(2008/08) Aug 2008

how do u warm up ur chilled bm? do u all use a warmer? currently using a warmer, but wondering if i can just use warm water to warm up? how hot can e water be?

Sorry to interrupt. I am a Aug 08 mummy and have been a silent reader of this thread. I have many bags of frozen breastmilk to give away as baby's demand is less than my supply. Please PM me to discuss more.

Have been more of a very frequent silent reader of this thread...am also a Aug edd mummy...Can I join in the discussion? Hope you all dun feel that I'm intruding..

Huichin, u are not alone..in the amt of bm expressed...me also only can produce ard 120ml every 8hrs...sigh..thinking of stopping soon

btw, i remember someone did mentioned something about the amount of milk a bb should consume a day by calculation is 150ml x the weight of baby, is that correct?

Hi coolsnow,

My PD advice 120ml~150ml x bb weight, 120ml being the lower range.

To increase milk supply, pump 2.5 to 3 hours. Don't wait till 3 hrs is up to pump. You will see gradual improvement.

m2b
12pm looks ok for me.
if cfm liao, then gotta call to make appointment lor...at least dun need to wait too long for them to fill that tub ya?

valnsw
i'm not sure which acc interest, gotta ask my hb when he is bk tonite. =P

M2B
During CNY, must take pix of all our little ones in their CNY outfit yah & share!
Oh I forgot to ask u abt ur BKK trip.. Which hotel did u put up in? I've always used Grand Diamond, and only on 1 occasion, Windsor Suites. Wondering how other hotels are like & we might consider for our future trip

timminbuzz
Can either use the warmer or hot water to warm the chilled EBM
I dun have a warmer so I wld use hot water when i give bb EBM

dongle
How's Cayla doing now? You & hb grab as much rest as you can yah? Take care!!!

val
I took Ashley to my hb's cousin's wedding dinner when she was 9 weeks old.. Oh my gdness, she cried & cried coz she was overstimulated by my ILs & relatives, not forgetting the 'mesmerising' bright lights. We finally put her to bed at 2am, inspite leaving at 10pm

Hope i'm not scaring you! Ashley's bad with sleep, so hopefully Chevelle wld be more cooperative

I've got a gd & longtime fren getting married in Dec, by then Ashley's wld be abt 3mths old. Hopefully she can tahan & has a better sleeping pattern, if not it wld be such a pity

Megan
Can i also get the discount lobang for HP handset?? arigato!! my email add: mehmehlim @ gmail.com

faeriekim
I think the hot milo thing shd hold some truth.. But very jelat to drink everyday ah! Like many mummies here mention, more liquids consumed wld def help! I'm drowning 2 cups of water at a go whenever i can..

krex,
$69.90 is oredi after discount. :p

<b> faeriekim, </b>
huh? issit? The price tag on the bumbo sitter states UP is $129.90 leh. Then offer price $69.90. Hahaa... sales tactics? Haiz.. think cos compared to pre-preggie i still v 'ba ba' now. Sianz lor. U v slim leh, even after 2 kids. How did u do it?

Dongle, <,
Oh dear! Hope Cayla is getting better.

Reirei,
Hope u can find something u like there. Otherwise u can try vivocity, more range of shops like river island, top shop, etc.

hisstory...
how hot should e water be if i'm not using warmer?

re: attending wedding
can try leaving bb with someone to babysit? i recently put bb to bed @ in-law's n left bb them b4 gg for grandma's bday dinner. we then came home an hr b4 bb's usual wake up time so we wld take him home when he woke up.

So sian, gotta submit a proposal by this Fri…but luckily on leave again next Mon &amp; Fri…heehee

Valnsw,
I dun intend to save Mae so hopefully by CNY, her hair wun drop until no more to clip…haha

Snow,
Ok, so I call to book for Sun 12pm…dun have Zynn’s card no, if not can call for you too…

Hisstory,
Dun wori, I sure take lotsa photos during CNY coz I think many people will help me with bb then…heehee

Oh, we always stayed in Novotel Siam Square coz of its good location and they are newly renovated so got LCD TV, nice room and bathroom too…service is good too…breakfast is good too! I’m hoping to be able to go BKK shopping again next year leh…

Dun wori, bb will be easier to handle when they get bigger or maybe coz parents already catch the pattern of bb liao thus can handle better.

hisstory / timminbuzz,
My parents will be attending the wedding dinner too. Cos it's a family friend's daughter getting married.
So that means if go without bb, hv to leave her with ILs, which I prob wouldn't like to. Cos also duno ILs' schedule.
Else is leave the maid w bb at home, but then again my mum is against this idea as she doesn't wana give backyard neighbour's maid a chance to talk to my maid and "influence" her / teach her bad things.

Brushing of bb's teeth
Anybody started? So far, I only use a piece of cloth/towel to clean/wipe her tongue and her gums. Wondering if wana start her with the 1st Teeth toothpaste since can start fr 3mths onwds rite?
Anybody knws or can advise?

hisstory,
Hubby and I also tot of going BKK, in the end I said dowan, prefer Taiwan. At least hv not been there yet for me.
So u planning for a trip next yr?
I cannot tahan liao, told hubby go end of yr, or mb early next yr, to hv some couple time, else always w bb.

help! i will not be at my office for most of thurs! how am i going to pump and fridge my milk? i may not even have access to nursing room
also, i need to pump 2x, so is it ok not to wash pump? at most i pump and throw away my milk to prevent engorgement.

Hi coolsnow, dun give up! I oso almost thinking of giving up but my aim is to have my girl on BM for at least 9mths! Let's jiayou together k!

Samantha, thks for the advice! i will try out!

hisstory, i went to BBK for my honeymoon last yr, we stayed at Siam @ Siam Design Hotel, damn nice! Very arty farty sorta style. No regrets! If i go BKK i will stay there again. Haha..when i went there last June they were only 3months old! hehe..No regrets man

http://www.asiarooms.com/thailand/bangkok/siam_at_siam_design.html

Valnsw,
No lah..me go oni..if bb go, means hb muz go..then ang bao dunno put how much..cos bb (pram) will occupy 1 seat oso rite? :p
anyway, i wanna enjoy my dinner..haven't been to a wedding dinner for a long long time liaos.
U cutting Chevelle's hair in 4th mth? Then she'll be botak during xmas rite? or can cut after dat..date doesn't matter? Cos i'm oso wondering whether i shld cut charlotte's hair..

Aurora,
Ya! I'm staying in NE, so will be hitting the store in Vivo but hor, i can oni go on sunday and dat place is always packed wif pple, esp construction workers..:p

Dongle,
Hope Cayla is OK..u take care yah? so dat when cayla goes home, u'll be in a good state to take care of her!

I got tis problem..
whenever i stand up from sitting on a stool or from squatting, my back takes a while to straighten and i feel the ache.
Anyone experiencing the same ting? i dunno if it's normal or my back is 'spoilt' liao cos i din take good care during confinement..

Snow,
Yup, cfm this Sun 12pm…any changes, we can communicate via sms on Sat. =P
I just called to make appt liao…

Valnsw,
I’m oso using cloth to clean bb’s mouth and tongue at the moment…for #1, I just started using the finger toothbrush (without toothpaste) when she is teething…sort of massage the gum…for #1, I didn’t use the first toothpaste at all, when she has teeth liao, immed started with oral b toothpaste…heehee

Valnsw, hisstory,
Hehee.. i oso wanna go overseas.. but thinking next yr june holidays. Hubby wanted to go overseas this nov to celebrate anniversary, but i say dun wan cos can't bear to leave bb for longer than 2 days. :p I think partly cos dun really like the idea of leaving bb with mil for too long. Guess what? She helped me take care of bb whole day last sat then become even more possessive towards bb. Yesterday snatch bb away from me when i was trying to coax him to sleep! Kept saying bb dun wan to sleep, ah ma play with him... duh... then bb kept fussing until she borbian, put him back to cot then after a while bb slept. Then these few days keep telling me what bb wants.. come on lor.. im the mum and the main caregiver for now, surely i know better than her. Buay tahan liao. I told my hubby, next time i return to work, she gonna bring bb to her room to sleep is it? Till now after 3 months, she still will say wrongly, call herself mama to baby! :S

Valnsw, u gonna bring Chevelle to the wedding dinner? That time Hisstory tried before, but Ashley was overstimulated by the noise and lightings. I have 6 wedding dinners in nov and dec, got to leave bb at home...

krex,
Like tt i think no choice, u got to pump to prevent engorgement and oso to keep up the ss. Then for tt day u got to use frozen ebm? U stored enuff?

ReiRei,
Me too! Backache quite bad esp if bend down to bathe/ change bb. Maybe it's the strain caused on the back when we bf? Cos bf needs to sit up for quite some time and tt time 12-14 feeds per day. :S

reirei
bo leh, they din reply me too.
thats why i din arrange a spree on that lor. =(
funny hor, dunno how those bp got their disc.

m2b
ok, will call them now. =)

Aurora,
I put the bath tub on a table when bathing her..then transfer her to her cot for drying and putting on clothes.
More 'shun' cos dun haf to bend up and down.
I rem the 1st time i tried bathing her, in my 2nd week of confinement, i nearly fell off the stool when squatting down while carrying bb! quite dangerous loh!
Btw, do u still swaddle ur bb when washing his hair?

been really a long time that i last posted...
hope all the babies and mummies are doing fine...

hi reirei,

i'm having the backache too. part of it maybe during confinement, we did not really take good care, by right, we should lie down as much as possible but how can this be possible rite, when we have the bb to take care. another reason is the posture we carry our bb.

wedding dinner
==============
personal opinion is that, try not to bring young babies to wedding dinner as they may be startled by the loud noises or lightings when it suddenly get dimmed..

bath bb:
me too, put the tub on the table to bath bb, so that dont have to squat down....

btw, do u mummies still put the cleansing liquid into the water and bath bb or apply directly on bb then use water to wash off?

bath baby:
i haven't do it yet. hubby will bathe sitting on a stool. he use the soap on yu ze's hair directly and rinse off. body part, i'm not sure cos after he wash hair i will usually walk off liao. heheh....

gayle tan,
your baby stuffs are nice leh.

krex78,
i pump 2x in the office now too. what i do is after first pump, i will rinse my pump with hot water first then soak in hot water. before i use rinse with hot water again for the 2nd pump.

how many hours will it be from your last pump to reaching home? i have tried not pumping for 9 hours before. will be super engorge when reach home and need to pump longer. supply will drop a bit for that long duration (get about 240ml instead of 330ml) but it will go back to normal the next day when i go back to my routine. not sure if this will work for you. if its a once a week thing maybe it will not do much harm to the supply.

megan,
received your email. thanks, don't think i can use since its for new sign up. i'm their existing customer.

timminbuzz
erm, i dunno leh.. sometimes when my flask has hot water i wld use it, if not i wld warm hot water in the microwave. I think coz we dun have thermometer to gauge temp, i wld just warm the EBM &amp; test the milk before giving to bb

i am thinking abt leaving bb with ILs, but my ILs havent taken care of bb in a longlong time (erm since my hb), dun think they can handle her..

M2B
Novotel Siam is quite pricey wor.. But for its location, heheh, cannot hiam. Lorraine slept in the same bed as u &amp; hb?

Am eagerly waiting for the day when bb's easier.. More fun to play with &amp; less crying! heheh

val
So if ur parents are also attending, then what abt the maid? Maybe leave the maid &amp; bb at ILs?

Taiwan's quite nice.. shopping wld not be as shiok as BKK, but the food's nice! Scenary also lovely.. I went abt 4-5 years ago, went to Taipei, Jiu Fen &amp; some other place, but not Kao Siong

We're thinking of going HK next year.. Maybe Mar? But we're also thinking of the US end of 2009 too.. Still thinking.. The trips wld prob inc bb
U wanted to go US with bb too right?

huichin
Oooh, Siam @ Siam's very nice &amp; new! And so near to MBK.. heheh, the arty farty style suits ur line!

aurora
U stay with ur ILs right?
We stay on our own so when we bring bb to visit ILs or go out for lunch with them, they wld also play &amp; play with her, even inspite us telling them she needs to sleep

Where are u thinking of bringing bb to in June?

I did the most unforgivable act!!!

As I turned around to switch on the light in the room, I accidentally hit bb's head on the sharp edge of the door frame.
*sobz* Feeling so guilty big time for being a bad mama.
The right side of her head "kok" into it and I think got a red swelling there wor...
She immediately cried and her whole face turned red.. Haiz... Had to comfort her while changing her soiled diaper from pooing. The only bright spot was she managed a cheeky smile while coaxing her to poo more, but then she started to turn cranky and wanted to sleep.

Now she's sleeping. Keeping fingers crossed that everything's ok *Sobs*

hisstory,
Ya intend to bring Chevelle to USA end nxt yr, not sure yet. For Taiwan, what are the must-buy things? For the wholesale / night markets, can bargain price?

gayle,
your stuff really looks cool !! i love them. i wish i could sew too.. well .. more like i wish i could work the sewing machine. that day i saw this book in kinokuniya on sewing your own toys and socks monkey.. i was so tempted to buy but i dono if i know how to work the sewing maching. i can only do cross stitch sewing. heehee

reirei,
my backache too . but i dont think it's due to the confinement. i think it's lack of exercise.

dongle,
hope cayla recovers soon.

val
ouch!! Hope Chevelle will stay asleep &amp; not get cranky any further

Hmm, Taiwan must-buy things.. Food stuff? Their clothes at Xi Men Ding are rather street fashion, quite K &amp; J pop style. But i think there are really kawaii accessories

Night markets focus quite abit on food. The cheap clothes are quite auntie-ish, hardly bought any clothes. But i think i heard ppl bargaining, if i dun rem wrongly.. Oh bubble tea is veryvery cheap!!

val, reirei

u guys shaving bb on 4th mth? but rei..charlotte has so much hair, y cut? mine seems to b dropping hair again. but her crown which was botak has hair liao so all against me shaving bb;s hair.......

val,
me also tot of going taiwan but is it too cold to bring bb in dec?
i;ve been to taiwan many times. in the past i go there 4 work. hubby hasn;t been there so tot of going with bb in dec. when u going? u can go "shi ling" night market. got more things. got alot of food n jap fashion.must tryin the market: friend chicken steak like wat they sell in sing, n mango ice with fruits.......alamak really miss the food liao :p one thing to buy.........shoes! dam cheap. boots can be S$10....ex one are lie $50 max. lots of bags n accessories n stuff toys there. i buy more there than "xi men ting" there more boutiques. but got a mee shua store there very famous call "ah gong mien sian" i think. u can find aberchrombee everywhere too n around "xi men ting" shops the sports bags r cheap.....like puma is more popular there but dun go to the flagship store. go to bag shops. their sports bags r in advance than us n cheaper. go to their cafes..........very gd! think i like the Mr cafe ...can;t remember, it is beside sheraton i think... u can sit the ferry;s wheel n go to taipei 101.......i never buy anything there but alot alot alot of pp........gosh, i really miss traveling

hope chervalle's bump is ok, hehe. me also bad mummy. almost bang her head on the door cos i never think i can get thru but bb head is out of my arms n can;t get thru, hee. also i almost drop bb alot of times. once i drop her but lucky she landed on my soft mattress
till now i have phobia n keep imagining me dropping bb n thus grip her tight

m2b, snow.
u guys bringing bb swimming on sun? me tot of too but can only make it like 1plus 2pm lei...
no more west gathering liao is it?

shint's #1 has been hospitalised dueto suspected viral infection.... let's all hope hegets well soon!

megan,
thx! well received!

YLN,
i tink tat sounds SOOOO SCARY! luckily u saw her doing wat she did. i tink u did the rite thing, cos if i were u, i wldn't be able to sleep well every nite. then wat's the point rite? but yar, sian tat u gotta retrain. but much better than having a psycho lah. u know ah, i tink their country too restrained?

aurora,
thx for ur compliments leh! made my day! but i know, around my waist, i got a secret belt of fats.. haha...

re: milk ss
the milo thingy, me a bit scared to overdose on milo nowadays (esp the 3-in-1 ones) cos of the melamine scare... mebbe we shld all stick to papaya soup?

gayle,
ur stuff VERY PRETTY! i wish i had such talent to sew such pretty stuff for my gals.

valnsw,
oops! hope the bump on chevelle's head not nasty. dun feel guilty lah, i can tell u even worse things tat i have done (not on purpose!) just to comfort you...

morning mummies

valnsw,
oh... you must be super heart pain after the accident. hope that her bump is ok now.

faeriekim,
i drink a lot of milo too but i don't like the 3 in 1. i always have thick thick milo kosong. i think yu ze's milk sure have a bit of milo. i'm a milo addict. hehehe......

shint's #1 is hospitalise. hopefully, he will be discharge soon.

wonder how is dongle's girl now.

hisstory...
oic. my ILs also haven't handled for a long time. so that's y i make sure he's asleep then i leave.

oh mummies!
i'm so happy!!! my bb fell asleep on his own for the morning nap!!!! only fussed for 10min!!!
whoooopppeeeee!!!!! less 1 nap to sling!:D

aurora, yah i got enough frozen BM at home but so sad that i have to miss my pump or throw away my milk even if i pump

celyn, from home i gotta go suntec for an event, then possibly go changi airport, then later bishan. dun even know when i'll be back at office. i'm still contemplating bringing my FTG and manual pump so i can pump at the airport and take my lunch there, then maybe go to bishan after that. but i dun think my FTG can tahan one long day like that leh.

i pump at 5.30am each morning so i'm hoping to at least squeeze in a pump at 12 plus if possible.

*stressed*

mommies who are bringing or brought their kids overseas:

must passport photo be against white backdrop? how do u get your bb to pose? lying down can or not? heard that bbs now have to have their own passport; can't ride along their parents' one already rite?

Valnsw
Aiyo, surely heart pain! Hope she dun have any ba lu ku.. else must quick quick rub to get rid of clots.

Mummies who send their #1 to childcare...
M2B, Fariekim, Shint
Am facing a dilemma....
Remembered I just sent my boy to childcare few weeks back? Yesterday we were notified that LV will no longer operate @ TP cos their lease is up and a new vendor is taking over. The centre will be shifting to a new premise near spore expo. Fees will remain unchange for the next 2 years abd the principal has assured us that they will still maintain their level of standard and support. Change of location not much impact cos I pass by expo every morning. Problem is that this morning one of the teachers told my hubby that majority of the teachers will be staying with the new vendor, which is Cherie Hearts. Now I dunno if I shd let my boy follow LV and move with them, or stay with Cherie Hearts...He is starting to get use to the curriculum, routine and teachers already and stopped crying already...
*sigh* How how how>
Mummies, what do you think?

shint
hope ur boy get well soon.
pls take care of urself too.

krex
ya, bb got to have their own passport.
the best is to take photo from those photo shop.
cos i once submit my bb digital photo with white background taken by myself, and it was rejected.
normally they will let u hold bb from behind, and try to avoid showing ur hand inside the photo lor. =)

hisstory/little twin stars / faeriekim,
thks for the concern. Ya, feel damn bad but guess after that she's ok, tis morning still smiling away I guess she shd be alrite.

hisstory / little twin stars,
thks for the info on taiwan, got other info fr another friend too, will consolidate.

little twin stars / catherine,
shaving at 4mths is what most people by tradition do. either 1 mth or 4 mths, cos they say the hair that bb has is the "tai mao", so once u shave off, supposedly the hair will grow more and better. MY gal not enough hair leh.. and it's v fine.
Some pple say better to shave at 4mths cos by then the skull will be harder, as compared to 1mth when it is still soft.

Still thinking abt whether to shave. For me, I rather she shave but hubby "bu she de", saying she has so little hair alrdy.

Catherine,
ya the thread moving v slowly lo. Guess most mummies busy at work, even those SAHM prob has to tend to bb. Even for me when at home, I can come online on and off depending on whether bb naps or not...

Today going to office, will be "MIA" in this thread for a while.

Hi Mummies..

Dongle, take care okie.. need to be strong for your cayla..

val, taiwan of course must go shopping.. wu fen pu sells very cheap clothes..shilin is also a must go.. lotsa food &amp; shopping...if u are there for scenery then must join day tour..

my turn to start work next week liao.. also a bit she bu de... more ever i am a night bird.. no 1+ 2 am, i won't go to bed... must adjust back

voted

morning...i realli think papaya soup is a miracle hehee...my supply din realli increase alot but it was back to pre-stress time..so good..at least 3 pumps can make 4 feed..so tt is better...

hmm cherie hearts at TP? I may check it out then cos the kinderland i want is full so may have to turn to cherie hearts

Haha..thks Snow/Megan!

Megan, really ah? Then i should try out man...

Jo, yea it's not easy. This is my 3rd day at work. And i still sleep at 12+am! Sighs..Am trying to sleep earlier though. Who's taking care of ur BB for u?

Haven't posted in such a long time. Have gone back to work..and by the time I read through all the posts, too tired to type! :p

I know awhile back some mummies were asking when can bring baby to swimming pool. I just brought my boy to the swimming pool downstairs. He was initially annoyed cos the water was cold but we put him in inch by inch until he was ok then he became so happy and we played quite long in the water. We spent about half an hour in the pool, though i know not recommended to stay so long..but can't bear to take him out :p

The best thing is, after we took him out of the pool....haven't even reach the lift and he's sound asleep liao!

Snow,
I oso called Hwa Xia to book for Sun liao!

Hisstory &amp; Gemini,
I brgt my #1 for wedding dinner when she was 4mths old and she was ok with the loud music and lightings…haven’t got chance to try with #2 though…

Von,
I put the shower foam into the water instead…thinking to start bb with shampoo soon…

Hisstory,
Novotel Siam Square is 4-stars and given its centralized location, thatz why pricey…but hb likes to book that hotel every time we go…3x oso same hotel…hahaha…the room comes with 2 super single bed so my #1 has the whole bed to herself while hb and I take the other...hahaha

Dun wori, things will sure get better…I find Mae easier to handle now as compared to 1st and 2nd months already so press on…

We oso thinking to go HK to celebrate Mae’s 1st bday next year…hope it materialized…

Valnsw,
You not bad mommy coz it is an accident…not like you purposely go bang bb’s head…monitor Chevelle for the next 24hrs and if no fever, vomiting etc, then shd be no prob liao…dun be upset with yourself.

Rata,
I tried Coffee Bean bkfast a few times liao…nice…oso not so crowded like Mac lor…heehee

Twin Stars,
Can you make it at 1pm then? If yes, maybe Snow and I can change the appt time?

Taiwan's deserts - there is a desert shop at Anchorpoint that sells the shaved ice desert...tried it last Sun the mango and strawberry 1...talking abt it, I missed HK mango and pomelo sago desert man...

Huichin,
Voted for Falisha liao.

Medusa,
Cherie Hearts got good review from 1 of my frens so shd be ok...if distance is not a prob with you and your boy already used to the teachers, then I will follow LV but then will your boy be affected by the change of environment?