(2008/08) Aug 2008

lingling,
I duno if she wants her bb to be like mine. I dun think she wants her next bb to be same sex as mine if MIL is those traditional one.
Unless she hopes her next bb looks cute like mine... i duno. Cos ILs all commented my bb looks bright, big and bright eyes, hv "fu2 xiang4" etc...

missy,
Abt her not attending my bb's manyue, its just a speculation that she cld hv been pregnant then and did not attend it. I'm not sure cos in Dec when I saw her she looks pregnant, so duno fr when she started to be preg. Plus few wks before that I heard fr MIL that she went on overseas work trip to India (think timing quite close to the Mumbai incident).

Ya I've heard of tat saying, tat e bb inside e tummy will kick the other one. If she believes in that, then she certainly has/harbours bad intentions lo.

She's v irritating one. I got a feeling she's v pantang. Cos during my wedding day, do the tea ceremony at ILs' place then gotta take group photo, she commented that my hair is done v nicely and she proceeded to touch my hair. I super uncomfy w that. U wana say, just say, no need to touch wat... At that time she was preg w her #2 at 7-8 mths liao.

Anybody has gd place to recommend for shaving babies' hair?

Thinking of bringing my gal to shave. I knw it's weird to do it now after the 4 mths, but wanted her to hv hair during CNY.

Rata,

Seems like its mainly physical, doing the gym only ya?

For mummies interested in the Tumbletots, it's $80 for membership (one-off) $40 if u hv the OCBC baby bonus card.
Then 12 sessions for $264 which must be used in 3 mths, meaning hv to go every wk.

Not sure if I wana bring her every wk... Maybe I shd just go for the trial see if gd.

They dun give discount for trial lessons for large groups.

Yuuri,
Heh, not at Maplewoods, GV, Just hit the radius of 1km. U know someone who stays at maplewoods?

Sylvia,
Hey, I also got this prob. I want to stop stranger from touching my gers. How to do so politely ah?

YLN,
Oh, is the schedule better than being at local schools?

celyn,
My bb ger can pull so many times I get fed up and "scold her". Worse when i bf her outside and she'll get distracted. Then I gotta always relatch her discreetly.

Ling,
My gers' age gap is 6 Ii also worry that they will not be close now and in future but we can't decide what will happen so the only thing I can do now is to help them build a close tie from young. I suspect they may be close for couple of years until my #1 finds more friends. Then they will only be close again when they are in their early 20s. Of course, I do hope they'll be as close as ever.

Ling ling, I have also been told the same thing about the old FM mixing to the new one..but last time when i switch FM i oso didn't do that cos that time dun know...my gal seems fine leh
but this coming changing of bb FM to advance 6mth formluae we are doing the mixing loh

Ruixuan, I also bought the Thermos food jar..it doesn't keep the food warm enough, if u r bringing bb out and going to feed in 1-2 hrs time its still quite ok, anything more than that don't think can keep the food warm...although i agree that it's small and easy to bring out loh

mummies...
i've been having so much problems entering this site! just managed to get in....

re: SAHM gathering @ timminbuzz's place
can't seem to get into archive to find the list of mummies. can we change timing to 3.30pm instead?

re: HT orders
delivery confirmed to be before friday. but still waiting for them to contact me on a definite day & time. will let you know once they contact me.

timminbuzz,
think u could not enter the site cos most likely SMH doing the archiving process. So cannot access from main menu.

So now I bookmark this page into my Favourites so I can go directly to this pg.

What's the name of the baby gym place in Forum?
Forum is in the Central, I prefer to bring bb to somewhere in the East.

How are you doing? Have not posted for sometime. I have started Amber on Happy Bellies rice cereals which I bought from forum. She likes the taste and has been taking it happily :) I tasted it and like it too. I plan to start her on sweet potato today.

It's inspiring to know that some mummies are bringing their babies to classes. I wish I can move my lazy bum!!

earnestmum...
i just started my bb on sweet potato yesterday too! he didn't take it well ytd...but loved it today. hee...maybe cos today i added breastmilk instead of water. hope urs will take well to it!!

valnsw...
ohhhhhh....i was wondering how the other mummies get in...now i know. thanks!!! i must bookmark this now! hee

re: gym
it's called The Little Gym. i guess somewhere closer to home would be more convenient.

val
Hmm, I dunno if the close age gap necessarily means there wld be a prob.. But if the child's personality is diff, then a close age gap may be diff to handle. But if Chevelle is attending full day childcare, then maybe the prob will not be tt prominent *cross fingers & toes*

Did Chevelle sleep well last night?

celyn & val
I'm also concerned abt my energy levels being able to upkeep with bb & the demands of nightwakings.. Siong to go thru again

mummygiraffe
Most welcome! I bookmark the page so i had no probs

So cute, Anna can recognise mummy oredi!! Does she know how to arch towards u, so tt u wld carry her?

6 year gap may also be too siong for me to handle a new bb.. I also think my hb can't wait till then.. hahah

ling
Dunno leh.. Sometimes I find a huge gap may also be gd. Less sibling rivalry coz the older child ought to be more sensible.. But no guarantees.. Sometimes the older child is more interested in his/her own thing, so not bothered abt the new bb. But tt's also gd in a way

snow
Wah.. Really tug of war, almost WWIII??
U're really going to be an expert at multitasking with both hands.. Take my hats off u
Prob looking at 3-4yr gap too.. Hoping for a Jan bb, so it shd be 3+ yrs

timminbuzz
I let u know if 330 is okie yah? Usually my ger naps between 2-4pm-ish, i can adjust slightly. So may be a little late..

hisstory
dun worry lah, next time u will noe....hee hee...
especially if both gals with closer age gap. =P

btw, u got my mail yet?
wonder if i sent to the rite person. -_-"

snow
My niece is now quite diff to handle.. She wld scream at Ashley and her little bro. My parents have resorted to rubbing her lips with a bitter Chinese herb powder to punish & deter her

The loot email huh? If tt's the one, i've received

hisstory
dun punish lah...the more u all punish her, the more she will feel neglected....then the more she will shout lor, just to attract attention.

ya, lucky din send wrongly.
cos u gals din reply, i thought my hotmail got problem. =P

I also have problems accessing this thread, in fact when you go to topics and click on the 2008 mums, whole page is blank! I used the search function a few times to get in. Only thing is, the search function also not very reliable cos i cannot use it at home only can get into the thread here from office. will bookmark it so can post.

Thanks for the info about the mother & baby exhibition. useful cos got to cheong for diapers again too!

Shint,
your bb kai's birthday is very close to mine leh, my bb is born on 24 Aug, yours?

valnsw,
Thanks. have not started on the house-hunting part. We are still trying to save more cash, cos heard from friends that bank only willing to give out 70% loan. we invested the CPF monies - and its at a terrible 70% loss right now? Gosh, I didn't even want to count it. Make me very sad. So got to build up both the cash and cpf portion.

Age Gap
my kids are about 30 months apart. Even at 30 months apart, i think its quite siong. But there's no fix rule of what is the best age gap lah. as long as you can get good help and childcare arrangement, its ok. but I the gap should not be too big, else also quite siong for the parents. anyway, that's it for me, no more bbs for me liao.

mummygiraffe,
Where is your #1 previous childcare? I think that area's childcare all at 4 figure, which we well cannot afford. Faith moni is charging like $1200 for full time, there's one opp jelita across the main road, charging like $1400 per month. I've got 3 kids leh, how to pay this kind of money? So looking around for realistically priced ones. I actually like Nanyang Kindergarten, but the queue is terrible and the teacher-in-charge told me frankly that my chance of getting in is almost zero. Actually I was offered a place for this gal this year. but in the afternoon session, but i cannot fix the logistic problem so gave up and requeue. N2's chance is worst since most of the N1 will move up to N2. cross my fingers for next year lah. Do you know that Nanyang Kindy has enrolment like primary schools? they follow the same phase system as that of the primary school, so even if i put my bb in the waiting list, we are still in the lowest priority = no chance also...

<haiz>

Val, back to sil topic. U knoe my future sil wat she wore to my wedding? she came in evening gown (this is ok coz is short de) but she wore a lacy golves too. Wa liao like trying to steal my lights then ask my PG to take pic for she &amp; my bil. so angry after the wedding they ask for phots softcopy I juz delete off dat pic &amp; never give them. She like to talk big &amp; show off la.

Got once we were playing MJ then she keep losing &amp; guess wat she say?? I think i more suitable to study (at dat time she in SIM) wa liao here liao i wan to shoot her back saying if suitable to study y not in NTU or NUS y SIM.

haven't been able to post since last night...something wrong with the thread.

cereal:

fed jonah cereal with apple puree since yest. he's ok with it but seems to find it too sweet. luckily i didn't give him pure apple puree, heh. i give the same combi at 2pm and 6pm leh. still not sure what's the reason behind not giving fruit in the evening. dun think i can get him to eat solids before 12pm coz' he usually bathes and goes back to sleep in the morning. oh, i prepare cereal by tablespoon, but feed using teaspoon.

3d bibs:

the BP already closed leh. bibs are cheap but postage very ex. $4.50?!? i saw the bibs selling at ard $9 at a push cart in raffles city. waiting for the next BP to see if i can get it any cheaper. am considering disposable bibs for outside use now.

SIL:

yah i'm one of those can't stand SIL but can tolerate PIL. thank goodness i only see her 1x a week and her future kid will not be looked after by the same person as mine.

re: gathering @ timminbuzz's place
my bb's definitely attending. hee...:D
ALL bbs welcomed!! i've got a playmat, jumperoo, bumbo n toys. should be enough to entertain the bbs?

krex...
re: cereal
i introduced last week and he's taking 3 tablespoons now! tried sweet potato puree yest n today. he didn't like it yest. but loved it today. i feed him after his 7am feed and 10+11am feed.

tree nymph,
it depends on how gd your relationship w ILs and your hubby's relationship w your parents.

For me, this will never happen. Cos both sets of parents cannot tahan each other.

But if such a scenario were to occur, I would pay for my parents' share while he pays for his parents, cos I knw my hb is v cost-sensitive &amp; I wun expect him to pay for my parents' share.

Rata,
Wow... why did she comment abt being suitable to study? So weird to say that during mahjong.
Anyway, no offence to people who studied in SIM but I found that maybe the fundamentals/foundation is not taught properly.
Last time, my ex co hire this person from SIM (quite fresh) who was under me. Later my finance mgr assigned her work which is take over fr my colleague who was leaving.

My colleague (who took ACCA) told me she was shocked that this person didn't knw what accrual is. I heard alrdy, also faintz... That is the most basic 101 of accounting.

My colleague feedback to the finance mgr that this person didn't even knw the basic concept of accrual. And guess what? the finance mgr said, oh she's still young, never mind.
Super pissed, the both of us, cos we felt this FM was playing favouritism. What has understanding of accrual concept got to do with age?!

Maybe not the uni but the person who studied also matters.

timmin,

your bb eat plain alone or mix with cereal? i'm going to try carrots on thurs. hope he doesn't poo too much again coz' last week when i gave spinach, his stomach cldn't handle.

mummygiraffe
GV is v new right? U all moved there specifically to get into MG? No lah, I'm just guessing cos my parents' house is just opp MG (and yet my dad still drove me to sch everyday last time!)

rata
Your future sil, meaning not married to your bil yet? My irritating sil also did the same thing lor...keep asking the photographer to take pictures of her and her relatives. Until in the end I wanted to take photos with my friends, the photog say no more film!!

krex...
i give plain cereal in morning 7am n just sweet potato at 11am. i try to let him taste the veg on its own 1st b4 mixing. i read frm somewhere tt try to intro root veg 1st b4 leafy veg. easier on e digestive system. i'm gg to try carrots too after sweet potato.

venue: AMK
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz (muffins)
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby (char siew pau from Toa Payoh? any muslim mommies?)
4. babyemma (1kg round cream or cheese cake)
5. Linx
6. Happie
7. Apriltan (nonya kueh kueh)
8. Smurfette
9. Jems (chicken pie)

Last posted yesterday at 6.02pm by Jems. Timmin, I dun wanna go there empty-handed. Cracking my brain on what to get.

Halo Mommies!
Just a note, dun keep feeding bbs with sweet potatoes, carrot, pumpkin and other yellow stuff, coz my hb's cousin boy become very yellowish at 7mths due to overfeeding of these stuff so try to alternate with broccoli, spinach etc...

valnsw,
my parents cannot tahan my MIL becos of the way she bullies me, but ok with my PIL. We also seldom eat together, if we do, its because of the kids' birthdays and hb will usually pick up the tab.

What i like to know is if you and your PILs and your PIL's kids (and their wifes or husbands) go for dinners, who pay for the meals?

Hi Mummygiraffe,
My gals' age gap is 4yrs+, I also hope they will be close FOREVER. Me and my 2 sisters' age gap is 3 and 1 and we are very close...share almost everything and also good shopping companions. =P

cat:

i stil wear earrings, but must make sure the clasp is the flip open type so when evie pulls it just comes off. but still quite mah fun la..cos gotta keep putting back on when she pulls it off.

n im so tempted to cut my hair short cos i hav to tie it up all the time. waste my time to wash n dry everyday if cannot even let down. in dilemme..dun wanna regret

evie can't sit by herself yet, still need support or at most can only balance for a short while then fall. think is normal for this age?

now shes finally asleep in the bouncer...im typing n using my leg to bounce her :p...she was fussing just now, i so pek check just put her down...she cry until so jia lat...turn to look at me with v poor thing face with tears streaming down..n so funny, got 'pi-sai' sticking out her nose. hehehe...aiya...still pick her up in the end. dunno if im spoiling her man...

ya..n i also hate it when other ppl come n touch her face n hands! PILs are ok la...but when other relatives or strangers do it piss me off man. but what to do har? or sometimes, some stupid kid with cough or flu come n pull pull her hands, i get irritated too. but what to do..i cant tell him to go away. at most i quickly walk away n wipe evie's hands n face. maybe i should give a big sneeze in their face see if they like it.

i realised elderly ppl especially like to stroke bb face...dunno they go toilet got wash hands or not....sounds v rude but its for bb's good.

i dont go n anyhow touch other ppl's bb, wish they would do the same.

M2B,
yes, that's right too.

my MIL did that, keep feeding 1st bb carrots until the boy a little yellow. I told her cannot do it and now she is using this to quarrel with me. say i'm super fussy lah, how come i everything wanna control lah etc etc... funny hor, of course i wanna control the kids lah, i'm their mother, and i'm an adult they are kids. so if they wanna go porn site I also ok meh? of course must control kids lah.

Smurfette,
Your bb gal is very cute. She looks so happy in her Jumperoo... feel like hugging her...
Is she generally a happy kid?

Lingling, Mummygiraffe, Hisstory, Valnsw,
haha..i locked myself in my room from 9pm last nite cos Char slept at 8pm+ (mil came at 9.30pm) and by the time i woke up at 10am tis morning (together wif Char), mil oredie left for brekkie wif her frens. So, i din meet her at all! hahaha..
thank goodness ar..if not u gals wld see more complaints from me today..hee..so my mood today is piao liang de loh! haha.. ;)

Valnsw,
Tumblethots looks interesting, but i tink i will oni start Char when she learns how to crawl..cos rite now she can stay stationary in a place/position for quite long leh..exploring her hands, feet, etc..sometimes show her a toy for her to crawl towards and touch, she will look at it blur blur..so go to such babygym sure lugi..

Hi Rona,
Yeah, she smiles alot and likes to grin too. I can't keep a straight face whenever I'm angry with her! Once she smiles at me, my heart will melt. As much as she likes to smile, she grunts alot too!

re: IL touching bb face

so pek chek with my PIL sometimes... they can eat bread, gua zi, peanuts &amp; touch my ger without washing hand...

at home, we have this small table where we always put our foot, and sometimes, after wiping my ger's saliva with tissue, she can put the tissue there... arghh... whenever i see it, i immediately take my ger go wipe face...

ReiRei
Yeah, u had a gd rest yah? Tonight u wld have sweet dreams too

Wah, Char can sleep in till 10am ah.. Shiok man!

timmin
Like smurfette, I'm clueless as to what I shd bring this Fri. So paiseh to bring an empty tummy.. heheh

smurfette
She's such a happy baby!!

Hi moms!

Hope everyone had a wonderful CNY!

I'm quite thankful that my boy survived his 1st CNY. Collected quite a few ang pows and was generally a good boy. At the end of the day, his temple area so was so smelly because so many people carried and kissed him! I just couldn't wait to go home and give him a much needed bath!

RE: Swimming
We thought we were going to bring him swimming last week so went Kiddy Palace to buy all the gear. Goodness.. spent like $100 after discount! Bought the thermal suit, float, diaper trunks and sun block (they only carry Mustella and it's like $35!!). In the end.. we didn't swim because the colour of the water in the pool looked a little funky so we didn't want to take the risk. Now have to wait for hb's sch term break (in about 2 weeks).. then bring to the sch's pool.

RE: Sitting
D can sit briefly without support but like the other babies, tend to lean to the front and then end up prostrating!

RE: Weaning
Brought him for his vaccination last night and PD said can start on cereal and fruits if I want to (he is 9.5kg now). PD recommended starting with apples fruit wise. So today I gave him a little freshly scraped apple.. didn't seem to like it much.. maybe cos a little sour!! Haha.. took a teeny weeny bit only then gagged. Maybe he just isn't used to it. Later, I reflected and thought that maybe I shouldn't be feeding him sweet foods first. Cos wait he might reject rice cereal since it's significantly less flavourful.

hisstory &amp; smurfette...
it's ok la! if got enuff food already...later go to waste! :D

smurfette...
ur gal so big already! i still remember her in parentcraft. heheh...they all grow so fast. so how's ur supply?

wendy...
re:weaning
tt's wat i read too. try to start with cereals, then veg 1st. cos fruits r sweeter...bb might develop a sweet tooth.

mummies who started bbs on porridge
any other kinds of meat we can give bb besides fish ar? cuz today..up till now, kaer poo 4 times liao!..crazy man..i suspect could be the fish lor..hmm..just now when i feeding her ..i took half an hour!..ususally for cereal, she will finish in 5mins!..i suspect she dun like the smell of fish...cuz she keep her mouth shut!...n its making her poo so often..tsk tsk..so i think tomorrow will ask MIL to make vege porridge..hmm..but was thinking no meat like not enuff nutrients leh...how ar?? cannot take minced pork also rite.? cuz too big also..*headache*