(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn,
your colleague must get an award from the govt ... haha.

me only hoping to give total BM until 6 months when I start Kai on solids. By then the milk demand should lessen is it?

Right now, due to my long lasting cough .. my per pump has decreased by alot, almost down by 40% .... i have to squeeze very long to try to get 2 feed per pump for him. Most of the time, I dun get even 1.5 feed. Now utilising my FBM which is quite pathetic.

Kai is drinking 180ml every 3 hourly .... and i hope i can dong until 6 month. 1 more month to go.

Happy mummy,
tot u starting work on fri? that's b4 CNY rite?

Wah...... as long as nt his money ar.

for me, did spring cleaning n bought a new closet for Meredith. Packed everything... wah........ really alot of new stock leh. 1.5 box of winter items leh!! I really gng to stay in winter season liao. hahaha!!

Have to explain why whole set of winter stuff ... coz he was shocked of what I bought... :p

babyemma: im interested too! count me in!

i haven't even receive my baby bonus, that; the thing. Just now i went to dig dig dig my letters and found one from MCYS that says did not receive my submission for baby bonus wo - in end Oct .. but i too busy so i chuck it aside.

i submitted the forms dunno to TMC or to that ocbc counter at TMC(cos it was hubby who registered baby's birth) .... but I remember passing it to the oCBC counter at TMC .... it seems that it is not processed leh.

Furthermore my #1 baby bonus was given in this particular bank account number but they checked and said it's not wor .....

i better go call MCYS tomororw else my $3000 dunno go where liao.

Today took Braiden for his hair-cut before CNY... n he got freaked out when ppl restricting his head n the shaver go buzz-ing..haha.. He kept crying soooo loudly n the tear drops so big wor...machiam like 'Huan zhu ge ge' like that..haha

shint,

i got my bb bonus within a month of giving birth. mcys will send letter to inform and deposit the money in your nominated a/c. that one don't have to be cda a/c. u can choose any savings a/c that you currently have from any bank. the $3k or $4k is meant to be solid cash for u to spend one. they give out money every quarter so i already got 2 portions worth. as for CDA a/c, i only just recently opened. u need letter from mcys to open that, and for this, u can only open at ocbc or stand chart. the money u deposit in there, the govt will match the next month. this money u can't withdraw unless for education purposes. even if after 7 yrs u haven't finish using, the money will be transferred to some PSEA (post sec education a/c) which u can use again when your son is in local uni. else it goes into his CPF a/c when he turns 30 yrs. quite stupid, so i didn't put a lot of money in it just in case i dun get to spend it all. that one can just put a bit here a bit there, when your kid goes to nursery/ kindergarten, then see how much u need from that a/c to pay sch fees lor.

morning mummies

nini,
oh poor braiden, sayang sayang. is it the first time he goes for hair cut. yu ze is so used to it liao, he didn't cry at all. he goes for hair cut every month.

shint,
hahah.... must really reward her hoh. 7 years of hard work.

Hi moms!

I heeded the advice of reading "Healthy Sleeping Habits, Healthy Child" and it seems to be working so far!

No doubt, his naps are only about 30 mins long each time.. same as Bernice, Catherine.. but it's better than nothing.

He took a total of four naps yesterday.. and I even managed to nap with him ON MY OWN BED and HIM IN HIS OWN COT. Really happy.

Now when I see that he is tired, I just put him down (on his tummy.. cos if I put him on his back, he'll flip anyway), he will fuss a little.. less than 5mins and then zzzzzzzzz.. it's great!

Great book! Good recommendation!

Valnsw,
Yaya the meeting place is out for me too.

Babyemma,
The littlegastronomy blogspot link, that is my friend. She is very good at baby food. I alway ask her, she is pro.

Voted for all your babies in huggies contest.
my girl also join

blessedmom
ya i think littlegastronomy is very good. will follow her recommendations...

valnsw
dunno leh...so long ago already.dun remember who is who..unless i see them....only in contact with my bestfriend (who has been my bestfren since 12)

Valnsw,
jus bot petpet for char to try.
Not bad leh..it's vv soft..much better than pampers comfort!
oni ting is it doesn't haf urine indicator. Well, same as pampers active.
hb was soo angry dat he paid so much for pampers active and yet it doesn't haf indicator..hehe..

Btw M size is JUS nice for my 'sung bo' char..Luckily hb oni bot 1 pack.
Is Chevelle wearing M too? was tinking whether i need to stock up L size..

Huggies Photo Contest
hehehehe seems all mommies here voting for each other. I have voted for all the babies too hihi

babystash
is all carter bibs waterproof ? or some carter bibs r not waterproof ?

Wendy
looks like a good book.. need to read it up myself too
luckily at home my bb can take nap almost 2 hours if we take care of her to make sure she's not very disturbed ... then I can login here hehe

happy mummy
wah ur hb said that ? as long as ur own money ?? hmmm.. if my hb said that too, i better go to work oso...

wendy...
great to hear that the book is working out for u!
i personally treat it like my bb sleep bible. haha...i keep refering to it. :D

my bb used to take 4 naps a day too. recently, he dropped his 4th nap and down to 3 naps a day. and i feel the book's timing is really 'chun'! my bb's 3 naps' timing all around there n now, once it's time, bb will automatically get sleepy and want to sleep. heheh...

babyemma...
me batch '97! u're yellow name tag right? :D
not sure abt SAJS' current standard. but all our gd frens who came frm SAJS are doing pretty well now. maybe last time standard better. heheh...
but i'm too lazy. will opt for easiest option. haha

re: SAHM gathering

venue: AMK (my place)
date: 6 Feb (Fri)
time:?
1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx

Would everyone prefer lunch/tea???

Babyemma...i don't mind ordering! let's see who's interested and if we'll have enough orders?

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz

reirei,
Ya, Chevelle wears M size. I stocked up on that size liao. For her, M size still have allowance on the waist and thighs still ok.

If you want, just stock up L size. Cos confirmed will need to use next time, just when only.

But u mean M size alrdy tight for Charlotte?? That's fast!

baby_emma,
Haha ya I think sometimes we knw our own batch people by face than by name.

timminbuzz,
U organising HT BP? I don't mind getting somemore if we all consolidate orders and get the discount. I wana get the oatmeal flavour.

timminbuzz
think with all the bb around, lunch will b challenging :p mayb tea will b better. mommies, what do u think ?

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. Linx

Ling Ling,
Wow.. it's great that your baby sleeps for 2hours! Do you simulate night conditions? Eg: dark room etc? I too take great effort to not disturb the boy but he still wakes up when the half hour is up. Wonder if it'd lengthen when he is used to this.

Timminbuzz,
How long does your baby nap each time? The book is good cos it has lots of case studies and one is almost exactly what we are facing so it's helpful in that sense. And the book keeps emphasising that babies get tired every 1h to 1.5hr after waking up.. so with that.. it helps too to know when I should be putting him down next!

1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. babyemma

Wendy,

Just to share w u, I also borrowed that book that was recommended by hisstory and timminbuzz.

Cos I also had some prob w bb sleeping.

As you've said, I also noticed my bb will be tired every 1h to 1.5hr after waking up and drinking milk.

Generally now, my bb will be hving a short nap of 30min to 1 hr in the morning anytime fr 9am-12pm. Then after her afternoon feed, she will nap mostly for 1.5-2 hrs. Sometimes, she will split that up into 2-3 naps of 0.5hrs each.

Then from 6pm onwards, will not let her sleep so that she can sleep better at night.

As for the time she sleeps at night, it really depends. Sometimes she can sleep as early as 9.30am else can even drag til 12MN+

I'm still working on the early bedtime, cos last night she was so cranky. Wondering if she's teething, cos after putting the teething gel, she was better.

timminbuzz
nonono me white nametag...yellow nametag is batch below me...above me is orange and light blue nametag.. wait im 1979...u? r we same year...me count the years until blur already..also bad memory...probably got the nametag colours wrong also

1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. linx
3. babyemma

wendy...
mine used to take really short naps too (30-45min). nowadays, he seemed to have one extended nap on his own. Can go from 1hr-2hrs and occurs in the morning 9am or arvo 12pm nap. Never the 3pm nap. don't worry...they'll extend naps on their own when they're ready. i tried leaving mine alone when he takes a 30min nap, but he never goes back. so nowadays, i just pick him up and he seems happy to start so i'm OK with it.

he dropped his 4th nap this week. but i put him to bed @ around 7.15-7.30pm. and he's usually very tired by then.

valsnw...
maybe urs is tired, that's y cranky? if sleeping around 9+ and beyond...according to the book, still needs an early evening nap? not sure.

babyemma...
i'm red nametag. '81. so u're 2 yrs above me!

Valnsw and Timminbuzz,
I hope my bb will extend his nap time too.. but as of now.. I'm already very happy because it's a vast improvement from the past where I had to carry him or else he wouldnt nap at all.

I too tried just leaving him in the cot when he first woke up 30mins later and realised that he'll just cont to cry rather than go back to sleep so now I just pick him up when he wakes up. Hopefully this way, he knows that everytime he wakes up, mommy is there to pick him up and maybe.. just maybe he'll nap longer. Haha.. then again, it could backfire!

As for night sleeps, we usually start the bedtime routine 7pm latest. He is usually asleep by 8ish or so. Usually, he wakes up at about 11nish for a feed then again at 3-4am for another feed. Last night, he woke up at 11pm then again at 3ish and refused to sleep. Then past 4am, I just put him in his cot because he kept yawning but refusing to sleep. He fussed a little and dozed off until nearly 7am

wendy, val & timminbuzz
Gosh, ur babies are so much better with sleeping.. My ger is now using the sarong in the day. I've no choice coz both my wrists are hurting like mad fr carrying her

And still she only sleeps 30min.. Sometimes she's happy when she wakes, sometimes not. Like now, my sis's maid is entertaining her after her 30min nap while I take a respite.. Going to let her take another nap soon

wendy...
totally understand! when he started napping in his cot...i was SOOOOO relieved!
i've been reading online and there are many bbs who nap 30min too. so i tink it's ok.

when mine wakes up @ night...i just leave him. heheh...sometimes i just turn off the baby monitor. haha...so bad right this mummy? but he always goes back to sleep w/in half hr.

Wendy
Nope. for the nap in day time i dont try to make it like nite. I dont want her to confuse whether it's day or nite :p In fact I put her in the living room, on her play mat with all the windows open and TV on hehehe.. sometimes that karung guni ppl will oso pass by n honk honk then the drilling machine below for the road work.. sometimes the loud noise when the flight pass oso can make her move
so I just sit here bside her while she sleeps lor... watching TV or chat here hehehe.. try to stop her from flipping in sleep cos she will wake up then whenever she moves i'll give her pacifier or touch her chest lor... so far ok thou sometimes it doesnt work very well.

Val
I tried to put bb asleep at nite ard 8 pm.. working to make it a habit for her.. Usually will carry her to her cot in the darken room, talk slowly, touch her hand then she will start closing her eyes. If she got awake in the nite, i treid not talk too much to her and I forbid hb to play with her or else none of us will sleep

usually bb will wake up for nite feed ard 11-12 pm then ard 3-4 hrs after that( in one of the very good nite, 5 hrs later :p ) ard 6 am in the morning she'll poo and start bubbling, talk talk and if no one paying attention she'll start scream n cry hehehe.... told hb now he doesnt need any alarm to wake up in the morning.. bb very punctual one mah.. lol

and yes after 1 - 1,5 hrs bb will feel sleepy, I noticed this cos my gal usually will scratch her face, eyes, nose etc then I know she's sleepy lor..

bb naps
after wake up at 6 am, we'll bath her after play a while with her, feed her then she usually will doze off.. around 11.30-12 am oso she'll sleep off then another one around 3 then if I bath her at ard 4.30, she'll want to sleep again after that.. was trying to prevent that happen so she can sleep better in the nite but sometimes cant do leh... cos she'll b very tired one like no matter what u do she'll still sleep off hehehe

wendy,
my bb sleeping time and pattern similar to urs.
7pm bedtime routine
11-12am feed
3-4am feed
7am wake up

should we feed bb immediately when they wake up ?

Tried to upload Adel's photo in the photo contest, but dunno why cannot, try again later!

Sylvia / Ling ling,
Won't worry too much about what my hubby said, cause all his pay is with me lah...he just keeps a few hundred dollars for his own pocket money.. that's why if i take some more, he will be broke ! His money is my money also lah =P

Starting work next Friday after CNY... teaching P2 kids, quite looking forward ! Except for the endless meetings ! argh.........and no public holiday in Feb !

hisstory...
dun worrie...they'll extend their naps when they're ready.
ashley will too, i'm sure. a lot of times, mine will wake up crying too. but once i get him out of the cot, he's ok. so i reckon maybe they're just trying to tell us that they're awake and wanna get out? heh...

Cat,
Adel usually cries when he wakes up because he needs food round about that time Bernice does so i just feed lor. Doesn't Bernice cry for food?

timminbuzz
I sure hope soon.. Coz my mum & sis's maid wld have to jagar 1 toddler & 2 babies, and if Ashley's being demanding, i think i may either have to engage a maid or send her to infant care/baby sitter

Maybe I'm being too hard on myself in trying to get her to take long naps. She might be tt sort who only needs short ones but at more regular freq?

hisstory...
i agree with u. i used to be really stressed when mine takes short naps. but after a while...i resigned to fate. haha... if he's happy taking short naps, then so be it lah. try not to be too stressed abt the naps. maybe she is the kind who just needs short naps. most bbs day naps only get fully regulated at abt 6months. or maybe she just needs more time? try to give her a nap when she shows tired cues, so less exposure to her being cranky?

mine just got really cranky all of a sudden. so i put him into his cot. he cried for 5min then fell asleep. i guess he was tired.

Hisstory,
We used to use the sarong too then realised that every time he stirs, have to keep rocking.. so also like stuck on the chair. Do you use the motorised one?

Timminbuzz,
Now that you mention a lot of babies also just take 30min naps is quite a consolation to me. I always thought babies take long naps so was honestly quite worried and even a little frustrated with the duration. Wondering how come cannot sleep longer than that one.

His cot is in our bedroom.. so cannot not hear when he fusses. I think it'd be soon before we relocate him to his own bedroom! Haha..

Ling Ling,
Before I made him sleep in the bedroom, I'd put him in the living room too but really.. too many distractions for him. Esp when he fusses, when he sees me, he will fuss extra extra loud. So that was when I decided to heed the advice of the book and leave him to nap in the bedroom where it is quieter.

Catherine,
Bb waking up at 7am is very seldom actually. He sometimes can wake up as early as 5 or 6am! Then this mommy will be super grumpy. Haha..

wendy...
i also cannot tahan the night fussing. it really disrupted my sleep and made me a very tired and grumpy mummy. so we moved him into his own room when he was 1 month. sooooo much better. cos i can choose to turn off the bb monitor. hahaha...

re: morning wake time
when he was younger, sometimes he would wake @ 5-6am for feed. i'll treat it as a night feed. dim lights, no talking and straight back to bed after feed. so i tink he kinda learnt that it's still sleeping time. and i'll wake him @ 7am. now, if he fusses earlier than 6.30am, i'll just leave him to fuss. that day, he woke up @ 6am fussing. he fussed till 6.30am and went back to sleep. heheh...and i woke him @ 7.15am. then the next night...slept all the way to 7am again.

but again, all bbs are different. so maybe urs is a morning baby!

timminbuzz
hahah, guess I am a fighter but losing the battle..

Def looking out for the cues of tiredness, usually when she starts her eye rubbing.. Then it's quite easy to get her to sleep, albeit for 30min

wendy
Seems like ur bb's quite like mine.. For 30min she wld be ok, then aft tt i need to keep rocking her. We're trying to avoid the motorised spring so as not to get her reliant on it..

I also thought bb shd take long naps.. Guess i am so wrong abt it, and prob shd readjust my expectations a little..

time: 2.30pm (tea)
1. timminbuzz
2. hisstory
3. fitbaby
4. catherine
5. babyemma
6. Linx

Healthy Times Order
1. timminbuzz
2. linx
3. babyemma

hisstory...
i used to rock mine to sleep too when he took short naps. had to keep rocking n rocking. but one day i just got fed up and stopped. too tired. haha... i just let him wake up and put him for nap 1-2hrs later. n that night, he slept all the way from 7pm-5am!

Timminbuzz
According to the book, when baby rubs eyes.. apparently baby is already overtired wor.. haha.. so really quite difficult in looking out for the opportune sleepy cues.

I too.. wait for baby to rub eyes.. and give a yawn or two.. then I put baby in cot.

Just now about an hour after he woke up.. he was cranky again. Fed and still cranky so thought he wanted to nap again. So put him in but this time the resistance was so much more than other times. So picked him up and a while later.. he pooped. Guess he had a tummyache!

When pooping.. do your babies like grunt? Mine does! The 'kek sai' sound really quite obvious!! Can be quite funny but I always control and continue making the 'ng ng' sound.

happymummy,
no lei.. she wake up sometimes i give her milk she dont want.

wendy,
yes she lately like to wake up 6+ then she will roll here and there.. then may nap again till finally wake up 8am. well more like finally i cannot stand her noise and i have to wake up at 8am. hahaha. And yes .. super grouchy mummy too.

Catherine
My baby cannot roll from tummy back to his back yet.. so once he rolls over to his tummy, that is it. He'll fuss cos too uncomfortable.

Sean Lau photoshoot

im organising BP for this:

http://www.seanlau.com/Home/Index.html

Classic Baby
$238

2 hours of studio session
5 pictures printed on 5”x7”
1 reprint on 8’x12” with framing
DVD with selected images in high resolution

If can gather:
10 mummies - $208
20 mummies - $188

Extra cost:
- Above price is for weekday only, for weekend photoshoot please add $35
- To include parent please add $25 per person (u can still get to have a photo shot of your baby on her/his own and a photo shot of the whole family as well)

mummies interested in photoshoot pls indicate interest:
1. babyemma
2. catherine
3. twin stars
4. Nini(diorly)

or please email me at [email protected]

Catherine,
I used to feed bb when she woke up, but she was too active/alert to fin her milk..usually after finishing 80ml she wanna play oredie.
So now i change strategy. When she wakes up, i let her play for a while.
When she gets tired from her jumping and rolling, i will give her milk. Usually she can fin the whole bottle of 170ml milk, and fall asleep.
But of cos for nite feeds, i will feed her immediately she's (half) awake.