(2008/08) Aug 2008

Waah, really envy those whose babies can sleep through for more than 12hrs!
My son won't sleep before 9.30pm and wakes up at 7am... In between, gotta wake up and feed him at ard 3am.

Mousse,
My bb oso cannot sleep thru 12hrs...the most 6-7hrs.
i tink datz good enuff!

Hisstory,
During the day, if i on the aircon and draw the curtains in the room, Char can nap for very long.
Like y'day, she napped from 1pm to almost 4pm, and i had to wake her up for milk..and she could still fall back to sleep when i went out of the room to make her milk!

timminbuzz
heheh, i did it once.. Let her roll ard in the cot, but ended up she was like Monkey God, tossing all the pillows & bolsters all over the place

Wendy
Huh, wait till rub eyes also salah?! But bo bian, i am unable to read any earlier signs.. Nvm, she seems contented to go to sleep then, def not cranky *phew*

hahah, same here, my bb wld also make 'ng ng' sounds when she is pooping

ReiRei
Char can nap so long.. So shiok!! She was a sleepyhead yday ah?
I tried to draw the curtains and the aircon, but still to no avail.. I need the midas touch now!

Hisstory,
yah..char is def a sleepyhead! hee..
Looks like Ashley is 1 active baby!
btw, my fren told me dat in infant care, they don't carry bbs to sleep..they'll either put them in rocking chair & rock them to sleep or put them in cot.

re: kindergarten,
u girls are right..there's no more kindergarten in St nicks liao..

the last batch was many years ago..soo sad!

reirei,
same here, Chevelle doesn't really want milk immediately after waking up. She will play awhile.

I also draw down the curtains and switch on aircon
In a way, they tend to sleep longer. Think the aircon shiok for them.

Not bad, Char can take 170ml. Chevelle is still stuck at 120ml and she doesn't finish it all

Catherine,
I usually will let her drink after she wakes up but I find that nowadays Chevelle doesn't wana drink after waking up. So like reirei, let bb play til she's hungry she will eh for milk.

hisstory,
Ya take comfort that at least Ashley naps 30min. My gal sometimes takes 1-2 hr stretch. Else she will also sleep in 30-min blocks.

timminbuzz,
Sometimes, she's too tired, she will take evening nap, meaning 5+ til 7pm. No choice, she just wants to sleep. But that doesn't happen too frequently. *keeps fingers crossed*

On average, Chevelle sleeps abt 10hr +/-. Gd day she can sleep 12hrs.

happy_mummy
hehehe.. good one.. the other way around with me.. hb keeps his salary and I got pocket money purely for me to spend nia heheheh...

Cat & Timminbuzz
u guys lucky leh bb can sleep that long, my bb usually ard 5.30 - 6 am oredi talk talk liao.. I'm always super grumpy abt this but no choice leh have to get up too

Wendy
mine is the contrary leh.. She'll fusses n cries if doesnt see me.. Even nowadays when I let her play in the living room, one step I go to kitchen she cries liao...
told hb i really cant move then hhhhh......

hisstory
np, some bbs sleep short one even mine oso when she was younger... that's y my mom like to rock her in sarong. Adviced to rock the sarong often (like when she stirs u rock ), she used to sleep very longgg in the sarong.. Even missed her milk time that time..

hisstory / wendy,

haha my bb will keep quiet when she wants to "gek sai".

Cos she's too active, always making alot of noise. If she's suddenly quiet and we smell something smelly, then we knw she's going to poop liao.

Hi Baby Emma,

I'm interested also but by when must make use of the package hah? Thanks!

Sean Lau photoshoot

im organising BP for this:

http://www.seanlau.com/Home/Index.html

Classic Baby
$238

2 hours of studio session
5 pictures printed on 5”x7”
1 reprint on 8’x12” with framing
DVD with selected images in high resolution

If can gather:
10 mummies - $208
20 mummies - $188

Extra cost:
- Above price is for weekday only, for weekend photoshoot please add $35
- To include parent please add $25 per person (u can still get to have a photo shot of your baby on her/his own and a photo shot of the whole family as well)

mummies interested in photoshoot pls indicate interest:
1. babyemma
2. catherine
3. twin stars
4. Nini(diorly)
5. M2B (need to know package valid till when)

or please email me at [email protected]

hisstory,

hehe, what you described to timminbuzz abt your gal like monkey god in her own cot sounds like mine too.

Just now left her to play in the cot, she kept kicking on the mattress that i heard the thump thump sounds. Few minutes later, I went to her cos I sensed her impatience liao, as the thumping sounds got more agitated. Next thing I knew, she was about to cry with her mouth turning downwards.

Haiz, my bb is so clingy!

ling
Sometimes my ger also wakes at 6+, then i wld be super sian coz i am so tired to handle her at such an 'unearthly' hour.. Try to send her back to sleep as such *hahah*

Advised to rock ah? Maybe tt helps to get bb to transit between light & deep sleep.. Dunno leh

val
Chevelle sounds so adorable & very sociable.. Her sign is to keep quiet when she needs to poo, like she needs utter concentration.. hee!!

Ashley wld eheheh when she's unhappy tt she's left alone.. Then mummy must be able to multitask at times, put her in the rocker, talk to her, sing songs to her, play peek a boo while doing other things.. heheh

Some bk says to print our pix & put in the cot, so bb thinks they are still seeing us ard.. Interesting!

happy_mummy
voted for adel oredi

Cat
my bb oso cant roll back yet but she loves to flip then after sometimes make sounds so we need to unflip her then she flips again Aiyoohhh !!

when she woke up in the morning oso sometimes she doesnt want to take her milk directly too

Mousse
My bb oso cant sleep thru the nite yet.. I observe most longest is 5 hrs only then still wake up for nite feed

Reirei
Acc to doc, bb can b said sleep thru oredi if they san sleep 6-7 hrs in a stretch.. so ur bb can b considered sleep thru liao.. so envy ....

Val
Heard bb actually like cool weather, like inside the womb mah.. that's y some research mentioned in western country bbs sleep better than ours here..

hisstory...
when i put mine down into cot, he's also like that. roll here, roll there, kick here, kick there. i don't put anything in the cot, so got nothing for him to throw. haha...but i tink if i do...definitely will throw! haha...until finally, very tired...cry and then sleep.

lingling,

same here, the max that my bb can last without milk and sleep is 5 hrs. Still waiting for the day when she will learn to sleep thru the night.

hisstory,

er hems... I duno if Chevelle's sociable or not. She's okie w people whom she's familiar, but when she's in a place w lotsa strangers and v noisy places, she will wail like anything.

It's been tested and proven twice alrdy. Cos once to wedding dinner and another time was a family friend's gathering. Both venues were v noisy and she couldn't take the noise and attention.

ya, hv to multi-task now. U wldn't believe it but I also gota entertain her. Sometimes I dump her into the walker, she will weh unless I play w her. But at times, I just let her weh and then she realises nobody pays attention to her, so no choice. haha

valnsw...
i tink sometimes if noise overload they get cranky. cos sometimes in church, i try not bringing baby into the nursery. but when the sound is very loud, he'll cry too. but will be ok once in the nursery.

hi ladies. =)
wish all of u a very happy cny!
me still ke ke ke non stop, can't sleep well at nite.
hopefully my cough can recover before cny...hee hee....

valnsw
thx for adding me, u saw my own edited photos inside? =P
i'm busy with all those last mins interviews, and the last time i log in here the topic is about choosing pri school for bb... -_-"
that is why till now then i post lor.

looking at all the sleeping times, think most are the same?

Meredith wakes up at 6-7am for milk, then sleep til 8am+. So I let her play herself, flip and move around in my bed til I fully awake. Then bath her ,feed her then latch on n sleep.

I cant place her in cot laying down flat. So I got a supporter with some items swinging for her to 45 degree sitting n playing , So I can do my things. She will kick and play and look at her mobile,etc... til she is flat then she will make noise.

Hahaha!!

but... she only sleep at 10-11pm. 6+pm she will nap and very active at 7-9pm. She usually sleep thru 2- 4 hrs at nite.

linx,
my girl also must see me then she can play by herself. but also wont be long.

re: driving alone
I had the most stressful and horrible experience driving bb in the carseat. Usu my hb drives i carry her or i drive my mom carry her. today my mom wasnt free to go for kindermusik with me and my hb well .. he wanted to sleep. (fedup with him cos he made me wait until 2pm then ask me go myself) So cos of my stupid hb, bernice missed her nap cos usu she would nap in the car ride there. Today put her in and 5 mins onto the road, which on PIE she started to scream and scream.. enter CTE scream and scream .. no choice maid took her out from carseat to carry her.. still screaming. AIYO. then my maid tried to pacify her patting the car seat (pat pat pat) .. knocking the ceiling of the car (bonk bonk bonk) .. already a screaming baby driving me nuts, plus my maid and her banging.. traffic lights pass to me to stop her, pass back scream again..

After kindermusik, she was asleep, put her on the carseat.. 5 mins out of carpark, wake up and scream and scream again .. give her milk she dont want... scream and scream.. maid take her out, still scream .. aiyo. i had to stop the car midway to calm her down cos she was cying until like no breath le...

i was so stressed out ..

so much for letting her cry it out.

babyemma,
how many soft copies we get back ? only 5 ? if we want to buy them all back how much would it cost ?

Val
me oso waiting for the day my bb can sleep thru :p

BB cranky if many ppl cos bb not used to it.. need more exposure and accompany bb so they know u r there though so many ppl around bb..
This happen to me too.. brought bb to hb's homecountry. Meeting with so many of his relative. Everybody taking turn to carry her, first bb looked bit scared n want to cry then I try to talk to her from beside lor.. seeing me, she's quite ok thou so many ( I really mean many ) ppl came n carried her around

Sylvia
so good uh ur bb can play by herself.. mine one step I'm moving away she will fuss then cry
what to do uh ?

Snow
Speedy recovery for CNY and good luck on the interview

WISHING ALL MOMMIES AND BBs GONG XI FA CAI !!

Catherine what a day of driving alone wif bb at least ur maid is ard, me also i'm very afraid to drive with bb only..will easily get distracted by bb..moreover my gal dunno y won't fall asleep in carseat one...strange

ling,

trial n error loh. last time once I move away, she will fuss n cry. But I hv eat, bath n even wash her bath tub, etc, so I try different methods to see how i can get some time out. The supporter is so far the best as it can let her play for approx 15mins -30mins. When she play on the bed, she will pull her feet, flip, etc, so I just lay or sit at the edge so that when she look around for me, I am there.

Sometimes when she sleep, she will suddenly open eye big big, once she saw me, she fall into deep sleep right away. So quite funny!!

In case I wont be up.....

Happy NIU year!! Hope all mummies healthy n pretty!! All babies grow up healthy & happy!

timminbuzz
I have to hand it to u.. I cannot tolerate her crying. It's excruciating to my ears, and I wld end up picking her up

val
hahah.. And I thought she's so sociable. Quite sure she wld be a frenly little ger in time to come.. Right now, family's best for her. But do get to work on this aspect, apparently it can be trained.. Prob take longer to warm up

I also leave her in the rocker to entertain herself.. Sometimes out of the blue, she looked fine then she suddenly breaks out in tears, very cham kind.. Then I must move her with the rocker to wherever i am

sylvia
wow, ur bb can stay up till 10-11pm...

catherine
*hugs* Can imagine the stress... Hope she has recovered fr the bouts of crying, and you too!!

Sean Lau photoshoot

hi mummies! im trying to gather mummies for this photoshoot to get a better price...anyone interested?

the package must be used in the month of Feb.

http://www.seanlau.com/Home/Index.html

Classic Baby
$238

2 hours of studio session
5 pictures printed on 5”x7”
1 reprint on 8’x12” with framing
DVD with selected images in high resolution

If can gather:
10 mummies - $208
20 mummies - $188

Extra cost:
- Above price is for weekday only, for weekend photoshoot please add $35
- To include parent please add $25 per person (u can still get to have a photo shot of your baby on her/his own and a photo shot of the whole family as well)

mummies interested in photoshoot pls indicate interest:
1. babyemma
2. catherine
3. twin stars
4. Nini(diorly)
5. M2B (Feb only)

or please email me at [email protected]

just to check when u all introduce purees eg sweet potato for ur babies,do u give it on its own or add it in yr cereals? If give it on its own, won't it be too dry or need add water ? :p

baby napping:
yu ze got 2 different routine for naps. at babysitter's place, he can nap from 1 to 3 hours or more. he can only nap max of 1 hour when he is at home.

sleep without milk:
yu ze will sleep from around 10pm to 7am, before he eh eh. he will be able to go back to sleep to 10pm after feed if its needed. his last feed at 10pm now is 200ml. usually, he is already sleeping by 9pm so 10pm feed is while he is sleeping.

krex78, celynlee, valnsw, sylvia,
Thanks for the response for the baby bonus and CDA account. I called MCYS today and realised that my account was not setup. Hence, I have not been given any $$ yet.

Dunno if it's TMC or the ocbc counter at TMC screwed up my application but I would need to resubmit the documents.

Then after that can I set up the CDA account.
Phew, salvaged my $3000. hahha.

celyn,
YuZe can drink 200ml for his last feed is vv good ;)
Kai is still drinking 180ml for all his feeds. Maybe i should up it so he can sleep longer? hehe.

Celyn
Wow Yu ze can drink 200 ml ? My gal still only take 150 ml mostly. sometimes 180 ml. try to up but she cant finish..

sleeping:

i put my boy on a sleep routine. it's something like:
feed (milk) - bath - sleep - feed (milk) - play - feed (cereal) - sleep - feed (milk) - play - feed (cereal) - sleep - feed (milk) - play - towel time/ sleep if possible - feed - sleep (through the night hopefully)

with this pattern, he naps for about 1 to 1 1/2 hrs on average. on days when he's really tired, he can nap up to 2 hours. he goes to bed late though, ard 11.30pm or 12am since his last feed is at 11pm. so we try to make sure he has enough naps during the day. these days, he seems to wake up during the night, dunno if it's becoz of the weather. noticed that when he sleeps in his own cot in his own room, he tends to wake up more often. he does not sleep in aircon room. but on weekends when he rooms in with us in a cosy portable bed, he does not wake up till milk time the next morning. we're guessing it cld be the environment - either he likes aircon or the cosy portable bed, heh heh. but he's going to outgrow it soon so we hope it's something to do with the aircon - at least the problem can be solved, though it will burn a hole in our pockets!

HT cereal:

how much is it? i'd like to order but i won't be going for the gathering as i'm not a SAHM. will prob get the mixed grain cereal and maybe some teething biscuits.

sean lau photoshoot

hey any mummies have friends who would be interested? so far only 6 mummies...need four more to get discount.

Val,
I can, no problem... What are you ordering? You ordering for yourself or your baby? Can I tong pang you to buy cause i too lazy to browse through liao

Cat,
At least you have maid to help carry Bernice out. Most of the time, i drive with Adel alone and at times he will really scream. The last was just 2 hours ago when I was coming back from the supermarket. Adel just screamed and screamed in the car seat... It's really so frustrating and I wonder whether I beat any traffic light or pass the speed limit. It's really quite dangerous !

Babyemma
i interested to know about Sean Lau photoshot allow us to buy back all unedited and edited pic? how much does it cost? any pros available? own clothes?
wondering how much does it cost for the many babies in the flower pots?

hisstory,

ya ... so late. Sometimes she can still giggle away and jumping leh.......

Even if she sleep between 7-10pm, 30mins she will be up unless is after 10pm then longer hours.

happy mummy,

I tot of asking u help me for the pigeon BP too........ Pumpkin type one...

but hv to control!! Hahahaha!! So tempting esp these are what I am aiming for months liao.

Spent too much ...

even the dinky diner oso hv to ask HB nw........

re: SAHM gathering

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. linx
3. babyemma
4. Shint (interested to order but not going for gathering)

i'm up for pump now. very long didn't wake up at this kind of hours liao. slept at 1030 just now and didn't manage to wake up till now.

shint & lingling,
his usual feed is 170ml now but no more 3 hourly. he used to drink 140ml at 9pm and 12am to last till next morning. when he starts to drink 170ml, i try new routine for him which is give 200ml at 10pm only and he still manage to last till next morning. so i stick to this now. after 10pm feed, then i go to sleep liao.

celyn,

yu ze drink so much already? i dunno if i'm underfeeding mine. he's drinking 180ml for 8am (1st feed) and 11pm (last feed). all other feeds are 150ml. but very long never feed 150ml liao coz' i'll latch him on for all feeds except first and last feeds. hmmm...maybe that's why he's so hungry during cereal time!

sigh, sometimes i wonder how bbs can sustain on pure BF. even though experts tell u your body can produce enough, i really doubt so. that's why i always feel stressed when my boy cries sometimes after milk. luckily he seldom does that now that we've started him on solids. else i will totally give up on BF man!

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. linx
3. babyemma
4. Shint (interested to order but not going for gathering)
5. krex78 (interested to order but not going for gathering)

morning mummies

krex78,
according to my babysitter, baby should drink the amount according to their weight. eg 6kg baby drink 6oz of milk. so in this sense, yu ze is drinking according to his weight loh, only for last feed i add 1 more oz so that he can sleep through and since he can finished, i give loh.

celyn,
Your bbsitter said to give amt according to wt, then mine alrdy drinking alot less. She's 6.8kg at last check but think now mb hv 7kg? She drinks 4 oz at each feed, sometimes never finish all.

happy_mummy / sylvia,
Why don't you give me your orders by this Sunday? Then I consolidate for us to submit one order to BP organiser. Then happy_mummy will help to collect.

Have PMed both of you.

Oh yea, jus read the BP thread, the waiting time is 1 mth liao.

happy_mummy,
Not sure which ones I wana get, prob wil be the pumpkin snack and the fish cracker at least for now.

BTW, you can collect for us right? U ok if msapple joins in? Cos she mentioned she likes the snacks too.

msapple,

U wana get the Pigeon snacks? Cos you mentioned u liked it just that the collection abit far for u. Happy_mummy is helping us to collect.

krex78, celyn,
My body so far produced almost enough for Kai. Only on some days when I am sick, not enough rest, too tired or dragged pumping due to other activities ie MJ and it becomes 1 pump lesser for the 24 hours. Then have to rely on FBM.

His drinking schedule (7-8 feeds of 180ml)
6am, 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm, 12am
Sometimes he wakes up at nite for another feed like these few days. Prob have to up his last feed, perhaps not enough.
7*180ml = 1260ml or 1440ml per 24 hours

My pump schedule :-
7am, 12pm, 7-9pm, 11-1ampm, 4am(or skip this pump) ..... so each time I have to produce close to 2 feeds(360ml) but most of the time, it's about 300ml. I've been utilising the FBM quite a bit, left quite little now.

So far, he doesn't cry after feeding. He'll be quite happy and active or will fall asleep so I gather that's enough for him.
Perhaps when doing direct latching, they really don't drink enough ... but then again, direct latching is based on demand feeding rite?

For pumping, you can squeeze till the last drop.

If based on celyn's babysitter recommendation, KAI should then be drinking 260ml? I'd faintz liao and KAI will grow even fatter! hehe. Last time they say each 100g drink how much ah? recommendation from PD one.

DROPPING HAIR
Btw, are you mommies still dropping lotsa hair?
Mine started for a few weeks liao .... now it's my turn to start finding a solution.

Celyn,
You said your method works rite? how much it cost you ah?
Last time I remembered reading about some hair tonic that you all order from some BP and it works, thinking of getting that - 100+ i think.
Who has that link to the BP ah?

I guess cos KAI is born later so my "problems", symptoms will show later. Good also, then can get advice from the mommies here.

Like Kai starting on cereal, by the time he starts, u all will be expert liaoz.
)))

Avent Teats
Kai is using Avent teats, he's now still using Teat No 2. I tried to change it to No 3 but last nite he like choking so i think it is too fast for him.
Who's using No 3 oredi? Need to change liao?

My #1 used teat 2 until he was quite big and he's still using teat 3 and 4 now. Most of the time teat 3 for nite feed cos i dun wan to him to drink his milk too fast.