(2008/08) Aug 2008

Ms Tiffany,
It's quite common for babies to get awakened when sleeping upright cos they get startled pretty often. Some people use the beansprout pillow to put over baby's chest to calm them. Doesn't work for my baby cos he doesn't like the sound that the pillow makes.
Alternatively you can sleep baby on his tummy, but must keep watch to make sure his nose is not covered. Or you can sleep baby on his side, hugging onto a pillow or bolster.

aurora
Oh no wonder with his reduced intake he wakes up more.. *cross fingers & toes* tt this wld be a short phase for ur boy and things wld improve soon!!

dongle
Sounds like u're going to make some major buys while in Japan leh..

hallo,
so many posts to catch up, am totally lost alrdy plus head feels giddy today.
Just answer whatever I see hor...

snow / megan / medusa,
hehe, happy 2mths to our 0808 babies :D

hisstory,
I reserved the book from NLB, prob pick it up to read (if i hv the time, I might not if I have to look after bb). Let me see if any of the methods work.

aurora,
Think my bb and yours like quite similar pattern. Think the last time, u said ur boy also got prob sleeping too right? It also happened around the same time as my Chevelle.
Now, she's also drinking abit erratically. Yday, the whole day, she's drinking 20ml every hr or so. Her routine just went haywire!!
Today, at least got back abit of routine but now at night, she won't sleep until 12+midnite or 1AM *faintz*

celyn,
So does Yu Ze have to stay in hospital? Sorry, I didn't catch your post, too many to go thru.

huichin,
I think there are BPs on bumper playmat. Not sure how much ur budget is.
One was by Small Small world, this is one BP that was closed:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1705426.html?1223447279

The one I got was from this, by alien77:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1727336.html?1223136489

Else, I think I saw that MiniToons also sell playmats but I duno how e quality is like.

little twin stars,
I actually never intend for her to talk for 30min. The moment she connected, she immediately asked, "mam can I talk for 30min?" and I think before I can actually say yes or no, she like v kan cheong, wana rush down to the so-called maid's room to talk liao.
Actually that room downstairs can be a room by itself, just tat my parents let the maid sleep there when there was no baby.
Now my mum is thinking of putting the cot there when my bro is back for hols, so that my bro wil hv back his rm and e maid will sleep w bb downstairs.
Anyway, cos at that time, I was about to go out liao so I just said ok, plus since it's Hari Raya, just let her talk longer.
But the thing is, as I was about to go out, she still on the phone, and the timer indicator on the phone showed 36min+ liao.
No doubt it took some time to connect to the call, but she was still talking, so I really had to tell her, no gotta stop after 5min later else e phone batt will die out and she will get cut off.

Ya, its tough being an employer too, gotta deal w them in a proper way. Gotta be firm yet not harsh, it's a v fine balance.

aurora / M2B,
ya of course if u stay w ur own parents, even if u say something wrong in e heat of anger, I guess they will not take it so badly as compared to ILs. So I'm glad and happy that at least I'm staying w my parents now.
Ya, and hubby and I got a place near my parents' place. So at least like that, anything I can "run" back home ;P

ruixuan / M2B,
For my case, I duno if my ILs want to help take care or not. But then again, I also wouldn't want them to. Cos they alrdy taking care of my hb's nephew & niece. Don't think they can cope. Even if they say they can, I also bu fang xin, cos I knw my FIL is the zhong nan qing nu type. Cannot imagine if i leave Chevelle there wor... Plus, what if the kids fight? I wonder who ILs will side too.
When I brought up all these concerns to my hubby, he said why I must think of these things when his parents want to help :S

Shint,
no prob jus a suggestion.=)

Catherine,
I've placed my orders n oso PM u. Thanks for organizing. =)

celyn,
glad to hear that Yuzhe is oki. Take care

aurora, are using one? i'm currently using the kidppopotamus swaddler. that brand also got sleeping sack, so dunno whether to buy or not. sleeping sack is not a tight wrap, so not sure if bb likes it. my gynae is dr adrian woodworth. dun find him very good so can't be bothered to go back to him. it's either i go to the gynae downstairs at punggol or find some other better gynae who can give good advice.

dongle, which gynae u using and where's her clinic? have fun in japan! i'm not so adventurous. will try out some place near first, like bintan/ batam. i'm even contemplating sentosa, haha. btw, if u fly, are u allowed to bring EBM on board the plane?

hi snow,
just saw abt your GNC + taka discount.
Can you help me get this?
http://www.pharmagel.co.uk/product_p/p-phar01.htm
I knw it's selling in GNC stores. If you can get the extra Taka discount on top of GNC member discount, can help me get?
If no further discount from GNC discount, then drop it, cos I also hv the GNC member card.

Sms u liao, hope i'm in time hehe...

krex78,
Dun go back to him la ... me object! hahaah.
Me will not go back to Adrian Woodworth ever!

My new gynae is Adrian Tan (Both are from TMC) ... see la, me fated to Adrians? hahaha.

Adrian Tan is vv nice and jovial. He's good. Then again, if u wanna ask about pain having sex, etc ... personally i feel more comfortable asking a female gynae lor ... heard that Adrian's clinic has female gynae is good also.
Can't remember which mommy is seeing her.

Oh, I must add .... after u see Adrian Woodworth, any other gynae should be heaven ba ... kekekkee. If u have no questions and trust him 100%, then he can be quite fitting for you. NO QUESTIONS ASKED IS BEST FOR HIM.

Imagine i see Woody for 2 pregnancy, despite unhappy first encounter but due to convenience, I went back but it was not a good decision. Just that i dun have good experience with him for both pregnancies lor.

On the other hand, I must say that Adrian Tan gave vv good service. I felt, for once, that my worries and questions are answered and I have a peace of mind, rather than always trying to race time with Adrian Woodworth - that most of the time i even forget what i wanna ask!

Adrian Tan really makes u feel comfortable. Thumbs up for him as a gynae. I only switched to him in the last 1 month plus. No regrets!

morning mummies.

valnsw,
yu ze is back home liao.

like your baby, his milk intake is haywire now. every feed is from 40-60ml at 3 hourly or 4 sometimes. don't know should adjust him back to routine or feed on demand. so decided to let babysitter look after him while i rest at home today.

happie,

morning ladies. =)

celyn
hope yu ze is better today liao.

valnsw
got it, will help u to buy if got extra taka discount.

gotta ctrl ur maid using phone.
else next time when u are not ard, she will use ur phone also lor.

missysz
i should be in taka ard 11am, need to pump 1st before go shopping...hee hee... =P
u coming also?

snow74,
really don't know how he is feeling loh. cos he is still as active as before despite having fever last week. the only difference is that he is slightly more sleepy now but it could be due to medicine.

so now, as long as he is not having fever i will think he is fine.

wow, you all going shopping. so tempting...

celyn
i saw in a book that as long as bb is still active, dun need to worry too much.
ya, fever medicine will make them very sleepy 1.

dun worry too much lor, u take gd care of urself also hor.

hee hee...u can go also mah, taka sale till sunday leh.

krex: im seeing Dr Joycelyn Wong from ACJ clinic..she's very nice! Very reassuring! Anyway like you, my lochia ends a week before my confinement, then one week after it (menses) came back again for nearly a week, after that go away and came back again till now..going to be a week liao n im still having it. It's quite light flow lor..use panty liner can already. Gynae says it might be due to those remaining blood clots or hormones problems...Ask me to monitor for 2 months and see. I did a search n apparently this is not uncommon.

aurora, you got mail.

re gynae,
I'm with Dr Caroline Khi too.. she is quite soft spoken, we can talk about anything. very comfortable with her.

Under AJC, there is another female dr Joycelyn Wong, her Q is always long and the waiting time seems to be quite long.

so far, mostly positive feedback heard for the 3 gynaes at AJC..

didnt log in yesterday cos went out shopping with bb .. later going taka sale again ..hahaha

REMINDER : today last day for ordering the personalized CDs. Pls remember to place your orders. I have only recvd orders from Val & Shint. The rest I assume you ordering on your own. For those whom still want me to order, pls send me email by TODAY. I will check after I come back from Taka Sale. heeheee ..

http://www.75volts.com/C/Personalized%20Music%20CD
promo code : HCD08
End of promo : 9th Oct
Pls drop me an email once u order so i can keep track of the MOQ.

hisstory...
i've also read "Healthy Sleeping Habits, Happy Child". tried sleep training my bb on monday night using the graduated extinction method. 1st night, he cried for abt an hr...2nd night 20min... last night, no crying! he fell asleep in cot on his own!
only woke up for feeds and went back to sleep on his own after feeds.

timminbuzz: i couldn't bear to let my bb cry for one hour leh... wait stomach got wind.. For this reason, i always quarrel with my hubby cos he want to train bb to sleep early but bb sleep like 12am~1am!!*faintz*

nini...
i picked him up to soothe in 5min increments... n sometimes when i pick up...he burps...so even if he takes it in...it comes out. so should be ok la...

timminbuzz,
the book so gd ah? okie, i waiting for e notification to go collect e bk.

celyn,
ya I also duno what to do abt Chevelle's feeding routine. I duno how e maid does it, but every night, i.e. from 12midnite til 6am+, she will drink 90ml per feed at around 3-4hr intervals.
But then once in the daytime, she will drink v erratically.
Just now fed her at 9.45am (the last feed being 6.30am), she drank only 60ml and then when I was burping her, she vomitted some milk out. The milk still smelt fresh, not those vomitty smelly milk.
Really headache -_-""

Catherine,
thanks for helping me to order

Looking fwd to playing it for Chevelle.

re: bb putting fist into mouth
my bb does that too. In fact, after she withdraws her fist and the saliva dries, got this giam giam smell but in a nice way too hee.
My mum says she wants to eat chicken drumstick. haha

snow,
thks for helping me get my stuff from GNC!

Krex, Celyn, Aurora and those mummies looking for a substitute fridge

My hb bought the Coleman Cooler bag the biggest type (24cans of drinks) (FYI, I bought a big one because I need a big one). The cooler box is $40.90, small one is $20+. Rectangular ice brick is $4.20 and the curved one is $5.60. Pictures are shown below. I did an experiment last night at 5am with real breast milk.

1775207.jpg
1775208.jpg
1775209.jpg

At 5am, I put a bottle of frozen EBM and a just-pumped out EBM into the Coleman Cooler bag and put in 2 curved ice bars and a rectangular ice brick. ZIP up the bag and leave the cooler bag on the table. (put in 3 bar cos my cooler bag is the big type)

valnsw,
just now, babysitter just came to fetch yu ze. i was feeding him and again he only drink 40ml. but babysitter manage to let him finish his balance 40ml. sigh.... don't know if its my problem or his that he don't want to drink.

Hi all, I am selling 1 unit of digital baby monitor “Graco imonitor vibe (Currently priced at US$54.80 http://www.amazon.com/Graco-2791VIB-imonitor-Vibe/dp/B000WJPCMK)” and I am letting it go at SGD$65 (with 2 adaptors that are usable in Singapore). Condition of unit: Brand new, used it less than 5 times because my baby cries very loudly. Self collect at Hougang MRT or Tanjong Pagar MRT. SMS me at 98459590 if interested.
Product specs at http://www.gracobaby.com/catalog/product.aspx?modelNumber=2791VIB1&CategoryID=13
Photos of my unit.
1775232.jpg
1775233.jpg
1775234.jpg
1775235.jpg

this is how i put, the top block will be on top of the 2 bottles

1775265.jpg

Just now at 10am, I opened up the bag, it was cold inside. The frozen EBM is still frozen and the pumped out EBM (which I pump out at 4.45am) is cold.

Thanks Val! I was actually referring to the Baby Gym - those square ones with toys hanging on top one, not bumper mat. But thanks anyway! I can keep those links for reference. Will sure need to get it oso. Heheh.

Good Morning!
2nd day at work and it is getting easier…heehee

Twin Stars,
Nice to spend some time alone with hb after having bb…my sis kept volunteering to look after the kids while hb and I can celebrate our birthdays alone too…shall see how

Gym – I go to the gym in my office during lunch hour, heehee, save time and $...ya, my home in JW too, so next time we can meet up to drink coffee and chit-chat liao…

Your MIL so funi, tell your hb you thrifty…hahaha…staying near ILs, I was initially quite angry with hb coz he was the 1 who wana chose JW so that his parents can help with the kid next time but then his mom rejected leh…but now ok la, my IL will take care of my #1 who stay over at their place on Sat lor…

Hisstory,
Same here, I like opening up packages addressed to me although the stuff inside are not for me lah…heehee..yup, me look fwd to weekends too…teachers got designated holidays instead right?

Snow,
Ya, maybe will go Taka on weekend instead…yap, today is my 2nd day at work…heehee

YLN,
I’m very happy to fit into my old working wear too although I have already spent a lot on new ones…heehee…I think 8pm+ abit late to bathe bb right?

Aurora,
Wah, so hot ah, sexy lingerie leh? Heehee

Dongle,
Flying off tonight liao hor? So nice!
Ya, can tell our own parents off and no grudges lor…thatz why I’m hapi that my mom is taking care of the kids now…hahaha, you bought so many new clothings before preggie ah? For me is during ML that I bought a lot and I myself was shocked by the purchases leh…=P

Valnsw,
You got your own place already? Congrats! Near parents’ places somemore…good good…

Celyn,
Go shopping today to relax lah! Hope Yu Ze will be ok soon.

Mummies, i'm still considering whether to get a baby carrier, or a sling leh. One thing i like abt baby carrier is that can face BB in front oso. Sling cannot do that. Any suggestions/comments?

Huichin
baby carrier still beeter cos my hubby will carry too. for sling, my hubby feel embarassed.
but for carrier, after few hours, my baby cannot tahan alr cos i think his back.. for carrier, must get one that support the bb's head well.

Sling
the baby can sleep inside like in sarong and baby can sleep horizontal.

baby gym
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1511975.html#POST5828083
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1707533.html#POST5762816
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1734558.html#POST5843236
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1731584.html#POST5835277
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1729151.html#POST5828765

dear mummies,

long time no post, some of you have gone back to work ? me dreading to start work..gg to miss my boi boi ..how do you gals deal with not being able to see your baby the whole day ah ?
who taking care of your babies ? most i see are own mothers ??

re : intake milk
my boi's milk intake also decreased, from 90ml to abt 80-70ml...any cause for concern ? why ah ? initially i tot was because i switched to sg enfalac...but i saw from sme of your posts, some babies intake also decreased ??

re : sucking own fist.
my boy also sucking his hands..can wet the whole mitten and can even suck with sound... aiyo..dunno if he is feeling insecure or hungry or what lei ...

re : baby carrier.
i got ergo ..can see BB face cos bb face is towards you.

M2B
staying near ILs
I was also quite mad with hb as he like ur hb chose to stay near my ILs due to similar reason as what ur hb wants... think of it very angry...
that Y every night i will purposely wake hb up in the night to take care of baby... *revenge*

snow,
RE: maid calling back
I hope she wun call home behind our backs. So far, she doesn't hv e chance to, cos either myself or my mum is at home at any one time.
We also afraid e maid fr e neighbour facing our backyard will influence her. cos e old one picked up bad ways fr her n she always talks so loudly, think her employer also doesn't discipline her.

huichin,
u're welcome. Those gyms w toys, think Fisherprice shd hv but will be ex lo...

M2B,
ya, finally got a place and within 2km of my parents' home. I keep fingers crossed, cos duno if hubby will last min pull stunt, like e other times. bank loan approved alrdy so both of us will go down sign tomorrow

celyn,
ya, i also wonder if its my prob i cannot feed her properly or she just doesn't want milk.
sigh...
now she wants to sleep but not deep sleep. cos 2x i carry/rock her 2 sleep, short while later, she woke up liao and crying...
end up now i put her in yaolan, one hand rock e other hand typing... eyes are closed but not deep sleep *sweats*

val
Same here, wonder if we've really got the time to read the book fr cover to cover.. But just try! Wld be gd in the long run

How was Chevelle's sleep last night?

NiNi
The on-off bleeding is uncommon huh? Gdgd, coz lochia stopped after confinement & then last wk it came back.. Quite sian to see blood again

timminbuzz
Well done!! U've managed to get ur boy to sleep on his own..
I havent the time to go get the book, gimme an idea what is the 'graduation extinction' method about?

M2B
Yupz, the hols are scheduled.. But it means to travel overseas during peak period & may have diff securing tix & hotel stays, esp for nearby places.. And tt's inspite us going self-planned F&E, no going to agencies leh

I'm so keen to get some things here & there fr the BPs, but i better slow down.. Scarly HB really ban me fr SMH

huichin
Think Catherine already started using the carrier so can use on ur bb even though they haven't dev strong neck muscles.. And in the future, the carrier wld be pref by bb coz they can see more stuff *i think* Whereas in the sling, they still can see stuff but of a diff angle/perspective

hisstory,
Chevelle slept at 1AM according to maid. So sleep at 1-3AM, drink at 3.30am, sleep 4-6AM, drink 6.30am, then sleep 6.45AM-9.30AM.
Now jus felt asleep in the yaolan. pray hope remains this way til the rest of e day.

huichin...
i use a Beco Carrier and sometimes sling. i like the carrier. evenly distributes the weight n not taxing on shoulders/back. puts weight on hips. the minus thing...is that it can be quite warm, esp if not in air-conditioned place. that's y i use the sling sometimes, if i know i'm gg to a warmer place/ not walking around much.

hisstory...
graduated extinction is where u put bb down in cot and walk out (close door). let him cry for 5mins then go in to soothe him. once he soothes (keeps quiet), put him down again. dun wait till he falls asleep. go out and let him cry for another 10min b4 gg in. so keep doing it in 5min increments until bb sleeps.
expect the 1st night to be e worst night.

mummies..

toyrus..will replenish the stocks tomorrow..
i bought some thomas toys for the boy..abt 10-20bucks range; 1 tomy musical toy tt can project images on the wall with music --10bucks, helmet for my daughter to learn skating, thomas car for bb when older to ride on - 30bucks, and many other toys..less than 15bucks each..

i am using bb bjorn synergy..very useful to bring bb with me everywhere, even to the toyrus fair! huichin, if u like..tis is a good investment can turn bb to look front next time also..

i am returning to work "part-time" from 20th oct onwards...hopefulli economy conditions improve and i can continue till may on tis part time basis but if not, think hv to resume full time.

looks like next yr market not very rosy...

hisstory: Ahhh...yea i agree with u leh. They can 'see the world' more! lol.

timmibuzz, oh Beco carrier. Ah...warm is an issue, but nehmind la. Hheh. Thks!

val
Looks like Chevelle sleeps quite quickly after her milkmilk.. Tt's quite gd oredi!
I managed to put my ger in the cot 2x so far for today and she slept for abt 30-45min each time.. Also pray tt she gives me time to do my own stuff

timminbuzz
Ah isee, isee.. I shall attempt this soon! Now with my mum ard, she sometimes think i'm 'ill-treating' by stretching my ger's feed. But if i dun stretch or let my ger cry, then my mum will suffer in future when she's the caregiver

Megan
Where's the ToyRus fair?

shint, how come u need to see gynae again after #2? u did your post check-up with dr adrian tan? maybe for my 2nd pregnancy, i will choose ACJ clinic of docs. TMC not very convenient for me though. do these docs deliver at mt a, or do they have other clinics near punggol or in the city?

nini, can provide me the web links from your search? i'm also having this problem. seem to be bleeding all the time...xian! so it's not menses then?

missysz, does caroline khi have a very long queue? i'm looking for a gynae that is readily accessible, knowledgeable, reassuring and professional.

btw, how much are the gynae fees for ACJ docs? are they the same? and do the fees include unlimited consultation and medication? are these gynaes generous with MCs?

ruixuan, i emailed the guy from FTG and guess what? he says in singapore, FTG can only last for 10-12 hours, not as stated in the label! and he said freeze overnight means must be 10 hours or more! quite impossible for me coz' by the time i reach home from IL's place, it'll be around 10 or 11pm, and i leave the house at around 6 plus. their definition of overnight is crazy! feel so cheated, sigh. now i'll just put FTG in my office freezer and use it to transport milk back lor. i wanted to use it as an office fridge initially. actually, my avent thermal bags and ice packs can do an excellent job if i just want to use it to transport my milk back from work to home.