(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi girrafetan,
so both ur bbs there ? is it good ? I heard it is, thats why my cousin was so stressed out when it was full. luckily she managed to get a place for my niece. think she will be starting end feb or march. where do you live ?

hi rona, welcome

hi Catherine,

ya, both my gers are there. not too bad, the K1&2 system is quite alright too as their class is about 30 and is similar to pri sch classes. the babies at the infantcare seems to enjoy themselves very much...at least it seems to me.

oh so i'll see your cousin at the centre from end feb/mar onwards? i stay at dunearn area. you le? it seems many mummies here live around north/NE area..

lingling,
i think i register with them long ago when i was still pregnant. so they call up recently to get details of baby and say it take about 2 weeks to deliver but i didn't really take note of the timing if its really 2 weeks. maybe you can try logging to their website to get the free sample by registering. maybe they will send out to your earlier since your baby is near 6 months soon.

mummygiraffe,
i have stop latching when baby is around 2 months + cos he refuse to be bottle feed whenever i'm around. so i take the hard way of stop latching and disappear during feed time for a month. after 1 month of training, he is back to bottle and once in a while latch when i feel like it. hahaha...

Ling Ling,
Hi. Yes, my babies are bigger - think maybe my hb is bigger lah and i'm not small in size. But this baby milk intake is not much. Just about 130-140ml per feed - feed duration is about 3-4 hours. I read some where a baby is feeding 180ml per feed and up to 7 or 8 feeds! that's very good appetite. very xiong!

my babies all got good headstart - 1st one 3.9kg at birth, 2nd one 4.2kg and this last bb is 3.6kg, but this one is born at 39 weeks while the 2 elder ones are born at 40weeks + 5days,

mummygirafe,
My first one is a boy, in K2 this year. hyper and will run away when you ask him to sit down to read. He was previously in a church-based kindy but it was too lax that he still don't know how to read. so changed him to PAP this year and he seems to be happy there. gal will be 3 in april and in cherihearts near my office. thinking of changing her back to childcare near where we stay next year when the 1st one goes to P1. tell you, logistic is a nightmare! Where is this place that you have to register to get in?
I'm now also lugging the pump around - damn heavy and tiring... still got to carry my gal to childcare and her stuff...

Catherine,
my mum lives in the east while i stay with my in-laws around holland v. Yes, i stay with my MIL!!! very scary hor. i don't have my own place yet so have to put up with all kind of abuse, usually mental ones. and it can get very bad...

mummygiraffe,
So seems like this Club HDB infantcare is so popular.
But too bad, it's in TPY, abit too far for me.

tree nymph,
Welcome! Ya it's really scary to be living with MIL. I stayed with ILs few mths alrdy and I cannot tahan. It's quite torturing if they wana interfere w your way of upbringing your children.

celyn,
wa... u can do market survey of all the brands' FM liao. hehe

valnsw,
hahah... no lah. i have tried these 3 brands liao mah. my ex-colleague is even better. she had tried all the brands on her girl and finally stick to friso cos all cause her girl to have constipation. even with friso, her poo is still a bit hard but at least still manage to poo everyday.

ling
Yah i think it's the triple fun one.. Saw the webby pix, looks like the one they have on display. I think it's a steal at $188
U going to get?

krex
Then the hb is funny... He says rent is bo hua.. Aiyoh!!
Prob just give up on the idea liao.. Coz after a while my ger is going to be taken care of by my parents, so 90% of the time she wld be there, no pt getting one for our place

ReiRei
I was telling hb can sell wor.. But he asked me think again, which means he isn't keen
*haiz*

*hugs* I think I wld ask hb to get her to go in.. Sometimes they are so eager to play with bb they there aren't very aware of things going on. Then must close eyes & ears, just not to get so upset

celyn
wah, Yu Ze had buffet ah.. Bread & ice-cream!!

How to get samples of FM ah?

NiNi
I'm also worried abt Ashley rejecting FM.. Oredi she is rejecting bottle feeds. Think I've to be like celyn, express out the BM & steer clear for hb to feed. Otherwise I can never get her used to the bottle.. I can't leave my boobs with her when i return to work

mummygiraffe
3:1 is not bad.. My cousin's centre is about 5:1, at least tt's what the numbers was the last time I asked her..

Yupz, am considering Learning Vision.. My sis has 2 kids, #1 is 2.5 years, #2 is 2m.o. I really wonder if my parents can cope with the kiddos, inspite having a maid..

U used to work in NUS?

I was hoping to bf my ger as long as possible, beyond 6 mth wld be great! But looking at how she's not taking to the bottle & my bm ss is pte limited, i might hv to resort to FM to get her used to the bottle

rona
*welcome*

Hisstory,

aiyo.... buy oso hv to reconsider, rent said 'bo hua'...... then pls ask him hand made one lah. All boys went to technical classes mah.

But dunno safe or nt leh. hahaha!

celyn,

u noe why similac for bb girl will have constipation?

Coz just bought to prepare her for semi solid food cum FM... nw I read what u wrote..... abit dunno how liao.

Valnsw, Hisstory, Krex,
Ya..i tink i'm getting depressed becos of mil..cried myself to sleep last nite and today when i thot abt it, i got upset and cried again....

Mummygiraffe,
Hey, i used to work in NUS too. Which office/school/faculty did u work in?
Wow, din know dat the childcare there is sooo hot..

celyn
Thank u very much!!

Which is the FM tt Yu Ze is taking?

sylvia
Cannot.. He's not zai with his hands. I give up!! I think we're just going to use my niece's walker..

my yu ze very cute leh. hubby is trying to give him his last feed now cos just now at 9pm he only drink 3.5oz. hubby wake him up and turn him over, yu ze just suck 1 or 2 mouth and flipped himself over and continue to sleep. hubby turn him over 2 times and he just flipped himself back to tummy and continue to sleep. hehe...

sylvia,
i don't know leh but most of the baby girl that she look after can't take similac leh. my friend's niece also and become mal-nutrition.

hisstory,
yu ze is taking 1 alternate night feed of enfalac now. will let him try out all the free sample then decide to continue with which one or stop fm.

YLN, Ruixuan
Did you go BJG today? We didn't manage to catch you guys...

Rata
My boy so tired, got into the car and immediately fell asleep :p

Reirei
You 'qi si', she also won't care lor. So don't let her get to you!

celyn,

wah, u can tahan till one year? i dunno when i'll stop but i think 1 year would be the ultimate coz' i need my menses back to plan for #2 if i want a girl, heh heh.

hisstory,

rent for your mom's place lor. i was contemplating renting some big ticket toys to put at my IL's place coz' they got no play area. only 1 cot and 1 high chair. seems a little boring for jonah, as compared to my home.

celyn,
Wow and your bb still ok when you want to latch him?

rona,
Wow, you gave birth to them naturally? I really applaud you for having 3 kids! =)

Haha.. maybe cos your son knows that PAP has a certain structure to follow. My ger also more settled down when I switched her to the last chidcare. Who looks after your bb? Heard that Cherihearts Childcare is quite good. Is it ex? Ya man, I agree that logistics is a nightmare so I really can't imagine what it's like for you.

Eh, I can't rembr which place I was referring to that I had to register to get in. Was I referring to the infantcare my #2 is in? Haha.. me a scatterbrain now.

Oh, you stay around holland v, very near to me le. =) which part? Wa, you really brave. I told my hb that I need a big house with multi storey if I were to stay with his parents. And the house gotta be near my mom's place. If not, I cannot tahan la cos I need personal space as well.

val,
Ya, there are many children there and it's quite big. Some of the teachers are nice, especially the ones who taught my #1. Actually it's far for me if I didn't work at TP.

hisstory,
Cos I think MCYS stipulate the ratio for infantcare that 4 teachers are needed if there are 12 bb. Does that LV have infantcare? It's quite a big school too, I've been to that place. Yup, I used to work in NUS, some years back.
You working or SAHM? Cos it might be good to start your ger on bottle soon unless you intend to latch all the way. I latched my #1 till 18 months before I send her to childcare and I went back to work force. Cos she seldom used the bottle then, she switched to cup immediately. Diff child, diff habits and ways of handling changes. Think we moms here are already trying our best to give our children D best! ^^

ReiRei,
Hehe.. you used to work at NUS too? I was at Science Fac. You le? What a coincidence!

puree:

anyone giving veg or fruit puree now? which is a gd veg or fruit to start with? i gave spinach last week and it was too harsh for jonah's digestive system as he poo-ed 3-4 times and all the spinach came out in its original state! thinking of trying a puree tmrw but dunno whether to try apple first or carrot. if it's fruit puree, do u feed pure or mix with cereal? seems a bit weird to mix apple puree with cereal, although we did mix spinach with cereal.

HT mixed grain cereal:

anyone feeding bb this? it says on the packaging stage 2 although website says can eat from 6 mths onwards. the rest of the packets are stage 1. shld i give my bb mixed grain or wait till he's 7-8 mths, since stage 2 is meant for later on?

krex78,
i don't know leh. hopefully can loh. no need to have menses back to have #2. i heard a lot of people say we are very fertile within 1 year after delivery.

celyn,

yah but if i want girl must chart cycle and try before ovulation mah. now i dun even know when i'm ovulating!

mummygiraffe,
he still latch but for a short while only, less than 5 mins and start playing with nipple liao. he will latch properly if he is super hungry.

krex
Wah Jonah really loves his cereal! What's the ratio of cereal to water/milk you mix? How come can make until so thick and so much?

krex,
i give apple puree in the morning. basically i just grate the apples and feed her. I have also tried giving pumpkin and carrots purees (seperately hor). Steamed it and mash mixed with abit of water or porridge water. Today I mixed the carrots with the HT oats cereal. She seem to like it. Am going to give banana next week

u dont belt jonah when feeding ah ?

girrafetan,
ya i heard that cherie hearts is good too. not sure about the infant care, my godson attended the childcare b4.

reirei
*hugz*

mommynecklaces

wah if i wear that my son no need to eat already....he's already looking here looking there..suck suck look here look there again....I have to cover his head otherwise he wont eat...

yuuri,

he was eating HT oatmeal cereal. i don't know the exact ratio coz' my maid does the mixture, but the last i saw, she put 5 tbsp of cereal in, then measure using the same tbsp the water to put in. what she does is put in 5 tbsp of water first then mix, if not enough then put some more. it's actually mixed to desired consistency, so up to u. but min is the same amt of cereal u put in, so for eg if u put in 5 tbsp of cereal, u put in at least 5 tbsp of water so not so dry. jonah doesn't like it too lumpy.

cat,

u dun cook the apples? so u started with fruits first then vege? i belt him when feeding but the belt is only a 3-point harness at the waist level. no straps for shoulders, so he can still move ard quite a bit but won't fall off.

Cat,
I dun latch, but I'm interested in the mommy necklace
I don't dare to wear necklace anymore becos of this very reason! Either Isaac scratch his face on my pendant, or he pulls at my chain when I carry him.

yuuri
me and ruixuan were at BJG..
personally i find the lesson a bit stress..have to see a lot of flashcards and words..dunno leh..maybe im the nua nua kind...dun really like to stress myself and kaer too much during lesson..heehee....but i guess it must be quite good for bbs' development...hmm..i think i will sign kaer up with Kindermusik for another term..i find the music and dance kind of lesson more expressive and fun lor..tho maybe wont learn much lar..but at least me and kaer having fun..

ruixuan
SL very cute leh...he also very nua nua like dat...bend here and there when u carry him...my hubby also say SL very handsome looking...

Yurri, Ya lor my gal too. The moment the car move off she close her eyes. Dats explain why towards the end of the class cranky. heehee Yesterdae class very crowded hor? hope sone will go to the 1.30 class if they sign up hahahaha.

YLN/Ruixuan,
Saw a baby coming out crying & both parents trying to pacify is dat fr ur class?

ya..rata...got one bb keep crying during lesson..then they left early..think bb got a shock with the movement of the flash cards...

kaer also keep fidgeting..she wanted to sleep so quite pek chek..lucky she never cry out loud that kind..

celyn
when ur bbsitter feed yu ze with porridge, he got keep poo-ing anot?

kaer pooed like 5 times from sat nite to sun nite...since i started with the porridge on sat...im scare dunno if she is not taking the porridge well..today i told maid dun put ginger in the porridge..see if she finish...yestd ..she took almost all the porridge ..so an improvement compared to sat..

morning mummies.

krex78,
i see. i don't have the discipline to do charting and i find charting very stressful.

that's a lot of cereal leh. yu ze don't like watery cereal. i mix with very little bm so that it will be lumpy for him to 'chew'.

Rata
Haha..i think I saw only Kes, Jac, Talon and Xavier got the flashcards to take home so I think Owen and Junhao are on trial only. Hopefully they sign up on another timing.

YLN
You find it stressful ah? Haha...then I must be quite kiasu :p But I thought it was quite fun!

Krex
Thanks for teaching me how to make the Cereal. So it's tablespoon, not teaspoon ah?

Yuuri, Ya lor i hope they go to other timing class. The funny think is Jac is the only gal. Can pick a bf fr the class sia. hahahaha

YLN, stressful? I also think quite ok. Most of the babies were attentive. Hows the teacher?

Ruixuan, so wats ur comment? Hows the teacher?

Rata
Yah lor Jac is the only flower among the grass....if she doesn't mind younger boys, Kes is up for grabs also! hehe...I think our babies are the youngest in the class.

babyemma,
maybe the necklace is to let him focus on one thing instead of looking around.

krex,
no i dont cook the apples. fresher ma
But remember if you give fruits, must give in the morning or afternoons. not good to give fruits after 5pm. ehh cant remember the reason. i started with fruits cos more tasty, got fibre and vitC ma
I now feed her on the bumbo instead

brie,
i dont wear watch.. chain .. ear rings, etc etc sigh .. motherhood. really envy those mummies who can manage to still wear their jewelery. must ask gayle how she does it, saw her in big hoop earrings that day with evie.

Yuuri, isit? Dunno how old is Xavier? Talon is bigger than Jac born 13 July. Kes is onli younger than by 1day ok la. But Kes like not interested wif Jac didnt bui her lei. hahahaha

celyn,

its gd to expose bb to diff stuff but mb not so early? heard fm my gf tat its not gd to feed bb adult food, might trigger eczema...

reirei,

dun be upset with MIL. mine aso drives me crazy at times, like showing black face when my friends come over for mahjong. think of the bright side, they do love our bb, its just tat the way they express it might be weird...

rata.
ya lor..dunno leh..maybe me and hubby not the very studious type leh..we find the lesson abit stressful and messy...the teacher was Valerie..like not very passionate in her work leh..just go thru the motion of showing flashcard and praising the kid like routine like dat...n her singing not very good..:p...i like kindermusik cuz the teachers singing all very pro like dat..heehee..more soothing to listen to ..

reirei,
Pls don't get depressed over MIL. Not worth it. If it's cos due to her handling of Char, just hv to let her knw u're not comfortable w it.
U shd think positive, that at least u spend most of the time w Char. MIL only sees her one day a wk. MB it wld be better if u also bring Char to see your parents every wk? At least u feel more "ping heng".

YLN,
I remember u said Kaer was v fussy when she was teething.

What were the signs besides being cranky?

Mummies whose babies started teething:
Any baby suddenly became cranky at night, refusing to sleep?

Mine for the past 3 nights, been sleeping at 1.45am, 2.45am and last night 4am! I want to faint alrdy.

I don't knw if it's cos bb is not used to sleeping with us, the parents.

Cos since CNY eve, she's been sleeping with us. First night still ok sleep at 12.45am, but the sleep time started to be later and later. Plus, whenever I want to rock her to sleep or put her in the yaolan, she will keep arching her back and cry like v cham. Last night, even worse, I give her pacifier also no use.

The thing is, I can't help but suspect that bb is used to sleeping w maid. Cos when the maid rocked her to sleep, she can fall asleep.

Now my question is: Is my bb teething or isit she just wants the maid to coax her to sleep?

If it's the latter, I'm going to hv a headache, cos I intend to send away this maid.

HELP! Really need some advice here.

krex
My mum's place is so full of things.. Need to declutter before I can get the exersaucer man. Got lotsa toys fr my niece, so to add-on wld be to add to the mess..

Only high chair & cot ah.. U've got the playyard, but for your own place yah? How abt a playpen at ILs?

Jonah can sit quite well ah.. So cute! He looks so eager for the next spoonful

ReiRei
*HUGS* Don't let ur mil affect u so much k? Keep thinking of the positive things like Char's bond with u & not mil.. And the sweet lil things Char rewards u with but not anyone else?

celyn
I see.. U intend to bf as long as u can huh?
U started on ur new job oredi? Does it allow u to pump as per the prev place?

sylvia
hahah.. This man is very ma fan at times. Other times he's very easy-going.. kekeke

mummygiraffe
Oh there's a min req for bb-tr ratio ah? Didn't even know tt..Maybe my cousin's centre is kinda short-handed *hmmm*

Am a temp SAHM coz I took NPL till Mar, returning to work in Apr.. Think I'm going to miss her when I return. I do hope to get her used to the bottle, but coz of her erratic sleep pattern, it's quite hard for me to express. Right now when she wakes & it's her feed time, I just latch her on. Maybe I shd let her wake & play for awhile while I go express...

val
Chevelle is sleeping very late indeed!! How are u coping with ur sleep? *hugs*

What are some things u & hb did with Chevelle at night tt's out of the norm? She cld be overtired leh.. I rem Ashley being overstimulated over CNY, though she slept ard 9+, she kept waking every 2-3 hrs during the CNY period

Have u felt her gums? Tt wld be a clearer indication if she's teething

ReiRei,
come come, you can always b**** about her here. I can understand the strain and stress you are going through, I'm still in the middle of it. This morning got shit from MIL also, so you are not alone. Like what the other mummies said, look at the bright side. Are you a SAHM? I kept my sanity by going to work and have peace when I'm at work...

BTW, I think my MIL is a bit pyscho... I suffered from mild depression right after my first bb. every feed asked me how come no bm, how come give FM... And to be fair to me, i've just given birth leh! And when her daughter gave birth half a year later, i purposely asked how come FM when MIL fed the bb, and she can answer me back that BM won't come so soon one mah! Then she likes to use camera with flash to take pics of my bb. told her please don't use the flash cos will affect the eyes, she told me i full of bull shit. So when she took pic of her daughter's bb, its without flash, so i kiekie asked her that the pic not clear without flash, so use flash lah, she told me cannot use flash cos no good for the eyes???!!! can vomit blood right?

YLN
Hmmm dunno if it's due to different teacher. I think our class babies mostly like Grace v much! And I find her singing ok! haha...nvm lah, at least you had a feel of the programme and know it's not suitable for you.

Rata
I think maybe Kes is shy *lol*

Val
Chevelle sleeps on your bed or on her own in your room? My boy usually sleeps on his own but on occassions when we put him on our bed, I find he moves alot in his sleep and kicks about. When he's on his own, nothing to repond to his kicking then he will just fall back asleep..but when he's on our bed, he ends up kicking us and waking us then he remains awake. I don't think teething will cause sleeplessness, but you can always try giving her teething gel before going to sleep :p

Celyn
wahhhh... u r so well prepared.. registering oredi while still pregnant... :p thanks for the link

Rona
my bb oso have a good start. She was born 4.105 Kg but the first months keep decreasing.. me so stress.. Last jab she ard 6.7 Kg only.. compare to u, so far...
Hopefully by her 6 months jab, she can b at least 8 Kg liao.. :p me hoping so much

Reirei
*hugs* pls dont cry to sleep.. just let it go. Ur MIL wont care no matter how painful for u so mayb u should do the same.. bo chap with them lahh.. make urself happy..

Hisstory
Ihikkk.. If only hb listen to me then I can get the Taka one.. so cheap leh.. bit too late for me cos I just got mine.. at $305 !!

Krex
Jonah sit so nicely... tried to feed my gal but her hands and legs r cooperating... touching the bowl, the spoon, my cheek... :p Fiuuuhh... after feed semi solid, like a war zone hehehe

hear many good news abt Kindermusic.. mayb I should enroll bb too uh...

hb bday this weekend.. run out of idea to surprise him this time.. any idea ? thinking to buy something like gift but means going to use his money only cos I'm SAHM :p so dont think it's a big surprise.. bside he likes shopping more than me hehehe.. any idea ??