(2008/08) Aug 2008

Krmeow,
You willing to give me some ? Thanks ! Was just telling hubby that he should try to make some for Adel. PM me when you can meet me k? We can meet downstairs near Ang Mo or Prime.

hisstory, get one!

WOW... I missed so many post liao...

Rata
Jac looks nice in thew skirt... Love the skirt... Indeed she still looks bit slepy hehehehe

Once I refresh this page I know I need to go read archive liao

happy mummy,

jonah is quite active in the sense that he likes to explore, kick a lot and bang/ hit things. i think it's normal for bbs to be active, esp boys, heh.

hisstory,

my hb was furious that the bk said most bbs will not cry for more than 30 mins, and jonah cried for a good 45 mins, then puked. i think that was the final straw for him. prob won't advise him to try CIO method unless i can be around to control the situation. maybe past 1 year, when i'm not pumping milk already???

mrs teng,

is threadfin the best fish to intro to bb? cod fish and salmon too high in mercury rite? is it ex? i remember my CL buying "ngor he" during my confinement and it seems to be even more ex than cod fish!!!

celyn,

the pics of yu ze are so cute! i like the weighing scale one...and yes, the one with the pacifier is so not handsome! which photo studio is this and how much did u pay? now i very gian to take also

Celyn
Love the scale one.... Wow... I forgot to ask Alvin the last time cos I love the white fur on the floor too.. was thinking will have that n angel wing for my gal then will b very convincing like angel but then we were too busy making bb facing camera ihik... Make me feel shall I go 1 more ? :p
Ok, tell me how long is the queque ?? :D need to start thinking abt my gal's date oredi :p

Krex
wahhhh Jonah looks so comfortable... n calm my sis said... :p my gal sure going to spill the water type

my last post for the day, going to sleep liao.

krex78,
its the one organise by ruixuan, dphotofilo. paid $200 for 1 hour photo shoots and all soft copy return.

Sylvia
heheh..no online leh..so can oni beo at the store..
btw are u in the tourism industry?
haha..i'm sooo curious wat ur occupation is!

Ceyln
Yuze is sooo cute and handsome! Love his black black hair and big big eyes.
Can I queue up for my Char? haha..

ling,

err...actually jonah splashes water all around. used to bathe him in his bedroom but had to migrate to toilet after 3 mths...too active liao. by the end of the bath, the whole toilet is wet. i'd like to say he helps to wash our toilet everyday

Krex

Threadfin is one of the expensive fish around. Cod is cheaper.. it give a buttery taste, so some babies may like it. Salmon is partially cultured before they are release back to the sea.. So I dun quite fancy giving it to babies yet. Talking about mercury, while there's a lot of theory about it. But I based my judgement from my FIL who is a Marine Biologist, he said that contain of fish mercury is definitely there no matter what fish it may be, but most importantly, the zone where the fish inhibits.. Those caught near industrial countries will have more mercury bcos water there have high destiny of mercury. And those fishes that inhibits deeper in the sea of high density mercury will have even more (same goes for other fishes in deep sea, no matter how dense it may be) The same principle applies for lead.

So always, ask where the fish is from.. For me, I won't buy those Seabass that were cultured by the singapore fish farm in those southern islands.

History

I've got no clue what's the diff between sharp and round spinach.. I guess it's the color of the leaves. sharp ones seemed darker which I believe should be slightly more bitter and more iron contain kua!

Mrs Teng,

Thanks for sharing! I do give her water but not as much as 100ml a day. Maybe 20-30ml? But because i still latch her as and when she demands n i try to add more water in her food to make up for it. She is very sturborn. When i give her sippy cup, she will drink very fast n end up coughing. When i spoonfeed her water, she will end up "gurgling" with the water. Worst if i try bottles. She will shut her mouth tight.

Krex,
Yah, like wat Mrs Teng says Threadfin is very expensive. But its one of the best fish to give babies. For one, its fresh even aft freezing. And its in the same family as Salmon n Cod - Lower in mercury content. For Salmon and cod fish, you can't keep them for too long. I take a pc of salmon n threadfin every day. Threadfin can freeze up to 2weeks without a fishy smell. But salmon can only keep up to abt 4days ard there even after freezing.

Celyn / RX,
I am in the same situation as u. Kitlyn takes a lot of milk and her solid intake is increasing but she is still ard 7kg at 7mths. Ht worst - 63cm, 3rd percentile. Even PD commented she was short! Her head circumfrance aso small small . Many times pple will comment she looks 4mths old only. I so sad. She is also alot smaller den some of my friend's babies who are younger. PD say it could be genetic coz me n hubb small to begin with. OR it could b she is sooooo energetic.

Celyn,

Nobody chop mabbe your Yu Ze can partner with my Kitlyn ler. Some more same size hrhr.

Celyn
Ok, I'll start the queque

Krex
ohhhh is it uh ?? in the pics he really looks like a good calm boy when bath :p

Rata
I'm so going to get it... !!! :p Unless hb or my mum stop me hehhehe

Celyn,
Thats what pple tell me too. Good for a girl to be petite. I think, the only consolation is that their size now doesnt determine their size when they grow up. I guess since u feeding Yu Ze well, dont' be too stress abt his size. Hopefully he will catch up? Most impt is he is healthy and developmentally good

Celyn,
I can't join the q but i can't join ADel for the q of petite babies ! Adel is 7 months 1 week and only 7 kg ! 65 cm 'long'. I so worried also leh, but PD say ok , but definitely small size ! Small size no good rite? Next time will kenna bullied one. Sigh... I gave him the name Adel to be first in the class register, but not first in the class line up leh !

My friend's kid 3 mths hit 6 kg liao ! HOW !??!!! He drinks 220 ml 2.5 hours leh ! wonder where all the food went to !

Today brought baby swimming in the morning, she didn't quite like it leh

Wonder if shd've brought her in the evening instead, but yday evening was drizzling abit and we didn't get back in time to bring her.

Celyn,
YZ looks v gd in all the photos! haha that pic u showed w 2 boys, one of them is your hb?

Later I go FB see the photos ;)

RE: height and weight
I think your boy and Ruixuan's SL ok lah...
My hb complaining my girl grew fatter, cos he saw her tummy pop out. I say it's cos the diaper put around her tummy is tight, that's why... But he kept saying she's too fat liao, say fat babies no gd...

I think just measured her, she's about 69-70cm but she definitely at least 8kg two weeks ago. Not duno how heavy, cos I didn't get to weigh her.

Busy busy day.... Later still gota go down to new place and talk to electrician...

sylvia,
Your Pigeon snacks w me, I've smsed u too. let me knw when and where u want to collect ya?

strawberry,
I think it's gd to bring them anywhere, not necessarily zoo. Else later coop inside house too long also no gd.
As for the zoo, think u can expose her to the animals. U will be surprised, the more u expose them, the better they will remember. Though I've not brought Chevelle to the zoo yet.

Val,
I agree with you. They are very smart. We bring her out every weekend so now when i carry her, take her bag n keys she will get very very excited. Like she knows we going out. Just like when i turn on the tv switch infront of her, she will know i m gg to let her watch bb tv. I wanna bring her to zoo but my hb says she too young? Bringing her to sentosa for pinic on good friday hope it doesnt rain.

Hey ladies

Quick one.. we're in Kota Kinabalu now

Strawberry
Thanks for the FIRST FOODS info. Will check with my sis when we return to SG on Tues.

Will read more and post more when i have time. David napping now.. we brought him swimming in the morning. He loved it but didn't like shower time. Maybe cos the tub too big. I sat with him in it and yet he was still so insecure. Then cried all the way from then to toweling dry.. to putting on of clothes. Until I gave my boob then he settled and zzz...

Take care moms..

I should rest too.

strawberry,
yah, he is healthy and developing well. that's why the last round of check, pd didn't say much for his size. she say since he is developing well, it is ok.

i'm thinking of bringing him to zoo soon. will sign up for their membership too then can go very often. heheh....

babysitter says he is very excited over animal (maybe its just horse). babysitter will bring another boy that she looks after for horse riding therapy so yu ze will follow also. when yu ze sees that gor gor went up the horse and gone, he keep 'calling' as if saying he hasn't go up the horse yet, must wait for him. everyone there was laughing at him. since he is not afraid of big animal like horse, then i think can bring him to see liao.

valnsw,
you see even your girl is bigger than him. yah, the other boy is my hubby. hahaha.... yesterday, he came back and dig out that pic to show me.

happy mummy,
yah, let adel join the queue to look for petite girlfriend. hehehe.... you mean adel drink 220ml every 2.5 hours? that's a lot leh. how is his solid intake? he drink bm or fm?

strawberry

haha! I was just thinking of papaya when you mentioned it.

I dun puree it or freeze. Just give fresh.. the rest adults will eat. I buy those very small type, cut it, den mash it before giving my gals

celynlee: were u n ur hubby r big babies? big size/fat/thin/small size its all genetics lah..dun blame yu ze for being 'small' size. U'll never know, maybe he teenager he will be very big n tall!
frankly i dont find yu ze small size leh.... and he's really a handsome boy!

Can give baby mushroom soup bo?? kekeke..

Mrs Teng,

Heh heh so qiao. COz i got her one papaya. Den i wanted to do allergy test on her. Cant buy 3papayas right? Hehe...so tot mabbe freeze it. But actually i dun feel comfy freezing it aso. WIll see if can keep it.

Celyn
Yu ze small and compact but power-packed! He doesn't look so small in photos, but quite small in person :p (don't tell your hb!)....but he's developing among the fastest in this whole thread, so I guess that makes everything ok

Celyn,
Adel on 6 scoops of Friso plus NAN. Solid only once a day. Cereal, brown rice porridge or fish porridge, depends.

Adel's gf is already beauty queen Alliver leh ! Matched them up during our meeting at Vone's place. Not sure if now Alliver bigger than him or not ? kekeke........
Mrs Teng,
Thanks for sharing tips on cooking and the fish type yesterday. Today, I boiled ikan bilis soup, put the rice in together with the soup and the ikan bilis, then put the fish and spinach in. Blended them together and gave it to Adel. He seemed to enjoy it. Tonight will try one more round. Very happy that he could take to the taste cause i am one lazy mum, jiust blended the ikan bilis together instead of making it into powder. I asked HB , he said same concept! ! hahahaa...

Strawberry,
I brought Adel to the zoo when he was about 4 months. He looked looked then slept. Most of the time, the adults were looking at the animals. Can lah, if you really want to bring your baby. Just remember to bring the fan !

yuuri,
hahah.... yah. his photos are bluff people one. if never see him in person, all think he is big. once see him, then all will agree that he is small built.

don't worry, i won't tell him. :p

happy mummy,
oh, i see. adel got gf liao. haiyo, i still blur blur. heheeh....

6 scoops fm = 220ml meh? yu ze on 7 scoops of fm for certain night feed, only 200ml leh.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Think if u've got more tolerance for the crying than ur hb, then u implement.. My hb's better at it than i am, also coz he's the one who tucks her to sleep

But start as early as possible, seems sleep training is more effective this way..

<font color="#CD3278">Rata</font>
heehee.. Deliberating on the colour now.. hee
Must show us Jac's PS pix in this skirt k? Must be really pretty

<font color="#CD3278">MrsTeng</font>
Wow, i thought Ngor He not very exp.. Didn't even know it's one of the more exp fish around

Gave Ashley the sharp spinach yday, didn't reject *phew* I ate the extras, thankfully not bitter.. heheh

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
Have lots of fun at ur trip.. Must show us pix of David when u get back k?
Hope he enjoys bathing in the bath tub.. Pseudo pool!

hehehhe..thank q!

mine both boys..
1)raiyn -31mar06
2)emre -30aug08

ohohoh..i always mix up their birth dates..
both boys..

happy mummy,
i see. hmmm... i remember my gynae once told me, not to dilute fm leh cos its no good. exactly why no good, i don't know. since your pd says ok, it should be fine bah.

Happy_mommy

Good to hear that Adel enjoys the porridge. Great job!

Re: Ikan Bilis

I supposed the reason why most mums dun put the whole ikan bilis into the porridge is becos they dun blend the porridge, but even if they do, there is a possibility that parts of the ikan bilis is not properly blended. This would cos irritation in baby's throat and he will cough n cough until it becomes sore or he may just cry bcos of discomfort. Ikan bilis powder is so fine that we are certainly sure that there's no tiny bone from the ikan bilis. Remember to blend thoroughly if you prefer your method..

Do you stay in Punggol? If yes, next time I make ikan bilis powder, can pass you some..

History

Glad that Ashley enjoys her spinach porridge... you actually cooked a lot of spinach or just a few leaves of the spinach? As you can see, the portion I used if for 2 gals... and they take almost everyday, so I dun use too much.. I store the rest that are unused. Saw my pic?

They have taken chicken porridge for 2 days, they seemed okay with it so will be trying out asparagus tomorrow.. hope they can take it. Tonite will be gor hu porridge with ikan bilis powder, carrot and sweetcorn. As my gals dun like the sweetcorn being blended into the porridge, I used half a comb of sweetcorn and cook porridge, den I remove before blending the porridge.. tasted it myself, ummmm quite sweet leh..

Porridge with sweetcorn removed (not blended yet)

2320281.jpg

The yellow n white sweetcorn, very sweet

2320282.jpg

whoaaa..mrs teng im very hungry liow..hehehhe...
yeah i have prob with my son too..i suppose hes fed up with hienz and all those instant stuff..
:D

Celyn

PD once told me not to dilute FM too, especially for my premie gals. Cos it's no good for the kidney, diluted FM means more water den milk, so may damage kidneys.. That's why they dun recommend babies below 6 mths to take water..

Mrs Teng,
I did the same thing too! I actually liked the porridge myself. Only difference is i did put the sweet corn in (after blending). Nowadays, I have to eat whatever i cook for her because its so hard to cook their small portion so i cook abit more as my lunch. oh well...

Strawberry

Yeah! can understand how difficult for you to cook so little.. Cook extra for yourself n later just add salt n pepper for taste lor..

My gals just hates the texture of sweet corn, so I don't blend it lor, just get the taste only.