(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sylvia,
sure, can PM me ...

valnsw,
last time i went online to search and did it like for 2 weeks and alot online maids all taken la, sent back oredi la, not willing to work unless got 4 offdays la. it was damn difficult to find a suitable maid lor.

i interviewed so many on the phone and face to face oso quite alot. But I must say the face to face really matters alot - vv different from the photo and CV we see ... so i prefer to see the person and that has to be a transfer maid lor. Then again, transfer maids got their own sets of problems.

So far, the 2 i had are both transfer maids ... cos i can't afford to train from scratch, i'd freak out.

shint: how long has she been working for u?
and btw u are rite, regardless her reason , there is no point that she works for u if her heart is not there anymore.

Nini: according to the book not suppose to. but sometimes I mix it. or 1 spoon I give only cereal, 1 spoon fruit, the next one I mixed both. (i dont mixed all the fruit/vege together, I put them in separate bowl).
u still give braiden breastmilk rite.?

hisstory,
Ya, Anna can lean forward abit but she's not stable yet. She can sit up for quite a while now. She's such a sweet ger today, kept giggling and laughing and smiling. Maybe cos she had enough nap in the daytime? She slept for whole 3 hours till 2pm before another nap at 4+pm!!!

6 year gap really siong. I'm going through everything all over again. Just fed her and I'm exhausted liao. Plus we did not plan to hv a #2, we gave away most #1 stuff. So we buy almost everything all over again. Haiz..

YLN,
No la, i'm not but my few of my family members are. I was a contract teacher before but decided that teaching pri sch not my cup of tea. hehe..

rona,
My #1 previous childcare is just opp your place, one of the houses.But they changed mgt last year and the teachers I love no longer there. We still keep in touch thou. I think the one you said charging $1400 is the one with the new mgt. Very ex le.. my #1 joined the previous mgt in 2004 and the rate was ok, paid $550 aft subsidy. Now, no more this price liao.
Yaya, I heard about the queue at Nanyang Kindergarten. Good system there and good that they also focus on Chinese Language but terrible waitlist. Many of them also want to send their kids to NY Pri. How about anywhere along Clementi Road? Or Upper Bt Timah Road? Or Queensway?

Re dinner with ILs, the children will pay. My hb will take turns with his siblings or they will just split. No qns asked one. Usually my hb pays cos my ILs stay with his bro. Your side?

Hey, my #2 bd is very close to yours too. 27 Aug.

val,
For me, my hb will pay if we meet both my ILs and parents for a meal. Ha, we usually drag both sets of parents out tog cos we cannot afford the time.
So "yi ju liang de".

Yuuri,
Hey, u from MG?
Your parents still stay around here? Ya, GV is new and yes, we moved there to get into MG plus we like the convenience of this area. Bit siao hor.. haha.. that' why so stressed during the P1 registration period as we depend on Phase 2C!

M2B,
Ya man, I also hope my gers forever close lor but you know the Chinese always say age gap 6 years no good. Haiz.. I just continue to work on them lah. Funny thing is the age gap between my sis and me is 13 years! and we are very close! haha..

ReiRei,
Hehe, so you did not meet your MIL at all? I also sometimes hide in my room when my PILs come to stay in the past cos I dunno what to talk to them about. They speak Hokkien and I no speak Hokkien.
I always end of saying "huh"?? Hehe..

val,

my maid gave bb apple juice also, but it's the water from steaming the apple, haha. tasted equally sweet and my bb didn't seem to like it that much. he doesn't have prob poo-pooing. last time on BM, he poo-ed almost everyday and now on solids, sometimes more often, though the poo is now solid and a lot more smelly. sometimes he seems to make some noises, as if hard to pass out, but usually no probs doing it at least 1x a day. is your bb still on BM?

hashisan,

how come no gd to mix the cereal + fruit? how about cereal + veg? so far, i've been mixing it coz' apple puree alone seems too sweet. in fact, when i mix, jonah still finds it a little sweet. earlier on, maid and MIL suggested to mix cereal + spinach also as spinach has a bitter aftertaste.

shint,

so sorry to hear abt your maid. maybe u can make a trip to hougang green. i went there to walk around as there are many maid agencies there. i got my maid from citizen family helper although i didn't think their selection was fantastic. it so happened that the agent had a transfer maid and she highly recommended her, saying that the maid was very pleasant and employer didn't want her only becoz the employer was too demanding. so hb and i interviewed her and we kinda liked her coz' she can understand us well and gave us quite a gd impression during the interview. of course, she did give us some probs after a few mths but after the pep talk, she's improved tremendously. sometimes this kind of thing is heng suay one. i never wanted a transfer maid but i ended up with one coz' i gave birth earlier than expected. luckily for me, this maid is quite dependable these days.

bb dvpt:

can i do a quick survey for those bbs who've turned 6 mths? can they:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy?
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids?
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night?
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)?
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled?
6) sit unsupported?

tks for your feedback!

morning mummies.

shint,
oh no. like what you say, its better to let her go since she already got no heart to work for you liao. hope that you can find your new maid soon.

bb dvpt:
1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? - Yes
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? - Yes
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? - after start solid, sleep through
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? - yes, still sleep with pacifier
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? - sleep on his own
6) sit unsupported? - yes

celyn,
if it's real that her hubby had stroke, she'd be worried abt the children too ... then she'll be too distracted to work properly.

sometimes i pity them too.

hisstory
ya,..kaer took the ngor fish lor..after i posted yestd..she pooed in the evening again..sigh..i clean and wash her butt until its all red liao..she so poor thing..today..definitely not giving her the fish liao..asked MIL to give vege lor...*cross finger* hope she takes to vege better...

celyn
oh..so u never let yu ze eat any fish/meat? just the porridge after cooking with the fish/meat? ..hmm..my MIL keep insisting bb too small to eat minced meat..but i dunno if only eat porridge got enuff nutrients anot leh..yu ze like all the diff kind of meat??

bb dvpt:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? Yes
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? Yes
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? Sleep thru b4 soild started.
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? Sleep with pacifier
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? No last time yes but since she can flipped no.
6) sit unsupported? Yes

yln,
i let yu ze eat fish. the only thing that is cooked together but didn't eat is pork for now. he takes everything that i put in his mouth loh. he is like rubbish bin, everything also eat. hahah....

bb dvpt:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? No
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? Yes but still rejecting spoonfeeding.
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? Still sleeping through
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? Sleep with pacifier
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? Sometimes.
6) sit unsupported? NO

bb dvpt:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? Done this 3x only.
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? Sometimes can finish milk after solids but mostly, no and milk intake has dropped
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? Wake up 1-2x a night.
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? Sometimes can do w/o pacifier
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? If v tired, no need much rocking but most of the time needs rocking
6) sit unsupported? Yes, but for a few seconds

Good Morning Mommies!

YLN,
Maybe Mae really greedy, she can take minced meat well…hahaha…I think minced meat can be stirred to be smaller pieces…

Valnsw,
Mae loves fish!
For preggies carrying bbs, my mom actually has this thinking that when bb’s 1st month, good to let preggie carries, then the bb wun be pantang later on…I did for my #1 but for Mae coz no 1st month celebration so no chance…heehee

April & Krex,
Ya, so better dun give too many yellow vegetables too often…Krex, yup, I gave Mae the bottled pea puree before and she takes it well…now a bottle is not enuf for her liao…

Mummygiraffe,
Why age gap of 6 years no good? Ya, we shall work on our gals so that they will be close to each other and the family too…hahaha

bb dvpt:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? Yes, if she wants to do it.
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? Yes, finish milk.
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? Continue to sleep through.
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? Never used before.
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? Sleep on her own at night. Day time, need to rock a while.
6) sit unsupported? Yes, for a short while

hashishan,
My current maid's contract is also $320. Ya the prices went up.

Rata,
If BIL is the fav son, then ya MIL will prob defend her just like how mine did. Though ILs claim need to be fair, that time talk about the brideprice and si dian jin, said they want to be fair else later his bro finds out. I'm like, why shd they even bother abt how his bro feels. It's their $ and they can choose what they wana do w it right?

There was one time when I was staying w ILs, hb's bro's wife (at that time still preggie) talked and asked me things in such an interrogative way over the dining table while all of us (exclude my hb) were eating. ILs were there but they never said anything to stop her fr talking that way. It's like the moment I answered one question, she shoot back another question immediately, like gunfire speed.

M2B,
Chevelle was alrdy 5mth+ on CNY eve. So not sure how this will apply. Plus cos I nvr knw abt this.
My main concern is she being preggie shd not carry Chevelle who is alrdy 7kg.

Chevelle is quite strong and when she struggles against the person who carries her, she can kick like anything. I don't want anything to happen to either party, cos what if Chevelle accidentally kicks her tummy and then what if she dropped Chevelle as a result of that?

Then who should I blame? Or rather, will somebody blame me?

smurfette80,
your gal is very pretty looking!

M2b,
Do u mix broccoli and spinach puree in the cereal or just feed the vege puree?

Krex,
Do you cook the whole spinach? I was told to leave out the stem for young babies first…I think too much fiber so not good for babies? I am not sure, literally a novice!

SAHM gathering
Smurfette & hisstory,
same here.. I was thinking hard since last week still couldnt figure out what would b good 2 bring :p even post here earlier to ask other mummies idea hehehe

Smurfette
ur gal in jumperoo looks funny uh.. think mine will b bit lazy to move her but :p

timmin
ya... pai seh lah to go empty handed...mmmm.. how abt yam cake ? fried or steam ? or otah ? :p

Cooldaughter & Celyn
mayb i'll try w/out mixing 1st then if she's not taking then i'll mix :p

Reirei
Char can sleep from 8 pm til 10 am ??? !! So good lehhh... mummy can rest..
lucky oso cos by then u dont have to face MIL hihi...

mummygiraffe & m2b
ya lor... all parents do hope their children remain close lahh
i'm not that close to my younger bro thou.. 6 yrs diff. or mayb cos diff gender uh ?:p

gayletan
no lah.. i dont think u'll spoil the bb.. not easy to just watch bb cry the heart out n didnt do anything :p

FItbaby
hehhee, my gal oso havent sleep thru yet... I still feed her even more in the nite :p I also cant c her cry.. Scold my hb that time cos just quiet while bb cry.. told him " pick her up ! " hihi.. but in the morning, if I delay her feeding after get up, she looks ok leh...
mayb should do it the other way ard, delay the nite one n feed in early morning... :p

Will post again later, my gal now join 'typing' on the laptop :p

morning ladies. =)

valnsw
chevelle 7kg liao har?
zynn same also, 7kg 2 wks ago.

shint
ai yo, can understand.
ur parent can help to look after ur kids awhile?

m2b
how to make that HT cereal more delicious har?
zynn dun want leh, end up gotta clear up the mess she spilt out. =(

Rata,
Stayed w ILs for few mths, then now staying w my parents.

My ideal situation was to hv our own place so no need to see either set of parents on daily basis.

But then that time ppty prices went up too high, so no choice gotta stay w one set of parents for time being. His side is too crowded I feel.

hi smurfette,
possible to help me collect? saw that you have already collect for slyvia, if too much then dun bother...thanks btw i stay at woodlands circle, you leh?

teats,
any mummies can help me? what sort of avent teats should i use if i want to mix the cereal into the milk and bottle feed ger? now what i do is poke a bigger hole in one of her older teats, now the hole seems to be getting bigger leh how how?

shint,
think me also will be in a big headache like you..anyway my maid will be sending her back in april...contract up..maybe have to source for another one liao...sianz...

mummygiraffe
Yup my parenst still stay there, near Ivins. I'm a true blue AC/MG kid
Wah so hardcore, move nearby to get a place in the school! But then I'm also thinking of how to get my boy into ACS...

Rata
My hb ever hinted before that he wanted to move back with his parents in a few years' time cos they will be very old and need to be cared for! I'm like #@&#*^! They have 3 kids and hb is the only one who does everything for them...buy things for them, mop their floor, etc.

snow
If you ever find out how to get Zynn to eat HT cereal, tell me! Cos my boy also refuse to take...keep spitting out and giving the yucky face!

HT cereal,
bought the brown rice one, have yet to let ger try it leh...how so far ger only managed to taste the heinz one...so struggling coz this mummy only feed her 1x during the weekends leh..

Krex: I think it is only for those who is introducing baby to solid. they want babies to know different texture, different taste etc.
that's why the experts say must give cereal first, then can give fruit (which is sweeter). so baby wont develop sweeth tooth.

Misaki always gives me 'wanna puke" kind of face if I give her cereal by itself. it is the heinz cereal. no taste, super bland. and i dont blame her
mixing fruit or vege wont kill them lah. actually breastmilk itself has some sweetness if u taste it.

Misaki's poo is hard today
. I gave her banana for 2 days. why ah? I know some babies will have constipation bcoz of banana, but this auntie at econ minimart told me this banana (small one not those philipine ones) is suppose to be good for baby..so today I give her pear .

bb dvpt:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? Yes once in a while
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? yes , never rejects milk
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? Sleep thru? what is that

4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? yes.
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? i give up rocking her to sleep long time ago.
6) sit unsupported? Yes briefly

Btw mummies: What eye cream is good? anyone can recommend. start seeing thise fine lines
, my hair drop, tummy not like last time. (maybe this one I have to be more realistic to my self).very sad.

Val, ur IL ok wif ur hubby staying at ur parents side? at least not so bad imagine if they traditional dun allow then jialet. so ur bil & sil stay wif pil too?

Yuuri, the good side is ur hubby is a good son. But if is me i also dun wan lei. so how u brush him off the idea?

Morning mommies!

M2B,

6 years apart means by the time my #2 goes to P1, my #1 is Sec 1 liao. Also worried by the time #2 turns 3, #1 does not want to play with her. But then, we wouldn't know what will happen hor? So now making sure I don't neglect either one in their needs lor. Not easy cos I bf so alot of time spent with #2. And #1 feels left out initially, she even want to drink bm from me! But she loves her sis lah.

Ling,
Yah, my bro and me 2 years apart also not as close my sis and me, 13 years apart! Guess gender differences do play a part. So in a way, I'm glad I have 2 gers.

Yuuri,l
Oh, I also like to eat at the coffeeshop there. Not ex.. Yah man, really hard core, my hb knows how the environment/peers can really affect a child's upbringing as he's a teacher. So we decided long ago no need any SAP school, just a full school with good value system is good for us. Anyway, that time we also wanted to shift out of old place. Price was good then so took the plunge! Haha.. My alma mater not bad but too far for us. Your hb old boy of ACS? I also know a few parents who not just moved/rent a place to be near the school but also join as PV!

Rata & Yuuri,
My hb also wanted to bring his parents to stay with us. I just tell him directly that I cannot stay with them within a small compound. So I set a condition. We need a bigger place where I also have my personal space and the place must be near my parents cos my mom doesn't mind helping out with my ILs who're much older. Sigh.. I also understand why my hb wants to do that. I would also want to help my parents. ^^

Timmin
Do you have a steamer? If don't got to get something else leh
Sorry for the trouble...
Can pm your address? Is it near MRT?

I think I'm one of the few here who hasn't start my bb on cereal. I read that it's good for them to take bm till 6 months. I still have 3 weeks to go. Anyone else like me? But reading all the posts reg cereal and different types of puree is going to be so helpful when I finally start. (",) So interesting to read what to give our bbs.

gayle,

I use lilypadz sometimes. I don't wear bra to sleep and when nipples sore it helps prevent rubbing against the t-shirt, no matter how soft the t-shirt is, it's still uncomfortable.

Only problem is sometimes I overslept for my pump I will still leak. Supposed to prevent leak, but if more than 7hrs, how you press the nipple down, milk oso will burst out right?? :p

yuuri
think most hb are pressurised by relative to live with their parent ya?

hee hee....if u noe how to make bb eat HT, do exchange also hor.
thx.

rata,
before married, I asked hb to come over to my parents' side to stay but he said don't want, said what would his parents think and where got the guy stay over at the niang jia, as if it's marry into the family.

Actually, I think his parents also aim for him to stay over at my parents place la... cos after staying with ILs a few mths and obviously i'm not so happy, his mum also told me she spoke to hb, that she's ok w him to come over. (methinks its cos their hse too overcrowded and mb she's pantang, the other DIL is about to give birth and going to do confinemt). They ever mentioned that oh where we gona stay, if want can stay at my parents' place.

Hb said he alrdy made concession by staying at my parents' place. I told him its BS, cos he was the one who didn't want to, but then in the end relented cos his parents gave him the green light to do so.

rata
I told him he can move in with them himself. He can come and visit us once in a while :p So he just keep quiet. The next time he bring it up again, I sure say World War 3!

mummygiraffe
Sigh hb not AC boy...so the only way would be through moving house but cairnhill or balmoral area is damn ex! If rent, must rent how early in advance ah? hehe..what's PV?

shirley,
when i mix the cereal into bm, most of it already dissolve liao but i used size 4 teats instead of size 3.

staying with in law:
i'm mentally prepared that i will have to do that when fil gets older. he is very independent kind so maybe this day won't come too.

giraffetan
hee hee...we set the same condition for hb to fetch il to live with us. =P
i told him unless we live in a 2-storey house, where i can hide upstair.
my mil often scold "bad words" leh, i dun want my gals to pick up that kinda language lor.
very bad hor?

girraffetan / snow,
I think it's normal. Even when staying w ILs, unless for dinner, I won't come outa my hb's room. Just coop myself inside.

Same goes for my hb, he will coop himself into my room.

hashishan,

I also in need of gd eye cream. Tried few brands but realised they dun help much. For dark circles, sleep is the only solution. Applying the cream will only help hydrate the eye area and make the fine lines "disappear" for short while but after that still there

Yuuri,
I like your response! haha. I certainly hope hb will not ask ILs to come stay w us. At least I think they most likely wld not, since they hv their own place which wld be much better for them.

Yuuri: My son now 3 years old also did not like Healthy Times and Earth's Best brown rice cereal back then when he first started on solids. Ended up throwing them away. Amber likes Happy Bellies Cereals and I know why! Cos I tasted them all and find that Happy Bellies cereals taste yummy while the other two is more bland. But I am not sure if that was the reason for my son to reject the cereals back then cos I dun know about Happy Bellies then.

valnsw
then u must have enough place for chevelle to move about inside the rm wor...

i tried few brands of eye cream also, still a big panda now. =P

earnestmum
bb can actually compare when haven expose them to diff taste ya?
think bb nowadays are getting smarter hor...

earnestmum
Hey thanks for the recommendation. I'm getting a headache cos not sure if my son is rejecting spoonfeeding or HT cereal itself. Maybe I should get Happy Bellies to try, also must mix like HT? So how did your son get started on solids in the end?

val
If ever *touchwood* I have to stay with ILs, I think I will also lock myself up in the room, then go home like machiam go jail like that! SO sian...besides, my parents would also violently object.

snow,
We've got the bed, the cot and the sarong for her to let her be on and to play around.

It's my hb who coops himself in the room, not baby haha. My hb can entertain himself in the room w his laptop or the TV.

When bring bb downstairs, my parents fight w me to carry her.

Yuuri,
Why wld your parents violently object?

Anyway, one gd way of getting around the thing is, if ur hb ever suggests moving w parents or living w them, tell him your family needs the space, plus if your bb is cranky u dowan his parents to suffer for it.

And as a compromise, mb u can tell him to get his parents to stay nearby you so that can visit and at the same time can take care of them.

Ermz, if u're living in HDB, maybe can stay in same blk or nearby blks lo...

celyn,
what cereals you using huh? i use the heinz ones hor ger cant suck out the cereals at all, in the end she become so pek cek and give up giving her milk..a lot cereals got stuck in the bottle in the ned ger also never drink much leh...
btw i try using the variable slot cut avent teat borrow from my niece also, okie lah what you think??? me blur leh

HiHi

Super tired coz hubby sick for a whole week since last week. Finally got better to go back work today. Then I also got sick. Haiz...

Re cereal- my girl seems to like Heinz better than HT leh. Actually, if put BM, the cereal quite sweet. I tasted. haha!

So far, have let her try carrots (she like) and sweet potato (so-so). Going to let her try broccali and banana next. Btw, can you all let me know how your feeding schedule like har? Me still trying to find a balance since she started semi solids.

My schedule:
8am- BM (about 200ml)
11am (give and take coz got to wait for her to wake up from nap)- cereal (2 TB for Heinz and 4 TB for HT, w 40ml of BM)
1pm- BM (direct latch)
3.30 to 4pm- BM (direct latch)
6pm- carrots/ sweet potato etc (2 TB)
7.30pm- BM (150ml)

I feel very 'xiong' leh coz seems to be feeding all the time.

bb dvpt:

1) roll back from tummy to back once they've flipped from back to tummy? Yes
2) finish their milk or do they have probs once they've started solids? have reduced intake since starting on solids
3) continue to sleep thru the night (if they have already done so), or tend to wake up a few times at night? wake up sometimes once or twice
4) sleep w/o pacifier (if it was previously used)? sleep with pacifier unless v tired
5) sleep on their own w/o being rocked or cradled? have never rocked her to sleep
6) sit unsupported? Yes briefly

val
My parents know their baobei daughter (aka me) will get bullied and feel miserable so they always say cannot stay with ILs. My house is v small lah..1 room for bb, 1 room for us. I purposely don't put another bed so no one can bunk over. ILs already staying nearby...abt 5-10mins drive away. Their house is maisonette and only the 2 old folks so plenty of space thus hb suggested we move there.

Yuuri,
Oic, then in this case, just say that you want your privacy plus you two want to stand on your own feet. Cannot depend on parents forever.

U say can help take care of them but not for them to move in.

hehe, the way you respond to your hb sounds like you are not the easily bullied type leh...
Ya but can understd, in front of ILs, cannot say too much or rebut. That's why my parents also didn't want me to go stay w ILs, for the same reason, they scared i kena bullied.

In any case, SIL (hb's sister) also one kind. One night it was raining and I just parked the car outside. I got no chance to park the car inside cos all the carporch space kena taken by all their 3 family cars. I quickly rushed to the gate (open those small side gate) but it was locked. So I rang the doorbell.

It was the maid who opened for me. But guess what? As I entered the living room, SIL was watching TV there. Can you imagine?! She was there all along and yet she didn't lift a finger to help open the gate for me. She'd rather sit there watch her TV and wait for maid to open the gate!!!! *bish*

my son just turn 6 mths n i'm trying to give him solid. i gave brown rice with ikan bilis but seems he dont like it. then i gave him cereal with sweet pureed vegetables. he will just take a few scopes and that's it. i'm worried that it he dont want to eat. any advise?