(2008/08) Aug 2008

was reading on fenugreek that you might be interested:

Possible side effects for baby

Most of the time, baby is unaffected by mom's use of fenugreek (except that more milk is usually available). Sometimes baby will smell like maple syrup, too (just like mom). However, some moms have noticed that baby is fussy and/or has green, watery stools when mom is taking fenugreek and the symptoms go away when mom discontinues the fenugreek.

Fenugreek can cause GI symptoms in mom (upset stomach, diarrhea), so it's possible for it to cause GI symptoms in baby too. Also anyone can have an allergic reaction to any herb, and fenugreek allergy, though rare, has been documented.

Another reason for these types of symptoms --and perhaps more likely than a reaction to the herb-- may be that mom's supply has increased due to the fenugreek and the symptoms are those of oversupply, where baby is getting too much foremilk. Fussiness, gas and green watery stools are classic symptoms of an overabundant milk supply.

http://www.kellymom.com/herbal/milksupply/fenugreek.html

shint,
i'd like to get Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) USD5.79 from u. please confirm. thanks.

vone,
u were the one who wanted to let go the California Baby Calendula Cream 2 oz (60 g)cream to me right? sorry, v blur. hehe. by post for me. will pm u my address. thanks.

missysz,

yup, it's me. okie, u pm me ur name & address.
u need more calendula cream? i gt extra which i can spare. if nt, then i jus mail 1 calendula cream & 1 desitin 2 u.

vone,
was reading your post about the side effects and realized it's very true. After about a week of taking fenugreek, i realized today that bb had watery green stool and was starting to worry until i read ur post. So should we continue to take ??

vone

Failed in finding nanny as most nanny want to feed baby with formula mik than breast milk. hee.. then some nannies' place is too dirty.

catherine,
wow u alrdy started to take bb out so early alrdy ah? My mum wun allow one, say she's too young etc..
Haha, tdy I brought bb to walk in her pram at the playground behind and where there's a walkway (somewhat like East Coast Park) to take a stroll. Brought the maid along and taught her to operate the pram.
Same thing again, bb was sleeping after walking some distance.
Haha, looks like I shd bring bb out more often huh?

vone,
I'll most likely self-collect, mb u wana PM or sms me your address? Mb I can collect tmrw or some other day in the wk.

Ratatouille,
oic, my staining also like yours, so I guess it's not menses.

Mrs Teng,
Just to add, I remember there is a nursing room at Isetan Parkway Parade at the baby section. It's a room near the stroller/pram section. Hope this helps if you are shopping at Parkway.

M2B,
so you used the sling and your bb sleeps? which sling is it? The MIM one or are there also other brands? I thought of using the baby carrier which I got fr somebody but in the end I was thinking v difficult to eat dinner with the carrier in front of me, so use the stroller.

Which brings me to the question: If you use the sling or bb carrier, when you want to eat, how to eat with bb when you're carrying her?

snow
Such an irony being a mummy! I went to a party today with my ger & then my fren brought her 8 mth old bb, she looks so fun! Then my fren says she missed her bb being 1 mth old.. *hahah*

Oooh, swimming made Zynn KO for 4.5 hours ah? Hmm, maybe I can discuss with HB if we can take gerger swimming some time soon.. heehee

val
Most afraid when she's like half asleep when i put my ger down in the cot.. Sometimes when i'm so exhausted, i heck it & assume she has already fallen into deep sleep, while crossing fingers she goes to sleep herself.. kekeke

Last Sun & yest we took our ger out gaigai, she was such a darling & slept through in the stroller.. *phew* How was it handling ur stroller? Last Sun was our 1st, and we abit ga lang ga bo..

M2B
i must master how to use the sling soon! I have a hand-me-down MIM sling & I just got one fr Pupsik.. So far have used it but not for long durations. Hope bb & myself get used to it soon, coz if i go gaigai w/o hubby i can't handle the pram alone

Any loot fr ur shopping trip?

I am from april'08 mummy thread.

I have a bumbo seat with tray to let go @ $50.

My boy does not like to sit in it therefore its still new..

Pls PM me if you are interested.

val,
will you be collecting yr DS + BBM items from me when they arrive? if yes, can help me collect 1 california baby calendula cream from vone?

vone,
if val is not collecting from me then i will opt for postage. thank you.

val, i'm still bleeding, sigh. today it felt more likes menses, although it's not my usual flow amount. the amt i'm getting is enough to fill half a regular pad and this amt is what i get during my 3rd or 4th day, towards the end of menses. really dunno if it's menses or not. it cld be, since i'm not considered to be BF as my bb does not latch on. he's now on total EBM.

snow, u brought your bb for that swimming session? it's a china brand shop that has indv pools for bb to swim in rite? i wanted to try the one at punggol plaza but my hb not too keen. we asked if bb cries after 5 mins, do we get refund? they said still must pay a min sum. they were so confident he wouldn't cry at all! i didn't really like the salesgirl's attitude, and i guess we're a little biased against china ppl as their attitude is really bad. so in the end, we did not try lor.

yln & missysz,
i'll b sending out ur items tday. pls keep a lookout for it okie.

valnsw,
i pm u oledi.

jo,
i replied ur pm oledi.

dongle,
noted. i'll wait 4 valnsw 2 cfm then.

jo,
2 X Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags 25 ea USD5.24

m2b,
1 X Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) USD5.79

missysz,
1 X Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) USD5.79

Still available - any takers?
1 X Lansinoh Lanolin for Breastfeeding Mothers 2 oz (56 g) USD 7.99

Vone,
Pls take note of the above "transfer" and also post my first teeth to me. Will PM u my address, thanks!

hisstory,
Let me know if the pupsik is good? Think of ordering.

krex78,
I oso went to the one at punggol plaza, she had bad attitude. Asked for more info and when i took the brochure, she vv BEY SONG.

morning mummies.

hisstory,
let me know if the pupsik is good compare the the mim sling since you have both. i'm not sure if i'm wasting money to get the pupsik since i got the mim sling.

ruixuan,
its not easy to look for a nanny, good luck. hope that you will find 1 soon.

valnsw,
i have use the mim sling twice so far and both time my boy sleep very soundly in it.

Fenugreek:
i didn't know it will have some side effects. i was telling my gynae that my boy refuse to drink fm so he ask me to take to boost my supply though i do have extra in freezer. bought it but had not started taking.

Good Morning Mommies!

Valnsw & Catherine,
When bring bbs out, they seem to be sleeping throughout hor? Heehee

Vone,
Yap, I’ll take 1 tube…may I know what is the expiry date coz I’m buying it to keep and not using it yet as the current tube still haven’t finished…btw, if self-collect is from where? Thanks!

BTW, what is the calendula cream for hah? I’m quite interested…

Valnsw,
I used the sling that I ordered from this forum…it is from USA if I rbr correctly and custom-made to your should and hip width…ya, my gal seem to like sleeping inside leh…can fall asleep very fast…hahaha

Hehe, when I sling her, I still can eat leh but just have to be careful not to drop food onto the ling…heehee…I have tried eating with the sling infront of me three times liao…downside is yday went shopping and saw some nice capri pants, cannot try coz slinging bb…heehee

Hisstory,
My coll oso commented that she prefers to take care of infants rather than bigger bbs lor coz she said more manageable…

Can bring bb for a swim after 6mths liao but recommended is afternoon when water is hot and not more than 30mins…

Yup, the sling is real useful when gg out alone lor…heehee, I bought hairclips for #1 and #2 and a top for myself from Pull & Bear…my sis went to collect her ring from Tiffany & Co and I was so tempted…heehee

Last Fri, a lady with a 3mths old bb saw me using the sling and actually ask me will bb be suffocated inside...hahaha

krex,
i also dont like the swimming shop. i went to see the one at habourfront and feel the tub seem abit dirty. Plus didnt really like the sales staff. We also abit bias against china pple :p hubby say wait till bb stronger we go swimming instead. how old can go swimming ah ?

valnsw,
ya we brought bb out quite early..
heehee ... cos i wana go out ma.

morning mommies!!
sound like everyone's getting out of house and re-exploring shopping centres after confinement already! hee hee...

use of sling:
yes, i agree that the sling is one of the best things i bought! the second best buy i have is the bumper playmat! it is so cool.... i am looking after the baby alone at home after confinement period and so most of the times i get a little kan-cheong and afraid that bb would roll over and fall onto the floor if placed on our bed... now with the the bumper mat, i get her to play, change diapers, bath and nap ALL on the mat! i don't have to worry that she falls off something whatever.

nursing room @ ikea:
so far, i have only used the nursing room in ikea (tampines) and it's the best place i have ever found..hee.... 1 seater arm sofa (comfy!), diaper dispenser machine (in case you don't have enough with you!), hand sanitiser (sigh, they don't really seem to top up after it's used up!), baby changing station (they sell the things at ikea, so it's free advertising), baby changing mat liner dispenser (in case you scared there's lots of germs on the changing mat), tap and mirror, dustbin, and of cuz PRETTY decor....

sitting on sofa
guess what? yesterday i placed bb in the corner of the sofa (mine's the sturdy leather kind) and let bb try to sit upright (bb's 7 weeks old already) and i played with her while sitting beside her. she managed to sit upright for about 5min plus before getting tired! heee.... so fun. she actually gave me the first wide social smile when i placed her there... you can start helping bb to sit up right when you are sitting on the floor...

krex
my gynae told me that as long as we are still breastfeeding..regardless if latch on or EBM...we wont get menses..unless the pumping sessions drop drastically..like from 6 sessions u drop to 2 sessions per day...but if u drop from 6 to 5 sessions then to 4 sessions gradually...wont have menses...thats what he told me...cuz im also slowly lenghtening my pumping sessions so when i get back to work...it will be ok to pump just 4-5 hourly..

pupsik
i bought the sling from the BP as well and i find that its quite good if u going out for a short while...if going out for a long time...quite shag to carry bb for long time..my gal slept thru out ..cuz the sling very close to mummy and its nice to snuggle up..warm and cozy..
..plus no need to adjust the length..not mah fan ..

RE fenugreek:

Checked with my PD Dr EK Ong, he mentioned that greenish poo for baby is fine.. and my gynae is the one who presecrib fenugreek to me when i tell her my milk supply is low. so i guess should be alright bah.

but my husband has his reserves towards supplement, so i stopped taking fenugreek and trying jo's power pumping method.

ceylnlee,
then do you continue letting he sit upright? it seems like it satisfy bb's thirst for curiosity when you seat them upright. they get a different perspective of the room when they get to sit upright..

YLN,
I never use sling before cos i always lug my pram wherever i went last round, plus my maid of course ... she does all the work while i do all the shopping ... hee.
This time want to get the sling cos this baby prefers to be more upright and don't like to lie down it seems. A sling might help? Plus, i wan to feel closer to him ma ... but i'll still bring the pram - more to put shopping bags. heee.

shint
my gal actually can only sleep in the pram for a short while...after she get bored..she will want to be carried lor...so, actually for my case, the sling seems better...how i wish my bb likes to be pushed around in the pram too...sigh..then i dun need to be so shiong..

celyn, i just bought nature's farm fenugreek over the weekend. took my first tablet today as i want to stock up my BM in freezer. hopefully no side effects!

catherine, u dun like but u still tried in the end? i plan to bring my boy swimming when he's past 3 mths. i think must see first lah. pool water very cold so i dunno if he can tahan. my MIL's place got swimming pool so very convenient for us.

jassie, where's the nursing rm at ikea tampines? i never noticed it. i'm still trying to find the elusive nursing room at compass point (if there is any!)

YLN, i still dunno why i'm bleeding. it's not stopping and it looks and smells like menses to me. *xian* btw, can u share with me how u store your BM in freezer? i bought TFY on sat and i started freezing 3 bags of 120ml each liao. i tried using the base and w/o the base just to test the diff. but i haven't got down to being organized yet. do u place them in airtight containers? i'm reserving the entire bottom part of the freezer next to the ice cube tray for my EBM.

krex,
I also still have locha, it is normal if you are BF I think.

This is how I store my BM.

1) Pack the milk into the amount you wish to store and write the date and qty
1733486.jpg

2) pack them into ziploc box
1733487.jpg

krex,
the nursing room in ikea (tamp) is called child care room.. there are 3 of them i think. one is between the female and male toilets. you look for the lockers beside the cashier/checkout counters and you will see it. the other one is between the female and male toilets on the second floor beside the ikea cafe. i'm not too sure where the third room is... hope this is helpful!
and yes, i have tried the basement nursing room in the shopping centre at jurong west. can't rem what the shopping centre is called. it is not too bad too. both hubby and i like the spacious dustbin right under the changing station. however it is a little cold..brr...

i think bleeding is normal? i also had bleeding that looks like menses 4-5 weeks after childbirth. smell and looks like fresh blood menses. it stops after about 8-9 days. only small amount. can contain using a panty liner...however i think i suffer from mild incontinence after the bleeding stops.

shint,
you are so cute. ask cocomo to sell at ebay. heheh.... my freezer only got milk and no food now. of course not as much as cocomo.

Hee. . . I still have 2 boxes of BM stored at my neighbour's freezer as my freezer cant accomodate liao. Going to give away my BM to my fren tonite else no space to put liao.

5-in-1 and 6-in-1 ....
i remember there were alot of talk abt it ... so most of u going for 6-in-1?
Those going to the KIDZ Clinic?

krex
i lay it flat and stack it up..one stack have abt 6 packets..but i dun ziplock it like cocomo..too lazy lar...just stack and when no space...start a new row and stack again...but cuz i store abt 150ml..and recently up to 180ml to 200ml in each pack..so the pack even if lie flat also quite bulky...
i dun let it stand on its base cuz i think that way not very space friendly lor..
i think if ur fridge dun store meat/fish...dunn need to put into container/ziplock bag kua...cuz u storing all milk anyway...
but i think how u store ur milk also depends on how much space ur freezer has...if its a big one..then no headache...but mine quite small..

u see the pic..the inside inside ones are TFY packets..cuz the packets are quite think (in terms of material) so i can only store abt 4 in one stack...while Lansinoh ones (the ones outside) are thinner so i can stack up to abt 6...i have enuff space only for 4 by 3 packets of milk for the higher level..(meaning 4 column and 3 rows of milk)
1733865.jpg

celynlee
can u ask ur nanny to look after for a few hrs? i leaving my bb with MIL to 'train' her to get used to bb also...otherwise when i go back to work..the change for bb and MIL will be quite drastic..so i slowly trying to let MIL look after..i think i will only go out for max 4 hrs..cuz i stil need to come back to pump..

yln,
actually, i have leave baby with babysitter once liao when i go see gynae. baby with her from 10am to 6pm then. but that time, i got more 'official' reason to go out compare to go shopping leh. so a bit paiseh loh.

Whoaaa! Cocomo, u really got lotsa milk siah! So far i haven got enuf to pump and freeze it leh...Bleah...so good u Mummies. I only have enuf milk pumped out for Falisha to drink within 48hours, neber had enuf like u all leh. How's ur BM pumping timing like ah? Now my BM supply really much lower siah...Duno izzit becos Falisha doesn't like to latch on so milk production auto-went down. Sob. Oso maybe becos i'm fasting now bah. Hmmm.

Shint, I'm oso interested. Can i still order the Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags? Izzit 25 pcs in each pack? Is this the recommended brand for milk storage bags?

What's the calculation for payment like? Sorry i never order anything from overseas b4 so need some of ur expertise n advise here.