(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn,
glad that yu ze is getting better...

YLN, medusa,
i started getting sian abt gg to work long ago... cos i rested too long aledi... HB complain that i shld go back work soon... hahah... will definitely miss my bb esp every morning, after bf her, we will both lie on the bed & look at each other... she will smile widely & laugh continuously... dont think i have the luxury to lie on bed if rushing off to work
... somemore HB say maybe let bb sleep w maid or ask my mum to stay over at night if i start work... if not how?

plus i was angry with HB for giving away my Nokia N80 to his mum cos i wanted to give to my mum so that i can video call her to look at bb when im at work...

M2B / Shint,
I also spent alot of $ on the BPs. In fact, I think I spent $ on bb rather than myself.

M2B,
the postman so cute, say u got so many parcels. Hehe, I think the postman coming to my parents' house also wondering why I hv so many parcels.

medusa,
I think if u're going to let maid sleep w bb at night, better to feed thru bottle.
Else u got to wake up to latch your bb on.
That's my opinion la, plus I'm not bfeeding liao so makes my decision easier.
Guess u shd intro the bottle to bb since u're going back to work. U wun be able to latch her on while at work rite?

celyn, is your bag very heavy? i'm quite amazed at the amt of things the bag can hold! too bad the strap isn't very comfi. do u use extra padding?

shay, you use the manual pump from the isis duo or u buy an extra manual pump for office use? do u use one pump or two pumps? if i want to use manual in the office or home, then i have to bring back one set of funnel from my electric so that i can pump both breasts at the same time. i already have a normal manual pump but upgraded to isis duo later on when i found it too troublesome.

m2b, the round neck float can use until how old? i'm looking for one that can last till at least 1 year old. then when bb is about 6 mths, will bring him to swimming pool. right now he's going to hua xia coz' i got package there.

val
wow, Chevelle actually kept ur maid up for so long! Hmm, think the end of the article mentioned abt creating the envt & routine.. U can try tt, if not ur maid will be veryvery tired the next day too

Rem i was telling u abt a book focussing on sleep for bb? Here it goes: 'Healthy sleep habits, Happy Child' by Dr Marc Weissbluth. I searched at NLB's catalogue, they have several copies

I intend to borrow it & see what I can do to help improve Ashley's sleep, esp now tt her sleep pattern has shown some improvement. I want to make it even better..

FTG:
bought my FTG over the weekend. the one i got was $54, can hold about 6 cans of drinks, and can stay cool for 16 hours. decided to do an experiment at home. last night, i froze the FTG overnight and this morning took it out at about 7.30am. put 1 can of chilled can drink and 1 bottle of room temp water. when i last checked at 1pm, the fridge wasn't too cold and the can drink had signs of condensation already. looks like it's not a very efficient fridge. i put the FTG in room temperature, so dunno if i put in aircon office, will the results be the same?

my initial plan was to freeze the FTG at home, then put it in my office cubicle the whole day and expect the milk to stay chilled when i knock off at around 6pm. looks like i have to put the FTG in office freezer instead, find some place to store the breast milk in office fridge, and transport the milk bag in the FTG instead
earlier know i buy the cheaper version that can only last 8 hours. costs only $34.

krex78,
i didn't use their bag. i don't like it. hehe... i bring the motor plus tubing, sterilise funnel in lock & lock, glass bottle in my cooler bag. of course, got my own handbag.

M2b,
I haven't so jialat yet ... kekekeke.
but i have a big bag to collect from Dongle later ...

Pooing
My boy did not poo for 4 days few days ago then i posted in forum. Next, he pooed and then did a mega poo these few days.
It was like flooded ... vv gross. Heng, never kenna the bedsheet. Once was outstide at IKEA.
I am doing total EBM via bottle.
Hmm, wonder what they really mean by TBF ... not giving EBM via bottle?
Mine considered total EBM ... hehe.

Valnsw,
Me too ... so far i never buy anything for myself. I wanna dress myself up leh.
On fri, i am supposed to go for a free makeover by UOB credit card cos it's my birthday this month.

Me never have postman problem cos my parcels too big - exp for postage ma so i go collect. Can take opportunity to go out oso.

Maid sleeping with baby
Now baby sleeps with me in my room but we all open doors cos maid need to bottle feed him while i wake to pump. So it's call "Total Maid feeding" ?
After i go back to work, prob put baby with her ... but then my #1 oso in her room now ... i may have to shift him to the other room but depends on whether my hubby ok to let go of his study room.
Now hubby sleep in study room cos he wants to have good rest. He used to sleep in same room and wakes up to help but now, got baby, he oso bo chap. Man ... hiaz ...
So I am wondering when he is coming back to sleep in the same room - until baby moves out? or maybe when he doesn't wake at nite. Gotta start training liao ba.

Dongle,
My baby also started laughing.... loudly ... so cute. He first smiles then giggles.

Krex78,
Ah .. tat means the FTG is not too good, still need a fridge. Which model did u buy?
Me oso plan to keep the breastmilk inside till i go home and office has no fridge ..

I think aircon and room temperature not much diff ba ... anyway, my office the temperature vv hot one.Almost like room temperature.
Dunno if the pigeon one is better or not.

Anyone tried the one for breastmilk? cos the one u bought is for can drinks rite?

krex,
i'm using the manual pump from the isis duo. i dun leave the funnel in the office. i will bring home to wash and sterilise and bring to office again tomorrow. anway, manual pump is not that bulky.

at first i bought madela single electric and find it useless so bought isis duo and no regrets man...it's super useful.

celyn, i'm too lazy to find another bag. that one quite useful and spacious. just that shoulder straps not very comfi.

shay, so u use one manual pump only in office? not tiring meh? and doesn't your other breast leak?

shint, i bought 1200S mini model. the one at vivo city dun sell the pigeon model but i think no diff lah. that one is just the branding and it's made to cater to x number of milk bots and a manual pump. technology is still the same. i heard akira fridge also not much better, so the only way is to get a proper bar fridge :p

* headache. Everything oso must buy .. and still not sure if it works. maybe stop breastfeeding? then use formula ...no trouble. heee.

Or maybe garmen shld sponser free fridge and cooler bags to working mommies who are breastfeeding? haha. This is to encourage breastfeeding ma. Wonder if got "spies" on forums,hope they read this ... kekkee.

The $$ they give us oso not enough to buy a pump, accessories, breastmilk storage stuff ... of course better than nothing la.

krex78,
usually my handbag is small. also i don't really like to carry big bags. i still haven't find a nice bag to keep all my stuff, temp using paper bag. hahaha.... saw a lecsport one but not willing to spend so much $$ on it.

i have the akira mini fridge in office but i didn't use it to store bm. i put bm in office fridge. i find my office fridge very dirty, so i put my glass bottle in lock & lock then put in fridge.

shint,
hhahah.... i think must wait long long before that happen.

krex,
it's the matter of time...u'll get use to it after a while. last time i didn't use nursing bra (cos i pump exclusively) and i just let the milk drip on other side during let down but now i bought a few nursing bras so can cover one side while pumping the other side.

shint, i agree if your office no fridge at all, then it's a big headache. have to spend extra $$$ getting fridge, etc. not to mention the breast pump, bottles, etc. already so ex!

celyn, so u keep your pump set in a paper bag? what do u put in your akira fridge then? my office fridge also very old. very scared one day break down. then i will really cry if my BM spoils coz' of that!

shay, will see how first lor. my hb feels lugging the electric pump to and from work is quite silly. i'll make him carry if we knock off work at the same time, haha. quite tempted to leave electric in office and transport BM and pump in either FTG or the ISIS out & about mini bag, which looks quite nice. then weekend bring home the electric set for use at home lor.

krex78,
yah. at the moment is in paper bag loh. still looking for a nice and cheap bag to put them. don't think paper bag can last very long. good thing for me is that hubby will fetch in the evening so i only need to carry it for 1 way.

my akira fridge got nothing now. i used to put fresh milk when i was pregnant.

Valnsw
Yeah I was also thinking of getting maid to bottle feed but then if bottle feed then my boobies will be super engorged, then still need to pump out in the middle of the nite.. I have started bottle feeding darwisyah quite early, in her first week in fact so no problem with adaptation.. hee, see how lah.. I abt bu she de to let maid sleep with her actually : p

Shint
Just now my gal just did a mega poo also! Wa so smelly.. and very thick like curry

Krex78
The FTG, need to dump in freezer for how long for it to be effective? I actually need one just to transport the ebm from my pl to mil every morning.. so the 1200S is not necessary huh?

valnsw
how to make baby sleep??
i dunno how to make my baby sleep but after I bought the CD from baby genius: sleeping, learning and sleeping CD. the moment, my son hear the song, he knocked off... dunno is cannot stand the music or is it soothing??

medusa15
i going to work on 25th oct.. it is a saturday.. my job need to work on weekend...

For mummies concerning about the expressed milk and no fridge... got a breastfeeding support hotline to call to ask...
this is the link.... http://www.abas.org.sg/information.htm

YLN,
u oso have myanmese maid ah???? how's her engrish? mine's terrible leh.. mine doesn't mutter, but the problem is wif her oways say 'yes' when she dun understand n then end up anyhow doing things. today, i found out another thing. u know those liquid cleaners we use for the toilet bowls? i asked her to demo how she use today, n she pour the liquid into the cap n pour into my toilet bowl... *pengz* everything liquid detergent means pour into cap n pour out.

shint,
must clear up misunderstanding. it's my #1 gal tat drinks the 8oz. so, i'm juz trying to say how impossible i find it for an infant to drink so much!

how come so drama for ur boy? hope everything's cleared up n tat it's not as serious as wat those MOs at the polyclinic say. u know ah, my gal's jaundice level 100 n the MO still told me to ask my PD to find out the reason why it's still 'so high' at 48 days. :S

medusa, if you're using for short distance and less than 1 hour, might as well just use a normal cooler bag. or the ones provided by your pump. they come with ice packs right?

the other FTG that i wanted to get initially was the lunch box set. that one can last for 8 hours and costs much less...ard $30+. instructions say leave the FTG in freezer overnight, so around 6-8 hours shld be gd.

Dear Mummies

I stay in Boon Lay and currently having difficulties on which nanny to choose: Jurong West nanny or CCK nanny. Would like to get advice as I am planning to send my 2 month old son for 5 days and nights care under babysitter. I need to take into consideration on many factors.

Description of my job:
I am starting work in 3 weeks times. My job is a shift work type and it is NOT an office job. If I need to take last minute leave, it may cause unhappiness among colleagues due to last minute replacement (affect their plan for today or work shorthanded). Child care leave is NOT allowed to take in half day. Plus Next year annual leave need to be scheduled by this year.

Jurong West Nanny
Aged 51. Was recommended to me by the Babysitter Agency.
Home: Home very clean and not clustered with things. No Pet but Flat under upgrading with lifts. Kinda of noisy when we went there. One small portion of the Kitchen ceiling noted cement came off and the metal rod can be seen. Nanny claimed that when she bought over the flat, it was like this. The ceiling not patched yet as nanny claimed that she had made report to HDB but HDB want them to bear the cost. So far, Aunty says not an issue.

Family: non smoker and got 3 children aged 16(gal), 14(boy) and 12 (boy). When we went there, her daughter was helping with household chores. Children greet us.

Convenient: Near my place. Agreed to feed breast milk and baby dun need to sleep in sarong. Will not bring baby out unnecessary.

When is the last time she ever take care of baby: 2 years ago

Ever take care of Day and Night: yes

Personality of nanny: she is straight forward. She did not come forward to carry my son when we went to her place (my friend say it is imp for nanny to carry baby when we visit them for the first time). Experience n caring in term of what she claimed to be.

CCK Nanny
Aged 43. Was recommended to me by my elder sister

Home: Home clean but a bit clustered with things. Got a parrot in the balcony and the other in corridor passageway. Got rear fishes in the corridor passageway.

Family: Stay with mother-in- law who is very old. Got a maid who usually will be following mother in law, but will also be helping to take care of baby if necessary. Non smoker and got 3 children aged 14(gal), 12(boy) and 7(boy). Children greet us.

Convenient: need to take bus to her place from interchange but flat near bus stop. Agreed to feed breast milk and baby dun need to sleep in sarong. Will bring baby out as need to go market and bring youngest son to school which is few blocks away.

When is the last time she ever take care of baby: few months ago. Last child take care of was my sister’s friend’s son.

Ever take care of Day and Night: No

Personality of nanny: she look like a good salesman, can talk very well. She came forward to carry my son when we went to her place. Experience n caring in term of what she claimed to be.

Problem:
Problem 1: Initially we planned to let CCK nanny to care of the baby on the 5th Oct. But Nanny postponed to 12th Oct as her daughter is having exam (my hubby ask is it every time her children take exam, we need to care the baby ourselves?) then CCK nanny also tell me that she may or may not planned for a holiday starting of NOV.

2nd problem: On 30th Sept, CCK nanny agreed to start on 10th Oct and will care for my baby still next Fri (willing to pay her extra 2 days for her to try out as she never cares day and night before). However, we got a call from her last night that she wants us to bring baby to her place on Thurs and need us to bring baby back on the weekend as she got a Full moon Celebration to attend. (Does this requests means that Nanny will need it also in future? Or is it testing us out?)

3rd Problem: thought of reject CCK nanny and get the Jurong West nanny....

which nanny??/

mommies...just came back from the toyrus sale with my baby..

bringing bb was okie...first time with bb out on my own for more than 6 hours but..cannot reach the best items in the boxes!
so next trip to sale...cannot bring bb...

okie lah...quite alot of good buys...but alas cant reach...

the neck float..well..pls pte msg me if u want cos i got the email of the lady who has ready stocks..

hey those c-sec u guys started the massage already? I am going to do mine this fri onwards but dunno if too long liao will it be ineffective..sigh

hisstory,
not yet, flying off thursday night...

re : sep spree
postage mummies, pls give me yr address by today cos i need to pack items & wait for HB to be free to help me post tomo or thurs... if not, you have to wait till 2 weeks later hor...

collection mummies, just SMS me if you coming to my house to pick up items...

medusa,
good description of the bb poo
now i imagining how i gonna eat next curry katsu :p

ruixuan,
fm the description, i tot tat nanny 1 sounded better leh. plus environment cleaner (minus the broken ceiling lah).

megan,
wa, quick action ah? tink tml go to the sale got nothing good left oredi. nvm, i concentrate on taka sale.
i oredi did my massage during the 3rd wk. hee..

dongle,
have a good trip ah!

re: personalized CDs
pls order them by 9 Oct deadline.

For those whom want me to order with mine, Pls email me your details by tomorrow. thanks

Would like to check with you ladies whether yr babies have their jabs at the GP or the PD? understand that GP has a cheaper package..

Catherine,

. Catherine ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
1.1 constance - 1pc
2. Gayle - ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
3. Vone ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
4. nini - 2 pcs
5. M2B - 2 pcs
6. aurora ([email protected]) - 1 pc
7. valnsw ( [email protected] )- 1 pc
8. krex - ([email protected]) - 2 pcs
9. Sharon -([email protected]) 2 pcs
10. Joanne ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
11. von(mrsgan) ([email protected]) - 1 pc
12. wing wing - 1 pc
13. Shint ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
14. Tiffany ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc

ruixuan, dun trust these substitute fridges liao, sigh. but $20+ is a good price to pay. i think if it says can last for 8 hours, i'll half the time to about 4 hours. mine say can last 16 hours but by 6 hours cool power felt very weak already!

regarding your nanny, i have a better vibe about the jurong one

happydough, my bb jabs at PD.

dongle
Ah, iseeisee.. I will pick up my items when u come back k? Thanks!!

happydough
I go to my GP to get the jabs, but there isn't a package. I chose him over a PD coz I'm very comfy with him..
U can always call the shortlisted GPs & PDs to check their prices.. The PDs in my area have bad reviews, so i rather pay for someone whom i'm comfy with & used to

Hi catherine,

I like to order 2 pcs too. But issit too late coz i jus found that they have a similar name to wat i usually call my ger..

. Catherine ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
1.1 constance - 1pc
2. Gayle - ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
3. Vone ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
4. nini - 2 pcs
5. M2B - 2 pcs
6. aurora ([email protected]) - 1 pc
7. valnsw ( [email protected] )- 1 pc
8. krex - ([email protected]) - 2 pcs
9. Sharon -([email protected]) 2 pcs
10. Joanne ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
11. von(mrsgan) ([email protected]) - 1 pc
12. wing wing - 1 pc
13. Shint ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
14. Tiffany ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
15. Happie ([email protected]) - 2 pcs

Btw was wondering if any mummies staying near hougang ave 8 wanna tag along with my order since i'm ordering 2 pcs. =)

Do you bbs suck their hands and fingers? Mine basically can put her entire hand into her mouth..as if just taken KFC (Finger Lickin' Good!) :p

I am also contemplating between milk bags and storage cups for freezing of breastmilk. Think storage cups might be more cost saving as we would be able to reuse the cups after sterilising..

Dongle,
Glad to meet u today ;)
I am happy with my purchase ... tempted to buy more bibs .. hahaa. kidding .. so many bibs liaoz.

U enjoy your trip and more spree after you return! kekeke.

faeriekim,
the assessment was 2 visit ago ... so i had to question that MO lor .. heng i did, else i'd rush down to KKH for nothing. THey'll prob say ... oh, no fever wat but hor, u prob have to check in and we'll monitor. Hhahaa... they everthing oso monitor, dunno what else they can do ... but they are the pros oso la.

For the 9 ounches i was also finding it hard to believe. Either he really drank so much or her memory is failing her .. haha, she quite old liao. But the son is really tall but skinny.

Cutting hair for baby
Whose baby need a haircut? Forgot who but someone commented that my ZK hair vv long .. hahha.

Do babies cut hair? i mean cut short but not shave la. This #2 has long and KEW MO .. but my #1 has BO MO - his hair dropped and he became a monk until 6 months so i never had the hair cut problem. Any recommendation where to bring baby to trim his hair ah? Or cut ourselves?

Catherine,
The personalised CD, how long it takes to reach SG ah? Tot of ordering another one for my fren's son but have to get it before 25 oct.

Hi Shint,
You can try Hwa Xia. The place where babies swim. http://www.**************/services.html
I brought my gal there for her first shave and they do provide haircut for children.
Cost is S$16 per cut.

Hi shint,

u stayin at sengkang rite.i'm stayin at hougang ave 8 .If u wan u can tag along with my order n jus drop by to collect frm my place when the cd arrive.
hee.. jus a suggestion coz sk pretty near my place .

faeriekim, Krex78
I called the CCK nanny to tell her that we are not using her annymore. She did not query us and just say it's okie. Guess she is really trying to test us out or getting us dun wan her.

Krex78
Actually i not worried about the substitue fridge as my workplace got fridge. But it is good to get a cheap and good bag. I had seen this $20+ cooler bag http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/colemancoolers.html and the inner material look good. if my hubby get it by tomolo, i will experiement it and feedback out.

rovi
my baby will put his finger and suck still he feel like vomiting. not yet see him putting whole hand in yet.

btw,those mummies who are giving baby breastmilk

Do u find that u r are getting hungry easily and eating more now?? I always find myself very hungry. I still eat bread even after eating meal plus my appetitie is bigger than my hb. Not sure whether is it from the stress looking after the baby or is it the cause from breastfeeding??

Hi Catherine,

I can't use the promotion code: HCD08 for the discount. Pls advise how to go about doing it?

morning ladies! =)
whats the latest topic in forum now? =P
din really log in since last fri, now abit lost liao....

m2b
ya, gotta look after a chix and a rat with only a young little maid yesterday.
like looking after 3 kids like that lor.
think shower only took up lotsa time liao...hee hee...lousy mother.

ruixuan
easily hungry is due to breastfeeding.
u need additional 500cal when u are breastfeeding lor.....sounds scarry ya?

re: GNC
really no 1 wanna buy anything ah?
cos its almost 45% disc leh, later dun say i bo jio har. ;P
i'm going to buy tmr morning liao hor.

morning mummies.

update on yu ze:
he is discharge yesterday. he got UTI so now on antibiotic for near 10 weeks. then he will be schedule to go back for scans and checks. its very rare for boy for have UTI. kk wants to make sure that his kidneys and bladder are ok and there is no back flow of urine back into kidneys. if he do get fever again, need to send him back immediately.

ruixuan,
i think i prefer the jurong nanny. i get hungry easily too.

roiv,
yah, my boy also like to suck his hand. he is like almost stuffing his whole hand in kind.

shint,
we bring yu ze to barber to cut his hair for $6.

hi dongle,

i have make payment for my stuff. please check

To Account POSB Savings
084-99368-9 dongle
Amount S$42.18
Transaction Reference 1921734829

i was away to celebrate wedding anni so didn't log in. now lost like snow. need time to read up

celyn,
hope yr boy will go back to his tip top condition soon. "xin ku ni le" yes it is are for boys to get uti but it does happen at times when they have lesser fluid. moreover her just had a fever. fever "sucks" away fluid in the body. monitor him n ask the dr for tips on how to handle bb for now? u take care k

val,
wa, u let yr maid call back for so long huh.....for mine, she will auto take her alarm clock n put beside her each time we let her call back. i only allow 10-15mins any longer, they will develop an attachment that will cause them to miss their family even more. but i let her call back on special occasions n once a mth. like she is supposed to call back on every 15 of the mth n her family knows that now...but she requested to call back only on 24 this mth as it is her girl's birthday. i think she is not bad liao. won't take advantage of us n have a gd attitude generally. she does greet us when we come home n when she is about to eat she will come to where we r even if we r in our room to tell us "mdm, sir eat" when she does things that i do not like, i will tell on the spot in a nice way so she will not do it again. so far i always adopt the "pull n let go" mentality. must treat them nice ( cos like yr case, she is helping me with night feeds ) n be approachable to her so if she can be open to u n tell u things of her concern instead of keeping to herself ...... es if she doesn;t behave like her usual, u know wat;s bothering her. however, must still have a barrier so she will not b too familiar with u to cross the line. not easy man.....it;s like a job handling maids. haha
(when we bot things back, we kept all in the bag, hang all up, tear away all tags so it does not seem like we went on a shopping spree, so as not to tempt her.very jia lat hor)

ruixuan,
thanks for the feedback. was away that;s y didn't respond back last 2days. hehe we keep missing each other;s post :p hubby does like dr lim but m poor girl already lost some "cheeks" after being put on a diet lei...did i read that u stay in jurong? me too

hope the jurong nanny works out well for u

hisstory,
yr girl is very smart lei. can lift up hands if she wants milk
some babies like dongle;s n shint's even start laughing liao. so gd. when i came home yesterday cos i was away, i found my mom n maid sitting in the living rm minding their own biz leaving bb in her rocker chair in a daze. then when i went to bb, she started to "eh" n cry alittle n i found that her diaper is socking wet! my bb is so cute, wait for me to come home n "complain" to me. after i change her, she kept smiling n grinning at me n talking to me.....unlike her "daze mode" when i first came back. think she miss me hor :p

YLN,
my agency also say unlimited replacement. than when i wanna sigh, they say 4 times only. my friend who signed up with the same agency wanted to change her maid after a wk cos she found her very bad n my agent wanted to charge her $588. dunno y.

Maid:
must close an eye. but for me....if she is more a prob than i help. i;ll change. if she is more a help than a prob, i;ll still keep la)

snow, M2B,
taka sale this fri?....oh u r tempting me
then my maid n bb how?

M2B,
u always get the same postman? mine is always diff n it;s so paiseh when they ask for little twin star. hahaha

val,
must create a routine of something to let yr bb know it;s sleeping time. mine is after wipe body, change to PJ's n i will switch off lights n turn on her night lamp
i went popular to get the nursery rhymes cd set lei..140 songd one with a book of lyrics. i play that for her during play time in the day in case she gets cranky, nice lei. thanks for telling me where to get it

dongle,
think i can only pick up fr u when u come back liao....wanted to meet u yesterday but too rush. i;ll try to get hubby to do the transfer tonight . thanks for organizing

NUK LATEX TEATS:
anyone using this?
do u find that it turns whitish after much sterilizing? i;ve thrown away alot of it n replace alot as well lei. now i;m trying bfree to see how's the effect but colic is only a prob till 3-6mths right?