(2008/08) Aug 2008

do they look alike? heheh....
2119282.jpg

and WARM WELCOME TO THE NEW MOMMIES!!!
Long time didn't log in caused super tired
Here is my day to day routine without maid, mother or parent-inlaws plus 2 dogs...

05:30 Trudy wakes up (let her toss around and eh..eh..) and express BM
06:00 BF her
06:30 Bring her to the playroom, on the music and play with her
07:30 Go for a walk with Trudy and Max (miniature schnauzer)
08:30 Bath Trudy
09:00 Feed Trudy and let her sleep on her own
09:15 Shower, prepare breakfast and have breakfast with hubby
09:30 Trudy wakes up (let her join us)
09:45 Trudy and I say good bye to Daddy (off to work), put her back to play on her own-tummy time
10:00 Feed the dogs
10:15 Clear the mess from the brekkie
10:30 Sing songs to Trudy
10:45 Trudy sleeping time (clean here n there)
11:30 Express BM
12:00 Feed Trudy
12:30 Nap time (from 1/2 hour to 2 hour)
14:30 Bottle Feed (EBM)
15:00 Play with Trudy
17:00 Bath Trudy
17:30 Feeding Time
18:00 Sleeping Time
19:00 Dinner and house cleaning
20:00 Our Time
12:00 Express BM

Milo (Maltese) is uncontrolable. He will pee and poo everywhere he likes. Got really fed up with this dog. Tried to put him in balcony for a week and he was nearly die (refused to drink and eat). I wonder what will happen when Trudy started to crawl and walk

Shint
Since I started the cereal, Trudy's milk intake reduced (from 180ml to 120ml)

CNY Re-union
Since we have a baby, I really miss the CNY re-union. Can't go back caused my hometown people all crazy about birdnest. They built all the 4-5 storeys of shop houses for the birds to move in. Worst things they keep these 'bang thang'(larvae) for the birds to eat. Can you imagine the amount of mosquitoes????
Hubby tried his best to console me and we end up having steamboat and bbq at home.

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz (muffins)
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby (char siew pau from Toa Payoh? any muslim mommies?)
4. catherine
5. babyemma (1kg round cream or cheese cake)
6. Linx
7. Happie
8. Apriltan (nonya kueh kueh)
9. Smurfette

Celyn
Yu Zhe is so adorable (just like the koala). The way Yu Zhe (wrong spelling?) sleeps exacly like Trudy. I pulled her two legs down, they will up again. Don't know what to do?

sorry I cant make it to the gathering cos bernice got kindermusik class. signed her up for 2nd term. mummies, enjoy yourself

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz (muffins)
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby (char siew pau from Toa Payoh? any muslim mommies?)
4. babyemma (1kg round cream or cheese cake)
5. Linx
6. Happie
7. Apriltan (nonya kueh kueh)
8. Smurfette

babyemma,

If you're going for the gathering at timminbuzz's house, is it possible that you can help me to collect the HT cereals that I ordered?

Cos I remember u live in Kembangan right? ;)

Was gona get Catherine to help me collect but since she can't make it, possible that you can help me? Thks

Let me knw if convenient for u, else I prob have to figure a way to get it.

celyn
So cute.. Mr Koala keep Yu Ze company for his nap

fitbaby
Trudy's an early waker!! But the gd thing is she is able to sleep early & give u & ur hubby more couple time together

celyn
Yu Ze look so adorable with the koala.
Hmmm I must go experiment with the porridge soon then. Do you feed him cereal as well or just porridge?

Helllo mommies,
Me back from Ching Gay parade .... hehe, quite enjoyable cos we've got proper seats cos hubby's fren gave us couple of tickets.

Brought #1 there but din bring Kai cos he prob wun appreciate it and it's too crowded to push a pram, etc. We had to climb stairs to the seats.

#1 enjoyed himself alot, watching all the floats and lights and dancing.

FM/Solids
I will slowly start la... start with FM first. Once i've establish that FM is fine then i move on to cereal then later porridge.

Kai is still vv young though he is vv big. He's still a baby leh ....

I've checked my blog on #1 which i started only when he was 9 months' old. #1 was 11kg at 1 yr old @ 80cm ...... Kai is now 9kg and i roughly measured him, he's like 74cm oredi. So .... i think he's gonna be taller and bigger than #1.

celyn,
Yu Ze is sooooooo cutteeee!!

YLN,

u stopping BF already ah? me still considering, sigh. i think i produce less than u so the urge to give up is stronger :p i will finish off my 4th mth ML after valentine's day, and my bosses have already planned for a lot of work for me when i get back
not sure if i can find time to pump 2x a day. even 1x might be a problem. i really wish i can continue longer but will really have to see how. even if i one day pump 1x and another day pump 2x, i'm pretty sure my ss will drop very fast since it's so inconsistent.

celyn,

yu ze looks so cute! jonah also looks like koala bear everytime we carry him coz' he likes to hunch forward. last time when he used to sleep on daddy's chest, he also looked like koala bear. we used to call him little koala for a period of time. now my colleague gave him another nick...fishball cheeks, coz' he has puffy cheeks like his mommy

hisstory,

i did some research on exersaucer and it seems that it's not really gd for bb's dvpt. same as walker. so i think i'll avoid both. i can't rem if i read any literature on jumperoo, coz' it's quite a unique product on its own. my concern is it might be bad for the knee joints since bb is jumping more than he should when he can't even walk yet. but then again, i haven't really seen how it works so very hard to comment.

Fri's gathering is at fitbaby's place or timminbuzz? *blur

can PM me the address? cos wanna pick up the stuff ... or maybe i can make it .. provided i recovered from my cough ... i confirm later? still coughing slightly but better liao. gaining my voice back oredi.

krex
Oooh, I didn't know tt.. Just thought if u wanted a product tt cld last longer, the exersaucer seemed to be a better choice..

I was also thinking abt the knee joints with regards to both the exersaucer & jumperoo.. but i suspect I wld end up getting neither coz hb's not keen to spend tt sort of money *sulks*

re: Evenflo Exersaucer
Was at Taka this evening & the Evenflo Exersaucer is going at $188, originally at $399..

Wah I was so tempted to get, esp when I saw how Ashley looked so happy & enjoyed the items tremendously.. But my CFO is asking me to reconsider..

Celyn

The koala is cute.. but Yu Ze is much cuter.... so good he can sleep very well on his tummy uh ?? My gal will wake up suddenly whenever she flips..

Fitbaby
Trudy is an early waker uh ? but she can sleeps at 6 pm ?? Does she sleep thru the nite yet ? if so, sooooo nice.......

Shint
GAthering is at Timminbuzz's place..

About that.. mommies, I'm still confused what to bring.. anybody wants anything from Punggol ? :p

hisstory

Wahhhhh the Evenflo exersaucer only $188 ? WHich type ? Is it the triple fun one ? If so, become very cheap leh...

Krex
we just bought 1 evenflo exersaucer for bb. The knee will not get pressure cos the height can b adjusted ... so she wont stand like walker. So far she enjoy playing with all the toys there.. but bit costly

hisstory,

if u really want, consider renting lor. your hb is rite...u can save the money 4 better things...bbs dn need so many toys, just a few gd ones will do. mine already has so many in his play pen. buy some more the whole house will be too cluttered liao.

val,

tks...but me looking for the 3-d bib. seen it anywhere?

Hisstory,
$188 is realli a good buy!!
When Ashley outgrows it, u can sell it..recoup some $$..

Yuuri,
hahaha..actually i know lah..acted blur oni...cos i oso haf the same tinking as u! *evil grin*

re: mil
OK me ranting again..
i SIMPLY cannot stand it anymore! hb always asks me, 1 week oni see each other 2hrs max..so difficult meh? prob is she always does tings dat get on my nerves.
Like jus now. Went to aunt's place. She stay in landed property. Gate was wide open. As usual, mil carried bb and bb cried. She geh kiang wanted to pacify bb herself, ok let her be.
know wat? she walked out of the gate wif bb, and stood on the roadside, back-facing oncoming vehicles! wah lau!!!! i was soooo damn angry when i saw it..kept urging hb to ask her to come in.
And when she walked back, i stared at her angrily. House so big. Got garden, got backyard. Of all places, go out of the house fer wat?!?!
Realli crazy rite?! if she wanna die, go ahead, dun carry my lil one. If anyting happens, how is she going to repay me my baby?!?!

Sorry mommies, i know wat i say above is v harsh...but becos i was or still am and will ever be sooo angry wif her for doing such silly, brainless tings.

val,

I got newsletter fm ON, so since I rcv, so I just update here lah. hahaha!!

Eh.......... can I start with fruit puree? Those baby jar ones or steam/boil ones consider as filler or a meal?

Meredith has been treating my arm as her teether. Give her teether, she just lick, but when I carry her, she will chew like 'play piano' my arm....

krex,

eh... actually I think without jumperoo, baby also like to jump pah.

Meredith like to jump though she has not been in a jumperoo before. When we carry her, she wants to stand up and then she keeps jumping. If she is sitting down, she will like ride horse on my lap and rock herself, or if her feet are touching my bed or with a support, can practically see her as she will stand, jump and sit on my lap.

So holding her is a hand excercise for me.

Hahaha!!

i'm up for pump.

thanks to all mummies for the compliments for yu ze.

just now, yu ze is very funny. we feed him his antibiotic at around 10+ in his sleep cos we forget to give him earlier. so i wake him up and turn him over to feed. towards the end of the feed, he struggle and flip himself over and cont to sleep.

sylvia,
yah, put the koala on him to take photo. heheh.... the koala was in my office but i brought it back home after i resign. hubby saw it lying around the study table then thought of yu ze. he bring the koala into our room where yu ze was napping and put them side by and side then ask me to see. so i took pic of them loh.

lingling,
he sleeps on his tummy since 2 weeks or so. therefore, he is good at it.

krex78,
when we put him in the carrier, he looks like a koala too cos the carrier is side carry. he will hold on to hubby clothes like hugging a 'tree'. keep forgetting to take pic of that.

vern,
yah, i give cereal too. usually he takes porridge at babysitter's place. come back, i will give cereal when i lazy to cook. haha.... he also take bread for breakfast.

fitbaby,
i will just leave him to sleep in whatever way he wants to put his legs. sometimes, he will be like kneeling down like that, lifting his buttock high.

celyn,
so cute to have a little koala ... kekekee.
u said u fed bread? can they eat that liaoz?

Today I am gonna try Kai on Enfalac again, hope he doesn't throw up ... else i have to let him try something else liao.
So far he is ok with Isomil - let him tried 30ml + my breastmilk twice yesterday and he's ok. I guess it has no lactose ba. Hope he takes well to cow's milk.

argh, today dunno why, missed my 6am pump. set alarm on 2 phones but somehow didn't wake up. dunno whether coz' phones didn't ring or i simply cldn't hear or i hear already then i off. *angry*

sylvia,

no leh. my bb doesn't like to jump a lot. he likes to kick a lot though, like when he's lying down he will kick and when we carry him his legs will be kicking away like as if he's trying to float on water, haha.

reirei,

i can emphatise with u. thankfully my ILs not so cow sense to do such dangerous things. they are generally ok with handling of bb, just that they tend to be very slow and late with everything. always not punctual so after awhile, i also purposely come late and guess what, they will also be later than me! sometimes if lunch is at 1pm, i'll purposely go at 1.30pm and they can come at 2pm *faintz* then eat also can take 2 hours! end up i have very unproductive weekends coz' i can't run all my errands.

shint,
yah. yu ze eat bread. he will do the chewing motion like us when feed him bread. somehow the bread will melt away or being 'chew' up loh. he likes it leh.

yesterday, we went to a birthday party at ben & jerry. i give him some ice cream too. hahah.... my boy eats all sort of rubbish now.

Shint: wow Kai is so tall! Braiden is only 8.1kg 67cm...

My baby doesn't like FM leh! How? I tried to trick him to drink after giving him teaspoons of water.. But upon tasting the FM, he spit out n shut his lips tight. *faintz* For the cereal, i just add hot water to mix it cos he doesnt like fm in it too.. SIbeY keow lah!!!!!!! Still latching him but i find his milk feed decreasing... A auntie (babysitter) told me he could be teething cos he keep chewing on his training cup.

celynlee: wahhhhh u very ang mo pie leh! hehe.. for me i also tend to give abit of everything but it's all baby food..haha

mummies using petpet, did you notice that the diaper got some 'mould' thing? at the top part, there is this black thing (not sure if its clear enough to be seen). this is the 2nd or 3rd diaper with the 'mould' thing in this pack that i bought. what should we do huh? any place to complaint?

2119990.jpg

nini,
hahah... as long as its not oily food, i will give a bit bit loh. hehe.... after i finished my pack of drinks, i will give him the pack and let him sort of suck on the straw. although there is nothing for him to drink, he is happy to kind of be able to get a sip of what we eat/drink. hahah....

you know hoh, on 2nd day of cny, we went to my aunt's place. my aunt also give all sort of things to him, eg. beer, sardine fish sauce, chilli sauce.

babyemma,

Thanks for helping me to collect

BTW, you don't accept PM. Can you email me at [email protected] so that I can get a contact from you? So later can arrange a time to pick up fr you.

celyn,
U're v adventurous in letting Yu Ze taste different things. I've not let Chevelle eat bread yet.

reirei,
oh dear, your MIL causing you to be angry again. Breathe deep and take it easy. Next time u go up to her and offer to pacify bb. Give some excuse to carry her back like wana change diaper etc...

krex
ya..me going to stop bf-ing soon..cuz by the end of feb..kaer will be 7 months old ... i think i will stop almost by then liao...

yestd tried to give kaer fish porridge..she only took half..and cried..hmm..dunno if she is not used to the fish smell..but i added a few strands of tiny little ginger..had to give her some BM after that cuz she didnt finish the porridge...hopefully today she will take to the new taste and finish the porridge..

Shint,
Wow, 180ml for 7 feeds? My #2 is taking about 140-150ml, 7 feeds too. Maybe cos boy eats more? Is my ger taking too little?
You can try power pumping for 3 days? If you are using an electric dual pump, pump 10min, rest 10min, pump 10min, rest 10min, final pump 10min. Bit siong but it can increase your supply. You may want to try taking Goat’s Rue from Motherlove's. I’m taking that and it’s quite ok, managed to increase my ss a little and now trying hard to maintain. Relax and not think about the ss.

Aren’t our babies sweet now that they start to recognize us by smell, sight and touch? It’s amazing when they know exactly when you are around. They miss us lah!

hisstory & val,
It’s called Club HDB Child Care Centre. 4 teachers at the infantcare so ratio is 3:1?

Val,
Ya, it’s for infants from 2months to 18 months before they are promoted to toddler class. But they don’t have other branches le.. bit far for you right unless your hb works hear TP.

hisstory,
Is it LearningVision at NUS? I used to work there. ^^ How is it 2 babies + 1 toddler?

Nini,
4th month jab at PD, he was 8.5kg @ 70cm ... now he's 9kg i weigh him and we use those measuring tape(soft type) to roughly measure him, around that height lor.
He's much taller than #1 if that's the case and bigger of course.

So far Kai is ok with Enfalac .. but when we started feeding him Isomil, he gave that disgusting look.
3rd try, he was quite ok liao.
Today I started feeding him 30ml of Enfalac again but we had reduced breastmilk to 120-140ml if we're giving FM.
He had not vomitted for Isomil, for Enfalac this morn, he did regurgitate a little.

mummygiraffe,
yes, 180ml for 7-8 feeds. so i got really worried when my FBM left only 2 pkts.
Now i am nore relax, knowing that he can take Isomil and now starting the project to slowly get him accustom to FM.
Else if i really have no more backup supply, then he cannot take certain FM, i will be so stress.

I'll continue my normal schedule and fill him in with FM if there's not enough ss.
Soon, he's gonna start on cereal, puree, etc ... so, i am ok to know there's backup food supply apart from my BM.

hi babyemma,
so the seanlau is confirmed ? how do we proceed ?

hi val/giraffetan,
My niece will be going to that infant care in March. HDB Club. But last they checked it's already full.

Giraffetan,
you teacher ?

hi catherine,

huh? i'm not although i'm surrounded by teachers, family, friends.... why did you say that? =)

oh your niece is joining the same infantcare? how old is she now?

thinking want to give bb new FM once she reached 6 months.. havent decided the brand yet.. any mummies wanna share the experience ?

Also, Isomil and Similac are from the same company rite ? I'm confuse what's the diff between this 2, can any1 help ? TIA

lingling,
i have tried similac, dumax and enfalac so far. what i heard from my confinement lady is that mostly girls can't take similac as it will cause them to have constipation.

based on the 0-6months fm:
similac
- oily (can see from the bottle)
- lots of bubbles when shake
- vanilla smell

dumax
- less oily compare to similac
- less bubbles compare to similac
- smell like milk

enfalac
- not oily
- also got bubbles but the bubbles will disappear quite fast compare to dumax
- doesn't smell good

you can try to get a sample first before getting a tin yourself. i have got a tin from similac and friso will be sending to me soon too. will only try out when yu ze reach 6 months coming sat.

mummygiraffe,
i think i will either bf for 1 year or as long as my ss can last. but i will slowly cut down my pump session to maybe 3 times a day by 1 year. currently, i'm pumping 5 times a day.

yln,
when i cook fish porridge, i don't put ginger leh. no seasoning on the fish too. just rice and fish. what fish you use? now they only can take 'wu yu'. i actually give the balance that yu ze can't finished to hubby and he say its very sweet and nice.

Happy Niu Year to all of you! I hope you don't mind me joining in. I have a bb boy now 5 months old. weighing around 10kg and about 73+cm tall. I'm still pumping... and hoping i can continue until he is 12-13 mths old. This is my 3rd child.

I read about mixing FM and BM.
I sent an enquiry to a breastfeeding help organisation , La Leche League and got a reply from a volunteer. It was helpful info...see below :

From Volunteer
Date Sat Dec 27 20:04:32 UTC 2008
Elynn,

Thank you for sending your question to La Leche League. I hope the information I'm sending will be of some help to you. When you have a chance, could you let me know you received this message? Thank you! Please also feel free to write back if you need more support or information.

Yes, the breastmilk will have nutritional value for your 3 year old. Keep the following in mind and you pump, store, and use your milk: Your milk has the highest level of antibodies when your baby takes it directly from your breast, and is second-best when it is freshly pumped. The longer it is stored, the more of these antibodies are deactivated. Freezing destroys even more antibodies. (Your frozen milk still provides excellent nutrition and protection for your baby, just not as good as directly from the breast or freshly pumped.)

From Extended Breastfeeding Fact Sheet
" * "Breast milk continues to provide substantial amounts of key nutrients well beyond the first year of life, especially protein, fat, and most vitamins."
-- Dewey 2001

* In the second year (12-23 months), 448 mL of breastmilk provides:
o 29% of energy requirements
o 43% of protein requirements
o 36% of calcium requirements
o 75% of vitamin A requirements
o 76% of folate requirements
o 94% of vitamin B12 requirements
o 60% of vitamin C requirements
-- Dewey 2001 "

Make sure you allow your baby to nurse as long as she likes on one breast before offering the other. Ideally she will be able to "drain" at least one breast at a feeding. You may want to try and bring your supply down a bit so that your daughter gets the right balance of foremilk and hindmilk. Take a look at http://www.llli.org/FAQ/oversupply.html

Let me know if this helps!

Teglene,
LLL Leader, Arnold, CA

ps: La Leche League's manual THE WOMANLY ART OF BREASTFEEDING has lots of good information on breastfeeding your baby. You can buy it through our Online Store at: http://store.llli.org. You may also find it in bookstores or libraries in your area. It has been through six revisions and contains all the latest research-based information available about breastfeeding.

Perhaps it would be helpful for you to call a Leader in your area or attend a La Leche League meeting. The support and information of other nursing mothers may prove helpful to you. Check out the section of our Web site entitled "La Leche League Groups Around the World" at http://www.llli.org/WebIndex.html

From Mother
Date Thu Dec 25 03:39:05 UTC 2008

My elder daughter was breastfed for about 13 months and she's now almost 3 years old. With the recent birth of my son, I find that I have an over supply of breastmilk and he is unable to finish them. In the end, I have to store them in the freezer and the quantity is still growing by the day. I would like to know if it is all right to give the breastmilk to my daughter by mixing it into her usual formula milk? Will the breastmilk be of any nutrition value to him? Thanks!

So now, i make about 60mt of FM (i'm using similac), warmed up about 140mt of EBM, then mix them up and gave to my daughter. She is good with it. She will be 3 in April and she weighs 16.5+kg and standing at 107cm. on height, she is way pass the 97% percentile and she is not plumpish, but firm and strong.

girrafetan,
ohh cos u said u used to work in LV, so i thot u teacher. haha. my niece is 2mths now. sorry i missed the ealier postings, is ur bb going there too ?

Celyn
thanks.. to get the sample, do we write in to the producer ? if takes long time mite wont make it when bb 6 months by next week..

Rona
Welcome,,, Ur bb is really BIG !! Wahhh... 10 Kg at 5 months ? !!

Celynlee,
I also hope to bf for as long as possible but my back’s hurting a lot and recently, I sprained it. Very painful now. Do you latch? I pump 3x if at work and 1x at night and still latch 4x. Abit tired out but no choice cos ss will dip, esp worse when I get my mens which comes regularly. Arghh..

Rona,
Welcome! I’m also new to this group. Wow.. your 3rd child is already 10kg.. So your ger is 3. How about your 1st child? Boy/girl? How old?

Catherine,
Oh haha.. no la, I mean I used to work in NUS. My #2 in Club HDB now, infantcare. My #1 goes to the after-school care too. =) I put both there cos I work there, although i would've preferred putting them at my mom's pl but then, it's easier at TP so that we can all go home tog. But also stressed at times when have to rush here and there. Plus carry all the pumping equipment...