(2008/08) Aug 2008

Missyz,
14 June!

hello mummies, what a busy day again...

cat,
oh so good, bernice know how to enjoy swimming & playing with water aledi... cayla still freeze whenever we go to the pool... last sat, managed to let her sit inside her float, when i tell her "kick jerry" (kick my dog) then she will happily kick her legs but once she float away from me, she still cry very loud...

me,
i swim around 4 to 5pm cos my pool is kind of sheltered by my neighbour's house so no direct sun... we play in the pool for 20 to 30mins then i will ask my maid to bring her up to bathe and i will continue swimming for a while... i saw my neighbour brought her 10month old boy swimming around 11am... at that time also no direct sun cos my development very small so the pool like kena blocked most of the time...

Mel,
I just did a google searcg and it is 21 June but I saw from a calender and it shows 14 June...hmmm...I know Fathers' Day is always on the 3rd Sun so shd be 21 June...

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>
jasmine also hates those sippy cups with spouts. i bought Avent 1, Nuby 1, she hates both. i tried let her drink from them for since she 6mo. but no improvement. Then last mth i bought Pigeon straw cup (the made in japan 1) and she loves it. She immediately knows how to suck from it!
i'll put it on the coffeetable and she'll take it herself and drink

occasionally i'll let her drink from the SteadyCo toddler cup. she also loves to drink from that but it can be rather messy coz she doesn't know how to hold and control the flow.

Vanilla_Pod

I've not tried Chye Sim because it can be quite bitter. Not too much shouldn't be a problem. Kailan also can give.

Wahhhhh so many dates for father's day... So Confusing......

Missyz
ya lor... hopefully we'll make the hb feel bad enough hihihi

Training cup
Me trying to get the Tommy Tippee one as suggested but got confused.. Is the one Mrs N suggesting that time is the easyflow type ?

Many bbs so smart uh can suck from a straw... Hmmm, tried to do it for my gal but she doesnt know how to suck from the straw, ended up she pulled up the straw n playing with it :p

what's wrong with the forum? I've been loading and still only old posts come up... had to go in from the homepage... sianz...

krex, I got your invite... thanks!

mrs teng, wah... drool... what is the white base? royal icing? and how to do the imprint? Last week I tried making fondant... so soft... sianz...

dongle, I used to do DSB last time... now no time leh... you want to do the actual hardcopy SB or digital one?

Linx, fathers' day is the 3rd sunday of june whilst mothers' day is the 2nd sunday of may...

Ling;

Think Father's day fall on 21st June, 3rd weeks of June...

Training Cup
My bb also one of the bbs don't suck from straw, she prefer drink direct from cup, but also always wet her top... haiz

Jen
Ohhhhh.. Like that uh hehehhe... me very suaku bout this thing here lor.... THanks hor... now need to think of something to do for hb ..... any good idea ? :p

Mel
eheheh ya lor.. my gal oso... Think she sees us n wanna imitate us lor.... Like to drink water from mineral water bottle or cup but yes we need to change her after that :D

linx, idea for fathers' day? If I hv time, I'll be baking a cake... but dun ask me to decorate... hahaha...

Hb owe me presents big time... 1 for v-day, 1 for b-day, 1 for m-day... I see nothing yet...

Vern, is ur gathering still on?

Just brought Tristan to PD tody. He say got phelgm, and milk thickens the phelgm, that why he doesn't drink milk. He was put on nebilizer there and was advised to dilute the milk. As long he eats his solids and drink water, not need to be too worried.

Re straw: How do u train ur baby to drink from straw?

Jenjen

Yeah, it's not easy to handle fondant. Where did you get your fondant? Dun tell me Red Man.

The base I use a little vanilla buttercream to attach the fondant. I use 50/50 shortening and margarine instead of butter for my buttercream.

Here's the imprint I used for this cupcake :

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=93495AAA-423B-522D-F11F0C5BE27A3F93&amp;killnav=1

Also got another one that I like too!

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=93495A9A-423B-522D-F75E1A380176D0BF&amp;killnav=1

I also din get anything from hb for v-day or m-day... B-day and Anniversary not here yet... so I dun know...

Well, he did get me a diamond ring on babies' full month celebration.. n a LV bag for last X'mas.

brought SL to PD cos today is his 4th day of fever and petechiae rashes appear on his
lower abdomen area ..thought it might be dengue fever and decide to seek
PD's advice... did blood test and urine test.
PD unable to confirm that it is really dengue cos the platelets count is still within normal range...
but his white blood cell count is pretty low and PD state that it might be virus fever and "false measles"
SL's urine test is normal. thus went home with panadol and brufen..

SL refuse water and milk intake today despite using cup or spoon the moment water or milk touch his mouth,
he will cry.. he only take 1 bowl of porridge since morning....

celyn
SL today weighs 7.5kg in clinic... going to join u soon...

Mrs Teng,
The chinese physician at Yu Guo told us to give chinese barley but must boil for at least 1.5hrs leh... think maybe they scared too cooling if didn't boil long enough.

ruixuan,
does SL has ulcers in his mouth that's why he refuses any kind of drink? poor boy. but he has to eat and drink something leh... too young for ice water... how?

Rona
PD check liao.. no ulcers leh...
Maybe SL's appetite is low...
just wait and see how...
cos Sl had been sleeping since 1330hrs and now still sleeping

hi ruixuan, for brufen, u may want to check if necessary to take it...i read somewhere that bb under 1 better not take it. for my son when he is hospitalised my doc didnot give him brufen cos it will damage his kidneys....hope ur son will get well soon!

thanks rona - the woman at Eu ren seng did say boil longer but she never tell me how long
-

vanilla,
if you are staying in the east, you can consider bring your boy to Yu Guo for tuina. may improve on his constipation condition.

Ruixuan,
Poor SL, hope he gets well soon and appetite returns...yes, must get him to drink some water coz if not dehydrated...he must be feeling so uncomfy...

Vanilla,
Think Brufen is given only if the fever exceeds 38.5 every 6 hourly as it is effective in bringing the temp down....once temp is down and stop that and give paracetamol instead...

SL just woke up... temp 38.4. just give panadol... he just drank 80ml of milk.. should be alrite liao.. at least he drink a little

<font color="#CD3278">timmin</font>
Wah.. Then i better go uncover the treasures.. Afterall it's nearby!

<font color="#CD3278">Ling</font>
It's really hilarious.. Hope I hv the opp to record it down on video

<font color="#CD3278">Cat</font>
Bernice sounds really cute.. Any video? Wld love to see her in action! heheh

<font color="#CD3278">Ruixuan</font>
Oh dear.. Hope the little one regains his appetite soon

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
heheh.. Think I better think on the positive side &amp; enjoy my PT maid with her excellent service of mopping the floor

Did Mae enjoy the run too?

Me back from bangkok. So shiok, I really cheong bb stuff, bought back quite alot of items for Yumin. But I was kiasu, so most of the items can wait till next year I think... hee

jen,
im more interested in the actual hardcopy scrapbooking...

ruixuan,
sayang SL, hope he is better now... last week, cayla also kena fake measles after her fever... takes about 4-5days to subside...

Donglez
I know this shop in Plaza Singapura called "MAde with love". their thing quite expensive. Last time they used to buy certain amount and got free class... maybe can called to ask... the staff can be abit "funny" kind...

i went there few times before

http://www.madewithlove.com.sg/
tel: 6837 3464

rona
it's a bakery off upp thomson rd. called Singapore or Singapura Bakery. they only start selling bread after 6pm i tink. fresh from the oven! still warm! and it's super cheap. no preservatives too. so i usually get my bread from there.
near u?

hisstory
u know where?

Mrs Teng
Wow.. your cupcakes are totally impressive!! Your hb's colleagues are a blessed lot to be able to eat them!

Hisstory
D's rash came back recently but just slightly. The terrible heat today didn't help at all!! Now.. we try not to apply the cream with steroids too often. If the rash still doesn't go away by the 6th or 7th day.. we stop. In fact.. I've resorted to using Hazeline Snow!! I think it is helping a little.

Any moms using HS for their baby's skin?

Rona / Ling Ling / Aphrodite
Ya.. we were quite happy when he took his first sip with the straw! What we did actually to help him 'learn' was to use a normal straw.. using the finger to create a vacuum so that there is water in the straw. Then put the other end of the straw to bb's mouth and for the first few times.. just release the finger so that water flows into his mouth via the straw - just to let them have a 'feel' of the water via the straw. Then later.. release and stop the flow and see if bb sucks - you will be able to tell. After a few tries.. they should be able to get the hang of it.

Hope you understand what I'm saying!! Hee..

Krex
Yes.. I started D on Tommee Tippee's sippy cup (spout) when he was about 6+ months. Then only recently progressed to the straw. When I first let him try the sippy cup, I was afraid that he wouldn't be used to it.. but he immediately sucked on the spout, so we were quite happy.

Hee.. if Jonah can learn to drink from cup and skip the straw step.. quite cool also!! I'm sure now it's quite messy with water dribbling down their chins onto their tops. During meal times, I too feed D with a spoon because I don't want him to dirty the straw with his cereal or porridge. Quite gross..

BTW.. ooh.. spinach risotto sounds really healthy and yummy! Hee.. Let me know how Jonah takes to it!

Timmin
Cous cous?! Nice!! What did you add to the cous cous? Chopped vege?

How was his appetite today? Better?

Dongle,
Can also try http://www.laines.com.sg/
Alternatively, there are some scrapbooking online shops that advertise on SMH (check BP or business thread).

To start, you can probably buy a kit like Scrapbook in a bag so you get a feel of how things go.

ruixuan, u wan to go visit Dr Dor? Actually mayb the ucler not develope yet but in progress coz dat time when i brought Jac to see another pd who open on sun she check no ucler but when i went back to Dr Dor on tue her throat is red &amp; got ulcer. is like dat when they r sick they dun drink or eat much dats wat happen to Jac too. Luckily we manage to get it all over within 5days else dunno if she will loose weight or not. Can try to dream feed.

dongle
aiyo ... poor jerry. hahaha. i using photobook to make scrapbook. i think mrs teng does the physical ones.

ruixuan
hope SL gets well soon.

re: straw
bernice also drinking from the straw. but i went from nipple to spout to straw, i didnt skip any step. and so far only pigeon mag mag works for her.

2494557.jpg

hisstory
nvr video lei.. cos i was in the water with her..hahaha..

wemdy
E's rashes also came back!! i tink the weather contributes to it! argh!!

re: couscous
i added it to his bolognaise sauce. hee... i tink u can add it to anything. n couscous is so easy to prepare! :D

he ate his oatmeal fruit brekkie. but he only ate more cos i laid his oatmeal on bread. haha... quite glad cos it's e 1st time i added formula &amp; he didn't seem to mind it. tho he didn't eat much of his lunch. my hb fed him his dinner and apparently he ate almost e whole serve. so *phew*...

Rona

Oh! must boil one an half hours ah. The last 2 times I boil like slightly above 1 hr, both gals constipation got worst leh.. So I stop barley liao.. stick to prune juice and apple juice.

As for Tuina, I dun think Vanilla_pod's son can go for it now. He's just discharged from hospital no long ago for operation leh!