(2008/08) Aug 2008

<font color="0000ff">mulberry!</font>
jasmine is so cute with that "pout"!
did she enjoy the photoshoot?

Hi Mummies of the small babies club,

Haiz, baby M refuse to drink milk tonite again...Only drink 80ml ! Though he had a big bowl of fish porridge for dinner still ... is already 5 hours ago ! Very frustrating !

Inspire by all the cute bb pictures, decide to post baby M recent picture

2373983.jpg

2373984.jpg

2373985.jpg

Ya, wonder when i can use the big milk bottles....

mummygiraffe,
my hubby can't take it when he sees other babies that is bigger than yu ze. he is thinking of stoping bm and give fm to yu ze hoping that fm will help to fatten yu ze up. to me, as long as i don't complain from my pd for his low weight, then i won't be bother. also yu ze is like a rubbish bin, anything you give him. he will eat.

dongle,
yah, will let him continue with his car seat till older.

hope cayla can stop her medicine soon.

giraffe,

I din coz bb fussing. but tmr got pimple............ then I will make big noise liao

but nt bad...... if meredith din fuss n make noise.... sure hv to go her hse after dine. so she fell asleep so MIL assume that she wont wake up anymore. so we get to go home early!!!

ha haha!

Hi Celynlee,

That what i am doing. Mixing my BM with FM, hoping to fatten baby M up a bit.... PD did comment that baby M is kind of low weight, he is less than 50% percentile... so i am kind of worry.

<font color="0000ff">mummygiraffe</font>
sure i can be ur referrer. ;)

unfortunately Jasmine didn't enjoy the photoshot. thus didn't manage to get any shots of her smiling. haiz.

morning mummies

jojobar,
i don't mix bm with fm. he is on tbm unless we go out then he gets fm. my boy hardly hit 10% percentile. he always get complain by pd for his size and weight. pd even ask about our family history trying to justify for his small build. he was also put on close monitoring for his growth. only the last check then pd says he is still small but as long as he is healthy and active, its fine. cos he is developing very well.

Hi hfgaga,
Just saw your name in the other thread. My #1 is also 3yo.

Work is getting vv busy now ... so less time to post. Hopefully when my maid comes in.

The recent maid is gone oredi and my ex-maid is coming back, hopefully everything goes well and she is back today! *Praying hard.

speed reading.

dongle,
sayang sayang cayla. Hope she will be off the meds soon but it's better to give if it prevents any attack.

My #1 is taking puff and medication everynite due to his "asthmatic cough". We took for a while then he is ok and we stopped ... but it stillcomes back ... doc(KKH) says must take continuous 3 months then go for review. so now, we started to take it all over again. Hopefully it gest better and he can go off the meds too.

Supply dipping.
I am almost stopping BFing liao cos due to recent maid issues, not enough rest, on course and no place to pump ..... i've reduced the pump to one a day. Sometimes twice.
So far the interval is 16 hours then it gets quite engorged and needs to pump. Me trying to drag to 24 hours so i simply do it every morning/nite.

Kai has started taking some cereal with my MIL - so i leave it to her to feed. He still struggles and makes noise. He can literally turn his head away and close his lip tight when we try to feed him anything else other than milk.

For FM, he's now taking to it quite well. So far he tried Mamil Gold, Friso and Similac. All ok. At the moment on Similac cos initially MIL said he reject Friso but eventually I let him finish the 900ml tin ;)
Think of getting Friso again cos got promo ... 1 900ml tin, get 1 400ml tin free ... and it's cheaper oredi.

Similac vv exp. Enfalac, he can't take.
Now #2, dun really go for the most exp brand liao. ANyone knows what's the difference between Similac and Friso?

I know Similac can be quite heaty. Friso so far ok but does cheaper means not as good quality?

krex best is don't use any wet wipes. Just use cotton wool and water.

mummyG from what I understand scalding is heating the milk just enough until it bubbles around the edges (NOT boiling) and then quickly cool and freeze it. Scalding is suppose to inactivate the lipase which is the enzyme that breaks down the fats in the milk. Apparently this breakdown of fats causes the funny smell and unpleasant taste in BM which may result in babies refusing to drink it. But not everybody has this lipase problem though so not necessary for you to scald your EBM if you don't.

Hashisan,
I also dun buy much for #1, now for Kai, i keep buying and always overbuy. Now i still have lots of stuff which he oredi outgrown.

Let's organise another SK gathering since my maid is coming home ;)
In a few weeks' time ba, when i am not too busy ok?

okie doc mommies,
gotta go to work soon .. early today.

Kai just let out a loud scream/wail. Din wan paci. I carried him and then he went back to sleep.

He often will wail/scream 1 loud one and then falls back to sleep, does the other babies do that too? wonder if he is dreaming?

shint,
sometimes yu ze do that too. i think they are dreaming. yesterday, don't know what happen to him. he was so tired that he slept on the way home at around 730pm and all the way till this morning. i checked with babysitter today, she says he also sleep a lot at her place yesterday. hmmmm.......

glad to know that kai takes well to fm now.

my supply drop badly these 2 days leh. at first i thought its just a bit but no leh. this morning, i only manage to get about 120ml when i usually get 200ml. even those afternoon pump also drop. see liao so sad. sigh...

Good Morning Mommies!

Hisstory,
Can always keep for #2. =P
You very bad leh, tempting me ah? Later I go see…
BTW, I got clips for Mae from this thread…very nice!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1961958.html?1240358382
(tempting you back…heehee)

Celyn,
I think my Mae is drinking me poor man…imagine she is drink 210ml for all feeds now…milk powder ex leh…just bought Enfapro to let her try coz my best fren’s bb LS after taking so I try 1st before ordering…

Rona,
I hate sore throat…so uncomfy…hope you are ok soon.

Snow,
Thanks for your compliment…you IM me when you free k? Wana ask you about something…heehee

Good morning! Thks all the mommies who welcome me!

Mulbery &amp; hashisan; no la, always call her duckling for fun... she always cried &amp; cranky for no reason wan lor, especially at my sis place.

Mulbery, your jasmine look cool le... she seem like very "Wen Jing"

Jojobar, ur boy look so happy in the picture, &amp; he look good. dun worry too much ok, when bb eventually grow older, they'll auto gain weight.

Babies wailing
my ger sometimes will wake up at midnite &amp; wail, if pat her doesn't work, then got to put her to yao lan rock her, soon she'll fall back to sleep.

M2B
ya her clips very nice. i ordered like 90+ of clips from her recently.. hahaha. but i dont like her anti slip being the velcro material. feel like very painful like that. i like those spongy material. i will ask her if she can use them when i order again. very sad cos i ordered the small clips but bernice hair so long so cant clip up enuf so i may need to order the longer ones again ..

morning mummies!!

dongle, thanks will try to get sieve over the wkend!

wish cayla speedy recovery..

jojobar,
okie lei..ur boy look healthy and good size to me lei. keke...my boy look smaller..
ur boy still take bowl of porridge for dinner, mine only drink milk and sleep through the nite till morning...at least porridge more full than milk wor.

celynlee,
my son also hardly hit the 3% percentile loh..

*emre high5 with yu ze liao*
but from yu ze's pic, cannot tell he small size lei..

Cat,
The hairclips nice right?! I love them so much...quite addictive...hahaha...the velcro painful meh? Mae seem ok...ya, Bernice has more and longer hair so must get the 4.5cm clip instead...I order a black double bow with ivory lace headband...very classic and elegant.

wow... the thread really moves so fast.

happie
thks! will look out for pork fillet in the supermkts.

coolsnow
ya, the BBjorn Air is suitable for babies up to 10kg but I think thats only a guideline bah... Kieren is abt 9kg now but he can no longer use the BBjorn cos of his fat thighs n also I'll get backache after using it even for only 15mins!

h.fgaga
thks for the suggestion! almost forgot u are the "baby carrier fanatic"... haha.

Mrs Teng
looooove the "watch me grow" photos that u did for ur girls! wish I knew how to do it for my Kieren too but too bad I'm hopeless when it comes to IT

Cat
So sorry to hear abt ur quarrel wz ur hubby. Well, like wat most mommies here hv mentioned... Men! Sigh. I get easily pissed off wz my hubby too at times. Hope u n ur hubby will make up soo n. cheer up! at least Bernice is such a sweetie to sayang u when u are down

mulberry
dun think I'll get a carrier now... my hubby will kill me cos I just bought a stroller

morning ladies. =)

mulberry
that photo is very nice and natural lah, u not a bad mummy at all.

sylvia
agree with giraffe....just take put a wet wipe and clean meredith face obviously lah. =X

shint
both my gals taking friso, so far so gd leh.
is it cheap? ha ha....hb still complain they drink too fast liao. =P

i also look forward to the next gathering, cos the previous 1 i got sec sch friends gathering thus cannot go lor. =(

m2b
i'm mostly online, unless went out.

catherine
this time their mothers day promo not cheap leh...

hfgaga,

I read that you have both beco &amp; ergo? which you prefer more? I wanna try both if possible before buying cos not sure if my ger likes it...

thank you mummies for all the concern regarding cayla

shint,
glad that your old maid is back after all the drama and wait...

sayang your #1... do you want to get a second opinion on the 3 month medication for cough?

i was trying to chose a FM for cayla &amp; i checked out all the samples tat i have gotten &amp; these are the comparisons:

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>AA</TD><TD>DHA</TD><TD>Choline</TD><TD>Iron</TD><TD>Zinc</TD><TD>LA-O6</TD><TD>LA-O3</TD><TD>Taurine</TD><TD>Folic Acid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Similac</TD><TD>105</TD><TD>40</TD><TD>82</TD><TD>9.2</TD><TD>3.8</TD><TD>5000</TD><TD>340</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>72 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enfapro</TD><TD>152</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>107</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>4.5</TD><TD>2200</TD><TD>210</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>72 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamil</TD><TD>67</TD><TD>39</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>6.4</TD><TD>3.5</TD><TD>2700</TD><TD>270</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>82 </TD></TR><TR><TD>NAN Pro</TD><TD>40</TD><TD>39</TD><TD>59</TD><TD>6.8</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>3100</TD><TD>390</TD><TD>44</TD><TD>230 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Friso</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>125</TD><TD>7.3</TD><TD>4.7</TD><TD>2650</TD><TD>385</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>73 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

hisstory,
can keep your infant carseat for your #2 or give to frens/relatives who need it... i got a 2nd hand chicco infant carseat from my JC fren which saved us some $$$ cos can only use for a few months

Good morning mummies

Hisstory
I got my period a month back so I think more or less will affect the supply... But so far my gal not a big drinker so still not so bad... anyway my plan is to tbf her for 1 year so guess another 4 months to go.

M2B
Ey the clippies so nice leh! *tempted* haiz
I am supposed to start making my own clippies.. bought all the ribbons and stuff.. now waiting for me to start.. engine very lazy.... : p

Jojobar
Yr bb looks very happy, esp the last pic!
Very cute : )

Interrace, History

Thanks for your encouragements, yes! I'll try my best to have it up ASAP, in the meantime, just got to do it here first..

Giraffe

Dun worry you'll pick up the skill somehow or rather, go look at those scrapbooking magazine.. You can get very good ideas from there or even come out with better ones..

Krex

I used the Photoshop Element 5.0 but now got lastest version 7.0. Given the trial version 7.0. Give it a try before you consider having it.. I've not tried the trial package becos I dun want to screw up my current program. Here's the link that was given to M2B as well. YOu may want to check with her on the performance of it..

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=photoshop%5Felements&amp;loc=en%5Fus

Dongle

I understand it heartbreaking to see Cayla taking so much medications... I've been thru that as well. Both gals were practically taking medication since the day they were born until recently that they were taken off.. Hope Cayla will get better soon..

Jojobar

Baby M does look small to me... Dun worry about being below the 50 percentile mark.. No matter how much I feed, Cheril is only in the 10 percentile.. Clara is not putting much weight either bcos she alway poo poo after feeding.. never seemed to hold her bowels long enuf to absorb the nuitrients..
Just as long as Baby M is healthy and happy, what more can we ask for.. He does look very happy in the pics..

Here's lunch for the day

Pork, ikan bilis powder, self-made Sisen Powder, Spinach and Multi grain n White rice mixed Porridge

2374645.jpg

Hi Mel_ocean,

I think i am obsess in weighng him. Baby M has been weight at 7.7 to 7.8kg for the last 5 weeks or so... Is it normal that they do not gain any weight over a period of one month ?

I will be seeing my PD next month, i will leet him tell me loh...

Dongle, tks for compiling the formula table. I think this is very useful for mummies to choose the kind of formula for bb. But for me, my son is stilll not very keen in formula, but he is more receptive to enfalac when i mix with BM. So currently, i am sticking with enfalac.

<font color="#CD3278">hashisan</font>
U know my workplace's nursing rm has posters of the cutecute bb.. Letdown still can achieve *phew*
Erm, i also dun think #3 wld work.. hahah..

I also hope ur period won't come soon.. So ma fan

<font color="#CD3278">mulberry</font>
This tutu is cheaper than the other one i got.. Can even customise ur colours!!

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Hope our ss goes up soon.. Am drowning myself with a lot a lot of water to help bring up the ss

<font color="#CD3278">giraffe</font>
Coz the 1st pump in the morn is the most, accounting for almost half.. And the rest is guaguagua

Approaching period = menses coming

<font color="#CD3278">dongle</font>
hahah.. So cute, ur hb dedicated his winnings to Cayla

I very bu kan xin to give up BF.. Like the ss is there, but insuff!! *tsktsk*

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
heheh, nono.. I sharing lobangs

Erm, Ashley still botak leh... I see all the pretty clips, i am so gian, but cannot buy. Hb wld flip! Scarly he asks me to put them on instead

<font color="#CD3278">Medusa</font>
Same here! I want to BF her for at least 1 year.. Must persevere!

Eve

I was totally PC illerate after I quited my airline job... was so looked down by my Ex-BF den. Dun even know how to operate the applications in Microsoft Office.. Even his brother whom I worked for a brief period disallow me to touch the PC, worrying that I'll corrupt his PC.. Hate those guys who look down upon us not knowing how to use PC... Took me for a "dumb blonde of asia"

So I picked up courses on my own and moved on the work in another place. Picked up as much PC skills as I can before moving to my Audit n Tax job. I learnt even more when I meet my HB who taught me lots of things.. that's why I married him ... hehehe (just one of the reasons lah) In fact, I'm a better software user den him right now.. hehehe.. bcos I spent more time exploring lor...

Sooo, wat I'm getting at is that it's never too late to learn... It's good to learn now.. imagine the fun you can derive from when you create interesting artwork with Kieren in the future.. Teach him (of cos got to help him lah) how to use powerpoint n make his own slide show... he'll be very happy..

I understand quite a few mummies ve brought their littles ones oversea b4 liao. I planning to go on a trip in July too but yet to confirm.

Please advice is it very diff to handle? Alot of stuff to pack &amp; bring along? What are the things to take note?

Many Thanks

Mrs Teng;

Ur gers lunch menu always look yummy, mine very simple, just broccoli+ Pork+fish. This is my ger favorite porridge according to my mil. My ger eat her porridge @ 7am &amp; 3pm.

The feeding timing weird rite? My ger is the kind of can w/o milk for whole day type, she rather go for hunger than ask for milk. Her best record is 10hrs w/o drinking milk @ her 3mths. i can say she hate milk!!!!

Jojobar, according to sis, our bb at this period will gain less weight if compare 0-6mths, may be one mth only gain abt 100gm-300gm bah...

Snow,
IM you later.

Hisstory,
Yaya, share lobang together...the clips are really nice! Hb also nagged that I waste $ buy so many hairbands and clips but I no hew! hahaha

Medusa,
You got the ribbon and clips to make your own? Can share where you got them? I'm thinking to start making some for my gals lor...

mrs teng,

tks! i asked my hb yest if he can do something similar and he said shld be quite easy. so i'm tasked to provide him with the pics and he will be designer
i just got reminded that i want to do a coffee table book for jonah for his 1st birthday. foto hub near my office does this kind of thing and i tot it's quite cool to have some kind of professional looking album to hold all his 1st yr memories. last yr i went to the same shop to print calendars to give out to family as x'mas presents

mrs n,

haha, that's what i thought too :p btw, wanted to ask u: does your bum wear leak? i recently bought abt 6 pcs for jonah to try. MIL says his urine can seep through his clothes. dunno whether it's becoz the diaper is not very absorbent or he really pees that much! we tried putting 2 inserts in and it helped quite a bit, but MIL prefers to use 1 insert. i've emailed to bum wear but they didn't get back to me. always forget to call and check since i'm so busy at work. we followed the instructions for pre-wash before using the diapers, so quite disappointed at the results. end up his 6 diapers can barely last one day and the next day we have to use disposables coz' the diapers need one day to dry. not much cost savings there...

Hi mommies;

just read the taiwanese father abuse &amp; kill the 10 mths daughter, can't hold my tear out!!!! just end her 10 mths old like tat!!! sad.....

Mulberry
Aiyo Jasmine's pic so cute la! haha..u not evil Mummy la! The one u like really very funny! Love it. keke....

Oh yes yes i went yesterday for Kymkym's PS. Kym is a very nice n patient lady. Somehow Falisha normally smile like free one but yesterday she was abit not used to the environment. But lucky din cry la...haha...overall it was a gd shoot bah. I got a lil' preview to the shots i like most of them. Heh..

Any other mummies going for Kym's PS, enjoy k! Oh btw it was warm there for me, not for Falisha. Cos me is a super sweaty person. Haha...but hor making Falisha smile or look at the camera super tiring siah...cos she super active and short-attention span. Haha.

Re: Period
So gd for some of u! Mine can only a couple of months after the one-month mense after give birth even though i was bf-ing. Tot i can enjoy my 'yi-ma' go hiatus for awhile more! Argh...

YLN
I wont be joining u guys for the swim k. HB says it's too far...kanasai...u mummies enjoy k. Thanks for offering ur place though

hi mrs teng...may i ask when did u start ur 2 darlings on meat? When they are abt 7mths? I am thinking if i shld include meat as source of protein rather than just fish for my boy (he is now 6mths 3 weeks)...my dad insists my boy is sian of the usual fish porridge (as u can see he is grandpa's precious)

also which part of the pig did u use as meat? Thanks v much for ur insight

morning mommies.. slip out of meeting to pump first.. gotta go back again..

celyn,
oh no no.. better to continue with bm! hehe.. i'm an advocate of bf and now just hoping to feed as long as possible. first target 12months. we jia you tog to hit whatever target we have set for ourselves.

sylvia,
also better for meredith to sleep early.. hehe.. very legitimate and good excuse for you.

mrs n,
oh i see.. this is the first time i hear about scalding the bm. interesting.. eh, how do i know if i should do it? if there's a smell in our ebm?

catherine,
where do i find the studioloft promo? is it good?
are things more settled between you and hb?

mrs teng,
okok.. first, i must find the time, then buy the materials. hehe..

hisstory,
hahaha.. your guaguagua is so funny. wow, means your morning pump is already 200ml! that's alot, compared to mine.

huichin,
you are not alone!!! mine came in 3rd month. i only had a month free of mens. of course, not counting preg time lah..

rata,

i brought jonah to bintan in nov last yr. not too diff to manage if u dun venture out of the hotel or resort
ya lots of things to pack but we used disposable diapers so luggage was lighter when we came back. he latched on quite well then and wasn't on solids yet so feeding wasn't a prob. we're attempting a holiday to phuket in june. i think this one needs more planning!

milk 4 toddler:

anyone knows if we can give cow or goat's milk when bb turns 1? read in american literature that it's ok to do so. then why does the mkt still have fm for toddlers?

haha i guess we mummies are all alike! we simply hate it if other ppl touch/ pinch our little ones.

i always get offended (even if its friends) but dare not say anything =\ then always quickly find chance to go aside and clean baby's face hahaha..

as per regarding carseat (just wanna add my 2 cents worth

we just bought the Britax Royale recently from the taka bb fair cuz boy can no longer fit into his infant carseat...

we totally love it cuz he seems to like it alot too. previously with the maxi cosi infant carseat.. he will usually grumble grumble for about 10 -20 mins before he sleeps but with this britax, he managed to fall asleep within 5 mins! and even if he dont fall asleep he will not be "grumbling" or struggling to get up.

totally happy that we got it cuz it meant more peaceful trips everday

its able to recline in 2 positions and 1 upright position but even when its reclined to the lowest position, my boy is able to lie down comfortably and still see outside and that keeps him happy.

only con is we dislike the cloth, we think its ugly as compared to maxi cosi's nice designs haha but if it means peaceful happy trips for everyone.. then i think we can try overlook that lil con..

shint,

you are definitely not alone when it comes to babies wailing.

my boy loves to do that and usually several times a nite and i'll be busy running from my room to his room to pat pat him almost every nite
... super tiring lor...

is it true that they had too much fun during the day and will have such "nightmares" at nite?? (according to old folks la.. )

JT, i already banned my hb play with my ger from 6pm onwards. Notice if she had too much fun on that period, midnite sure wake up &amp; wail one, sometimes few times in the nite. v tiring...

think their mind still v active bah...

mel,

my parents are taking care of Kyan during the day and i usually get home from work at abt 7+ - 8... and he's still wide awake and hving loads of fun with them..

they really really dote on him cuz both very old liao.. and according to them.. Kyan will be their "last" grandchild before they say "bye bye" .. =(

the 2 of them will be busy "fighting" to play with him and bringing him out gai gai everyday haha..

so its very difficult for me to "ban" my parents from playing with him.. just have to keep reminding them to let him sleep early cuz babies so young need plenty of sleep to grow and develop well...