(2008/08) Aug 2008

happycat, yea we sleep wif our BB. Falisha is the same like Nini's bb, always make stretching noises - duno y! Haha..but ok la...not very loud leh. When it's her milk time Falisha will just eh eh eh, dats all. Unless she sleep until overshot, super hungry, then will wehhh louder. Lastly, if she like having nitemare(i suppose la) then will suddenly cry out loud. Just carry her and pat pat then stop liao. Heh.

Survey on BB's Milk Intake

Name : ZK
Daily intake : 800-1000ml
per feed : around 100ml
Birth Weight : 3.65kg
Weight : 5.4kg
Current Age : Week 6

Name : zynn
Daily intake : 600-800ml
per feed : around 100ml
Birth Weight : 2.67kg
Weight : ~4kg
Current Age : Week 7.5

Name : yu ze
Daily intake : 600-660ml
per feed : around 80ml
Birth Weight : 3.21kg
Weight : 4.5kg
Current Age : coming 2 months

Name : Chevelle
Daily intake : 630-720ml
per feed : around 90ml
Birth Weight : 3.13kg
Weight : ~4.2kg (at wk5 check)
Current Age : Week 7.5

Name : SL
Daily intake : 720ml
per feed : around 90ml
Birth Weight : 3.3kg
Weight : 5.2kg at 6 week
Current Age : coming 2 months

Name : KW
Daily intake : ard 1000ml
per feed : 110ml
Birth Weight : 3.2kg
Weight : 5kg at 6 week
Current Age : 8 wks

Name: Bernice
Daily intake: ard 800-1000ml
per feed: 70-90ml (1 feed of 120ml at night)
Birth weight : 2.69kg
weight: 4.955kg @ 8weeks
current age: 8 weeks

Name: Chiemi
Daily intake: ard 900-1100ml
per feed: 90ml-110ml
Birth weight : 2.88kg
weight: 4.7kg @ 6weeks
current age: comin 2 mths

Name: Braiden
Daily intake: ard 800ml-1000ml
per feed: 120ml
Birth weight : 3.345kg
weight: 5.2kg
current age: 6 weeks

Name: Jonah
Daily intake: 600ml
per feed: 4x 90ml and 2x 120ml
Birth weight : 2.8kg
weight: 5kg
current age: 8 weeks+

Name: Maegan
Daily intake: abt 675ml
per feed: 135ml
Birth weight : 3.445kg
weight: 4.52kg (at 1month’s jab)
current age: 2 months

Name: Jacinta
Daily intake: 600-750ml
per feed: 150ml
Birth weight : 3.625kg
weight: 5.81kg (at 8 weeks)
current age: 9+ weeks

Name: Cayla
Daily intake: abt 800ml
per feed: 100ml to 120ml
Birth weight : 3.33kg
current age: 10 weeks

Name: Joshua
Daily intake: abt 1200ml
per feed: 160ml to 200ml
Birth weight : 2.96kg
current age: 7+wks

Name : Reagan
Daily intake : 600-800ml
per feed : 50-90ml
Birth Weight : 2.5kg
Weight : 5.3kg (@ 8 weeks)
Current Age : Week 10

Name : Falisha (Huichin)
Daily intake : Abt 600ml
per feed : 70-90ml
Birth Weight : 2.73kg
Weight : 3.9kg (@ 4 weeks)
Current Age : Week 8

Thanks everyone! I actually tried doing all that you guys mentioned but bb still cry... that's why it's soo frustrating... Sigh... My bb is now 6wks+ old. I gave birth Aug 18th :) She really has lots of wind in her stomach... poor girl, every time she drinks her milk she keeps trying to force herself to pass out wind and if she can't she'll get frustrated and start crying...

hi all mummies,
any of ur babies on FRISO 1 or SIMILAC Stage 2? i got 1 tin of each to give away. Received as sample. My daughter on TBF. Also, juz in case, I have also bought Enfa, so, no use for the above 2.

hey shint,
i juz called up the PD (tat i oways bring my #1 to) at Tampines, the 6-in-1 costs $120 per dose (3 doses), 5-in-1 costs $95 per dose (excl. Hep B), which I reckon i will then juz go for the 6-in-1 cos oni $360 nia. Am I missing out on any other costs? Cos u mentioned that your package costs $440 (regardless 5- or 6-in-one). Btw, they say, no need to pay consultation charges becos only go for jab.

krex78 & ruixian,
i heard about not giving water too but thinking since we all grow up drinking water too, it should be fine loh.

krex78,
thanks on the info of bumwear. will check it out tomorrow after massage class at kk.

hisstory,
oh u've got the apron type. Will it show at the sides?

faeriekim,
my bb 6-in-1 jab costs $140 per jab and it includes consulation and jab by PD.

faeriekim,
yours prob dun include the consultation costs. check with the nurse. i oso called up some others and they say its separately charged. so in the end the cost is more than the kids clinic package.

I haven't gone today yet ... prob on next Mon .. keep delaying ... think if too late then go for 6 in 1 lor.

Pooing
My ZK finally pooed today after 4 days ... hehe, so happy! like kenna lottery like tat. But more watery kind .. i tot will kenna hard hard one since so many days no poo liaoz.

celyn,
yar, actually, i oso wonder why nowadays got so many restrictions when last time ppl did all sorts of things n still nothing happened?

aurora, shint,
the nurse just called me n confirmed tat no consultation costs incurred. juz the jab. dubious?

shint,
u might as well go for the 6-in-1 since u delay n delay... hee..
good for ZK~!
*whisper* so far my gal still poo pooing daily.

hisstory, happycat

get yr girl use to the cot by putting her everyday pillows, play with her on the cot to get her familiar with it ( but not too much. u want her to associate the cot with sleeping n not playing ). wat is her comfort toy? mine is the winnie the pooh cot mobile. when she hears it she will calm down.
BUT......i never let her cry n scream to sleep. can;t bear to n i don't think it is healthy for them cos u will make her feel even more insecured n abandoned cos she will not understand wat u r trying to teach her.

if she cries n scream:
have to carry with pacifier n at times rock n sing songs to her to calm her down first. when she is calm then slowly walk to the cot n continue to sing n pat her. slowly stop patting her but continue to sing but softly then gently lower her down to the bed. after that continue to pat her for awhile if she starts to fidget.at times if she tries to cry i do hold the pacifier into her mouth so she can;t spit it out ( u have to guage 4 yrself hor....cos i know my bb n she will take to the pacifier n not choke) n turn her to face the wall to sleep on her side n pat her buttocks firmly until she doesn;t really struggle than my pat becomes lighter n finally i can leave.
FAce the wall cos: they r not distracted by surroundings or pp, it helps to calm them down lei. i always use this as last resort n it often works

putting my bb to sleep awake was when she is used to the cot liao. n not crying. sometimes she will not sleep but i jus leave her there...as long as she is not crying, i leave the rm n let her settle down to sleep. if u sleep with the bb, better make sure bb is sound asleep b4 going into the rm....my own experience la. if not they smell u n want to "eh eh" again

faeriekim,
then ok la ... dun ask any questions lor ... if ask then they will charge u .. hee.

restrictions. haha, another conspiracy theory? kekeke. hmm, who's making $$ this time?

me ah, this morning woke up at 8+ then go back sleep till 12pm. i felt so tired so i tell my maid better go on Mon, in case he fever and Sun we have to have dinner with some relatives and maid on half day leave, how to cope rite? ... kekek, good excuse rite?

ALLERGY:

i jus came back frm PD. apparently my bb is allergic to something that cause her to rashes oubreak...to wat we are still trying to eliminate to find out
it could b silicon!!!!! cos i bot new silicon pacifier 4 my gal to use yest n her rash started.....gosh

but it could b heat triggered as well n not heat rash

wander how dr differentiate heat rash frm allergy.
one thing for sure: she has sensitive skin liao

hiaz

aurora
It might, tt's why i sit in corners, depending on which side i am feeding my ger on..
I bought the following fr Mum's Fairy coz I didn't see anything I liked fr elsewhere..
1761195.jpg

twin stars
Am doing tt too... Trying to keep her there while she's still awake aft feeds & not fussing
I shall work hard & also get her to face the side with few distractions. Will update you when I've made some progress.. *heehee*

Oooh, u've got the Winnie The Pooh cot mobile.. *drools* I wanted it, but HB thinks it crazy to spend so much on one.. But i told him the Fisher Price ones are only $20 cheaper *haiz*

little twinstars,
i agree! once my son smell me, he will wan to drink! he will make the hungry look, tongue sticking out and goes eh eh eh ... though he just had his 100-120ml an hour ago. Once my maid or hubby takes over, he will stop eh eh eh .... Sometimes i oso scared to carry him know .. cos i dunno he hungry or what ... but i surely know it's not becos he dun like me ... hahaa.

I will try to calm him down and talk to him. Sometimes it doesn't work, then i put him down on my bed/ his cot to talk to him and he starts smiling.

SMILING
These few days he seems to understand that I am talking about him and smiles. When we go out, he'll sleep for 3-4 hours (at home, he wakes after 2-2.5 hours for milk) and when we reached home, opened the door only then he wakes up for milk. He will smile when i told him he can smell the house. Quite a lot of times i talk about him and he was sleeping then he suddenly smiles. So cute. Seems he knows that we are talking about him.

faeriekim,
yah loh. so i try not to listen to all those restrictions.

shint,
yah, i think they know who is talking to them and will react liao.

#2 vv dark, sometimes i feel he looks like a Malay, esp with his curly hair ... hahaha.
Anyone thinks so? ;)
I think cos i din drink enough milk cos i was lactose intolerant during pregnancy.

ruixuan,
use ice, once melt then it will have condensation and water droplets kinda stuff rite? troublesome rite? hmmm ... i wanna go check out the pigeon first ... dunno where selling..

Aye, for those normal FTG, it will have water droplets does it?

vone,
how old is your baby now? hopefully this stage will pass soon.

little twin star,
too bad i dun have a maid. I look after her myself. my boy sleeps with his daddy so i have to sleep in a separate room with my baby. dun wan the baby to wake up my boy.

m2b,
my baby sleep in cot and i sleep on matress on the floor. The prob is that we are in the same room and I happen to be a light sleeper. So very tiring. tried to use pillow to cover my ears but boy, she's loud! Still can hear her. Then my whole body will go tense, waiting for thing to happen. *sigh*

huichin,
the eh eh sound is enough to make me go tense-up. that's is enough to cause my sleepiness to evaporate into thin air. blame myself for being a light sleeper...

ladyl, try to breastfeed him then. usu less air as compared to bottle feeding. my bb also lots of air coz' he bottle feeds EBM. my hb don't want me to BF coz' cannot regulate timing and dunno how much he drinks. so we gotta live with his "air" problem lor. quite silly actually!

little twin star,
i believe what you say. They kind of know we are in the room. My hubby will always feed her EBM for her last feed. Whenever I go into the room, she will tilt her head and look at my direction. Then she dun wan the bottle liao. Have to latch her again.

She is happy in the cot for a short while when she wake up from her sleep. But when I put her in cot for sleep, she will look everywhere. The wall, tilt her head to look at the window, everywhere except sleep. I do carry her until drowsy before puttin her in bed. Think only then majority of the time, she will slowly doze to sleep.
Thinkin of finding a way to do without the cuddling.

joanne,
I let bb sleep arn 8-9pm. Latest by 9.30pm she would have knocked out already. 8pm I will bring her to the room and clean her up, change into her pjs, drink her milk then make her sleep. So depending on what time she sleep, she will sleep abt 4 hrs then wake up for next feed and then sleep again .. You must set a routine for bb so she knows its time for bed. Eg washing up, playing a particular song, soften the lights etc.. I actually even want to let her sleep earlier than 9pm but cos I watching the 7pm korean series so finish at 8pm, that's when i start her sleeping routine...hahaha. maybe when the show finish I will let her sleep earlier.

As for hubby, after bb sleep we would watch tv or chit chat .. but that is provided i dont doze off together with bb esp when I am very tired. He occasionally will grumble but he knows i very tired.

oh and today i noticed that bb sweat when i carried her out from the stroller even thou she was wearing sleeveless.haha.. think it's the material of the stroller.

samamtha,
i think it's ok la. dont need to worry. bb need 16-18hrs sleep anyways.. maybe they are just adjusting accordingly.

timminbuzz,
my girl timing is similar to yours.. but lately she skipping her dreamfeed @10pm.. she is able to last till 1am or even 2am sometimes. Then next feed is 4am or 5am. But she will sure wake up at 6+ or latest 7.30am irregardless what time the prev feed.

hi dear mummies

Pamper Baby Dry (red and green) brand 46pc selling at $9.50 in Giants right now. on shelf saw was $12.60. but when paid it was $9.50.

krex,
i ever see nursing bra that open at the front at taka maternity corner. but not sure if they still have now. can check it out.

celyn,
huggies got the swimming diaper. can get at supermarket or taka.

re: nursing room
today i went tangs. wah.. their nursing room really very nice. Got pigeon sterilizer there somemore. And the soft dim lightings etc.. really very impressed

shint,
so cute, you manage to capture the smiles. so far i cant catch any good shots of her smiling thou she does smile quite often now. in her sleep and also when hb talks to her. But if i take the camera and try to catch, she will not smile already

Catherine,
hehe ... my camera is ever ready n my boy is oso vv cute,when i talk to him and ask him to smile, he actually do ... that's why i managed to capture so many smiles of him.

Next time before your hubby talks to her, get ready your camera then ask him to start .. then u can go snapping away ... sure can capture something.

hisstory n happycat
all the best., jus tahan 2wks, shld be fine liao
jia you

shint,
yr son really looks like a beach boy! so handsome ,hehe

WASH ALL NEW CLOTHES BEFORE WEARING
i think my bb kena rashes cos i "geiat xiao" went to let bb wear a brand new hooded sweater n end up with rashed frm head down to waist
i din;t know so serious

Me really getting worried now. My ger consumption for today is 380ml as of now. Her last feed is 6pm & till now, and she's still sleepy. Will bring her to PD tmr. Buy an assurance.

samamtha,
my girl slept at 7pm last nite and woke up at 2.30am for feeding and only drank 60ml then slept till 4.30am I latch her on. then she woke up at 7am for milk again.

ladyl not sure if can you get 'Infacol' in Sg but this is what the MW recommended that I use for my son when he had colic. We just give him 0.5ml before every feed (even if you are latching on baby you still can use it as it's administered thru a dropper). It works and since we don't have a problem with him crying every night because of wind. Or you could try Gripe Water if your baby is over a month old.

Regards to drinking water: I was told by the MW to try giving cooled boiled water to my baby to help relief his colic. If that didn't work than try Infacol. And two weeks ago when I brought my son to baby clinic for his forthnightly weighing in I asked the health visitor (nurse specialised in child health) about giving baby water to drink and he said it was ok. So many differing opinions, quite confusing ... perhaps the best is just do it in moderation.

Btw thought I mention this for the benefit of those of you who own MIM slings and haven't bought the instruction CD. There is another website which sells pretty much the same type of sling and they have an online video to show you how to wear the slings. If you have windows media player you can watch it. It's free
. http://www.mamaway.co.uk/Shopstyle/rgcj3/video.asp

Can anyone advise me urgently if i can breastfeed my baby after colouring my hair?

thanks in advance for the advise!

Mrs Ng,

when after discharge, i bought ridwind(infacol) off the shelf and give my baby 0.5ml. then when my baby follow up in 2 PD clinic, one DR (Dr Simon Ng) say that he rather dun encourage ridwind due to the side effect (slow gut movement) and the other Dr (DR KH Lim) advise to lower the dose to 0.2ml and advise dun over use.

ladyl,
ya, 6-in-1 is actually 5-in-1 including hep b.

twinstars,
hope ur bb rashes have cleared up now? sensitive skin reminds me of 'the princess n the pea'

shint,
ur ah boy so cute ah! mine oso got curly hair. haha! kew moh.

*wink* i believe the conspiracy is the glucose + formula milk companies! cannot drink water but can drink glucose water & milk??

sharon,
tink u shldn't breastfeed for the next 4hrs (at least) due to the chemicals.

Friso + Similac
---------------
No one interested in my offer?

faeeirkim,
ya hor ... they tell us to feed glucose water but not water? Glucose water must buy and water is free! kekekeke.

You clever clever. ;)

twinstars,
take care ....

faeriekim,
u all say the face got those little pimples - use johnson baby lotion is it?

also the head got some flakes - like dandruff, use what cream ah?

So many creams nowadays. my #1, i never put anything for him. The face so many "pimples" i oso din do anything. Then again, he was so "ugly" that i din bother to take much pictures for him .. heng, it all cleared.

Shint: Your son is so cute!!!!
My son also often smiling in his sleep..hehehe..looks very cheeky :p

Re: 6-in-1 jab
I bought my son for the jab at exactly 6weeks old, dun hav to go PD, jus the nearby clinic that offers vaccination for babies can liao. And it's only $90 per jab x 3 = $270.

My bb everyday sleep so late..almost 1 am then willing to sleep! He can dont sleep from 7pm to midnight...but 1am..sleep..8am wake up for milk..then sleep till lunch time. I hope next time he is not a party person! Always go clubbing one!

Catherine...
oh ok..so it's normal la...

sometimes...he's still really awake in the night. is ur gal usually v sleepy once u finish feeding?

morning mummies.

yu ze is down with fever yesterday night. go up till 38.3, brought him to see gp and got some medicine. but temp went down to 37.7 at gp, so he can't confirm if its fever just told us to monitor. feed medicine if its gets above 38. think due to the medicine, he is very sleepy and didn't take much milk. this morning temp is 37.7, give medicine to him again. hopefully by noon, he will get better. if not, going to bring him to kk.

catherine,
thanks on the info on huggies.

nini,
no leh. i didn't do anything for him, just give medicine. after feed temp is not correct is it? i take after feed leh.

Ya..cos after a feed he will feel hot n warm n sweaty..so reading is not accurate. Babies normal body temperature is at 37.5 degree according to the GP.

celyn,
bb so small can go pool for swim meh?

yr yu ze better now?

shint,
ZK looks so handsome & happy
his hair very long aledi hor???

i saw pigeon FTG in robinsons... u may want to check it out... duno got 20% disc or not...

agree with faerie that you should go for 6 in 1 so that ZK kena poke lesser ma...

twin star,
antenatal class got say must wash all new clothes b4 bb wears them & MUST use bb detergent/washing powder somemore...

nini,
isit? that time i brought cayla for jab... PD say to give panadol if fever temp above 37.5 lei... any other versions?