(2008/08) Aug 2008

dongle,
my nanny say can leh. my ex-colleagues's children all go when they are this young.

just took his temp before feed, drop to 36.6 liao. i guess he is ok liao.

kk mention that above 37.5 is consider fever using ear thermometer.

twin stars
Today I insist tt she sleeps in the cot & not in the sling anymore.. So after rocking her into deep sleep, i put her into the cot & she lasted for abt 45min.. Not too bad, i must say..

How's the rash for ur ger?

snow,
the BP for the neck floats, you bought one before?
It says the inner diameter of the round neck float is 28 cm adjustable to 30cm.
I presume it means the inner circumference bah?
Cos if it's the inner diameter, then will be too big liao. I emailed the BP organiser, still says inner diameter. *confused*

Cos I'm thinking to get the neckfloat. Besides going to the Hua Xia, thought I can put water in the bathtub for her to swim in w the neckfloat.

celyn,
wa.... u dare to let Yu Ze go public pool? Ya I think there is those disposable diaper for swimming, think is huggies brand, from Toys'r Us. Duno if supermarket sells or not.

hisstory,
wow, that's gd improvement!
see if u can stretch her sleep time on the cot to 1 hr+
Today my bb is abit cranky in the morning til now! After drinking at 7.30am, she looks so sleepy but can only sleep for short while then wake up, so play w her. at 11am, give her drink only drink 40ml and refuses to drink anymore, keeps crying. Then gota carry her around -_-"
And to think later I wana bring her out kai kai.
Keep fingers crossed she will behave or fall asleep later.

RE: jabs
Some mommies mentioned that your bb wil be cranky after e jab. How long does it last?

celyn,
the BP Organiser xiaoyun doesn't seem to have responded to your posts to confirm our TTs. Has she gone MIA? I hope not leh...

valnsw,
hehe.. no lah. i thought i did mention before that xiao yun will be away till sun. that's why no response from her. she did send me an email telling me that she is away on 30 sep, 1130pm.

thought of bringing him to public pool but don't know which one got baby pool. so haven't bring him loh.

today, we can't go gai gai liao cos of the rain and also he just recover from fever. better to keep him at home.

val
Am so happy tt she actually tahan-ed 45min.. Then after she fussed & slept again, she lasted another 15min. Very gd improvement oredi.. I must persevere!

Maybe u tire her out now & then when u go gaigai later, she wld be a gd baby & sleep well

Oh btw, were u the one who bought the Carlson wet wipes fr JL?

hisstory,
yup I got the Carlson wet wipes from JL.
Another alternative u can consider is Carrefour wipes, think is $4+ for 200wipes but comes in a container.

My feedback: Carlson wipes from JL is cheaper when there's a promo (i.e. 3packs of 80 each for $5.50 with 20% off or buy 2 packs get 1 pack free). However, my hubby and I find the pulling power not so gd, i.e. when wana pull out one wipe, difficult to pull out or when pull out, can be 2 stuck together.

Carrefour housebrand wipes pulling power is gd, doesn't stick together but the container is bulky plus think there's only one Carrefour outlet at Suntec so kinda inconvenient if u're not there.

celyn,
oops! I must hv missed out that post. keke
I wana bring bb out, but she's sleeping now. Prob wait til after her nxt feed before bringing her out.

Whereabouts do you live? I would think most public pools hv a baby pool, i.e. a pool that is shallower.

hisstory,
wow! that's gd!
Jiayou.
heh... now my darling just fell asleep, exhausted. Prob wil wake up later 2pm+ for milk milk.

val
Aiyoh, then quite troublesome if u only need 1, another is pulled out, coz u've got to stuff it back in.. Had the same prob when i was using the Johnson's ww tt the hospital used..

Hmm, I still have some wet wipes to tahan for at least 1 - 2 mths, but thot of going JL later. Nvm, enough to last me till I intend to go Suntec region..

Finally ur ger slept.. gdgd, it shd be deep sleep coz of tiredness! U better rest too..

timminbuzz,
most of the time she goes back to sleep quite easily after feeding & changing, but occasionally she needs abit of rocking but would go back to sleep again quite easily.

celyn,
actually it's very confusing of the temp for fever. i asked my PD and he said bb temp is diff from us, esp if we use the ear thermometer. bb fever is anything above 38degrees. what your PD say ?

Thanks Catherine!

1. Catherine ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
1.1 constance - 1pc
1.2 Alicia - 2 pcs
1.3 Wendy - 2 pcs
2. Gayle - ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
3. Vone ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
4. nini - 2 pcs
5. M2B - 2 pcs
6. aurora ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
7. valnsw ( [email protected] )- 1 pc
8. krex - ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
9. Sharon - 2 pcs
10. Joanne ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
11. von(mrsgan) ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
12. wing wing - 1 pc
13. Shint ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
14. Tiffany ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc

Qty : 27pcs. We still need 3 more.

Hi mummies, I am new to this thread. I have some questions on breastfeeding. My daughter was born in early August. I have gone back to work, my mother feeds her 80ml every 2 hours, 6 times in the day. My office is quite far away, so I am not at home everyday 730am until 830pm. I pump every 3 hours at work (9-12-3-6), but I could just get around 500ml every day, and I have to pump very hard to get that amount. I tried fenugreek for a week, but there doesn't seem to be any significant increase. I also drink a lot of water and soup cooked by my mother.

I am worried that as my work gets more stressful, my supply will drop. And then I get very stressed thinking that I may have to give my baby fomula. I just want to ask, are there any other ways to increase milk? For mummies who pump, how much do you get usually?

I read that if I pump more often, milk will increase, but I tried pumping every 2hours, 3 hours and 4 hours, the amount of milk I get per hour is always then same. Does pumping more often really help?

valnsw,
i stay at serangoon north.

catherine,
i was told by kk nurse, its above 37.5 is fever. polyclinic also say the same thing.

almondz, my ss was quite low initially but i took my 2nd month to pump more often. i pumped every 3 hours until my ss increased gradually. recently i also took fenugreek and my ss increased by the 3rd day. but now, my milk is very watery and i think the quality has dropped. i'm thinking of going off fenugreek by next week. if u eat well and rest well, your ss should be ok, but i know it's very hard being a working mom. try eating more fish and drinking papaya fish soup. if all else fails, u can consider giving your kid a combination of BM and FM. my bb was on this combi during the 1st mth as he refused to latch on and my CL recommended this (although i don't recommend it at such an early stage).

<font color="0077aa">Hi mummies, I know that many of you have experienced engaging a maid, can PM me any good agencies? And what is the rate for Indo maid now?

Thanks!</font>

ruixuan I've tried giving him 0.5ml but don't think I ever succeeded.
No matter how much one tries the dropper won't hold 0.5ml. So I have been under dosing him. Anyway he doesn't always have it at every feed (sometimes I forget) but mainly nights only. So far haven't been given any warnings from the MW or HV. Perhaps the medicinal make up in the UK is different to the one sold in Sg.

Halo Mommies!
Went MS jalan just now but w/o #2 coz she was sleeping when we left my mom's place for #1 class.

Snow,
U ok now? It is indeed hapi to see bb enjoying herself in the water plus the massage…how many sessions Zynn has left?

Vone,
I have tsf the $ to your account, please check…thanks once again! =P

Valnsw,
Hope Chevelle can sleep thru soon! Snow and I ordered the neck float and it is similar to the 1 used by Hwa Xia just that no music nia..heehee

Hisstory,
Me and snow ordered the neck float from a BP here and I just got the floats yday and try it on Maegan…heehee, you can buy that and if your house got bathtub then can use it…heehee

Twin Stars,
Maegan oso like the bouncer a lot…we just got her a bumbo seat and tried her on it yday…heehee…your gal so cute, treat rocker as poo poo chair…heehee

Is your gal’s rashes better?

Celyn,
Hope your boy’s feeding pattern stabilized soon so you won’t have headaches and sleep-deprived.

Dongle,
FM is indeed more filling. I think maybe your gal is treating your nipple as pacifier? Shd try to get her used to bottle feed of EBM so that when you go back to work dun need headache..my neighbour has this prob and her son can cry the house down when bottle-fed.

Rata,
Haha, Jacinta likes sleeping more than drinking…Maegan drinks abt 5 times a day and nw we increase to 150ml per feed…although some feed, she can’t finish…

Happycat,
I understd how disturbing it is…I used to wake up whenever there is a sound/noise from her but now I completed koon liao…hahaha, last time #1 wear anklet and it was so irritating coz when she kicks, I will wake up and check her so I removed it he next morning!

Catherine,
Thanks for organizing!

1.1 constance - 1pc
1.2 Alicia - 2 pcs
1.3 Wendy - 2 pcs
4. nini - 2 pcs
5. M2B - 2 pcs ([email protected])
9. Sharon - 2 pcs
12. wing wing - 1 pc

Hi Catherine,

Thanks for organising..
, I hope I am not too late but guess we still short of 2 more.

1.1 constance - 1pc
1.2 Alicia - 2 pcs
1.3 Wendy - 2 pcs
4. nini - 2 pcs
5. M2B - 2 pcs ([email protected])
9. Sharon - 2 pcs
12. wing wing - 1 pc
15. Roiv ([email protected]) - 1 Pc

re: personalized CDs
Few points I realized and clarified with the supplier, based on the std retail price, we will get a 20% disc. then there will be 7% GST added and also delivery charge via registered mail (est $3.75 for 2 CDs). So an example calculation would be
2 CD ( each at $25 less 20% + 7% GST) = $39.99
Add shipping charges = $3.75
Total : $43.74

For those ordering 1 CD then I would tag onto my order and then mail out to you. Thus I estimate it may cost an additional $4. So it comes back to very close to the retail price. I suggest that instead of me mailing out to you, for those whom live in the east to pick up from my place. And then maybe another mummy living in west/north or working at central to order and others pick up from her... umm is it confusing ?? I'm trying to minimize the cost here else it would be double the delivery charge incurred.

Krex, faeriekim,
POoing .... my ZK pooed MEGA POO today ... he decided to consolidate all his few days of poo into one time.

I was at IKEA and i heard him doing the "NG NG NG" .. then i told maid to change him since i tot i smell his poo. Then shortly maid came back and said "Mam, cannot clean baby with wet wipes cos leak out oredi and alot" .... so i went with her to the changing room.

When we took out the diaper, I saw that the poo filled the entire diaper and leaks at the side and after i threw the diaper, his whole backside still filled with poo .... like flooded with poo u know ... so gross! hahaa.

I guess no matter what diaper i use, it will still not hold manz.

now i must tell him to poo everyday and not consolidate it on one day ... ;)

twinstars,
Thanks .. beach boy? i tot he looks like a malay boy ... a malay beach boy .. he vv dark leh.

Nini, faeriekim, dongle,
My kew mo (curly hair) .. now like what dongle says "hair vv long liaoz" ... baby so young, how to go cut ah? where?
#1 dropped all his hair and became a monk until he was 6 months old .... so i din have that problem.
WHen he was older, i cut it when he was sleeping.
Once, my maid "GE KIANG" and cut for #1 and told me "Mam, i cut baby's hair oredi" ... then when i came home, to my horror, he looked like DUMB AND DUMBER .. almost fainted.
Heng, it was after his 1 yr old birthday party else i sure fire her.

This #2 have dropping hair syndrome but so far, still have quite decent bit of hair left ...
hmmm, wondering where to cut hair leh.

Me not planning to shave him cos i believe tat after shaving, the hair becomes more coarse. dunno true or not but my belief la.

Attention mummies,
Anyone want to sell me ameda pump funnel? I bough another funnel today. This is the second one I broke. Maybe sell me 3 funnel…

m2b, no lei Jacinta dun sleep also in the day but she juz dun wan milk dat freq. Actually i increase the feed to 150ml so dat i can drag the feeding freq to every 4hrs. at times my gal cant finished her milk too. as bad as 1oz left. I alwis ve a hard time to coax my gal to sleep. she will refuse milk de. some time as soon as she feel her tummy 80% she dun wan liao then got to let her ve pacifier so dat she goes into deep sleep then i try my luck to continue feeding. hai.... Mayb coz she dun sleep much in the day so night time she can sleep thru.

those looking for shoes can go try Charles &amp; Keith, saw some quite nice shoes having 20% discount just now...I bought a pair today...

Rata,
My gal sleeps alot in the day leh...she can wake up at 10am+ and after bath and milk, sleep for another 3hrs until near to the next feed then wake up...makes me wonder is she sleeping too much leh...

We gave her mostly 150ml per feed today and she can finished all...so now except for early morning feed of 135ml, all feeds are 150ml liao...

Jacinta can sleep thru the night good right? Then you can sleep too.

re: ON, DS, BBM &amp; MO spree
the goods are here... i have sent you all 2 emails, pls ignore the 1st one cos i forgot to attach the excel worksheet..

val,
Haven't bring bb for the jab yet. Wanted to bring last fri, Oct 3 but the nurse said must be at least 2 mths then can take the jab (he was born on Aug 5) so have to wait till next wk. Plan to bring him on this coming Mon.

If we bring bb for jab at private clinics instead of polyclinic, do we have to bring bb back to polyclinic for the physical development assessment at 3 mths? Or will the PD/GP from the private clinic do the assessment for the bb? Any idea??

M2B
HB's quite tempted to get the neck float, but def have no intention of signing bb up for the package.. Nvm lah, better than nothing!
My parents place has bath tub.. Or I shd get a huge &amp; deep pail instead *heehee*

Ooh, shoes! I shall check out Charles &amp; Keith soon then..

dongle
Received your mail! Shall let u know when I wld pick up the items fr spree #1 &amp; this new batch

ruixuan is the crack at the screwing area? try not to screw so tight dats wat i learn fr my previous experience.

m2b, so funny my gal if go out she will sleep at hm in the day she sleep very little the mst an hr. u giving bm rite? so we both same same 150ml each feed but Jacinta takes onli 4 feed each day.

fae,
thanks, y princess n the pea? think i forgot the story except she needs to sleep on alot of mattresses

shint,
yr boy is "sunny boy" handsome la. pp always laugh at my bb being chubby so i jus take it that she looks like winnie the pooh lor, hehe. show us the dumb n dumber hair cut lei. must have looked cute :p
for cradle scalp: use johnson;s bb oil. it works
for pimples on face: use cetaphil frm guardian pharmacy

M2B,
her rash has come down on her head, face n neck. now waiting for the ones on her back n arm to go off. yr girl can hold her head to sit on the bumbo chair? mine still can;t hold her head so long lei. need to rest on my chest. think must exercise her neck liao. yesterday she was sooooooooooo cranky man! cos maid took her rocker chair to wash. she cried the whole day!

dongle,
cos i didn;t wash all baby;s clothes...i only wash those that she can wear. those that are big for her i jus hang in her wardrobe. i didn;t expect her to be so big till i needed to use the larger size n i have not wash them but need to bring her out so i took the risk thinking the clothes r so new.....end up sending a bomb at PD

ruixuan,
we have the same PD. think u missed my posting. how do u find dr lim?

Catherine,
RE: Personalised CD
I will collect from you.
Before ordering, I need to tell you which CD I'm getting right?
Do you prefer to wait til the 30pcs is hit or wana me give it to you now?

M2B,
haiz... realised next time better dun say too early later it doesn't happen wor.
Like when I thought she can sleep thru the nite, last nite she didn't sleep much. At 12AM she still wide awake and then she took her milk and pooed. She only slept from 1.50am to 4am up til now. Even now, though she's "sleeping", that's cos she got pacifier and she not in deep sleep. I think my bb really lacks sleep but yet she can't seem to get to sleep these few days.
How ah? So worrying

hisstory,
hai, after i posted my thread abt her sleeping in the aftn, she woke up shortly after that before 2pm -_-" next time better keep my mouth zipped liao.
Then wanted to bring her out kai kai after her milk, she went to sleep. So in the end, left her w the maid.

shint,
my bb's pattern also like your ZK. She consolidate her poo for 3 days until 12.45AM this morning, she pooed and she exploded!!! Normally she will poo every 2 days but yday's one was really worrying me cos 3 days didn't poo! ok i mean her poo when put put out was noisy and like got air pressure and bits of the poo flew onto the bedsheet on which she was on and some of it got onto my shorts and T-shirt.
what a mess.

shay,
The GP clinic I'm bringing her to, the assistant says the GP can do the assessmt.
Humm..? U mean at mth 3 gota do assessment?
Mb just do the assessment at mth 2,4,6 when I let her do the jabs bah...

val,
i know wat u mean. i also posted to hisstory n happycat about how to let bb sleep in the cot. then my bb became very cranky. whole day cry n cry till i have to carry her to sleep. put her on her bed, she cry again. i dun believe in "pantang" but it has been proven a few times liao so i also better keep my mouth shut :*

hisstory, happycat,
frm my above post, think all i can say is bb do have their moods at times so dun worry if at times bb can sleep, at times, they can;t. just have to try n go access wat they want. for mine....yesterday was "hell" it could b a combination of things.....like her rash, her rocker chair n colic ( cos i stopped feeding her rid wind for 5days

little twin star,
yesterday late afternoon nap and today's morning and afternoon nap all gone haywire. Very cranky and crying. barely put her down sleepy, she wake up and start crying. very stressed. dunno it is becos more people at home yesterday n today. Cos' weekdays only me and her. weekends daddy and her little bro are around, so more noisy esp that little rascal. too much stimulation => hard to wind down?

wind down baby,
how do you wind down a baby so that she/he can fall to sleep? mine seems to like to be carried around the house. bad habit and worried she will associate that to sleeping and expect that everytime. read book and they say should let them learn to settle to sleep in cot sleepy yet awake. Me no such luck. really hate to hear her cry.

vone,
thx for passing me the stuff today! pls PM me your bank a/c details can? sollie...
ur boy so adorable
so much bigger than the 1st time we met at swensens.

shint,
conspiracy theory u teach me one. how can i outwit my shifu? keke...
abt pimples, i never put anything leh. juz more hardworking in cleaning her face wif the towel n water everyday. as for prevention of cradle cap, i started using the mustela foam shampoo for infants. worked for my #1.

Rata,
I’m giving Maegan TFM now…she drinks 5x a day, 1st feed at 135ml and the rest 150ml every 4hours…Maegan can nap quite a long time at home and outside so sometimes I really wonder is she sleeping too much…when are you gg back to work?

Hisstory,
Hehe, my mom’s place have a big tub too so I can let Maegan “swim” in it after her package ends…can put warm water then told my mom to use the water to wash toilet etc so as not to waste the water…heehee…go get the float lah…heehee

Twin Stars,
Hope your gal’s rashes disappear soon…heartpain to see those rashes right? Hehe, I oso let my gal wear some clothes b4 washing leh but so far so good *touch wood* coz sometimes wana wear but haven’t wear yet so no choice..heehee

Oh, your gal’s throne not available yday thus she cranky? I oso bought Dentinox (colic drops) to standy when Maegan was born…

Valnsw,
I understd coz sometimes quite pantang 1…say liao then bb changes pattern again…hope everything settle down for you soon…you mean Chevelle was up from 4am to 12pm+?? That’s really a very long time leh…Maegan normally feed sleepy after playing awhile after milk (provided she doesn’t fall asleep after milk)…thatz why I’m wondering is she sleeping too much instead? We have opposite worries…

m2b, for me i feed 150ml of bm every 4hrs but some times goes out will stretch 5hrs. she dranks onli 4 times a day coz some time in the day she finally sleep so even if is 4hrs liao i dun wake her up. coz some times even after 5hrs she refused the milk. her appetitte decrease since she gotten colic 2 weeks ago. mayb she not yet fully iver come her fear of milk.she is a fussy gal if she wan to sleep she dun wan milk so long she feel her tummy abit she will stop &amp; demand to sleep instead of continue drinking so got to let her go into half asleep half awake mode then try feeding again... headache. i will b back to work on 20th oct u gone back to work liao rite? At times i gave Jacinta milk bath kee kee

twinstars,
princess n the pea becos the princess is sensitive mah, tat even a pea under all the mattresses she oso can feel.. means tat ur ger is a princess!
tokking abt spending a bomb at PD's, i almost ALWAYS spend a bomb there... some more no credit card allowed. :S

storeberry, i used citizen family helper. but i suggest u go to a place with lots of maid agencies and shop around. look at the profile of the maids and see if u're comfi with them. if u're taking transfer maids, u get the chance to interview them also. indo maid market rate is about $320. i went to katong and hougang green to shop for maid. these places have lots of maid agencies so u can slowly pick and choose.

shint, my son did his mega poo 2x this week, ever since we increased one of his feeds to 120ml. not sure if that's the reason. extra 30ml only leh. and his poo very watery also, so it leaked thru the gathers. yest and today he also did big poo but the diaper managed to contain it. he's been pooing quite a lot lately. his bowels must be damn good! thank goodness his poo is quite sweet smelling as we give him BM.

fae, what is nordic naturals DHA? how does it boost BM qlty? mine is getting bad coz' i took fenugreek. so watery. hope it gets back to normal once i'm off it.

rat, fae, before i took fenugreek, my BM was of good consistency. something like yoghurt drink. then it became thin, like coridal. last time when i pump i could see the fat forming after i put it in the fridge; now there's less fat. so i think taking fenugreek helped me increase milk ss in terms of quantity but quality was compromised.

krex, but mine was watery all the while when put in fridge i see a thin layer of fats forming onli lei. not rite de?

twinstars
Dr Lim is good, explain thing well. very caring except strict in amount of feed given to baby. always say OVERFEED