(2008/08) Aug 2008

shint,
yu ze is using avent size 3 now. i will be changing to side 4 after he reach 6 months which is quite soon.

my hair still dropping but a bit lesser with the hair tonic i bought from kimage. its not the same as the bp one. i got it at $40.

i very blur over yu ze's feeding now. he don't goes on 3 hour feed cos we start him on solid and also he is drinking more now. i'm trying to get him on a routine for weekends now.

i think i feed him solid at the wrong time cos after eaing for a while, he cry liao. he wants to sleep and refuse to eat liao. so i put him down to sleep. i think i need to cook porridge much earlier and not wait for near his feed time.

Baby having flu
Those mommies whose baby had gotten flu before, how long did it last? Kai's runny nose is ok liao but his cough is still there .... almost a week liao. Taken meds from PD(when he went for jab) but he had phelgm and now taking meds from the polyclinic.

Still coughing leh. So far, vomitted twice after the middle of the nite feed. But i thikn it's good cos all the phelgm oso comes out with it.

celyn,
$40 ok leh .. i tot it's gonna costs over $100.

Can just go and buy from kimage shop directly? or they need to check your sculp first?
Yours is to prevent hair drop or helps to grow hair oso?
Do u know which branch is near SK ? I might just go over to grab a bottle.
*Sigh, so sad i am seeing that my front is sparsing ... but do see little baby hair growth in front.

solids. i haven't start so dunno ... but yes, when KAI wants to sleep, he will cry for milk and will go into his dream feed.

Someitmes he dun sleep after feed then we play awhile. Once he's vv sleepy, he'll make lotsa noise and then vv fast, within minutes he'll sleep! Just now i was just typing an sms .... then he was fussing, before I even send out the sms, he slept liao. But vv good la, i dun have to rock him too long. Straight away KO.

celyn,

Gd that it works for u. For me, I think I'm still dropping hair although seems like the areas I apply the hair tonic, have hair growing out of them.

Shint,

Celyn & I went to Kimage. The hair tonic is $41.70 w GST. Only carry Wella SP brand. Think u can ask them if suitable for ur scalp.

I think for me, cos I hv sensitive skin, so I had abit of pimples breaking out near the hairline where I applied the tonic.

So I used every alternate day but these few days stop as I wana stop the mini outbreak to look mei mei for CNY.

shint,
yu ze will not cry for milk unless its super hungry but he will cry for sleep. when he wants to sleep, you give him anything also useless.

yu ze also got phelgm and we think its the antibiotic that causes it.

locations of kimage. i think rivervale mall is nearer to you. the one i got is to apply daily after wash to prevent hair loss. its supposed to prevent about 37% hair loss.
http://www.kimage.com.sg/salon/locations/index.php

val,
cayla also drinking very little... 120ml 3 hourly 6 times a day cos she dont wake up at night & most times cannot finish too.. now that we have replaced one meal with cereals, she only drink 5 times of BM now...

Shint,
my PD recommend 150ml per kg of bb's weight per day... some other PD recommend 120ml instead...

re: poo poo
i just noticed that her poo poo is very smelly today... duno isit bcos of the cereals or bcos she aledi turn 6 months liao...

re:HT cereals
bought HT cereals at carrefour yesday bcos of the 5%+5% discount for POSB everyday card... UP is $6.65... you can go stock up... sales from 23 to 25 Jan 09...

re: Huggies contest
voted for all the beautiful babies here aledi...

Happy Niu Year to all the pretty mummies and cute cute babies...

Shint,
Some toiletries shops sell wella products... if you know the product name, you can try to buy at those shops, the price should be a lot cheaper... i know Toa Payoh got a few of those toiletries shop cos i always buy from them... e.g the Kerastase hairloss shampoo is at $24.50 & it cost $40+ at salons...

dongle,

Ya I'm wondering isit the cereal causing her to drink lesser.

BTW, the Carrefour 5% + 5% is only valid for 23-25 Jan or for certain days of the week? eg every Fri of the week?

Cos I knw every Tue their housebrand is 5% off plus POSB Everyday credit card is another 5%.

dongle,
thanks ... i think in that case kai is overdrinking .. hahha. His average is 140ml-160ml, depending if he takes 7 or 8 feeds.

for the tonic, i will go grab a bottle at the mall later cos dun wan to lose more hair. next time then i go source from those shops.

wah..shint, if kai is drinking 7*180ml = 1260ml or 1440ml per 24 hours..that's quite a lot..luckily he's a boy....not so scary...how heavy is he now?..my gal can match the same per feed volume which is 200ml but she only have 4-5 feeds per day..oh..not to mention there's still porridge and cereals...opps..sounds a lot too when all add up..

mummies i've a qns, when bring bb to swim need to wear swimming suit or thermal wear? Will they catch a cold if don't wear anything?

shint
wah, u're quite fortunate to just have this hair dropping problem abt now.. I popped a day before you & my hair has been dropping for a couple of weeks oredi..

Kai is a big drinker!! And at 3 hourly.. Wow! Ashley's on 4 hourly & I dun think she comes close to that amout wor

sylvia
heheh, Meredith likes to stay up late to spend more time with daddy & mummy huh?

coolsnow,
Kai is officially 9kg and last measurement of his height is 70cm. Every doc, PD who sees him says he's big ... last round for his jab, the PD had to remeasure his head circumference again cos it is above 100% percentile. Big head. My #1 oso same.

Swimmng. Swim diaper only not enough lor i reaslised. last round with happy_mummy i os ogave him the swim diaper, better to let him wear swimsuit over it. Thermal wise, i never did invest in one.

hisstory,
Hair had started dropping about 2-3 weeks ago but i din bother cos for #1, it wasn't much to become a concern. This time more hence i am thinking of doing something abt it.

Drinking - yes, he's like my #1 who loves milk.
Good oso ... sometimes lazy then just give milk lor. jialat hor? hehe.
My #1 can drink 330ml and another bottle of 260ml before he sleeps. My pocket burn hole.
I think by 3 yo, can switch to those cheaper powder but Gain came out with this new powder for 3 yos onwards which is exp oso.
Recently i gave him GROW for 3yo one and he kept asking for more ... not sure if it's too diluted so he's not full or it's vv sweet so he is asking for more.

KAI fell off the bed this morning
Hubby was playing with both kai and my #1 and putting them side by side on my #1's cot bed. Then he turned away for 1 sec and KAI fell off!
the bed oredi so small and my #1 was lying beside him but on the inside. Kai was outside.

Then kai cried for a while. he was ok but looked abit dazed. i tried to make funny faces and see if he responds. Good thing he did and now he's ok la.

First fall from the bed. Heng it's the toddler bed and not too high.

yuuri
ya only 5 photos edited and returned

ruixuan
i need to double check but if i didnt remember wrong its $200 or $250 to buy back all the photos

yes props available: flowerpot included

i think the clothes we need to bring. again must double check.

Sean Lau Photoshoot

Frequently Asked Questions

Question: Do you provide the props & outfits/ Are the props and outfits yours?/ Do you charge for the usage of the props or outfits?

Answer: All the props you see in our photo gallery belong to us. No, we do not charge. They are included for you in your package.

Question: Is there a minimum age for my baby to come for the photography session?

Answer: No, babies as young as 1 day old can be photographed.

Question: How long does it session last?

Answer: A session will usually last 1 to 2 hours. We spend more time on each baby as some of the concept shots that we want to achieve takes time to perfect, we also understand that babies need to take breaks between the photography session for food, to rest and also to change outfits.

Question: Deposit?

Answer: We require a 50% deposit to confirm the appointment.

Question: What do I need to bring for the photography session?

Answer: Do bring along as many outfits as possible.
Do bring along toys and objects that will capture the attention of your baby.

Sean Lau Photoshoot
http://www.seanlau.com

Mummies please email me your contact if still interested.

mummies interested in photoshoot pls indicate interest:
1. babyemma
2. catherine
3. twin stars
4. Nini(diorly)
5. M2B (Feb only)= still interested?
6. Cheryl
7. Joanne

sigh three more mummies to go...mummies on the list please ask ur friends so we can get discount. thanks

I'm a May 08 mummy. I'm interested in Sean Lau Photoshoot. can I join?

mummies interested in photoshoot pls indicate interest:
1. babyemma
2. catherine
3. twin stars
4. Nini(diorly)
5. M2B (Feb only)= still interested?
6. Cheryl
7. Joanne
8. missymouse

just log in to say happy cny to all of u. =)

valnsw & linx

shint
that time zynn flu, took around 1 wk to be fully recover.

sayang little kai, must be painful ya?
hopefully he is ok now.

hair loss:

tried rays salon (same as sylvia) and bought the home treatment but haven't used yet. hair loss not so bad now, but dunno if it's becoz of the treatment at the salon or becoz it has already peaked when my bb was abt 4 mths.

bb sick:

lately jonah has been coughing a little but he doesn't look sick. it's just for awhile only. so dunno if he's really sick or trying to get attention by coughing. so far no symptoms of illness leh...he can still cough then smile at me!?! and i also noticed he likes to touch his left ear. dunno if this is a phase or he has some kind of allergy. he doesn't always do it also, and the left ear has not turned red from the touching.

swimming:

jonah wears swim diaper and thermal suit down. he still cries when we put him in and takes awhile to get used to the water temperature. lately he has not been kicking much. just "nua" down there at the pool. dunno if it's becoz water too cold or he's just plain lazy!

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. linx
3. babyemma
4. Shint (interested to order but not going for gathering)
5. krex78 (interested to order but not going for gathering)
6. Rata (interested to order but not going for gathering)

Dongle,
luckily i din buy from the salon today!
My hairstylist oso recommended me the Kerastase hair loss tonic and shampoo (white colour bottles).
They cost arnd $60 and $37 respectively!

missymouse
yay...thanks for joining...2 more to go before discount $208....mummies please email me your contact at [email protected] if really interested so i can proceed with BP.

nini
ya additional $200-$250...i cant remember exact price...must double check when they open after CNY

but u know that's standard price ..even studioloft also charges $250...

im using seanlau because i want that creative type of babyphoto which he specialises in...otherwise...i would just use a cheaper outdoor photographer(plenty on the business BP thread)...who will just snap and returns all pictures for cheap.

reirei
i used the kerastase hair loss one.....no good....try the GNC hairloss shampoos/treatments...i think those better....i have yet to try but heard good reviews

val,
the 5% + 5% is as & when carrefour advertise on newspaper... it's not a regular promo... yup, tues is 5 + 5% only for their housebrand...

Shint,
hehe... different babies different appetite... it's good that Kai is drinking well... ok for boys to be taller & heavier ma... my HB is ALMOST twice my weight...

Reirei,
if you interested in keratase shampoo, Venus at Toa Payoh central selling at $24.50, think they have a shop at Ang Mo Kio central too... works well for me... my colleague recommended me one...

Babyemma, Dongle,
ooh, differing reviews..i suppose it depends on individuals..
TPY and AMK not v convenient for me..mayb i go try Pple's Park Centre.
Btw my hairstylist recommended me scalp treatment. Do once every 2 mths. Jus did 1 today, not too bad.

dongle
sorry i didnt mean to offend by saying no good...i personally found the kerastase hair loss too drying for the ends...coz i have long hair and it created split ends...so maybe for my long hair no good lor...

reirei
i still use kerastase shampoo..the brand makes good shampoo...i use the kerastase dermo-calm blue bottle...i feel its much better for long hair...doesnt dry out the hair ends...esp if have very long hair...and keeps the scalp dry of oil...

shint,

Kai ok? No blue black?

Sayang!!

I think sometimes HB all mo cha cha one.

Meredith knocked her head 4 nites away when she roll off hb's shoulder while sleeping. I have been telling don't do that when sleeping,though she can sleep longer if she is having bad nights... but very dangerous loh.

Only after that, he kuai kuai put her to the internal of the bed.

Luckily she was ok. I think bb's skull quite hard leh... luckily all our bb all ok.

hisstory,

Hahaha!!

late owl ... I think bb late sleeper no gd, wont grow tall fm a newspaper article years back.

but after 10pm.... no matter what u do,change diaper or even change her clothings,etc.. she is really in deep sleep loh. hahaha!!

Sometimes go home late, she is free to change as she continue sleeping. But before 10pm, she would wake up with just a light sound or even the closing of car door,etc.

baby blues
on a different note, me feeling depressed again....life very monotonous facing baby everyday...doesnt help when looking after baby is all on my shoulders... =(

also recession now...so also feel very depressed...retail therapy seems to make me feel worse....when buying things on BP feel guilty...spreeing feel guilty....and sigh...got to put money into red packets tomorrow....probably got to give away ard $2000 this cny...sigh....

then i check maid's contract....got shocked when i calculated i have to write a cheque of $8000++ for her when she leaves...$350 a month does work out to quite a lot after 2 years..phew...

and then...hubby so stressed at work. he works in a bank(bank now firing staff left right centre)..come home so late and then doesnt talk much to me....i feel worse...whole day face baby and maid and then he come home, eat little bit and then go to bed...no intellectual conversation...sigh...also feel so unloved =(

and then looked at my wedding pics feel even worse..was so much more youthful and slimmer then...keep wondering if now im so fat and no longer attractive....sigh...now really fat..put on 22kg when pregnant...now still 10kg over...and ive been stagnating at this weight for the past month...sigh thought the weight would just decrease slowly...not stagnate!!!

probably is really the blues talking... facing the baby all the day with nothing to do really doesnt help...

snow74,
Kai is ok la .. he was crying while i was on a call to OCBC staff on internet banking stuff.
AFter a while, i carried him and talked to him. He seems abit more daze. Later i played with him, he was smiling and laughing , so he's alright.

Sylvia,
Din see any blue black. just some red patches.

Baby skull is quite hard but the front of the skull hasn't closed yet so have to extra careful

You all know that we cannot shake baby too hard rite? will cause brain damage one. sometimes i see some parents will 'fly' the baby up and down, swing so much ... actually vv risky. At times i will go up and tell the parents not too do it cos they might not know the risk.

Dongle,
Is there a branch in Clementi area?

morning mummies

shint,
ops! i'm one of those parent who fly baby up and down leh. hehe.... will try to stop doing that.

baby emma,
don't feel blue blue. chat with us if you need. we are always here.

shint,
sayang kai. my hubby still don't have the habit of pulling up the side of yu ze's cot. i was telling him, yu ze knows how to flip liao can't leave the side down like last time, must pull it up or he might fall off. he keep forgetting. i told he will only remember when yu ze really fall off the cot 1 day 'touchwood'

baby emma,

hope u're feeling better now. if u're really feeling xian from being a full time mother, maybe can get a part time job or something. i know how boring and monotonous it is to stay home with bb all day. taking my add'l 4th mth leave has made me very sure i don't want to be a SAHM! there are some days i just stare at bb...dunno what to say or what to do already...so bored of just being a mother. u may be the kind who just can't face bb 24 hours a day else u might go crazy. if that is so, better to find a job so u don't "rot" at home. and perhaps help with household finances also?

i didn't know how overly dependent on my pump i was till this morning. for some strange reason, one side of my pump wasn't working. tried to troubleshoot for abt 5-10 mins, then got so frustrated and woke my hb up to help. he also didn't know what's wrong but we were really doing jigsaw puzzle, changing parts here and there (till i think pump not sterile liao). finally both sides working though we dunno what went wrong in the first place.

this is scary! can't imagine a day when my pump totally break down. i will just go crazy! maybe philips meant for us mothers to be super dependent on their pumps...feels like taking drugs, heh.

Krex for the Philips Avent if the motor don't work still can use manual? I remember when we had the power failure over here I had no choice but to use manual. Ha! Ha! The pump has indeed become an important part of our life. Almost like a second baby yah!

baby emma hugs to you. Hope with the dawning of a new year things will look brighter for you.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Happy Chinese New Year Everybody!</font></font>
Enjoy the holidays and makan sessions! It just another ordinary working day for me.

Good morning and a Happy Chinese New Year to everyone! May your baby collect lotsa ANg Pows to cover our outflow .. hehe.

celyn,
i think i posted wrongly on flying the baby here and there ... it's actually dropping baby in the air (for a short distance) and then catch the baby ... means baby is unsupported for a sec or two.
Anyway, since baby's skull is not fully closed, any violent swinging or shaking is not advisable.

Better tell hubby to pull up the side. Falling off from the baby cot is no joke cos it's vv high. Kai fell of my #1's cot bed which is vv low oredi. Kai's fine now and back to his usual cheerful and happy self. ;) Thanks.

Pump
I am also super reliant on the pump since Kai's daily feeds is produced through it. If it does not work, I guess I still can hand express for a while but have to get it working asap ba.

As for the flanges, I have 2 sets .... just in case and also to reduce the stress of keep washing it once i finished pumping.

Now my #1 always play with it after i finish pumping. He's try to pour water into it and fill it up as if it's like milk - cos I have this small basin filled with water and a cloth ... i tell him he better dun drop it. So far I had spoilt 2 flanges. One was we tightened it too tight and the neck broke, the other was becos i dropped it on the floor.

Recently he dropped my 1 yr old Canon Ixus 860 and it's spoilt. Repair costs $200+ so i've decided not to repair it and might go purchase one instead. Waiting for good deal. Expensive experiment for him.

shint,
oh. i don't do that. i will carry him and fly up and fly down. he loves it.

yah loh, told him so many times liao.

dropping the camera, its really an expensive experiment leh.

krex78 &amp; shint,
my pump had become part of me liao. can't imagine if the pump die on me.

mrs n,
i try converting the electric pump to manual pump but hoh, i can't get bm out of it leh. so hoh, my isis duo can't die leh. it die i also die.

babyemma,
hey gal, cheer upz!

U can haf intellectual conversations wif us!
U haf msn? can PM me..
i can empathize wif u..sometimes i haf the blues too..different set of worries and grouses from u (mainly caused by mil) but i keep myself sane by tokin to some of my buddies here.
We complain, joke, and even tok nonsense to each other..and it helps to release our pent-up frustrations! :p

actually i'm worse than u, i dun haf a maid..so when bb is asleep, it's jus me and the four walls..and of cos my laptop! hee..so come in here often to chat wif us, yah?
sometimes i feel like a maid myself..daytime take care of bb, nitetime do housework..it's tiring and sometimes v demoralising..
Many a times, i realli hope i still haf a job, be financially independent, con't to build up credentials for my career..but i gave it all up..the way i am now is my choice (cos i dun wan mil to take care of my bb, nor do i wanna send bb to infant care now), so i can oni sigh and move on!

<font color="red">Wishing all mommies and babies a Happy Moo Moo Year... Good Health and more wealth to everyone!!</font>

babyemma Must stay positive yeah... we all here to support you.. everyone of us will feel depress sometime or other.. its human and its the trial of being a mother, wife, daughter.. all rolled into one.. :p

babyemma,
Try going out to walk walk, window shopping but dun buy things la. Or go to the library to borrow some books. Catch up with some mommies who stays near you.

For me, Hubby is taking over the monitoring of expenditure this year and finds our expenses too high so wanna cut here cut there. I oso quite sian .. but well, it's better to control than go out of control.

Last time i used to buy things without thinking twice till I got to know my hubby. He always ask me, "Is this a need or a want" .. so eventually it got into me and I seldom buy things out of impulse, still do sometimes. I must say I had cut down alot of unnecessary things. Still, expenditure for 2 kids and a maid is not low.

Sometimes we dun need to spend too much $$, it's all managing our own expectations. I think your hubby might be vv stressed out at work and he doesn't want u to be stress as well cos u're already stressed at home.

If u really need a break then maybe can leave baby at home with maid while u go out to have a breather? I do that, sometimes when i am on leave, i need to run errands, i either bring them along or go out myself.

Reirei,
I really salute SAHM for the sacrifices they make. It's all worthwhile when u look back in future. Though you may feel no one appreciates your sacrifices, but your kid will. All those mommies who is in it will. All those who knows how strong you all are understands.

I, for one, cannot be a SAHM, even with a maid cos i get bored. I prob end up going out alot and not spending the quality time with baby.

babyemma,
Do enjoy your CNY. Ang Pows, can cut down since it's bad economy. People jus collect Ang Pows, sometimes dun even know who gave which one. They wun kowtow to u if u give them a super big ang pow rite, it's just a token to keep them happy to celebrate the occassion. Dun be too stress abt it.

celynlee,
hmmm .. still thinking of buying the camera cos i really loved it. It's a good cameara. So far i've used many brands and this one i feel is the best! but well, i am thinking if i do need one ... cos at home i have other cameras.

Taking pics, video of the kids is one of my favourite pasttime .... so .... high chance i'd buy it.

WHO HAS LOBANG TO PURCHASE the CANON IXUS 870?

Do u remember in July I had a car accident with the taxi? I filed claim for my medical fees and i thikn the lawyer claimed for other things as well and they are giving me some $$ for that .... they call it LTA ... i dunno what's that but it's around $500 extra. I prob will use that for my new camera ba.

They took 6 months to process this claim.

HairLoss Products
Who has used what and recommending what? I haven;t buy yet ,... cos Clementi has one Venus branch and thought i can wait a few days la... hee. SO wondering if i should buy the Wella SP or the Loreal kerastase one.

Name, Recommend Product, Price, Result
1. celyn, Used and Wella SP (what serum ah?), $40+ , dropped lesser hair
2. hisstory, Used and Wella SP (......), $40+
3. babyemma , GNC, $?

shint
heheh, u really not sleeping enough ah? Me not using Wella.. Issit dongle?

Maybe i shd do sthg abt my hairloss.. Taking my thick head of hair for granted.. *oops*

babyemma
*hugs* Talk to us online k?
It's tough being a SAHM.. But ur rewards will come along real soon when the lil one becomes more charming &amp; adorable yah? Take time to meet ppl &amp; have those intellectual conversations u yearn for.. Give urself some me time, if not u may get really burnt out too.. *jia you*

Hi mummies and babies,
Happy Chinese 牛 Year!

Been busy busy... until milk supply dropped drastically leh.. Sob sob... think will buy fenugreek to try. Mummies who are on fenugreek, how many capsule u eat per day?