(2008/08) Aug 2008

hashisan,
cheer up and hang in there! i am sure its not easy to be a SAHM and i reckon that you are doing a great job. hope today is a better day for you!

Hashisan

Seemed like you are getting better.. Compasspoint may be closed, have you forgotten about the 7 eleven over there?

To make prawn tempura,
Peel prawns but must keep tail, devein
Pat dry with paper hand towel
Use a small knife a cut the stomach area (do not cut too deep) It is best to cut along the leg section, that's where it curls up

Satay stick is used when you wan to make ebi sushi. That will straighten it when boiling..

Will show you pic later.. feed my gals first

hey morning mummies...

krex..dun feel bad..we give to our lil ones whatever we can..

i am just thankful that they dun begrudge us for not spending most time with them..last last week i was away at sydney and the week before busy with shifting..and the week before had school so I had no time with the boy..and when i came back from sydney..he was the one who gave me the biggest smile like he has been patiently waiting for me..i was so touch..lil ones always forgive and forget hehee...

for working mums..lets stay cheerful and just use whatever time we have with the kids to good use...

hey Mrs Teng, how u cook the peas ah..I saw an article tt its good for protecting kidney so wanted to give some to my son....

Hashisan
Gymboree clothes are sooo pretty, i can't resist!
Yes, i've jus placed orders wif Jxmum on the overseas spree cos she's offering 20% discount

Hula series v cute rite? ;) but i'm waiting for them to slash the prices first..hehe..
And yes, i joined the kohl spree too..haha..i'm depleting all my savings on Char's clothes!
I love the clothes that Misaki wears, esp the dresses!

hi megan - is the peas normal peas from pod which u need to take out? Or the japanese type? Me also wanted to start peas. Mrs Teng said to peal the skin off fist cos it is hard. If not after blending can sieve. I might do both but just wondering what type of peas to get.

Mrs Teng,
I also wana learn how to make kimchi and the spicy ikan bilis from you coz they are hb’s fav! =P

Hashisan,
Feeling better today? I scold or beat #1 at times when she can’t do her work too and felt soooo bad after that…even cried…so now I told myself to breathe in and out whenever I’m angry…difficult but I’m trying to control coz I know it will be more stressful when #1 goes proper school.

You are doing a great job staying at home to take care of not 1 but 2 kids! That’s really not easy…plus must take care of household etc…the kids and your hb sure appreciate your sacrifice. If you find teaching Ryo stressful, you wana look for classes for him? I strongly recommend I Can Read…I saw the results in my #1 so I will sure send Mae there when she is 3yo. =P

Hisstory,
Yap, had a great time with the gals yday but coz cannot split into 2 to attend to them…I took Mae and hb reads to Raine instead…heehee

Catherine,
Why your hb and mom give your attitude? You must be feeling so wei qu. Cheer up k? At least Bernice appreciates you and dun give you attitude. =P

April
Haha.. I should have been more patient and waited for the BP on FIRST FOODS! Good thing I got my copy at a discount.. cos if you include the registered mail cost, it works out to be just that tiny bit less than what I paid

Hashisan
Hang in there.. you're doing great and don't let yourself (or anyone else for that matter) think otherwise! I'm a SAHM too and for sure there are bound to be good and not so good days. Like what the moms said, I always think of how well and healthy my boy is and that just makes a difficult day seems better already.

Fairybees

Dun know of any herbal cook book for babies yet, believe there's many aroung, think those from Taiwan should have lor.. Unfortunately, I dun know how to read chinese... so can't get any.. Still hunting for one.

Annlee, Cindy

Your question about ikan bilis, Here's a pic on the type of ikan bilis usable.. The one on the left is no peeled but nice color, the one on the right is peeled but dull lor, got that moldy kind of look, but is said to be very sweet.. (that's wat the provision shop seller told ) I personally prefer the clean one on the left.. just extra work, that's all.

2348517.jpg

Hashisan

Here's a pictorial explanation of how to cut the prawn.. Hehehe.. also put in the one for sushi making..

Top one is with satay stick, Bottom is for tempura

2348518.jpg

Notice I cut at the section of the prawn's legs..

2348519.jpg

For sushi, boil in hot water, once cooked,

2348520.jpg

Quickly put in cold ice water to stop the cooking process, the heat retained can still cook the prawn slightly further and it won't be nice..

2348521.jpg

Slowly pull out the satay skewer, Cut and devein.

2348522.jpg
2348523.jpg

Guess my only way of helping you to relief your stress is thru teaching you how to prepare food for your family...
Although I'm also a SAHM, I'm far too way back as compared to you doing everything on your own.. You did a great job as a mum!

hello mummies!
pai seh, mia for quite some time. =P

missyzs
me here, me here.
just that my temp job got no internet access, but now i'm released finally... =D
u wanna buy ya?
anybody else here? =)

huichin
i thought photos of mummy being posted here gotta blur out 1?
ha ha....

hashisan
dun put too much pressure on urself.

hi Mrs Teng - Megan n myself want to start peas soon...hee hee v excited cos 1st green veg for my boy. Can i use the japanese type (endamame)? or must use the normal type?

Thanks for ur advice...

Ur culinary skill really good! Ur hb and dds so luckily to have u!

Mrs Teng,

Thank you for your explanation. Will look out for those ikan that is not mouldy.

Ya...you shld hold hold a kimchi making gathering, do count me in

ruixuan,
kimchi will reduce the milk supply?? Oh no...I'm eating all the while, and yes...my milk is getting lesser. Thought because I have latch not so frequently as bb is having cereal so milk get lesser.

mrs teng,

have i asked u before...do u test for allergy before using those ingredients for your porridge? so far, my ingredients are very basic and using foods that i've intro, like chicken, pork, carrots, sweet potato, etc. never explore beyond that leh. do u give your girls something else for dinner or always the same? for dinner, i give western, like mashed potato, carrot and chicken...something like that.

oh, do u use brown rice mixed with white rice? or calrose rice?

milk ss:

i haven't been eating kimchi but i do eat cabbage. i've stopped trying to eat a lot of fish or drink papaya soup coz' i think it doesn't work anymore.

tried gaia herbs lactate support and i think it's helped make my supply more stable and less erratic. didn't really increase but i can get at least more than 100ml from each pump now. goat's rue was a total waste of money!

oh yes, mommies who take fenugreek or lactate support, does your urine smell like maple syrup? mine does now. last time when i took just fenugreek from nature's farm, don't have this problem leh. and also, i seem to be passing out some iodine yellow discharge now. does it come from the lactate support i'm consuming now?

mummygirrafe
Thank q for yr advice...my hubby also said that once they go to school they will know what to do..ehhehe..but im super stress coz my mil keeps comparing my kid with other kids..how to turn deaf ear?every weekend i sleep over at my mil house...urghhhh...

Hashisan
Yup my son born on 31mar06.just turn 3yrs old.its my mil that woke me up..shook me up..she always compare my son with another kid.she told me that another kid abt raiYn's age know how to write and recognise letters!!btw my son's name is raiyn..hes my elder one...haiz..my mil keep comparing and comparing so i got fed up and just train my son..its not him who cry..its me..coz im super stress..teaching him.my hubby take things very lightly..but im e one who always get stupid comments from his mum?!! Im very upset when she compares raiyn with other kids.fyi my mil was a pri school teacher..haiyah my hubby...his family all teachers except him..hehhee..
My son only know how to sing abc but recognising of letters...err..not that good..i just started last week..today he nows up to letter F.for writing..my son is bad...still needs me to guide him ..like hold his hands and write ..join e dotted lines...for now im only introducing capital letters...
My son is not in preschool..coz my mum finds difficulty in handling 2 kids..heheh unless i get a maid...so i will just start my son schooling next year..

hashisan,
How are you? Better? I think you don't have enough ME time, have been giving yourself to your family so feeling a little blue... don't be too hard on yourself, and do give yourself some time off! Once a while, i will go out with 2 gal friend and hang out in the nite at a pub! heheheee... drinking leh... we usually go ladies nite so we get free drinks, but we will order some finger food. we will spend about 3 hours out... :p

<font color="ff0000">Mrs Teng,</font>
You HAVE to invite us for lunch or dinner at your place! I can be your assistant!

hashisan,
me lah, i send my #1 &amp; #2 to Zoophonics. #1 has to go cos he needs to read as he will go to P1 next year, don't want him to suffer next year. He is still not very good in reading yet, but improving. You know what? I used to have a cane with me to sit with him to read with him. Else he will run here run there, touch here touch there and have stomachaches, thirst, hungry, hand pain all sorts of excuses to 'escape' reading and learning. Boys are like that... Actually I cannot say I used to have a cane, I'm still using the cane with me and I got very very frustrate with him because he reads SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO slow! can vomit blood. I think that's why there's a saying that its very difficult to teach your own...
#2 just turn 3 and a gal, easier. She goes to Zoophonics to have fun! but she learns too and now knows the letter sounds very well. Still cannot 'blend' sounds yet but i'm happy already. I really don't have time for her, else if i teach her to read, i'm pretty sure she will pick up much much faster then her elder brother.

<font color="ff6000">Hisstory,</font>
aiyoh, you see me so thick in the head!

only at 7pm then i figure out what you teach at S4! so chiam!!! Next time you must drop BIG HINTS for low IQ people like me... ok?

hei rona..so cute yr son....hehehe
My son when i repeat teaching him he will say...mama y you repeat?i understand wat!y mist repeat and repeat!..haiyohhh...than my hubby will say ok u so smart rite raiyn..now gimme letter F....raiyn reply..wait baba i must think...hahhaha..think and think...but no answer....kakakakkaka

my son acts like hes super smart...thats wat i hate...and makes me angry...he likes to talk back also...act smart...hopefully he will be REALLY SMART!

Krex

Can't remember who asked me about allergy test.. Yes, I do allergy test for my gals n still doing..

All those you see in my gals' porridge are tested. Apart from allergy test, I also do 'gas' test.. Noticed lots of green veggie, my elder gal will have gas. Small one, anything goes bcos she know how to brup better den her jie jie.. She burps like those uncle in the coffeeshop who drinks beer.

I mixed brown rice with thai fragrant rice, not calrose rice.. It's less sticky for my big gal.. she very choosey about food one.. haizzz..

I cook different meals for my gals.. Din give them smiliar food for the same day.

Vanilla_pod

Sorry, I really dun know the diff between the Jap peas and the Garden peas.. But if you really want, try buying the baby peas.. skin are softer to blend also.. Get from cold storage, Bird's eye brand..

one mummy asked about si sen...
i gave my boy si sen powder since 6.5mths old, along with brown rice &amp; ginseng powder... so far so good.

Tree
haha..i agree..i can oso offer my help!

Mrs Teng
U gonna haf a korean 1st bday party for ur princesses? ;)
They dress in korean dresses, and u prepare ikan bilis wif kimchi for ur guests? ;)

back from the review.. she's off the nebulizer but got 1 additional medication to replace it. i waited 2 hours for the stupid doc and spent less than 2 mins inside. i'm having mixed feelings about the whole incident cos i feel the doc is very cautious but abit kia su also... aiya maybe i waited too long and become very pek chek now.. no school this week
and she is still be continue on soy and off dairy.. i'm thinking if I wana bring her back to dr cheng cos he'll be back tomorrow. sigh .. maybe i'm just stressed out.

mrs teng
you really good lei.. ask u what question also can come back with pic explanation. you can be known officially as martha stewart of our forum !!!

Catherine

Glad that Bernice is off the nebulizer.. Hope she hasn't lost any weight.. Poor gal, soy milk is so yakky!

Dun think I'm any closer to any chef you may think of .... Like I've said cooking is my passion lor... But thanks for the compliments..

Rona

I dun think I'm holding any traditional koren bday party for my gals.. dun know how also.. Now cracking my head on where to hold the party.. Got to do it twice, one is the actual lunar calendar bday n another is the bday bash lor. Headache over the bday bash.. Dun know where leh!

Haha! hope some mummies dun find me a nuisane for hogging the forum with my cooking pics.
This is today's lunch for mummy... Yes! it is Maggie Instant Noodles.. Not Laksa..

2349441.jpg

hashisan,

hopefully it's nt 2 late 4 me 2 say tis. hang in thr okie... thr'll b good days &amp; bad days. thr r days whrby i feel like killing my kids coz they r so notti. bt thr r days when i count my blessings. when u r feeling down, take misaki out 4 a walk, go shopping etc.

u gt msn? i pm u mine. then add me in. we can chat thr.

YLN
Opppsss... bit lost track here havent thank u so much for organizing the gathering n had paid oso.. let me know when to pay u back uh ?

Vern
Yup, I'm oso thankful
but she still very notti lor... n nowadays I'm having more difficulty to make her nap :p

Hashisan
OIIII gal..... I know what u were going thru.. Even I just have one n actually told my hb I feel so dull couple days back.. N u have 2 !! Give me a call we can meet up at compasspoint n drink n chat2

Hope u r feeling better... Or u r welcome to come by to my house any time since u stay quite close mah.. then I'll call Vern too :p heheheh
Stressed out so keep planning this n that but by the end feel too lazy to do anyhing liao hihiih

Tigg3r
Count me in for any makan happening at ur place.. I oso dont mind to b the assistant :p
And considering I stay quite close to u, can I oreder tingkat for Nandini ? heheheh

April &amp; Wendy
me oso should wait uh... Got mine at Kinokuniya n paid full price then tot applying for membership, got 10% disc but membership has fee oso :p

Mrs Teng,
Even your maggie mee looks delicious! yummy yummy! cannot tahan, i think the fishball noodles i had for lunch doesn't look as good even!

Ling2, April &amp; Wendy,
me lucky, forever procrasinating so can order from the bp liao... Thanks for the lobang!

<font color="119911">Timmin &amp; Ling2,</font>
Gals gals, take queue hor... I'm no 1 in the queue for Mrs Teng's meal and tingkat...

Rona, hfgaga, Ling, Timmin

Haha! think maggie noodle is so much easier den kimchi... ooppss cheapo rite...

Hashisan

Hope u are okay.. know how bad it is to forgo flying days n be a SAHM.. guess you must have missed flying rite? So much freedom.. can sleep as late as you can.. shop shop, eat eat, drink coffee... and no worries... Wait a minute! Kind of missed that too but it's good old memories for me.. Hang in there!! cheer up!

Yeap, if you need someone to talk to.. Can have coffee at compasspoint if you like... So many of us are staying around the same area, anyway...

mummies thank you so much. today I am much better. I feel very touch coz of all those encouranging words from u. very blessed to know people like u

I will try to reply to each of u later tonite while the kids are sleeping.now can only reply this page will scroll up later.

Mrs Teng I wonder how your fridge looks like. must be full of delicious and healthy stuffs.

and thank u for the detail explanation of prawn sushi/tempura. appreciate it!

the pics are not nuisance at all , in fact I look forward to seing more .

Hisstory: what is S4? what do u teach?

rona: ah it was u. your gal's class is once a week? I dun know if I should put him on phonics class. he's already in japanese once a week class.
I dun wanna be kiasu, but I also dun wan him to have difficulties in school later. (he's 3 yo )
I also think girls are faster learner (language and reading skill ) than boys.

vone: I have yahoo messanger. it's [email protected].
pls add me

are u sahm too?

Catherine: glad to know bernice is better.

Krex: I take katuk leaf capsule for breastfeeding.its very good really help my milk supply. yes my urine will smell like katuk leaf.u are pasing out iodine discarge from breasts?

wendy: yes true.. when I feel so annoyed because my son cant sit stil or keep asking me why ? (100x a day) I try to remind my self its better he's still speaking to me and moving around . rather than he is quiet because he's sick.

Cat,
Is it the indian lady doc at kinder? Yes, she is more kia see than dr cheng and dr gong...

Ling2,
dr gong wants you to understand what he is doing to your child, that's why he likes to ask 'do you understand?' heheheee... i'm very used to that. and i like that fact that he will take time to explain to you properly on what to expect later and what you will see and what kind of treatment he will use. So i'll know what to look out for later.

<font color="#CD3278">rona, Yuuri &amp; hashisan</font>
heheh.. S4 shd be easy to get, the level i'm teaching..
Subject is jiak-kopi.. Can figure??

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Hmm.. U still read to Mae every night?

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Ur lunch is so much yummier than what i had.. *envy*

Hi! Everyone!
I've been lurking around here every now and then when I have the time cos my bb girl just keeps me on my toes 24/7! :p She is also an August baby (18/08/08), I hope I'm in the right thread this here is the August 08 baby thread for mummies right...? Now that she's starting on semi solid foods I happen to browse through and see lots of great tips/ideas/recepies for baby! :) Thanks! :) I might be poping in some questions every once in a while hoping to learn from you guys hope you all don't mind ya...? :-D I notice some of you give quite chunky like porriage with fish and all etc are your babies really eating them?? Cos my baby still doesn't have any teeth don't know if it's something I should worry about? When I try to give her some minced papaya or bananas she gags cos of the thick texture though.... unless I mix it with her oats... She's on all organic foods (jars &amp; cereals, fruits, veggies etc ) except her formula milk which is enfalac... Do you guys have this problem...?

<font color="ff6000">hisstory,</font>
yup, i got it. very chiam subject... i only did it when i was in S1 and S2 as it was compulsory...

heheheee

Ladyl

Welcom to the thread!! Yeap! you're definitely on the rite thread..

At 9 1/2 months, my elder twin is still toothless (oh! I'm the first in this thread to deliver, premies..
that why they are older den the rest of the babies here) But my gals are one of those smallest you can find in August Thread..

My elder gal, who is very particular, hates textured food. So I'm still blending her porridge.. Yes, they finish their porridge most of the time..

I've also started them on organic jar food and cereals.. But now, I give them porridge.. So far, that's wat I'm giving and gave:

Pork
Chix
Fish - Threadfin
Fish - Cod
Ikan bilis powder
Pumpkin
Carrot
Sweetcorn
Broccoli (stop for now, got gas)
Baby sweet peas (stop for now, got gas)
Spinach
Xiaobaicai