(2008/08) Aug 2008

No interest in feeding/drinking less milk

Any mommies experience this? My ger coming to 2 months le, for these past 2 days, she dun seem to hve interest in feeding & doesnt seem hungry at all. Previously, i would bottle feed her on demand, and her interval is pretty fixed at 3 hrs. Now, it has gone haywired. Sometimes 3hr+. Even after a nite sleep, she doesnt seem hungry at all. How arh?

samamtha,
ya my girl also the same. she sometimes at night can go 5hr w/o waking up. and her daily feed also haywire. but the min she hungry, it's like cannot wait must feed now. hahaha

Re: baby sleeping time
Can i check w u mummies what time do u put ur babies to bed at night? I used to end my last feed with him at ard 11pm, but i find it v unhealthy cos me n hubby will go to bed separately. He works v long hours n is v tired when he gets home, thus by 10+ he sleeps. Do u girls go to bed together w hubby or separately now? If separately, isnt it abit unhealthy? Read books that shd put baby to sleep by 7+ 8pm??? But like that how to last thru e night. Im trying to change his sleeping time to earlier

Good Morning Mommies!
Lata bringing #1 for our dental appt in town so can shop again…

Celyn,
How is your first day at work? Me oso joining you next week liao…
BTW, you mentioned your bb is small (PD’s feedback), then y dun you increase his milk volume per feed since he is able to take in some water after each feed means he can drinks more right? Just my opinion lah. =P

YLN,
My mom got the “ang hwa” from the plant my dad planted…think quite commonly found in most households who have plants…

Rata,
I’m oso feeding Maegan 4hrly in the day so both Jacinta and Maegan the same, drink little and dun wake up for milk at night liao…yday night at 10pm, I tried increasing the last feed to 150ml and she managed to finish it…will try again today…weigh her yday, she is already 5.39kg so I’m not concerned that she is drinking lesser since she is gaining weight. =P

Happycat,
We slept in the same room as my bb too and I also get disturbed by the noises she made in the night so now I let her have the bed while I sleep on mattress, blissful man coz I can have undisturbed sleep liao…heehee

Dongle,
I used my mom’s method of giving more at the last feed at 11pm+ and normally when bbs sleep, they won’t be hungry 1 so shd be able to last her till the next morning…but I’m using FM so might be more filling than BM…slowly, I made the last feed earlier, now is 10pm+ before 10.30pm so that I can sleep earlier too…

Shint,
So far the longest that my bb doesn’t poo is 1 day…you might wana check with the PD when you see him.

Vone,
Got your email, will tsf the $ to you lata. Thanks again!

RTCP,
I try to adjust my bb’s feeding time so that she will be hungry during the time I feed her at the last feed…you can try to do that?

Jassie,
My gal doesn’t like sleeping on pillows too…using the BBsafe pillow on her and next morning, her head will be on the flat mattress too…hahaha

Valnsw & Snow,
Hehe, I brought Maegan for the swim and massage yday liao…went PS outlet, the services were good and Maegan enjoyed the swim and massage…she was “talking” to the lady who was massaging her too…very funny! Since hb sponsored so I signed up for the 4+1 promo too…heehee…after the package, I’m thinking to try her swimming at my mom’s pl bathroom coz she has a tub big enough and I ordered the neck float liao…hahaha

Valnsw,
“Ang hwa” is a leafy plant that can be found in most households who have plants…I also dun know what plant is it coz my mom is the 1 who plucked for me lor…heehee

Congrats on Chevelle able to sleep through the night on Tue, it is a good start and who knows it will be a routine liao…maybe you try putting her to bed earlier so you can have a good and earlier rest too…

Twin Stars,
My gal likes to sleep in the bouncer during the day too coz my mom said more cooling so we let her be…heehee

Hi Catherine,

Me so worried about my ger now. Last time, when she's on 3 hr interval, she would cry the whole house down when she's hungry. I'm so not hearing such cries from her these few days. And in the morning, she would wake me up for her milk, now is I wake up her.

morning ladies!
abit feverish today, think will go bk to sleep again later. =(

valnsw
sent u the actual copy of the calendar liao, but i only have enough bb to do till mth of aug leh. =P
if we can have another 16 - 20 mommies send in their bb photos, that would be best lor...hee hee...then we can have a complete yr 2009 calendar liao.

m2b
must be very cute, zynn also keep blowing bubble when she swim lor.
think they really enjoy swimming at this stage ya?
so surprise to see all those bb kick water better than me man....ha ha.... =D
when u intend to bring her to her 2nd swim?

samantha
that is natural leh, bb will change their sleeping and feeding pattern as time past.
she used to cry the whole house down is cos she used to "eat" as and when she wanted in ur stomach, she will feel scared when she actually gotta feel hungry w/o food.
now that she adapt to the outside world liao, its better to let her sleep according to her own needs lor.
they will have a big change again during 4th or 5th mth. =)

celyn,
saw you helping to post. thanks!

Samantha / Catherine,
same here, my bb now seems more interested in sleeping more than drinking.
Her routine now abit haywire. Tues and Wed was ok until this morning, she drank lesser than her usual 90ml.
Wondering if it's ok or not.

M2B,
I was hoping Chevelle wld continue her pattern but this morning, she woke up 3AM and 7.20AM to feed. Her last feed yday was 11PM. So didn't last her more than 4hrs.
hopefully tonight she will be better.

snow,
thanks for sending me the calendar!

Hehe, will save it, v fun to look at all the babies!

Oh what big change will babies have during 4th or 5th mth?
So isit norm that Chevelle starts to be more interested in sleeping than drinking? Somemore, she drank less than her usual 90ml for her first 2 feeds of the day.

shay,
U brought Ashton for jab at Baby and Child alrdy? How was it?

Medusa,
You also going to Baby and Child to see Dr Ho? You going to the Rivervale Mall I suppose? I prob be going to the Tampines one or else I just bring to the Oasis clinic in Bedok.

valnsw
u are most welcome. =)

actually when human sleep, our metalbolism(dunno how to spell) will stop working.
its only normal that we wun feel hungry in that case, same theory for bb.
only if we are awake, then we will feel hungry easier.
thats the reason why some bb can go w/o feed at nite.

by 4th of 5th mth, their sleeping pattern will "settle down" already.
think cos they can diff between day and nite liao bah.
so for those who have cranky bb, life shd be better after 4th or 5th mth lor. =)

joanne
just saw ur post.
sad to say, by the time u have more than 1 kid, u gotta give up the thought of sleeping at the same time with hb lor.
unless ur hb willing to wait for u.
even the younger 1 can sleep early, there is no way ur older kid will do that. =P
think u gotta wait till both of them reach at least a stable age, then its easier to ctrl bah.

shint
Thanks! I shall try placing my hand on bb's left chest
I also tell my ger I'm putting her in the cot & ask her to be a gd ger & sleep tight

twin stars
Oh nono, we never shared the bed with bb.. She always slept on a mattress at night in my mum's room & in the cot during her first 4 weeks..

But I suspect I have to introduce lullabies & sitting with her as she sleeps in the cot.. Shall work on tt this weekend & see if there's any progress. I was watching last night's bb show on Ch U, they also mention security.. So prob lullabies & being by her side till she can be abit more 'independent'. I must pray for patience to get thru this period, if not it wld be quite jialat in the long run if this prob persists

M2B
Where did u order the neck float fr? My hb thinks swimming at the place is crazily expensive.. So i must improvise liao

snow
haiz, taking of children really isnt easy at all.. The whole pregnancy i merely had headaches & occasionally some bodyaches, but the cold/flu I used to have when non-preggy stayed away during the 9mth..

Now tt bb has arrived & coupled with insuff sleep, i'm plagued with headaches & cold/flu at least once a week.. So much so tt i rather not take medication, in case of regular consumption, bb might affected..

Snow,

Thanks for the advice. Think my ger is small eater. Compared with other babies, my ger is drinking lesser than 600ml per day. Will check with PD if she's gaining good weight.

hisstory,
u can pull thru one. it didn't take long for baby to adjust. only thing is the initial few days.......may b tough but hang in there cos after tat will b blissful

now i also need to train my gal to sleep thru the night n see how...

M2B,
mine also need rocker chair when she is hot......another funny thing is...that is also her "poo" chair...whenever she sits on that chair, she often "poo" so when she hasn;t poo for the day, we put her on the chair n "wa la" poo ,hehe
next time i hope it will be easy for me to potty train her *fingers cross*

hisstory
ya lor, can imagine last time how come our mum can give birth to and take care of so many kids? -_-"
so believe urself that u can okie?

understand ur fear, now me also dunno if i should cont to bf since running fever.
cos tmr zynn going for her jab again, wait she also fever how? =(

samantha
if u are worry, try to increase 10ml per feed and see if she can accept lor.
as long as she dun vomit the milk out, that mean she is ready for the increase liao.
dun worry too much, diff bb progress differently ok? =)

good morning mummies, i just wake up. hehe....

m2b,
first day at work is ok. nothing to do. hahah.... anyway, i'm at home today cos too tired from the force night feed again(feed every 3hours).

i try to increase his intake but failed. he will not finished his milk when i put him on a 3 hourly feed. at certain feeds, he only drink 50ml or 60ml. then he won't want water too.

feed him on demand, then he will finished both milk and water.

twin stars
Thanks ger! I must pull through.. Esp before my mum goes back home to do my sis's confinement. I am prepared to rough it out, for tt matter let her 'cry it out' till she sleeps, but my mum's worried tt she wld take in a lot of air as she cries..

Am looking fwd to bliss.. heheh, now am playing lullabies to her while she's in the cot

snow
Yah lor, i salute my mum.. Even more so now! Taking care of her grandkids & even our meals.. Amazing!

Are u going to take medication to nurse the fever? Take gd care & drink buckets of water..

re ftg bp:

I have checked with the supplier,

1.FTG-1200S - in stock
2.FTG-1220 - no stock
3.FTG-1208 - no stock
4.FTG-1199- upgraded to FTG-1199S selling $52.00 (aft discount is $42)
5.new Pigeon Fridge-to-go - they do not sell and distribute Pigeon FTG in Singapore.

Let me know if you girls are interested to get the FTG for transporting breastmilk.

hi everyone...
are u gals doing sleep training for ur babies already? heard and read it's only suitable from 3 months. true?

my bb definitely can't sleep thru the night! waking @ abt 1 and 4am for feed. how come all ur bbs can sleep thru! so shiok! he's on TBF. i also put him down earlier @ abt 7+pm. and i feed @ 8pm and a dreamfeed @ 10+pm. pls advice.

history...
my bb also has probs sleeping in cot. esp in the day! VERY hard to put down! constantly want to be carried. i tried putting my hand on him, patting him, singing etc...but he just gets angrier n angrier. have not started sleep training cos everyone tells me to wait till 3 months. how are u training ur bb?

vone,
just paid up for your DS spree... thanks...

rata,
oic... so good...

shint,
means that i dont have to do anything right?

samantha,
my gal also drinking slightly lesser at 100ml per feed than a week ago which was 120ml... when i last saw my PD, she say 200g weight increment per week is quite normal for my bb... you may want to ask yr PD to check on her weight gain..

m2b,
thanks... FM seems more filling but the prob with my gal is that sometimes she will even reject ebm given by my HB & want to suckle at my breast to sleep...

snow,
yr posting gives me more assurance that life would be better in a few 2 or 3 months time... hahaha... my gal got a lot of pattern cos we ourselves dont have routine lifestyle...

i ever kena fever & still bf also... called the tmc hotline & the nurse say ok to bf while taking normal panadol... take care...

little twin stars,
you put your baby to cot wide awake? Not after feed or rocking? Mine have to cuddle for a while before puttin in cot drowsy but awake. Sometimes she will settle to sleep, sometimes wont. I am trying to find ways to get ride of cuddling before puttin to cot. Can share more info on your technique?

Hello mommies!

Re: nursing covers
Robinson has good range? Which one is better? Those 'apron' type or shawl type? Wed brought bb out then used the nursing room at J8 for bf. Dunno if i know to use nursing cover properly in public or not leh. :p

Re: Fm - after 1 month
How? I find it very wasteful to throw. Can we adult drink infant FM? Like add into our milo?

Re: bb swimming
Wah! Seeing so many rave reviews and happy smiling babies, so tempted to bring bb to swim too! But maybe i need to 'xian zhan hou zhou' oso... hubby very conservative, always says bb too small. :S

Snow,
Thanks for the nice work on the calendar!
Hope u r feeling better?

RE: bb sleeping pattern
I think the mattress is warm, so bb dun like. My bb oso like tt. Day time we either put him in the bouncer or on our bed with the bolster propping his head up. Aiyah, my bb last week can sleep thru the nite, this week haywire again. This week he v cranky starting from 8.30pm everyday, then after much cuddling n comfort suckling, he'll sleep for 4-5 hrs. I tried waking him up for milk after 3hrs oso no use. He just spits out. Then after tt will wake up 3 hrly at 3plus, 6 plus for milk. Sianz... Hope he trys to regulate his sleeping pattern again.

Thanks Catherine!

1. Catherine ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
1.1 constance - 1pc
2. Gayle - ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
3. Vone ( [email protected] ) - 2 pcs
4. nini - 2 pcs
5. M2B - 2 pcs
6. aurora ([email protected]) - 1 pc
7. valnsw ( [email protected] )- 1 pc
8. krex - ([email protected]) - 2 pcs
9. Sharon - 2 pcs
10. Joanne ( [email protected] )- 2 pcs
11. von(mrsgan) ([email protected]) - 1 pc
12. wing wing - 1 pc
13. Shint ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc
14. Tiffany ( [email protected] ) - 1 pc

m2b, ya lor. in fact my gal drink abt 4 times a day onli. some times even though i feed her every 4hrly she still like not hungry de. I m also not too worry as Jacinta is having a good weight too.

Survey on BB's Milk Intake

Name : ZK
Daily intake : 800-1000ml
per feed : around 100ml
Birth Weight : 3.65kg
Weight : 5.4kg
Current Age : Week 6

Name : zynn
Daily intake : 600-800ml
per feed : around 100ml
Birth Weight : 2.67kg
Weight : ~4kg
Current Age : Week 7.5

Name : yu ze
Daily intake : 600-660ml
per feed : around 80ml
Birth Weight : 3.21kg
Weight : 4.5kg
Current Age : coming 2 months

Name : Chevelle
Daily intake : 630-720ml
per feed : around 90ml
Birth Weight : 3.13kg
Weight : ~4.2kg (at wk5 check)
Current Age : Week 7.5

Name : SL
Daily intake : 720ml
per feed : around 90ml
Birth Weight : 3.3kg
Weight : 5.2kg at 6 week
Current Age : coming 2 months

Name : KW
Daily intake : ard 1000ml
per feed : 110ml
Birth Weight : 3.2kg
Weight : 5kg at 6 week
Current Age : 8 wks

Name: Bernice
Daily intake: ard 800-1000ml
per feed: 70-90ml (1 feed of 120ml at night)
Birth weight : 2.69kg
weight: 4.955kg @ 8weeks
current age: 8 weeks

Name: Chiemi
Daily intake: ard 900-1100ml
per feed: 90ml-110ml
Birth weight : 2.88kg
weight: 4.7kg @ 6weeks
current age: comin 2 mths

Name: Braiden
Daily intake: ard 800ml-1000ml
per feed: 120ml
Birth weight : 3.345kg
weight: 5.2kg
current age: 6 weeks

Name: Jonah
Daily intake: 600ml
per feed: 4x 90ml and 2x 120ml
Birth weight : 2.8kg
weight: 5kg
current age: 8 weeks+

Name: Maegan
Daily intake: abt 675ml
per feed: 135ml
Birth weight : 3.445kg
weight: 4.52kg (at 1month’s jab)
current age: 2 months

Name: Jacinta
Daily intake: 600-750ml
per feed: 150ml
Birth weight : 3.625kg
weight: 5.81kg (at 8 weeks)
current age: 9+ weeks

Name: Cayla
Daily intake: abt 800ml
per feed: 100ml to 120ml
Birth weight : 3.33kg
current age: 10 weeks

Name: Joshua
Daily intake: abt 1200ml
per feed: 160ml to 200ml
Birth weight : 2.96kg
current age: 7+wks

Name : Reagan
Daily intake : 600-800ml
per feed : 50-90ml
Birth Weight : 2.5kg
Weight : 5.3kg (@ 8 weeks)
Current Age : Week 10

I let bb latch on most of the time. FM at night he only takes 50ml max. If I give EBM, he takes abt 70ml - 90ml. Very small drinker hor? Hopefully he drinks more when he latches on.

<font color="blue">hi all, sorry for interrupting..i am a mummy from the june thread. i have 2 packs of brand new fitti size S diapers for sales. It's suitable for babies below 7kg. I am selling at $12 each. Please pm me if you are interested.</font>

Hi Jas,
I remember you said u brought your bb to Ikea Tampines before.

Which level is the nursing room?
Thinking of bringing bb out tmrw.

Dongle,
Yes, do nothing. Whatever Nini ordered, it's hers.

Left over Infant Formula
Same as aurora, I was thinking can i give it to my #1? he is 2.5 yrs old now. I opened it ard early Sept ba i think.

Baby Swimming
When we go to the swimming sessions, we have to purchase the float? or we can use theirs? then later decide to buy one if wan to use it in the swimming pool?

When can start baby in the swimming pool? The water will be too cold?

Cos thinking whether i wan to join the BP now.

Shint

i dunno where to start spree for the pigeon fridge to go. but i currently thinking to buy this cooler bags. the blue one in giant for small one cost $23.80 n big one cost $40.90.

1760470.jpg
1760471.gif

both above cooler can transport frozen EBM and better inner material than below

1760472.jpg

shint,
actually my nanny say that can bring baby to swimming pool liao. but don't let him play in the baby pool for too long, come back just wash off the chlorine will do. my ex-colleagues' babies all go swimming after 1 month.

if we bring baby swimming, is there any special diaper to buy in case they poo.

Ruixuan,
Sounds good leh ... cheaper some more.
I wan only a small one to transport milk from office to home and sometimes going out, to bring out 2-3 bottles of EBM so can let him drink when outside.

Sorry ah, wanna ask how to make the cooler bag cold? Dun wan to put the whole bag ie FTG into the freezer if possible. *Never used cooler bag before.

If they do sell, I wan to find those like pigeon one which can take out the cooler bars and put in the fridge rather than put the whole bag inside the freezer.

I might check it out on tomorrow when i go to IKEAN Tampines.

ALso, for PIGEON FTG, u mean they dun sell it in Singapore ? or they sell in major shopping centres but not the link that u posted for FTG?

FTG:
anyone can recommend a suitable FTG that can store just 4 avent 4 oz bottles? i want one that is compact and can go inside my isis duo twin pump bag. i'll use whatever avail space i have to slot in the FTG and won't be using the grey coloured thermal bags provided. very troublesome to freeze 8 ice packs!

GOON diapers:
mommies, anyone using S size yet? my boy is 2 mths and 5kg liao, but S size still very big for him. i think he can still use NB size even if he grows till 6kg!

nursing bras:
anyone using nursing bras that open from the front? where to buy? was thinking whether to buy or not, since more convenient to express when at work. currently, all my nursing bras open from the shoulder.

breast pump:
anyone tried pumping both breasts using manual pump? how long does it take?

really ... cool. but i dun dare to try it out myself leh ... maybe i shld bring him to the swimming at the tub first?

Who tried putting baby straight into the pool?

celyn, u can try special swim gear from bum wear. they have a retail shop at novena. else normal swimming trunks might work. bb shouldn't be able to poo in the water due to the pressure.

Snow,
Currently, my ger drinking 80-100ml depending on her mood. But i will give her 100-110ml. Thus, I doubt she's ready for the increase. How I wish she would take more. Actually if a bb is active, sleeps well, pees often, i shouldnt worry too much rite?

Dongle,
Will definitely check with PD on her weight gain. I sorta weighed her juz now, ard 4kg+. Hope its an ideal weight.

use these:

1760540.jpg
1760541.jpg
1760542.jpg

the chiller cost 4 to 6 dollar.

cheaper way is to freeze ur own ice cube in a plastic bag or a bag of water into plastic bag and freeze it. if think water is too messy, can freeze the macdonald chilli packet to treat it as cooler packet but must use many.

Fridge-to-go Singapore Flagship Store Now Open!

Fridge-To-Go Singapore flagship store now open at Selffix DIY Vivo City. This store will be able to display most of our FTG product. It is located at

Harbourfront Walk,
#B2-20, S'(098585)
Tel: 63769071
(Opposite Giant hypermart)"

not sure the above shop sell pigeon FTG

i saw in the WTB thread that some are selling away their FTG...

i wondering - does fridge to go 'sweat'? That is, will condensation occurs (water droplets appearing on the exterior of the fridge to go bag)?

krex: Goon diaper S size is big for my boy too..the cutting is very big hor. got once, the poo poo flow out from the sides and on my lap when i was feeding him...So now i using MamyPoko Size S which is just nice. Currently also using cheap cheap Pureen size s which is small lor..can tahan 1-2 times pee only..very lao yah!

nini, i'm using goon NB and it leaked 2x already, but i think more becoz my boy poo a LOT! yest and today, he filled the whole diaper with poo. and becoz his poo is so watery, it leaked to the gathers and onto his clothes. can't be helped lah. i think any other diaper will also leak coz' the poo is so much and so liquid. i will still use goon but maybe switch to mamy poko when going out. have a feeling mamy poko can fill more poo but i don't really know yet coz' my boy has not leaked poo out of mamy poko diaper before.

krex78

i also heard From dr that baby less than six month, kinda of dun take water cos will spolit their kidney when they are older.

Hi Shint!

Re: Pacifier...

Can't help it cos sometime it's soo hard to pacify her with jus carrying, coaxing and cuddling... She has colic and just starts crying from 11pm to 3.30am every night non stop like as if someone is torturing her very badly we really don't know what to do... Sigh...

My mom &amp; dad quite pantang and thinks it's cos we sometimes bring her out so they said that it cos of something 'dirty' disturbing her... Cos she's really tired but can't sleep just keeps crying non stop... :-(

my son dun like to NUK brand and we are using the AVENT 0-3 month type. the NUK one is too short and that well it keep coming out.

if ur baby cries and dun wan the pacifier then maybe ur baby is hungry. or perhaps u can carry him up to burp. my son behave and cry non-stop type. how old is ur baby by the way?

timminbuzz
hmm, so far i've been slinging my ger.. But i'm trying to sling her for an hr before taking her out &amp; placing her back into the cot. Trying to stretch the duration in the cot while shortening the duration in the sling

Not much progress, but have to keep trying..

aurora
I got the apron type.. Robinsons (Mums &amp; Babes has the same brand) has better designs than that i saw at Kiddy Palace
Am also not terribly confident in using it, but must practice.. I went Taka's nursery to use the nursing room, but occupied, so I sat in the corner of the diaper changing area &amp; used the nursing cover. The other few places i've tried nursing in public are church &amp; Bishan library..

ladyl,

my son cries a lot at night also. not sure if it's colic. my PD gave some medicine...maybe u can check with yours also. can try rubbing those chinese medicated oil on stomach. it will help a bit. if not, try cradling or rocking him along with a lullaby. it helps for my kid.