(2008/08) Aug 2008

Man Yue Party:
We finally finished the celebration for SY last Saturday. Phew! Ended up ordering Neo Garden for the catering, ordered the eclairs fm the BP, ordered oni 10 boxes of cakes fm Gobi (for family & close frens), ordered 1 cake fm roomfordessert. *clap hands* yay!

hisstory,
in the end i no order rich&good cos too leiche. never even do any party favours. eeks. hope everybody were contented wif the food.

vone,
i wanna self-collect. lemme know when i can do tat n payment details as well

cocomo,
u got LOTSA milk. i had to 'donate' more than 20packs of my milk to my mum cos i didn't store in properly (din freeze but juz put in fridge). so, my mum's gonna have a ball washing her face wif my milk :S

cocomo,
u give your milk to your fren to? she drinks it or? is there other uses for our breast milk?

faeriekim,
Our breast milk can use to wash face one ah? really? maybe i can use it to wash my face? then will become smooth smooth not? kekekekeee.

My MIL says can use breastmilk to put on baby's head and then they will grow more hair? real not?

Furthermore, she says maybe can put on my hubby's head cos he oso dropping hair, maybe can help to grow? If really work, then i must start new business to counter YUN NAN ... mine is no herbs, just pure straight from the breast FRESH MILK. hehehe, think this business proposal will work?
Now economy not too good, must try to make $$ to cover AIA loss.

Huichin,
The 2 extra packs of milkbags taken liao leh .... maybe u wanna ask if anyone else has extra to sell. If u really in need, i can sell 1 packet to u first .... Alternatively, u can join other sprees on the overseas spree forum.

Now i still have 1 lanosin cream - to apply on the breast for healing if it cracks, for maintenance if u pump/latch alot .... one tube can last vv long. I have 1 more extra one with vone if u wan.

Me ah ... only got hook on spree recently cos more time. Calculation, me oso not too clear, just know it's cheaper ... hehee. Maybe those who are more familiar can answer?

shint,
very useful ah BM, can even use to soak ur feet??? my fren told me to put BM on baby's eyebrow so tat will grow thicker eyebrow. keke...

wat u gonna call ur new startup?

cocomo & YLN, tks for sharing! i think i will just look for an airtight container or giant ziplog bag to pack the milk. i can only manage one bag every 2-3 days. took a pic of the freezer situation now. experimented with storing milk with the base and without. i think if stored w/o the base, might leak. i took a look this morning at the milk bag and the milk already reached the zipper area...so risky!

1734140.jpg

jas, will look out for the room when i next go ikea tampines. compass pt is at sengkang. so far i only see kiddy toilet but no place to feed bb or change diaper.

Faeriekim,
Me oso lazy to source liao .. prob ordering Neo Gardens oso .. and some eclairs from the BP. Gobi good? maybe i order some from rich and good.

Now i damn busy, hubby even wan me to help him do some stuff for his office. *sigh. #1 wans attention from me, hubby needs help, #2 poor thing .. mama give least time.

faeriekim,
that means really can lah .. put on the head then can grow thicker hair? my son like my hubby, little hair root .. maybe i can do that? put how much? how long?
Later he machiam smell like rotten milk leh.
Dun mind if it works. Only for baby, how about adult? hubby dropping hair, can use not? hehee. Maybe can experiment then if really work, then i start part time work for nursing mommies. Breastmilk to sell. kekekeke.

Shint, ok noted. How much cheaper is the milk bags from where u ordering from as compared to outside? Can get them at places like Mothercare/Kiddy palace? And are they reusable? Solly ah ask u so many qtns... :p

shint,
milk smells nice hor.. no such thing as rotten milk lah, or is there? haha... but if ur hubby is willing to try, tat wld be the best answer for u. see whether it works or not. some more, no need to pay $.

btw, ur #1 now attending which childcare ah?

faeriekim,
Backside itchy can apply not? heehee.
Call it WAN NENG NAI(superpower milk)!
Those JIN YONG stories always have WAN QING SHUI, now we have WAN NENG NAI - For hair, eyebrows, feet and perhaps backside.

wei ... u got 20 packets to give .. alot oso leh.
Wha, the mommmies here all produdcing well har ... me only managed to store 7 packets so far .. cos my thirsty baby drinks 100ml every 2-2.5 hours, how to have enough to store so fast?

My milk dun smell nice leh ... i used to smell my baby's head and it has this CHAO DA (burnt) smell ... then i credit it to the photo therapy session i did at home but one day i realised that it smells like my breastmilk. CHAO DA smell ... eeekss!

huichin,
i dunno how much cheaper leh ..... i know order from US cheaper lor. Think can buy from those normal shops oso but i know it's like $1 per bag i think.

Cannot reuse one.

faeriekim,
#1 attending Learning Vision. I think they quite good leh.

Son oredi learnt how to SAR KAR the daddy ... at 2.5 yrs old, he drew some lines and then tell daddy "Daddy, I drew something special for you" .. and when asked what it was ... he says it was "choo choo train, go here, go there, far away" .... then daddy says "Darling, why dun u add some more colors?" ... and he answers "No, thank you".

When i read stories for him, once finished, he will say "That's a good story". hehee, so funny.

shint, my milk smells like "chao sng" rather than "chao tar", haha. when i pump, it smells like sour yoghurt! but my hb say dun have this smell leh?!?

anw, the milk tastes horrible too. it's actually sweet and nothing like the cow's milk we adults are drinking. wonder why bb likes the milk, haha.

I also envy those that have so much milk. I only had enuff to feed 3 times for my son. Then recently after his 1st month celebration due to moving back to my in-law's place and not so convenient, my supply drop. My son do not like to latch on and he will struggle when i try. so left me with no choice to pump out. For those who are interested in storage bag, maybe can see this website. http://www.freewebs.com/mybreastmilkstoragebags/

Sleeping
My son slp longer with his tummy down too. now that he is 5 weeks I am still afraid, so only dare to let him slp tummy down once in a while.

I will try what Samantha teaches and see if he can slp throughout the night, then I can start to bring him back to my in-law's place every day. Cos now he is still waking up very often at night and I am staying seperately with my hubby.

cocomo,
Me too also keep the BM in a ziploc bag be it in fridge or freezer. I only pump once a day and now my freezer got alot of FBM to, luckily my freezer compartment is super super big.

When I BF my first kid, she don't like my FBM and i taste it, it is really yucky so in the end never store in freezer but fridge, everyday sure got a lot of BM going to expire so i use it to wash my face too. Hehe!

Amabel's Mommy,
u pump once a day and oredi got alot to store? wow. The rest of the time u latch on is it?

Me still considering to take fenugreek but yet to get started.

shint,

BM usage: :S dun ask me this kind of qn leh.. i oni know abt eyebrow n face leh n never try on itchy backside...

learning vision: cool.. tot of putting my #1 at the tp branch fm next yr.. or even fm next mth... start wif half day 1st.

Shint,
Yup latch on rest of the time. Only pump once in the morning and can get about 250ml. I am planning to pump twice a day and slowly increase the number of pump and bottlefeed her instead, this is to prepare myself if i go back to work. As I got forceful let-down, hence whenever latch on, my girl will get choke, spit milk out and struggle whenever I got let down. It is very stressful for both of us if that happened, so will increase the pump session soon. but yet I dont want to lose the special bonding of latching her so early.

I do heard that fenugreek not work for everyone

amabel's mommy,
my dd oso struggles, choke, etc. whenever i first latch her on as there will be let down.. then when some other mommy saw me feeding my dd like so gan kor like tat, i felt so embarassed. :S

Shint/Ambel's mommy,
I am giving the BM to my fren to feed her daughter, hopefully she will not use for facial else I very sim tia

Re: milk bag
I personally like pigeon milk bag but they are ex compare to lansinoh's. I just started to use lansinoh last week and so far never leak also.

hello mommies! =)
sorry for late reply, just came back from 2 interviews today...

cocomo
zynn was 3.45kg and 50cm @ 1 mth.
my friends they all bring their bb there since 5th to 7th wks leh, where got small?

ya lor, i sign up 5 sessions package to try try 1st.
heart pain to fork out $196 suddenly leh, just to swim u noe?
the daddy said he swim only $3.60...ha ha....

valnsw
according to my nyphew who study early childhood, swimming is gd in strengthen bb spine and bone leh.
they will be more agile, and can learn walking faster lor.
the staff there told me bb below 5 mth will enjoy and benefit more from this swim.
so, shd bring her there leh.

ya, add $50 to top up for 5 time massage sessions also.
we are given a card to record each visit, so ithink they only recognise that card instead of which outlet bah.
i can ask again on my next visit lor.

rat
thx...ya lor, so happy to see our bb climbing each and every small steps of their milestone hor?

m2b
ya, she simply KO again after her feed lor.
i told my hb shd bring her there ard 6pm, then she will KO till next day. =P

gd leh, shd tell ur hd to carry on the gd work...hee hee...

hisstory
ha ha....next time u will say the same thing also lor

ya ya ya, shd go.
zynn simply KO, wait up to drink milk 4.5hrs later, then KO again.
think they will be tired after exercise ya?

krex
try the harbourfront outlet, their service better.
i understand what u mean, cos i used to work with a group of china subordinates.

actually initially zynn cried also, but after few secs she like so enjoy liao lor.
as long as its gd for ur bb, dun let other non-related factor affect ya?

shint & celyn
I like the Pupsik one coz I dun have to fuss with adjustments which MIM's sling requires.. But having said tt, it also means tt if u want someone else of a diff size to handle the Pupsik sling, it might not be possible, as the sling is a fixed size

M2B
heheh, oh yah.. Infants can be more manageable as they only eat, sleep & shit! Older bbs must discipline & entertain.. heheh

Oooh, Tiffany.. Buy sthg to treat urself? I realise it is quite diff to buy clothes if shopping w/o hb, no one to help me carry bb so tt i can try on clothes.. HB remarked, oooh, can save $$$

Alamak, sling is like yao lan mah, how to get suffocated in it?

snow
hahah, if my ger can sleep 4 hrs w/o swimming, i wld be so happy liao.. Must wait a couple more weeks bah. If not, must resort to swimming!

faeriekim
So which confectioner did u use in the end? I think i wld go with Melrose for my colleagues & then get vouchers for some others..
Did u get the additional discount for Neo Garden?

Hihi all
Brought my little gal for her 1st checkup last Sat, she weighs 6.5kg at 9weeks. Though she is more than doubled of her birth weight (2.62kg) PD sd she is normal,maybe big bone. BTW any1 know of a gd PD at KKH?We are not comfortable with the PD who we seen. Fd him quite rough.

huichin,
BF Pumping timing
mine is in the morning (ard 7+ - 8+am) and at night (ard 8+ - 9+pm). Each breast average abt 100ml. My little gal is on BF and formula.

Milk bag
I used The First Years milk bag. Bought from Kiddy Palace at $19.90 for 25 packets.

Would like to seek opinions, i hesitated if i shd get a baby carrier or sling. coz sometimes i would carry my little gal(w/o carrier or sling) when i go out alone with her. so tot maybe a carrier or sling would come handy then. Wat do u thk?

snow, i gotta convince my hb again to see if he wants to try the swimming thingy. punggol is still more convenient for us as we live there.

huichin, $6 seems very cheap and the milk bag looks almost like TFY one that i bought. i will consider if i can finish using all the 25 bags i just bought over the weekend, heehee.

i pump every 3-4 hours, total 6x a day. one of them will be ard 3am in the morning, and that's when i usu get the most milk. on average, i get about 80ml every 3 hours.

isetan & robinsons sale:

i really really feel like going for both. haven't been shopping for soooo long and it's so boring staying home all day. getting my hb to ask if his mom can come over to babysit my boy on thurs so i can go isetan, heehee.

huichin,
I pump at 6:30am, 12:30pm, 6:30pm and 12:30am. Each pump can get 400-500ml, I latch my gal middle of night and in btw pumps I latch my girl occationally as well. My gal is TBF now.

ruixuan,
Think you can store max ard 160-180ml kua but I am storing 4OZ each pack now.

snow,
I went to harbourfront branch ytday, very tempted to let her swim but my mom and hubby object strongly. Think I will only let her try at 3rd mth.

Amabel's mommy,
I dunno if I shd keep so much FBM as I dun think my gal will have chance to drink them as well, So now I try to reduce my BM liao.

vone,
Got your PM.

vone / dongle,
Let me arrange Sat if can collect the stuff and then pass to dongle.
Might be going to ILs' place on Sat (only talk but not confirmed yet). I hv both your hp number so anything I can sms u both.
Will fix up the timing with both of you by Thur/Fri.

Catherine,
wahaha... so it's the mummy who wants to go out. Actually me too ;P

M2B,
Ya lo, our babies tend to be asleep when go out huh? Yday bring bb out to stroll in the park, also fall asleep. haiz.
Hee... actually I have 2 carriers at home w me but nvr practise using them.

hisstory / celyn,
so both MIM and pupsik slings are gd. But me thinks prob wil not get a sling.. since it seems like more hassle, if cannot go try on clothes if bb is in the sling, as what M2B says.

Re: shopping w stroller
Wa... looks like most mummies bring maid and stroller out to shop huh... Now I'm thinking I also cannot handle stroller and bb alone neh...

krex / catherine,
I called the number on the website, some Chinaman answered the call, he sounds so blur.

cocomo / YLN / shint / faeriekim,
u really hv lotsa milk! hehe like what Shint says, you can sell your milk on ebay alrdy.

snow,
I asked the chinaman who answered said can use at any outlet and then must use within 3 mths.
still contemplating leh abt the swimming sessions, cos thinking if her daddy can sponsor else it's gona be me lo...

cocomo,
your mum and hubby objected to your bb going for the swim sessions too? Sigh... I wana bring bb leh but my mum and hubby all objected. Hmmph! Else was thinking I buy the promo session but use them 1 mth later.

Ordered tingkat dinner from meihao today.. Very nice!

Do we have to go PD for bb checkup? Can go normal GP? If i am goin for the 6-in-1 jab, then i dont have to go for the hep B 2nd jab right??

hi mummies.. i from feb mtb 08. got 1 bottle of fenugreek bought in may from lucky vitamins.(mother love). to let go cause stopped BF already. Bought at $27, willing to let go at $20.. will throw in abt 1/3 opened bottle pm me if interested. expiry date 01/11

Need your advice! I'm thinking whether to stock up on FBM. As I will continue to pump in office after I'm back to work. Hence, is there a need to stock up on FBM?

Another Q, how do I de-freeze the FBM?

Eh, im having menses again? I thought my lochia ended last week..so surprising to see blood stain down there. Anyone facing the same problem? I m still breastfeeding my bb lei...

Btw anyone wants to do a spree for this? Is this better than MIM sling in ur opinon? I am intending to get one...
http://www.SleepyWrap.com/

Snow,
Haha, Zynn really KO after the swimming session man!
Ya, think shd get hb to feed the morning feeds on weekends so I can sleep longer…heehee

Catherine,
The last time I read somewhere that bbs can go swimming after 6mths but must be afternoon coz water is warm and only for 30mins…

Hisstory,
Yalor, I aiming for a ring at T&C but shall see how…heartpain to spend the kind of $...
Yup, with the sling, how to try clothes?? Can only look at shoes, bag and accessories…hahaha

Valnsw,
You shd try the carrier/sling, really convenient…but I do get a lot of stares when I used it outside lor…there are people who mistaken that I’m holding a bag until they stand real close to see that there is a bb inside…OMG

morning ladies. =)

hisstory
ya, cos ur younger ya?
but dun wait too long, else bb will forget this special survival skill that they have lor.
now what u can do is nap whenever bb is sleeping lor.

krex
oic, ok.
just incase u gave up just because service staffs not gd lor.

u going to both sales alone ya?

cocomo
hee hee....what u said make me think of 9pm that show, the mil forbided so many things that are normal to youngster now. =P
think as long as its before 5mths, bb shd be able to enjoy lah.

robinson sale = 24th - 28th sep

valnsw
ok, thx for the info.
what i did is bring zynn to swim, then call the daddy to come anf fetch us.
when he saw zynn swimming happily inside, i ask him how many sessions he wanna sign up. =D
hee hee....
he got no choice cos the service staff there is starring at him for an ans, and he dun have the heart to reject cos his daughter is so happy inside the water.
ofcos, not all man can use this stradegy lah.

m2b
ya, think exercise really make them tired.
but as long as its gd for her health, why not lor.
come to think of it, its really not ez for hubby also hor?
gotta work during wkday, and help us look after bb at wkend.
but like what PM lee said, they gotta learn how to do that liao lor.

ya lor, so many ppl look at my hb when he help me to carry bb using sling outside....ha ha....

Snow,
haha, the strategy sure won't work on my hb wor!

come to think of it, hb only help to look after bb on weekends mah whereas for us, it is whole day leh...plus next time work liao come back must take care of 2 leh...I dun dare to think of it man...luckily I have my mom and sis ard to help man...

how is your interviews?

yalor, I really get alot of stare when I'm using the sling leh...thought it is very common nowadays??!!

m2b,
me too. i brought baby to pray at 'si ma lu' at full month and put him in the sling. there is an old aunty keep telling me to take him out cos he will be suffocated.

shint,
noted.
can pm me ur address by today? coz i'll prob b making a trip down 2 d post ofc tmr. d items r 2 bulky 2 b posted in d normal post boxes. thr's no post ofc near my plc, thus i hv 2 specially make a trip down.

m2b,
thr's no expiry date stated on d box. thus i'm nt able to advise u. paiseh abt it. if self-collect, then it's at my plc at bedok reservoir rd. u can refer here 4 d uses of d calendula cream :
http://www.californiababy.com/calendula-cream-2-oz.html

ruixuan,
so fast hor... another mth & u r gg back 2 wk oledi.

faeriekim,
u can self collect anytime.
jus let me noe in advance. will pm u my address.

valnsw,
noted. u let me noe again.

m2b
ha ha....ya, my hb showed me black face for awhile after paying.
but after i bo chap and keep talking to him, he also bo bian must ans lor.
then i remind him to set gd example for our #1, else she see liao next time treat us like that also. =P

ya lah, so help out abit during wkend shd not complain ya?

very tired leh, went 2 places.
but so far my interview skill still there...ha ha...
no reply yet, think gotta give them a couple of days to finish all their interviews.

m2b & celyn
i thought this sling is similar to those sarong from old days u noe, ended up old ppl stared at us. -_-"
still got ppl walk by and whisper "dunno bb inside will be too hot or not".

nini,

yes, i did. i find tat it's v useful. coz i aso bought a play yard 4 my boy. so i put d bumper mat inside d play yard so tat he can play inside. he loves it a lot...

vone,
i'll take both the desitin and the calendula cream, please advise how much to pay you plus postage...thanks!

celyn,
haha, i went to the temple and a guy there said "oh, you have a bb inside, i thought it is a bag"...

snow,
aiyo, my hb always seet bad examples for my #1...so angry man! i told him next time #1 and #2 will behave like him then he know man!

yalor, they help abit on weekend not too much to ask from us mah...hehe...actually my hb doesnt mind i go shopping with #1 while he jagar #2 lor coz he hates shopping and crowd...

good luck to your job hunting!

sling - I get stares from young couples too leh..wonder how come? maybe i use the sling wrongly?? hehe

For the jabs, those going to Kid's Clinic, u all taking the 6-in-1?

I am prob bringing ZK for the 5-in-1 with Hep B separately. More jabs but better take one by one rite?

These few days my blk kena repair works and then the whole house so noisy with all the drilling..so end up both kids cannot sleep properly so no time to post... -_-

Cocomo
Wa you really got lotsa milk! I intend to freeze them in my 3rd month cos I also got extra ss then i scared my freezer no space. But its good you lie the milk flat..saves so much space! But am using milkclips so may not be easy to lie flat cos scared may spill...

Huichin
You can fast already? I stll having bleeding.. those brownish stains so i cant. Die I got to pay back like siao next year : p Once you fast the milk supply will cfm go down one becos you not takin in.. Actually if you are bfeeding you are actually excused from fasting leh... Did you check wih yr hb's family wats the rule?
As for pumping i pump 3x a day for now. So the rest of the time I bottle feed or latch on if i need Darwisyah to empty my breasts.

Snow
Are you talking abt the hua xin swimming thingy? I thot of letting Darwisyah try also.. how much is per session..? Sorry I didnt backtrack the posts cos too many to read.. got 1 branch near my place at punggol plaza.: )

Job interviews: - Hope you will get answer from them soon. Good luck!

Shint/ Fariekim
I am thinking of learnin vision also.. are they good? TP branch, you mean tampines branch huh?

Re: Sling
Anybody using baby bjorn? I got one fr my colleagues for baby gift and I am wondering when can put her inside?