(2008/08) Aug 2008

Nick : Shint
1. Does your supply dip after 2-3 months?
Dunno. Now week 6.
Initial supply : 50-100ml Current : 200-250ml
2. What's the time interval? 3-5 hourly
3. Do u take fenugreek? No
4. Baby latching frequency? NIL

Nick : celynlee
1. Does your supply dip after 2-3 months? no, now 2 months.
Initial supply : 40-60ml Current : 80-200ml per pump
4. Baby latching frequency? nil or once a day

Nick : ruixuan
Initial supply : 30-60ml Current : 150-200ml per pump
2. What's the time interval? 3-4 hourly
4. Baby latching frequency? no more after baby turn 2 week old

Nick : krex78
1. Does your supply dip after 2-3 months? no major dip but some days more than others, now 2 1/2 mths.
Initial supply : 30-60ml Current : 90-120ml per pump
3. Do u take fenugreek? yes
4. Baby latching frequency? no

Nick : YLN
no
Initial supply : 50-80Ml Current : 200-260ml
2. What's the time interval? 4-6 hourly
3. Do u take fenugreek? Yes
4. Baby latching frequency? Nope

Survey- baby milk intake and some other info
nick: ruixuan
Baby age: 2 month
Breastmilk / Formula milk?: Breastmilk
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Glass Bottle & disposable teats
Milk Intake (ml): 70-100ml each feed
Milk Feed Interval: 3-4 hourly
Number of feed per day: 7-8 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 680-800ml per day
Usually time baby take to finish milk: 20-45min

nick: krex78
Baby age: 2 1/2 months
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: avent bottles and teats
Milk Intake (ml): 4x 90ml + 2x 120ml
Milk Feed Interval: 4 hourly
Number of feed per day: 6 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 600ml per day
Usually time baby take to finish milk: 5-15 mins

nick: YLN
Baby age: 2.5 month
Breastmilk / Formula milk?: Breastmilk + one nite feed of FM
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Pigeon Wide neck bottle (the yellow cap ones)
Milk Intake (ml): 160ml-190ml each feed
Number of feed per day: 5-6 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 800-960ml per day
Usually time baby take to finish milk: 10-15mins

hisstory,
Hehe.. ur ger so cute! Can understand and raise her hand somemore. kekee... yah, even on FM. Sometimes i go to my mum's place, let her feed him FM in the pm. He can drink over 100ml (usually 50-70ml), but at most last 2.5hr. :S

celyn,
*hugs*. Dun worry. Hope yuze will get well soon.

Shint,
9 ounces!!! TT's 270ml! *faintz* Amazing it's not overfeeding???

Von,
u wan to tag along my order? I'm staying near Yishun. PM me the details yah.

TwinStars (in case u miss out)
Dr Lim is good, explain thing well. very caring except strict in amount of feed given to baby. always say OVERFEED

Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Pigeon Wide neck bottle (the yellow cap ones)

nick: blue_aurora
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Avent bottle, NUK teats
Milk Intake (ml): 50-100ml each feed
Milk Feed Interval: 2-3 hourly
Number of feed per day: 9-12 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 700-900ml per day
Usually time baby take to finish milk: 15-25mins

nick: celynlee
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Avent bottle and teats
Milk Intake (ml): 60 - 80ml each feed
Milk Feed Interval: 3 hourly
Number of feed per day: 8 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 600-640ml per day
Usually time baby take to finish milk: 15-30mins

mommies who are pumping at work:
can i check if u carry your pump to work and bring back as well? are u using electric or manual? can't decide whether to lug the entire electric set to work and then bring to MIL's place and then back home or not. on the one hand very troublesome but on the other hand that one impt bag has everything i need to express milk wherever i go. my other option is to use electric in office and at my MIL's place and my place, use manual pump.

krex78,
you are using avent isis duo pump right?

for me, i bought an extra adapter to leave it in office. i bring the pump to work and back home.

even now that i'm at kk, i also bring it with me cos i can't stand the pump in kk. its a medela electric pump but its so super slow. i put to the max still take super long for me to pump. end up, i bring my own set.

Val,
Bought Ashton for 6in1 jab at bb & child clinic. It cost S$127 ($120 for the jab, $5 for the panadol & $2 practice fees). I asked dr ho if i need to bring him to poly for the checkup and she said no need. She will check him on every visit and we need to do our on assessment according to the checklist in the healthbook. Ashton weighed 7.81kg at 2 mths old. The nurse can't believe it and asked me to re-weigh him! One of the mother there and she said her daughter is only 6.8kg at 7 mth....omg ashton is such a chunky bb! pd said bf bb r like that so it's ok.

krex,
for me i will bring the manual pump to work and leave the isis duo at home cos i find it too bulky to bring the duo to work everyday. moreover, i need the duo pump for the morning pump when breasts r super full.

Nini,
I latch him on most of the time so i dunno how much exactly he drinks and the frequency varies -sometimes hourly feed but averagely 2-3 hourly. Nite feed sometimes he can sleep from 12midnite till 7am. Pd said no need to wake him up for milk given his size haha....

Hi im from Nov thread
Just wanna check if any1 here has a confinement lady name Bi Hua from JB? If yes, did she also cancel her bookings with you last minute and try to recommend her friend to you?

YLN,
at least ur maid now got do.. mine still cannot register in her head. ya i also told her abt washing bb clothes in the morning.. she initially get gei kiang tell her wash in morning she wash at night cos she say at night got wind will dry.. then next morning i make her wash it again. mine i giving her another extention of probation until end of oct. but meantime i go check out other bio data standby

what a day for me. Got swollen eye and felt so tired. Too tired to want to play w bb that I just let her suck pacifier in the afternoon til the maid take over to look after her while I go see doc.

little twin stars/aurora,
ya, I also didn't believe in being pantang but like u, once I said that bb is ok not so cranky, then she starts to be cranky liao. gotta zip my mouth fr now.

M2B,
ya we hv opposite worries. Just hope that bb will sleep normally now, or rather have at least 15 hrs of sleep a day.

hisstory,
Ya, let me knw if u can find out more info from the mag article on bb-toddler sleeping habits. Desperately need help.

M2B / hisstory,
ya my parents' house here also got lotsa construction noise, cos there're 2 houses here being built, every day see the construction workers walk past their house. haiz, the construction doesn't seem to be ending wor.

Catherine,
RE: Personalised CD
I've replied you on my order. THanks!

Celyn,
oh dear, hope Yu Ze is better now. You must be v worried I guess. Do take care yourself too. Hope he recovers soon!

shay,
wow! Ashton is really a big boy. But I suppose he's heavy to begin with right? As long as PD says his weight is norm, I guess should be all right.
Oh, so they charge for other stuff like panadol etc. I prob be bringing Chevelle to the GP, think the dr also can do the devt assessmt.
Just did my pap smear at the GP cos of my swollen eyelid. It was ok, slight pain but still alrite.

val: ur mil taking care of bb for u when u go bk to work? Btw hv u submitted ur maternity claims yet?? need income tax rite?

dongle,
Have transferred $ to you. Thanks.
Prob will collect when u're back in SG from your trip.

Catherine/YLN,
RE: maids
My maid so far is ok, except at times she like cannot cope w so many things at one time. Sometimes, she forgot to do something. Which I hv to clear up after her.
But well, bo bian just hv to close one eye.

Little twin stars,
Seems ur maid is like hinting u to give $. Gotta be firm.
Actually, I also duno if I'm too fang zhong my maid. She asked if can call back home on Hari Raya. I'm ok to let her call back.
Wah, that day the network kena jam like anything, took duno how many tries before the line got connected.
The prob came then when the call got connected, she immediately asked if can talk for 30min! My initial plan was just to let her talk 15min or so. But then cos I was about to go out liao so I said ok.
As both hubby and I were about to leave, my hubby told her to come up to look after bb, she was still on the phone!!! And the time log indicator on the phone showed 36min liao.
She still can ask me if the call was via a calling card or not. *Methinks she thought if not on calling card, can still talk longer and won't be cut off. Cos she also saw me holding a calling card when I initially called*
I told her only 5 more min she gotta hang up liao cos we gotta go out plus bluff her say the cordless phone battery will die off in 5min.
I waited for 5min after we drove out to call back to spot check her.
At least got thru the line, else I will be unhappy.

When I told my mum abt it, she said, gotta close one eye, since she's helping me to take care of the bb at night.
Actually I'm ok with her calling back on special ocasion, but I feel, she's only 2 mths into the job, isit too soon/early to let her do this?
I scared later it becomes a precedent, then later she end up like twin star's maid, start to hint things liao.

nini,
nope my MIL is not taking care of bb.
I've not submitted the maternity claims as need to wait for your maternity leave to end before u login to submit the claims.
Plus, I wana wait for the outcome of my appeal for the enhanced incentives to be out before I submit.
Cos if they do give me the 4th mth, I don't mind :D

cat, YLN,
wow, can totally empathise wif u on the maids issue. my maid also like tat on the greeting. always smile n never say anything...
yar! washing clothes oso same!! they like to wash at nite n then hang outside overnight. i dun like cos i want the sun to hit the clothes mah. so i revisited the rules of washing clothes, say all clothes wash in morning, then wipe floor. now ok oredi.
but after 4 mos still can send back ah? no loogi?

celyn,
hope yu ze gets well soon!!

shint,
9 oz A LOT leh! amazing.. my daughter now still drinking max 8 ounces at a shot.
btw, so happy, today went to polyclinic for jaundice test n level went down to 100 oredi. PHEW!

pumping in office
===================
mommies, i suggest bringing the manual pump to the orpid can oredi. electric one quite slow, i find. btw, one of the stupid things tat i used to do was to FORGET to bring my pump n bottles! end up very engorged n had to handsqueeze the milk n throw.

faeriekim & valnsw,

faeriekim,
its opposite for me. i'm done with electric in 10mins but usually will pump 12-15mins.

faeriekim,
your gal is drinking 8 ounces? that's like 240ml? mine still kept at 100ml, just increased to 120ml .. jeehehe.. but he drinks like every 2 hourly. Thinking of increasing so can last longer ....

the 9 ounce, i also almost fainted. but she nurse ma ... never say overfeed .. that's why i started a survey ... hahaa.

Seems from SHAY sharing .. it's not overfeeding la. My boy now 6 week+ and only 5.5 kg ... think alright lor. I keep telling my maid not to overfeed but baby always sticking out tongue after 100ml milk. hhaha, maybe i underfeeding, he is still hungry.

Good to hear that the jaundice had gone down to below 100. Mine was 118 last week and the polyclinic doctor says dun need to go back to check liaoz ... so good lor.

Pumping
Me think i use hand to squeeze faster .. hahaa. Then dun need to lug here lug there. I have a manual pump .. but tried once and was quite painful. Hand pressing is never painful .. unless engorged.

Can bring the sterilized bottles la.

Amabel,

Survey-
Baby age: 2mths+
Breastmilk / Formula milk?: TFM
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Avent
Milk Intake (ml): 150ml per feed
Milk Feed Interval: 4 hours
Number of feed per day: 4X150ml and 1X135ml (morning)
Total milk intake per day: 735-750ml

Celyn,
You have a good nanny..the last time my nephew was hospitalised at 5mths old (that time I havent married and have kids of my own), I oso cried...so heartpain to see him being poked...so I understd how you feel...

Valnsw,
15hrs, I think Maegan shd have that no. of hours or even more coz she already sleeping abt 12hours from 10pm+ to 10am+ (although I feed her milk at 6am+ but she fall back to sleep after that) and on/off in the day...letz hope she continues this so as to make things easier for my mom when I go back to work.

Construction - really irritaing man! I myself can't stand the noise when I'm preggie and resting at home...but when Maegan is in deep sleep, she doesnt care abt the noises lor...

i really have a feeling my baby is overeating. Ive tried to cut down but he cries for more milk! sigh, do u mummies think he only wants comfort sucking???

nick: celynlee
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Avent bottle and teats
Milk Intake (ml): 60 - 80ml each feed
Milk Feed Interval: 3 hourly
Number of feed per day: 8 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 600-640ml per day

nick: jolim10
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Medela bottle & NUK teat
Milk Intake (ml): 180-220ml each feed
Milk Feed Interval: 2.5-3 hourly
Number of feed per day: 7 feeds per day
Total milk intake per day: 1 - 1.2litres per day
Usually time baby take to finish milk: 45-60mins

celynelee,
Do take care .... hope Yu Ze get well soon.
Apparently they are vv concerned about babies having fever. U went to pte doc then refer to KKH? how come urine test so long?

My urine test at polyclinic was only 10 mins, that is after we collected the urine sample la. One drop will do . hee.

I tot fever quite common, is it serious for our babies at this age?

Polyclinic
Just a note. Polyclinic vv KIASU one ...
In the rencent jaundice check for ZK, once, the MO checked and i mentioned that ZK jaundice only went down by 7 points, then she measured his temperature and said he is 37.5 degrees, running a fever. ** Baby dun feel warm at all so i was unaware that he is running a fever.

Then she ordered a detailed blood test, urine test ... when results was out, there was not virus infection, etc ... so when we see her after the results, she said "You still have to go to KKH for further checks". I went "What? the results are -ve rite? so why need to go to KKH".
SHe then said tat he is having fever, must let KKH monitor ... i damn sian and know these MOs vv KIA SI one .... so i asked her to measure his temperature again. She did and it was at 37 degrees ... and she sheepishly said, oh, went down oredi. And she went to consult another senior doctor and came back to say dun need to go KKH liao.

Recently, my #1 went polyclinic for his prolong cough and they took X-ray and says cloudy then asked me to go KKH emergency immediately. I said, can go tomorrow cos vv late liao ... the doc says go tat day ... so i went.
When i went, KKH PDs was not able to find the X-ray which was in the system cos i think the system had not transferred the file (but the docs dun know) .... in the end, they did the same tests on him again and gave some medicines and my son went home. I was so sad that he had to be almost admitted ... was quite drama, brought his fav pillow, his clothes, milk, stuffs ... preparing to check in liaoz.

just a sharing, in case u go polyclinic and the doc tell u go KKH and the case is not strong. Do ask them more questions, etc before u rush down to KKH. Of course certain cases, yes, it is necessary la.

Re: Latching on baby
Can i know why some of mummies not latching on ur baby?? i feel quite bad for not doing it..my baby takes a longggg time to drink when i latch him on. I decided to do total expressing cos its much more efficient, and im taking care of him alone so at least ive some time to do other things. Does the benefits of breastfeeding like faster contraction of wombs etc, till apply to expressing breastmilk?? N will supply drop if we continuously n diligently pump??

Nick : Shint
Dunno. Now week 6.
Initial supply : 50-100ml Current : 200-250ml
4. Baby latching frequency? NIL

Nick : celynlee
Initial supply : 40-60ml Current : 80-200ml per pump
4. Baby latching frequency? nil or once a day

Nick : ruixuan
Initial supply : 30-60ml Current : 150-200ml per pump
4. Baby latching frequency? no more after baby turn 2 week old

Nick : krex78
1. Does your supply dip after 2-3 months? no major dip but some days more than others, now 2 1/2 mths.
Initial supply : 30-60ml Current : 90-120ml per pump
3. Do u take fenugreek? yes
4. Baby latching frequency? no

Nick : YLN
no
Initial supply : 50-80Ml Current : 200-260ml
2. What's the time interval? 4-6 hourly
3. Do u take fenugreek? Yes

Nick : jolim10
no, now 2 mths
Initial supply : 50-100ml Current : 180-280ml
2. What's the time interval? 3.5 - 5hourly
3. Do u take fenugreek? no

Oh my gosh,
Seems that most of us are not latching on baby.

We can call our forum the survey forum ... so many surveys .. kekekke. But i must say it's a good for referencing.

krex,
its not that i am strict with her. i let her eat with us but lately she dont want to eat with us. moreover we let her access to whatever she wants in the hse, noodles, biscuits etc.. we take maid out we also let her eat along with us and if bb cry usually i carry and let her eat. cos she eat so slow by time we wait for her all close shop already.

Shint,
I latch my gal for most of the feeds except 10:30pm. Will express out and ask hubby to feed her via bottle in case she reject bottle when I go back to work. But many a times I feel like stop latching her so that I know how much she drink. :p

shint,
cos he admit on sat night, so sun lab closed. they need to do test and also take blood to grow bacteria. so will need at least 48 hours.

my hubby is very gan cheong one. he will go striaght to kk one. on fri night, i'm the one who ask him to go normal clinic cos i know fever is common as long as not too high should be fine. after visiting the gp, he keep asking me how. need to go kk or not.

joanne,
i don't latch cos he take quite long but now i will only latch 10 mins each side. will stop latching once time is up. heheh... i'm more bad right.

joanne,
i latch my bb on. morning when wake up until noon time then 1 btl .. then latch on again until evening bottle.. latch on .. then bottle till morning. at nights if I am really too tired to make a bottle then i latch on. I dont have the patience to express. i feel like the 30 mins i rather spend bonding with bb .. so i rather latch on.

i know sometimes she does it for comfort sucking.. but it's ok la. better than giving pacifier. anyway i wont be working till next yr so it's ok

aurora
hahah, pure fluke *winks* But my fren who read up mentioned tt bb can understand hand signs earlier than adult language. I prob read up more & see if it's easy to pick up

joanne
I'm one of those who latches on BF only, i hardly pump, only when I need to go out w/o bb..
Dunno if my ger's an efficient bb, she takes abt 15min on 1 breast & is satisfied..

val
I think very unavoidable to have construction.. SG always has all these noisy works, roads esp.. After electrical, then there might be piping etcetc.. Neverending *haiz*

celyn
How's Yu Ze doing now? U shd get as much rest as u can, to tend to him when he gets discharged k?
Take care!!

joanne
not latching cos both of my wrists were hurt while i latch my baby using cross cradle. so painful that cant even turn the door knob or unscrew bottle cap. now and off still aching... end up give up cos dr also suspect overfeed

maid
my agency say can have unlimited replacement..but im not sure with the new ruling..that employer must pay when send maid back..have to check with my agent again..my maid ar..scold her already..can still mutter some myanmar language under her breath!..dunno if she scolding me in myanmar!..i told her before not to do that..n she forgot again..sigh..
sometimes i also quite pity her..come so far and work ..and imagine i send her back even before she managed to clear her loan..sad rite..but i think me and hubby more sad...pay $ to get angry..so we rather change lor..

bringing pump to work
i only got one pump..ameda one..so will bring to work and back home..i even bought a longchamp pliage bag to put the pump in..heehhee..very hiao one i...

morning ladies. =)
thx for all the well wishes, i'm feeling better now.

GNC
----
anybody need to buy anything from gnc?
i got gnc 35% + additional taka member 15% this mth, will be going this fri during taka sale.
pm me the name, how many mg, and how many capsules per bottle of the drug u wanna buy by tmr 4pm.
i'll be very busy today as my childcare giver is on mc, so most likely can only read my mails tmr.
ok, gotta rush liao. =P
chat with u gals again tmr.

morning mummies.

thanks for all the well wishes. yu ze is better liao. fever didn't return. hopefully, can get the lab result early later. if everything is fine. he can be discharge today. i think his appetite is back too. manage to drink 100ml after 5 hours of sleep and back to his original 80ml 3 hours later.

morning mummies

celyn...hope yu ze is ok liao
i noe how anxious u must be..my gal had 40deg fever when she was 1.5months old last time and i rushed to KK but was very upset with KKH, nothing was done on her until morning 11am, we admitted at 2am..i discharged her with my PD consensus cos KK cant do much except take tests....but wanna charge me 2 nites..kk..

anyway today and tmr toys r us sale at novena...

someone from forum selling the bb swimming float at 20bucks...available instantly...u guys wanna buy? I am getting one

anyway...

megan,
he is fine now. thanks. i thought they will sponge her if fever higher than 39. yu ze didn't get cos his is below. but given antibiotic.

what kind of baby float? do you have the link?

Good Morning!

Snow,
So you taking care of both your gals with your maid today?

Cheong Taka Sale this Fri ah, I'm Taka member too but then I'm starting work tmr or Thu liao so no more shopping...looking fwd to my BKK trip in end Oct but gonna miss bb lor...

Celyn,
Glad that Yu Ze is fine now, hoep he can be discharged soon.

Megan,
Snow and I ordered the neck float liao and got it quite fast...heehee

You gg to the Toys R Us Sale?

Thanks M2B,
Ordered liaoz ... haha, i still buying online ... just said I better stop spending $$ but well, last one? hee.

Shint,
Same here, me spent quite abit on BPs here...luckily hb isnt aware of it...hahaha and whenever the items are dellivered, my mom will asked and my answer is always "cheaper to order than buy at the shops"...heehee

Even the postman who delivered my registered items (always the same man) commented to my gal "your mommy ordered things again"...hehe

The worse thing is I'm oso shopping at the shops too...hiaz, ML supposed to save $ but end up seem to be spending more...hahaha, maybe it is a good thing that I'm gg back to work...

Hello Mummies

Long time no post.. been busy since hari raya hols : p

Any mummies going back to work soon? *sigh* I will be going back to work after depavali hols so feeling abit sian liao.

Maid sleeping with baby:-
Btw can I check for those who have maids and doing bfeeding, do yr bb sleep with her, or do you put bb with you? I am thinking of putting my gal with my maid soon and wonder at nite, shd I latch on or get maid to bottle feed her? Any advice?

Baby pooing:-
Lately I noticed that my gal poos like once in 2-3 days... is that constipation? By right shdnt be cos she is on total bfeeding leh.. any mummies experiencing this?

Fariekim
I am sending my #1 to LV soon, in fact next week cos the principal said that got 1 mummy deferred her child to next year so just nice got 1 place in Oct for him, I was thinking, mite as well since I still be on maternity leave and I will b able to accompany him for the first 3 days. Have you decided on the cc for yr #1?

Surveys:-
Nick : Medusa
No. Now week 8.
Initial supply : 50-100ml Current : 250-300ml
4. Baby latching frequency? 2-3 times a day. Usually during nite feeds

nick: medusa
Brand of Bottle and teat baby using: Dr Brown Bottle and NUK teats
Milk Intake (ml): 70 - 100ml each feed
Milk Feed Interval: 2.5 - 3 hourly
Total milk intake per day: 600-8000ml per day

medusa
u going back in another 3 weeks...i go back work next week!..worst rite..sigh...the sian feeling is worst when i see my bb..and i know i will keep thinking about her lor...so sad..