(2008/08) Aug 2008

valnsw,
pacifier is easier to wean off. you can cut off the pacifier but not their fingers right.

my boy will only have his pacifier when he is sleeping. when in car seat or stroller, i will also give to stop him from fussing. heheh...

day time, i will pull his hand out if i see that he is sucking his finger and scold him. then grab his hand to play with him so that he will forget that he is actually sucking on it. it will usually work.

my mum and auntie teach me this. if next time, hard to wean him off pacifier, just cut a bit of the pacifier keeping it still intact but then there is no air in there liao. then it won't be shiok to suck and they won't want it automatically. this work well for all my nieces and nephews. but do keep a new one to standby in case it doesn't work.

All the bb's so cute! Somemore all lined up one by one... Awwww!

Shint
Got to take care of yr #1 cos recently my niece has pneumonia, her fever also went up to about 40deg.
What is yr msn addy?

Fariekim
My msn is [email protected]

Swimming
I finally brot darwisyah to swim at harbour front on sat and she loves it! Thanks to my fren, who passed me her card so at least I got to try out. Think I will most likely sign her up for more sessions.

Good day, mummies!
Haiz.. went for a fren's wedding last sat... then got a fren thot i'm 3 months pregnant!!! Wanna cry liao...
Then kept bugging my hubby for the past 2 days asking him am i really tt fat... :S hahaa then he consoled me say it's cos the boobs are bigger now cos bf, so looks more rounded and 'ba ba'. Then again... really lo morale, must start dieting le... but... can i resist scrumptious buffets??? hahaaa....

Shint,
I've done the transfer. Pls check in another 2-3 days time. Thanks! Yah! I let my boy wear the carter rompers le. Hehee.. so cute!

Hope ur ZQ feeling better le.

hisstory,
jiayou! I'm sure ur Ashley will soon learn to sleep on her own.

Celyn,
I see... cos my bb also fuss alot with new teats... he only likes the one that is vv soft, resembles nipples, then he'll drink. Hope ur yu ze will pass this difficult phase soon. NUK premium silicon teats can fit avent bottles, but not the latex teats.. will leak.

babies' gathering
The babies at Megan's hse gathering so cute! Next time they can do tummy time together le.

Valnsw,
I got the bumbo sitter from kiddy palace last fri. The bumbo seat packaging states it's for bb 3-14 months. But i think if bb is on the chubbier side might not be able to use for so long cos the opening like quite small.

megan,
your hp set discount can give to a lot of people is it? hehe...

i'm thinking of changing too. if can give a lot of people, can give me too.

Hey Shint & Celyn, if u all going i oso wanna attend the talk. Lemme know?

Hi Aurora, how much u paid for the bumbo seat ah?

Val, Falisha's hand oso get stuck after she turns. Hahah...

Aurora,
I'm going to a wedding and can't seem to find any suitable to wear!!
any recommendations where to shop for a nice dress dat'll cover my tummy?

Bumbo seat
Kiddy Palace and mothercare got bumbo seat discount up to 50% off. Now retails at $69.90. With tray is $79.90.

Reirei,
Hahaa.. i got from Forever21. Got those babydoll dresses, quite nice. Tangs oso got a wide range of evening dresses. U can go see see look look.

mommies,
My #1 is still having fever ... 38.5 but he is pretty active so i am not that worried.
Still monitoring and giving him meds.

myself, i am also slightly down with a slight flu ...
Slept the whole day almost, just woke up not long ago to pump.

not posting much today except when i pump later. hope that i dun have to make another trip to the hospital.

krex, it was passed down by a fren
. Thanks.

ruixuan, then cant meet.

m2b, 16 nov bf where? need to check on my hubby schedule.

Aurora,
Ah thanks gal!
I'll go chk out forever21!
I went tangs last week liao..now they having sale..abit luan..so din manage to find anyting there.

Megan
many mummies swear by Fenugreek.. Or they say drink hot milo before pumping. Dunno how true, but maybe by believing in it, you can will yourself to produce more *heehee*

shint
Oooh take care, the flu bug's going around.. Gd thing ur son's fever came down & ur maid's ard to help u

I am back again after all the past few busy days..

Just wanna to check if anyone using Avent Manual Pump, and having a hard time pumping.. Cos I just started work today and I can't pump out the milk amount as I am at home. The volume of my milk drops by almost 50%.... I was so shock. How can I increase the volume again???

shint,
take care of urself! means u din go work today? tink oso can't rite? gotta take care of #1 n urself. hope ur #1 gets well soon.

aurora,
we juz saw each other the other day at the gathering rite? dun see how ppl can say tat u r still preggie???? goodness...

btw, i tot the bumbo seat was originally $69.90? Even at isetan sales, the bumbo seat was also selling at tat price.

YLN,
changed maid leow???? how's the new one? more happy? u know ah, i din know tat ur maid was also sulky. mine hor, dun smile often, see oredi oso bad mood. then when i ask her, 'u not happy ah?' then she immediately fake a smile n say 'no ma' :S so fake... i called up agent today to ask if still can change or not, he say can. contemplating whether to change or juz dun use. *sigh*

hisstory, megan,
i tink mebbe the hot milo thingy quite true ah? during my confinement, i keep drinking hot milo n got quite a good level of milk ss. nowadays, i oni drink 1 cup in the morn, then milk ss oso drop. wonder if it's related?

april,
me using avent manual pump oso when i am not at home. come to think about it, i think that you might be rite abt linking the drop in milk ss to the manual pump. cos when i was shuttling abt, i used the manual pump a lot, n ss dropped. so, i carried the electric pump to my granny's house everyday n ss has slightly increased again. but it cld also be stress at work for your case and not the manual pump.

megan,
i oso wan the disc thingy for handset, can?

April, I'm using Avent manual pump. I used to pump 4x a day while still on maternity leave. Now back at work, i stretch to 3x a day to pump. Surprising my supply didn't drop.

Megan, I took fenugreek and soup to increase my milk supply. I guess it really help in my case. Drink more liquid - it can be juice, soup or water. Your supply will increase too.

Posting using hp at kkh... Cayla kena fits/seizure on sat, in high dependency ward till 2day then change 2 normal ward. Im taking turn w hb to stay over to monitor her 24hrs... Will update soon..

oh dear dongle,
please take care .... she had high fever? do update us ok. Pray she'll recover and can be discharge soon.

i am also monitoring my #1 cos he is having high fever since Sat evening ... yesterday was 41.2, now 39+.

ruixuan,
Me too got 6 panels of Haenim play-yard and I shared with another mummy to make it 6 panels. I got the playmat too to put in the playyard. All this I bought during my #1 time.

celynlee,
The freezer cubes is $12 per tray.

me will not be come in so often during day time cause #1 start CC today. Hope she can get use to it soon. So heartaching to see how just 2 teachers cope with the no of children. Hai...

Freezer cubes - 8 x 2oz in a tray ($12/tray)
1) msapple - 2 trays
2) missysz - 1 tray
3) YLN - 1 tray
4) shint - 1 tray

dongle
hope cayla is doing ok..take care of urself too..otherwise u wont have energy to care for cayla ..

faeriekim
sigh..ya me change maid le..so scary cuz u know the old one ar...scare me to death..on fri nite..9plus 10...she walk into bb room (while bb was sleeping inside) and just stand at the window there, staring outside..! i ask her what she doing..she say she just looking outside...she has no habit of doing that..and y of all rooms, stand in my bb's room?? i told her cannot stand there and ask her to go away!..i was so scared she might do something furni to bb so i quickly carry bb to my room and let bb sleep with me and hubby..i think she a bit ting tong already ...for no reason go and stand in the room ..somemore in the dark!!

sat..called agent and at nite...took the new maid...actually my agent quite ok..i was at centrepoint in the afternoon and she brought the new maid all the way there for me to see first..if i ok with the new maid..did a short interview with her..and i think her attitude better than the old one..at least she smile also look more pleasant!..:p...new maid still learning ..english not too good also..so very headache to teach again..esp when me so used to old maid doing all things at home...now..have to show new maid everything all over again...sigh...i think u better consider properly first if u really want to change..cuz our initial plan was to only change during the school holis where i have more time to train her..but since the old one a bit sort sort...we decided to better change..otherwise she try something furni on bb..then jialat..anyway..the old maid not very happy working with us..since she still have the cheek to ask me to call agent and complain abt us!..
me have to take leave again tomorrow to train maid..sigh...

morning mummies..

I am so tired...came back at 11plus after sch yday and pump till 12 and woke up at 5 tis morning..dunno how to tong....now to work

dongle--hope cayla is okie..tt sounds serious..

shint..mum/son better?

faeriekim/huichin - sent to u both liao...

actually discount not alot but its on top of watever the current discount or offer...so good lor..

megan/ april/ fae, i took fenugreek again 1 week after starting work as my ss dipped a little. using electric pump helps to maintain milk ss. used manual once only when i thought my electric had spoilt. surprisingly, managed to pump quite a decent amt on my left breast before i switched to electric again after i realised i didn't on the power at all :p so i haven't really tried a full manual pump at work. i may have to consider that option if i'm on the move as i'm not always at my desk. it's just that after i pump, i got nowhere to store unless i bring my FTG, which is rather heavy.

YLN/ catherine, changing maid so soon? i feel like changing mine coz' she's become so slack after i let her use hp. we had counselling with her the other day and told her we'll confiscate hp if she underperforms. these few days much better but i can tell she got attitude. sometimes ask her do things she give me black face. haven't got down to confiscating her hp yet although she made some minor mistakes. dunno if i'm too soft hearted or not. sigh, i can't imagine her staying on for the next 2 years.

yesterday i brought bb out for dinner. 1st time bringing her after establishing her bedtime, which is 7.30pm. It wasnt so bad. She was napping when we arrived at the restaurant, then at 7pm she woke up.. fussed abit then i gave her milk and by 7.20pm she was back sleeping in her pram. considered successful attempt. this sunday got another dinner to bring her, keeping fingers crossed !!

morning ladies. =)

m2b
sun then swim can?
sat after my gal's class, me gotta prepare them to a dinner liao lor.
if sun, what time u can make it?
i'm easy, cos it only take me ard 25mins from my house to harbourfront lor.

valnsw
thx.
my hb choose std chart, he say cos he got e-saver acc with std chart n dunno what interest will be higher lor.
me dunno much when it comes to $ related...hee hee....

dongle
dun worry too much abt fits ok?
my #1 has it too, and i noe how painful it is when they are admitted.
just make sure u are especially careful when ur bb ganna fever next time, and get the PD to give u the med and teach u the way to lay ur gal when fits hit again lor.
now as my gal getting older, she is more healthier liao. *touch wood*
u get more rest urself ya?

morning mummies.

dongle,
oh no. i know its very heartpain to see her admitted. you must have a fright. take care and hope she can discharge soon.

shint,
your #1's fever still not down? you too have to take care leh.

megan,
my gynae did give me fenugreek to increase my supply but i didn't take. i just try to drink more water and i drink at least 2 cups of milo a day. not sure if the milo thing helps.

i think you miss out my post, i would like to have the hp discount thing too.

april & faeriekim,
i tried using the manual pump before, end up i couldn't even get a drop out. hahhaah.... maybe i don't know how to use it. so i tahan my engorgement and go back to pump with electric one.

Freezer cubes - 8 x 2oz in a tray ($12/tray)
1) msapple - 2 trays
2) missysz - 1 tray
3) YLN - 1 tray
4) shint - 1 tray
5) celynlee - 1 tray (if can find 1oz tray, i would like to have 1 too)

krex78,
i never pump outside. i guess if really need to pump outside then got to bring cooler bag loh. then drink that batch of bm first and not freeze it.

or bring along our 'power pump' (baby) with us. hehe....

hehee...u hv to pte msg me and give me ur email add and name then I can send u the voucher discount...though not much...but i guess some savings better than none...

Dongle
Hope Cayla will be alright. Dun worry too much.

Megan
Yes milo helps for me and also I am taking anmum,breastfeeding formula. I take papaya fish soup once a week as well. My supply not fantastic la, as compared to my #1 but am still able to do tbf for darwisyah till now. Try these methods, may help.

Thks Megan! Got ur email liao. Hehe

Mummies, can anyone tell me how to 'treat' frozen BM ah? Like how to thaw it? Since so hard..i wanna pass to my nanny to give Falisha, but not sure what to do with it siah. Any advice/instructions?

Medusa, thks so much for the advice! Heheh..thks to Megan asking, cos i was abt to ask how to increase BM supply. Imagine i only can produce 100-140ml every 8hrs. Sob.

Good Morning Mommies!

Valnsw,
Headbands ah – I bought 1 set at Mothercare before bb was born and ordered 1 from a BP here…didn’t really see much nice headbands for bb gals ard leh…last Sun I let her wear a hairclip instead…heehee

My gal also sucking her fingers a lot these days…I just leave her to it...will rectify it when she is older like #1...

Hisstory,
For #1, I have been letting her wear CNY CS since she was 1yo lor so wana do the same for #2…little gals look nice in those CS…heehee

Shint,
Hope you and your #1 recover soon!

Rata,
Bkfast at Coffee Bean at JP?

Dongle,
You take care and hope Cayla will be ok and discharged soon.

Snow,
This Sun hah? Shd be ok, maybe we can go at 12pm?

Huichin
No problem : )
I think if you can pump more often, it may help to increase the supply.
For frozen milk, I only freeze to "standby" cos i give darwisyah whatever that is in the fridge. Meaning each time I pump, I put in the fridge and she will consume my stock within the next 48 hrs..
Last time for my #1, I freeze alot so what I do is to bring what he needs for the day, eg 5 packets of milk and leave it in the fridge. It will thaw after a few hrs. If quick quick hor, put the packet of milk in a cup of hot water, and then trf to bottle and warm up again.

morning,
what alot of posts!

megan,
tks for the discount. Sorry can't help u much on increasing milk ss, cos me doing tfm. guess u can do the fenugreek, papaya soup, drink hot milo etc. I think drinking lotsa fluids is gd, cos I always feel so thirsty after I pump in my 1st mth of bfeeding.

Dongle,
Oh dear, sounds v serious. Hope Cayla gets well soon. Do take care of yourself too else u'll be v tired, need to take care of Cayla too after discharge.

celyn,
hee, so that's the trick to wean bb off pacifier. I'm hving headache wor... the moment she wakes up, she looks for her fists to suck. Now give her pacifier, she sometimes, pulls it out herself and wana suck the fist.

snow,
so stanchart e-saver acc will entitle to higher interest rate for bb's CDA? Both my hubby and me have that w standchart.

aurora,
From your FB, you look ok, not preggie wat... Those ppl must be cock-eyed la..

reirei,
u attending wedding dinner ah? U bringing Charlotte along?
I might have to attend wedding dinner in Dec too, is a family friend.
Wondering how I'm gona handle her if bring her along.

Taiwan:
Anybody knws what's gd to get there that SG doesn't hv? Making plans to go there.

Re: enhanced incentives
Anybody who wrote in to MCYS before the legislation in Oct for your #1 and then got the first instalmt of $750 for bb bonus?
Wld u knw when they wld give the additional pro-rated amt?

celyn, i'm wondering whether i can put freshly pumped milk into the avent cooler bag with the 2 ice packs. hopefully it won't spoil. my FTG is too heavy to bring along :p

M2B,
I hv bought 4 clippies from Princess Bow Bow alrdy.
Now thinking if I'm going to shave her at 4mths, not enough hair grow out when she's 5mths+ during CNY.
So gota get some headband to make her look pretty.

krex78,
what you can do is try out at home with water first. see if the water will turn cold after placing in the avent cooler bag or still remain in room temperature. if it will turn cold, i guess it should be alright but definitely won't freeze it. give this batch to baby asap.

valnsw,
hehe... not sure if it works for all babies.

huichin,
i will take out the amount of bm needed for the day to thaw at the lower compartment of the fridge. once thaw, then warm up to feed. if need urgently, place in a cup of hot water to thaw, then warm up. this method is very fast.

i think regular pumping will help to increase the supply.

Re: Thawing Frozen BM

Thanks Medusa & Celyn for the methods. Heh. So far sadly i only managed to stock TWO pathetic packets of frozen BM. Siao leh..

Medusa, i oso like u, mostly once i pump liao put in fridge to be consumed within 48 hrs