(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn,

u got 180 bottles??? if packets still not thawed, can try 1 or 2 pkts to see if yu ze got any averse reaction. so far, i only tried transporting FBM to my in laws place which is abt 15-20 mins drive. sometimes dun even put in chiller bag. so far ok.

timmin,

i think your bb is the best here...no sleep probs whatsoever. think your efforts to train him young paid off! did u try the "cry it out" method? i tried it a few times but doesn't work. now i find the easiest and fastest way to put bb to sleep is rock and cradle him and stick pacifier in. but i want to train him to sleep on his own liao. i know it's a very bad habit to keep on picking him up. and the later i attempt this, the more difficult and painful it's going to be coz' my boy is developing quite a character liao.

krex78,
yah, i got 180 bottles in my chest freezer, 25 bottles in my freezer, 135 bottles at fil's freezer and some at babysitter's place.

valnsw, dongle & sylvia,
i just took out 1 bottle, the oldest and the one nearer to the top out to thaw. going to see how. i think it should be fine since it didn't get to thaw and still in frozen state. i only pick a few on the top to check so i assume those at the bottom should be fine.

i scold hubby upside down. he had a habit of switching off all the switches. he likes to off my steriliser too. anything that he can off, he will off it.

dongle
Very nice carseat & discount!! Fr what age can it be used from?

Our little princesses wld most certainly be the sweetest thing on earth.. heheh

M2B
huh? Only paracetamol & nose drop? My niece was also suspected with UTI some mths back but she not hospitalised, coz i think the results took some time to be generated.. Sometimes the Dr also abit weird

Ashley has swollen big toes & we took her to Polyclinic. GP there referred us to KK's Child Surgery Centre.. When I saw the referral dept, i was like "huh"? Must go for surgery ah? Got no chance for 2nd opinion???

Then the nurse at at the surgery centre said, why the Dr at poly immediately referred to them.. So she took us to the Orthopedic dept instead. Specialist concluded tt most likely ingrown, but no need surgery unless very jialat.. Polyclinic ah!!

cocomo
This maid like very hard to handle, so fast already making requests. She shd be lucky tt she can get a job.. Better get another since she's still new & not much effort/time of urs has gone into training her

Wendy
The pix of David's soooo cute!!!

And ur hb sure looks like a pro with the sling.. *well done*

sylvia
Eeee, the woman is scary.. Prob not very right up there

celyn
Sorry to bother u leh.. What are the things on Yu Ze's cot? We put Ashley in between bolsters so tt she doesn't flip nor turn ard, but i think now tt she's more aware of her surroundings, she wld ga jiao the bolsters when she stirs & then end up not being able to self-soothe back to sleep

I'm thinking of getting a 'chou chou', like a blanket so tt as a security object she wld soothe herself to sleep.. What do u think?

celyn
Alamak, ur hb.. U better stick a big notice there, 'Switch it off at YOUR own risk'

I think the milk shd be very safe to consume.. So long as fr the time he switched it off to the time u noticed the prob, no one opened it up

shint
Agree with dongle, let ur hb have a taste of what u're going thru.. I bet he wld call u for help!!

Then he wld truly know how u had to endure all the things & his empty promises.. Eee, i read oredi, I feel so unjustified for u

hisstory,
yah, nobody open it up till i found out then open to check. anyway, i just took out 1 bottle. it smell ok, so i guess they are safe. phew!!

yu ze's cot only got 2 bolster, 1 pillow, 1 beansprout pillow and his nappy (change daily). his nappy is like his chou chou but this chou chou can change daily. i don't really like the idea of chou chou cos i don't want it to be something that he must have wherever he goes. now he don't really need the nappy to sleep liao. i also never let him bring anything when we go out.

he will mess up the whole bed and everything will be throw here and there loh. i don't bother to pack for him cos its useless. i had remove the tissue box and wet wipes from the cot cos he will throw pulling them and play with it.

*Poof* it's such a hot day.

Sylvia,
The Pupsik sling like the Cheeky Bon Bon one?
I don't see it on the kidzloft website for the Pupsik.

If at Tagore Lane, not sure if I wana go all the way there wor...

Wendy,
Ur hb looks pro w the sling. Thumbs up!

hisstory,
The polyclinic doc so kua zhang, must refer to KK. Sometimes duno whether these doctors knw their stuff or not.

celyn
Ur gong gong hb ah.. Really one of a kind *heheh*

chou chou so cute can change daily.. Hmm, i know what u mean, to have to bring it ard. Tt's why i was thinking of a small blanket, coz it's quite compact if we've to travel

I know what u mean man.. Ashley also flips & rotates ard the cot, everything is messed up. Only bedding stuff are in her cot, if not i'm asking for trouble, to have to clear up the mess

val
it's sooo hot! can't imagine us preggie & tahaning the weather as such

Actually we did want a ref to KK coz we think the polyclinic dr sure buay zhun.. hahah

hisstory,
yah, his chou chou can change daily. he likes to rub his face on it.

valnsw,
the weather is so hot today, i can't take it man. yu ze is so cranky today, maybe due to the hot weather too. he can't get to sleep himself but he is tired. i on the air con for him to nap and carry and rock him for less than 2 mins, he sleep liao.

hisstory / celyn,

Looks like the three of us are steaming in the hot weather at home ya...

Cannot tahan the heat, suggested to my mum to bring bb kai kai in aircon shopping centre. My mum said ok but wait abit later when not so hot...

Alamakz defeats the purpose of going out ya... But nvm get to kai kai.

valnsw,
hahah.... hubby also say bring yu ze go ntuc. but i say later, must let him nap first. he is tired liao, still bring him out, he will be more cranky when we come back later.

celyn
The weather is indeed atrocious, now must really have a/c if not bb cannot nap.. Then we jialat liao

val
hahah, ur mummy is funny!! Nvm, gaigai at anytime also gd, better than nothing
Enjoy ur gaigai session later..

hisstory,
you know what. yu ze is up liao but i still leave him in his room to play. he sit up himself and take pacifier himself to eat. now still entertaining himself, wait for him to cry loud loud then go and carry him. hahh...

dongle,
I know how you feel.. I brought Adel with Shint to swim and Kai and Adel just wailed the minute they touched the water... we were also very disapointed...

hisstory,
somehow I find the govt docs are all very kua zhang... adel got admitted to KK for overfeeding...in the end, just reflux. Can you beat tat?

Do your babies scream ? Adel screams alot... i not sure if he wants attention or he is a naughty boy... very scared he will turn out to be spoilt !

I fed him the HT cereal today. First time. He ate then it flowed out with his saliva. Then HB scooped back and fed him again. I not sure how much he ate ir if he likes it.. Is it like that for every baby?

celyn,

wah, your yu ze so kuai. mine will self entertain once in a blue moon. he will wake up then flip to play around in the cot, then cry after awhile coz' need somebody to play with him. argh!

happy mummy,

my bb also screams and not cries sometimes. can be rather high pitched once he takes to screaming. yah, i think he just wants attention. kena spoilt by FIL already. put at IL's place my FIL everytime carry him *sigh*

happy mummy,
yu ze also screams. he screams for attention. i will ignore his scream and only see him when he cry. heheh....

krex78,
as long as he don't see us when he is up, he can self entertain. it can be as short as 2 mins or as long as 15-20 mins. that will depends on his mood loh. heheh....

Dongle,
We brought our boy swimming yesterday too and at first, he was overwhelmed by the coldness of the water (even we thought it was rather cold). Kept crying and whining.. took quite a while to be settled, then he eventually relaxed and we could put him in his float. He had fun after that, I think.

Catherine,
Cool idea to have big birthday bash in Aug! Haha.. it'd be quite fun and chaotic, I'd imagine!

Celyn,
My goodness.. that is ALOT of FBM you have there! You use bottles instead of bags? What sort of bottles do you use? Have to buy? When you eventually wean your baby off BM, what are you going to do with so many bottles?! Hee..

Hisstory and Val,
Thanks! Yes, he quite good with the sling. Every morning if baby wakes up too early, hb will carry him in the sling and walk walk in the corridor, baby will then fall asleep then the both of them will lie down on the sofa for a morning nap!

Happy Mummy,
Today we celebrated my boy's 6th month by feeding him cereal too. I gave him Heinz cos already bought a pack a couple of months back. This was before I knew about HT. I only added boiled water to the rice cereal and he didn't seem to like it much and pushed it out with his tongue. Think he only took like less than 1/2 tsp. I was so ambitious, prepared 2tsp of cereal! Super bland, I suppose. Will add BM tmw and see how he takes to it. Hopefully better.

wendy,
i use glass bottles from hospital, i get them from mummies in the forum. some are free and some i pay a small token. considering the fact that i have recycle the glass bottles many times, its actually cheaper than to use milk bag which i can't recycle.

i will keep these bottles for #2 loh. after #2 then sell it off again with the caps that i bought loh. hehe... must cover some cost mah.

baby swimming:
we brought yu ze swimming today. i think he is not afraid of cold, he never cry when we put him in the pool. he just sit in his float and relax then there is a jiejie who came over and pour water on his body, playing with him. he also like nothing, just let her do it.

Celyn,
True.. much cheaper than milk bags. I remember throwing away like 30+ expired FBM and I had used bags. So wasted.

Looks like I've to start expressing milk again to add to baby's cereal. Haven't done it for a few months liow since baby has been latching on.

Gosh.. it's super duper warm today. Cannot take it.

Me back fr the gai gai.

Brought Chevelle to the airport to look see. V shiok cos the T3 aircon v cooling.

Overall, she had fun, she kept kicking her legs furiously when my parents carried her outward-facing on their arms.

Haha, just now saw some people weighing themselves on this huge weighing scale, which I think is meant for luggage. So for the fun of it, I went to weigh myself. I only lost 2kg fr the last time I weighed myself at gynae. Still hv 5kg more to lose

<u>SAHM Gathering</u>

Date: Tuesday 17 Feb
Time: 2.30pm
Place: NiNi's (Strathmore Ave near Queenstown MRT)

Potluck again ga?

interested:
1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. Sylvia
4. NiNi
5. twin stars
6. fitbaby
7. Jems -cream puffs

valnsw,
go gai gai, good hoh. i didn't get to go ntuc cos fil came over to play with yu ze.

this morning, i also went to weigh myself and yu ze at the swimming pool. both of us weighs 51kg but i think the machine is not accurate cos i actually put on weight.

krex
yeah...i trained him when he was 8 weeks old. i was super duper exhausted. actually, now and then he'll still CHU pattern. but i just ignore. i realised that he'll cry for max 30min, then go back to sleep. then next day...sleep thru again. but if i feed him when he cries, next day, sure wake up again! they're damn smart lor. haha...

we used the "cry-it-out" method when he was 8 weeks old. once he could fall asleep on his own, amazingly he stopped all night wakings leh...and only woke up for feeds. took him about 3 nights to learn lor. but must be consistent one. if not they'll revert back again. they're very very adaptable &amp; smart!!

during CNY, we would put him to bed @ my in-law's so we could have dinner there and then pick him up asleep to go home @ abt 11+pm. then after 4 consecutive nights of doing that...he started waking up @ 11pm on his own! *piangs* so had to let him cry it out again lor. sianz. then next night...sleep thru again. sigh...

mummygiraffe
i've been putting ethan to bed @ 7pm since he came home from the hospital. so i guess he's used to the routine liaoz. today, we were a lil' late to come home. driving home @ 645pm. then he couldn't take it liaoz. he was nodding to sleep in his car seat! haha...so funny! no matter wat i did to try to keep him awake...his eyes just became smaller and smaller till it closed! haha...

wendy
hahah, ur hb quite pro leh.. Can still sling him if David wakes up too early &amp; sleep with him *applause* My hb also does the early morn shift on weekends, coz I cannot tahan liao

celyn
So cute, Yu Ze can sit up on his own liao.. U're right, sometimes they can entertain themselves in the cot for awhile &amp; sometimes not.. hahah

Aiyoh, u better eat ALOT!! U're so veryvery skinny leh

happy mummy
Overfeed Adel? No way, if not u wun be worried abt Adel being in the light-weight category

Nvm lah, so long as dun need to go under the knife or have to take blood tests, i dun mind going KK.. At least give myself a peace of mind coz my parents will nagnagnag abt the issue

val
*jia you* with the weight loss.. U already very skinny leh

timminbuzz,
haha... i know what you mean. yu ze does that too.

wendy,
hehe... not light as feather but not the heavy type too.

hisstory,
yah, he can sit up liao. on mon, he is still trying to figure out how to do it and manage to sit up half way. after practising for sometime, now he can sit upright with 3 steps:
1. flip over to tummy
2. raise buttock high up
3. push his body up and sit. (don't know how he did it).

trying to find a chance to video it down.

i got eat leh, like pregnant like that, eat non stop leh. sure hungry after i pump milk. i can eat biscuit, 1 hour before lunch time then still eat during lunch time.

Val,
My husband is one of those that weighs himself at the luggage scale. THis morning we were at T3 too cause parents are off to the US. Now I cham liao, they are the caretakers of adel. From tomorrow onwards, I have to really on hubby's sister. Single, quite young and not experienced. Hope she can take it. I really din have a choice as I could not find any baby sitter... Sigh....it will last for 3 weeks, hope she can tahan.

timminbuzz,
now that he can sit up, my nightmare is starting soon. its not easy to put him to bed now. he will just sit up in his cot if he don't want to sleep. last time, he will still wiggle round the cot and eventually fall asleep.

celyn
Hmm, before long Yu Ze can crawl! My sis says bb must first learn to sit before crawling..

Must record &amp; upload to FB k?

I'm also easily hungry.. Now at night must eat supper. Wah i hope when i stop BF i wun put on weight

celynlee
i know what you mean! now when i put ethan down to bed...he'll immediately flip onto tummy and prop himself up to look @ me before i can close the door. i must prepare for my nightmare then! :D

hisstory,
I only look skinny la but the fats still jiggling there!

timminbuzz,
hehe so coincidental, I also lowered Chevelle's cot liao.

celyn,
Wa... Yu Ze can sit up on his own? heh... Chevelle can sit up unsupported but must bring her to the sitting position.

I see her attempting to crawl v funny. While on her tummy, she always uses her legs and head to push forward when she shd be using the legs and arms to move fwd. WHen she cannot move fwd using the former way, she will end up flipping from her tummy to the back. haha

Though sometimes, she manages to inch her way forward.

Celyn,

Thks for mailing out the voucher to me! ;)

Happy_mummy,
keep fingers crossed for u, for Adel that is. Hopefully the 3 weeks will fly by ya?

timmin,

sigh, maybe me and hb not very consistent with the method. when he was much younger, we let him cry for half an hour and he would be at the other end of the bed and sweating like a pig. after awhile, we gave up. then when i was on ML, i tried it again during afternoon naps. cldn't tahan his crying after 15 mins. i think this method really need a lot of will power, and it'll get tougher coz' jonah is already so old. i'm also worried once we train him, his grandparents will counter our efforts by carrying him coz' they dun like bb to cry. *dilemma*

timminbuzz,
yah yah... yu ze don't even need to flip to tummy cos i will put him in that position to sleep. i'm going to lower his cot liao.

valnsw,
no problem.

celyn,
hopefully yr fbm is still ok, that's really alot alot of milk supply...

yu ze v brave... think my cayla v timid... kena a bit of water on her head, whole body stiffen up &amp; started wailing... somemore my pool very small &amp; seldom have people swimming one... hiaz...

hisstory,
the maxi cosi priori xp is for 9mths or 9kg onwards...

happy_mummy,
thot she will like swimming cos she likes to bathe, she cries when we finish bathing her... think i will try again soon...

yup, 1st time it's like that for cayla too, the cereal just flow out cos she din know how to swallow the cereals down....that's y it's recommended to start with 1 tbsp 1st... after a few tries shld be ok...

wendy,
i wanted to try a bit longer but HB see she cry until v chiam kept asking me to bring her up... cry until my neighbour son ask me how come my baby cry? her legs become very stiff &amp; she refuse to bend when i put her into her float...

val,
T3 quite nice... got popeye chicken... you dont look like you got 5kg more to go... think you v slim pre preggie?

why today super hot ar? Suddenly so cold for past 1 mth and just change suddenly. Due to the forest fire?

Anyway, Meredith very cranky, cant sleep, so we brought her gai gai, she happily slept.

My room temp now still 29.7degree C.......... aiyo... with 1 turbo giant fan in front of me.

val,

I might go Kidzloft again. hee hee!! maybe can buy for u if u want.

I saw it there when i was there on sat. Got alot of good buy.

For those who are still TBF now, may I know what was yr BF/pumping schedule during yr confinement? Any difference in schedule from then till now?

As I'm not able to TBF my baby so would like to get all the advice now so that next time I can do better.. heehee. TIA.

hisstory,

when Meredith sleeps, she doesn't need pacifier, but sometimes can see her mouth moving for self-soothing.

I have a nappy under her just in case overflow,etc. Sometimes when she flip in the morning, she will grab and then chew.

So I will change this nappy everyday. Sometimes she will have a nappy as blanket too. So both might go into her mouth too loh. Hahaha!

Nappy very good to use.

timminbuzz/ celyn,

any reason to lower the cot? Or when is a better time?

after they can sit without support?

Meredith can push herself up. Even when I let her sit 45 degree, after a while, she is sitting straight n playing with her toys. Sometimes even grab the poles along the cot.

Dangerous? Is it time to lower too?

swimming:

brought bb swimming since he was ard 3-4 mths at hua xia. at first he liked it very much. then noticed that recently, he started to kick less. he will just "nua" in the pool. likewise for big pool. he was very excited when we let him swim in there last nov but in jan when i brought him down, he will just practice yoga in there. dunno if it's becoz water is too cold. tried a few times liao and still like that each time. the last time i brought him swimming, the water was quite cold and there was not much sun. we tried bb pool, adult pool and then jacuzzi pool. i think that might have gotten him sick :p he did warm up a bit by the time we went to jacuzzi pool and started kicking a little though! looks like it'll be awhile before we bring him for a swim again coz' he still haven't recover fully from cough
maybe next time will either just put him in jacuzzi pool so it's warm enough, or go swimming on a sunny day, maybe much earlier, ard 4 plus.

morning mummies.

sylvia,
lower down the cot cos he knows how to sit up liao. then at babysitter's place, he will try to pull himself up in the play pen which is use as cot. so before he can really pull himself up in the cot, better to lower it. will never know when he can do that unless we see him 24 hours when he is in the cot. don't want him to 'climb' over and fall. fall is from cot is more dangerous than bed cos of the height.

dongle,
yah, my fbm are all safe. give yu ze a bottle to try, he's ok. before he drinks, his gan cheong father try too. hahah....

morning ladies.
yes, very very hot weather.
last nite sleep till half way, hb wake up to switch on air-con + fan switch to 3.
think can see some haze since this morning ya?
dun bring bb outdoor if possible hor.

krex
zynn also nua in hwa xia pool these few wks, i still thought its only her problem due to teething....hee hee....
bring her to safra pool yesterday, she also like nua nua like that leh.
maybe they swim till sian liao ya?