(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow74,
finally, the first man appear at 10.20am. sigh... so angry leh.

valnsw,
yah, i waited and waited. at 9.15am, i already start calling to complain liao. then he say he is at potong pasir and will need another 30 mins. then the other one, not contactable. so i waited for another 30 mins, still not here then i call up my boss again to complain. and finally appear at 1020am. then i scold both of them.

baby emma,
very siong leh your schedule. i would have die long ago. better start training liao.

rona,
its not 30ml, its 3oz (80ml) per bottle. i have recycle the bottles a lot of times liao. if i use milk bag, i would be super broke cos they are not cheap.

i express everyday, 3 hourly for almost 3.5 months then reduce to 6-7 times a day and now 5 times a day.

mummygiraffe,
yah, i will video it down. i actually video him when he was able to sit up half way but no point uploading that liao. i shall upload the sit up straight one, once i video it.

hisstory & valnsw,
46kg is the heaviest i ever hit. my pre-pregnant weight was around 43-44kg, which i think its a good weight for me. hehe...

baby sleeping in cot:
i agree with timminbuzz, must train asap. its harder when they are older. i put yu ze back to his cot after having him to sleep with us for 1 month. with him sleeping with us, i don't get good sleep. i sleep better when he is in his cot in his room.

my colleague's son is in k1 now and still sleep with them. got him his bed but he don't want to sleep there.

aug birthday bash:
is it really going to happen? i want to join.

timminbuzz,
you really set a good routine for Ethan. babies grow well and are very good natured when they have enough sleep throughout the day. i may have missed this but do you latch or feed from bottle?

celyn
yah. agree with you! when ethan was sleeping with us...my sleep was soooo disrupted! once i put him in his cot in his room...wah...BEST! haha

celyn,
wow, how is your bm daily yield? to store that much of milk is amazing.

and you are so slim lor.. i think i only see 40+kg when i was in my teens! haha..

anyone who's on the heavy side like me? haha..

mummygiraffe
i had to feel my way around before being able to put him on this routine. his day naps only got regulated @ 5th month.

i latch. and he's been refusing the bottle lately. sigh. but i've got those avent handles to put onto his bottle and put water in it for him to drink during solid feeds. hopefully, that'll get him back to bottle and can transit more easily to sippy cup soon.

hisstory,

i would suggest whatever works to get her to sleep. if ur bb can sleep wif patting, go ahead. juz try not to feed her... can try delaying her feeding to 4am+ first with graduaal increase to after 6am?

von,
yu ze's routine on weekends:
7am - feed, then nap
9.30-10am - wake up, feed a bit of bread
11-11.30am - nap
12pm - feed porridge + bathe
1.30-2pm - bm + nap
3pm - wake up
3.30-4pm - porridge
5.30-6pm - nap + bm
7pm - wake up
8pm - last feed bm.
9pm - sleep

after he wake up for 1.5hours or so, i will put him to nap. his nap can be from 30 mins - 1 hour. usually 1 - 2 hours after solid, i will give 80 - 120ml of bm. he will nap after bm.

timminbuzz,

when do you give bottles if you latch Ethan? oh and i realise (if i read your schedule correctly) Ethan takes only 4 feeds a day, is it cos he's taking solids for lunch and dinner feed?

I'm not saying pacifier is good. My ger too used to pacifier le, now, even if she's not sucking on her paci, her mouth will have that sucking motion when she's asleep, so funny...

mummygiraffe,
i get about 800ml of bm now, drop a bit liao. about 1-2months ago, can get about 800-900ml.

i always at the underweight category. i think even now, i still fall in that category but its much nearer to acceptable weight range.

timminbuzz,
good hoh. the first night when he is not with me, i feel so good the next morning. super refresh. hahah....

mummygiraffe
my husband used to feed the midnight feed with bottle. but since he slept thru, we didn't give a bottle. recently, i had to work a couple of hrs every sat and when my hb tried to feed him, he rejected the bottle. would rather starve.

ohoh...i tink i missed a 5pm top-up feed. so he takes abt 4-5 feeds a day. actually, he's been on 5 feeds a day since 13 weeks (when he started sleeping from 7pm-7am).

celyn,
wow.. i think you'll still be in such good shape when you have your 2nd one. the best is you can still fit in lots of nice clothes after giving birth.

i latch at night and pump in the day when i work so i still dunno my total yield. am thinking as long as Anna has enough, i also don wan to bother. as long as i can give bm to Anna till 1yo.

oh yes, what ingredients do you put in yu ze's porridge?

tim,

how much ur bb takes? enuff for his weight? i thinking to drop 1 feed for my ger, but if i do, she only drinking 600ml+ per day, abit little leh

Samantha,

55-56kg still very good le.. i'm not even near there lor. so sad.. did not lose my 1st preg wt althou i did lose 90% of my 2nd preg wt. so i'm never seeing my pre-1st-preg wt liao. think i'm gonna be the giant in this group. haha..

missysz,
If I remember correctly fr your FB, you look petite, not piggy at all!

Samantha,
I knw what u mean, even without the pacifier, will make that motion.
But hor, nowadays I realised, after she's done w the pacifier, it will pop out of her mouth by itself

Saves me the trouble of plucking it outa her mouth.

celyn / timmin,
Ya, I knw it's better if she can sleep in the cot. There was once she ever slept at night w us, but in her cot. She kept thrashing about even she was asleep. Made me wake up every time she thrashed/thumped. Then I just realised she was still asleep then I bochap her. haiz

timmin,
Did u mention before that u're a speech therapist or physiotherapist. Haha, saw the section/feature on TODAY for healthcare professionals. Saw some friends' names mentioned there and suddenly remembered u.

The way u describe bb "downgrade" fr bed to cot is so funny. LOL

celyn,
I think u're even skinnier than hisstory or me. U shd put on more weight!

Ok as I'm typing this, feeling so sleepy and full fr the lunch *burps*

Oh, so while waiting for the IT guys, u managed to access the web? At least can surf net, not so boliao while waiting for them.

Sylvia,
Just email/write in to say u dispute the amount they reimburse u. Ask them wat docs they need so that u can shoot them back!

rona,
no prob abt the HT cereals. I'm thinking once HT is finished whether wana let my bb try Happy Bellies.
Read that Vitakids at Paragon, Forum the Shopping Mall and United Sq sells and might be cheaper than if order fr overseas spree.
*Ack* last wk was at United Sq, forgot to check it out

timminbuzz,

that is sooo good. i think your bb's schedule is one of the best i've heard. and he sleeps in his own cot in his own room?

you SAHM but works 2hours on sat? interesting job..

samantha,
my boy also same! he will do the sucking motion when the pacifier is not in his mouth...v cute but scare he is addicted. haha..

enfapro
any mommies have switched from enfalac to enfapro (6 mth to 12 mth). do we have to switch graudally or can just change? my boy has finished his enfalac and i have a 400g enfapro at home. dont know if he can take it if i change suddenly...

brocoli puree,
can we freeze brocoli puree? anyone tried before?

Samantha,

My gal can drink up to 700+ml on gd days but on bad days she takes only 550+ml.

RE: number of feeds
On gd days, she takes 5 feeds, but generally 6-7 feeds. Haiz, still can't get her to drink more but less frequently.

val
or u can try putting her in her cot in ur room, then move cot out a bit @ a time until she's finally in her own room. hee...

i'm a psychologist cum autism therapist. so i work with autistic kids. mainly those who are able to cope with mainstream curriculum.

val,

my ger aso the same but nowadays she biting & playing wif her paci... last sat even threw it out of her rocker! guess when it went? under my armchair wor, i wonder how she threw de!

val,

united sq vitakids sell happy bellies ah? i just got some tins from overseas spree and if it's cheaper and more conv to buy from vitakids, i should get from there cos i'm there every sat for my #1's class.

mummygiraffe,
yu ze's porridge will have fish + carrot or fish + brocoli. this is what he has at home. at babysitter's place, he got more variety. he will have pumpkim, potato, carrot, fish, etc. about 2 ingredients in the porridge.

i hope i can still maintain like this after my #2. i only had a tummy when i was pregnant, nothing else change. so i can still wear back all my clothes but need to buy new jeans cos old one are too loose.

valnsw,
i use my hp to surf net just now loh. now i'm back in office liao.

Samantha,
haha looks like our gals same pattern. Sometimes she will also bite and just play w it. She will hold the handle of the pacifier and pluck it out herself.
Else occasionally, she will ptui it out and it flies in a projectile motion across the room -_-"

timmin,
As what mummygiraffe said, your job is v interesting, somemore only 2 hrs on Sat. Shiok!

val,

think mine like yours, small drinker...

mb its inborn cos when i was preggie, i used to tell my ger, mommy dun wanna eat alot cos i dun wanna get too fat... next time u aso shd stay slim... hee

tim,

your job v meaningful & chim...

mummygiraffe
haha...i'm actually giving private therapy sessions now. so i take on clients when i tink i can work.

missyz
i read from wholesomebabyfood.com that broccoli best to be introduced from 8months?

missysz,
i don't make brocoli puree. i just cut the top part of the brocoli (the part like sand kind), i just add that part to yu ze's porridge. no need to chop or anything. i will freeze the fresh one (not cooked one) in baby cube and take out to cook when needed.

timminbuzz,

oh, your job is very interesting. you mean you work with autistic kids who are able to cope with mainstream curriculum. i know of someone's kid who's slight autistic, in mainstream and extremely smart in music, maths and memory games.

val,

if got chance, we place our gers side by side, see who CHU more pattern! haha

celyn,

ur yuze growing so well & have such a balanced diet... think he not small eater liao

mummygiraffe,
Cannot remember if it's united sq, I think so, cos i remember there're 3 outlets. Confirm I knw there're one at Paragon and another at Forum the Galleria.

http://www.vitakids.biz/ret_store_locator.asp?storeID=90947917688E4F3FA58839EEF7E6FC03

How i knw is cos I was reading the Feb thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/2151360.html?1234335371

Somebody in the Feb thread said it's $9.40/tin, cheaper than fr spree. Plus think w some card got 5% off?

Earnestmummy,
Maybe u wana comment on this? Cos u got Happybellies from overseas spree right? how much u paid?

celyn,
OH MY! you are slimmer than pre-preg since your old jeans are too loose? oh, how i envy you...

hmm.. fish is really the best. i gave dried oysters and fish and veg to my #1 when she was young. hehe.. my parents says dried oys "bu nao". dunno how true..

mommies,

Juz saw this comment from val's link that pneumococcal supposed to be more painful than other jabs cos the needle needs to reach the muscle.

mummygiraffe
they tend to have narrow interests (in ur friend's case...music and math) and are very knowledgeable in those areas. i've met some kids who are like walking street directories and bus guides! they can tell me which exit no on PIE to exit and which bus stop number to stop and how long my bus journey will take! haha...it's been really fun working with them. but with autism... they lack social skills. so that's what i focus on.

Celyn,
Agree w mummygiraffe that Yu Ze is eating well. Remember back then ur hb and you were worried abt him being small-sized? I think w his eating appetite, you no need to worry liao.

How heavy is he now?

samantha,
Ya lo, if we place them side by side, can see who has more patterns. This girl of mine, sometimes really headache. Duno isit my parents spoilt her liao or by nature she's like that.

timminbuzz,

that's so gd cos you are a professional and you take on cases when you can fit in your schedule. how interesting. really shiok to only work few hours a week.

timmin,
U have ah? Maybe can check if the happybellies got discount or not. Cos I duno if the card has discount for everything.

I was thinking of getting a tin of it to try and if Chevelle is ok w it maybe can get more tins.

But for now, she's gotta finish her box of HT cereals which is like quite abit.

val,

think combi lah... spolit by PIL, our own parents & us parents as well... hehe... cos i can scold her & kiss her at the same time... talk about discpline... hee

valnsw,
i think he is still small size leh. the next time, i get to weigh him will be on 2 march. but he is defintely eating well now and more. hahah....

samantha,
yah, he eats non-stop. so now we must control his intake cos he don't know when he is full. will just eat as long as you feed especially with solid.

mummygiraffe,
yah, i think fish is good. so i try to give him fish every time.

timmin,
Mb can call to ask if HappyBellies considered as food haha...

RE: Birthday bash
Saw that the Feb babies had theirs at JWT at united Sq. I duno what's JWT...

But was drooling at all the kids' birthday cakes.

Now to think of it, 6 mths later will be our princes and princesses' bdays liao. V fast!

ok, gtg, bb woke up and now hving apple juice, need to tend to her liao.

val,

checked the feb thread. $9.40 per tin.. it's definitely cheaper than wat i paid at $10.60 per tin from overseas spree. ok, i go check out the vitakids at united sq this sat. i also buy goat's rue from there but cheaper to get from overseas spree.

val
heheh.. I am looking to getting back to weight when I just got married.. All those suppers after getting married did me in

*cross fingers & toes* tt Chevelle guaiguai stays in the cot.. Must persist k? *jia you*

yuuri & missysz
haahh... Can be slimmer! Greedy me

missysz
U pig out also soooo slim!! Love ur arms.. So toned leh

celyn
U veryvery skinny ah! My idol!! U below pre-preggy weight right?

samantha
Hmm.. Then I must tahan & rough it out when I start training & delaying.. Gotta be mentally strong liao

mummygiraffe
But u're a tall mummy, so u def not big nor heavy.. Esp with 2 kids to look aft, quite hard to be puipui

Samantha/val,

Oh, is it more painful? Anna has been taking the pneumococcal jab with the 6-in-1 at kkh. the nurses will give both shots at both thighs at one time so Anna only feels the pain once.

timminbuzz,

yes yes.. they are so smart in these areas. one time and they can hear what the musical notes are or can recite the math multiplication timetable at age 5!!! this one i know does not look at you in the eye initially and at any time when you talk to the child, he/she only hears what he/she's saying or one person's dialogue. but he/she can digest information well and can give you more than what we think kids can.

haha.. but you look after your Ethan yourself so you save on caregiver's fees and milk money!!!

does your discount card applies for food products like happybellies?

hi Mummies,
Thanks all for your advice. My maid told me she need to pay a lot of money in advance in order to work in Taiwan, that's why she is not able to go there again as she has no money now. Then her contract was terminated by the ex-employer as the employer's father passed away (but the employer use her to take care of his kids from the beginning), so by regulation they can't employ her. Don't know if it is true?!

I called my agent this morning and while she talked to my maid, my maid insisted she wants to transfer to another employer. My agent then blasted her and tell her that she will need to pay another 2 more months loan if she want a transfer and sge will be transferred to whoever needed a maid now and it might be worse than the current siatuation. When she hear she need to deduct 2 more months she agree to try her best to do whatever is requested here then see if one month later she can cope or not. I am very fan over this issue coz both myself and hb working so have to leave the baby with the maid thus really need someone who can work independently to take care of the baby. Since this maid can handle my girl quite well (my ex-maid dun even know how to make cereal well and everytime the cereal still lumpy one lo) so my hubby said let her try one month then decide if we want to change her. I told her off this monring that if she wants to work for us (or even anyone in Spore) then she has to change her mentality as working in Spore is totally diff from in Taiwan. I also told her no phone call back home daily as I am not as rich as her ex-employer. Really very 'wu nai' as I feel that I am being ransom by the maid but no choice we need her. However have also ask agent to keep a look out for us for good maid if any. Really pray hard that no issue on maid again. Once again, thanks for your advice so I know that the schedule to her is not too heavy and reasonable.