs is to put on her kebaya... heh!
Anyway I am also using the pigeon sucker, the one with the tube.. Tink you have to pin her down, no choice. Everytime I do for darwisyah she will scream and cry until damn cham but after everything comes out she feels better

M2B
Heh! I also bot tops from GG5 last friday at vivo, got 3 tops.. Hiaz.. the lure of GSS..

Snow
Congrats on you getting a new job!

Medusa,
Ya man! But last Fri, I spent more on the gals than on myself lor...their books and IQ games from Book Fair cost more than the top I bought...hahaha

Vivo GG5 more variety? PS outlet not much choices...

Aiyo, feel like shopping again...now with GSS and the online shopping, cham man!

M2B
Vivo one not too bad I feel but during lunch hour the crowd quite alot.. Myabe PS branch a lil smaller thats why..

Ya same here la.. I am back to "surveying" BP spree again.. cham liao la.. Just ordered some books for the kids.. heh

HI mummies

Gathering at vern's place
saw the pics in Fb, aiya.. miss the fun... keep me in the loop fo the next one

Celyn
yuze had lots of fun during the weekends.. u sure got alots of activities planned for him.. so good

catherine
do take care... so sad that baby fall sick.. very heart ache and tiring task..

Happy Mummy
u too!! do take care plus ur whole family.. can rest, better rest more.

Mrs teng
where u buy the froggy legs? which part u use to cook??
how to cook too?

Ruixuan

I bought from the Sengkang (Rivervale Plaza Wet Market) I understand from my neighbour some Seng Siong supermarket may also have fresh ones.
They will clean for you. Either you just throw in the legs or whole frog to cook. But got to be careful of tiny bones. I use slow cooker, so the whole frog will be taken out and I'll extract the meat from the legs and put back into the porridge. If you cooking over the shove, it's best you boil the frog to get stock and den use stock and the meat to cook porridge. The easiest way is to cut the meat, remove bones from the frog and cook it. But this way, not much calcium will be retained.

ruixuan,

ya lor all my colik say boy leh..eh got girl rides meh? you mean like cartoon character ones huh? very ex leh ger'car ride only 20 cents leh..cheapo mummy

mousse,
wow smart boy leh..he realli enjoy very much

hmmmm...

next time gathering please don;t organze on Saturday? cos my kids got classes and i can't join leh. then i cannot eat the goodies Mrs Teng prepared...

juz a little question, any mummies' bb still on pacifier? me had been toying with the idea of weaning ger off it leh...any mummy had successfully do it? any ideas?